Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sohar Beach Hotel 3 stars

Al Tareef- P O Box 122, 311 Sohar, Oman

#8 of 14 hotels in Sohar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 545 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    6.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Very good value for money. Good for family with big swimming pool for kids and adults.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Time limit for beach visit 6.00am to 6.00pm a bit tight rules.... Also, fridge not working in the room, and didn't maintain.

    Perfect location, next to the beach. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    highly recommended. it deserves 4*
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the only thing that must be improved- fridges - they seemed not to cool at all.

    Excellent hotel with friendly and supporting staff (special thanks to Mr. Ali, Mr. Yaqoub and the Manager of housekeeping staff). The hotel buildings are designed in an oriental style, which provide a very specific atmosphere. The swimming pools are clean and really specious as for a beach hotel. the sea is just few steps from the rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    Very nice overall experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beach access closing after 6.00pm - any such rules limits the freedom somebody needs to feel in vacation. Also beach bar not serving Shisha ?!?!?

    perfect location next to the beach and a very nice Park. Ideal for peaceful relaxation. Staff helpful and polite.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    4.2
    Bad time at this hotel..Avoid it..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ac was not working...we had to sleep on the floor..fridge was not working..bad staff as they were not answering calls on the reception..post informing the issues no one had the courtesy to correct the issues or offer a different room..

    Nothing except the location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    4.2
    A poor experience since we were unable to sleep in the heat and the AC was not functioning properly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ac in the rooms were not working properly. Despite multiple requests, none of the staff bothered to rectify the situation. Very poor service in terms of facility management

    The rooms were good. The overall hotel premises were nice and clean. Breakfast served was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.4
    good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room Service where not good need to improve on that and some extra curricular activity for Children And Some Entertainment Channels and more options in Breakfast

    near the beach room were spacious and clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.8
    We stayed in the new building.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really.

    We stayed in the new building. It was low season and seems we were the only ones staying there. Very clean, comfortable. Breakfast was really good even it was Ramadan time. I liked the view from the windows facing the pool and ocean. Great! Thanks for everything! Surely I will stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    Nice and quiet hotel. There's a nice swimming pool, good restaurant and bars .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet really poor for the year 2018. Air conditioner in te room is directly pointed to your bed which is not really good for your neck and back.

    The staff. They make your stay like being at home. Excellent service, always at your disposal, helpful and well educated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.2
    Sohar Beach hotel was a very quiet, clean and good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Early morning on 23rd April around 5 am, one guest on our floor was shouting the hotel staff, which disturbed our sleep.

    The hotel staff upgraded our room to suite. Also gave us beach view room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.3
    Good hotel but should be cheaper , and more professional than this , I wouldn't go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furniture , troubleshooting is a disaster , wifi didn't work the whole stay and was never offered a complimentary any thing, they tried to fix it 2 or 3 times every time is 30 to 40 min inside the room ( useless maintenance staff ) untill I got feedup and told them I don't want the freaking thing , the tv setup is a disaster , you can't connect any thing to it as it is all cramped behind the cabinet

    Near to the beach nothing more

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    A hidden place with unbelievable expectation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect for a 3 start hotel

    food was ok room was enormous lots of facilities to have a break with the lowest prices staff was so good even i checked out at 1:40 they were so good i'll make sure this will be my destination everytime i visit sohar p.s they should go up to 4 stars they are already qualified to

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.1
    I was not able to send any mails as the up was blocked.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was not able to send any mails as the up was blocked. All mails bounced back saying spam. Was not able to connect to laptop through WiFi. Had to use USB theathering.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    2.9
    no definite returning
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    dishonest staff cheating on taxi fares and meals we're buying. booked for breakfast package online and paid for it in advanced but were denied package breakfast and told that i did not paid or asked for it

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.2
    We felt very welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - only minor comments as we will definitely come back again: - white lights instead of warm light made it feel a bit “cold” - WiFi did not work very well (we could not connect our laptop) but the hotel let us use the conference room!!

    - amazing staff always there to help - beautiful hotel resort right next to the beach - excellent breakfast with traditional Omani food

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful grounds wonderful heated pool on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel seems to want to destroy the planet with excessive use of air con. The fan in bedroom was very noisy like being in the engine room of a ship. No one could turn it off. Sadly spoilt things for us. No internet in bedroom. But fine in main building.

    Beautiful grounds wonderful heated pool on the beach. Very nice restaurant enjoyed buffet

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay to explore Sohar and surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The swimming pool (walls) could have been better cleaned.

    Make sure you get one of the rooms on the sea side: wonderful views. We had an upgrade to the exec suite in the separate building by the sea. The architecture of the buildings is wonderful, and very much liked the swimming pool

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    5.4
    Tired hotel with poor service falling far from the mark
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic hotel in all regards. There are much better in Sohar for the money Poor service, totally inept in terms of helping guests. The internet access was rubbish, breakfast was ok but not a great choice. The grounds were shabby and the pool dirty. We were only provided with two tiny bottles of water in each room, not ok when the tap water isn't drinkable and it's +30oC

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.5
    We live in Sohar but sometimes we stay at the Sohar Beach Hotel just to enjoy a night out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise of the trikes and beach buggies when they occasionally race along the beach in front of the hotel.

    Sohar Beach is an older style hotel compared to the Radison Blu or Crowne Plaza but it is clean, the staff are always friendly and the prices are more favourable. Good value on Fridays after 2pm when you can enjoy happy hour on the lawn near the beach/pool or inside in the sports bar when it's too hot.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    4.2
    I really didn't like it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is so bad, Chef is not cooperative. very slowly and inactive I am sorry to come to this Restaurant. WIFI is not working, with careless Team. Reception Staff are not exist many times. I choose to remove Alcohol from the Room, but they didn't remove it at all.

    Breakfast is so bad, Chef is not cooperative. very slowly and inactive I am sorry to come to this Restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.9
    Lovely stay despite issues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No plug sockets by the bed, no diet sodas, curtains didn't reach the floor and room was very light, mini bar fridge not very cold

    The friendliness of the staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    7.5
    Nice garden to hang out a couple of hours.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had some issue with the WiFi. No infrastructure to be on the beach (no private beach available..) Some locals were drinking at the pool bar and would only accept a no with some difficulty when we did not want to join them. (Just happened once however.. and we were two girls on our own so...)

    Nice garden to hang out a couple of hours. Possibilities to eat outside overlooking the area/sea. Depending on the tide level the ocean is just in front of the hotel do not worry the beach will appear eventually.. :-)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    6.7
    Happy hour is guide if you drink beer the bar outside is a great place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception was efficient but not very friendly We asked for a non smoking room And were initially given a smoking roon fortunately they rectified this quite quickly

    Good position very clean room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    Excellent stay at a top notch property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints.

    Beautiful property on the ocean. Spacious, comfortable room. The breakfast buffet was not particularly large but was very tasty with a wide selection. Unfortunately we only stayed one night, but could have easily spent more time.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    Would come again; by far the best design, facilities in Sohar; very tranquil & relaxing atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Bathroom was lacking sufficient storage space / robe hangers. Oman Tourism Board should print and distribute more leaflets on the history and places to visit in the country. Also they should have fresh road maps. I was wondering why there is more information on the UAE internet on the wadis which are actually in Oman (did not like that Dubai tour operators forgot to mention that 99 % of the most beautiful wadis are in Oman - only at the end of their summaries on their wadi tours it was mentioned that visitors should have their passport with them and an vehicle insurance for Oman).

    Excellent location, beautiful garden, great pool area, best chef and dishes in town, great atmosphere, lush and spacious facilities, attentive, efficient and professional staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.2
    Regarding the beach was not clean and also the weather not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No coments

    Regarding the beach was not clean and also the weather not suitable for swimming in these days.Next time may we come again and stay in this hotel , the location is fine, and the price of rooms also reasonable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.5
    nice location and service need to be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there were some facilities but didnt know about them becasue the staff didnt inform me about them. Wifi was poor and could not sign in thought it at all.

    the location was very nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    slow housekeeping services and docile reception.

    The property was value for money, but would have preferred a friendlier staff and quicker room services.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    3.8
    The location was perfect. Rooms were only adequate. Food was sub-par. No proper WIFI. Good pool thou
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No proper wifi service. No provisions of adequate toiletries for the number of guests. Toilet seat broken!!!!! Breakfast not included/too much cost for the breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    5.4
    Shabby and run down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Garden view was a parking lot with a fun fair and raucous music. Items in mini bar were overpriced and warm. 5 young men and women swimming in the pool in street clothes. Pool attendant just said, 'what to do? These people don't understand. ' ☹

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    6.3
    Good location, but try looking for other options if in Sohar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - The breakfast, - the facilities - the staff - the price of food (very expensive) - since we reached very late while checking in the reception staff had promised us a 1 hour late checkout, but on the next day they started calling to our room before the actual checkout time..

    Nothing in paticular

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    4.2
    I crossed the bolder into Oman, then I got to know I need to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like booking.com , will never recommend to anyone.

    I crossed the bolder into Oman, then I got to know I need to line up for a visa, 3 hours and another line for car insurance 3 hours, this information should have been advised by booking.com , I had to return to UAE since I had no clue on this process. Booking .com should e plain these factors before confirming the bookings. Not happy at all, ruined my 3 days plan.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    A happy family stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They coukd signpost the gate that gives beach access. We thought there wasnt beach access at all from the hotke , only to find after we had gone to the beach that there was.

    Friendly staff, great buffet, excellent location... the staff were brilliant with our children and the lawbs and garde were perfect to let them run wild. The toddler pool is large and the perfect depth for toddkers who do and dont have confidence in the water.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.5
    It was good and relaxing I maybe could visit again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Chalet Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The chalet looked little bit ignored in terms of maintenance. The wooden doors, the outdoor table and chairs in bad condition. The wash basin for the main toilet does not drain water properly it get accumulated and then create left over and dirt. I think also providing a microwave could a good idea for the chalet rooms.

    I like the location as I stayed in chalet. It was very close to the beach and very quite. Very relaxing and parking was also close to the staying place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    5.4
    This was my last booking in this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -They told me the booking was for yesterday and then they have to check at system and they found out that its for today. - we have to wait for the second room and we get the phone call from the reception at 4pm - During our waiting in the first room for the second room the staff entered the room with their keys they should wait until we open the door. - Our booking was include 2 kids and at night we went to remind them they told us there is no beds and they are busy at that moment - We have to go back to front disk to remind them regarding the Wifi password

    The location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.1
    Good hotel but Radisson Blu is more Value for Money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room Service could have been better. PATHETIC WiFi connectivity, not dependable at all. Breakfast charges too high for the quality of meal provided, best to eat out.

    Location and Ambience is excellent. Well maintained property.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.1
    The room was very spacious and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very spacious and clean. The gate which gives u access the beach closes at six in the evening which I think is too early for summer. No place to barbecue within the premises. The towels at the pool were not available in the morning till 8:30. The services were not very prompt.

    The room was very spacious and clean. The gate which gives u access the beach closes at six in the evening which I think is too early for summer. No place to barbecue within the premises. The towels at the pool were not available in the morning till 8:30. The services were not vThe room was very spacious and clean. The gate which gives u access the beach closes at six in the evening which I think is too early for summer. No place toThe room was very spacious and clean. The gate which gives u access the beach closes at six in the evening which I think is too early for summer. No place to barbecue within the premises. The towels at the pool were not available in the morning till 8:30. The services were not very prompt. barbecue within the premises. The towels at the pool were not available in the morning till 8:30. The services were not very prompt.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    6.7
    Clean - friendly staff - disappointed that the romm didn't live up to expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We would have liked a balcony room as advertised on the website.

    Staff friendly and welcoming. Photos on the website were a little misleading - we expected a balcony but didn't have one. We booked 2 double beds in the room - we had 2 single beds. Much of the facilities were closed - only 1 restaurant open, bar closed as it was Eid weekend. The pool was lovely - perfect water temperature. However, there should have been a sign saying 'suitable swimming attire only' as some guests were getting in and swimming around fully clothed - quite put me off getting in due to hygiene worries. Access to the beach through a gate - lovely walk along the beach until we found carcasses and guts of sheep and goats discarded there after the Eid celebrations Very short staffed - pool bar closed so we ordered water from inside restaurant and ended up having to go to get it ourselves as they 'forgot'

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.3
    It was peaceful bliss and I had a good tym
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool bar was closed it should have been opened for the holidays breakfast buffet was good but need to change the menu as it was same all the days

    Good property, good location.... Food can be better but I m not complaining....

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    8.3
    Great staff and great pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a few small to medium problems when we first arrived in the room, like no hot water and getting the safe unlocked which took several calls to reception They eventually resolved them for us.

    Great staff and great pool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    4.0
    We did not enjoy much as we desired
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    From the beginning, they were not friendly with us. First, they complain we have booked two times, and have to pay two times too. I have booked closely rooms to all but they gave us different locations and not the rooms we have booked also.

    We had a nice BBQ with our own stuff. There is no place for BBQ, but security people have arranged one place for us.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.9
    Our stay at this lovely hotel was very relaxing and pleasant :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pool deck chairs were older, un-kept and had bird rubbish on them each day; quite visibly not looked after in anyway. Also, there were no mats on them, and after 2 days realised they were available, but I was having ? to ask for one daily, which should really be there on chairs from time of pool opening hours. The breakfast could do with a little more international variety, though was not a bad breakfast overall.

    We liked the position right on the beach, though wished the access to it was more available, as opposed to a locked gate that had to be opened by asking each time, each day, as I I wanteded to go into the ocean often. I can understand the need to keep wanderers out, & safety of people in general, but there must be a more efficient way for guests to access the beach for walks & swims, during the day. The lovely new rooms were large, clean & very comfortable in everyway :) and though we had a basic garden view room, we had a wonderful view of the ocean also :) The restaurant offered a very good choice of food on their menu in the evening - well cooked and tasty = above average and a good international choice. The food was also of good proportion and top-class presentation; we were very pleasantly surprised.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    6.7
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom and the sound from the adjacent room , the connection door to the adjacent room left us unsafe ... the electric kettle needed to clean really well....

    The break fast was excellent.... the beds comfortable... bathroom need little more improvement ... the drainage block was there so after shower the water clogged in the bathroom... need air freshener in the bathroom and must say is there was a connection door to the other room near our bed and we could hear the other room sounds like their laughing , moving furniture, tv volume and thus made uncomfortable to sleep!!!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    2.9
    bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    - We had the surprise to pay big taxes and charges from the city and the hotel when we checked in (this is the first time when I book with booking that I have to pay taxes when I arrived on site, at least booking should have let us know) - they first gave us a room with no balcony and not a deluxe room - then they said "we upgrade you" in a bigger room with sea view but the sea view was not really pleasant.. - We said that we payed for a deluxe room with pool view, so they finally put us in the last deluxe room with pool view...well not really pool view : we had a big tree in front of the balcony so we cannot really see the pool and garden view. The balcony was dirty with no chair or table to enjoy. - When we ask for the Wifi they said as there are fully booked it isn't working well and that they are going to improve it.. they were obviously lying to us (I think you come back when it's emptier it's gonna be the same). The signal in our bedroom was definitely none existent. So consider customers as dummies is unacceptable. - On pictures the pool looks amazing with the view on the sea, but in fact the water was really dirty, to hot, and no space to enjoy as the swimming pool in 2,5m deep everywhere. -In front of the hotel the beach was plenty of pakistani men looking at women around the swimming pool and taking pictures.. (the hotel should improve it!) - One of the air cond that we had stopped working. After 2 hours the room was plenty of humidity with water on the wall and floor... - The curtains of the bedroom were dirty, the keys of the windows completely rusted. - In the restaurant ( the food was really good), but many flies were laying on the floor near the windows.. - One of them tell us that it's because it's EID that everything is not perfect and that we should have come another day .. really ? can we say that in France when it's christmas ?

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    6.7
    Good place for family but staffs need to be more helpful with guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front desk never picks the call even after so many attempts. No one helps you to take your luggage to the room. We were with kids and found it really odd to see the helper staff being so sluggish and never had intention to help us move the luggage to our room.

    location near beach is very good and comfortable. Ambiance is really cool.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    An excellent holiday Resort for a Family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was very Comfortable. If anything requires to be added, its just an additional staff for the Room Service as that took a little time BUT the current staff were very courteous. Another very important point is that the Restaurant Facility is very heavy for the Pockets - a bit too expensive.

    The Suite Rooms are simply excellent with excelent Room Service. The property is on the beach side giving a very nice view. The Instructor at the swimming Pool is so friendly and shared some good swimming tips with my children. Given an opportunity, I would surely love to visit the same Resort another time.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    7.9
    Location, facility, food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Billing procedure, we did late check in and server had some issue so I kept some money as deposit as well as informed them that we will make full payment at the time of checkout . Late in the night front office called informing server is working and we need to make payment immediately.

    Location, facility, food

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    9.6
    We were offered an upgrade to the suite room by mr Ali.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service could have been better.

    We were offered an upgrade to the suite room by mr Ali. A special recommendation for him.Food quality was very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    - excellent place with very good location , I love it and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    - nothing to claim

    - excellent place with very good location , I love it and recommend it - very big room, comfortable, clean - I will definitely chose again this hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    10
    Lovely sea view and hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The executive suite we had (209) was on the corner and had a lovely view of the ocean, 2 big TVs, huge shower room, bath, and just a generally wonderful room. The AC and internet worked just fine. Staff were friendly and helpful. We ate lunch and dinner at the restaurant and had lovely meals. We also used room service which came in good time and was hot. We were very happy with our stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    5.0
    A very disappointing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately, the standard of cleanliness within the hotel has declined. The hotel was previously under Swiss Bel Hotel ownership and the ownership has changed. There is a terrible smell of drains in the bathroom and the drains within the hotel need to be thoroughly changed/overhauled. Upon leaving the hotel, I had mosquito bites in my arm and I was not happy. I had advised the hotel management that there was insects and flies in the room and to spray the room and this did not happen. I paid 244 pounds for three nights and no breakfast provided which was disappointing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    10
    Wonderful relaxing hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent. Good breakfast.

    Great location on beach with excellent large warm pool. Good tennis court. Relaxing ambience throughout the hotel. Helpful staff made our stay very enjoyable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    8.8
    Nice to stay a night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No extra mattress for kids Staff not really cheerfull

    Very nice hotel shaped as traditional house. We've been upgraded. 30m² appartement with big comfortable bed and large bathroom Balcony with sea view Warm deep pool

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    7.9
    A pleasant stay over a weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The temperature control for the air conditioner did not work and the set temperature was too low. When I tried to ring someone to control the temperature of the A. C., there was no reply from housekeeper or front reception. Admittedly it was a Friday evening but some one should have been on duty.

    I forgot my coat in the cupboard when checking out. However it was kept carefully by the hotel staff with a plastic cover and returned to me when I was in Sohar next after four days.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    7.1
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    our room was really far out of the way, it's expensive (but Oman hotels are just expensive)

    friendly staff but everything took a long time (check in and out, etc) Pretty beach, heated pool, nice bar at the beach, lots of options for breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    9.2
    The room is very spacious and comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is very spacious and comfort.I had stayed in almost all star hotels in Sohar and found this hotel room quite big and spacious.Room bathroom is also big unlike other hotels in Sohar.In total,it was a good stay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    6.3
    Calm oasis by the sea that may be losing its edge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parts a bit grubby, for example food was scattered on the restaurant floor, while staff were moping around doing nothing. They could have cleaned it up but we sat looking at it through the whole of our breakfast. Peculiar taxi driver/porter. Cheap rooms feel a bit corporate.

    Calm oasis by the sea. The sound of waves.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel with strange experience :)
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found a long hair in my bed which obvious its a girls hair :) One person was serving the hole wide reception as we came at 7p.m. :)

    Superior room are spacious and looked more than three star room Nice pool view Was surprised to hear a child talking to me for check out call Fair breakfast and friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    8.8
    Sohar jewel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It took 24 hours for a second water glass to be brought to our room. Despite several requests, the WiFi never worked in our room.

    The restaurant was lovely. They had a buffet for Christmas day that was amazing. The display and the quality was second to none. The restaurant staff were great fun and very courteous. Rooms were spacious and luxurious. TV had English and movie channels. Garden and pool fantastic.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    8.3
    Located on the seaside - beach access easily.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing special Just AC which is very cold in common area

    Located on the seaside - beach access easily. Very good food at the restaurant & Happy Hour from 6PM to 9PM on Thursday & Friday

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    10
    Little piece of heaven by the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was happy with everything

    The room was really spacious and comfortable, the swimming pool area was breathtaking and te restaurants were really good. Great location too.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    8.3
    A very pleasant evening stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The is no beach access from the pool area.

    The hotel is in a good location and the fort like building is stunning. The rooms are spacious and nicely furnished and the pool bar a welcome addition.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    6.7
    Decent, but could do better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not very impressed with breakfast...gave the overall impression of being done 'on the cheap.' Poor selection of hot dishes, and many items were not replenished on the buffet. Cold items not kept refrigerated - just in bowls on a table. Coffee weak. Pastries tasted stale. Poor value considering the cost.

    Great location, nice rooms, good facilities and parking

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    7.9
    The staff is always very friendly, and the new building is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The ac in the corridors were absolutely freezing and the wifi was most of the time not working. No late check out.

    The staff is always very friendly, and the new building is really nice and clean. we stayed here several times.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    7.5
    just ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Batteries for air con remote flat, told reception but nothing. Phone in room not working. Tried to extend my stay, originally told ok, the following day I was told they were full

    Location, pool and pool bar area

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    7.5
    Good location with good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed twice in the hotel within a week. The first time the Internet was available and fast. On the second visit, just a couple of days later, the Internet was simply not available.

    Nice location by the beach. Staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are spacious, clean and well equipped.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    6.7
    Great for 1 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool is not tempreture controled. Water was warmer than the room water. Breakfast room needs to be renovated. Stains all over the table cloths. Water in rooms also cold. Not suitable for small children.

    Staff were very friendly. Rooms are nice and big.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    5.8
    Not of a great value compared to the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is overpriced compared to what you get. The beach side is open to public and no designated area for hotel residents and it was very crowded the first day I checked in and we couldn't enjoy the beach.. the swimming pool is not very big and it is only open till 8pm as well as the gate thay takes you to the beach. So you can't enjoy these facilities after 8pm. The check in wasn't great either. . They took time to have our rooms ready and no one was helping with the luggage

    The location mainly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    6.3
    Good location, but wifi did not work.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no internet service during full stay for a day. When informed to reception, the staff was indifferent.

    The location is very good and have access to good beach.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    6.3
    Requested late check out to be 2:00 pm they refus just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested late check out to be 2:00 pm they refus just agreed to give me until 1:00 pm it's make me upset because I was having work outside and I left my famil in the hotel so it made back early

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    Sohar Beach hotel was a very quiet, clean and good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi signal was not very Good

    Very quite and peaceful location of the Hotel near to the sea.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    3.8
    Only the location is special
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not clean at all Room service is bad Morning staff

    Only the location is special

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.0
    The location is perfect otherwise nothing special
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff especially morning staff Room is not that clean

    The location is perfect otherwise nothing special

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.1
    Nice place &the room very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice place &the room very clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Super friendly staff
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    I like the sunrise view
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No stuff enough

    The location is great , wonderful facilities and excellent place for relaxing .

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sohar Beach Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: