Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre 4 stars

175 Cuba Street, 4441 Palmerston North, New Zealand

#30 of 49 hotels in Palmerston North

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 567 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    Very central and the staff are top notch.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a very strange shape. A converted building parts of it I think so my room, while very wide was very shallow. Had to turn sideways to get between desk and bed to get to bathroom

    Very central and the staff are top notch. Bar facilities are great and the food, even in room, was excellent and arrived hot and fresh

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.3
    Clean, tidy, handy to town
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Heritage Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air con unit was noisy and room in general was noisy - could hear next unit and one above. Stubbed toe on brickwork in bathroom - poor layout.

    Location was good, walking distance to town, tidy room,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.8
    I love this property. We have stayed twice. It is handy and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    our room was directly through the wall of the old lift. It was noisy, very noisy at unspeakable times of the morning, banging and crashing. This wasn't done by staff but by those staying at the hotel. I would strongly recommend some soundproofing on the wall

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.8
    A very peaceful and restful place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tower Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A mini bar in the room would be good.

    Great staff and restaurant food was very good,the waitress did a fantastic job,taking orders and serving everyone on her own.very quiet,no traffic noise.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.8
    A good hotel overall, room was a little small, but the reason for my stay was an event, not the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little small for my liking, but as it was an older hotel, so I can accept that this is a reality.

    The fact that this is a convention center, made staying there a no-brainer. The room was totally fine and there was no noise travelling up to the room from the event, which continued after I went back to my room. There was also secure, off-street, free parking with which I used for my stay. The hotel breakfast was an ok price, and the selection was perfectly adequate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    Excellent room upgrade, really nice hotel to stay at.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The light in the coffee/tea station was out and the curtain rod for closing and opening the curtains was broken on two of the windows. These were the only inconveniences.

    Excellent room upgrade, really nice hotel to stay at.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.3
    Bar staff nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tower Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV in the room very small. The place where I usually stay has Netflix so this was a great leap backwards. Also other than a desk chair no where to sit and watch TV anyway. Glasses in the bathroom tasted like they'd been cleaned with window cleaner.

    Bar staff nice. Bar food excellent. I had the Angus beef burger one night and the chicken burger the next. The Angus burger was excellent and worth the $24. asked. I found the Bed comfortable and the room quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    Clean, comfortable, and quiet!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tower Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was clean, quiet, and centrally located. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Oh, and a bonus was that they didn't have those horrible, huge, fluffy pillows that are impossible for side-sleepers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.1
    Adequate on balance.
    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms varied - the first I entered and didn't unpack. It looked very creaky and poorly equipped. The second the gave me was better, albeit slightly weird with two double beds. The toilet rocked when you sat on it which was unsettling and the water wouldnt drain from the sink quickly.

    The place was clean and the staff friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    5.8
    I expected better from this Hotel chain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a room with King bed but the room we were allocated had a Queen. I went back to reception and after some checking the room was changed. The new room was ok but the air conditioning was on cold and there was no remote. We went back to Reception and a remote was put in the room but didn't work. We ended up just switching off the air conditioner at the wall and putting on the heater. The bathroom was ok except the lid of the toilet was missing. The curtains did not stop light coming in from street lights and it was very bright and difficult to sleep. It was also very noisy both from outside and others rooms. We could hear people walking around in their rooms and showering.

    Friendly staff and great food in the onsite restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.1
    Facilities were great for the purpose...convention
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Part of lions convention. Set up of scones ...having to add jam etc took too much time. Staff not willing to help with choice of beef or chicken with dinner or the dessert choice.

    Room was tidy, quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    Our one night stay was to break our Wellington to Auckland trip. The Hotel met all our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor lighting in the bathroom

    The bar / restaurant well serviced, friendly and food excellent, and we loved the old fashioned lift still servicing the floors. Good secure off street parking

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.7
    It will not be my first pick
    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting was poor I couldn’t read through my notes The air con Could not be controlled so it was on the whole time through the night

    Convenient to the event I attended

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.5
    Very nice staff and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room just needed some maintenance. The tilet flush button worked but had a broken surround.

    The restaurant is amazing. Best risotto I have ever had and my partner loved the tuna. Room was very clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    8.8
    Room in new part of hotel was very good , large, clean, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First room allocated was in old part of hotel was 'grotty' and just below standard..On complaint was given another room in 'new' section of hotel...

    Room in new part of hotel was very good , large, clean, and comfortable beds. All staff were excellent and meals in Nosh restaurant were excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.6
    great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tower Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    air con wouldnt go below 25 unfortunatley. gotta be in quick for private parking.

    I liked it was cental to the city very clean and tidy. good for an overnight stay. staff were great too. would stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.5
    Great for overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tower Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to park outside on the road but thankfully we didn't have much luggage for an over night stay. The room was clean but a bit dated but for the money we paid that was to be expected. I found it hard to fill the jug from the bathroom tap and had to fill up a glass with water and then tip it into the jug. Not really a fan of the open showers as the floors get really wet but that's just my personal opinion.

    Location to speedway was excellent, room was clean and value for money as booked when we got the Value Deal.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.2
    The Air conditioner keep turning off so it was very hot.
    • Couple
    • Heritage Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Air conditioner keep turning off so it was very hot. needs repairing. You had to turn the main switch off and on to make it work again but that only lasted a short time, so you had to do it again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    7.1
    Very comfortable and quiet, walking distance to town.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tower Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff could have been a little more welcoming & cheerful. Booked for the secure carpark and initially told it was full.

    Very comfortable and quiet, walking distance to town. I would stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    9.2
    Clean and easy stay in Palmy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some construction outside but outside of hotel control and it is manageable. No excessive noise.

    Room in new area was clean and comfortable. Secure parking lot. Good wifi.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    4.6
    The first time we stayed it was good, hence why I rebooked to stay there again. The second time stay
    • Couple
    • Heritage Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first time we stayed it was good, hence why I rebooked to stay there again. The second time staying there, there were bed bugs in the room we stayed in, causing me to have numerous bites on my body. Therefore it made the stay there less enjoyable.

    The location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.7
    Location was good able to walk to city centre.
    • Couple
    • Heritage Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Break fast food quality was very poor, fruit salad was stale as was the bread and croissants coffee was poorly made with to much milk.

    Location was good able to walk to city centre.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Comfortable and well priced, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great location for easy walking access to the CBD. Secure on site parking. Aircon was on when we arrived so room temp was great after a long car journey. Reception staff were very helpful at all times. Unexpected upgrade was thoroughly appreciated.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.8
    Comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con unit was turning itself off and room was quite hot and stuffy when we arrived. Someone's dinner was out in the hallway all night and smelt the whole hallway out. Was not the best smell to have.

    The service was great secured parking out back. The room was nice and bed was super comfy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.5
    Would definitely stay again has all that you need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tower Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no secure parking space left, we had to park out on the roadside which was disappointing. We wanted room service but that has finished at 9.30pm which we felt was too early.

    Nice and clean, staff very welcoming, check in took 2 minutes literally which was great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    5.4
    Location and parking good,breakfast very good,but overall this hotel is overrated. Wouldn't return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was terrible:- door extremely hard to open from inside,no rail over bath, so dangerous to use shower over the bath! No soap dish, and the thinnest toilet paper ever! Main room was rather cramped: no clear instructions on how to use the aircon: no information written about how to find TV channels, despite there being a SKY magazine in room. It sucked!

    Parking off road, secure and of good quality,one staff member friendly and helpful. Bed was comfortable,and room was reasonably quiet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    Would definitely recommend this if staying in Palmerston North - I’ll be back!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Heritage Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t find a fault with anything on my stay!!!

    Bed was one of the comfiest I’ve ever had at a hotel. I was upgraded for free to a premium room which was appreciated! Tv was a decent size and was great having a couch so I could curl up after my party to relax. Room service was prompt and didn’t cost an arm and a leg so it made it an easier choice to go with. The man on the front desk was professional and friendly and super efficient.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Awesome stay. Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tower Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like to use the air conditioning, it hurts my nose. Would prefer opening a window.

    Great customer service and they even gave us an extra room because we travelled as couples.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    8.3
    Great location, tidy and reasonable condition, recommended.
    • Family with young children
    • Tower Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited secure parking, beds (on wheels) kept moving around, coming away from wall. No biggie, just a little nuisance.

    Great location, tidy, clean, good service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    7.1
    Overall very happy with the accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tower Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably wouldn't chose to stay in that type of room again with shower over the bath as I slipped stepping into it :( ended up with a very painful bruise on my shin that took weeks to disappear

    Comfy bed and lots of lovely little extras

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    5.0
    Poor attitude to paying guests, dont stay at this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tower Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The second night of stay at 5.30pm returning from a busy day went to eat at restaurant. Was advised "oh the bar area and the restaurant are closed for a function" My wife being diabetic really needed to eat, The management said we could obtain food after the function about 7-7.30pm This place only looks after multitudes of "function guests" and does not care about the paying guests in the accomodation. This place has 4 function rooms and generates a lot of noise from the drunken mob. Myself and other paying guests went in search of food down town, the closest was a pizza place Never ate in accommodation again and was glad to get out- very poor attitude Will never stay again and would not recommend it..

    (1) Close to town and shops

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    Very good. I would recommend the hotel and would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The secure parking was a great bonus for us as we were travelling with bicycles on the car. Knowing that they would be safe was a huge relief. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. One of he best night's sleep I have had in a hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.9
    Lovely stay overall . No secure parking left had.to park on the road , but we still enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Heritage Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wheel chair access bathroom . The water didn’t run towards the plug hole enough water everywhere on the floor when showering

    Nice beds and easy check in

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    Great staff, excellent location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Standard Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Having two twin/double beds in the room was a waste. The king bed needs to be an option.

    Great staff, excellent location. Just needs to offer king beds to get a 10/10

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    6.7
    Value for money even with the little hiccups. Having good staff always makes up for any issues🙂 🙂
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee machine had previous occupants coffee dregs in it and was broken. When I took it to reception they were very apologetic but didn't have a replacement. Lighting is a little dim. Some TV channels did not have sound??!

    Lovely staff. Comfy bed. Secure of street parking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Very comfortable, very convenient and mostly very quiet.
    • Couple
    • Heritage Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The squeaky door hinges! All the doors near our rooms (and our 2) squeaked. We were possibly just lucky there weren't neighbours going in and out of their rooms after we had retired for the night.

    Great staff, convenient location. Spacious, comfortable, light rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    If I'm every back down that way, this is where I'll be staying ...
    • Couple
    • Heritage Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy heat pump, but just left that off and used the oil heater provided.

    Excellent shower pressure, lovely toiletries, fabulous staff and quirky old-fashioned elevator ...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    Staff were lovely we had a booking for 4 but initially only...
    • Group
    • Tower Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were lovely we had a booking for 4 but initially only had 2 towels and 1 milk thanks. Staff sorted this out thx Unfortunately I lost my glasses.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.5
    Just ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very poor welcome from staff member - We were spoken to as if we knew where everything was including parking, but we didn't. Bed was way too bouncy and there was bird poo all over the outside of the window

    Very clean room and bathroom that were nicely decorated

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.8
    Was in such a good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just one thing that was a problem (completely slipped my mind to inform staff) was the bathroom door kept locking or sticking? and stayed the one night, didn't want to leave 😊

    Was in such a good location! The old elevator was such a nice touch, and the place was very clean and comfy. Loved it! 😊

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    Distinction: A great place to stay :-)
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Heritage Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi-fi was slow on the laptop. Phone and tablet were ok, but not fast. TV channels are very limited, some don't have volume? We stayed on level one and you could hear through the walls and people walking heavy from the room above which wasn't too pleasant.

    Clean, tidy and presentable Hotel. Service is fantastic. Buffet breakfast is perfect, cooked and continental. Eggs cooked to your preference as well which is a bonus. Drinks and meals at the Bar are great too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    8.3
    Good value for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was tiny with an open plan shower with a curtain which didn't work that well for the space.

    The staff were helpful and made check in / out easy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Amazing place to stay, staff we're super friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tower Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Amazing place to stay, staff we're super friendly and accommodating. This would be the only place we would stay in when we travel back to palmerston north

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    6.7
    Nice facilites - small room - great shower
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The size of the room was very small and the desk for working on was not wide enough only very long so was hard to fit things in.

    The restaurant and bar were very nice, didn't try the meals, had a dessert which was a nice apple pie.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    6.7
    Everything was very comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too close to the road, heard everything that was going on. Heat pump took awhile to get working, alot of dust in the unit, as well as in shower area.

    Everything was very comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.5
    Convenient, friendly location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All my needs were met. The moving beds make it different when sitting up in bed to read - not too much pressure on the wall or you're on the move! The lighting over the desk area was not good for writing and reading in.

    The onsite evening meals were great as an option in winter. The proximity to the Conference Centre is a real plus. The willingness of the staff to change my room away from the heritage ones as I can no longer easily cope with stairs and from last time I know that sometimes people do not shut the intriguing old-time lift properly. The helpfulness of the staff when I requested a room with a shower that was not over a bath.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.6
    Friendly staff and super handy to Te Manawa
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tower Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was in a deep sleep, but my hubbie said it was rather noisy for 2 hrs quite late with the tenants upstairs. He thought about ringing reception to complain, but didn't....so it's a little hard to complain!

    Chris who was working on reception was super friendly and composed despite how busy it was when we arrived.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    Warm comfortable all facilities provided like having 1 stop...
    • Group
    • Tower Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Professional friendly staff

    Warm comfortable all facilities provided like having 1 stop sop access to all necessities including car park nice and quiet. Chris at reception even gave great recommendations for personal shopping needs. Food delicious and hearty and housekeeping staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.8
    Great location for sports venue
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tower Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park was full every time we tried to park there. Thankfully, there was plenty of parking on the street. The bathroom could do with an upgrade and a bit more bench space to put clothing on, but it was sufficient.

    The bed was comfortable. Lovely warm room (slightly warmer than we needed, but we are from Wellington!). Location was fantastic as we were attending the Manawatu Arena daily. The cleaner did a good job.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.9
    Great central location so parked up the car and walked everywhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tower Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was clean but very tired. Exterior looks a little sad and needs a makeover. Air conditioning in room couldn't be adjusted and it made sleeping uncomfortably warm.

    Location, quietness, free parking, great bar and great staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.6
    Excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tower Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were 2 double beds in the room. Would have preferred 2 single beds as well as a double bed.

    The staff were really polite, helpful and accommodating. We had 2 elderly folks whom each had a mind of their own, but special mention to Lance (night reception), Chris (morning reception) and David (dining area), amongst others, who made our stay, especially with 2 seniors, very comfortable and memorable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.9
    FIrst night of holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing really

    the room was nice, with a very comfy bed .Hot chocolate sachets were great and a full range of toiletries were offered. Staff very pleasant and great to have parking. Very close to shops and restaurants. Got it for a great rate thru booking online.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.8
    Lots of choice and beautifully cooked
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was lovely. The wait staff on at the restaurant in the evening were fabulous - thank you Josiah you were excellent. The steak was fantastic - the fish of the day not very exciting sadly

    Lots of choice and beautifully cooked

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.5
    Lovely Hotel,minor changes in above report would be huge benefit to travellers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staircase carpet was very dirty and spoilt this lovely place.The fire side was not warm enough for large room.

    Very comfortable room,quiet and well appointed.Restrant handy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Just one word "AMAZING"
    • Family with young children
    • Tower Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love everything but the best is the shower though 👍

    What more can I say!!! I'm so excited to let u knw that my family enjoyed our stay and also if I've known anyone who would love to travel to palmy I will recommend DISTINCTION HOTEL...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Hawkes Bay Special Olympic Team stays at Hotel.
    • Group
    • Tower Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps the Parking being on the street. The van could be broken into.

    Beds were comfy and breakfast fantastic. The special of accommodation and free breakfast was really fantastic as we were a sporting team and would have had to go to McDonalds.!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.6
    One Night in Palmy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tiles in bathroom needed bleaching there was stains and dirt in the grout. The room needed vacuuming. Bed was made well.

    Staff were extremely helpful and polite.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    8.3
    Not as restful as we wanted but otherwise good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kept awake most of the night when the rain started as there was a leak outside the window which was really annoying with it's loud dripping noise. The towel rail was loose in the en-suite and the shower head was too low.

    The bed was awesome, restaurant was great and the food was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    8.3
    The hotel was located within walking distance to The Square...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tower Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked for 4 people but only had towels, cups etc for 2. This seems to be the industry standard although it would be nice not to have to ask each time.

    The hotel was located within walking distance to The Square and Te Manawa but far enough away to be nice and quiet for the family. We heard the noise from Speedway outside the hotel but we couldn't hear it inside our room. Secure parking was great with plenty of off street parking nearby. The room was clean and tidy. Decent breakfast offered.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    8.8
    Must have breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tower Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was superb! Pancakes, waffles, whipped cream and maple sauce, hash browns, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, grilled tomatoes, fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, cereals, bagels, cheese board, juices, espresso coffee.... Must do

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.6
    Will be staying here again, I enjoyed it but most of all my kids enjoyed it
    • Group
    • Tower Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldnt open the windows. One of the lifts shakes quite a bit

    Stayed in a few hotels, even sky city but this has to be the most comfy bed. The pillows were nice as well, not to hard. Easy walking distance to town

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    10
    Restful stay in a Heritage building
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good

    Awesome croissants the biggest I have seen at a hotel in a long time. Great reception staff on arrival and understanding of the situation I found myself in

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.6
    central to town clean and tidy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    sky tv ??found two sports channels and one movie channel we get more off the basic sky package at home

    very clean and tidy and so close to town great staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.5
    Room was comfortable;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tower Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Secure car parking was full when we returned to the hotel at about 9pm. Fortunately there was parking outside the hotel.

    Room was comfortable; breakfast was well presented and tasty

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.1
    Nice business hotel that is also good for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tower Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The night lights for both double beds were next to eachother, which made it impossible to use one while our kids were sleeping on the other bed.

    Our booking included breakfast, which covered all the bases and is located in a nice-looking restaurant at street level. The view from our room on the 4th floor was great - the town plus the hills beyond and all the wind turbines!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    8.8
    Palmerston North shining star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack pillow choices for different type of sleeper(found it a bit hard), sofa base broken in, no lock on bathroom door. Breakfast were good quality but lack variety. Given only 1 key card per room -> juggle between access and power for current occupant.

    Good coffee, friendly staff, contemporary decor. Great location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    6.7
    Not up to expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tower Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waitresses at dinner and breakfast were not attentive or observant. At one point at breakfast every table was covered in dirty dishes and guests were clearing tables so they could have a clear table to sit at. Very dissappointing.

    The bed was very comfortable and the hotel clean. The receptionist was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    5.4
    Owners need to look at UK .. how to make old properties look and feel to notch.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Heritage Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It looks and feels out of the 1980's. Really dusty and musty staircase. Need to look at UK .. how to make old properties look and feel to notch.

    Room size ok, bed fine

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    8.8
    Good value for money with kind and helpful people
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tower Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heater/air conditioning wasn't working which was a bit of a pain but nothing major, however there were red marks/specks that looked kind of like blood or red dye/paint in the bathtub/shower when we arrived.

    Bed was super comfy, we got back to the hotel really late after going to dinner and a movie and the night desk clerk was amazing. Actually all the desk staff were extra helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    8.3
    Interesting property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    air con was noisy and difficult to control

    Heritage room was quite small but quirky and was perfectly fine for our stay. Loved the ancient lift which also added character.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    3.3
    I went for MBA study and the conference room was freezing.
    • Solo traveller
    • Tower Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold temperatures

    I went for MBA study and the conference room was freezing. i returned back sick in bed for over two weeks. My hotel room was also freezing...

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    7.1
    Clean tidy room within easy walking to The Square, Plaza and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lounge lights were not working but we told reception about this so it is fixed in future

    Clean tidy room within easy walking to The Square, Plaza and Broadway Restaurants. Easy swipe card access parking around the back

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    5.4
    Fair Location. Limited sleep with noisy guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tower Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel hosts conferences and weddings etc. If you don't mind being waken after midnight when they all stumble back to their rooms then stay here! I wont be returning

    Location was good

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    4.6
    Really disappointed it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy from whole way ( wake up few times at night) Not enough car park space ( we had to park a car on the random street not feeling safe for it. we paid for car park and free wifi both didn't work not happy about it at all) We got told the wifi password which didn't work by the phone. First time to stay at "D " and it will be the last time. Very disappointed it. Not available for early check in either.

    Bed & tidiness & friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.6
    Staff were friendly and professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tower Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom door did not latch closed properly

    Staff were friendly and professional. Room was clean and comfortable. Excellent location, close to shops, movie theatre and restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: