Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Spencer on Byron Hotel 4.5 stars

9-17 Byron Avenue, Takapuna, 0740 Auckland, New Zealand

#52 of 170 hotels in Auckland

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 619 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    7.1
    tired decor - this hotel really needs a significant face...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    tired decor - this hotel really needs a significant face lift. location good; got burnt by the restaurant once before so always bring my own food or eat out!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    10
    Staff went the extra mile to bring our luggage up.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff went the extra mile to bring our luggage up. were friendly and efficient. Alterations were being made on the floor below.. Builders noise didn't start till after 9>30

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    9.5
    Overall great experience. Will definitely use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of information in room as to what is available in the hotel

    Great location. Good that it's currently under renovation as everything looking a little tired.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    6.3
    Nice stay Good food, but no spa was not operating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had told reception the reason for staying was to swim in a hot spa and the kids to enjoy the pool and she didnt mention the spa was actually not working, only to find out after paying,that the spa was not working. And the room on the 5th floor had a very strong scent like paint. I aired out the room so that it wasnt so strong.

    There was good customer service:A guy at the bar was very pleasent and a young guy waiter at the restaurant was very pleasant and nice to deal with. The kids enjoyed the big cold pool. The food was delicious.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.3
    Ok with our stay
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The couch is so hard and uncomfortable and the bed is a little hard to. It was clean but definitely starting to be a bit dated

    The staff member who was there at the front desk was very nice. The location is brilliant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.6
    Over all, a very good stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I arrived early (2pm) ok room wasn't ready. I went back at 3pm, room still wasn't ready.. got access to room at about 3.20pm...

    bed was excellent. View was outstanding. Room seemed well insulated for sound and temperature.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    6.7
    Once in it was good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff couldn't find my booking, but didn't really engage with me through the process so I was just left standing there for about 15 minutes. Also the double bed was just two beds pushed together so not great

    The room was spacious and the location was great, along with on street parking

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable, Convenient, Good Value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Windows could do with a clean! Hard to see the lovely view through all that grime.

    Great location for the purpose of our Auckland visit. Nice to be on the North Shore away from (but still close to the CBD)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    9.2
    Great restaurant, great cocktails, handy and Near awesome...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelled a bit musty and beds were a little uncomfortable

    Great restaurant, great cocktails, handy and Near awesome cafes etc. Clean rooms with great views.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    6.3
    Average
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unhelpful staff didn't seem to care

    Spa pool was cold staff didn't seem to care when notified about it, I was charged twice for my room, one payment was a hold payment then I paid again when I checked out, still waiting for initial hold payment to be paid back not happy they do that not okay with that

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.6
    Overall a great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check in time is quite late. The Restaurant area isn't great for children, Food was okay. Could use a few extra cups and plates etc when room is booked for more than 2 people.

    The accomodation was clean and in a great location. The beds were comfortable and there was good heating, we had sea views which was lovely. Parking was easy and the room service was affordable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    I booked 2 rooms for myself, my wife and 3 kids (10-9-7).
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked 2 rooms for myself, my wife and 3 kids (10-9-7). Apron arrival the rooms were separated to different areas of the floor. One would think that given the questions asked and the answers clearly stating we are a family, one would think allocated rooms would have beside each other, preferably linked (as they do)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.3
    Great room and facilities. Great location. Fit our purpose
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taking an actual credit card payment from visa at beginning of the stay when cash was paid. No receipt for returned credit on check out

    Pool was great, room acceptable, great housekeeping

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.0
    Quick overnight in Takapuna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower, not that we used it but the glass needed a good scrub,

    just a quick stay arriving late and leaving early, check in was easy, bed was comfy, could have had more blankets as was a bit cold.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    5.8
    Noisy hotel
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Put tag on door for complimentary newspaper. Didn’t get one. Construction noise from some of the rooms. No chance of a sleep-in as they started around 08.00 Would have been nice if they had warned us about the construction noise. When we complained their response was “oh well - not much we can do about that”

    Fantastic location. Easy walk to restaurants and pubs.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    Great value for the money, stunning view of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff where amazing, friendly and helpful. They realy represented NZ hospitality in the best way possible. The view from the room was absolutely stunning. Comfortable beds, tea and coffea available in the room. Great value for the money. Decent swimming pool, bath robes are provided in the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Always love my stay and always get the room I ask for thank you Spencer
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think I little more dishes in kitchen would be helpful bowls for salads etc

    Staff always lovely stayed here many of times it's my families favourite place to stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.3
    The view was fantastic and the location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was included in the price but it wasn’t discussed or explained. Very basic information given at check in.

    The view was fantastic and the location was great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed a two night stay, our room had amazing views of Auckland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the weather was bad and when we went to have a swim discovered the pool and spa were on the roof. The pool was very choppy with the wind and the spa only just warm and the whole experience with the wind really unpleasant so we were in and out of the spa and back inside within a couple of minutes.

    View from room was amazing with balcony! Room was warm, bedding comfortable. Bar/lounge was great for pre-dinner drinks and we had a lunch there which was good. With so many restaurants within walking distance, we had our meals in Takapuna. Short walk to Takapuna Beach. Onsite parking available.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.7
    Great location to central Takapuna and the rooms were clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is work being done on the building which started at approx 8am, which is too early and did not allow for an enjoyable stay during day time.

    Great location to central Takapuna and the rooms were clean. Also the service was good and we could get an early checkin.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    They took a down payment off our credit cards which they said would be credited back immediately. After not having it back 24hrs later, we called to find we wont get that money back for 5 days. There's no need to do this when they have your cc details. The restaurant onsite isn't cheap (continental breakfast buffet doesn't include juice or coffee).

    Nice and clean. Good location near many shops and restaurants. Within a 10 min walking distance to the place we needed to go (Bruce Mason centre) though I'd probably attempt to stay closer to it if I come back again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    The service was exceptional, very friendly and pleasant,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only problem was minor, our room card didn't work on our day of checkout so we had to get someone up to unlock the door. Nothing major.

    The service was exceptional, very friendly and pleasant, comfortable room, great view. Recommend to others.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    4.6
    The duty manager was extremely rude on the night I booked,...
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The duty manager was extremely rude on the night I booked, in fact didn’t even end up staying as I lost my visa debit that day and he wouldn’t allow me to put down a $200 bond for the night, instead of using a visa debit. Even though I stayed 1 week before this and they allowed me to pay a cash bond. He was an extremely rude Indian male and wasn’t to interested in my concerns nor was willing to work with me to help fulfil a customers needs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.8
    The room was very warm and comfortable!
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very warm and comfortable! It had a nice view too! The staff members were friendly and easy to approach! I’ve alway loved staying here whenever I need to book a hotel in Auckland:)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Great location, worth the money..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no water on Saturday morning due to outside road works.

    we were expecting just a hotel room, pleasantly surprised to have sitting room, kitchenette and washing machine and dryer. fabulous location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    6.7
    There was no free parking space so we had to pay $20 for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no free parking space so we had to pay $20 for every night to park the car in the basement. While it cost $18 to park on the street outside.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.3
    A fun family get-a-way in a really nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    ahhh the weather.

    The view was amazing and the bed very comfy. Such a great location in Takapuna as well. The kids had lots of fun in the pool and having an extra TV in the room was handy. We also really liked the kitchen in our room, easy to self cater. Extra milk was also quickly delivered to our room when asked.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Superb!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    all was great.

    The staff was amazing. Friendly and they seem to recognise you from diner to breakfast etc. felt like a home away from home. Perfect as a business solo traveler. The food at the restaurant was simply superb and I will come back with my family next time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    The room had 2 comfortable king size beds so easy to share a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room had 2 comfortable king size beds so easy to share a room with a friend. Great location to the shops, cafes and restaurants in Takapuna. Friendly staff. We had a great view towards Auckland City which just looks stunning at night, so remember to request a room with a view towards the city if that's what you'd like to see before you go to sleep.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing - did not meet expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa pool was no where as hot as it should have been. Reported to staff who didn't seem that bothered. This was very disappointing as it was a cold day and a pool is one of the main reasons we chose this property. The whole property is starting to look really shabby. Staff seemed very neutral and unenthusiastic on things. Had to go back to reception 3 times in a row to get our key card reactivated because they had shut it down to early. Had to pay $20 a day for parking which we had no prior notification of - this seems extraordinary. We have stayed here a number of times in the past - but was is our worst experience to date. Room only had towels and crockery for 2 people even though we'd booked for 4.

    Great location, tidy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    Great choice for Takapuna - comfortable and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed here one night but wish it was more. The room was spacious, comfy bed and pillows. Great water pressure in the shower. Had a lovely view out to Takapuna Beach. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The room and hotel had everything you needed. The location is really great, just around the corner from a main shopping/restaurant street.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    We had a very enjoyable and happy stay. Possibly the best we have had in NZ.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with a second chair so one could sit. And maybe eat or read the paper.

    It was above our hope for staying convenient to the plans we had.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    3.3
    Poor, very disappointed!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff have shocking knowledge of the area they are in. Soup came without bread and then when it was delivered there was no knife to spread the butter on. My room was right beside the gym. All I heard all night and morning was free standing weights dropping on the ground!!

    The soup was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    6.7
    Bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Internet was poor. Told the front desk. Improved a little for the while. There were 2 queen size beds in the room but only 1 chair. A couch or something similar would have been nice.

    Bed was comfortable. Nice outlook.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parks can be hard to find but the staff were very accommodating to that fact and made sure we were ok.

    Good location, handy to shops, bus stop. Nice facilities and friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.1
    Overall presentation and cleanliness of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room still wasn’t cleaned by 4pm, we had to ask for more towels as ones from the morning were still wet.

    Overall presentation and cleanliness of hotel. Good facilities

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    6.3
    Nice view but room needs updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While paint on walls looks reasonably fresh, the couch is tired and drab. All furniture is dark and very old fashioned. No furniture available to utilise for the view and no furniture provided on little balcony. Lighting in kitchen very poor.

    We had a lovely view over the harbour to the city from the 7th floor and some of Rangitoto.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    5.8
    Convenient to work
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircon they said they fixed in my room and it wasn’t. The beds are terrible, the rooms are old and tired. The bathrooms have cracked tiles and the cleaners don’t vacuum the rooms during your stay and finally I found a lot of hairs on the other bed in the room

    The location is amazing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.8
    Excellent customer service from Front Desk staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While buffet breakfast was lovely thought it was a little pricey for 2 adults and 2 children - over $90

    Excellent customer service from Front Desk staff. Clean rooms. Good accommodation option, easy access by car back into CBD. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    nice hotel.
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park is stupid how you drive on the opposite side of the road due to arrows.If tourist stay here they could easily get confused when coming out of the carpark and back on the road.

    nice hotel. more of a high end hotel. Probably wasn't the best place for young kids as the rooms are not very big for 2 kids to play haha.Hate having to put bond down and waiting for the money to go back into my account but that's probably because of people who damage rooms. But maybe it should say that there is a $100 bond before booking as it could catch people off guard.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.6
    Lovely Takapuna
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Getting out of Takapuna in diabolical traffic situation.

    Fantastic views from a very generous size room and direct access to the car park for a "quick getaway" in the mornings. Everything was very good and the location in Takapuna is fantastic and :just far enough away" for folks who do want to stay in the city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.1
    Ho Hum
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charging for car park. Lack of comfort in the room's lounge - no cushions. No complimentary newspaper. Décor in the restaurant ceiling very unsightly Breakfast cornflakes not crisp Apple juice starting to ferment Croissants at least a day old and cold Coffee not hot. Charge of $52 for breakfast was excessive given the lack of quality, Would give it 3 1/2 - 4 stars

    Staff service was excellent, the view from the room was spectacular. Evening meal in the restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    6.7
    Not bad, had a good sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Found it a little dated, shower not so clean (hair on shower floor) and probably a little expensive for what it was.

    The staff are excellent and we ate at a lovely Japanese restaurant nearby - there were lots of others too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    Absolute Luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outstanding service, beautifully appointed room in a fabulous location. We only had a one night stay and can't wait to go back to enjoy it for a longer stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    6.3
    Nice public areas and location but for a four and a half star hotel it needs room upgrades
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dated and very tired, 7 cracked tiles in the bathroom, dirty hand mark on the doors, other peoples hair in the bedding, cleaning was very average- windows filthy. Vertical garden in reception was half dead and the greeting staff were unfriendly

    The public areas were nice, good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    6.3
    Great location but not worth the money spent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our whole floor smelled really strongly of some sort of ethnic food (cabbage or something strong like that). The carpet in our room was actually like outdoor carpet stained and looked very unclean. The entire property is really dated with floors and decor from long ago. Definitely rooms and common areas not up the price charged.

    The pool area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.2
    Awesome spot ruined by power. Loss.
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Power outage for several hours afternoon/ evening , ruined plans for entertaining ,and no offer of compensation.

    Being high .The view. Privacy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    7.1
    Over all we had a good stay, the staff are very good to deal with and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room decor is a little tiered, but tidy. The the TV is too high on the wall. The breakfast was a little bland, it looked like they had used powered eggs for the scrambled eggs, bacon was not crispy. over all the breakfast was OK for a 3 star hotel and like the room looked tied and needs a refresh.

    Staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Studio - School Holiday Package
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish there had been shade provided at the pool, was scorching hot during our stay and no shade umbrellas were provided.

    The pool was fantastic and the view from our room was amazing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    7.5
    Kindness of staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not very clean, particularly the bathroom. Gym is well equipped but no towels were supplied, again raising concerns about hygiene standards

    Kindness of staff. Location (close to Takapuna beach)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.5
    Overall wasn't good or bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for parking, we payed $190 for the night then have to pay for parking .shouldn't have to pay for parking .should be included in the price of room .

    The view

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.5
    The bed eas very comfortable for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needed to have some attention. The cabinettes were worse for wear.

    The bed eas very comfortable for us I was great to have an upgrade to a suite and to have a fridge.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    9.2
    Very Pleasant and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was very comfortable. The full cooking and laundry facilities were extremely useful. The full kitchen provided the ability for us to self cater the strict diet we are on. The views from our rooms were absolutely spectacular. Service was friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    10
    Overall a really great stay, would go again.
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 1 hour of free wifi and had to pay for parking otherwise was great.

    We got a room on the 19th floor which had amazing views, apartment was spacious and staff really thoughtful. We came back after getting married and they had done room up for us.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    6.7
    Would have expected better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall decor very dated. No room bar or snacks, etc.. Restaurant meals did not look very inspiring and pricey for what they were. Power went out whilst dining.

    Very basic hotel would probably be more suitable for business people

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    5.0
    Over priced, unclean will not recommend or stay again. Very disapointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the cleanliness and the poor condition of the rooms and bathrooms. There was mould in the shower and floor and in the kitchen the cabinet doors were filthy and scuff marks on the walls. the lobby and hall ways had a unpleasant odor.

    the view and the customer service

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    5.8
    Nice but could definitely be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being charged twice for my stay and the confusion that entailed from that. Having to pay additional for WIFI. Paying for parking when even off-street parking is charged for.

    Beds were comfortable. Kidso enjoyed a vast selection of sky channels to choose from

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    Good couple of days thank you again.
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower in bath. Lighting in kitchen very poor.

    Facilities were excellent, shower in bath was problem for me because of age. Missed visual clock during the night in bedroom, enjoyed the complimentary paper.Thank you all .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.7
    Without fail, the check-in "robotic" service desk lets the place down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service is very "robotic" and while staff smile woodenly, they are not welcoming in the true sense. We were told on arrival that if we had booked directly rather than via booking.com we would have wifi access and other benefits we were unable to take advantage of. We could park at the hotel for $20 or park on the road for $6.

    Always clean and lovely views from the rooms. A short walk to Takapuna shops and a quiet location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    Perfect NYE stay.. With the best views over the Bay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid wi-fi. And the bar closed early.

    We were given an upgrade with a view to The Auckland Skytower and fireworks on New Years Eve. The beds were very comfortable too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.1
    Good central location, but overpriced for what it offers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay $20.00 perday for parking is outrageous! Hotels of this calibre should offer free parking. NO mini bar in room as advertised and room service costs absolutely over priced so we didn't use it

    Good central location, but overpriced for what it offers. Bathroom pretty tired for 5* accommodation

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    8.3
    great place to stay after a long day
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff let us leave our car parked there after checkout while we went for a walk to the beach. emailed previously about our extra child travelling with us and they were helpful and fast to reply

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.5
    A good location in Takapuna, easy to walk to shops and restaurants nearby.
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was a little uncomfortable but that is personal preference. Housekeeping a bit slack had to phone at 4.30pm to get room cleaned.

    Restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful enjoyed the menu, however restaurant décor is very dark and needs brightening up.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    7.5
    Overall we would recommend it to others - great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could do with an upgrade especially the bathrooms and lounge suite.

    We enjoyed our stay; the staff were friendly and it was good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Felt like I was on holiday
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were exceptional pleasant and helpful from the moment we arrived. The property was clean (thoroughly). And the room and beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    7.9
    Too short!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    After two very long and late flights I found the male receptionist very cold and unfriendly. Not exactly the way I am used to being greeted.

    The property was immaculately clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    7.5
    Overall ok, but pricey
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot in room when I arrived. Air con could have been on to make more comfortable. Limited, sporadic replenishment of consumables

    Great location, nice size apartment

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    9.2
    Had a superb view of the Auckland skyline from our room and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a superb view of the Auckland skyline from our room and found it easy to travel into the city centre and Devonport by bus from very close to the hotel. Parked in the street close to the hotel. Plenty of restaurants plus beach in Takapuna.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    4.2
    Should have stayed somewhere else.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for internet is a joke... Room service very limited options. Ham and mushroom pizza was more cheese and sun dried tomatoes than ham and mushroom. Awful.

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.5
    It was a good break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The unit came with a full kitchen for cooking etc but there was no dishes for the microwave or the oven . No bowls - just nothing.?....Also parking underneath is expensive .

    Nice view from room. Comfortable bed .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.6
    Immaculate views and spacious apartments marred by costs of parking and wifi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    One thing worth noting is that there is onsite parking but it costs $20 per night which is the same price as surrounding on street parking. You also get an hour free wifi per day before it costs. If traveling for business it'll pay to factor this in to your costs.

    Comfortable spacious beds, immaculate views and and modern facilities made this an enjoyable stay

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.6
    Gorgeous views spoilt by costs of parking and wifi which are standard in most locations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One thing worth noting is that there is onsite parking but it does cost $20 per night which is the same cost as street parking surrounding the hotel. Wifi also costs but you do get an hour free each day.

    We were lucky enough to be placed on the 17th floor overlooking the Northshore and out towards the city. The view was amazing and the spacious apartment catered to all our needs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.2
    Great room, comfortable and very friendly staff.
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was very low par. We had booked from the previous day so it wasn't a surprise when we turned up. They had one chef on. Food came out very slowly. I had eggs benedict but unfortunately the bun wasn't cooked properly, the bacon was drenched in oil and the hollandaise sauce was bright yellow and definitely not a hollandaise sauce. It took an hour for one mum to get her muesli. But they were sorry and apologised.

    We stayed at the accommodation with 12 children and 10 adults, as we competing in Auckland for a competition. The rooms were very clean and tidy. The children loved the waffle dressing-robes. Room service was quick and friendly. It was situated very close to our destination of Westlake Boys High School.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    4.6
    Disapointed. Would not stay here again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free parking. $ 10.00 pernight. Rung one night before to ask we could change the arrval date one day later as I came down with flu..the lady on the phone answered that would be against cimpany policy after speakubg to management. So we had to arrive that day otherwise the cancelation fee would be $360.00. On arrival at 8.30 we had to wait with other guests for 15 minutes before we could check in...not enough staff? The outdoor area around the pool ans spa looked run down.

    Broken tiles in bathroom.. fridge did not fit into place and stuck out.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    6.7
    Decent place to stay. All you need. Was quiet. Friendly staff. Dissapointing breakfast .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was no good at all. Bacon was cold. Mushrooms and potatoes seemed old and rubbery. Wasn't worth the money. Wifi was very limited. My mistake was only booking the room for 1 which meant we were charged for one breakfast which was as I mentioned a waste of money.

    The spa was nice really big and outside

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: