Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mutrah Hotel 2 stars

Mutrah Street, 113 Muscat, Oman

#22 of 85 hotels in Muscat

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1180 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I enjoyed my stay in Mutrah Hotel. It is right in the downtown. Easy to access places like Mutrah Souq, Mutrah Corniche, Cinema and so many other places like them. But most importantly I would like to mention about Mr. Bernard who is very nice, hunmble and a helping hand almost in all matters. He is really a Champ and a good person. He delievered whatever he promised took great care of his guests during their stay. I would love to book Mutrah Hotel again in future and recommend others who are intending to go to muscat must stay in this hotel.

    Staff was very helpfull whether it was house keeping, restruant and front desk. All were very good and take good care lf their guests. I would love to see the hotel may imporve its ranking in future.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because of some flight messed up we can only check in at 7am in the morning & check out at 12am. The room itself is spacious and the shower are pretty nice (after almost 12hours journey). The guy in the front desk was very helpful & welcoming. We didn’t get to try their restaurant, since it was closed during ramadan.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet in room was an issue. Login Browser was not granting access. Staff allowed me to connect to their office internet but stayed in lobby. Believe they fixed it by the time I left.

    Great location. 15 minutes walk to Mutrah Souk and corniche. Groceries and restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have booked for 3 nights with 1 full bed or large bed and wrote a special note to keep room cold and for slippers(may be slippers are not providing so it is ok). But when I entered the room was extremely hot. Waited to get AC COOL air for and hour. we were very tired we ordered food and went to disturbed sleep due to ac. When we wokeup only we noticed 1. they put twin bed togother and just 1 bed sheet on top to join. 2. Safe Lockers not even opening since they painted. 3. Horrible AC dont work full time. Even if we keep in less temperature with Manual high speed fan 4. Annoying room service. They knock like something happened outside no DnD labels. 5. Hair dryer, ironing, electri kettle which all are mentioned as room facility we hve to request for each item. 6. Room service wont replace any toiletteries unless requested. I had to check out one day early due to uncomfortable stay. Duty Manager suddenly become receptioninst as I asked for a refund. I have trusted booking.com and agreed non refundabke term and if the facility is not same as shown or described booking.com has to take responsibility to get the refund.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have been a bit better but nothing to lose sleep over.

    The hotel is basic, slightly outdated but extremely clean and safe! The staff were helpful and polite and there is free parking with easy access to the nearby restaurants, souq and the new city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was not great. Had to get a new password several times a day. Room is dingy and outdated. The shower was an experience. Breakfast was ok

    I loved having a bar in the hotel and the bartender was terrific. It’s cheap for muscat and close to the corniche/souq. But you must rent a car in muscat!!! Taxis are ridiculously expensive, everything is spread out and it’s also 42 degrees out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very big and exceptionally clean, the staff has been really kind with us, we decided to stay for longer as the price was good and the hotel was walking distance from Cornish and suoq.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - It was a 25 min walk to mutrah souq and corniche so in the summer the walk isn't very pleasant.

    - Polite and professional Staff ..they also helped to check-us in early at 9 am - great restaurant in the hotel (Gazebo restaurant) - and you get 15% discount in the restaurant as a hotel guest- just tell them your room number..The restaurant is the best in Muscat! - spacious and clean room - This is oman's very first hotel so it feels authentic and has a charm to it

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    room is not good cleaning, and not available slipper in room

    Staff in receiption is good ,but room is not good cleaning, and not available slipper in room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t like the following: 1) the breakfast was very bad. 2) No tea and coffee was available in the room. We asked for a kettle so we could prepare our own tea and coffee but the kettle was not that clean so we decided to ask from the room service to provide us. Their tea for one person was also too expensive as the hotel is a 2 star. 3) laundry was very bad too.

    The location is excellent, our double room was very good as we stayed in the new building and the WiFi was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit far from malls and other tourist spots, taxi is expensive in Oman. Lift was quite old, needs changing, still working but can do with a new one. all in all good value for money.

    close to budget restaurants and coffee shops with nearby grocery shop as well. You will not run out of food and mobile top-up.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    As we only paid 16omr are expectations were not high, but the room was clean and quite with plenty of toiletries. We had an Indian meal in the restaurant and it was very good. Two bars on site at reasonable prices. Will stay here again as we live in nizwa and it’s a cheap get away for the weekend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult to get extra towels. The breakfast was poor quality. The shower and floor drain both backed up and flooded.

    The person who welcomed us was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A good basic hotel. It was very clean, quiet and comfortable. The location was quite good, but a bit of a walk to the harbour area. Breakfast was nice and the whole place had a pleasant atmosphere. We didn't eat there so can't comment on the food generally. Good value for Oman.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was asked to pay 20 OMR for early check in (4 hours) even though was requested at booking. The extra rate seemed negotiable and not fixed so apparently no fixed rules. WIFI was TERRIBLE. slow, frequently crashing and each time to changed location it needed re-logins which anyway was erratic. Breakfast could be better. No Kettle in room.

    friendly receptionist on other days after check in

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has two parts. Old and new. The old one is not very comfortable, with a bit of old smell and sone rooms are very noisy vecsuse of the AC. The new one is much better. However, the manager walks round all tables at breakfast and asks if all is fine and if you tell him he will realy try to sort it out. There is nowhere to park at the weekends on the evening as there is one of the few bars selling alcohol on Muscat and a lot of people come there.

    Good position. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff could be a bit helpful

    If you're looking for luxury then this hotel is not it. But the location is great but the hotel is dated but has everything you need like a restaurant on the premises and opposite the hotel also and a super market witch is really handy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Rooms are big, new and really comfortable. Internet works well in the room. Staff is really helpful. Breakfast was good and abundant. The location is a little bit far from the bay and the suk, but if you have a car it is perfect

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Amazing place to stay. Walking distance from Muttrah Souq. Supermarket is across the street . Clean big rooms, gym, fast wifi, great buffet breakfast and delicious good price food in restaurant. Stuff were very helpful with sightseeing and trips. I planned to stay for 4 nights and I extended my stay for another 4 nights . I will definitely come back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was right next to the elevators and it got a little noisy at night. Air conditioning not working so well.

    Very friendly staff, extremely clean facilities. Spacious and comfortable rooms. Great location, 15 minute walk to the Souq and Corniche. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good. Only ac was noisy.

    Nice hotel at a good location with friendly staff. Big rooms with nice and clean bathroom and big comfartable bed. Food at restaurant was delicious. 2 min by taxi to Mutrah souq for only 1 or. Mr Bernard was very friendly and helpfull.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi wasn’t so good .. but it works . Could be better !

    Is a small and typical hotel where you can see many tourists all the time . What make us feel like a holiday ! The employees are very friendly and give us information with respect and value of money ! Is at the old part , so it’s easy to go to the most important places and a great experience near the sea !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This is a budget price hotel, with an excellent location so, bearing that in mind, it was an excellent choice. For the price it was extremely good and so there was no 'down side' to this hotel.

    All the staff were extremely kind and helpful. In particular Bernard, who worked 'over and above' the call of duty. We arrived very early off our flight, and were given a welcome drink and allocated a room almost immediately.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The external a/c units of all the rooms were broken making an extreme loud noise. Also at 2 o clock after midnight there were banging noises and we couldn’t sleep at all. Very expensive for what it offers . Very poor btreakfasr . Very old and not renewed. Very bad smell inside the room

    its Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location and very convenient. There's a 24hrs restaurant attached to the hotel and a supermarket opposite the road. Staffs are attentive and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location for accessing Muscat was mediocre. Some of the staff weren't the friendliest.

    Reasonable price for Muscat. For a basic hotel they had facilities like room service and a bar/restaurant downstairs. There was good parking. Breakfast was fine and good for the price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was poor. Tiny bathroom with poor shower. Double bed was two singles put together. Day time Receptionist was very rude as we were leaving (talking and laughing with a friend apparently at our expense)

    Good location near Mutrah Harbour Spacious double room Parking available (although limited)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived after midnight and were impressed with the check in process. The gentleman on reception helped us park the car, checked us in and ensured that our bags were delivered to our rooms. Staff were all so friendly and accomodating. Excellent value!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside just has a parking between the hotel and the road, no real outside space to talk of.

    Decent hotel for a reasonable price. Third time I stay there. New rooms on the back side. Larger older rooms in the main building. quiet. Pool bar at ground floor serve beer. And delivers to room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is not big enough for those who have cars. Ladies in the reception desk are not smiling.

    Staff is friendly, rooms are very clean. Quality over price ratio is high. Location is very good near all points of interest in Mutrah. Breakfast is rich with a large variety of items.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was not as good as I expected. Mutrah Souq is about 20 minute walk. It is a walkable distance in winter, but I am afraid to do so in hot season.

    Close to most of the tourist points in the city. One of a few reasonable hotels in the city. Rooms are very spacious. Even though it is a bit far from the airport, you can take 1B bus from the airport to Ruwi first. From there you can take a taxi easily to the hotel. I think this is the cheapest way to get to the hotel from the airport.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a very nice and clean room. Everthing was fine except the booking, as we saw a good price on booking.com and the receptionist wanted to offer the same room more expensive. So we booked via booking.com right in the hotel lobby to get the better price. We would recommend offering people better prices when they do walk-in bookings.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very happy with the hotel. Very friendly personnel, nice breakfast, clean rooms. Location is also great, not far from the Souq (20-30 min walking). Thank you Mr Bernard and all staff for your kind assistance. We will be back again!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location, close to coffee shops and real everyday life in Oman. Tip : take your car down the hill and park your car just before the road turns into one way. Then, you can walk to the souq and the sea passing through a popular area. It takes about 15-20 minutes.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we had trouble adjusting the AC that was too strong even on the low setting and was inconveniently located at the head level when sleeping

    very friendly and helpful staff, spacious and clean rooms, amazing location close to Muttrah corniche and the Old Souq (walkable distance), good breakfast and food selection in the restaurant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra charge for room service but they did remove the charge. I would recommend using the airport shuttle if possible I had a very bad experience using a mini bus. Perhaps the actual public bus is better to get there but would still need a taxi. Walking around the area was safe at least for a guy. Pretty good hotel really!

    Some of the staff were excellent. Very helpful. The room service is great. Room is clean and quiet. Can walk from buses and also to beach.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow service at check in, although they were polite. We booked parking, but spaces are very limited and it wasn’t always easy to get a space.

    Just stayed here for 1 night, the rooms are clean and a reasonable size. The shower is hot and powerful enough.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would have been great if the hotel had had a pool. Also, the food at the breakfast buffet tended to run out - I was there for 3 days and didn't once arrive in time to get one of the few Croissants on offer

    The hotel is basic but clean and very friendly. The food in the Gazebo Restaurant is excellent and really good value. It was nice to be able to get a cold beer served in my room after a day's walking around the local attractions.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The AC outside the room was very loud, thus it was not possible to sleep with open window.

    Staff was really nice. Big room with large bed. Good street food just in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The restaurant was great and offered a lot of choice - the drinks list was especially complete. The staff there was very friendly. There was a lovely man called Bernard who seemed ever-present and always ready to help. It was extremely easy to hire a car from the hotel for a few days. If you feel like walking ten fifteen minutes to the souk and Corniche there's a great bus - number 4 - which takes you to old Muscat, the National Museum, etc. There's a very well-stocked supermarket just across the road. We really liked this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom, room colour scheme, the view outside my window, the lack of bathroom slippers and especially the misleading information/ pictures on booking.com.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very simple, though adequate. The bed was small and the bathroom very very basic.

    The place had three restaurants and a sports bar. Breakfast was fine, everything you need. It was quiet and I slept well though the bed was not the most comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a bit pricey compared to the tasty value for money dinner

    The hotel was located in the old part of the town, an easy 30 minute walk from the souk/ corniche. It was very clean and the bedroom was huge with a comfortable bed. We had dinner in the restaurant and cannot fault it for value and taste. I have read that this hotel is rated at 2* but I would rate it higher.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly polite & very helpful staff, good quality food with breakfast having both hot & cold options. Bernard was extremely helpful with arranging transport to the airport & making breakfast available outside normal hours.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing big, it's a good place to stay. Only critique I can think is that when we came for breakfast quite late (still during serving hours) we found out that some of the foods were already gone, this could be handled better.

    Great, friendly service and comfortable room. Easy to find by car - ideal location if you have a rented car and want also be within walking distance to Muttrah souq.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was good.

    Helpfulness and friedliness of the staff. The attention of the mnager to detail. Location - 20 minutes easy walk to the Mutrah Souk and the Corniche. Excellent breakfast (made available by the manager at 6am for our departure for the airport - thank you!). Good arrnagements for minibus to the airport.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could be better.

    Despite surprisingly low prices hotel keeps up to the great level. The entrance of the hotel and the lobby already gives you the feeling you're in a special place. The design and general atmosphere makes your stay unforgettable. The furniture may not be the freshest, but everything just fits and is super cosy. And I got a real, working hair dryer when asked, not something resembling it (as in other hotels in Oman/Dubai).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Huge, clean rooms. Luggage storage not a problem. All staff were very attentive and friendly. Staff went out of their way to help, particularly by opening the breakfast buffet early so that we could have some good food before leaving for the airport, and arranging a very large taxi for us at a very low price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bernard can have asked if you needed help on the ways into breakfast--not stand at our table every morning, keeping us from eating!

    the eggs were horrible--overcooked, and flat as can be~ raw bread was day old; the oranges were extra seedy as was the watermelon. cheapest fruit possible. very difficult to get city info--all they wanted to do was put you in their car for outrageous prices! the street was busy. dangerous to cross and always noisy!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a bit run-down

    Great location, close to the souq and the corniche. A supermarket right in front of the hotel. Breakfast was good but not exceptional.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't care for the location or condition of the building. It's old. Area is seedy and there are better places to stay at in the area, that are cleaner and cheaper.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there is a lady in the staff that is absolutely helpless, whatever it was asked for help, she just replied ´I dont know´ but luckily her coworkers are very proactive and supportive with customers.

    excellent location, close to market and Ruwi city center

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked three rooms and one of them was without breakfast which we ened up paying 40 Rials per person (which was way to excessive for that breakfast!)

    Excellent location. Fair parking options

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No outside sitting area

    Location very good if you want to explore the old Mutrah. Souq and corniche short walk away. Most of the staff excellent Bernard being exceptional for customer satisfaction Food in restaurant very good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spacious and clean. They provided water everyday. There was a small fridge in the room . The breakfast buffet was wonderful the Manager Bernard always asked how it was and if we were happy. The front counter staff was always cheerful and willing to help. There are two bars, The one beside the parking area is big has many tv. Screens for sports or movies plus you can order a cold beer or other drinks free popcorn and a full menu. The location was very good close to walk to the Bay and the soque.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is good only if you have a car. (I did.)

    Spacious room. Nice restaurant and bar inside the hotel builiding. In front of the hotel there is a supermarket. Great Breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building and suites getting a bit dated, but fine. Area is light industrial. Not much street life.

    In the old part of Mutrah. Beer available in bar and restaurant. Very clean. Breakfast was adequate. Good value for the reasonable cost.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A Kettle in the room would be great.

    It’s good place for a one night stay. Bed not comfortable . Location good. Breakfast fine and staff are friendly. It’s a basic facility accomodation .. Rooms are of good size.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee making facilities in the room.

    Friendly welcome. Large room with comfortable bed. Location is walking distance from the Corniche (15 - 20 mins).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have ordered double bed room and they gave us just two beds joined together and staff told us that all rooms are like this. The hotel was very noisy like there was construction going on and people passing by just behind our wall during whole night. Breakfast was very basic. On the top of that internet was not working on all our phones and staff was not very helpful and didn't seem bothered by the problem.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom toiletries were poor quality As stated Sadiq was great but the rest of reception staff were surly and unhelpful

    Good large bedroom. Bonus is the on site pub where you can have a cold beer (if you order food) after a hot day sight -seeing. Sadiq on reception was very friendly and helpful. Do use the bbq chicken restaurant opposite it is very popular with locals and is cheap and good. 30 minute walk down to the corniche and souk

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We spent there two nights in January. There wasn't too many guests and when one morning when we entered the restaurant for the breakfast (quite good one) it was a little strange feeleing where two persons staff was observing us carefully what and how much we put on our plates :) Nothing serious but strange a little.

    Very friendly helpful staff at the reception. If you have any questions they will help you without hesitation. Ronald (I suppose) is a real manager who tries to be responsible for everythin. Very proffesional attitude. Great location of the hotel, just few minutes drive from Mutrah souk.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and comfortable, 20 min walking to the Mutrah Souq, staff friendly and efficient. I was allowed to do late check out as I was doing a morning tour.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Menu dated and somewhat confusing; food generally good except for burger menu. Need to reorganise menu; Starters/Mains/Sweets/Sides/Extras. Also very lacking in terms of representing Omani/Arabic dishes and traditional food; a BBQ section and fish?

    Excellent location for access to Mutrah bay and Souk etc. also access to bus station @Ruwi and beaches @ Darsait

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant had no windows and rather dull lighting. It would be more pleasant with a bit more lighting. As with many bathrooms in Oman, the shower had not decent walls/curtains and the water ran out in front of the toilet. And remained pooled. Not the best solution but the room was cleaned thoroughly each day so it was not too troublesome.

    We had a room in the annexe: large, airy and very comfortable with a real view (of the back yard and next street but better than those rooms with windows onto the corridor). We found the staff very helpful and courteous. The breakfast was pretty varied; most days fine and some days with really good choices. Breakfasts in Oman don't really feature highly on the culinary scale, but Muttrah hotel did a good job. Good to have a mini fridge. Room cleaning was excellent. The other excellent point, is that this hotel is within walking distance of the Corniche and the Souq - and that's one of the best souqs in the country. We did this walk 4 times in 3 days.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos are idealistic, reality is darker, dustier and duller. There are no facilities, the fitness room is unappealing and the rooms basic. Stay closer to the airport and take a taxi.

    Stunning view of a yard full of garbage and plastic, screaming cats and right next to a noisy street, what’s not to like. The service is minimal and you are stuck in an aging hotel with poor facilities. Close to the souq and port.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have a really good GPS, Muscat is a city to get easily lost in. The taxis don’t always know the way and with your own car, the road system is very new and not well sign posted. The hotel is aging and run for a profit, customer comes last, and the staff don’t speak good English. The breakfast is ok, but unless you have a real need to stay in this part of town, try somewhere else.

    Room size, but we got upgraded after a check in problem Proximity to the souq, there is a supermarket across the street and places to eat.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    Choice at the restaurant is heavily Indian based, and it would help if staying here to speak an Indian or pakistan dialect.

    Very average, the upgrade gave us a stunning view of a rubbish filled courtyard and the location is the middle of nothing. 20 min walk to get anywhere and the rooms are unimpressive. Staff border line unhelpful, and the hotel is showing signs of wear.

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We got a smaller room than booked (we'd booked a Deluxe Double Room and got SIngle with Double Ocupancy instead) but were however charged the full price. The reception staff are rude and unhelpful, the furniture is old and rundown, the walls are so thin you can hear all the fridges and ACs running in adjacent rooms.

    Location wise, the hotel is within walking distance to the souq (15 mins on foot) and there is a Spar supermarket opposite. The breakfast is varied and quite tasty, and the cleaning staff are nice and smiling.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had a room in the ground floor with no real outside window. A water pump or sth. like this close to the room made lots of noise during the night. Cats made a lot of noise at night. Many people walking by close to the room. No toilet paper when I arrived.

    Fast airport shuttle with nice, chatty driver. Good restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lunch was not great and we did not like the taste. Especially the dish Mutton Kadhai and the Kolhapuri Mix veg (full of carrots) was a disappointment. Also the 15% discount (exclusive for Booking.com customers) at the Hotel's Gazebo restaurant does not seem to be real. The hotel said that the discount is included in the billing which I have a strong doubt on the contrary.

    But the dinner was excellent. I ordered Masala Dosa and Veg Hakka Noodles, which were ultimate. I was provided all the necessities like electric kettle, extra mattress and pillow at no extra cost.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very helpful, attentive staff and tour-desk. They were able to offer me a great and well-priced custom-made tour exactly according to my requests and were generally very quick to respond. The location near the souk and the lively old part of town is excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Internet system is 20th-century and would not be adequate for anyone who needed to do vital business online, and the location is a bit of a hike (15-20 minutes to the souk, 30-40 minutes to the port) or a taxi fare to just about everything. We ended up wishing we had rented a car at the airport and driven ourselves around town. It would have been cheaper and easier, and then the Mutrah would have been perfect.

    The Mutrah is an old but well-maintained property with huge rooms, good beds, reliable hot water and air conditioning, a refrigerator in the room, a restaurant with adequate food and inexpensive bar drinks on the premises and an accommodating staff. Mr. Bernard of the staff went the second and third miles to make sure our visit was perfect, and we loved the view of the mountains from our room at the back of the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really did not like, but as the hotel is the first one in Oman, so it needs some renovation but keeping the same current traditional look. Breakfast could be little bit better, especially for the hot food.

    Simply saying .... everything was great and smooth - Very friendly and helpful staff especially Hamzah, Bernard, Saddek. - Location. - Comfy bed, big room. - no need to worry about anything. It is a good value for the money you are paying for...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything.

    Superb location, walking distance to Mutrah Corniche, supermarket across the road and a small number of eating places. Can catch a taxi from outside the hotel to the Sultan's Palace or the National Museim. Super helpful staff lead by Bernard who were so supportive and helped me arrange a tour and a bus trip down the coast. Great value for money. As a solo female traveller I felt very safe here. Room was simple but clean and comfortable. Thanks Mutrah Hotel!

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Mutrah Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: