Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort 4.5 stars

77 Robinson Avenue, Holden's Bay, 3042 Rotorua, New Zealand

#32 of 88 hotels in Rotorua

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 357 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.1
    OK, but not great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could hear neighbours through wall (they were not particularly noisy); no way of ventilating other than leaving window open, which cooled down the room uncomfortably.

    View of the lake, location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not made up until late in the day. Left at around 8am, returned around 2.30 but still needed to wait for service until around 3. Food in restaurant not hot. No info. in room re facilities.

    Very helpful staff. Comfortable and quiet room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Would definitely return for another stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really enjoyed our stay here. Lovely rooms and the pool facilities were great! We were even allowed to stay in the spa after hours which was really kind of the staff. Great buffet breakfast as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms all out look out to each other and no view of the lake. Privacy curtains or tinted windows would be helpful as everyone walking past can see in. Not being able to dine at the restaurant was disappointing as we were told they were full - fair enough but we walked past twice and there were empty tables.

    Comfortable beds

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Love the view and the restaurant they have there staff is...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need to pay more detail to cleaning the rooms,I could tell it was a spray wipe job the spa bath and shower where dirty and si was the outside deck

    Love the view and the restaurant they have there staff is very friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Very helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Very comfortable room and bed. Another reviewer said the rooms were small, but I didn't think our room was small, it had a couch/TV area. I enjoyed the spa! Also, I had a miri miri massage in the Day Spa, it was excellent - highly recommend!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    The rooms were beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was not great. Staff and decor lovely but the food was abit disappointing. We ordered the pork belly which was too tough to cut with a knife and chew. And the lamb was blue when we asked for medium rare. We over ordered as we were unaware of the size of the meals and ordered two side dishes and felt we could have been warned that it would be too much.

    The rooms were beautiful. Wonderful staff and gorgeous location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.4
    Fine but not amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing like the pictures, hard bed, got given used jandals instead of slippers and generally too expensive for the standard of room. The location is also not ideal.. not close to town and none of the rooms are positioned to overlook the lake.

    Great view of the lake from the restaurant and very quiet place to get a good nights sleep.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant and lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The large walk in Hot pool was not available due to the weather. It is only heated by solar evidently and there did not appear to be back up ways to heat it. There were 2 large spa pools but I couldn't use them as I was unable to climb in and out of them easily.

    Friendly staff and lovely view of the lake.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.6
    A good way to finish our holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best bed we had on our trip. Great location for us meeting up with friends. Enjoyed a wonderful meal in the restaurant. The spa facilities looked great but sadly we had no time to use them.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.3
    It’s at a beautiful location right next to the lake, and we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People walk pass your window and therefore have to always have the curtains close

    It’s at a beautiful location right next to the lake, and we saw a lot of beautiful stars too! Staff are helpful and accommodating. Rooms are clean and we enjoy having coffee right outside our room on the lawn looking out to the lake.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.2
    A motel at a nice loacation at the lakeside with an utmost friendly staff.Don't book a standard room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The standard rooms in ground floor are very narrow and long. Thus, they are very dark and uncomfortable and cannot be recommended. We moved to a suite in the 1st floor, paid more but had a bright room with a nice view to the lake.

    A motel at a nice loacation at the lakeside with an utmost friendly staff, very delicious food in the restaurant both for breakfast and dinner, very cozy bar.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.2
    We had a lovely stay at Wai Ora and highly recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a coach of 20 tourists booked into the restaurant. The staff were absolutely run off their feet as clearly the restaurant was understaffed. We were unable to have a booking at the restaurant until 8pm given the number of people booked in. There wasn't any bar staff as they were all trying to assist in the restaurant. Full credit to the staff.

    The facilities included a steam room, sauna and hot spas. It was just what we needed after our travels that day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    We would highly recommend this resort. It was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked it all.

    Beautiful resort, lovely landscaping of the grounds and around the two pools; sauna and steam rooms well maintained. Rooms not huge but beautifully appointed with modern bathrooms. Five star restaurant and super friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    The rooms are well appointed with amenities for guests like...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We choose Wai Ora for the spa and pool so it was disappointing to find the mineral pool is solar heated and was too cold to use at the time of our stay.

    The rooms are well appointed with amenities for guests like pool robes and slip on shoes.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was very nice and great views out over the lake. The room was very nice and had all of the things you could need. Robes and flip flops were provided which was a nice touch. One of the jacuzzis had some jets not working but the other two were great. The hotel is away from the centre of town but the buses are really easy to navigate just outside the hotel. The breakfast was included and was really tasty, there was a large group staying so the breakfast was buffet which suited us as we could go for seconds/thirds

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful spot, easy place that has it all to relax and not go to far
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One staff member was a bit pushy, and also felt privacy was crossed a little bit as room service staff took it soon themselves to throw away items that were not in the rubbish bin which lead to them throwing out a plastic bag which had an unopened pack of permanent markers and chocolates being thrown out, was not pleased.

    Bed was comfy, most of room was clean :) Beautiful location! Very friendly staff in the restaurant! Very friendly spa staff!! Beautiful spas with amazing views and plenty of room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    5.4
    Butt of the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We came away to relax.... Accommodation wasn't worth what we paid. No spectacular views from room. Resort was situated in what looked like the bronx of Rotorua, uncomfortable hard beds + pillows and no sky TV.

    Nice relaxing bath and lovely staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    8.3
    Excellent dinner made our evening
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water in jacuzzi was little dirty. Hot pool was quite cold. Maybe hard rain was reason for that.

    Restaurant was perfect and we enjoyed our dinner very much. Location was nice by the lake and there was lot of free parking space just behind the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    6.3
    Not good value for the money paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room location very poor very dark inside nowhere to sit outside the room. Reception staff on arrival very unfriendly. No atmosphere or vibe about the place bar and restaurant always empty.

    Spa and pool

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    6.7
    There were plenty of spa pools in a lovely settings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not ready until 4:30pm and when we enquired to have a late checkout, the receptionist became abrupt and rude. Not the best first impression.

    There were plenty of spa pools in a lovely settings. Well kept grounds and facilities.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    5.8
    Did not quite meet our expectations for a "spa" hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were more like shoe box sized motel rooms with no real privacy (people constantly passing in front of the glass door/windows of all rooms, noisy door slamming), main pool and all three spa pools (hot tubs/whirl pools) were not clean during our stay and in need of an update, poor value for money (like everything else in Rotorua)

    Located right by the lake, friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.9
    Stunning area outside Rotorua, but bad breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast (‘a la carte’) was really poor. The orange juice was bad, past its due date (and we took half of a big gulp before realising, very unpleasant), the benedict eggs were not well cooked, the tables were all ruffled, we arrived 10 min before closing and it was clear the waiter did not want to serve us. It’s a pity that such a nice hotel has this bad service, a good breakfast is important (also because there are no other restaurants immediately around).

    Holdens Bay is spectacular. The hotel’s rooms are well stocked and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    A Great Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa baths need a little more maintenance, several of the pumps were not working.

    The position was lovely right on the lake. The staff were very attentive. The food in the restaurant was superb. The best lamb fillet I have ever eaten.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    7.1
    Good... but could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good, but could be better. Expensive restaurant but food and service were not at the price level. No real christmas atmoshere or decoration during Christmas holidays.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.2
    It was great. Service was over and above. We would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spas were a bit weathered and old. There were not enough to accommodate the number of guests in the area at one time.

    The food in the restaurant was great. I liked the spa, steam room and sauna (although we couldn't get the sauna to work). We were advised that the mineral pool near the steam room was warm but it was very cold and dirty.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    5.8
    Nice property, decent location, poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-in experience was poor. Originally arrived at 730am to drop off our bags. Came back at 215pm to see if we could check-in, and was told the rooms wouldn't be ready until 3. We killed some time by the lake, and came back at 3. Then we were told neither rooms were ready, and it would be another half an hour. I asked the receptionist why she didn't tell me that when I had checked 45 minutes earlier, and she said she doesn't know when the rooms will be ready. I pointed out that she told me the rooms would be ready 3. She was clearly annoyed by this, and gave me a bit of attitude while showing us around the property. I don't feel I was out of line, and don't appreciate the defensive behaviour and lack of ownership from the staff. We had been travelling early so were pretty beat and ready to lay down, which is why we were so eager to check-in. If the receptionist had even bothered to check the status of our rooms (which she did not), she could have set our expectations and we could have gone and relaxed at the hot pools to kill time.

    The hot tubs were a nice touch. Awesome beds.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    3.3
    Awful Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This hotel was really disappointing. It is situated amongst a really poor neighbourhood, very rough and didn’t feel safe and was so far out from Rotorua you needed a car. The check in process seemed disorganised and rushed and we booked the restaurant one night only to arrive to be told they were not ready and asked us to wait in the bar, which had no waiter for service. Then the food was bad, served cold and was over priced. The breakfast was dreadful, awful selection and not enough for all the guests, nothing really healthy. The rooms were so small, they felt claustrophobic. The serving on the rooms were slow, we were out all day came back late afternoon and still wasn't done. They didn't remove the rubbish or clean the glasses on some occasions. But the worst came when a group 30+ Orientals arrived at 10pm, and they started to scream, bang walls, play musical instruments and smoke and flick cigarette butts everywhere. We complained twice, but it didn’t stop them. On check out, the hotel acknowledged, we had a bad time, but didn’t offer any discount. Would never stay there again.

    There isn't much. Bed was comfortable, linen clean. Bathroom shower was clean. Free car parking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.5
    A little bit far from the town center,along the lake, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price is a little too expensive comparing to the facility and the standard of the Resort.

    A little bit far from the town center,along the lake, good view to live in.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    excellent, entertaining
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    cant think of any

    great place and excellent service. Staff are very friendly and always willing to help. Room was exceptionally clean. setup of room was great dividing living areas with bedroom. bathroom had SPA and bath which was exceptionally clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    8.3
    Spa facility, hot jacuzzi, nice view to the lake Rotorua,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not natural spa, need more cleaning to spa waters, restaurant expensive (we did not try but checked their price)

    Spa facility, hot jacuzzi, nice view to the lake Rotorua, nice walk along the gate from the property, good size mini-bar to keep your own drinks, quietness

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.6
    Perfect getaway from life
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Check in was at 3pm, we arrived at about 3.45 but our room wasn't ready. We didn't mind waiting and they soon sorted this.

    The spa was amazing, the staff helpful and friendly. We just enjoyed the time away with the extra pampering.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    6.7
    Nice spot on the shore of the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wet steam room had a strange and very strong rubbery smell and the dry steam room was only lukewarm. The hot pool was good though.

    The room was comfortable and the shower was good. The location on the lakeshore was nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    2.5
    Never again! Huge insects problem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mosquitos and flies came into the room as we entered the room no windows or lights were left open, I have taken photos and the state room was after the insects. Shown other two rooms but had same problem and room move at 11pm was a pain. Finding other hotel at 11pm was not easy and was confirmed a refund at night. When complaint at reception in the morning for the horrible experience was told I am blackmailing them for the review. Stay elsewhere in Novotel or Copthorne, Sudima better value and more central.

    Leaving

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    9.6
    Overall we had a good and relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could be better. There wasn’t much to choose from. The in the breakfast price included coffee was horrible. We had to pay extra for a good coffee.

    The bath and the bed. All nice, clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to access room Ninja style at night to avoid flies attracted to light but that is due to its superb location on a lake!

    Large comfortable bed, hot tubs, sauna & steam room. Great food too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Overall excellent stay beautiful facilities and excellent staff thank you loved the relaxation time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the spa and sauna area but think the heated pooltemp could be hotter as it was warm you couldn't exactly sit in it too long as you couldn't exactly soak in and absorb especially as there is such a beautiful and serene setting then you hop into a warm pool on a cooler day doesn't quite cut the mustard.Other than that excellent.

    The whole set up of the facilities

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    The manager (Bindu?) that checked us in was fabulous and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager (Bindu?) that checked us in was fabulous and even showed us around the room and had the air con already set for us. Room was great and had a spa

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.2
    Waiora for the wairua- kei te pai!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The jets in the spa bath were dirty, on three occasions they pumped hair and dirt into a clean bath!

    I really loved the lady who welcomed us into our accomodation, made sure our stay was plesent and looked after us well. Name forgotten, had a German accent! Proffessional, funny and friendly!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.0
    Great luxury holiday at reasonable pricing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great mineral pool with spa pool , steam room and sauna. The Spa/massage centre is fantastic. Nice boutique style accommodation. Only a few minutes from Town and very quiet. Food was amazing Staff very freindly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.2
    Friendly warm helpful staff creating "warm cosy home like" accomodation beside beautiful lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin beds narrow in small room. Air conditioner heated up one twin bed but not twin bed near door extrance. As a consequence it was uncomfortable for both people because heat set so high for one and not enough for other.

    Staff very warm, welcoming and helpful. Accommodation has a "warm homely" feel. Lovely fresh buffet fruit croissants with dining choice of very good hot meals. Excellent chef. Spa treatments fabulous with wonderful bonus of bubbles and very yummy variety of canapies. Wonderful spectacular views of lake. Great location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.6
    The spa and restaurant is highly recommended to visitors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room's insulation is too bad. I could here my next door shutting their door, every time.

    The spa and restaurant is highly recommended to visitors. Lake view is good. Lamb shin is the best lamb I have ever had.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.2
    It was right by the lake, went for a walk in the morning it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was right by the lake, went for a walk in the morning it was gorgeous. Didn't have time to use the spa facilities but they looked fantastic. Parking was hassle free too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.1
    Good place to go if you want peace and quiet and have a car to travel into Rotorua
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room (The Great Spa Escape)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dirty ashtrays in public outside spaces Limited choices of New Zealand wines Food possibly overrated on websites and trip adviser. It was good but not great

    Great views over the lake Very good Spa Quiet residential location short distance out of Rotorua. Welcoming friendly staff Fantastic room with huge wet room Good internet access Laundry facilities Good food in restaurant, generous portions

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Great accomodation, excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn't like.

    I liked the thermal pool,open to use all day till 11pm. The beautiful view of the lake , the spa and sauna was ready to use. The swimming pool looked magnificent. Our room was lovely, king bed and modern bathroom and walk in shower. Fresh apples in our room for us when we arrived. Friendly staff. We had breakfast in the dining room and we were impressed with the food and service. The waiter we had was excellent and very professional. The food was highly class presented on the plates , 5 star. My georgous tea cup was a blue and gold decorated porcelain cup and saucer, just beautiful. So impressed with this accomodation .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    6.7
    Could of been cleaner and a topper on the bed so you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could of been cleaner and a topper on the bed so you couldn't feel it was two singles pushes together. Great place tho as our of town abit. Staff were great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.9
    It was a blessing as our children organized it for us and it came at a great time when we needed it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise we had and a baby crying next door.

    Liked the sauna and steam and the pool but it was too shallow. It could be shallow one side and deep the other.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.3
    nice outdoor hot pool, bubble bath, good restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    didn't have my room cleaned on the second day, somehow I have to open the curtains, etc... to "tell" them that I want to have room makeup (Kiwi's rules?)

    nice outdoor hot pool, bubble bath, good restaurant

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.2
    Staff are amazing and extremely helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff are amazing and extremely helpful and friendly. The facilities are so well set out and very enjoyable. The location is a little slice of heaven and is perfect for a getaway. If you want a relaxing weekend to pamper yourself, this is definitely the location for you.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    10
    Wonderful relaxing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant specials were the same for 3 nights in a row. Would have liked a change.

    Fantastic staff great restaurant pools very relaxing. Food great and wait staff super attentive. Loved our stay and would come again

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    8.8
    When we booked online we were told we would get breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we booked online we were told we would get breakfast free, however we had to pay and there was nothing much left ( no coffee). The restaurant food was good( breads and dessert) however I asked for medium steak and got very rare and fatty and my husband asked for well done and got medium / rare.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    7.1
    Nightmare Fire Alarm - no staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    One particular event ruined everything - a fire alarm at 2.30am that when on for an hour with no staff on site and the guests had to stand in the rain and we had to call the fire department!

    The hotel was great as were the spa facilities and very accommodating. Food was great!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.2
    Devine dining with fantastic staff makes a stay most rewarding
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Disappointed with TV channel selection, no movies, no international news and no sport available

    Staff were all awesome, food devine although we were disapppointed that you had to request free range and organic eggs. At this sort of resort, we would have expected that that was automatic; having to specify and pay more seems a little incongruous to the top step environment. We were a little disappointed when using the outdoor spa that there was building renovations going on next to us.....surely the building work could and should be done and completed asap; again being part of a building site took away some of the atmosphere of being in a garden spa

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    5.8
    Look elsewhere -don't go here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Advertised as having thermal pool - not working. Advertised as having sauna - not working. Advertised as having Spa treatments - nothing available. Advertised as having room service - no menus in the room - you have to phone to have someone come from the dining room with a menu/wine list. No info pack in the room. The 'award winning' restaurant's awards are a little out of date?? How does it fair in current times?? Only two tables had candles - perhaps the rest of us didn't deserve them as we hadn't paid for a pamper pack?? When questioned they advised the website had been updated with the closure of the thermal pool, but this was not showing when I looked, and no mention of it on your Booking.com website when I booked. We were thoroughly disappointed with our stay, will never go back, and will never recommend this to anyone.

    The staff were lovely, and were doing their best with the difficult situation of having amenities unavailable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    8.3
    A lovely quiet setting with and all you need; no need to leave the property. Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little cramp and no fresh air, as we were encouraged to keep doors and windows closed because of 'trout flies.'

    Comfortable bed. Very quiet. Sauna and spa were great. Thermal pool was under maintainence but a voucher for mud and sulpur spa at Hells Gate was a wonderful compromise.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.6
    Drove out of town for a room 'without' a direct view of Lake Rotorua
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    #1. I deliberately sought out accomodation with views of Lake Rotorua, and made sure when I booked, that we paid for a 'room with a view of the lake' but we didn't get one - that was upstairs. See photo - upstairs had a side window looking out to the lake. See photo - We were downstairs, and our end unit had no window looking out to the Lake. I addressed this with the hostess and she acknowledged that alot of people mistakenly think that they have a view facing the Lake from their room. I think that the website is deliberately misleading and should make it clear that the rooms do NOT look out to the lake - like The Millenium rooms which are right by, and look out onto Lake Taupo - which was fantastic, see photo. The two just don't compare. If I had known that there was no view from the room, I would have just booked cheaper accomodation closer to the City center, instead of travelling an extra 15 minutes out of town for a room with no view. We paid NZ$199 for a one night stay at the Wai Ora in Rotorua, and NZ$199 at The Millenium Taupo which was much closer to Taupo city. #2. Also, at 10.30pm the staff lock the front Reception doors - so you have to know how to access your room by another unclear entrance.

    Modern room and bathroom. Laundry facilities.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    8.8
    Staff made the difference!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked a drop down seat in the walk in shower. (Useful when shaving legs or for older people) Sky tv so you can relax with a movie or sport would also be a plus and is quite common in other accommodation with similar pricing.

    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, the food was superb. The extra mile staff went when they discovered it was my birthday was really touching. The duty manager did an excellent job. Wifi reception was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    7.1
    Had dinner on the Saturday night and was given a desert menu...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had dinner on the Saturday night and was given a desert menu following dinner. Staff member did not return to take the order as was busy processing other guests leaving the restaurant. We gave up waiting and left.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    3.3
    Glad to leave
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accommodation poor, no outside private facilities, straight out to a thoroughfare had to keep curtains closed to keep any privacy, may as well been in a container,.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    10
    excellent stay highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    all good

    Superfriendly staff, quiet pleasant place, everybody went the extra mile. Delicious fine dining, even after hours. Massage highly recommended, deep tissue (not for the faint hearted) but well worth and all muscle ache disappeared. If you are lucky you get Shaquille. Free DVDs. Location at the lake hard to beat.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    7.1
    Overated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is very average for $25 (continental), and was not displayed in an appetizing manner. The tablecloths at breakfast AND dinner were unironed, the manager needs to slow down. The beds were hard.

    Dinner was nice rooms were very clean, staff were friendly. Reception girls were awesome. Nice to see "local" faces!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The understanding of GF Vegeterian was difficult for the restaurant staff to understand even though I had called ahead and double checked on the day that the team knew.

    Lovely staff, beautiful location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    9.2
    Lovely Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet breakfast was disorganized. We had to constantly ask for plates and bowls. Breakfast staff were not topping up baked bean/eggs/milk/juice etc in a timely manner. I think it's very unprofessional to have your guests waiting for the food to be topped up.comparing this with other hotel breakfast I think this hotel needs to increase the plating size so that they don't have to keep topping up the food

    Great customer service on reception. Room size was just perfact for a couple. Room was very clean. This resort is just few steps walk away from Lake rotorua.beautiful view just loved it

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    9.6
    Awesome staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We travel often and the staff at Wai Ora were the friendliest, most helpful hotel staff that we have met in a very long time. This resort is a treat, the caring staff make sure of that!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    9.6
    Great Rotorua pit stop with fantastic food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rotorua, where the hotel is nearest to, leaves a lot to be desired, especially compared to other areas of NZ but this is not the hotels fault and the exact location is good, next to a lake.

    Lovely thermal spa pools, excellent rooms, wonderful lake side view and fantastic food in the restaurant. We stayed over Christmas and sampled their 9 course Christmas menu, it was one of the best meals I've had.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    7.5
    Liked quiet lakeside location, but noise from people outside...
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Did not like glass door between sleeping area and bathroom because turning on the light in the bathroom during the night awakened my partner.

    Liked quiet lakeside location, but noise from people outside the room was annoying.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    8.3
    Relaxing, comfy, peacefully setting day spa resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Phones in the room were not working properly causing a little inconvenience.

    Loved using the spa facilities outside of the public use time, very relaxing. Had a massage with Kelly at the Spa and it was fantastic, Kelly was very good and I can highly recommend her. Spa products were lovely, bed comfy, views of the lake great. Food from the restaurant (as room service) was delicious. Had a take away latte from the bar also good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    3.5
    Website was misleading, was lead to believe all rooms lead...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Website was misleading, was lead to believe all rooms lead onto private patio or view of the lake, my room had neither. Hot pool and spa old, badly needs upgrade. Rooms very noisy, I phoned reception advising of noise from room above at 9.30pm it continued on for hours. I would not recommend this property, No resort!!!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    8.3
    Bed extra comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of tourist information . Two bath mats would be better in bathroom as shower made floor very slippery .

    Bed extra comfy. Staff very friendly. Food at restaurant fabulous

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    9.2
    Lovely quiet location still handy to main roads etc, garden surrounds , quality beds, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pools & sauna / steam room weren't hot enough for me but that could be a personal take- my 13 year old nephew found them just right! The cd collection was vast,but needs to be lightened up a bit with some good humour comedy and a few more chick flicks...very much action based...but it meant I read my book instead so not all bad.

    Being out of town, quiet surrounds and lovely native planting around property. Comfy beds, good quality linen and pleasant rooms.Katy who mostly looked after us , although run off her feet, was warm and welcoming and helpful. Spa pools etc a nice touch, and man, those moon walk slippers are something else!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location, accommodation and welcoming and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Condition of the steam room. Perhaps putting an aromatherapy oil in there would be nice and also noted a lot of green mold around the area.

    The room, facilities, peaceful, quiet and staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    9.2
    Staff were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room (The Great Spa Escape)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly out of Rotarua town itself, although we didn't mind because we had a hire car. About a 5 min drive.

    Staff were very friendly. Lovely location on the lake. Room was spacious and very modern. Very nice, big spa bath in our room. There was also about 3 outdoor spas and a pool on the property which was nice. Small bar and restaurant onsite also.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    10
    Excellent hotel, great facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Immaculate rooms, beautifully presented. Robe and slippers were a nice touch for use with the pools / jacuzzis. Lovely views across lake. Fantastic breakfast with excellent choices!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    10
    Fantastic spot for visiting Lake Rotorua
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You need to make sure to view room online as each room has different views. Best ones for view of lake are on the top floors and at the ends which then are close to Lakeside.

    Excellent location on Lake Rotorua. Excellent restaurant on site with reasonable prices for the superior quality of the food. We did not have time to use the Spa but it was shown to us and looked wonderful and prices seemed reasonable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    3.8
    "Thank you" for ruining our honeymoon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible place for non-driving people, very bad attitude especially that woman at the reception on Nov.16's night and Nov.17's morning, same as the duty manager Aayush Silwal, they don't have their own shuttle bus at all, and no fixed timetable, if you need the shuttle service, please do remember to let them know BEFORE THE BOOKING, otherwise you may not catch it and the result is that they can only tell you they cannot help you, this is not the first time we visit Rotorua, the price for the stay is extremely not worthy, definitely overpriced. We have two people and only one milk in the refrigerator, and the slippers are very dirty(don't know if they're leftovers), inside hot tube has four buttons but one is broke, and as the picture, the waterproof thing on the bathroom door is just half falling and hanging there, cups are dirty,etc. The facilities and all other things are not the bad comment from us comes, the main reason is because of the attitude of the staff! As you can remember, we'd like to take the 9:30am shuttle, I said several times that we do not want the shuttle whenever we want, WE CAN TAKE THE SHUTTLE ON 9:30AM BUT YOU LEFT US NO CHOICE!!! It is full we understand, but other people cannot get on that bus and they really need that shuttle, isn't it the right way that you arrange another shuttle? Your resort is lack of shuttle bus, and lack of communication with all the aspects that needs to arrange the transportation, the worst thing is that you guys didn't try your best to help the customer and instead, just tell us no, and that, is what we can never accept. This resort has many things to improve, and we'll go to NZ many times but will never choose here to stay. :)

    Nice lake view, fantastic breakfast, especially the pancake!!!

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: