Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Trelawn Place 4.5 stars

35 Watties Track Arthurs Point, 9348 Queenstown, New Zealand

#14 of 25 B&Bs and Inns in Queenstown

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 48 B&B reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.2
    A glorious place to stay near Queenstown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Floydies Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It had an over bath shower and it was not very powerful.

    The room and property were beautiful and in a fabulous location with a great view of the Shotover River and surrounding mountains. The owners were very welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    10
    Absolutely fantastic location, incredible views and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely fantastic location, incredible views and wonderful people and corgi's. Can be a little awkward turning off the main road, but once at the property, its a joy to behold.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.6
    A great and quiet place a bit outside of Queenstown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Floydies Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Awesome location with stunning views over the river valley and into the mountains, and wonderful and very kind hots! A beautiful hot tup outside overlooking the valley.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.6
    Dream House
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit difficult to find in the night time. WIFI signal is not very stable in the house. Limited hot water for shower.

    The English style decorated cottage is like a dream house to me! View from the balcony is excellent. If I've got enough time I would rather stay a whole day in the yard, enjoy a cup of tea. The host Michael's been very kind and helpful during the stay. Definetely will come back to stay again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    10
    Incredible views from a mountain retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Apt was a little musty; though not stained, shower curtain was sour.

    Older, clean apt with bedroom upstairs. The rose gardens are incredible; gorgeous view of the river from the hot tub.The size of the apt was good for a couple, kitchen well appointed. Neri was very accommodating and made tour arrangements for us that were excellent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    9.6
    Perfect place to take a long stay in Queenstown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit overpriced comparing to other lake-view accommodations

    Great location over Shotover river; 4 mins driving to the town; Tranquil but never a boring place to stay

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    7.5
    Spectacular location. Probably more suitable for mature travellers .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a complaint but ....Apartment was dark and kitchen very basic so not suitable for any serious cooking . We had a double bed upstairs with a beautiful outlook, and two beds downstairs which meant no room for lounging. But for three people a better option than cramming into one characterless hotel room or paying for two ! Tv small with Free TV channels only however this was not an issue for us, as encouraged early nights and Al fresco dining every morning and evening with spectacular views.

    Location and garden superb . View truly spectacular and you would be hard pressed to beat the outlook from the spa pool ! Highly recommend if you do not want to be in the centre of town but less than 10 mins away by car.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2013

    4.6
    We have just finished a 10 night road trip of the South...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    For $385 per night it was not a good value. The television was the smallest I've ever seen and only received 3 channels. There was a dvd, but no movies to watch. The kitchen counters had food on them. The bathroom sink had grass all over it. Someone mowed and didn't shut the window. There was paper wrapped soap in the bathroom, but it had gotten wet (some guests before us) and redried so the paper was difficult to get off. We ran out of what was left of the toliet paper roll and there was no more. There were robes, but looked rather worn. We enjoyed the dogs, but some people might not like the dogs coming into their room. Reminded me of staying at my grandparents, but without the hosts being overly friendly. It could be a really nice place if some of those things were fixed or charge less money. We expected this to be one of the best places we stayed on our trip and were disappointed.

    We have just finished a 10 night road trip of the South Island. We stayed at a different spot every night. The setting was beautiful. The gardens were beautiful. The view of the river spectacular. The cottages had a good structure.

    Stayed in December 2012

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Cottage
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nery and Michael were gracious hosts. The property was gorgeous. Five minute drive to Queenstown but felt like we were in the country.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    10
    Quiet, comfortable and secluded, beautiful landscaped gardens. Great views of the Shotover river
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Cottage
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and accommodation type

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.9
    Don't miss this spectacular property and experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    No bathtub available but the location and friendly service was amazing. You will love the family and corgies!!!!!😍

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    The hosts are lovely and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hosts are lovely and friendly. The place offers peace and quiet with amazing and gorgeous views.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.6
    Restful, beautiful and good for the soul.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We LOVED the cottage, and the beautiful gardens. It was the best way to end our holiday. Really hit the spot.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    This is a beautiful property in a perfect spot the hosts are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a beautiful property in a perfect spot the hosts are very accommodating and made our stay very pleasant

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.6
    Great choice for leisure
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stovetop was not work properly

    Great location (only 2min drive to downtown) and wonderful view of the lake and mountains! Friendly host😃

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    10
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic views. Lovely gardens.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    8.8
    The best setting and easy visit. The are stunning views of the gorge and mountains.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Floydies Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great breakfast hospitality and enjoyment of scenery. Mike and Nery were also a great help with local shopping and places to visit.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    9.6
    Great locality
    • Couple
    • Luxury Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Milk in fridge

    Lovely view

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    10
    Beautiful, beautiful beautiful.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The most magical place with the best scenery in NZ

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    10
    Super location, quiet quaint and quality!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Difficult to find on the gps

    Super location, quiet quaint and quality! Owner is a delight and wonderful to speak with. Great location away from the smaltz of Queenstown.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    9.6
    The location was just the right distance away from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was just the right distance away from the centre of Queenstown - but close enough to get there quickly. The accommodation was lovely and private and the views of the immaculate gardens, Shotover river and surrounding mountains were spectacular.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    4.2
    Not much, only the garden and view from the property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Most expensive B&B we ever stayed at. Room facilities as described on Booking.com site are incorrect and most of the room facilities listed relate to the establishment and not the room. No TV in room and no bath, only shower which was only a drip!. We also did not receive the room we booked.

    Not much, only the garden and view from the property.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    8.8
    The view, the beautiful gardens, patio area outside...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower was pretty useless, it leaked water onto the floor if you didn't have the shower curtain round correctly, could do with an update.

    The view, the beautiful gardens, patio area outside apartment, fully equipped.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    9.6
    The owners Neary and Michael were very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The owners Neary and Michael were very helpful and friendly. Hired a car through their friend for next to nothing. A very relaxed atmosphere and amazing scenery. I felt like I was in Heaven.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    7.1
    The location is superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hosts are genuinely friendly, accommodating people, and this accommodation will suit people who like the bed and breakfast type accommodation; however we prefer a tad more anonymity and as such it did not appeal to us as much. We are also not mad keen dog people, so the three corgis yapping whenever we went into the house or the yard was an annoyance. The Apartment does not have its own washing machine etc and you must go into the house to use it, which means... Dogs. Also we had a lot of clothing that could not be put through a dryer and there is no airer. Unfortunately for us, we chose Trelawn specifically for the outside spa, but it was out of action while we were there, which was disappointing. If staying with 4 people in the apartment be aware the 4th bed is a trundle and a very squeaky one at that - which again didn't impress as when searching for accommodation I eliminated other places due to trundle beds as I wanted more comfort for all of us. Heating isn't great. The shower head is atrocious and the bathroom basically flooded each time you used the shower. Again, not for us but it will definitely appeal to others.

    The location is superb.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    9.6
    We enjoyed the cottage very much but wished we spent more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We enjoyed the cottage very much but wished we spent more time in the facility though. We intend to come back and fully relax to soak up the lovely surroundings. We would recommend Trelawn place to others who wish to spend time away at a lovely boutique get-away. Rose & Norbert

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    7.5
    A really beautiful place, large garden, incredible river and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Anyhow, despite the lovely place and due to the relative extensive overnight stay compared to other top location in New Zealand (we have now 25 days experience) one can expect some more cleaningness.

    A really beautiful place, large garden, incredible river and mountain view. A lot of work to maintain. Short distance to Queenstown. We stayed in the apartment.

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2015

    9.2
    The back patio overlooking the river is one in a million.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The roar of the river boat tours is a distraction.

    The back patio overlooking the river is one in a million. Having your own cabin was very authentic. The garden when in bloom are very special.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    10
    Stayed in one of the beautiful cottages.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Stayed in one of the beautiful cottages. Rooms also avail. Incredible river/mountain views, gardens, 5 minutes away from the crazy traffic of Queenstown. Michael was great with recommendations of places to go see or where to have dinner. Didn't hurt to have 5 Corgi puppies frolicking around, either. This was our favorite place we stayed in all NZ, no hesitation!!!

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2015

    10
    The location, the view, the accommodation.
    • Group

    The wifi tended to drift in and out, but that was more of an annoyance than a problem and kind of expected as you are surrounded by hills.

    The location, the view, the accommodation. Gorgeous little cottage. The spa was divine, watching and waiting for shooting stars in the crystal clear night time sky. Bliss!

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2015

    10
    Supreme accommodation set in idyllic grounds surrounded by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Supreme accommodation set in idyllic grounds surrounded by breathtaking scenery. Exceeded our expectations. Michael and Margaret, the owners, couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Their gorgeous corgis, Coby, Rusty and Lucy really made us feel at home. We can't recommend Trelawn highly enough and hope that other travellers have the same experience.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    9.6
    Super lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really

    Super lovely place to stay

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    10
    Lovely apartment lovely views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely apartment lovely views

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    9.6
    Brilliant location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Brilliant location ... Private and peaceful with beautiful scenery. Hosts were friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    10
    tremendous location and very friendly and caring hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    wifi dropped out a lot, but could live without it for the stay

    tremendous location and very friendly and caring hosts.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2015

    9.6
    Welcoming hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Welcoming hosts. Delightful self-contained cottage with wonderful views from private terrace overlooking Shotover River.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    9.2
    Location and owners Neary and Michael
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Weak WiFi

    Location and owners Neary and Michael

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Guests also reviewed these properties: