Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Crowne Plaza Muscat 4 stars

PO Box 1455, 113 Muscat, Oman

#9 of 85 hotels in Muscat

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1728 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sea View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor value for money, could have stayed in a proper 5 star for this. Prices are ridiculous on site. Staff not very attentive. Also, we did tell them In advance that it was our honeymoon, still didn’t get a great room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I We paid for an up grade to have a balcony but when I went out in the evening to read there were no lights out there. So no reading or playing cards. There was a man outside the front entrance of the hotel getting you taxis but they were so expensive so we walked down the hill and the fares were half the price so I feel we were ripped off by the man at the entrance....is someone getting a back handler. We spent a lot on taxis we might have been better at a different location.

    The bed was so comfy made you look forward to sleeping. The staff were very efficient friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is a bit small and needs renovation.

    Being near the beach and it's attentive staff specially Ms. Geraldine in the buffet restaurant downstairs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I checked in with one woman working the front desk and she was fine, but when I came back down after we went to our room, I told her that there was an odor in our room that smelled like cigarettes. She told me that she would show me another room, and then SHE ROLLED HER EYES AT ME! I paid over $800, had a room that smelled like cigarettes and then she rolls her eyes as though I was an inconvenience. I was appalled, it made me uncomfortable and I now know how your hotel operates. When there is an issue, I am treated as though I am being difficult, being a bother to the staff and that my comfort is not important. I cannot explain how uncomfortable this made me feel and I will never come back to that hotel and will tell anyone I know not to visit this hotel. I felt so uncomfortable that I did not switch rooms because I felt as though I was being a bother to your staff. This is the most expensive hotel that I have ever stayed in, was super excited and have never been so disappointed. Not only that, after my complaint no one from the hotel management asked to speak with me to see if the issue was resolved. I travel quite a bit for work and typically stay at Hilton hotels and their standard of customer care is one you may want to learn.

    The location on the beach was just beautiful and I think that this site rests on the idea that they are located on a beautiful piece of property and that other parts of the business do not have to work to a level of excellence. The food at the pub restaurant was wonderful, I had the Omani King Fish that was out of this world. Most of the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel location was a bit away from the centre.

    Very friendly staff specially an Indian waitress at the breakfast resturant who had a big smile and so welcoming. I wish i remember her name.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cushions on the sun loungers kept falling down!

    Unexpected great pub food in the bar (number one in Oman!) Very relaxing, fantastic pool area with tennis courts, squash and gym for after lazing at the pool all day. Also great view of Muscat from its elevated position.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The band stopped too soon! Little atmosphere on a Friday evening in the pool bar and the Dukes bar

    . ‘Club access’ was worth the additional Cost. With Breakfast, afternoon tea and 6-8pm drinks included. We took full advantage of this and certainly enjoyed having this space. Rooms were spacious and well furnished overlooking the pool. Pool was ok, not the biggest but was big enough to cool off in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel looks much nicer on pictures The property is quite old The standard room was super tiny

    Nice Iranian restaurant Friendly staff Beautiful view of the coastline Private beach

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • King Room with Sea View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sea view

    Property maintenance and front staff are not upto the quality what guests deserves. Need hard work and tryning to staff specially at reception

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool is very small and the beach is bad it’s long stairs to go there and it’s a public beach not very nice

    The service and the staff very clean and great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast limited Room small especially for who have children No staff for carrying bag and parking car

    View amazing Cleaning Staffs are nice person

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view of building from distance looks old

    The swimming pool and tennis court surrounded by garden furnished with table and chair for relax and eating are enjoy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Good location, private beach and most important attentive and courteous staff. Special mention to m/s Fluvial and Grace of the Qurum Lounge.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor room low quality not maintained since ages. Gym is so small with limited very old equipment. Swimming pool is not clean water looked turbid.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sea View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Morning reception staff were terrible. Unfriendly and kept everyone waiting for over half hour to be served. Printer didn’t work just general bad management all round. Not good first impression of the hotel. Many guests complaining at check in. Rooms do not have double glazing so noisy. Room service food quality shocking. Drop the shops in reception they don’t want to sell anything!!

    Views from the hotel are spectacular. The restaurant employees are fantastic so pleased to help and make your experience special. Can highly recommend seafood evening.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The front desk staff were not particularly friendly and seemed not interested at all. The concierge staff and the restaurant staff were all very friendly. The hotel is looking and feeling dated, but it is closing soon for a major refurbishment. Once completed and re-opened I shall be back.

    The location is excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The swimming pool could be bigger and nicer.

    Excellent location and excellent foods at the restaurants. The buffet at the Tropicana restaurant is second to none!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sea View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A separate coffee shop would be good. Speed boats close to beach.

    Location adjacent to coast.private beach.super views.facilities very good.close to airport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location on a hill facing the Muscat beachfront. All facilities are top and close by, we especially enjoyed the outdoor restaurant seeting overlooking the pool and the sea. Hotel is more than 40 years old but extremely well maintained. Hotel staff were very friendly and professional.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A club room gives you access to the club lounge, but means you cannot have breakfast in the main breakfast restaurant. The club lounge breakfast is very limited and nothing like the sumptuous spread in the main restaurant.

    Comfortable bed in a pleasant room. No balcony, but a lovely view. The staff are very helpful and work hard to keep the hotel spotless, particularly around the pool area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sea View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More sun shades in garden area would be helpful, more than one swimming towel per guest.

    Helpful friendly staff, particularly with regards to a gluten free diet. The setting especially if you have a room with a sea view. Three different eating options with different food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - on arrival they did mention that they were willing to park my car, 2 staff couldn’t work my car and was put on horrible pressure they could have simply say we dont know how to use the car -when we arrived it was pass check in and the reception told me to wait till 4 pm since one room isnt ready, while the other is - we asked for interconnected rooms we didnt get that -we asked for high floor rooms we got on the ground level -we asked for baby cribs, none was placed and i had to call them at 3 am to bring it -above all that a staff member walked on us in our room, its against religious and cultural manners of course to walk on someone not fully covered

    That i was at the hotel for convenience since we had an event that night in the ballroom

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are 5 restaurants on the property and the food and service at all of them was exceptional. Private beach and gym are also good. All the staff were helpful and nice. Quiet room. Totally recommended.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No way of using food and drink add on in other areas of hotel; could have only had ‘free’ food and drinks in club room.

    Great location, lovely staff and club room was a good addition to our stay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at check in were very friendly & helpful. Food was delicious & reasonably priced. Facilities were beautifully maintained, especially the swimming pool. Marvellous

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was entertainment each of the two nights we stayed at the hotel. In our room we could hear quite clearly the loud music. Upon calling front desk we were informed the music would end 10.30 p.m. (and it did the first night. The next night it was around 11 p.m.), but as we are early birds we were not happy with this.

    Beautiflully located hotel on a hill overlooking the beach. Room was clean and beds were comfortable. The real plus however is the big breakfast buffet served by the pool area, with outside seating and every immaginable food for breakfast, fresh juices, exotic fruits, tasty cheeses, bacon, egs, arabian mezze... Pool area big and beautiful, nice chairs and stunning views. Our stay included access to the Qurom Lounge, that served complimentary and deliscious food and drinks througout the day. Besides: The hotel offeres free but shuttle to the mosque, Grand Mall and Souk.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Best-suited for those who rent a car, as the hotel is isolated in a residential neighborhood far from shopping or (outside) dining. Weak, fluctuating WiFi makes performing even routine surfing difficult. Rooms are on the small side. Overpriced for what it is: at this price-point I expect more.

    Picture-postcard location on a promontory over the sea. Attentive staff. Numerous on-site dining options. Good breakfast. Well-maintained pool.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Taxi drivers next to hotel are asking crazy prices. Like to go to Avenue Mall they ask us 15 ORM, but if you will walk down the street and stop a taxi- they will take you by 5. From hotel till Oasis shopping center with meater counter cost just a bit over 3, but from hotel they ask 7. And Jean from a Club never smiles :(

    We loved place - sea is very close, but not too. Club has a big variety of drinks and food. Pool is big and warm. Beach towels are big and soft. Table tennis has all scenery things. Gym is well equipped. There is even a sauna and steam bath ( Turkish sauna). And a pancake making machine!!! And by a secret - our room had a washing machine!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sea View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows are very thin and it was difficult to sleep because there was a band that played until 10:30, and you can hear anyone talking in their balcony! hear it really well. The room was really old and needs to be updated

    I liked the view, the restaurants,service, the facilities, location. Nice restaurant with a pool and sea view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food and drink is very expensive, and there are no snack shops or other places to eat nearby so you're pretty much stuck paying these prices unless you pay for an expensive taxi to go elsewhere. Other downside for us was that the entire pool, garden, beach and poolside bar area is a smoking area. As a pregnant traveller that rather limited my options; this needs to be addressed.

    Lovely setting overlooking the sea with its own private beach and pleasant gardens. Good choice of restaurants/bars with friendly staff, and tasteful entertainment such as live bands. Good size bedroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of buffet is a little overpriced.

    Staff extremely friendly, beds super comfortable. Good variety in menus. Complimentary shuttle service to mosque and souq are a nice bonus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very poor service, feels more in McDo or Mall than in a 4 stars hotel. It seems also that more attention is given to GCC and European customers..No one to welcome us when arriving, no one helped us with our luggage although we were a family with 2 young children. The entrance of the hotel looks like a mall..We were very disappointed.

    Excellent location, with direct access to the sea and excellent view on the sea (nice sunset)..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    NOISE FROM THE CAR PARK AUDIBLE FROM THE ROOMS WITHOUT THE SEA VIEW. WE ASKED TO PAY ATTENTION BUT AT EVERY CAR IT WAS OF COURSE REPEATED. DAY AND NIGHT

    LOCATION

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 14 nights

    We particularly liked the bed, and the spaciousness of our suite. We also liked the ability to use the Club Room, particularly at Happy Hour time! The staff throughout the hotel were uniformly friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overall, We found Muscat to be on the expensive side. For that price, the room was very small.

    Location superb - half way between airport and old muscat town, everything is within a 20min drive. breakfast had amazing options & felt endless. room was comfortable - felt like it was designed for great sleeping. We had rented a car from the airport, ample free parking in the hotel, which worked out well. We checked in effortless at 2AM in the night and had absolutely no trouble.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom with glass sliding door, little privacy Whilst food selection good, food always Luke warm and served on cold plates Pool very busy, facilities used by local residents as a health centr Not a hotel to relax in.

    Staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    non

    We stayed in the executive suite with sea view. This is a great choice for family with children. The suite is bright and spacious with nice interior: it has two separated rooms and a very large and nice bath room with excellent quality toiletries. The bath room looks modern with all the modern equipment, so we thought it was newly renovated. There is a walking-in room besides the bedroom with closet and the space for our suitcases. The location of the hotel is excellent: we have nice sea view from the living room. It is easy to drive from the hotel to different sightseeing sites such as the Royal Opera, the Grand Mosque and Sultan Palace. The swimming pool area is facing the beach/sea with plenty of lounge chairs. It’s a lovely deep pool and we thoroughly enjoyed it. All the staff we met are friendly and service minded. The check-in/out processes were efficient and professional. We have the access to the club lounge, where we had breakfast, lunch and happy hour drinks during our stay. We enjoyed the club lounge very much, the staff there are all friendly and always meet us with a smile. The foods are good, although the verities from one day to the other is limited. The view from the lounge is superb, where we enjoyed our evening drink. We had several dinners in the Italian restaurant and once at the pool side. The environment is breezy and fresh. Both restaurants serve very good foods with excellent services. The parking area is big, we did not have any problem to park our huge rental car during our stay there.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nought!

    Wonderfully comfortable hotel where you are made to feel one of the family. Loaction and view perfect. Good food and fab beach bar (Edge). Staff so freindly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The most observed negative comment where about the increased room prices comparing to booking which is a misunderstand by guests of the excluded 17.4% tax. The hotel need more refurbishments and to redesign and increase the pool area with a little helpful shades to avoid the sun rays. The prices are above the usual rate.

    A very special hotel with a private beach and nice pool. The staff are friendly and helpful. The environment is breezy and fresh. There are Italian, Iranian, International restaurants and other cafes or bars however all food even the room service food are so expensive. The seafood buffet on Thursday and Friday night is one of the best I have ever taste but it is quite expensive 29 OMR per person ~ 75$. I was lucky as everybody commented before me in most websites to have a very nice experience. The good news that in few weeks the hotel will be closed till August to occupy our needs so we can return back with a bigger smile next time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely disappointed when I booked 2 club rooms with breakfast and told we had to have the buffet breakfast in the lounge (poor & limited choices). The last time we visited in a club room, we were able to use the main restaurant downstairs for breakfast which is much better, top class choices and much more enjoyable. When I challenged the receptionist she abruptly told me to read my booking paperwork And spoke no more on the subject. I would have at least expected an explanation and possibilities to pay if there was a premium. I am a resident in Oman and use this hotel quite a lot. May have to think again.

    Very nice hotel with mostly attentive staff. Very relaxing and beautiful location. About to go into a re-furbishment phase.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sea View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location & for a first time stay I got upgraded to an executive room. Sea view was great and relaxing . Room was clean and bed was so comfortable. I ordered late dinner and the food was very tasty.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The club room costs more and yet you get less value in some respects: the breakfast was limited in choice, the evening buffet was cold by the time the food was laid out. The bar staff were really rather rude. They were over familiar and it took some time to get served. One of the cleaning staff opened my door when I was standing naked in the bathroom despite having told them to wait. The bill was excessively large given the poor quality of food and some staff.

    Great location, beautiful views of the coast. Massive and very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great stay for anyone. Great variety restaurants, beautiful outdoor pool and setting for those sunsets. Great Gym. Location right next to the beach for those morning walks

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The pool area is small but is being upgraded this year

    staff were super helpful and friendly. Breakfast choice was excellent . good variety of cuisine in restaurants- great location with free minibus into town- reliable wifi

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is an older hotel and the interior has been very well refurbished. The swimming pool area is showing its age a little and is probably scheduled for renovation.....that said , it’s perfectly functional , very clean, and very well maintained . It’s a lovely deep pool and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Not complaining at all .... just an observation Like all of the large international hotels the restaurant and bar prices are high but that’s no surprise

    Bright spacious interior, friendly welcoming staff, very comfortable bedrooms. Views along the beach. Gardens and tennis courts. Shuttle service daily to Mutrah and also the Grand Mosque and shopping Mall. Paying extra for use of the Club facilities was well worth it

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is looking a little tired but renavations and are planned this year

    Great stay at this hotel. In my opinion one of the best views in Muscat. Breakfasts were a feast with endless choices. Would definitely stay again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing

    Friendliness of the staff from the Tropicana restaurant who remembers all guests by their names and room numbers. Discretion and attention. Room with the view on the sea was special indeed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Food in restaurants was quite pricey

    Sunset view of beach was stunning Good choice of food in different restaurants Private beach was very peaceful Breakfast buffet

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    outstanding location on top of the cliffs overlooking the bay; lovely swimming pool but perhaps a little exposed being right in front of the Hotel dining room. private beach was a bonus. Excellent buffet meals from restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t fault it! We visited the Chedi for brunch which was beautiful, and felt very ‘designer’ but not quite as relaxed as the CP.

    Fantastic location, set on a cliff overlooking the ocean we had a sea view room with a large balcony where I practiced yoga in the morning and we watched the beautiful sunsets every evening. Great and varied selection at breakfast. All the staff were wonderful and always polite, friendly and eager to help. Nice gym, pool and facilities, and the private beach was great too. Sadly we only discovered the sauna/ steam room on our last day but another plus. The hotel also ran a free shuttle bus to the grand mosque and muttrah souq which was handy. We plan to come back!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny! Very uncomfortable and uneasy to move around. Paying a 111 Rials for a tiny room is not worth it. The quality of the room did not meet the value of it. Staff were friendly and nice I can’t say anything less about them. Breakfast was ok it had different varieties unfortunately, there wasn’t any flavor in the cooking, no seasoning, even the eggs were very dry and tasteless. Finally, upon checking out we were charged way over board than what we bought from room service, and if I hadn’t ask we would’ve been paying something that isn’t ours. We did end up paying more than what we bought from food and drinks but it’sThe room was tiny! Very uncomfortable and uneasy to move around. Paying a 111 Rials for a tiny room is not worth it. The quality of the room did not meet the value of it. Breakfast was ok it had different varieties unfortunately, there wasn’t any flavor in the cooking, no seasoning, even the eggs were very dry and tasteless. Finally, upon checking out we were charged way over board than what we bought from room service, and if I hadn’t ask we would’ve been paying something that isn’t ours. We did end up paying more than what we bought from food and drinks but it’s ok.

    The staff were friendly and nice! Loved them

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sea View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like except for the price of alcohol, which is exhorbitantly high in Oman, wherever you can get it.

    The restaurants were very good. The staff were exceptionally attentive, accommodating and polite.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The additional local tax of 17% that was added to the booking,com price. This information should be shown clearly on the booking.com page when booking and wasn't

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pics of the hotel Don’t do it justcice, there need to be more that reflect the facilities. Othwerwise , faultless . I’m definitely returning

    Superb staff , very chatty and helpful , beautiful hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sun beds at the beach could be more modern, that’s just to say something constructive!

    Congratulations to the management and all the team of Crown Plaza. The building and the rooms might look somewhat outdated, but the location, the breakfast buffet, the restaurants and above all, the staff, are difficult to beat. The hotel will undergo some needed renovation this summer, we were told. Can’t wait to go back! Kudos to Piovanni, Mae and Marivic among the staff members! We had a room with balcony, which is more like a terrace, and the view and additional space are really worth the extra money. Finally, we particularly appreciated the sleeping quality of the place, bed, pillows and soundproofing between rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff efficiency and friendliness made our stay an excellent one. Food orders were very quick to arrive and there was an excellent selection of dishes on the menu. Shiraz had wonderful food and the bonus of live music on Friday and Saturday was great. The atmosphere in the whole hotel was lovely and welcoming. The location was on a cliff overlooking the beach fantastic for a long beach walk and views of Muscat.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    confusion over breakfast. If you pay to stay in club level, breakfast should be available at any of the restaurants that are serving breakfast. You should not be limited to eating in the club especially when the food you are ordering is coming from those restaurants. The food got cold and just was not fresh. When I tried to eat downstairs I was promptly told that I could not as my package only included breakfast in the club. I don't' see the point since it all came from the same place. I did not see this fine print in the booking, so therefore was unaware. I've stayed at a lot of Intercon properties and never had this as an issue so I was taken aback by this. This was a big disappointment for me but overall the experience was very good.;

    Most everything, bed was definitely comfortable, food was good at the restaurants, staff very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A real problem with the bedding... we notified them before that we needed sheets and blankets - as I have an alergy... the feather free duvet they provided was far too thick - and there were no blankets at all in the hotel.... this is poor management. So my wife slept on the floor and I slept under an array of small towells. The hotel did give us a free breakfast - but didnt really seem to grasp the issue. I spend 150 nights ( Marriott platinum member ) in hotels a year... But the location is absolutely beautiful.... but no blanket mentality is a great pity

    Fantastic location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The food in the Iranien restaurant was not as expected.

    We had a room with a large balcony and a fantastic view. The surrounding was exellent and the people who was working there were very friendly , excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sea View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shuttle bus to the Souk inadequate, should be bigger.

    Great staff & Facilities, my wife and I enjoyed a very pleasant relaxing weekend in a very comfortable room with a balcony overlooking the Gulf of Oman.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool could have been a little larger but the hotel already has plans to renovate this into an improved infinity pool.

    The views and location of the hotel are fantastic. Great clifftop bar/restaurant for both day time comfort, to lovely sundowners. Whilst it’s not a “boutique” style hotel it’s smart and well maintained. Club rooms give access to the club lounge, which has free food (very handy if you’re pressed for time or budget and need a quick snack). The cove beach is easy to get to and nicer than the beach at The Chedi. For the price it’s extremely good value.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy. Close to the main street so you can hear cars all the time. The staff started vacuum cleaning the carpets in the corridor at 9PM.

    Nice location, close to the beach.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Breakfast was lovely and great to sit outside and enjoy the fresh air. Check-in was great and the lady was able to find me a room with a balcony facing the water! The pub downstairs is lovely and we happened to stumble in to a pre-Christmas Trivia Night that was tons of fun.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pool area very tired but new refurbishment should sort that. Some areas very expensive

    Staff approach at all times very friendly - and remembered me from previous trips (or so they said) and that was really nice as I travel alone to Oman for business.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice location: perched on a cliff, with a small bay where guests can enjoy the beach and sea access. The staff was really attentive: we got a happy birthday cake although none of us had birthday 🙃. The restaurants were of high quality, we especially liked the Shiraz, the service was very good and the overall experience a little above expectations.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On checking out reception staff could have been more attentive, another receptionist kept calling the one serving us and customer service was not great. The total opposite of when we checked in and the whole experience. But to be honest if that's the only things to complain about its a very good hotel. The pool is a little deep for young children who arent toddlers -they have their own pool though and you can't take prams down to the beach as there are a lot of steps.

    Went for the club access which was good value as food available all day long, the scones were amazing at the 3pm tea. Beach was lovely and pools good too. Views are amazing and the staff are really friendly. Beds are lovely and you get a great sleep. Restaurants are plentiful and good souvenir shop downstairs

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Sea View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast on the first day until I alerted the management. No valet. Staff in general are not the friendliest. Rooms are dated. In need of a serious revamp.

    The view of the beach

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    City view is on the car park No food available between 6pm-7pm can be a bit tricky for families with toddlers/babies

    Very helpful and kind staff, exceptional location wth breathtaking views of Muscat, really good and diversified continental breakfast, plenty of food choices in the evening, great drinks, heated pool, private beach. Great for families, we had a 2yrs old and the staff was super flexible to accommodate all our needs.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water temperature in shower was inconsistent and water pressure was poor. Windows could do with a clean.

    Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Staff were excellent and the use of the "Club" lounge was very welcome, excellent choice for breakfast and in the evening the snacks served with drinks were very good. Italian restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would have expected the hotel to have more links with local tour companies. As it was, they seemed to be tied to just one company so the concierge was of little help if this one company had no tours on the day.

    It was quiet and relaxing. Everything worked.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Little bit pricey, hopefully we can get a group discount next time we go! :)

    The lady at the concierge desk on Thursday 7 December 2017, went out of her way to ensure that the business lounge stay open for an extra few minutes so that we could enjoy a beverage. Staff were efficient and they arranged a nice birthday cake for our friend the following evening.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Many hotels in Oman will have red and green lights outside at night, including this hotel, and it will stay on all night. Thick curtains block out the light so it's not much of an issue, but there it is.

    Ended our week-long drive through the country with one night here, and it was a dream. Balcony room gave a wonderful view of the city and the hotel premises. Clean and comfortable accommodations, pool was never crowded, staff and concierge were exceedingly helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sea View - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything

    The staff were particularly good. The meals we had in the hotel restaurants were excellent. The staff very kindly gave us an upgraded room with a balcony - a nice touch.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful location witha superb view of the sea (they upgraded our room for free), with all comforts in the room and in the beach/swimmingpool. An excellent, vary and good quality breakfast you can take outside watching the panorama. Last but not least a supportive, helpful and kind staff giving you advices and making your stay easy and smooth. I also enjoyed the Persian restaurant inside the hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mattress is very uncomfortable, we both me and my husband had bad back from the mattress.

    Location, Location, Location, Food, Staff especially Front Desk Staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Crowne Plaza Muscat traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: