Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Golden Oasis 3 stars

Al Wadi Al Kabir, 117 Muscat, Oman

#79 of 85 hotels in Muscat

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 123 hotel reviews

6.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.1

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    6.7

  • Facilities

    5.8

  • Staff

    6.8

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing which was great was they changed the internet password and didn’t notify me.

    Very nice happy hotel. A bit far from Muscat so be careful if the taxi drivers trying to rob you. Hotel taxi service needs 1 hour notice for booking at peak times. Friendly staff, restaurant was very good, reasonable price and non smoking, with a separate smoking areas. Internet was very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was quite secluded and in a dark alley. Room lighting was poor, amenities were missing such as iron and a board. Key card had to be recharged every time we went out.

    Parking is acceptable and room was big.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is badly maintained, It was the worst experience that I had in the middle east, It has a bar full of drunk locals (men only), Food is very bad, breakfast is disgusting, Bed sheets not clean, very old almost antique/broken stuff, They kept only 1 shower towel in the room with no other for hand/face etc., I asked the room service to get me extra towels & the guy who came was arguing me why I need more if I already have one!

    Nothimg

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    EXCEPT FOR THE MATRESS. IT HAS A STEEL COMING OUT ON THE LEFT SIDE THAT IS NOT SAFE SPECIALLY FOR THE CHILDREN. YOU NEED TO FIX THIS. OUR ROOM NUMBER IS 802.

    EVERYTHING IS GOOD

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside generator was noisy at night. I

    Bed was too big sat tv great for football door card did not always work nice distance from hub. Stores nearby were first class. Room service was fast Reception man great for information

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffee making facilities aren’t available,satellite channels are so limited and need to be adjusted and updated,Number of towels are limited,no gymnastics

    I liked the location,free park,free WiFi,and view

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast should have more of the continental breakfast like the pastries and croissants. Otherwise the breakfast was reasonable.

    The helpfulness and politeness of the staff especially the night manager Akshay and his staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This does not seem like a three star hotel. The wifi was useless in my room, so I had to sit in the lobby to get any work done. The wifi was still very weak. You only get one towel in your room. The hotel is dark in the daytime as the lights are turned off in the lobby. The continental breakfast is pretty boring; toast, watered down orange juice, instant coffee, fruit salad, pita bread, and hummus. It costs 30 US dollars to get there from the hotel, best to take the public bus if you want to save money. This hotel is far away from everywhere.

    The room service was fine, as was the food on the menu. I also was allowed to change rooms after I complained about the first one. The staff was helpful with getting me to the public buses, which helped save me quite a bit of money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel can use some re-furbishment. Everything looks old and used. The dinner room/breakfast room is far from stylish. But what to expect, the hotel was close to the diving area and that was what we came for.

    The price compared to other places tells you basically what to expect. The staff however was super helpful and really great service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was not able to sleep on the spring bed i have back problems.

    The breakfast was provided in the room by Room Service and we had all that was requested.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1.The room had a noisy window AC. A hotel of any standard should have centralised AC or at least split unit AC 2. The bed linen was not clean. I wonder if it was changed after the last customer used it! 3. The bell boy was repeatedly enquiring about my personal matters (none of his business!), and his gestures and body language were as if I was his long-lost friend! -thoroughly unprofessional! 3. Only limited car parking space in front of the hotel

    The receptionist was polite and helpful. The restaurant was clean and well-appointed. Breakfast was decent

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one towel even if there's 2 people staying, there's only 1 socket in our room which made it difficult for us since we have gadgets for our travel

    Big bed

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was not able to sleep because the room is not sound proof Our room is very near to the arabic bar the music very loud outside and the vibration of the music inside the room..I was stressed and even complain to the reception..the reception apologized and said he will tell them to stop but until 3 am nothing happens so sad i dont have sleep.

    Very near to our transaction

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are many bars in the hotel. So it is difficult to get parking in the evening. One of the bars has live music at first floor. The music is so loud that it can even be heard on fifth floor where I stayed. Always ask to be given a room in 6th floor.

    Indian items in breakfast were good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bit far from any place relevant in Muscat so be prepared to pay for taxis. Wi-Fi was unstable and terribly slow.

    Clean and comfortable. Food was ok and it's not that expensive overall

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very old furniture, Bed sheet and blanket was yellowish color. I booked the room for non smoking but the room was given is smoking, full of dust around the room and look like a dull room. Disgusting and very upset.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    October 28, 2016 ( Friday) morning. After I paid my total bill upon arrival. He didn't give my change. At night i ask the guy again for my change but the guy said! I will give you tomorrow upon check out. On the day of check out i ask the guy again about my change. But he said no more change, because your total bill is 20.600 and you pay 21 Omani Rial. So simple if my bill is 20.6 and i handed to him 21 RO so, still i have 400 Baisa change. My point is both Guy in reception are not totally honest. Because of that small amount they will lost their reputation by themselves even the hotel premises as well.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed there the last day of ramadan, so restaurant for breakfast wasn't open and i took my breakfast in my room which was ok, dont expected too much for it. Asked the staff in the reception about how to go to bimmah sinkhole they didn't know wasnt helpful.

    The hotel is located in Ruwi for me was perfect because was easy to take the road to visit Wadi Shams and go to Sur. Room are comfortable, clean ok bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to maintain I was insured in leaft it open & fell down 4ft

    Very poor maintenance

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    complete disaster how it is a 3-star Hotel !!!

    NOTHING , Worst hotel i have ever visited .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location

    Room space,food quality up to the mark

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location for market

    Good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water in bathroom very slow

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    What ever is mentioned in booking.com website, nothing is there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No comments

    It’s very clean Hotel & good comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car Driving experience

    Nature of the country

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All mentioned during the questionnaire

    Restaurant service

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-out Greetings

    price and location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and clean venue and excallent staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Certain items should have been checked in the room prior to me arriving - however staff very helpful once queries pointed out

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast 🍳 could include more non veg items

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Require some new furnishings

    It’s ambience

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very big and clean and the staff very nice and always ready to help. For sure great value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast, no internet, I haven’t seen a smile from the staff during my stay

    The only thing I liked was the mountain view from the room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room is big, and the staff is nice, the bellboy is nice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    but they need to improve break fast as daily same menus no once can afford with all malayali meals

    Ambiance, location all well

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is not clean

    It was short stay The bill boy (MANOHAR) very active He is the onley thing i liked in this hotell

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi service. Poor and pathetic

    The bell boy - Manohar. Helpful and good service by him. Appreciate him.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They care of their guest specially Mr. Mahonaran belly boy (staff) was very kind and received me very well. Always ready to help.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi not good..

    Food at Resturant..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bath tub needs to be more cleaner

    The staff at Breakfast is superb very good service.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there 2 types of rooms , bad one for net reservation. no tea maker in room.

    price

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a bit far way from the city, but, there is a bus stop very near.

    Very nice staff and price

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Need to focus on customer comfort. When want to sleep some kind of noise still disturb the whole night. Comfort sleep.

    Bed was good,

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise n cleaning of bath tubs. They were very dirty

    Location and the staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stronger wifi would better

    Close location to my friends

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff response excellent

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No slippers in the room No mat after using the bathroom

    I like everything

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception was especially helpful,knowledgeable and very welcoming.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No English televison hannel except one movie channel, barely working wifi.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toiletries to be furnished

    Location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad room service.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything there was Crapy in hotel, i wish i would ignore them. Food was also worst. and its too far also from Airport

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi not up to the mark.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Internet is like tortoise, TV is old model with Eastman color - reception staff specially the females no smile and answer in shorthand mode.

    Clean and good looking rooms and toilet facilities

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The room picture I saw in Booking.com appear to be bigger and nicer ambient. The room that we got was gloomy and no carpet at all. I chose it because I thought the floor will be carpeted. We are not use to wear shoe in the room. So the floor gave us a chill to bones

    The location and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2015

    • Couple

    We booked online for 2 days room was sticking very bad smell as we intered not even could stay 10 minutes after refuseing take this room in hotel people changed our room. We managed to stay Air condition window type and very noisy. After complaint they up graded our room in to new building which is o.k. we were not aware of this new and old building old building is very very bad.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Standard room is in the old building so didn't like the feel of it. Would suggest Travelers to go for the Deluxe room instead

    The Staff was very helpful and were willing to go the extra mile. Breakfast was good. Late checkout request was immediately accepted

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Too much noise from Bar/Restaurant from the 4th floor (our room situated just below it) around 2am to 4 am. Locals drink and making too much noise as well as pulling the chairs also hitting on the floor too - It disturbs our sound sleep

    Good Location, Clean, better wifi, Restaurant

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When we checked in, they put us in a room with dirty furniture and noisy air conditioner. However, we complained the next morning, they moved us to a much better room, which was clean, well maintained, and comfortable.

    Friendly and courteous staff. Responsive to guest needs.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Big Bus gave wrong information about 24hrs and 48 hrs tour with price .Dropping and pick up time poor and not helpful

    The staffs are very friendly . Always give good information.Good location, easy access to main tourist spots.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Tv is very old with limited or no channels and if you are lucky remote works.water get accumulated on floor in washroom.they will charge you 3 riyals if you lost room card. I paid 54 riyals for 2 nights as 44 riyals package mentioned is for oldest rooms they have.restaurant menu is limited

    Just that it is located centrally. For this i would rather pay bit more and stay in haffa house

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nil.everything was perfect.

    very clean all over the hotel, friendly & highly supportive staff, very good breakfast, excellent for family leisure stay, highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Things were quite basic and the bed wasn't that comfy. Took us a while to figure out the hot water for shower.

    Good for the price.. also good location when you want to do Matrah Souq, diving, Old Muscat, etc. Close to restaurants and hypermarkets.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No car parking spaces during night due to pop crowd. No drinking water in the room, it take times to supply and charges me omr 600 bisa. The bed is too old with an old plows covers and blankets, very dirty towels. To conclude the room service is very bad. The room pictures shows in the booking.com are not trough.

    Breakfast was good

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    really bad smell and felt unclean everywhere the colour of decor is not very inviting at all the bathroom needs to be renovated looked so bad I did not want to use it I stayed only a night and couldn't wait to leave. The bed looked dirty and there was a brown stain on the headboard. Will never return

    staff were polite

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms are not sound proof, until 2 to 3 am you hear the music sounds and whts happening around.

    Friendly employees- sharooj,breakfast, dance bar, massage etc.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very noisy place, uncomfortable bed with hard pillow, Very unfriendly staff - deducted money from my credit card twice and I wasted my time in bank trying to sort it out Untasty breakfast

    Clean bathroom, lots of parking spots around

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is a bar and I night I could not sleep becuase of it. ALSO, YOU CAN SIMLE SMOOKING FROM THE FUIRNITURE. ADVICE: ASK FOR NON SMOOKING ROOM AND FAR AWAY FROM THE BAR.

    Everything is good except which I mention below.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very unfriendly staff....not welcoming. The welcoming smile was totally missing. Poor lifts. stinking corridors and hopeless bed

    the new year eve party was the only good thing!!

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    very far from downtown the rooms and places are smelly toilet not working propably

    cheap friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    AC, BF buffet and cleaning

    staff

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was comfortable but tatty

    Location was great and excellent restaurant

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Old furniture, nothing provided as complimentary to the guest

    Good location, nearby restaurant, access to car parking

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No support from reception , no good response ,

    Not at all happy & didnt like anything in this hotel ,

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: