Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of InterContinental Muscat This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

P.O.Box 398, Al Kharjiya Street, Al Shati area, 113 Muscat, Oman

#27 of 85 hotels in Muscat

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1182 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    5.8
    I am not satisfied comparing with what i have paid.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Outdated room, dirty carpet with stains,tabel lamp was broker (cant fixed), there is no private peach for the hotel,because of noise i requested them if possiple to change my room without any extra charges BUT when checked out ,isurprised with additional 15 Riyal per night

    Breakfast was fantastic ,excellent swimming pool, and very good staff.,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    7.9
    Lovely staff, all the amenities you need, good restaurants...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s a little dated but would have been the best for it’s time, had a great stay

    Lovely staff, all the amenities you need, good restaurants and bars, fun pool area that’s a bit dated but still wonderful and very comfortable. Being right on the beach is great. The Tr.eat cafe does fabulous coffee and croissants

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    8.8
    1. Friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1. Shower not convenient- hand shower preferred 2. Not much options in breakfast for vegetarians (Indian subcontinent) 3. Curtains and mats very dusty - need cleaning

    1. Friendly and helpful staff 2. Great hotel interiors including lifts, seating and piano 3. Good lawns and swimming pools

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel, but slightly dated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms are a little dated and in need of a refurbishing, particularly the bathrooms.

    Very clean, comfortable, and excellent service from all the staff. Proximity to facilities in Muscat and the beach is great. Excellent bar in the hotel lobby and another great bar just outside. No private beach access however there is a gate to the public Qurum beach from the pool area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    7.1
    I don’t recommend this hotel for family in summer only for single
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking location is bad no shadw area available All covered parking were reserved My family suffered in sun to reach the car Moreover hotel add 17% extra charge they said this taxi fees although Booking.com didn’t mention that.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    10
    Had a blast. will recommend this property to anybody and everybody for their next stay at Muscat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was excellent at this awesome property. We really enjoyed our stay and the service was outstanding. Particularly at the Club Lounge on the 4th floor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    7.9
    POOL AREA VERY NICE.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    ABSOLUTELY MY CHEK-IN...THEY WANTED ME TO STAY IN ROOM 530 WHICH WAS OVERLOOKING ACONSTRUCTION SITE WITH ALL THE NOISE THAT GOES ALONG WITH THIS. HAVE COMPLAINED (COST OF ROOM 230 EURO PER NIGHT) AND THEY TOLD MER HOTEL FULLY BOOKED (NOT TRUE). AFTER COMPLAINING AGAIN A ROOM WAS GIVEN TO ME ON EXECUTIVE FLOOR WITHOUT ACCES TO THE LOUNGE. IT SEEMED AS IF THEY WERE DOING ME A FAVOUR. I DO NOT UNDERSTAND HOW AN INTERCONTINENTAL CAN SELL ROOMS AT THESE PRICES OVERLOOKING A CONSTRUCTION SITE. THEY SHOULD BE ASHAMED OF THEMSELVES. THERE IS REALLY NO MORE CLASS IN TESE EXPENSIVE AND HIGHL NAMED HOTELS.PITY.....THIS WAS MY FIRST HOTEL I BOOKED WAY BACK IN 1980....GOOD MEMORIES BEFORE....NOT NOW....

    POOL AREA VERY NICE....BEACH AREA VERY BAD. NEED TO GO OUT WITH THE KEY AND RE-ENTER WITH KEY.....BEACH NOTHING SPECIAL COMPARED TO OTHER HOTELS IN MUSCAT

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant golf nearby also brilliant. People are so friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Booking through booking.com try and book Club as club included the club lounge which includes drinks and food. So look for club and ensure you get the best deal. I recommend the Pizza in the restaurant outside.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Club King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be nice if iced coffee was offered in the club lounge- that is the only improvement I can think of!

    Staff were fantastic and kindly upgraded me from a Club room to a suite - a lovely unexpected surprised! Pool is large and well maintained. Club room benefits were great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    7.5
    Excellent choice of breakfast, the magiority of the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The balcony was never cleaned and was covered in bird droppings as pigeons nested on it. Evening buffet was disorganised and senior staff seemed to have problems coping with questions and requests

    Excellent choice of breakfast, the magiority of the staff where very friendly, professional and helpful. The Italian restaurant is excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    7.1
    Disappointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are old and outdated. There was a round stain on our carpet and the lampshade was cracked and faded. The curtains were also dirty. The bathroom wall was dirty and stained. There is a difference between old(acceptable) and dirty. Breakfast was also disappointing as the pork products were limited to viennas and bland bacon. Previously they had two types of pork sausage and bacon hams etc.

    The staff is excellent and goes out of their way to help you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    6.3
    ok but not the best hotel in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked our bedroom in advance so we thought that it would be available for us on arrival. When we checked in at 10 a.m. we were told that we could not have our bedroom before 3 p.m.. After a 7 hour night flight you don't want to wait for your room for another 5 hours. The receptionist offered a solution that was to pay an additional OMR 40 per night and we could have a room immediately. We were so tired that we accepted but we will not come to the Intercontinal again. We have never had this problem with the other hotels....

    The stall is nice and the facilities are good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    10
    Beautiful old style Atrium interior, both a leisure pool and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful old style Atrium interior, both a leisure pool and a lap pool, a wonderful garden with playground for children and a door out to the public beach which provides a glimpse of local people having fun, lots of children.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    9.2
    excellent location and treatment
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bathroom in the room is very old. should be revamped

    Intercontinental is in a great location. staff is super friendly, breakfast is very good and the hotel is nice overall. I would only revamp the bathroom, which is not mirroring the standard of the hotel. the experience overall was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    9.6
    wonderful stay...great hospitality. thanks everyone!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    One manager / leader in the Japanese restaurant who was happy to berate a member of staff in front of customers after a waitress had a small accident in dropping a glass....An accident..not the end fo the world!

    Service from the staff was exemplary. The team running the club lounge and facilities were exceptional...special mention to Helina and Joan who really went out of their way to make us welcomed. Also especial mention to concierge team for their great efforts and guidance especially the Indian guy from Bangalore..BRILLIANT. Also I would like to say that the Indian waiter ( young guy think from Goa, but cannot remember his name) who served us in the Japanese restaurant.. he was extremely good!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    7.5
    Good family break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Tax was added to the bill after paying. It would be nice to know the full price when booking and for hotel staff to alert you to this.

    Easy access to the pools, the beach and nearby shops.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    8.8
    Really nice staff, nice swimming pool (if you want some...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lots of noise in the bedroom because of the construction site nearby Restaurants are a bit pricey (especially after all the taxes added to the price displayed)

    Really nice staff, nice swimming pool (if you want some quiet time, prefer the 25m swimming pool), huge breakfast buffet, all in all very pleasant to spend some time at the hotel after a hot day visiting Muscat

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    4.2
    the Size of the room was correct, confortable.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Old furnitures, the drawers difficult to open and also the cupboard. Everything needs to be renewed and redecorate. At the pool, some people spiting in the edge of the pool. Nobody says anything. Disgusting.

    the Size of the room was correct, confortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    7.1
    More eye for detail is required!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The small details that the staff should have... it was my birthday and no one knew... WiFi was troublesome throughout the stay... the Japanese restaurant looks really nice but since we are regular sushi eaters we understood that it wasn’t fresh... plus no value for money.

    The fact that the hotel had the beach access and was night in front of the beach and other eateries. The man in the travel desk (I believe the travel desk manager) was helpful and so was the male receptionist wearing the traditional dress upon check in... he really made an effort that our check in smooth.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    10
    Very comfortable bed and gorgeous breakfast served until...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The smell of rotten fish from the beach was very strong, but this had nothing to do with the structure.

    Very comfortable bed and gorgeous breakfast served until 11:00 am. Very good location, mid-way between the souk/corniche/harbour and the international airport. Very kind and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    9.2
    The club, the way everything is appeared to me was big...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The club, the way everything is appeared to me was big surprise . You need not to go anywhere else for family outings , nice Restaurent’s , comfortable room and play area for children’s are wonderful. Equipped with 4 pools is another thing which make your stay more leisure and nice to relax.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    7.5
    Lovely stay -top beachfront location, super breakfast, amazing staff, great pools and fitness area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Green carpet at the poolside should be removed, not really good-looking in 5* hotel Parking crowded on weekends Insufficient shaded areas in the parking lot

    The pool options are great -swimming pool, leisure pool and whirlpools in the sauna area The spa is amazing, you can use it even after check-out for several hours Restaurants excellent Breakfast opulent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast and pools
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facilities in the pool area (changing rooms and WCs were very-very-very dirty) "Very big bed", stated by the description, revealed to be an ordinary bed. No kids beds. Was very inconvenient to sleep.

    Breakfast and pools

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    8.3
    Spectacular View!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    TV is old, hazy and scrambled channels, limited and not organized.

    The best location within walking distance of Royal Opera. Best staff ever, I feel like I am with my family in my great grandfather house. Thanks for the very warm welcome at the door from Aziz then Mesallam then Adel. Valet parking is very efficient. My friend Vinit, thank you very much for the extra mile you went for me. Thanks to Suhail for quick and pleasant check out. Huge tremendous gratitude to Mohammad from room service who bring me ice bucket every midnight so quickly, I cannot thank you enough. Gentleman at the door who made me left with smile, uncle Habib, Mohammed, Jamil, and the guy who carried my bag, I did not get your name. I had spectacular view, I loved bathroom amenities quality and how foamy they are.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    10
    Perfect hotel. I will definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bar downstairs was a bit loud since we were right above it.

    The breakfast buffet was incredible with lots of options from slow cooked oats to sushi. The location is also ideal. It's right next to several other restaurants, sheesha cafes, and the beach.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    9.6
    A very good hotel, but not cheap!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I don't think there was any cheese at breakfast! The service in Tomato was really slow. So sad that some of the lovely established garden has been lost as a result of the construction work going on next door. I don't like music in public spaces or restaurants. It would have been useful to see the different menus outside each of the very different restaurants.

    The bed was extremely comfortable. The ATM was a big plus - not sure if your website says you have one. The concierge and all the staff in the lobby were excellent. A very distinguished building and location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    6.3
    Location and staff services
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room smells Bathroom not working well Old property No chairs and small table in the balcony Breakfast so poor No instruction signs of the hotel activities The price rate so high according this service

    Location and staff services

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2018

    4.6
    Very disappointed. I will evaluate other hotels in Muscat for my next visit.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows were too soft and offered no support. The room smelled of mold and mildew. The bathroom shower had mold all over the walls and the bathroom floor had evidence of spills that had not been cleaned. The room and the breakfast were very much overpriced!

    The variety of the breakfast items was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    10
    Exceptional service from check in, waiters during breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Club King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Exceptional service from check in, waiters during breakfast to check out. I did upgrade to club status, great value as i was able to snack all day on healthy options, along with afternoon tea and cocktails in the evening. Each of these came with complimentary decadent food options. Enough to suffice me through dinner.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    7.9
    Very helpful stand and good amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On Booking.com it was advertised that the hotel would take payment on arrival and that the card given would only be used to reserve the room. However, they took payment before I arrived. I had actually wanted to use another card to pay. The stated policy on Booking.com doesn't the hotel's policy.

    Very helpful stand and good amenities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    9.2
    Great family friendly hotel with fantastic staff,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise from functions in the gardens on two days of our stay. Bathrooms could do with a slight updating. The unsafe balcony

    Club room well worth it’s while, very friendly staff whom knew your name every time greeted. All staff extremely helpful, thanks to Diego in Tomato restaurant assisting us with organizing a group table/evening, last minute but all went well. Late checkout for club room Fantastic selection at breakfast. Water cool boxes at pool

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    6.3
    This hotel was certainly nice 20 years ago
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms should be refurbished, a better information on all facilities should be available in the room ( spa prices as a good example) As the hotel provides 2 pools, why not having a pool for adults only ?

    Excellent restaurants ( dinner, breakfast ..) , nice swimming pool

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2018

    8.8
    Great start to exploring Muscat
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The construction next door was super noisy and you can hear it with through the walls even when the windows are closed.

    The architecture was nice, spacious and open.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    7.1
    The Bedroom was poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Bedroom was poor. The balcony was dirty; the bathroom sink was leaking and we had to call an electrician to enable us to charge phones and use the hair dryer.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    3.8
    The hotel was clean and the staff was attentive.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got two rooms facing the construction site and the noise was unbearable during the day. During the night the works ceased but an electric generator running 24 h made impossible to sleep. We then requested a room change. My colleague was OK but I was put in a smaller room with a noisy recirculating fan that I could not manage to turn off. It was midnight and didn't want to complain again and move for the second time. The guest parking is 300 m away, which is an issue in case of rain or hot weather. This is not what you expect from such an expensive 5 star hotel.

    The hotel was clean and the staff was attentive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2018

    7.9
    Great location, comfortable hotel, spoilt somewhat by the booming disco noise each night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Arrived late due to delayed flight and all restuarants closed at 10.30 except neighbouring Trader Vics which was totally packed out and blaringly noisy. Most female clientele were scantily clad but my husband was refused entry in below-the-knee shorts - unreasonable! Loud noise in room from on-site disco.

    room was clean and comfortable, hotel interior is well designed and spacious, lifts very efficient, breakfast very good and terrace area very nice. Access to beach walks much appreciated.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    6.7
    Decent hotel, but not worth the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mountain view consisted of construction view and noise. I suggest not purchasing mountain view till construction next door is complete. Hotel is still in the phase of adding new options to the hotel so that is a plus, but overall the Hotel needs to do some renovations. For instance, the third floor hallway happened to have a "hole" underneath the carpet that either myself or my husband constantly stepped on. In addition to the hallway, the rooms itself could use some updating. The style of the room is a bit outdated and could use some updating, but the bathroom was what I found to needing some work in order to truly fit in with the clientele this chain is trying to cater to. Especially with the faucets constantly leaking no matter how much we tried to turn the knobs.

    The staff were friendly, and the bed was extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    7.1
    Certainly some imperfections but the staff, without fail, tried to make things right.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wrong room given on check-in which was frustrating late at night after a long drive from Dubai. The buffet was inadequately replenished and some items not available as advertised. Parking no longer as convenient as before.

    The room was comfortable, especially the bed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2018

    4.2
    Unfortunately very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel product is outdated at best. Having an old product should automatically lead to attention to detail and caring about the product. Unfortunately this is not the case. Bathroom appliances could be changed at reasonable cost, a brown bath mat would not be in the room if the management would care about the hotel. The balcony was full of marks left by pigeons. This careless attitude can be seen in all parts of the property and the friendly employees can not cover the mistakes made by top management. At check in (16.30) I had questions for the concierge but was told that he is on a break and would only restart work a 19.00. Sorry to say, but this is not five star service. The restaurants are quite nice and food and services was of good quality. In the English Pub professional ladies where a problem. I do understand that they work in most five star hotels, but it should be normal that they are not aggressively approaching guests. This could also be organized by management and taken care of by security. After addressing this the reaction by the staff was almost nonexistent. At the end all this led to a rather frustrating experience in a beautiful country.

    Breakfast service was very attentive, quality of food good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2018

    6.3
    Facilities and location was fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleanliness. I like the old-world charm, but it must still be kept up-to-date and clean. For e.g. I had mold growing in the coffee machine in my room.

    Facilities and location was fantastic

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2018

    6.3
    An OK property but way overpriced
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Way overpriced for a hotel that is surrounded by construction and obviously very dated property

    Nice property but surrounding construction a challenge to ensure a good stay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    6.7
    Maybe better after the full refurbishment is complete
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are now quite outdated but nothing in comparison to the bathrooms that definitively need an urgent refurbishment. I dislike not to be able to stand right when I am having a shower... Most of the restaurant were shut down for renovation as well as the lap pool. The price of the breakfast was outrageous compared to the offer in the neighborhood.

    The location is fantastic next to small malls and plenty of trendy places to hang out and have breakfast, lunch or dinner. The pool is spacious and the access to the beach is quite convenient

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2018

    7.5
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    View was a sea view, but mostly saw construction. Breakfast was tasteless and definitely not worth getting up for.

    The Tikki bar was lovely and food at Trader Vics was lovely. Staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    3.3
    very bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    very bad room service, breakfast is overrated, when we did the booking as newly wedded we weren promised a free dinner or breakfast but everytime we ask for it they tell us we have to pay. the hotel is old design and the toilets are not suitable for arabic families

    the stuff at the gate were very welcoming and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2018

    7.1
    The hotel is in a great location in Muscat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was very dated and small, we had a leaky shower throughout our stay. There was also a smell of smoke/cooking that would come through the AC vents during the night. All of our clothes smelled of smoke/cooking by the end of the trip and the odor was quite unpleasant.

    The hotel is in a great location in Muscat. Overall the staff very friendly and helpful. The pool and beach facilities were nice, and there were a number of restaurants to choose from in walking distance from the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    7.1
    breakfast was great, the grounds are lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    not much to do within walking distance of hotel. bathroom in standard room has no ventilation/window and bath seemed like it was going to fall apart when you stand in it.

    breakfast was great, the grounds are lovely.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel but disappointed by service and amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was disappointed by the service. We asked for a baby cot which was provided, but no blanket. When we asked for a blanket, they said they didn't have and brought a sheet. But when I left our room the next day, I saw a cot outside with a blanket and pillow (which we hadn't been provided either) so it was obviously possible. Also disappointed by the service at the Tomato restaurant - we went on the first night and neither meal choice I wanted was available, nor was a high chair as the one available was already in use. You'd think that at a large hotel there would be plenty available, even if they needed to get from another restaurant. The pool was under renovation during our stay which is understandable as it happens, although you'd think they wouldn't do during high season. This meant the kids pool was also unavailable. It was hard to get food and drink at the pool as there didn't appear to be much staff around.

    The location was easy to get to and parking was free and convenient. There were several different food options on site which made it easy to eat on site without leaving. You've got direct beach access (albeit not the best beach). The staff was friendly and very helpful with our kid as well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2018

    2.5
    Muscat nightmare
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Paid a high 5 star rate and expected it to be matched with service. It was the most disappointing stay of my career. Why? Because i expected more. Rooms shabby, building site next door- noise all night. The building is dated. The bar had some interesting ladies, which surprised me. Never would i darken their door again

    Appalling

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2018

    8.8
    Very friendly and assisting staff, great coffee shop in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There's not enough pool-waiters. From trying to get the attention of one, until actually being served, may take anywhere between 30 to 45 minutes. One time: OK, can happen. Several days in a row though: room for improvement!!!

    Very friendly and assisting staff, great coffee shop in the lobby and very nice dining in Trader Vic's.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2018

    4.2
    Nice location, hotel very old, overpriced and not value for money left feeling ripped off!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is old and doesn't warrant trading as an Intercontinental Hotel we've had much better experiences in Holiday Inns and I've used them in 4 different countries this year! The hotel staff lacked knowledge whether it was an update of an ongoing maintenance issue in our room or booking tours they were very unhelpful and unable to answer simple questions. Noisey pigeons on the veranda which doesn't stop Day or night.

    The location to the Corniche & surrounding cafes was great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    9.2
    A great place to relax and unwind. The staff were great, and so attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room and some facilities were a bit dated. The tub didn’t have a plug, no chairs to sit on the balcony with, scale provided (but it was broken), some pools were closed for maintanace- but we were not told beforehand, the added features of the club lounge were not explained to us at all, and so we did not use them for the first few days of our stay.

    The added bonuses of the club class rooms were great!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    7.1
    Staff were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room furniture is old. The value of money is high

    Staff were very friendly. Location is great next to the beach and restaurants. Breakfast was good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2017

    9.6
    Would definitely recommend to friends and would like to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel closed one of the pools for renovation at the busiest time of the year!

    The staff at the hotel were amazing, their friendliness and professionalism were the high point of our stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2017

    6.7
    Can't give it more than 3.5 stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was very crowded, staff was very busy, we waited a long time at the reception as they couldn't find our booking, again we waited a long time for some one to come for our luggage who never came so we took it ourselves to the room. We were initially given a horrible dirty room which was changed after several trips to the lobby. Our friends had room on another floor and we couldn't meet them as the elevator stops only at the floor ur room is on ( until our room was changed)

    The size of the outdoor, the pools, facilities for children and the close proximity of the beach

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2017

    7.9
    The breakfast was very good with plenty to choose from.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although the hotels is set in lovely gardens and overlooks the sea, the view from my room was of a building site. The Balcony was also covered in bird droppings.

    The breakfast was very good with plenty to choose from. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2017

    9.6
    All the staff are very accomodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All the staff are very accomodating. They even enroll me in IHG membership. I’m not sure if they always do that. But overall, superb! We had a great stay. ☺️

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2017

    7.9
    Convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel needs renovation. Outdated and old.

    Mr. Tayib from reception was helpful and courteous. Other staff members from reception weren't professional enough. Pool is nice but old.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2017

    10
    Old world class
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were second to none. The customer service was great. We had a lovely sea view suite which we were upgraded to, and as club members enjoyed treats like afternoon tea and sundowners. All in all a lovely experience.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    8.3
    Good location needing better staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check in/out. Surprised me with an additional 10 riyals per day for an additional bed that we never had. Then had to go through a lecture on why I should have checked earlier. My point is that why should I be charged for something that was never given! Another one is the 45 min wait for my luggage to be brought down from the room. Not to mention the check-in...allotted a room and am told we will enjoy the views. And there I am looking forward to a room with a view. did get a view, but of a construction site! Front desk might as well been quiet instead of raising expectations.

    Location is perfect. Rooms are comfortable. Pool area is very nice for family. Loved the breakfast and staff is friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    5.8
    Hotel needs serious upgrade (management and technolog)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Aging hotel, old facility. Smoke in non smoking room coming through ventallation. Shower temperature fluctuates on its own. Valet attendant unorganized.

    Location,, food and politeness of staff..

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2017

    3.8
    Poor value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Travelled to compete in a half-marathon; specified to concierge (three times - in booking, on arrival, and again 20 minutes prior to intended departure) I required a taxi at a specific time - a 30 minute wait resulted in missing the race I'd travelled from another country for. Woken up with a wrong call from reception at 2am regarding an airport pickup for another guest. Hotel generally is very tired and in need of makeover. Concierge is unprofessional. Poor value.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2017

    4.6
    Bad hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very old bathroom , Old building needs an urgent renovation work, parking is far away from the hotel’s entrance and not protected from the sun. It should not be a 5 star hotel 1 star is enough for this hotel

    Only the location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2017

    5.0
    The staff were great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Honestly it’s not really a luxury hotel, there are better priced options that I would recommend over this. The place itself was a bit dated and the beach isn’t private and really crowded so not something that’s an attraction. There is a construction site next door. My bathroom was a complete disaster as the shower was broken!!!

    The staff were great. I went to check in early and they kindly accommodated my request.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2017

    9.6
    Great Hotel that needs a few minor improvments
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom needs an overhaul, it shows its age - the bar downstairs looked terrible and smelled really bad, my fiancee didn't feel comfortable so we didn't even patron there (did not effect my overall rating of the hotel) - the public beach was not great.

    The Bed was really comfy - the hotel is quiet and hassle free - the staff were courteous and helpful - the sea view room was spectacular - trader vics as a wine and dine at the hotel was a great addition - the Valet handled all the parking - nearby qurum food mall and restaurants are amazing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2017

    8.8
    Very nice hotel in a great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Have nothing to complain about.

    Old is Gold. It's an old hotel but very well maintained and has it's own identity that reflects the local culture. It's 5 stars and you can feel it. Location is a 5 minutes walk from restaurants and coffee shops on the beach.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2017

    9.2
    Best location in Muscat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are not 5 star level, bathroom facilities need to be renewed, not pleasent view for the ones with mountain view.

    Very good location, the only one that allows you to visit a part of the city, hang out at night and go to the beach all at walking distance. Best Muscat restaurants and bars inside and outside.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2017

    8.3
    Stunning lobby. Very helpful staff. Pigeons should be shot.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pigeons seemed to want to congregate on my balcony. The view from the balcony was pretty poor and the hotel was undergoing some renovations so it was a bit noisy.

    The lobby of the hotel itself is absolutely stunning. It has an awesome layout. The rooms are also sufficiently comfortable. I also got a good price for the room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2017

    9.2
    very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    main restaurants almost entirely lacking in vegan options and unwilling to accommodate

    beds were excellent, pools very nice, outside restaurant Tomato very good and very accommodating to vegan diet, service excellent, enjoyed breakfast with the crows

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2017

    7.5
    The location is close to the beach and restaurants and malls...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Valet parking not always available, Food is good but below my expectation.

    The location is close to the beach and restaurants and malls around the area , max 20 minutes

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2017

    9.2
    Great last night stay in Oman before departure, lovely swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Construction site outside (but obviously not the hotel's fault!)

    Very good hotel in a great location near the Opera House and a busy nightlife spot on Qurum beach

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2017

    7.5
    Location and accessibility from the airport are good,
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bathroom!!!! Old and battered bath, very dirty gaps between the tiles and dirty corners. It does not correspond with five-stars hotel. Max. three stars.

    Location and accessibility from the airport are good, the hotel's area is very great including a very rich breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    5.4
    Not what I expected based on previous experiences in other Intercontinental Hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel is old and outdated, in need of serious refurbishment especially fittings and room furnitures. Some rooms are noisy and not insulated. Air conditioning not working properly. There is a huge construction site nearby.

    Location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2017

    5.4
    The Hotel is well located and has a beautiful beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms were smelly (cigarette & moist) which is unacceptable for this kind of hotel. The receptionist at check in was unwelcoming and did not satisfy any of the requests and did not even listen. Hopefully the personnel at checkout was much more friendly.

    The Hotel is well located and has a beautiful beach. Breakfast was great and the outside pool and service is very pleasant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2017

    5.4
    Rooms were ok, small pool, and expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel was dated, had a weird odor in our room, and overpriced. The buffet was disappointing with how expensive it was. They didn't clean tables so people could sit outside. They kept running out of juice, and you had to ask for things (like forks, napkins, and coffee) more than one time. The rooms were ok but old. The bathrooms could use an update, at least with the grout in the tiles, it was moldy, and the trim was cracked and needed a coat of paint. Although the rooms had mold and a weird smell, they did seem clean. The cleaning staff was also very friendly.

    The staff was the best part of the stay. James, the pool guy was very friendly and always had a smile on his face. The egg station guy also had a friendly smile and remembered me when I ordered my omelet. These two guys made our stay!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2017

    5.4
    Overpriced for what you get but good location near opera house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tired decor, shabby carpet in bedrooms, disinterested staff, waitress in Tomato beach restaurant got the order wrong a few times. Unimpressive service.

    Very comfortable bed, large room. Woken up at dawn by the mosque, very loud. Unable to go back to sleep. Tea and coffee making facilities good. Bathrobe and slippers, iron and ironing board always handy to have.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse InterContinental Muscat Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: