Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Majan Continental Hotel 4 stars

P.O. Box 311, 113 Muscat, Oman

#50 of 85 hotels in Muscat

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 160 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel was not the best for tourists on foot. Food, while excellent, was not always hot enough, this included the plates often on the cool side. A hot plate helps keep the food warm.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Bed very comfortable. Restaurant was clean with a great selection of food. Swimming pool good. The taxi we used was there promptly and the driver was very helpful and again very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booked two nights here as it offered an al a carte menu and also had a bar and we were at the end of a two week adventure in Oman so looking for something nice to end the holiday. When we arrived we were offered NO information on facilities, not shown to our room, it was a very cold welcome at best. We had to ask for our bags to be taken to our room as opposed to it being offered. The bar is round the corner from the hotel and is extremely uninviting. The “designated smoking area” is an ashtray outside the main doors, no seating or shade. The restaurant offers an al a carte menu which we tried on the second night. Our starters of seafood salad and a Greek salad were brought to us in bowls and we were given hot plates to eat it from. Why would you eat salad (a cold dish) from a hot plate ? In comparison our main meals which were both hot were served on cold plates !! My wife had the lobster which was so overdone and badly cooked it was hardly edible. It was smothered in overpowering garlic and lemon which completely took over and you could not taste the lobster. It was hard, overlooked and served on a cold plate. I had the mixed seafood which was also over cooked and served on a cold plate. The waiter brought my main meal out whilst he was still eating his starter. Usually you finish your starter before having your main course. My wife's main meal was brought out ten minutes after mine so we did not eat together. The sides with the meal were not something one would choose to have with seafood, boiled carrots, cauliflower and broccoli. Overall I would never recommend this hotel, from the lack of a friendly warm welcome to the appalling service in the restaurant and the really awful food. Such a disappointment. A very bad end to our holiday

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is quite average and the location is more for ease of access to the airport. The hotel is very close to the Grand Mosque but most of the things to do and see in Muscat that interested me, as well as more of the restaurants, are towards Mutrah and therefore a 10 OMR (at least) taxi away.

    Quite a dated hotel but in traditional Omani style and very pleasant - staff are friendly and rooms are clean. The health club (pool / steam room / gym) is spacious and good. The hotel is very easy to get to from the airport (10 mins taxi) and is close to the Grand Mosque which is a main tourist attraction in the City.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unprofessional reception. If you want to arrange your taxi from this hotel, you will definetely pay 2 times more than regular price. The elevator in the hotel was without air conditioner.

    Outdoor design

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Many things, sadly. Terrible check-in service - very slow and they forgot to give me back my ID card (got it later). Awful room allocation - I asked for a quiet room on a high floor and was given a ground floor room with at least 10 air conditioners outside. When I asked to be given another room, they gave me another room on the ground floor with even MORE air conditioners facing my room. Wish I had taken pictures to upload here as I could not believe it. Finally, third time lucky, I got a decent room on the 2nd floor (it's a low rise building) with no air conditioners. Staff - with the exception of the restaurant staff the rest were glum and extremely slow. Not a good first impression. Nobody offered to help with my bag, they preferred standing around chatting.

    Breakfast - I arrived late but the staff at the restaurant made me feel very welcome and asked me what I would like and it was served quickly and with a smile. Bonus point for suggesting the cheese omlette; it was small but yummy. The orange juice was fresh and toast simply perfect.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    promised at homepage to have executive lounge. only reason to book executive room at higher rate and found out that no executive lounge was available.

    Good location, Clean and tidy.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I received no reply when I requested information by email about the airport shuttle. I also found the reception staff were not friendly - but helpful enough.

    The buffet for the evening meal is very good with a different selection to choose from every day.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms had bad smell at all time. Smell of food and sewage togother. There is no water pressure in bathroom. Water couldn't push to the shower. The room carpet is dirty and worn out .

    The pillows only

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds were hard. Executive room but no kettle or coffee/tea. Carpet in corridors and bedroom not the cleanest.

    Booked this hotel as large group were using it as a base. Nice pool area. Decent buffet breakfast but they struggled to top up the food when large crowds were in the room Location perfect for the purpose of our trip

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Very nice arabic atmosphere. Maybe it's not the newest hotel in Muscat but it's definitely nice, clean, comfortable and with everything you may need. We had only a stopover in Oman of 18 hours and wanted to see the Grand Mosque and this hotel was perfect. Close to the airport (10-15 min by taxi) and close to the Mosque (10-15 min walking, very safe). If you plan to only see the mosque like we did, this is the best choice! The pool is very nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet in rooms and corridors

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    clean room & spacious. excellent room service. free shuttle to airport....very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very near to the Royal hospital

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The corridors are too long. Some rooms are at extreme end of the hotel so becomes quite a long walk.

    The ambiance and service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sauna is dedicated to men only

    Good value for money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    very good location wise....value for money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets in corridors and rooms

    Convenient located

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hi to every one. I have have been living there for 16 days! Staffs are great,Location is good,Breakfast and food is moderate and Wifi is awful!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    New rooms are amazing large.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many insects were found in the room especially in the bed

    Location was near to the airport

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was an advert for BIRYANI PROMOTION which was not available at the restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel, really good food, very comfortable beds and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception wasn't in formal way

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice pool but it’s not heated water.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the restaurant was not too good, staff not profissional enough, not easy to find a taxi around it...

    the location was good for me

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    More options and choices on the room service menu.

    The room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was charge twice for hotel payment!!

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checked me in to a room where someone was already checked in. Open the door the find another guest already present.307

    Beef sausages

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    rude staff esp those who are in the pool area

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    little old and run down

    the staff were excellant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and facility AC poor

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    SMELLING ROOM EVEN AFTER TAKING A NON SMOKNG ROOM.ROOM SIZE VERY SMALL.VERY MEDIOCRE BREAKFAST.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel pool used for children's swimming lessons while guests were around.

    Free airport shuttle.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was execellent. too bad i didn't have enough time to enjoy all the facilities

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was very old and humid smelly corridors and rooms poor quality

    nothing very bad experience

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and peace and quiet

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    some rooms are very far away to reception

    rooms clean, staff friently

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Pretty much everything

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good breakfast Average rooms Nice swimming pool

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Value for money and friendly/caring staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good location and very clean rooms with comfortable bed at an affordable price

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the lounge is closed

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I found a bed bug from the room I stayed. Its seems that is due to lack of hygiene.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rope dividing pool in half!

    Nice gym and OK pool. Food is very average. Rooms are small and not too comfy. Overall, it is not worth the money. Gym is quite good and pool could be great sans rope dividing pool in half.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location - you need to take taxis everywhere or hire a car, which is expensive. Get the hotel to book you a taxi and confirm price at time of booking Hotel is used by Government Education department and at the time of our stay was full of teenagers who literally took over the pool area. We spoke to the manager who apologised and understood our concerns; we were offered a free dinner. Not really a hotel if you are on holiday, more of a business venue; we spent our time out sightseeing and when we wanted to sunbathe we went to the Crown Plaza Hotel and paid 20 rials per day

    Cleanliness of hotel was very good, staff were friendly, helpful and professional

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing.

    Location is excellent for the Sports Complex. Appreciated the transfers to airport. Dinner buffet is reasonably priced. Staff very helpful over late check out.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The A/C was dripping all the first night and after being fixed the next morning, the unit then made loud noises throughout the 2nd night.

    Location was excellent and facilities were of a good standard

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location right behind the Great Mosque is very convenient and easy to approach by car.The rooms to the pool area are comfortable and quiet. Breakfast and dinner buffet where a good choice. Adjustable check-out time.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The cleaners were the only ones who were genuinely friendly. The beds were uncomfortable, the shower was terrible (no pressure and not hot), the breakfast was very poor and the pool was being cleaned in the morning which is a time that guests love to swim!

    The location is easy

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    They should put more sachets of coffee and sugar for the complementary coffee in the room. Complimentary water bottle was reduced to 1 the next day.

    Cleanliness of the room.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very old hotel with smelly carpets. Small size rooms for executive package. Not worth for the money. Cheap furnishings. 3 executive rooms for family which were booked a month ago were organized in 2 different floor and were reorganized in the same floor after insistence, but apart.

    Location was easy to access

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1. Rooms are small, bathrooms are smaller. Even European countries have bigger bathrooms. 2. Staff is not professional 3. Food in the restaurant is very bad, especially the breakfast buffet 4. No mini bar or coffee or tea in the room. It looked more like a budge 2 star hotel than a luxury 4 star hotel

    Location is the only thing to like in this hotel

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cooks fighting in the kitchen, intermittent wifi, poor choice of food for breakfast, very 'heavy' menu items no real light dishes

    Well located, well priced hotel

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    By the grace of God most of the time I was busy in meetings so there was no bad experience .It was my second visit .

    Location is very good & most of the staff is nice. Quality of food & services both are good. But options of items in Food & Breakfast should be increased.

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The A/C takes 15-20 minutes to cool the room when you come in. The staff has a poor knowledge of surroundings and could not tell me the way from the map even. The room A/C hits you straight on the bed so you could easily get sick. They do not provide US electrical fittings .

    The breakfast was great.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was tired and shabby. Air conditioner sounded like a jet engine. Worst of all what i thought were mosquito bites turned out to be bedbugs which have followed me home. Will not be staying there again. Avoid.

    Room service, food was fantastic

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Noise from other guests talking loudly

    We chose the hotel for its pool and gym which met expectations. There are shops nearby too which was not expected.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Reception staff are unprofessional. I was locked out of my room due to a faulty door. I was given little information about the hotel. Bedroom was rather small and uncomfortable

    Housekeeping staff are good. Good location

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Away from old city, although close to grand mosque.

    Friendly and helpful staff, clean and comfortable, pool and gym available. Great curries in the restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Reception staff were not knowing what they are doing.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This is not a tourist hot Ideal for local businessman and local guests

    Only building is good

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything was great, location is good just near by the Grand Mosque. The staff was also very helpful and friendly. I would definitely recommend it!

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    not a 4-star hotel at all, poor breakfast buffet

    Free parking, good location in the city centre, friendly personnell

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Empty frigobar

    Complimentary shuttle service to airport

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    parking spaces can be provided for the guest.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    more choice of food

    food was not so good but the stuff was so nice in helping us

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Had to turn off room AC as smelt of cigarette smoke .

    Excellent food & service . Very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    xxx

    well mannered and helpful employees

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff seemed dis-interested.

    Facilities were fine. Food was alright.

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Very bad hotel

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    room was smelling cigarrete

    very nice staff

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    breakfast is very good but very small restaurant

    good location, no traffic staff is very helpful, clean

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    room to small

    complimentary airport shuttle, breakfast, swimming pool, late check-out, silent bar

There are also 46 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: