Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Al Jabal Hotel 2 stars

Sultan Qaboos Hospital Road, 211 Salalah, Oman

#42 of 47 hotels in Salalah

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 91 hotel reviews

5.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    4.8

  • Comfort

    4.9

  • Location

    6.2

  • Facilities

    4.6

  • Staff

    5.6

  • Value for money

    4.5

  • Free WiFi

    5.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    3.3
    Bad, dirty hotel completely overhyped and bad customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff was extremely ignorant and could not even speak proper English. The property is much below the expectations and what is shown in the photos. They are completely misleading their customers. The hotel has a peculiar smell and is so old and outdated. They bring vacuum cleaner to the room which is broken. Their bathroom accessories were broken. For the price, they charge there is no complimentary breakfast. For ordering food in my room I called the restaurant at 9.30pm and it was closed. I would recommend looking for a luxury stay to stay away from this hotel. Even their swimming pool was closed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    2.9
    Very bad experience, dirty room and smells and food poison
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room is never cleaned and it smells. My child got food poisoned from the 1st dinner. we asked for double bed room but they gave us one king size bed room. Staff lack basic communication skills with guests.

    The Location is quiet city center and close to all facilities

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    3.8
    It is not recommended for couples at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the hotel is very old. The rooms need maintenance. the toilet washing base is very dirty and the water goes in different directions. There is no complementary water, coffee, tee. the room curtains is very old and dirty. It is not recommended for couples at all.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    3.3
    no-recomendable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The worst balance quality-price hotel where I have ever been. Dirty, old, bad smelling, noisy AC. Sorry to give these comments but it doesn't make sense to pay those prices for a hotel in those conditions.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    5.4
    Salalah has some stunning natural landsacapes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel looked very different than what is shown in the website photos. Net connection is very very slow. Poor maintenance of rooms, toilets. Poor room service.

    Location of the hotel is good, has easy access to all places of interest. Sufficient space for a family of 5.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    2.5
    0 Star Hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was unprofessional, I book a Hotel room but they give me guest room, instead of unavailability of 2 single beds. The pictures show in Booking.com is 10 year old. Nothing in that Hotel that show in pictures. Pool with Dirty water, timing 2pm to 7pm. Health club available but not open for hotel customer for last 4 month, because equipment were broken. Public review also very bad as 3 Taxi guys say this is 0 star hotel now. Every customer having complaints who visited here. I Suggest Booking.com don't recommend this hotel if even it's price free. It's spoiling your reputation.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    3.3
    We were in Salalah for two days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were in Salalah for two days. The worst part of the trip was the stay at Al Jabal Hotel. It was really disappoining. I am listing out the issues I faced there. After reaching the Hotel we showed our booking details were we paid the complete amount for the stay for two days as per Booking.com. The folks at the hotel were not aware of this and told us that they will check and let us know. Anyways, we didint face any issue regarding the payment while checking out as till that time they haven't received any confirmation from their management and we asked them to contact us if they want any further clarification. They have allotted two rooms as per our booking. Both were stinking when we entered. Here comes the most irritating part. After 16 hours of road trip, each one of us were so tired and badly wanted a shower. When we tried to open the shower control pipe, it started leaking. We informed the hotel guys and one guy came to check that and ended up in breaking the enrire shower control case. Then they have allotted some other room which was much better in cleanliness (they could have allotted atleast this room initially itself which they didnt), but with lot of other issues with the bathroom. The shower cabin of that room was not suitable for even 5'7" guy. Eventually All who were staying in that room were using the other room for bathing. Its an old property in which the rooms are not properly renovated and keep the expectations as below as 2 out of 10.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    3.8
    Never recommend anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room stinks, Cockroaches in the room, unclean old stinking furniture, no wifi in the room, had to walk to the lobby, pot in the washroom was shaky/broken.

    Food was manageble.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    3.3
    Gross and overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff didn't bother greeting. We had to lug our luggage up all the stairs in he front and then go to bother the staff to come to the desk. They asked for the reservation code and I just asked to use my name instead so I don't have to look it up. He said no. While I looked it up he brought over a sheet of paper with names of people checking in. All were men except for me - how hard was it to bring that sheet in the first place? They didn't have the room ready even at 4 pm after we drove ten straight hours to get there. Told us to go check the room ourselves to see if it's "ok" because they couldn't remember which rooms had how many beds. Paid in cash because I didn't trust them - two staff pulled out their wallets trying to get change but didn't have any so they made us pay with card. Didn't have the machine available to customers so they asked for your pin loudly- for real? Room is not very clean. No tissues or toilet paper. Bathroom always smells awful even when no one has used it. When I asked for some tissue the cleaner seemed suspicious and came to check that I needed it before giving me a box. Rarely was there anyone at reception if you had a question. Tried using the phone to reach someone - the cord was just taped to the back of the phone but didn't work. Two nights there and no one ever came to clean the room nor was there anyone to ask about it. The "massages" they offer at their "spa" are, according to someone who went, just "happy endings" so if you're into that then go for it. Really gross hotel for about 42 OMR with taxes a night - only good thing is location is more central. Pay just a bit more and you can stay at some amazing resorts that are just s bit further drive but worth it.

    Nothing. This place was overpriced and really gross.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    5.4
    location is good .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very slow WiFi. old elevator. no water in the pool. toilets are old. watet tap is rusty . salty water. overpriced

    location is good . room is spacious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    4.6
    Shoestring option only
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and espcially the bathroom was not really clean. Nasty smell in the room and corridor. No paper in the toilet

    The price is the only good point for this hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    2.5
    Very bad hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    3.8
    Beautiful landscapes and India Ocean, dirty hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No wi-fi, cleanliness, no pool, elevator only for 3 people, poor food, what a discusting place

    Only location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    4.2
    Very poor will not recommend anyone to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel staff unprofessional. Zero hospitality

    Rooms are big

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    4.6
    Regret staying there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    None of the facilities like Swimming pool, Gym, Club, etc. working. Very highly priced for what they give.

    Big room. Location. Staff to an extent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    5.8
    Wi-Fi was poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi was poor Break fast was charged separately

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    2.9
    We are not happy to stay in your hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovate all your facilities.all all all

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.1
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Location Parking

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    3.3
    ---
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is better options with less price.

    ---

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    5.8
    They don't clean the room daily
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They don't clean the room daily

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    3.8
    Disaster place to stay at salalah .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!!!

    Nothing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.3
    Friendly Staffs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to Maintain the Pool Facility more clean and change the water on regular intervals.... Rest of all enjoyed...

    Friendly Staffs Good Facilities

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    6.3
    Was just to have place to sleep!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not clean. Not comfort. No continues free internet, it cut several times.

    Price quite good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    6.3
    Worth for money and easy access
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water, wifi, breakfast

    Location is in main area, rooms are good spacious, water quality and breakfast is not up to mark

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    2.5
    very dirty stuff very bas
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very poor

    nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    7.1
    The smell, when enter the hotel first time ,then you will...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The smell, when enter the hotel first time ,then you will used to it & didnt feel it .But try to use some good air freshener inside the hotel .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    5.4
    Fair for a quick visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No housekeeping, the swimming pool's Egyptian supervisor was too friendly with the European guests unlike the Arab ones!

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    2.5
    Very very bad staff and hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All things in AL jabal hotel

    Nothing good in AL jabal hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    4.2
    للأسف
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All

    None

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    3.3
    Room and toilet not clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and toilet not clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.6
    exellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no thing

    good staff , clean rooms , wifi very good , swimming pool good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    9.6
    .CLEAN, GOOD BREAKFAST,GOOD STAFF,LOCATION & WIFI NICE HOTEL.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    RESTAURENT,ROOMS , STAFF & PARKING .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2015

    7.1
    We stayed three nights at the Al Jabal Hotel in Salalah.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed three nights at the Al Jabal Hotel in Salalah. First of all I can highly recommend visiting Salalah if you are planning on a trip to Oman. Def the most beautiful part of Oman :-) The hotel was a bit dissapointing though.. we picked this hotel because there would be a swimmingpool, but the pool is under construcation (for already a loooong time) and the wifi they offer is very poor and def not available in the rooms. Most times the modem is offline and they need to restart it to make it even work a bit. The room was absolutely lovely though.. it was huge!! The bedroom is seperate from the livingroom and the bed was supercomfy.. had a good sleep since looong time :D The bathroom on the other hand is very, very poor. Needs some maintenance. It smells really bad in there as well. Waterpressure was fine in the shower, but the curtain is way to short and as soon as you put the shower on the whole floor is a swimmingpool. On Booking.com it says they have a 24/7 roomservice, but they don't serve anything anymore after 22:00. There is an awesome menu in the room but from they only had like 3 dishes they could serve and besides watermelon and orange juice they didn't even had softdrinks to order.. The food that we ordered (noodles, fried rice and a curry) was absolutely delicious though! It's a 2 star hotel, but with little improvements they could easily get 3 stars. There a several hotels in Salalah and most are much more expensive.. for a cheap price and not too much expectations you can have a perfect stay at Al Jabal Hotel :D One more advice: Close to the hotel is a gasstation with a juice bar called "Al Sham Fruit Juices".. we went there three days in a row for the fruitsalads and juices for breakfast (or any other time of the day).. so, so, so delicious!! And def don't forget to visit the Al Husn Souks :D Lovely!

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    6.3
    It s a a value for money 2 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No proper room service. Food options missing.

    It s a a value for money 2 star hotel. For traveller with a need for just a decent stay i would suggest this hotel. Not for relaxing and luxuries. Great location to reach all the tourist destinations. Food options could be better and improvemnet needed in this area.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    3.8
    Morning Front Desk staff was really helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Got a room with A/C making noise, flush not working even after requesting to give a better room while checking in. Very few service staff. Internet is for name sake only, had to hang around in the lobby to get connected.

    Morning Front Desk staff was really helpful. Assisted us with sightseeing plan and was very supportive.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    4.2
    The hotel located closer to the town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Not well orginised, I syayed in this hotel because I dodnt have other choices Staff are not very friendly. Room os not provoded with Cattle for making tea

    The hotel located closer to the town centre

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    5.4
    Reception & reservation Staff was helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed for 2 nights & no one bothered to clean our room.. toilet smells

    Reception & reservation Staff was helpful. They helped us for early check in.... :)

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    However, toilets had a strong bad smell, we needed to close the doors all the time. Facilities outside the hotel are not very near, atleast at 700m distance.

    Wifi signals were strong in room. Triple beedroom, each bed enough for a couple. Breakfast, I liked alot.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The furniture is very old and broken. The AC is facing the bed. The TV channels are not all working well. The sofas on the corridor should be taken away from there.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    3.8
    Front office staff was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room service and canteen staff was terrible. Unclean bedding were asked to be changed. Room furniture was like a 1 star hotel.

    Front office staff was good

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    4.2
    AC was not working in the first room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    AC was not working in the first room rooms too noisy cause of poor window insulation towels are not clean

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    10
    very good
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    very good

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    9.2
    break fast,lunch room service,housekeeping,location of the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    break fast,lunch room service,housekeeping,location of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    10
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Unhygienic condition of rooms with some bad smell.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2015

    2.9
    No thing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Every thing

    No thing

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    5.4
    staff was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    second day, I woke up at 8AM by people drilling and hammering over next door, tried to complain and the answer was so annoying,

    staff was nice

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    6.7
    Ample of Parking and easy of location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Buffet breakfast was not up to the mark. The cup cakes, cakes & Doughnuts seemed to be very stale.

    Ample of Parking and easy of location.

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2015

    7.5
    Good atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    All are fine

    Good atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    7.1
    Location, and spacious rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Rooms are smelly, furniture and accessories are old and sometimes broken.

    Location, and spacious rooms

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    3.3
    I liked only the breakfast menu.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The Rooms and bathrooms are not clean. Water gets logged in and gives a stinking smell.

    I liked only the breakfast menu.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    6.7
    Staffs are very co operative
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We did ask for all the basic requirements inside the room

    Staffs are very co operative

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    5.4
    Good arabic breakfast, but missing the fruits.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Salty taste water. No electric cattel to prepare Tea. Expensive for the facilites.

    Good arabic breakfast, but missing the fruits. Good parking area.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    5.4
    The place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bathroom clearance

    The place

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    4.2
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Not good and it is not worth thr price. What you see in pictures is not what you get. I don't recommend it. Hi price with poor quality.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    4.2
    Location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Stinky room and bathroom, broken furniture, absolutely not worth of money which they are charging I will never stay here again.

    Location.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    6.3
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff not updated and slow response

    location

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    9.2
    Cooperation of staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cooperation of staff

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    6.7
    Service and management
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Additional facilities can improve, due to wifi too slow

    Service and management

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    9.2
    I like the location of the hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    I like the location of the hotel.very friendly frontdesk.room are

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    3.3
    Location is ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Most of the facilties are very poor

    Location is ok

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61

Guests also reviewed these properties: