Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of West Plaza Hotel 4 stars

110 Wakefield Street, 6011 Wellington, New Zealand

#27 of 54 hotels in Wellington

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1378 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Paid WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise from adjacent room could be heard clearly. Little noise reduction between the walls. Woken up oin early hours by persons next door talking, very easy to hear.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location for a short stay in the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was starting to show small signs of mould. There was no extractor fan in the bathroom.

    The location was excellent, and the staff were helpful and friendly. The room was warm and comfortable. There were no issues with noise.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Great central location, everything was within walking distance. Room was nice with a decent tv.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative I found was the water pressure in the shower was very poor.

    Staff were very helpful. Great central location and nice and clean and tidy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    6.3
    Easy check in and friendly staff in the hotel including...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was in room 419 and all through the night there was banging and what sounded like moving around on level 5. Not sure if it was air conditioning or renovations.

    Easy check in and friendly staff in the hotel including restaurant staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.9
    Apart from the one staff disappointment my stay was very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 2% credit card charge, this should be built into the rates. The young man on reception that must have missed the customer service training, do not dismiss a customer feedback disdain, he may have been right but no need to be rude, the young lady on reception did the right thing, acknowledged what I said and moved on. Customer service 101

    The location was perfect

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.7
    Great, because we don't dwell on what obviously couldn't be changed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were charged $30 extra because we changed one night of our stay. The static night, which had hitherto been charged out at $155 became $185, because we booked a Friday night and cancelled the Sunday night. A week before our stay and we had paid the $155 deposit four months previously.

    The location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.9
    Very handy location close to CBD, friendly staff, breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of parking, toothpaste from previous guest still in sink, room small & coffee etc in closet.

    Very handy location close to CBD, friendly staff, breakfast was really good & got discount as a guest. Bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    6.3
    Ok place to put your head down but nothing exciting
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heater struggled to beat the cold coming through the windows.

    The location worked well for Te Papa and Courtney place. The room was fine if a bit drab and motel like. The bed was ok but not the best. The hotel overall is basic and if you are paying basic rate for it then it’s fine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.1
    Ideal for a short inner-city stay to attend a concert or function.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is very limited parking in front of the building, and had to use a neighboring parking building....this was okay once we worked it all out. Only one life was working, and our room was a very long way from the foyer. The room was comfortable, but the bathroom facilities are a bit limited and could do with an uplift.

    Excellent proximity to city centre and entertainment area. Only a few minutes from the Michael Fowler Centre. Large lounge area in the foyer and excellent food. Staff were very attentive and courteous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic location, a few faults but great for a quick overnight stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom doesn't have a lot of vanity space as it's one giant sink so unless you unpack everything in to the drawer it's awkward to do makeup in there (opening/closing the drawer every time in between products is frustrating). Little bit noisy being right in the city. When it is quiet you can slightly hear the room above which isn't great. Check in staff could perhaps be a little more professional but I'm getting picky now.

    Location is fantastic, rooms are a decent size and the bed is comfortable. Good hot shower and very fast room service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    Value fomoney
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a 70s style place and would benefit from an upgrade but good value for money

    The bed was soft and we went and talked to them. We had a brand new mattress within an hour. The bar was open at least til 10pm with a good range. Close to everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.5
    Very average, but great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were all high- no options of flatter pillow. Noise of the car park opposite & machinery noise from road works . Lift out of order - one lift meant up to 5-8 minutes waiting just to go up or down- no stairs option. What happens I’m an emergency with evacuation if there’s only one tiny lift? Once checked in, no directions to room, person on reception just turned to do something else, obviously it wasn’t hard to find the lift but still a point in the right direction would’ve been better service. Shower box not sealed properly- flooding in bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The flow from the shower that end up around the toilet.

    Great place to stay, very central. Bed comfortable. Staff happy. Would recommend and stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.3
    an enjoyable stay very convient to most town facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    having to request an extra arm chair in our room 1found waiting for a coffee in your ground floor cafe rather slow.more choice in T V channels

    quick entrance to toiletrs at ground floor delivery of daily newspaperthe radio worked reasonable rexceiption

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Road workers at back of building kept us awake from early morning. Bins being emptied in the middle of the night. Could hear the porn movie from the next door room on the last night. Given we'd booked for 4 nights we felt you could have given us a quieter room. We asked to pay the night before we left as we had an early flight to catch but had to pay again in the morning because the last night hadn't been charged.

    Location close to all the places we wanted to go. Staff were helpful in scanning and sending signed documents for us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    Would stay again, great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor is a little tired which you don’t see in the pictures but otherwise little to fault here

    Great location near Cuba mall, comfortable and clean with easy check in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.1
    Just ok
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stated parking included, but when we checked in they said it was on first in bases. Then directed us to a parking building that we had to pay for. Room was very noisy.

    Great central location, easy to get to.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The smoke doors and lack of parking guidance. I wished the hotel would just designate non-smoking floors instead of putting 5 doors between the elevator and your room. It was frustrating to walk through especially with heavy luggage / purchases. I didn't have a problem with the hotel having a limited amount of parking spaces considering the great location but perhaps some signage to the alternate parking spot (which is very close but when just arriving in an unknown city, any helpful hints are appreciated). I had to drive on a one lane man-made "street" (part sidewalk/part driveway) to reach my parking spot which after I figured it out at night, was fine but not a great first impression to set.

    The location was great and the accommodations were as expected.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Quick and easy check in.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear the people in room next door. Didnt really have a view. But other than that nothing

    Quick and easy check in. Especially since i booked the room the same day of check in!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Excelkent location close to oriental parade, markets and Te Papa. Good facilities .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good. Thanks.

    Excellent location. Super helpful staff, and friendly. Room facilities good. Like the full size iron and ironing board thanks. Downstairs seating area very spacious and ideal when meeting friends.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location but a bit average
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are really thin and I could hear my neighbour coughing all night. Plus the window didn’t seal properly so also listened to the wind whistling all night.

    Overall I think this is a good mid priced hotel. Location is really great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    7.5
    Very noisey, backpackers next door, perhaps, in the evening...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisey, backpackers next door, perhaps, in the evening and construction down the road, trucks started at 5.30am! May have been better on a higher floor, I was disappointed with having to choose between fresh air and not much rest.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.3
    Met expectations all round- does not need to be excellent...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One lift under repair- it was ok as I was on 2nd floor

    Met expectations all round- does not need to be excellent especially when the price is right The price was right Happy experience all round C u next time Thanks

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.4
    okay but to expensive for the sum paid
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was hard, the heating was not below par and the location or 216 beside the carpark building was just not satisfactory for a business person who needs to sleep. The shelves in the bath room hadn't been dusted and were dirty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.3
    Great location, very helpful and obliging staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The single bed I slept on was past it's use by date. The mattress sloped to one side! - not a good sleep and a sore back.

    Great location in the CBD. Obliging and helpful staff. Liked the curtains which kept the light out at night from the building next door.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyed our stay but for what it cost I expected more modern, comfortable surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Heater didn't work had to ask for replacement. Wet floor shower water went all over the bathroom floor. Decor and general appearance looked tired and dated.

    Its location to all amenities. Good size.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    6.3
    Hotel staff very pleasnt, room was clean, but rooms need do
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My shower was intermittent hot and cold, and If you book a room via booking.com it seems you get the dreggs.??

    The staff were really polite and friendly. And facility seemed clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.5
    Great for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic accommodation.

    Clean & practical for short stay. Great staff. Good location. Met our needs for 2 nights. Covered all our requirements. Clean room. Good shower. Comfy bed. Safe place to drop our bags and stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location to stay in Wellington.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If I had to complain about anything,the bed was a bit to soft for us.

    Perfect location for our needs,Staff where helpfull and friendly. Comfortable decent sized room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable bed and pillows.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Construction next door, whilst not noisy, made the city-side entrance an annoyance to navigate, and the carpark was troublesome to enter and exit.

    Comfortable bed and pillows. Awesome location - access to everything you could possibly need to in Wellington CBD within 10-15 minutes walk in any direction. Great food very close by, especially Little Beer Quarter for a drink then the food market next door.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.7
    Great location service fantastic but could do with a spruce up
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The industrial noise quite early in the morning - pavements being fixed. The shower tray/area is the same as the toilet in the bathroom so the water covers half the bathroom floor...around the toilet base etc.

    Loved the location and the service was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.5
    The service at reception was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no air conditioning and we had to open the windows. We faced a car park which was noisy and had youths skateboarding and yelling all Saturday night. There was also a large metal plate at the entrance of the car park which made a huge noise every time a car went over it. There was no expel air in the bathroom ???? And now for the worst bit, the bed was like sleeping on a plank of wood and both me and my husband woke up with sore backs and shoulders. I asked for a topper pad and was informed that you don't have them (you need to get some). The pillows were also too firm and low. So in summary we would not stay at your hotel again because of the noise (have to open the windows for air) and the bed being way too hard and uncomfortable.

    The service at reception was good. The prices of the in room bar drinks and food was good. The location was good and we could walk everywhere and found our way around easily.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.1
    Great location, friendly staff and room was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside we had to close the windows at night to drown out the noise from outside so it got very hot in the room.

    Great location, friendly staff and room was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    We enjoyed our stay and will definately look forward to staying there in future.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Their policy of charging the credit card for the first night. Can't see why. Apparently they do this for all bookings regardless of length of stay. ]

    Everything. The room was great. We arrived at 11am and were able to move in to our room. Bed was 1st class. Everything worked. Had dinner and breakfast food was very good. Location is centre of the CBD.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a bit cramped. We'd asked for a room with two beds, and this one had a double bed, and then a single bed in the corner, so it's possible they just added the single which would explain why everything was so cramped. Only one chair in the room, and the sole light over the single bed did not work. Tiny bar fridge, and no microwave.

    Great location, easy walking distance to harbour and museum. Comfortable and clean. Check in early if you want to nab one of the paid onsite parking spots. One of the reasons we'd chosen the hotel was because it is conveniently located just across the street from the iSite pickup for LOTR tours.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Excellent all round.
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything .

    Bed was very comfy. Makes a big difference to having a great sleep if bed is comfy .Service was great. Communication with staff was great. Really enjoyed our 3 nights/4 days. So close to Michael Fowler Centre so it was great returning at night after conference to a very close location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.9
    Convenient and comfortable
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The corridors are a bit of a rabbit warren. But it means you feel you have a little more privacy.

    Convenient location, safe, consistent and comfortable. Staff were polite and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.1
    Location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No central air. Room was coking in the sun and it was only a mildly warm day. Cinder-block/concrete walls suggest a sort of prison environment.

    Location and staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    8.5
    Close to central Wellington.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Special Offer - Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roadworks outside. Noisy at night when vehicles leaving parking building drove over metal plates

    Close to central Wellington. Good breakfast. Friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.2
    Great location and the size of the room was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were not enough staff on to order to keep up with the quick turn around of guests. The same regarding our check in experience.

    Massive room! The food options were great for breakfast. The best room and room service were of a great standard. I rang for extra towels and they were delivered very promptly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.3
    Accommodation was ok, but minimalist, noise from above floor was annoying throughout night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a persistent noise from the above floor - whilst the staff listened to my concern and did investigate, nothing was found and noise was still there. Disruptive sleep. Poor parking for registration.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    5.4
    It was adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    See above

    Suite overpriced for what you are actually paying for. Very noisy at night but that is not the Hotels fault. Work going on in an adjacent car park and vehicles exiting during the night driving over large steel plates which cause a hell of a racket. I imagine that work will be finished soon. Location of Hotel great but it is now a "little tired"

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.5
    Stayed there after my daughter's wedding,perhaps a room on other side of building would be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were hairs in the shower and on bathroom floor. Our room overlooked a carpark and it was very noisy even with the window closed. Needs double glazing to cut down the noise.

    I liked the convenience to all amenities and the fact that we were able to check in before 2pm.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.2
    A very convenient and adequate hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Views from rooms are not the greatest and no aircon in room

    Property is close to airport bus stops, St James Theatre and Michael Fowler Centre. Staff have always been helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.9
    Hotel is in a convenient position, & it was ok value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very dated, and not cleaned very well. There is no Airconditioning in the room & the room was very warm. You can open the windows & the room did have a fan (noisy). However across the laneway, there was construction going on through the night & it was too noisy to leave the windows open. Breakfast setup was very ordinary. For $28 you would expect more in regards to freshness etc. the bacon was like chewing on a bit of leather. Fruit was nearly all gone. Poached eggs were good (made to order), but were not drained properly so the plate had a puddle which made the toast soggy.

    Room was a good size. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.8
    Debz and I really enjoyed our stay with you.Not your fault but was cold and windy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One lift was out of action the three days we we there. Only one operating. So we used the stairs instead. No reason for the out of action. At busy times like checkin in the afternoon tokk ages.

    The staff were very friendly from bar, restaurant and make up my room staff were excellent. The hotel was very close to the facilities that we were there for. My Wife and I enjoyed our experience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    5.8
    Great staff, clean and tidy, but need double glazing on the windows to block out noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wake up calls at 4am and 6am from Waste Management banging rubbish bins around right outside the rooms every morning and then the construction staff that started up first thing on Sunday morning made for a very poor experience. No aircon in the rooms either.

    Excellent staff - reception went out of their way to help out and the service staff were super friendly. Nice room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was just a wall and a shower curtain with a drain which was on a basically flat so the water would flood the bathroom with every shower. Some of the fruit in the buffet breakfast was a bit rotten.

    Great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    An excellent base, needed more time in Wellington
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower/toilet area needed more drainage

    Friendly, helpful staff, good food. Spacious and near the wharf and cafes/restaurants. Near the I site to get information and do bookings

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    8.3
    We really enjoyed our stay at the West Plaza Hotel and would recommend to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower curtain in the bathroom didn’t really serve it’s purpose. Floor and toilet area got very wet when showering.

    The room was a good size and clean. The hotel was in a good location to shop, restaurants and local attractions. All the staff were very helpful and friendly,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.1
    Location and that it offers room servive 24 hours.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food. For dinner i had fish with pearl barley risotto and they had mozarella cheese cut into it. It did not compliment the dish at all. The bacon was not cooked in the omlette

    Location and that it offers room servive 24 hours.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    Delighted with our stay at a centrally located hotel,very clean bathroom and a well appointed bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room very hot, and no air conditioning! A noisy desk fan did not suffice! Shower head spitting water out of the back when adjusted(a very minor problem),as was a loose toilet seat.

    Room very comfortable, location of hotel is perfect for our needs, the towels were clean,soft and fluffy, and our room was in a quiet location. Lifts are quick and reliable! Excellent bathroom and facilities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    4.2
    Never go back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    consistent noise from the road below. Could not open the window. THe room was stuffy and hot. Did not sleep a minute the whole night. Reported to mgt the next morning who denied any noise. Will never recommend the hotel.

    Cleanliness and location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.5
    Fab apart from no air-con available.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air-con . Supplied fan but didn’t sleep well as too hot. Sheets though smelled clean had big yellow stain... a little off-putting.

    Paid wifi didn’t work and hotel reimbursed so good outcome. Staff went above and beyond with helpful and their service! Outstanding service! Rooms great size and bed comfortable!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.9
    Had a good few days and everything was up to my expectation. Would stay there again sometime.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was excellent. Clean towels every day and the room done was great.

    The restaurant and staff were excellent. I was overcharged for the coffees. I only had three 3 in total.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    6.3
    Wouldn’t rush back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay $10 for wifi when I’ve already spent $150 on a room!!! Also the rooms were very hot!

    They let me check in early and had a guest laundry

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.8
    Wind free weekend in Wellington
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning would have been a real plus as it was a stunning weekend in Wellington, warm and no wind , thank goodness for the desk top fan .

    Friendly staff , very close to all shopping and activities

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.3
    This hotel is in a great location when staying in Wellington
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our daughter was very unwell apon our arrival and the staff were lovely. The room was quiet, we weren’t disturbed and ice and extra face washers and towels were sent up as soon as we asked. They were very accommodating and understanding during a stressful time.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.2
    I appreciate the good experience West Plaza Hotel provided.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The alarm clock in room 319 is difficult to operate. I opted for a wake up call each morning. Breakfast was a little pricey I thought. However, it was well done, and it fitted with being convenient to breakfast there each morning.

    The staff were polite and friendly. The hotel reception was tidy and clean. The room was nicely set up and met what I needed for my stay. Great to have free phone calls within the hotel. It was quiet. They have the best in room package of information I have seen in relationship to environmental policy and safety during earthquakes. The wording of the information provided was professional and easy to read. It was written in a way that said they valued the environment and valued client safety. Good work! Toast came fresh at breakfast on request. That was a better way than passing bread through an industrial toaster and having to wait for it to cook. The communal dining type arrangement was delightful. I had a problem with the $10 plan internet access which was duly sorted by crediting back the $10 as an immediate remedy. That's a nice gesture. While I intended staying somewhere close to the Michael Fowler Centre, West Plaza Hotel is perfect in that regard being almost opposite to each other.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Well appointed, comfortable hotel near wharf and downtown locations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Happy Hour in bar lounge?

    This was a standard motel room (nothing fancy but had everything I needed and it was very clean) but the price was very fair for the location. I could walk easily to wharf, Te Papa, Cuba and the other active streets. Felt very safe walking around at night too. Front desk employees were quick to respond to any questions I had.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.7
    Great location, lovely staff, needs air con!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot. No air conditioning, just a fan which moved hot air around the room. I had to have the windows open all night but it was still too hot to sleep. There was also a lot of street noise with the windows open.

    Fantastic location with a large number of restaurants, bars and cafes close by. Also right by the waterfront and civic square. Lovely reception/dining area. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.3
    Not worth the money spent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was hot and the little fan provided was not sufficient to refresh it. The window opened just a few inches. Small room with little space for luggage.

    The hotel is locate in the City centre

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    4.2
    Not enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was opposite a multistorey carpark. We had an early morning flight and unfortunately were kept awake all night with screeching tyres and loud talking which was clearly audible. Do not stay here if you want a restful night's sleep

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    7.1
    The location of the hotel was perfect- great proximity to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of air conditioning. The rooms were horribly hot which made sleeping difficult, especially for our baby.

    The location of the hotel was perfect- great proximity to the waterfront.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable, affordable place to stay in central Wellington .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was at the back of the building and overlooked by a multi story car park. During the day it was ok but at night the curtains failed to keep out the light from the car park and the noise of early morning lorries and cars disturbed us. Maybe the windows at the back should have blackout blinds and be double glazed.

    We were upgraded to a suite so had a partial kitchen and a spacious room. The guest laundry was upstairs from our room so was very handy. Breakfast was good, buffet of cereals, fruit, toast and cooked breakfast. The hotel is very central and ideal for exploring Wellington. The staff at reception were helpful and gave some good advice as regards places to visit. The bar staff were friendly and mixed good cocktails!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    7.5
    The bed was very comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed in summer temperatures and unfortunately the room didn’t have A/C, there was a fan provided but I found it difficult to sleep with the Fan on.

    The bed was very comfy. The staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    Great breakfast, comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very basic bathroom

    Breakfast was great - tons of continental stuff with many different juices, and cooked options also including scrambled eggs, bacon, etc. Room was nice also, decent size, comfortable bed. Parking available and clear instructions were given when I mentioned the request via booking - although is first come first serve/no reservations; 25$ per day. Close to ferry

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.8
    Location is amazing as are the laundry facilities Washer and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot at night Cud really do with Air Con

    Location is amazing as are the laundry facilities Washer and tumbler for guests - useful for a long trip 👍

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.0
    We found the hotel to be perfectly positioned for access to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would have liked to have had air conditioning.It was a very hot night and difficult to sleep not being able to cool down.

    We found the hotel to be perfectly positioned for access to good restaurants, the water front and all the other tourist sites.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    7.9
    We had a great time and liked the fact that we could walk pretty much anywhere we wanted
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking in the hotel lot was extremely tight and difficult to get into if other cars parked there

    the on site dining room food (breakfast and dinner) was very good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable Night but Nothing Special
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Inner city noises, this hotel could certainly benefit with better sound proofing.

    Central City location is great and its in a location that is easy to get to.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.1
    Great Location...Disappointing Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Off street parking charge expensive at 25nzd per day! Room hot with no air conditioning so with windows open it was noisy. No view whatsoever from window only looking across roof to other rooms. Breakfast selection and quality very average.

    Location (close to lively Cuba Street and Te Papa museum) and friendly helpful welcoming staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Its listed as a 4 star property but was way more basic than I had expected. Breakfast was pretty average, cold buffet, horrible coffee (although there are great cafes nearby) and you had to ask if you wanted toast.

    Great location, staff were friendly and the room was comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    7.5
    Didn't have any meals there .
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom door rattled in the wind if the window was open

    Didn't have any meals there . Bed was comfortable. Nice to have a fan in the bedroom as no air conditioner and the room was extremely hot.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit dated, No aircon but did have a fan.

    Great location. Staff awesome, helped with dietary needs for breakfast, held our bags, service was fantastic.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse West Plaza Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: