Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Grand Windsor MGallery by Sofitel 5 stars

58-60 Queen Street, 1001 Auckland, New Zealand

#11 of 161 hotels in Auckland

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1375 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.6
    A most enjoyable stay away from home,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough storage facilities if you stay 6 nights. More drawers would be appreciated.

    Very clean, bathroom quite spectacular and a great number of pillows on the bed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Posh in the City
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though our deluxe room was excellent. It was however very noisey due to the room being in close proximity to the lifts. (We could here the lift doors open and the lift approaching our floor) also on that day there had been repairs on one of the lifts so there was a lot of banging and what seemed to be shifting furniture above us.

    Loved the new refurbished look! Staff were kind and helpful. We had a mixup with bookings and our room wasn't ready for 2hrs but staff made amends and manager gave us free valet, drink vouchers and breakfast to make up for it. AA+

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It took a while to work out how to get back in after hours (I.e. 11.30pm) but we should've asked before we left for the concert.

    Staff are absolutely fantastic, especially the head concierge. Room was spotless and comfy. Breakfast was incredible. Right in the middle of the city and still handy to Spark Arena for concerts. In the words of my 12yr old son, it was fancy schmansy and our new favourite place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.8
    Pink tour!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a fan of feather pillows! Room was a little small but fine for a one night stay.

    The staff were all fantastic. A nice tea on arrival while checking in. Valet parking was handy. The rooms were great. We didn't eat in the restaurant but will next time we stay. It was so much better than when we stayed last time (a few years ago).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    Grand Windsor Auckland
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything that I could add here.

    The rooms are beautifully presented following the renovations. It’s lovely to see the Art Deco theme of luxury coming back to a hotel of this heritage, not the sterile approach of hotels these days. The staff were helpful and friendly. I loved the idea of sitting down to complete the check in and check out process, made it very personal and individual. And the lemon and ginger tea as you are checking in is wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.9
    Great staff and location, but not quite value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Super king bed in an expensive enough room was two singles together, not even with one mattress=poor.

    The staff were excellent. Informed and friendly, and efficient=10/10

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and luxurious.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I've tried to order breakfast to my room and was told its not possible as it's too hard?! A little dissipontning.

    Incredible bed. Coffe machine in a room. Great reception and very friendly staf.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel in a very handy location near to the viaduct, ...
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit of noise from street level at night but nothing that kept me awake.

    Lovely hotel in a very handy location near to the viaduct, Britomart and Spark Arena. Staff were very welcoming. It felt like we were staying in a good London hotel. Will definitely stay again when we visit Auckland again .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.6
    Will definitely stay there again
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kept awake by the pub nearby loud DJ until early hours of the morning but were given compensation which we were happy with, they were very apologetic

    Beautifully appointed rooms, brilliant location and staff extremely helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Would definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a bit cramped.

    Everything was excellent and the staff especially helpful. We arrived at about 7 in the morning and were prepared to leave our luggage and wander around but they went out of their way to find a suitable room that was available!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Good hotel right in the middle of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Minor issue not having a computer/printer available, which I think is unusual. Kudos to reception being extra helpful sorting out a print method however.

    This is more like a very pleasant boutique hotel. The rooms are exceptionally well decorated in the Duchess of Windsor theme. Very convenient location close to the Ferry terminal, (and the highly recommended Free walking tour.) Very large room with excellent bathroom facilities. Always a big plus for me a Nespresso machine . Bed is like a cloud.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    Stay was very enjoyable & we wished we could have stayed longer. Staff are super friendly & helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are small but we knew they would be, since its in inner city hotel.

    We were upgraded to a luxury suite although it didn't seem much different to the standard room we had booked, i think a bigger bed perhaps? We also were given a cake and card to congratulate us on our wedding which was lovely. Staff are also super friendly which makes your stay!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    Would return if the occasion arose
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Space in the room a bit compact but was warned of this on arrival - to put your head down for a nite - ideal.

    very comfortable, great staff, lovely continental breakie and ideal location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    Lovely place to stay with exceptional staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room wasn't ready after check in time, we were offered complimentary drinks. We were particular when we booked three Classic Double rooms with king beds for our group. We were a little disappointed because our room didn't match the other two rooms, was smaller and our bed seemed more like a queen. We queried this and staff did their best to accommodate us.

    The staff were excellent, a special mention to Jake and Remy, who provided exceptional service. We loved the decor, a beautiful place to stay and the down town location was perfect. We would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.8
    Overall was great especially the service from every staff is the highlight!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower temperature kept on changing which I have never experienced at other same rating hotels. The room can be noisy due to the design of layout. The bed directly faces the door so any noise from the corridor can be heard from bed.

    Best location and love the bed and bathroom facilities!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    We loved it. Staff were lovely and helpful. The room was beautiful and jacuzzi great. Will definitel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we felt would improve the room was providing a small carton of milk so you could enjoy the tea and coffee. There was only enough for two coffees. Going to the store to purchase some more would be a pain, especially staying one night. That would be appreciated having more.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    breakfast mushrooms and eggs were delicious
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • The Duchess Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    my breakfast latte was forgotten , was a long wait for my breakfast to arrive with no coffee when dining alone. my room was quite dark.

    breakfast mushrooms and eggs were delicious

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.9
    Great location and lovely rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfy beds, however it is the standard two beds pushed together (common for a hotel) but the mattress "topper" didn't really fill in the gap particularly well. I have rated a bit low on the value for money - was expensive due to it being an All Blacks rugby weekend so prices spiked.

    The decor of the rooms is really lovely - almost feel like you could be in France. The welcome tea on arrival as you check in is a nice touch.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.9
    We stay at this hotel regularly but were given a tiny room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was tiny. Too small. Would be unlikely to stay again if we had a similar room.

    We stay at this hotel regularly but were given a tiny room on the last visit.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    The photos don’t do this hotel justice. It was so lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    Exceptional hotel with very friendly helpful staff. Beautiful large tasteful rooms with comfortable beds and pillows. Lovely touch with macaroons left to have for afternoon tea.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    5.8
    doubt !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In general, the staff was kind.but after checkout with credit card at checkout(cashier105), entering the crecit card number by hand to the recption computer,①normal procedure or ② credit card I doubt whether it is for improper use?

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.5
    Pleasant, great stuff service overall, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise on Saturday night from Fort Ln. Yes, it was a rugby test night but difficult to get sleep at all right into the early hours. Probably wouldn't stay again as result unless assured no recurrence.

    Staff were usually excellent,pleasant and helpful. Nice retro of an older building and quite a lot of attention to detail has been given to this. Ideal location for shopping, restaurants & sightseeing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot if anything breakfast was limited,not quite what I thought it would be.

    The hotel was lovely, the greetings from the bell/valet to the reception was very good. Rooms are comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.5
    Overall Disappointing Stay in One of Favorite Brand Hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The first visit was nearly perfect except upon checking out. The taxi called to pick us up and for which the baggage guy put our bags ended up scamming us with a ridiculously high price to the airport. The concierge on our second visit said they would work to correct this. Also, on our second visit, the room was really loud from outside night clubbers, so we didn't get much sleep. Lastly, the hotel staff seemed painfully unaware of all the construction going on around their hotel, which made it almost impossible to valet the car or even park the car prior to picking up our bags. Staff should be educated of this, especially if they offer valet service.

    We stayed here on two separate days over a week. Our first stay started off great. We arrived early in the morning weary and tired and the night manager allowed us to check in early with a free upgrade giving us much needed sleep! Also, upon hearing it was our honeymoon, he made sure to have a free cake sent up to our room which was a nice touch. The upgraded room itself was extremely comfortable and quiet. Lastly, the concierge gave us great recommendations to go to Mt. Eden and Silo Park, both places we loved!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.6
    Best location, great staff and beautiful decoration!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On my last night I heard lots of noise from a next door bar that had loud music on until very late (a party, I was told) and I had an early pick-up, so I complained when checking-out, and they immediately refund me with a 50% of that night, which was really appreciated and very customer focused. I hope I’ll return soon!

    Unbeatable location, close to everything within walking distance, great breakfast buffet, very comfortable bed. I loved the decor of the hotel and the huge bathroom with all the amenities. 2 complimentary bottles of water per day.... I will recomend it to any friends coming to Auckland.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Brilliant weekend stay - I'd rate it 11/10 if I could...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the smallest of things, but a nightclub nearby played music very loudly in to the early hours of the morning, however this isn't something within the hotel's control.

    Beautiful hotel - the staff couldn't be any more accommodating - we were there to celebrate my wife's 30th Birthday, and they arranged the room for us arriving at the hotel (very early in the morning!) - they were also able to facilitate the request of a relative to have flowers and champagne delivered to the room. The hotel is beautifully decorated and feels very boutique for a central city hotel. Rooms are well appointed and spacious. The staff were very polite and engaging from check in, to the fantastic concierge service, and the restaurant staff. The hotel doesn't have a pool, however guests can have private use of the hot tub / Jacuzzi, which we took advantage of - again, this is a great little perk. All in all, a brilliant visit from start to finish - I'll be back for sure!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Perfect stay if you love luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a bit warm in the room, we couldn't figure out how to lower the temp but no big deal at all.

    Loved the interior design of this hotel, the decor, all the gold & brass throughout, the high quality finishes, the location was great, right next to Louis Vuitton, Gucci ect, close to the viaduct & everything else in the cbd. We had a slight delay upon checking in, but the staff were more than accomodating with complimentary drinks, extra water & boutique Devonport chocolates, a fresh fruit platter later in the evening. They were so nice and it really wasn't an issue! Also would recommend calling ahead & arranging them to park your car, $45 & they park & get it for you when you need. Don't bother going to a Wilson, we paid $16 for an hour nearby then to have hotel park it for us.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.2
    Central to everything we needed ie Ferry to Waiheke,...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking for our rental car! Made it awkward and more expensive

    Central to everything we needed ie Ferry to Waiheke, Britomart, shops, located in loveliest part of CBD

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.6
    Amazing stay in heart of Auckland CBD
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing - was amazing

    The bed was probably the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on. Adding to this, the WiFi was very good and unlimited and connecting to it is easy, no passwords needed, which is relatively rare for hotels. Bathroom was amazing and the room was very clean, as well as having very cool design! The room even came with a Nespresso machine with capsules! Definitely would stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    It was amazing, the staff were very attentive and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No on-site parking. The Wilson parking round the corner ended up casting me a small fortune.

    It was amazing, the staff were very attentive and friendly. The room was exquisite. Everything had been thought about.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    What a gem !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Perfect location for us with a Airport Sky bus drop off right across street and Britomart one block away. Recently renovated to a high standard. A little bit of luxury.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Super stopover in Auckland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was one of the best that we have stayed in. This includes many overseas capitals and resorts.

    This is a lovely hotel, recently renovated, which is perfectly placed for a inner city stopover. It is luxurious and the staff are excellent. Room service was great. The rooms are well appointed with features that radiate luxury.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Amazing luxury city stay in the heart of Queen St
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only quam I had during my stay was the fact that my room wasn't ready when I went to check-in at the advised time.

    The luxurious interior and furnishings of the hotel. Especially the bathrooms. I recommend staying in a suite room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Well looked after...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Every moment from check-in to check-out was amazing - I felt very taken care of. The bed was amazingly comfortable - best sleep I have had in ages! I can't wait to come and stay again :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Cute spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place was very well situated however with the location came no parking which was a bit of a pain when you have a car. The room was quite small.

    Very cute place to stay. Lovely helpful staff and very nicely presented. The bed was so soft and comfortable. I would stay here again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Service was impeccable, we felt truly cared for and looked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a bit noisy from the clubs/bars underneath. But not too noticeable

    Service was impeccable, we felt truly cared for and looked after :) excellent atmosphere as well

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    6.3
    Quite disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was not up to standard- we didn't have an actual bathroom with a door but it was in the room. Since we had booked a good quality room, we were more than a bit off put. Quite noisy- but that appears the case everywhere in NZ (not sound isolation). The staff polite but a bit too insistent, didn't have the feel on when was appropriate to ask and kept interrupting us.

    Very central I suppose.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.7
    A nice hotel with friendly staff but lacking facilities of other hotels at this price point.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very small but well equipped, menu for in room dining was out of date and subsequently food ordered was not available. Other than the restaurant there are no other facilities available other than a sauna which seems a strange facility to offer on its own? A small gym or pool would be far more beneficial (in my opinion). No parking outside hotel meant that my driver had to park a short distance away on drop off and collection.

    Staff were very helpful and I genuinely felt they were going the "extra mile" to help. Standard of room fit out was good and above average for this type of hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    From the moment we entered the hotel to the moment we left,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the moment we entered the hotel to the moment we left, my husband and I were given the most incredible service by the staff at Grand Windsor. We were travelling for our honeymoon and the staff treated us like royalty! Everything about this hotel was amazing. I highly recommend staying here!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    Pretty, but not somewhere I'll come back
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As a Platinum accor member, I didn't receive the "added bonus" things I usually receive. The room was TINY - if my husband was travelling with me, it would have been way too small. Poor noise insulation meant I could hear things going on down in the street at all hours of the day / night (and I was on Level 6)

    Awesome and very helpful staff, great location, beautifully rennovated property

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    A gem in the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Recently renovated, this hotel is located in an historic building, with a classy atmosphere and a sophisticated allure. The staff is really kind and welcoming. Our rooms was spacious and well equipped. The bed was really comfortable. I loved the breakfast selection too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Beautifully classy hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower. Shower area is curtained, it’s is hard to avoid water from going outside the shower area making the bathroom wet and messy. And only one bath mat was provided. Suggest a few more bathmat is provided for comfort, guest to replace it if the other is wet, and use one to block water from going to the toilet area

    Beautifully classy hotel. Polite staff everywhere from reception, concierge, lounge to staff we met at corridor

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    + All the staff was always friendly, well informed and had a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    • It is not a downside, but more a remark. The gym consists out of 2 small spaces/rooms. A creative solution given the little square meters available. • We didn’t book breakfast as Auckland has many breakfast restaurant we would like to try.

    + All the staff was always friendly, well informed and had a smile on their faces. As it should be, but unfortunately not the standard nowadays. + The hotel and room design is unique and stylish and fits the history of the building. + Ideal central location. + Bed (queen size) was really soft. The shower was big and the water pressure was pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    They were warm and welcoming and really helpful both the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were warm and welcoming and really helpful both the reception and the concierge. We loved the people and the location we will definitely be back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    We would would stay there again and recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We found no negatives during our stay.

    The location was ideal for us as we found it to be a short walk to the ferry terminal and other public transport. We did not have a car so that was important to us. We found the lobby, restaurant and our room all elegantly appointed and comfortable. Staff were wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Great location and wonderful staff - would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The superior room is a bit small - more suited for one person however, it's only minor.

    Fantastic location - we parked in a public carpark which was less than a 5min walk away and it's so close to everything in central Auckland; Wonderful staff & absolutely loved the welcome drink - ginger iced tea; it was delicious :) We stayed there for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay there - would stay there again next time we're back in Auckland.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    Auckland is a lovely place and this hotel was fantastic
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. I was very happy with everything

    The hotel is very centrally located and the rooms are beautiful. The interior design is contemporary yet classic. Loved this place!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Best Nights Sleep EVER!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The bed was super comfortable and was the perfect size, nice and big! I had the best sleep I've ever had on these bed! The emerald was absolutely beautiful! Will definitely be back to stay at the Hotel Grand Windsor again in the future!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Best hotel ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everthing was great!

    What a welcome, so kind, so nice staff, will alweys rememer this beautiful hotel. Bur the treatmant we got was cherry on top! Would give you 20 if possible!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    An enjoyable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The whole experience was good from the welcome to the property until you left. All the staff were very helpful. The rooms were comfortable. The breakfast choices were good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    Apart from unfortunate sleepless night everything else was fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is next to a night club and unfortunately the noise was ridiculous and went til 3am. However the staff moved us to another room the next night and waived the accommodation fees. Also, Wish the hotel rooms had a bath tub.

    The hotel is beautiful. The staff were very helpful. I was very sick one day and They took care of every request we had. Made me feel very special.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location, we got a quite room upon checking in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We cannot connect the wifi all the time; our rooms lost the reception which remains unsolved during the stay.

    Great location, we got a quite room upon checking in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    Sort out your soundproofing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite being upgraded to a suite on the 7th floor we had a Nightclub/Bar operating until 4am in the morning thus could not get any sleep. (Once stayed at a Hotel at Tokyo station (Room Window was 15m from the tracks and yet never heard a sound) Apart from this the Hotel is well located and nicely decorated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping had a mishap with overlooking the cleaning of our room but staff and managements went to great pains to rectify which we highly appreciated.

    Staff were exceptional, very eager to please and accommodate our needs. Location was terrific. Downtown Auckland, near to the wharf, restaurants etc. The hotel is beautifully appointed and they have thought of every detail. We would stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room did not have an outlook which made it claustrophobic.

    Excellent location. Restaurant was very good. Staff were very helpful. My room looked out on an internal air shaft which made it a bit claustrophobic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Very nice, small boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room should have been better lit, and some shelfs in the bathroom would have been nice. Cold bathroom fluor.

    Very nice hotel, with friendly, professional Staff. Good food in the restaurant, both for breakfast and dinner. Convenientally located close to everything in town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Beautifully decorated hotel in central city location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lack of view was a downside. We moved from the 5th floor to the 8th floor and finally got a glimpse of the harbour instead of just rooftops and aircon units. Would recommend room 804 as it also has a door onto a small balcony.

    The Deco theme new renovation was lovely. The rooms were very comfortable and beautifully decorated, especially the T2 cups and teapot.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is very cosy and personal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very cosy and personal. The staff is super friendly. Excellent breakfast in the nice little restaurant. During our stay on a Friday night, there was quite some noise from a neighbourhood bar, but when we told reception, staff handled everything extremely professional and to our fullest satisfaction. Thanks!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    The bed was comfortable, the room was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from our room was nothing to look at except the back of buildings, but we were not there for that.

    The bed was comfortable, the room was very nice. The staff were exceptional and very friendly.The location was excellent, central to everything.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    4.6
    Lovely staff and a potentially terrific hotel but if you want to sleep don’t stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s a nightclub in the hotel building which makes it impossible to sleep. I checked back out at 12.30am and moved the the Hilton.

    Beautiful rooms and wonderful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.3
    Excellent room and delicious breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    For our budget, this hotel was pricey, and perhaps because of that the service felt rather fussy and formal. Also, the TV in the room turns on automatically when you put the key card in for power, which we found irritating.

    Excellent room and delicious breakfast. Great location for city centre attractions.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful, elegant and perfect for the occasion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being a heritage building I had heard the noise from neighbouring clubs etc was bad and it really was. If you’re staying on a Saturday night definitely prepare to hear extremely loud bass, screaming and all sorts during the night. This is understandable though being in the CBD. The air con/thermostat wasn’t very good, there were times when it got very hot and it just wouldn’t cool down even though the temp was down very low. We had to open the windows and door to try get a flow of air through. The same for when it was cold at night, it took hours to heat up. The mini bar fridge was extremely small, we had brought our own snacks/drinks for getting ready for the wedding & were a bit limited. I understand it is a hotel though not a motel and we wouldn’t usually need to have our own food etc.

    Phenomenal hotel, the new interior decorating is absolutely beautiful. The staff are extremely friendly, helpful and accommodating. I was celebrating my wedding but also getting ready there the day of. We had hair and makeup artists coming up, needed extra furniture etc and they were so lovely. They truly made it a special day. The room was a mess when we left in a hurry for the wedding & when we got back they had cleaned everything up which made it so much nicer to come back to. Stunning hotel, I can’t wait for their beauty spa to get up and running because I’ll definitely be back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Boutique hotel with a retro charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Boutique hotel with a retro charm. Very friendly & attentive staff. The concierge was very knowledgeable and made recommendations. Beautifully appointed room & very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    The location was excellent- a block away from the SkyBus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room size

    The location was excellent- a block away from the SkyBus (airport bus) stop and 2 blocks from the harbor/ferry terminals. The room was clean and staff was super friendly and helpful. The only thing was my room was tiny- just big enough for the queen size bed and not much else. It did come with 2 tiny city view windows. The shower was excellent- good pressure and hot. Lots of good restaurants to eat along queen street and I walked everywhere (even to the war museum). It was pleasant and I never felt unsafe.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant stay in lovely boutique hotel. Large comfortable room with nice big shower!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No parking space out front when went to check in. Parked in nearby building and had to walk with bags - I did phone the hotel for nearest parking and a staff member came and helped with bags. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed for renovations during my stay, but room service still available.

    Lovely boutique type hotel, great decor, clean and tidy. Good location on main city street but no traffic noise. Comfortable bed, lovely big shower. Very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Beautifully refurbished historic property in Auckland city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely cheerful and helpful staff in historic building which has been lovingly restored to its former glory. Step outside and you're right on Queen Street.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay in a beautiful boutique hotel, really is one of the best hotels in the city absolutel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom being in the room was a little strange with a lack of privacy

    The room is very luxurious and very friendly staff who remembered me, beautiful boutique hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    A very relaxing break in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet and shower a little small but still very high standard .

    Exceptional friendly and helpful staff , lovely clean room very well furnished.excellent location on queen street

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Classic charm in the heart of Auckland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easily our favorite hotel over our two weeks in New Zealand. Classic charm at a very reasonable rate. We were lucky and got an upgraded room, but even if that hadn't happened, we would stay there again as a standard room would have been just as nice. Comfortable bed, high end bathroom, plenty of room. Our rate included a full breakfast which was excellent. The staff was attentive, helpful, and very professional. The hotel is right in the heart of the central business district, close to the wharf, public transportation and plenty of restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.2
    Brand new refurb with a bit of a different quirky edge to it...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had to get up early so I couldn't sleep in and enjoy the bed for as long as I wanted!

    Brand new refurb with a bit of a different quirky edge to it makes for a lovely stay. Staff were polite & professional.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant stay in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had to ask for china cups and they weren't replaced so we had to ask again. The mood lighting was a little too subdued for older eyes.

    The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    The meaning of a simple yet classy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - breakfast was relatively cheap however not much variety - no nice views in the hotel rooms, however this is not in their control due to the city location of the hotel

    - in the city centre - staff delightful - super clean and always smelt amazing - always thought of the little things that really make this hotel stand out (e.g. we ordered ubereats meal, and the staff delivered it to our front door in a tray with organised plates and cutlery from the hotel) - complimentary water on the way out - nice mirror that was helpful for make up

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Top class, couldn't have asked for better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wanted a special night for a wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed. The service from start to finish was top class and the room was just fantastic. Every little detail taken care of. Definitely will return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic,warm, clean, elegant and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and pillows so comfy. Breakfast food amazing,so healthy,fresh and tasty. Every single staff member so kind and friendly.Made to feel so special and well looked after. Absolutely beautiful stay in all areas!!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Overall very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not Being able to see just a little bit of skyline to see what the weather was like before getting ready for the day

    The staff very friendly, the ammenities excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: