Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Grand Hyatt Muscat This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Shatti Al Qurum - PO Box 951, 113 Muscat, Oman

#14 of 85 hotels in Muscat

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1411 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely and quiet, spacious in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No proper lighting in the room it’s too dark there are only lamps no main lighting in the room very inconvinient when ur getting ready. Also beach front was not so appealing, you have to cross the back of the hotel into a grass field then to a public sandy beach with no sun beds

    Very spacious room and balcony and staff are great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    5.8
    5 Star disappointment !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Executive Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was old and needs maintenance urgently. We had electricity blackout in our room twice during our 4 days stay!!! The WiFi was very slow and my kids couldn’t use their iPads !!! The bathroom smelled like sewage all the time. The pool area needs a coat of paint and the pool bar staff were very slow and lazy and kept making mistakes in our orders all the time! The Beach was a disappointment as well, since it was a public beach and there wasn’t a proper gate to stop people from the street entering the hotel and staring at the guests!!! It didn’t feel safe for the kids!!! We stayed in Shagri La Bar Jissa Resort in Muscat two years ago and it was ten times better! We wanted to try something new, but we feel it was a bad choice! :(

    The location was good and quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    8.8
    A very peaceful and friendly atmosphere. I will definitely visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand 2 Twins
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didnt like the beach as much as the pool. The balcony was a little bit small and had no chairs or a table to chill out and relax a drink outside. Also, the the steam bath was too hot and it burnt me a little.

    The bed and breakfast was comfy and delicious. There was plenty of choice to eat and the food was delicious. The beach however was nice but there were no sunbeds on the actual beach but rather closer to the hotel so i had to walk and sit on the ground.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    6.3
    The cleaning staff couldnt have been more friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand King Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The reception staff were rude and not at all helpfull and one member of pool staff also.

    The cleaning staff couldnt have been more friendly and helpfull.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location, friendly staff and service but shame about the food
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Grand 2 Twins
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was very poor . There was very little variety in the buffet.

    Everyone from reception desk to room service, to concierge were very helpful and had a smile on their faces .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    7.1
    Loopy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Grand King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Actually the service is so week , Pools is closed very week service, noise , many time I’m in this hotel and welcoming staff is really not helpful , the rooms is really old and it’s not that designed

    Loopy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    8.3
    The location is perfect, directly at the beach within a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Grand 2 Twins
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is no sand beach area with sun beds and umbrellas, although a green lawn area immediately at the (broad) sandy beach (in addition to pool).

    The location is perfect, directly at the beach within a diplomatic area. Even if you are planning to visit the city center and attractions, it is worth staying at the beach as all locations are easily available from there. I had a nice room with sea view, the pool is very nie although the water was already on the warmer side.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    5.0
    Great location but hotel needs an overhaul
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Grand King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very basic and disappointing hotel amentities, view from room can vary from the beach to a construction dumping area. Variety of lunch and dinner buffet and there’s always noise at odd hours outside the room coming from Maintenance or house keeping and awful pillows

    Nice central location and hospitality by hotel staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    7.9
    Great location - on the beach, very friendly staff, hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Grand 2 Twins
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some areas in the hotel have a strong cigarette smell, even the room I was given stank of cigarettes at times - probably because of central A/C. Smoking wing should be separated as it’s so unpleasant!

    Great location - on the beach, very friendly staff, hotel not too far from the airport or malls.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    9.2
    Everything you need is in here , fine Resturants / Bars...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Grand King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Didnt like the bed pillows they are really uncomfortable

    Everything you need is in here , fine Resturants / Bars / Spa and more Rooms are wide and clean Staff are great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    10
    A luxurious stay by the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Grand King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only improvement is the chicken burger from the menu - the chicken should be better.

    Beautiful views, luxurious spacious rooms, relaxed ambience, excellent location by the beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    10
    Perfect location to relax and know the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food prices at the bars and restaurants

    Delicious Breakfast, with plenty of options, very comfortable room, the kindness of the staff, quiet location good for sunset walks alone the coast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    6.3
    Location is nice, downtown with beach access.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I know other Grand Hyatt hotels with much higher standards. Poor wifi/internet. I was exposed to bed-bugs while resting on a mattress at the pool area, very painful for 2 days ! Food is ok, but nothing special.

    Location is nice, downtown with beach access.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    9.6
    Great trip ❤️
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Club King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can’t think of anything. Everything was very relaxing. Some people criticise the kitsch Disney land look but actually we liked it and at night the view of the stained glass windows is beautiful. Could perhaps get new sun bed mattresses if I was being highly critical. Perfect place for 3 - 5 days family time. Lots to do including dolphin watching diving and snorkelling.

    Great resort for families with all facilities close together and kid friendly environment. Location is fab whereas Shangrila and Al Bustan are far removed from the city. Quick drive from Turkish House Restaurant which serves fresh local fish that you choose for yourself. Pan fried Omani King Prawns are a must. Enjoyed the Executive Lounge happy hour perk !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    9.2
    great hotel and would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My only very small complaint about the room was that the multinational power sockets did not provide enough power to charge an ipad or a iphone(!) . All the other sockets were round pin plugs. This meant we practically had to dismantle the television cabinet to charge our devices as this was the only other 3 pin plug in our room (which was a suite). A small quibble but at this level and price bracket that should be better. The room was otherwise excellent.

    Club lounge facilities were excellent. Food was excellent in the lounge, the all day dining and the safari grill. The Grill set menu with drinks deal was particularly good and the food and atmosphere were really great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    10
    The front desk staff Natalya was so unprofessional !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The front desk staff Natalya was so unprofessional ! She doesn’t know the answer for any of my questions. Only when her manger Abeer took over , I started getting all answer for my questions. Abeer was extremely nice and professional.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    3.8
    The pool area is filthy and if it was up to me I would fire the entire pool staff immediately.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Club King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The carpet is worn off and protruding on the stairs to the restaurant on ground floor. I highlighted this and a lot of urgency was shown, nothing happened subsequently. The carpet was still protruding from the stairs waiting for an accident to happen. Pool staff are pure nasty. Horrible people.

    The staff is totally disengaged. Starting from the doorman to the room service are just completely devoid of hospitality.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    6.3
    Could of stayed somewhere nicer for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • View 1 King
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Water heater for shower would switch from hot to cold quickly and would not stay the same temperature. Location wasn't ideal for walking around. Few restaurants close by and beach wasn't spectacular.

    Service and staff was outstanding. Very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    5.0
    It was written that their is aprivate beach which is not it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Club Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was written that their is aprivate beach which is not it was the public beach & the access gate closed at 9pm so i could not back to the hotel in shor access i turned arround the hotel &enter from the main hotel gate i ws disappointed I choose it for the becg but i did not go to it

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    4.2
    This hotel has a lot of work to do. I would discourage others from staying there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand 2 Twins
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pool was disgusting. Cloudy water every day, clearly not vacuumed or filtered properly. Pool surroundings not clean- food debris from other guests not cleared (and therefore lots of flies). Lounge seats dirty and old, and not enough of them. Some days we had to sit on regular chairs instead of lounge chairs around the pool.

    Room size generous and large. Beautiful lobby area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    5.4
    there is a public beach next to the hotel , big rooms
    • Group
    • Grand King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    check in takes almost one hour , the receptionist stop processing my check in and take another guest and checked him in , and then she continued my check in .

    there is a public beach next to the hotel , big rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    6.3
    Just ok.....furnishing are dated and in need of replacement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Club King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not like the face that I stayed in the Club Level and was FORCED to eat in the club. I do not eat bread or cerial because I"m on a very low carbohydrate diet and those foods are all that is there. I could not get any bacon to go with eggs....just unpleasant and not happy. If I had taken a room not club level, the breakfast included would have been main dining.......Please you should not limit breakfast locations......did not like at all. However, every other aspect of the club was great.

    Bed was nice but needs to be KING SIZE, not QUEEN

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2018

    7.1
    Great stay with a few niggly dislikes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was not up to my standards, sausage, bacon and eggs were not palatable and the coffee was very bitter.

    The Tuscany food was excellent. The room was very comfortable and the gardens and outdoor facilities were excellent. The staff were very polite and forthcoming.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    8.3
    The staff where very friendly and courteous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No balcony furniture. In the cooler months it would be nice to sit outside on the balcony. The room only had one easy chair. There was plenty of room for another chair. We did not have breakfast at the hotel as it was overpriced.

    The staff where very friendly and courteous.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2018

    9.2
    The Lobby and the executive lounge size, staff, services and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Grand Club King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Power went off twice... with out warning. One time I was in the Elevator. Prices were high compared to other hotels.

    The Lobby and the executive lounge size, staff, services and food selection was great. Excellent. Also rooms and beds are large and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    6.5
    Unfortunately the rooms a let down.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Grand King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms and general decor of the hotel looks very tired. It has not changed in last 10+ years. The rooms I was surprised at how old and tired they look. Faded carpets, faded old seating. Bathrooms very dated.

    The service of all staff I dealt with was very good. The food for lunch was also good but overpriced for what it was. The selection was good also. Welcome from front desk trainee was really good and made you feel welcome.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2018

    10
    Great stay at Grand Hyatt Muscat !
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Grand 2 Twins
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Friendly , welcoming staff .... Location and beach access , facilities! That was my second time at the Hyatt and will stay in it if ever visiting Muscat again. Breakfast is too pricy but there are other options.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2018

    7.9
    The location of the hotel and the viwe were very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel needs upgrade on the furniture and guste room sevice such as don’t disturbe,, guards for the swiming pool...

    The location of the hotel and the viwe were very nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2018

    6.3
    Good location for business and the place to stay in Muscat but expensive and getting old
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Grand 2 Twins
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Starting to get outdated, The price is too high compared to other hotels in gcc region but they know they can charge it.

    Good location, excellent lobby for business meetings

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    7.1
    fiar
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the rooms don’t have any sounds isolation, so can here all the sounds in the next room and the hallway, my view was construction site

    the beach was amazing the bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely family vacation - warm, friendly & safe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The pool bar menu was a bit limited and the buffet breakfast was v expensive.

    The design of the hotel was excellent with the layout around the pool. The concierge recommended some great, very affordable local restaurants. Recommend taking access to the Club Grand for some lovely evening snacks and drinks.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2018

    6.3
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Decor was dated and double room appeared to be a single room with a double bed. Breakfast was chaotic with no real structure for those serving tables.

    Location was good Pool drinks bar was good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2018

    8.3
    A delightful stay in Muscat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Grand King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beach was beautiful, a shame there were not any loungers and parasols from the hotel on it

    Super comfortable bed. I was lucky enough to have a ground floor room with a little terrace overlooking the beach.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely old-style hotel by the beach (hard to come by in Muscat), would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand 2 Twins
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Service at breakfast was too slow - you would ask for tea and your eggs would be cold by the time it came, the staff seems to have no sense of urgency! Coffee and tea in the hotel were way too expensive (around £7 for a mediocre cappuccino!).

    Large, spacious, clean room with a view of the sea, comfortable beds, nice shower and a separate bath. Staff generally very friendly and helpful. Great gym/sauna/steam room facilities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand 2 Twins
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fantastic dinner & breakfast. Great Lobby area & gym - worth the high cost if you want a night of Arabic glamour done well but if you are spending a groggy jet lagged night somewhere it's probably not worth the high price tag.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    7.1
    The first room was looking to a construction site, then they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The first room was looking to a construction site, then they try to change us to a smoking room when we do not smoke, after complaining for half an hour they upgrade the room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2018

    8.8
    Sunshine getaway, rest and relax, take enough to read or watch or you could get bored...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand King Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    a few flies on hotel grassy area and ants in the promenade before the beach; trips are expensive though interesting. That aside not many places of great interest. Not many places to mooch around in nearby or at all. Eating out expensive apart from good local places. Much of the pool area in shade much of the day.

    attentive helpful concierge reception cleaning and pool staff. location in protected diplomatic area walks on wide beach in front of hotel. reliable weather. Nearby very good reasonable local restaurant or two and walkable supermarket. Omanis very friendly and speak / write English as is the signage. Armed Forces Museum re history of Oman.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2018

    4.2
    I will not be in this hotel anymore
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • View 1 King
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It does not look like a Five start Hotel Bearly, 2 star hotel Restaurant s are poor Facility poor Garden poor Swimming pool poor The only good is as always people People who works to make their living They are quite good So the people are well trained but the facility should not be branded as grand hayatt

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful experience overall. Will go back again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Club King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Grand Club Lounge could do with better afternoon tea & snacks. Very basic.

    Helpful staff, excellent food in the Italian Restaurant and the Roof Grill Restaurant. Very useful and helpful Concierge. Great gym and excellent massage. Grand Club Lounge had wonderful staff taking care of us and the breakfast and evening cocktails, canapes were very good. Grand Club Lounge was OK.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2018

    4.6
    Staying 2 nights at Grand Hyatt for Christmas was not a great experience !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand 2 Twins
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have spent 2 days at Grand Hyatt Muscat for Christmas and have been deceived by my stay at the for the following reasons : (*) The view of our room was on an abandoned field : it was not a nice view (*) On the 24th and 25th, the swimming pool was very dirty, green and not blue. We didn't go to the pool. On the 26th, the swimming pool was closed as you changed the water (maybe this could have been done before Christmas time so that people can enjoy the pool for Christmas) (*) We were not given the information about the Christmas meal for the 25th so we could not book it neither attend. We wish we could have had a Christmas meal at the Hyatt (*) We went to Safari Club to dance a little bit but the club was full of prostitute which did not give a very nice atmosphere for a Christmas party. We expected much better from the hotel when we booked our two nights and would say our experience was not great. For my next time in Mascate, I will definitely look for somewhere else to stay

    The room and the hotel was clean. The food was diverse and of good quality. The hotel hall is very impressive (high roof, statue)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2018

    9.6
    good place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • View 2 Twins
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the restaurants a rather expensive, but there are nice local places to eat in town and a taxi is not expensive

    facilities,service,direct access to the sea and pool area ......everything near fine, if you like this classic hyatt style ......

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2018

    10
    Fabulous fabulous fabulous!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand 2 Twins
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The second bed in the suite was a fold away bed and it was rather uncomfortable to sleep on.

    Breakfast is lovely....great selection although a little pricey. Pool is great and easy access to beach Five restaurants to choose from and different vary of cuisine. Delicious! Upgraded room was a suite and it was lovely as had a birthday! Concierge have list for taxi prices which is great to have that knowledge for planning.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2018

    7.9
    Post Christmas holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club View Twin
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our most disappointing meal was in the Tuscany restaurant where the food and service didnt quite succeed in establishing its credibility as a high quality fine dining experience.

    Fantastic public areas. Good choice of places to eat. Club evening drinks and food good value as part of a package

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2018

    7.5
    Good experience, however the decor is beginning to show it’s age.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Grubby curtains and chairs in room 353. Likewise, mirror in bathroom required repair. You should also advertise the ‘unique’ and cheaper experience of having a taxi driver escort patrons instead of the Big Bus. We were inundated by two tourist buses with the tourists literally taking over the pool area on Monday afternoon. You should clearly display ‘no smoking’ areas close to the paddling pool. For days people were smoking there without challenge, yet my wife was instructed not to smoke there despite there being no toddlers in the pool.

    Friendly staff. Excellent staff taxi driver (Khalfan) Great access to beach

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    4.6
    I will NEVER stay in this hotel again !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are outdated and don't deserve the price I've paid !!!! Quarter of the price I've paid would've been just right for those rooms and my God the view from my balcony was actually facing a dump !!!

    The lobby architecture!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    8.3
    The staff was very professional and helped us with bridging...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff was very professional and helped us with bridging our long wait for our midnight flight by offering special access to the VIP lounge for some hours. What a big surprise this was that we really valued.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    9.6
    Friendly luxury with easy access to the area around
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would have been helpful if you could have kept one of your restaurants - the pool bar maybe - open for hotel guests New Year's Eve for those hotel guests who didn't attend your special event.

    Very comfortable spacious rooms, fun pool, and we enjoyed being able to walk straight on to the atmospheric public beach. Breakfast was an especial treat in a great setting.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    7.9
    Excellent property, family or friends stay recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lack of more room amenities Absence of welcome note and fruits or chocolate on arrival Staff at check-in didn’t explain the hotel facilities Desserts menu and quality below expectations in Tuscany Food in the pool restaurant ( Rocca salad leaves were more like shard leaves), food was delayed and we got 25% discount on the bill) Some of the management staff should be more genuine while talking to clients or discussing with them (like the hotel manager)

    Tuscany restaurant staff and food ( except the lobster risotto) Overall staff were kind and available Availability of the GM during the 31st evening

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    6.3
    Short stay. Not enough time to try the fitness or all of the on -site restaurants .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Club King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel would need a little updating of the pool area. Also the towels on loungers that remain unused should be removed ! All seats looked occupied but were just blocked by unused towels of people playing the “towel-game” and that is very annoying to many guests. Prostitutes in the safari-bar were also irritating. Ringing doorbell at 10 in the morning to check the minibar made sure we were on-time for breakfast :-)

    Lovely room, very welcoming staff, club lounge was splendid with Great food and near-perfect service by splendid people! Breakfast and cocktail hour were both a very enjoyable moment . A big Thanks for this .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2017

    10
    Great hotel, situation and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand 2 Twins
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Nothing

    Staff were so helpful and always polite. lovely balcony overlooking the sea, clean comfortable beds and comfy pillows... very important. Great breakfasts and good situation for visiting old Muscat, the Suq at Mutrah and the Grand Mosque. Direct access to the beach which was great to stroll along in the evening as well as bathing in the sea during the day. Only 20 minutes drive from the airport. Would recommend to other travellers.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2017

    8.8
    Very relaxed, extremely clean, excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • View 2 Twins
    • Stayed 12 nights

    The hotel is a bit of a maze at first, and the pool bar (the only place with Shisha) was at times closed due to weather.

    The Club lounge is very nice and the staff there amazing! :-)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2017

    10
    Over-all excellent!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Grand King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Two shortcomings: (a) The breakfast is excellent but over-priced; (b) one of the hotel restaurants -- the Safari Grill House -- was a disappointment: low quality and very high prices.

    I would give the hotel the score of 10. All hotel facilities, including most restaurants (see below), were excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2017

    6.3
    Disgusting cess pool gender separated jacuzzi, with grime and skin. 1 outlet. Nice staff. Decent foo
    • Solo traveler
    • Grand King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The jacuzzi is tucked away in the gym bathroom, and is too small as well as very dirty with grime to the touch and skin floating in it. I felt like I was going to throw up. Worse than a 1 star. The common area jacuzzi is really for kids. Do NOT take your lover here, it's for your kids. There is only 1 multi outlet so expect to macguyver your power usage.

    Location and staff are mostly good, I liked the fanciness of the common areas

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2017

    7.1
    I liked the bathroom , food and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is a very expensive hotel to stay in in comparison to Dubai or Abu Dhabi, food was lovely but very dear. Could do with updating the bedrooms a little considering the price.

    I liked the bathroom , food and facilities

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    6.7
    nice hotel location and good options for restaurants and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Grand King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi is slow, not a lot of options in mini bar and room, room service very expensive and room had weird smell.

    nice hotel location and good options for restaurants and bars. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2017

    6.3
    The rooms were spacious & comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Massage rooms weren’t good, it directly opens to gym and there is no ambience of tranquility and relaxation. There were no other spa options that you can do with your husband, it is separated and also no closed heated pool or similar that you would expect from a 5 star hotel. My husband had food poisoning most probably from the burger that he ate at the pool restaurant. It was very unlucky to be sick during the holidays. The stuff tried to help as much as possible however hotel deserves a bad rating due to this. Beach wasn’t good and it is not private, it is crowded during weekends. Overall hotel was average.

    The rooms were spacious & comfortable. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2017

    9.6
    You get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club View King
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The entrance to our room smelled of cigarette smoke. I was disappointed that the bath water was luke warm.

    The hotel is luxurious. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. It is all very clean and charming. But then I would not expect anything less for the price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2017

    9.2
    Overall we loved our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Club King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We really enjoyed our experience at the Grand Hyatt Muscat. We selected the Club room and it was well worth it. The spread in the evening allowed us to relax and enjoy snacks after a long day of sightseeing. However, considering the location and the 5-star hotel I would have expected more activities for families/kids. Potentially a game room, a larger playground meant for slightly older kids, activities, etc...Such activities would bring us back again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Little value for money, everything in this hotel feels "dated", breakfast buffet selection very limited

    Location on the beach, large pool, very friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    You did have to get taxi"s to get around .

    The hotel was fantastic . The staff and food were great . Nothing was too much trouble . Loved it . very quiet . The beach and pool were lovely

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    10
    Fantastic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a bank holiday weekend. Reception was always busy and this meant that they didnt pick up the telephone the couple of times I called

    We stayed in a suite. The size was perfect taking into account we travelled with our 15 months old toddler who wanted to run around and discover his new place. We knew the breakfast came included in the price, but to our surprise, when you stay in a suite you also have access to the Club Lounge where they serve afternoon tea and light bites+cocktails in the evening. This was definitely the highlight of our stay, since it meant we could have a light dinner in the hotel just before bed time

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2017

    7.9
    Good location to start / end a trip to Oman at the pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand 2 Twins
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beach part could be used a lot better, as there are no facilities on / off the beach besides a few chairs.

    Nice pool landscape and close to the sea.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2017

    5.8
    It’s an okay place to stay but I am sure there are others with better value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The service wasn’t amazing, the reception was unresponsive unless you went directly to the reception to talk to the staff. The rooms had a specific bad smell.

    The location was good, breakfast was fairly rich in options, pool was fair and the beaches too. We wanted late check out and after long negotiations and due to being sick it was provided.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2017

    9.6
    Short Muscat Holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can't think of anything

    The hotel has a resort like feel in spite of being central. All the good things in Muscat are close by. Ideal if you have just a few days holiday and want to relax

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2017

    5.8
    The hotel didn’t meet our expectation for a 5 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Club King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1. The lift going to our room is too far from the lobby. It’s also confusing, because from the lobby we passed through the long corridor with rooms which starts with 301.. and so on, then at the end, we took the lift going down since our room is in the 1st floor. 2. The breakfast in club lounge is not what we expect from this hotel. We felt like it’s better we didn’t wake up for breakfast. There’s little option for the food.

    The staffs were helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location, beautiful facilities, lovely pool and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Grand 2 Twins
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location, beautiful facilities, lovely pool and hot tub, delicious food, and helpful staff. Celebrated Thanksgiving dinner at the grill restaurant on the roof terrace of the African-themed pub, which was wonderful. Beach access is perfect, and the lobby is lovely for lounging. Large rooms, with wide entry way, and huge bathrooms with separate tub and shower. Amazing resort I will recommend to others!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2017

    10
    A lovely hotel in a lovely country.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand King Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Moka Cafe for dinner is overpriced and lacking in atmosphere for dinner but great for breakfast.

    The property was superb both in position and presentation. The staff were efficient and friendly. You really felt they wanted to look after you. A special mention is deserved for Arif the concierge who sorted out our excursions including one to the desert and one where there was a problem. The Captains Lounge deal is good if you haven’t booked with breakfast inclusive. For a reasonable daily price this provides breakfast, a light dinner, afternoon tea and soft drinks and unlimited drinks in the evening, including alcoholic drinks. Food at the Safari Grill and Marjan Cafe is good value, again with all types of drinks unlimited. If you do not want to drink alcohol Nana’s, a restaurant a short walk down the beach to the right, is half the price and great food. Room and bathroom was large and spacious and beautifully presented.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    8.8
    Lovely experience let down by reception staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Grand King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff at reception were not that helpful and were a little aloof. Which is completely the opposite to staff in all other areas. They did not offer any information on check in. I complained of nighttime noise from the ‘John ...’ bar, up to 2am which disturbed my sleep. They seemed to suggest that somehow that was my problem and that I should have complained on the first night. The noise in fact worsened as the week progressed, They also suggested that it was because it was a weekend! They also said that the room manager would get in touch, but of course no one did. What a pity that the reception desk let’s the whole experience down. Just on a small point, bathroom products were quite basic for a five star hotel.

    The communal areas were impressive. My bedroom was large and cleaned mfortablevas was the bed. Staff at breakfast were excellent and food there very good. The pool bar was very good too. Lovely pool and garden with a gorgeous beach just beside it. There was a lovely Omani ambiance throughout.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2017

    6.3
    Overpriced hotel, merely 4 star rating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This hotel is overpriced. It's completely kitch, the beach is quite disappointing, empty drinks at the pool were not collected by the staff, staff's level of English is poor, bath supplies are only refilled after specific request. There are many alternatives in Muscat for decent 5 star hotels. The Hyatt Regency in Muscat is merely a 4 star hotel.

    There are a few nice restaurants in the hotel and it has a fine bar.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2017

    10
    Perfection
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absolutely marvellous experience, loved every second of it! Got an upgrade to a suite which was just dreamy, staff very attentive and facilities very well maintained.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    7.1
    Good hotel to stay to enjoy Muscat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • View 1 King
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is not included in the hotel room. The bed could be better (we can feel the bend in the mattress). The room service staffs keep on ringing our bell to check on the mini bar (happened 3 times when we were there). When we asked if they can come back later, they said no and waited in front of the door (even though i told him to come back later as my husband was taking a shower). I guess you know that you have to put the privacy notice on the door even ever you are in the room, to not be disturbed. The toiletries were limited and did not get replaced when they are finished.

    The room was nice and big. The reception staffs were helpful. We asked for a late check-out and they gave us until 1 pm. They were nice to let us use the facilities until we had to go to the airport in the evening. There are some local restaurants around which gave us option not dine in the hotel. The

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2017

    10
    Great location and the beach is wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location and the beach is wonderful. Staff are very helpful and friendly. The locals are also very friendly and helpful. The swimming pool was very clean and the pool bar was great for refreshments.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2017

    3.8
    beautiful things with poor staffs hand
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Club Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    very lazy staff they don't want listen about guest problem only they want talk about them nobody have feeling what guest exactly wants why they are request with them everybody know their rights even requesting with staff but their attitude not polite

    location is good and the have few good rooms but looking like some decent property with poor very lazy staff well interior well furnished and many

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant but overpriced. I won’t be returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Grand King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast should be included in the room rate. The hotel is overpriced and having to pay an extremely overpriced breakfast was disappointing. The room decor is outdated.

    Bed was very comfortable. Service at breakfast was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    7.9
    Money not worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Twin
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cheating

    I have complaint about booking.com not clear that's breakfast buffet not included only one dish break fast including over our booking which cost us approximately 65000pkr per night it's not fair I complaint at reception but they said why u booking our hotel on booking.com go on our hotel web side always this happens on booking.com I feel may be I done a big mistake............??????????

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grand Hyatt Muscat Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: