Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of VR Rotorua Lake Resort 4.5 stars

366 State Highway 33, Rotorua, 3074 Mourea, New Zealand

#1 of 3 hotels in Mourea

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 483 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room key shonky. Replaced twice. Laundry room consistently full of resort's laundry. No separate facility for guests.

    Bed very comfy. Large bathroom. Excellent shower. Lovely view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a bit old-school (as shown in pictures) but very clean and spacious.

    Very nice staff that make you feel welcome and seem to care about you having a nice stay at the hotel. Spacious and comfortable rooms. Great view of the lake. Would definitely go back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The one thing that could’ve been better was we booked the room for 3 adults but only enough wine glasses and cups for two people

    View was beautiful, staff were friendly and helpful, room was nice and cosy and food at restaurant was tasty

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 1 shampoo and conditioner per room for 2 nights Hotel cold in areas

    The restaurant/bar manager was very helpful and knowledgeable able Rotorua and surroundings The reception manager was very curtious and brought in our luggage

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet in one of our rooms was damp. Food in restaurant for breakfast wasn’t great.

    Very friendly and helpful staff and a beautiful relaxing view!! The activities offered at the resort also meant we didn’t have to be out all day for the kids to be having fun.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need paint work and carpets updated. More attention required to keeping Windows cleaned, finger and hand prints on restaurant Windows.

    Very comfortable bed, and the restaurant food was amazing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The all day menu should be available for room service until kitchen closes rather than making us eat from the dinner menu.

    Bed was very comfortable, really like having a separate bath and shower. Lovely to have a table and chairs in the room as well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was over an exit to patio. We woke to smokers hacking their brains out at 6 am despite management stating the door did not open until 7am. Ashtrays and glasses rarely picked up, including the one on our private balcony which we finally took to front desk only to be told if we have a problem “ take it to management “.

    The room was clean, spacious and comfortable with a view

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The weather :-( It was such a shame as we were in an amazing hotel in February and it rained every day.

    The room was amazing, beautiful views, the bed was very comfortable, The receptionist Emy was so lovely, friendly, and was so helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very disappointed with bus load of tourists who were very noisy at our end of the complex till very late at night...very disrespectful, but we do realise that these things can not always be controlled in this environment.

    Loving the pillows

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff could be warmer. It felt like they were short staffed. The robes in the wardrobe were old and the ironing board is too big for the wardrobe and for your clothes to fit in. Ironing board on the back of the bathroom door would have worked better. I would have not wanted to use the spa and pool because the windows from reception look out at it which feels like you are on show

    The rooms are very nicely decorated. The bed and linen was very comfortable. Very clean. The meal I had in the restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like leaving after only one night - I wish we could have booked longer.

    Dinner and breakfast were both excellent. Lying on the very comfy bed looking out over the lake was a great way to start the day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few things were missing in our room - coffee cups & some of the mini bar items. Also the shower wasn't that clean.

    Very professional and friendly staff, nice room and view, lovely food.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Mildew on curtains 2. Dead insects on ceiling 3. Dirty carpet 4. Lots of weeds around the facilities 5. No sound insulation!!! 6. Holes in the net curtain

    Only location and view were good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Iron boards and iron needs to be checked, also the robes need to be looked at, other than that the resort is awesome.

    The bed was very comfortable, the view of the lake from the room and the bathroom how it opened up and you could have a bath and have a lovely view out onto the lake.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is terrible. One particular staff was rude with very poor attitude. The rest were friendly enough. Breakfast despite being ‘ complimentary’ was terrible so I shouldnt conplain but consider we paid NZD 615 for a room that was quite small. For the price they charge I would expect a much higher standard than what was provided. Don’t be fooled by wide angle photos on website.

    The view of the lawn and lake (not lake Rotorua, the name of hotel is totally miss leading, but Lake Rotoiti)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet doesn't seem to get cleaned as there was a permanent black moldy line above the water which I know just happens when you don't clean it regularly. The layout of the hotel isn't great. Swimming pool and bar should be out front with the views of the lake.

    The view.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Late arrival of some foreign visitors slamming doors and speaking very loud, ignorant to other guests.

    Excellent location right on the watet. Well groomed property and maintained, classy!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit cold inside when it is cold outside, thin walls and lack of cutlery and plates in the kitchen part of the apartment.

    Spectacular view of the lake, plenty of space, access to laundry room and a huge bathtub with jacuzzi.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't appreciate the front clerk trying to use our card to paywave our bill,which didn't work only because there was a problem with the machine which was just as well since we wanted to pay by credit anyway

    Dinner was great even though it was in the conference room due to restaurant being booked for a function,it did not impact on the food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Woken very early by loud talking/shouting and laughing on the lawn outside our room (approx 7am or earlier) while this is not super early it's very annoying on first day of holiday. Voices carry through the corridor at night too. When I complained to staff about the early wake up all I was told was they hadn't heard it.

    Clean rooms, decent size with lovely views of the lake. Big car park with plenty of space.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    From the time we arrived all the staff were friendly checking that everything was okay throughout our stay without been over the top. Restaurant service and meal was excellent also

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were someone else's underware hanging in the wardrobe. There was thick dust on the dining table and rubbish bin like it hadn't been cleaned for sometime. Green slime in the toilet. The spa smelt disgusting, filters needed cleaning at best. The heated swimming pool was too cold to swim in and worst of all you could not wander the grounds because they were covered in dog turds.

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too few staff. No toast or coffee at breakfast. No one serving in the bar. No one in dining room. Toaster not plugged in in dining room. No teaspoons. Staff helpful when asked but why should I have to ask

    View

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The underfloor heating heated up the whole room,A little uncomfortable at night needed to keep widows open

    The view was amazing and the staff wher very friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk customer service. Not being able to order room service. (Because no one would answer the phone from serval attempts)

    The view, the food, the room. Restaurant staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible shame to see a great propertyin a great location being so neglected and rundown . Do the current owners have no pride in the overall appearance

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was mold on the curtains and the shower.When we walked onto the small balcony there was copious amounts of bird droppings.The beds were very uncomfortable as they were very worn.There were a lot af marks on the walls. The extractor above the shower had excess amounts of dust accumulated in it and the grouting in the shower was poorly maintained.The fixtures in the bathroom are old and showing signs of rust.

    The view was ok.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing we would have liked more snacks in the mini bar like chips :)

    Loved the beautiful setting such a stunning location , room was great , very roomy and comfortable and the spa was lovely to relax in! The food at the Resturant has to be one of the best meals I have had!!! Was absolutely delicious!! Will deffiently be returning!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't get a room with a lake view but got a great deal on room rate so not surprised

    Great long and comfortable bath, quiet and spacious room. Comfy bed and pillows. Will recommend to others

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swans spoilt the beach and grounds with their droppings.

    Situation on the lake was beautiful. Staff were available and friendly. Some facilities were a little tired and could do with updating. But very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room we had was a little on the small size and far to noisy. There are no sound seals around the door jambs or drop seals at the bottom of the doors to deaden the sound of people slamming there front doors at night.

    A nice relaxing place with pleasant staff with a fair priced excellent menu.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of staff meant that the place felt empty and lonely. Service was slow and not to the standard expected of a place like this with such a high price tag per night. Spilt a little bit of red wine on the sheets and they took $100 NZD straight from my bank account. Staff were not approachable and kind in dealing with the situation.

    The location was great over looking the lake. The rooms were extremely comfortable and spacious. The beds were also quite comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'm not keen on en-suites that open into the bedroom with just a bi-fold shutter for privacy.

    Very comfortable twin room with double beds. Patio door opened onto tidy gardens with access to the carpark. Dining table with two chairs and also a laptop station. Great use of room and bigger than what I was expecting.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having a price list for the minibar. The length of time it took for the restuarant or room service to answer your calls. If they were even answered

    The restaurant downstairs was amazing! Great food would definitely recommend. It was nice having spa and sauna facilities as well as tennis courts that were free to access. The rooms were beautifully made up and the necessities provided. Would love to stay again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the lights didn't work, but no big problem, the basin in the bathroom was cracked, but again, no big problem.

    The bed was very comfortable and warm, the location by the lake was beautiful, the option of a bath was great, the heating worked a treat and the staff were friendly and helpful Overall the standard was very good,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room facilities were excellent. The room and bathroom looked over the lake. I was cold so requested a extra blanket. This arrived in about 2 minutes!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    not all the staff were very friendly. the first guy we talked to at reception kind of had a bad attitude, he insisted we needed a credit card to pay for the room and after i told him twice that i didnt have one he simply said "im sorry but you need a credit card to pay", and didn't offer us any other solutions, it almost seemed like he expected us to just walk away without a place to stay. i had to ask him if it was possible to pay a $100 bond with my visa debit card but i feel like he should have been the one to suggest that instead of just saying that we needed to have a credit card.

    the beds and pillows were amazing which was what we needed after a long drive and activities. really enjoyed the spa. we loved the view from our room and the beautiful space outside to just hang out and talk

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no-one on the desk for check out at 9am, and when we managed to contact someone a rather annoyed gentleman asked us to wait 5-10 minutes for him to return from the timeshare side off the resort. Fortunately, another staff member arrived at that time to take care of us.

    The view of the lake from our room was just beautiful, even in the rain. The room was lovely and the bed very comfortable. The onsite restaurant had delicious food and was perfect for a romantic dinner.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were not very happy that day, might just be an off day so do not want to penalise them for it, but yeah, they offered no help at all, waited for 30 min to check in, then the guy was completely just emotionless and you could see he did not want to be there. A little damper, but everything else was brilliant

    The room and arrival was pleasant, actually really nice place!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The seal on the shower wasn't good so water leaked out through the whole bathroom which made it dangerous. The room furniture is a little dated and could use a few paint touch ups and few bits fixed.

    Excellent service, lovely view, fantastic bed and room was very clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We both found the shower leaked badly from under the door. Am guessing from the state of the rotting door frame and swollen wood in bathroom that this is not the first time its happened. Went in for breakfast the first morning and the service was pretty bad. 40 minutes after ordering my poached eggs finally turned up. The only other table in the restaurant already had their food so they weren't busy. Much apologising from the waitress but still! The Coffee Club down the road do a great breakfast!

    We loved our huge room with views from all the windows. The bathroom and spa bath were excellent. The mattress was extremely comfortable. The room we were in (113) was on the corner and had brilliant views of Lake Rotoiti from each window. Patio area outside with table and chairs. Underfloor heating in bathroom was lovely. Shame it didn't stretch to toilet. Not a problem though and we cant wait to return.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could do with a touch up, better privacy for bathroom, phone in room didn't work,

    Jacuzzi, convenience of restaurant, wine selection, lake view, chess, quietness.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a bit of a distance from Rotorua though. This did not affect us much as we had a car. But you will need a car if you plan to travel around.

    The super comfy king size bed and the stunning lake view. It is like being in a swiss chalet overlooking the mountains and the lake. Absolutely heaven. The restaurant is good too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, quality of fixtures are substandard, eg, huge cracks in bathroom handbasin, handbasin plug with large hole there unable to use handbasin. Fridge not working properly, could not freeze ice blocks. Poor quality for cost. Minibar items very expensive. Plumbing was noisy, could hear tenants upstairs showering and bathing, loud suction noise like a vacuum cleaner late at night for an hour plus duration. Loud chatter and arguing in Chinese language outside our door. No response to an email I sent requesting earlier check in due to an event we were attending in the vicinity.

    Beautiful setting

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unlockable bifolding shutters from the bedroom to the ensuite. I realise it's so you can bathe while viewing the lake, but it also means -at night especially- with the ensuite light on anyone in the bedroom/lounge can see quite clearly into the ensuite through the gaps in the bifold. Weird set up for a family, especially considering the toilet is in the "viewing area."

    Comfy bed. Great view. Son loved the outdoor chess. Toasty warm outdoor spa and pool.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shortage of hot water in the evening, but it was quickly fixed by the staff.

    Picturesque location. Lovely old-style resort. Dining room has a wonderful log fire and the waiter was superb. We got a free upgrade to a suite and it was awesome!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the coffee mug had a nasty film on the bottom -requiring a good scrub before i could use it. I will definitely stay here again, but will bring my own mug next time,

    Sunny room, great views, very comfortable bed, loved the big tub.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The alarm clock needed to be set to the correct time or a charger for a phone could be in rooms

    The staff are friendly but professional and are committed to making your stay enjoyable. The bed was comfortable and the view to die for.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Client facing staff (check in and the check out people in this case) not always English proficient and had some miscommunication. At key check out time, there was no one at the desk and the sign was placed off to the sign of the phone number to call to let know that someone was there and ready to check out. They are more geared towards tour groups it feels; where when it comes time check out, they just leave keys on the desk as arranged. The walls are thin. There was a baby crying at least 2 rooms down that I could hear. The windows are also thin so heard the tour group early the next morning as they were walking the lawns and taking pictures. The food menu is limited and over priced, so left to drive into the town.

    Pretty views; well maintained lawns.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found some staff quite short and blunt

    Most of the staff were awesome Unfortunately a water pipe leaked in corridor power was turned off as was water no one came and told us we had to go find out and at 5 pm was I thin not good We got a new room but think a little compensation I.e free drink in bar would have smoothed it a lot more

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows were a bit lumpy and the bathroom dated but clean.

    The bed was comfortable and the room was nice with a view of the lake. Good size bathroom. We were able to use the boat ramp and jetty.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Messy outdoors area, need to sweep and fix some things, then could rent for double price.

    Great lake front location, lots of wild ducks, swans, many other birds. Restaurant food very good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a wedding on that evening, we were in room 105 right in front of the wedding. Felt a bit restricted having the doors open - would have been better if we were placed further down towards marina.

    Lovely venue, boat ramp and marina. Kids loved the pool.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the treats were in the fridge wasn't reasonable price.

    Nice bath tub, tea, coffee was handy in the room. Clean and cosy room. Comfortable bed. Heaps of pillows nice blanket. Lovely little fridge. Nicely done.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's slightly further from the city. You can get breakfast for $ 30 which is expensive.

    It's a groomed hotel with spacious rooms. Big double bed, screen tv, a bathtub and a shower, fridge, coffee and tea. You can use the sauna, pool and do your laundry. There are 5GB available for the Wifi. If you like it quiet that's the perfect place for you. The staff is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    they need to emphasises more on the cleanliness. We hired the kayaks but they were covered in webs and had a gazillion insects stuck to them. Walls in the rooms were kinda dirty too

    Great location and friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly mismatched furniture and could do with a lick of paint and new carpet. Windows were single glazed and you could hear noise from in front of the lake didn't last long though as we arrived late. Sauna area with (tiny) swimming pool and sauna feels a bit too public as its visible from the foyer not so nice if you are quite private like us. It felt luxurious but we didn't actually need 2 toilets and 3 sinks for a 1 bed room :) A reasonably long drive say 30 minutes from Rotorua (which is a mixed blessing because you cant smell the hot springs anymore but its reasonable far) Ate in town because the veggie option didn't interest me very much.

    Views over the lake were lovely. The room made me actually say 'wow' because it was so generous in size this was a nice surprise because the pictures undersold it a bit. Really comfortable. Nice to be able to watch TV on the sofa and go to the toilet in one room while my wife slept in the other :)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The open planned bathroom... not romantic to hear one another on the loo. Pillows were terrible. They were all too big and the same so no options for size. I slept on a cushion. There were no nice extras like a blanket, real milk or free wifi

    The view. Wow factor when we walked in

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The exterior of the hotel needs a repaint.

    Very friendly staff who went out of their way to look after us. Thank you. The Executive Suite was extremely comfortable. Great view of the lake.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bugs. Oh my god the bugs. It's like this horrible nightmare for me as I truly dislike and am terrified of bugs. The staff assured me they don't bite but they were all over the walls and ceiling. The bug screen for one of the window was partially torn. I'm guessing that's how they got in. There were some on the bed and pillows. The front desk guy came in with a bug spray and killed most of it and did his best to vacuum it clean. It's just unnerving looking out the glass doors and seeing millions of them flying around. The resort itself was nice but I will likely not return due to the bugs and the high prices for the room. Minor problem: No outlets anywhere and slow internet.

    Honestly the staff I would give 10/10. The front desk guy did his best to help with our problem. He even gave us a complimentary bottle of wine. The room has a great lake view and is located in between two lakes which is really cool. The beds and the pillows are super suuuuper comfortable!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only enough coffee for two cups.dead bugs on ceiling. Bath robs old thin and tatted.no sky. For $234 I expected more .

    Nice location. Friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Constant slamming of doors between 6pm and 10pm, and from 6am to 10am was totally unacceptable! Shower was much to low to even get your face under.

    The bed was comfortable. The location was fantastic. The tranquillity was wonderful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the website it was stated that the pool was a heated pool with a temperature of 28•C unfortunately the pool was not heated when we arrived and it was cold. There were two spa pools, one was excellent unfortunately the other spa pool was not working.

    The rooms were excellent and my family was given a free upgrade to the rooms with a lakeside view. The spa and sauna were excellent.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lawns had so much duck poo everywhere, which is a shame. We had kids with us and had to tell them to watch out. Also its down to the guests to make sure they dont smudge any of it all over the flooring. Maybe the ducks should be controlled, as they were big and literally all over the place

    Overall a nice place with a fantastic first impression. But after the initial moment it felt cramped for 4 people. The lighting was dull as the was only lamps at the beds and there were only 2 towels for our family. All in all not huge issues.... but could be better.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathrooms could have been a bit cleaner and also need updating

    Beautiful location by the lake - and away from smell of sulphur! Rooms very spacious and comfortable

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom could have been a bit cleaner, with attention to detail and there was a hair on the side of the bath which was a bit off putting, but everything else great :)

    The bed was very comfy with a fantastic peaceful view and great service. A lovely relaxing place to spend the evening wandering around the grounds enjoying the sun set :)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager Lack of services No restaurant or bar facilities

    Staff manager was rude and we had no access to restaurant as priivare function being held . Offered room service but that was not the deal we signed up to . The we asked to cancel and the manager was rude , did not understand the fact that room service was not acceptable . He was a absolutely revolting to us

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Executive Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bikes, kayaks and gym equipment are in dire need for replacement. It was a disappointment as i booked my stay based on the activities provided.

    The staff were very friendly, and our room was fantastic!!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all, the manager was ok, but he didn't show up in the end anyway. There were nails (quite a few )come up from the floor, my husband got hurt to bleed, we had to go to medical center to inject. The hotel doesn't have any medical care so it's not good for old people and Children. And they just refund us the medical care fee which is 90 dollar something , the white Indian guy even didn't apology , and had very bad manner. The location is 16km from rotorua, the road to the hotel has no light when it's dark. There is hair on towels so it's not clean. 很差!位置很差很差,离Rotorua还有16公里,而且毛巾很脏,地上有钉子!

    Bed was ok

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Best description of this hotel is 'tired' - the rooms were cramped with odd expectations that our two children would share a bed, and our adult son would share our room....the ironing board was badly worn, chairs wobbled, the swans outside were over friendly (and dirty)

    The dinner was very well presented, served and enjoyed by all.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredible value. Beautiful location right on a lake. Quiet and comfortable. Staff very friendly. Dated gym equipment and the overall hotel could use a little TLC. That being said we loved it and would highly recommend it.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free wifi is 150mb which doesn't last long. TV had very poor reception. Bathroom hardware was corroded. Shower pressure was poor.

    Beautiful location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some light bulbs were out and took 2 hours to repair. TV was out all evening. I do not think this appropriate for a "resort"

    Good location and facilities.... but!!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like my meal. I ordered the nocchi & wasn't expecting it to be a kumara fritter & my kale was burnt

    I loved the breakfast buffet

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: