Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sur Plaza Hotel 3 stars

P.O. Box 908, Pc : 411 Al Aise Street,, 411 Sur, Oman

#7 of 18 hotels in Sur

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 712 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    7.5
    Decent gym.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower takes a bit of time before you get hot water.

    Decent gym. Smallish pool but it was nice. Seeing as this was for a business trip I can't really complain.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    4.2
    they clearly made an effort to serve a wide variety of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very disengaged receptionists. they claimed not to be able to order us a taxi and told us to walk down the road for 15 minutes in 36 degrees and get one there (we were to girls travelling on our own). the same for getting a rental car despite lonely planet highlighting that this hotel had a car rental agency in-house. once getting to the rental car offices they were closed despite the hotel telling us otherwise. in the end, we left after one night despite having already paid for two. when checking out early we weren’t even asked why. once we left, we were called by the hotel saying they made a mistake with the final invoice, demanding us to turn around to pay another £80. very distressing and disappointing experience.

    they clearly made an effort to serve a wide variety of delicious food.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    Complimentary morning joga and good gym, nice refreshing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool could do with a little bit of inside cleaning.

    Complimentary morning joga and good gym, nice refreshing juice and cool towels upon checkin. Enjoyed a free game of billiard in the lounge area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    4.6
    So many things missing in the room which are considered...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So many things missing in the room which are considered essential but it turns out to be by request. We had to request for something more than once till it arrives! We requested for room service twice and no one appeared for cleanig. And how come lunch is only food but beverages are separate bill!! Even for water you charge extra! Plus i have been cbarged for a call which wasn't mentioned that will ve charged. When i booked online the total amount was 112 R.O but at the hotel i was charged 143.300...how come!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.9
    A Good getaway from the daily routine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Reception staff were excellent. They were really friendly and responded pretty quick to any requirements. The hotel is a great getaway from the daily routine. I will definitely recommend it to all and shall go back again. Thanks.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    5.0
    Overall, it was awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The FnB Manager doesn’t even know the basics of food hygiene, some of the local Omani staff working on the front desk were shockingly rude, even in front of their expatriate superiors, and the CEO of the hospitality firm didn’t care that much.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    The best place to relax with a unique blend of a homely enviroment with a 5 star treat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to leave. Wish we could have stayed more. Its that kind of gesture that made our stay more homely. A 5 Star treat from a calm and charm hotel as Sur Plaza. Staff is always caring

    The meals at Sur Plaza is unmatchable, its one of the main reasons we love to go there, It has that extra touch with deliciously that blends in and served with a smile by with their wonderful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.1
    The location of the hotel is good and easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No porters to help with luggage on arrival and departure. Breakfast needs a bigger variety. All hot foods were curry based. On checkout, reception asked if we used anything from the mini-bar. There wasn't anything to start off with. We had nothing in our room. Dirty dishes from the people next door were left a whole day outside their door in the corridor.

    The location of the hotel is good and easy to find.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    6.3
    Will rate 6 out of 10.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet speed is poor also need to improve wifi connectivity issue. Captain's lounge for entertainment has good number of games but not properly maintain; pool table is torn off and very old, no proper cue sticks were available. We played with one stick only; on the other carrom doesn't have all the coins to play the game.

    Nice hotel in the area compared to other ones I stayed before. Fully recommended for families.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.2
    Very good stay in Sur
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was a little bit dirty because of the sand in the surroundings.

    Everything was perfect. Clean, comfy and nice staff. Breakfast was amazing. Nice swiming pool outside to relax after a long day.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    memorable and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WIFI LINK UP SPEED CAN DEFINITELY BE BETTER. A SINGLE WIFI ACCESS PASSWORD FOR THE DURATION OF STAY WOULD BE WELCOME

    Excellent ambience, location, facilities. food was tasty and fresh and staff in restaurant were very courteous and helping. FRONT DESK WAS SPECIALLY EFFICIENT AND KNOWLEDGEABLE.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.2
    a well budget stay experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a warm smile to greet, a room well organized, perfect for two adults and a small kid. the breakfast and dinner well arranged and well priced. The Swimming pool can use a shade during the summers.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.5
    The place is accessible to sur city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    serving buffet breakfast depends to the quantity of guests who checked in. we stayed for 2 nights and that time they are offering ala-carte menu due to lesser number of guests. Rice is available upon request. We were awakened by a sudden knock on the door and it was the housekeeping staff for room cleaning at 9 am?!? so better put your “dont disturb” sign board at your door.

    The place is accessible to sur city center. There are restaurants nearby like pizza hut and barbeque nation. Near the site of a castle and 3 gas stations along the streets. Staffs are helpful. Thanks to mr. Mohammed from the reception for giving us insights about the places to visit in sur.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.7
    Room was clean and comfortable. Swimming pool was very nice also.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked the hotel for 51 usd x. Night and it was 61 usd because they included tax. It's better if they can publish the finak price with taxes. Breakfast was 25 usd approx for 2 people, we didn't pay it because it was extremely expensive for a 3 stars hotel.

    Friendly staff, they offered juice and a cold water at the check in

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice, cosy hotel, with good atmosphere, nice staff and very good buffet breakfast and dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The basin sink became blocked, but we could ask for repair. Maybe a little struggle with finding the right way to the hotel. Hotel could have wider selection of postcards at reception. If you don't have car, it takes while to get to the city centre.

    Cosy room with pool view, very nice and hard working staff, nice smell in the hotel, fresh flower decoration every day. The food in restaurant was amazing. Wide selection of everything, very nice grill station with professional chef ( you can ask for grill of the day and for freshly baked indian bread for dinner ) For breakfast nice fresh waffles. Good bed, spacious bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.1
    Great location to explore the surrounding area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool area, although large, was poorly provisioned with loungers, tables and umbrellas which did cause some problems on one day whilst we were staying as a large party arrived and were without any of these facilities.

    The choice and quality of food at both Breakfast and dinner was excellent, particularly the Hamour fish.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    Would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be prepared for tour groups in this hotel. It might be noisy. Best time for breakfast is at 9am.

    Great hotel with very friendly staff. We had chosen the deluxe room, which was on the 4th floor. Breakfast was nice. Liked the fresh fruits and the sandwich making corner. Coffee was good. Pool has a decent size. And the gym is good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.9
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool area a bit sterile and too close to the dining area. Mainly groups and booked tours stayed here during our visit. This means a bit overcrowded breakfast room with frantic people... If they are gone the facilities are quiet and nice...

    Large and modern rooms. Good breakfast and good sized pool. Overall a nice stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.9
    Good Hotel - Staff good and Facilities ok for Price and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff at initial Check in mis-informing us of Facility opening hours and Functions. Note that Captains Bar is Now closed

    Staff were very good except at Check In, where when we enquired about the Bar Hours we were mis-Informed which led to me asking to cut our stay down, however in the end this side of our Stay worked out ok. Good Base for surronding area inc Turtles, and Wildlife park 60kms out of town, and Sur is pleasent enough City.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    7.9
    Good parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival there was a slight smell of stale tobacco in the room which cleared after ventilation. Also on the morning after arrival there was some noise disturbance caused by maintenance work on an adjacent room.

    Good parking. Friendly staff. Comfortable room. Good dining area especially outside. Good breakfast dinner and service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.1
    good to overnight for one night, if you want to visit Sur
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the buffet -formule , imposed by the hotel, is overrated! (9,000 OMR a person is really exaggerated, even if the buffet-formula consists of good prepared food). We are a family of five persons , not everyone was hungry.... Another restaurant, which we discovered by tripadvisor (rated as number one in Sur, village where we over have been overnighting for 4 nights) was much better: location, nice place to sit, with sea view and excellent food, homemade juices and a normal bill :) the pictures of the hotel are giving a better impression then the hotel in reality. Strange tapestry on the floors, like if one tapestry has been put on another tapestry

    a good bed & excelent bathroom, nice staff, good breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    Simply owesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to comment on.

    The staff was excellent.the service provided was beyond expectation.we felt as we were at home.the GM himself was so attnetive and caring for all the visitors need which was one thing i have never experienced.thank u for the wonderful stay. Thumbs up.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.5
    Genrally, relaxing and good place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom exhaust not working. Dinner buffet viand selection is limited. Juice unavailable during dinner time. Suggesting that towel be available at the pool area, than on the reception area.

    Clean Room, Fluffy pillows. Staff are very accommodating and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    5.0
    When I booked hotel room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I booked hotel room. I asked for extra beds which that I booked 5 rooms. And when I arrived there they said I didn’t asked for them and i had to buy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    7.5
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool is directly in front of the restaurant tables wich makes it a bit awkward to swim while others have their meals.

    Very nice reception staff and very helpful bell boy. Good breakfast. Nice restaurant terrace.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    Room nice and comfortable, very good breakfast with a lot of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room nice and comfortable, very good breakfast with a lot of choice. You can eat inside like outside next to the swimming pool. At 1h30 from Wadi Bani - At 1h from Ras al Jinz where you can see the turtles (the hotel organises also the tour if you want to with pickups) At 40 mn from Wadi Shab

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    8.3
    Nice central location for visits to Sur and Ras Al Hadd
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good stay over and friendly help-full staff. Meals were typical buffet style and more than adequate. Seems preferred choice of many travel companies as we saw several other groups also staying here. Nice central position for Turtle nesting visits as well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    7.1
    Overall a good stay. We only stayed for one night on our way to Wasi Shab.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a damp/musty smell in our room which was not very pleasant.

    Hotel is in a good location in Sur if you are travelling by car. The staff are very friendly and there is a good choice of food at breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.1
    Stopover in between wadi shab and turtle beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room AC smelled. Facility and especially the rooms might need a refresh. Sur city was not really worth visiting

    Friendly staff. Nice buffet in the evening. Good value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.6
    The staff are pleasant and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are pleasant and helpful. The information provided about local sites was excellent. Rooms were very comfortable and well maintained with good air conditioning. The buffet breakfast was very good with freshly cooked eggs and waffles on offer as well as continental, Indian and Omani breakfast options. We would certainly stay again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    3.8
    It could be much better!!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very strong bad smell once you enter the hotel lobby. Hotel staff on reception desk seem like they have no clue how to receive hotel guests which a bit odd for a 4 Star hotel. We went to the oyster restaurant for dinner at 09:15 and the buffet was almost empty of food and when asked to add food to the buffet they gave as a plate of pasta only instead which tasted horrible. Overall it was a bad experience

    Every thing was between average and below average. The hotel could be much much much better it has so many potential but it seem people who are running and managing the place do not bother and care.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.5
    Sur Plaza Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The onsite restaurant needs a good as overhaul. The food needs improvement in its appearance and more select cuts of meat need to be chosen. The style and décor of the restaurant also needs to be improved.

    Location was good for my needs. It is a typical sea port town. Renovation is ongoing in many places but when completed it will make a huge difference.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.3
    It was relaxing, yet boring
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is absolutely NO Entertainment. There is a nice bar, but CLOSED. No music anywhere. They have ample room for musicians, karaoke .. but NOTHING. Makes the visit rather boring

    The staff was friendly, breakfast was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    5.8
    room was dated, first floor seemed to have been renovated...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room was dated, first floor seemed to have been renovated but other floors rooms were dated, sheets were clean but had holes in the material. in general room was ok though only one key per room though so if more than one person in the room, key sharing a must

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    5.0
    The price on line through booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location is good and hotel is not bad but improvement should be done through administration and the management.

    The price on line through booking.com is too different with the price in hotel, they charge high amount of VAT where its a local hotel and Oman has no VAT for the local companies, they are not sure what they are doing, they return few rials for me after they check that they have done mistakes.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable hotel for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The first room given smelled stale, I informed the reception quickly I get a new room. The walls of the pool need cleaning

    I stayed 1 night I visited Wadi Bani Khalid and stopped at this hotel: Welcome drink & cold towel Good quality of matress. The waitress at the breakfast available, helping & smiling. A buffet full of variety, even better than a 4 star hotel, with a cook preparing omelettes and waffles.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    4.6
    unsatisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is not professional, they say something and they do something else. They charge me for the free meal! I booked a room with 2 meals offer and I had to pay for it when checking out!

    Location is perfect

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.2
    Sur is a beautiful place which is very serene and enjoyed the trip to watch the turtles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We made the booking through booking.com for a family of 2 adults and 2 kids. Though we went with the suggestion of booking.com for 2 rooms, when we reached the property, they allocated 2 rooms but was disappointed on not having connected rooms. How do you expect to leave you young kids in a different room all together? The treatment we received upon reaching hotel after driving all way from Dubai was quite disappointing. After much heated argument with the front office staff (Mr. Jagadeeban) did not know what to do. It is not appropriate to speak between their colleagues in front of me in Sinhalese language in front of me. Initially they offered a connected room for an extra cost and finally gave an upgrade to a deluxe connected rooms. There was nobody to assist me with shifting the luggage from Car to the hotel or back to the car.

    The rooms are very neat and with nice decor and so was the bathrooms. The property is well maintained and would highly recommend for future trips. Bed, Pillows and towels were pretty new and in good quality.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    6.3
    Good for one night, needs to be renovated!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - No iron nor ironing table. - TV is the the smallest I've ever seen in hotel, chanells are not fine tuned. - Swimming pool filtration system seems to be not working. - No drainage system around the pool!! It's wet and slippery all the time. - Noise when refilling of W/C flush tank, enough to wake others in near rooms!! - Called reception 3 times and felt ignored, only to get tea bags!! - Pillows are not comfortable. - Pool Towels were not available at morning and they said machine is not working. - Umbrellas at swimming pool side the table is unstable, most of them the umbrella cannot be opened. - No one to welcome the guest and carry the bags, you have to ask!! - Local teenagers roaming at night at swimming pool and restaurant, in addition they used the bathrooms next to swimming pool !!! - No SEA FOOD AT ALL!! Despite this city is famous for fishing history!!!! - Mostly of the food were indian!!!

    Staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Worth the stay. Good place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charging of kids under 12 years. Slow checkout process.

    Excellent place, excellent ambiance. the only thing missed was extra charges for kids aged 7. Usually it is for kids over 12 years. Hotel should look into their rules. All else is good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.5
    A day in Sur
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a musty smell, this hotel is old and really needs a make over.

    The management staff were helpful and friendly. The restaurant was reasonable and staff were good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    5.0
    Money minded hotel
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dental kit not provided . Many times called for room service. Simply they are telling dental kits are not available. Very bad service.

    Very bad. Money minded hotel. Small drinking water itself they are asking money. That also more.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    5.4
    Not worth the money for an off season stay. Locals take over after 3pm on Friday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The website and materials at the hotel advertise buffet meals every night, there are none. The advertised bar is not open. You can purchase alcoholic drinks from the restaurant. But there is nothing going on at this hotel other than local teenagers and families hanging out at the pool The hot water took about 10 minutes to warm up, but once it was there it worked. The water pressure was very low on Saturday AM. I could barely take a shower. By the time I was brushing my teeth there was no water. Pretty bad for 10AM on a Saturday morning. On Friday I was relaxing by the pool. Around 3pm at least 10-15 local teenagers showed up and took over. It was loud and unsupervised. These are not hotel guest, but outside people who pay a minimal fee to use the pool. This is off season in Oman. The cost of the hotel 35 OMR + taxes = 40 OMR or $104.00 for one night without breakfast makes this a poor value.

    Older facility, but well maintained. Staff was friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyable but really need transport
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location biggest problem if you don't have transport. No nearby beach, shops or restaurants. Also any organised transport such as airport shuttle or tours were designed for 2 which made it unavailable or expensive though to be fair staff arranged for me to go with others on one tour. Would have liked the bar, the captains lounge, to have been open rather than using the restaurant for both.

    Staff very friendly and helpful especially when realised I was on my own, manager arranged fruit and newspaper. Pool, terrace, gym and room all very good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    6.7
    Ok hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need to take the car to get to the sea, forniture ( expecially bed) needs a bit of renovation. Breakfast could be improved as well considering that it is a four star hotel

    Friendly and available staff, clean. Overall ok

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    10
    I would recommend this hotel to everyone that I talked to and the front desk staff were awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little small for 3 people.

    The Staff were so helpful and nice. The breakfast was the best breakfast that I think I ever had. It was a real pleasant surprise. Thanks

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    7.5
    Clean, pleasant hotel with very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location means you are reliant on a car, but that said there are very few accommodation options so this one was fine.

    Clean, pleasant hotel with very friendly staff. Plentiful buffet meals of reasonable quality.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    7.1
    Clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As with many Omani properties, the hotel is not actually on a main road but on a service road which was tricky to find. Negotiating with taxi drives on fares to get into town and back was not fun.

    Great dinner buffet for a reasonable price (8 OR)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    5.8
    Restaurant & staff tries to make up for price & location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pool is very exposed to wind, juices "offered" with our diner (half-board booking) were charged and very expensive.

    Wonderful breakfast and nice variety of dinner choices, a different theme every day of the week.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    9.6
    Short stay in Sur
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow was a little high. Minor and the only thing I could think that could be proved.

    The hotel is very clean, everything works well. The staff are friendly and helpful. The room was very quiet thanks to double-glazed windows.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    6.7
    Has seen better times
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is quite old and needs modernization. Rooms are ok, but beds are quite narrow. Breakfast presentation and variety disappointing.

    Centrally located for a stopover and reasonably priced

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    8.8
    Would definitely stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was quite limited.

    The staff were friendly and very helpful especially as we were travelling with a toddler. Unlike many hotels in Oman the staff were able to provide guests with maps and information about nearby tourist attractions. The rooms were clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    7.5
    Decent and convenient stay for short stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really- it served its purpose for one nights stay.

    We chose this hotel as it was not so far from turtle watching (45kms) or 40 mins away. Clean, decent price, large pool and huge kingsize bed.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    7.9
    good place to stay to see Sur
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the first deluxe room we were put in was over the front door (109)- very noisy but we were changed rooms very quickly

    staff were good - dealt with the issue of the room very quickly. good hotel to see Sur

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    8.8
    Great staff. Good value overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Feels a little like a conference hotel - and the music in the lobby and restaurant can get annoying. When we asked for the music to be turned down there was no problem, and the manager complied immediately.

    The staff were all lovely. The buffet, both at breakfast and in the evening were good value. The pool and gym were both good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    9.6
    It is worth it 👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall, the hotel is excellent. Had a comfortable stay even it's just for 2days and 1night. Staff are all accommodating and helpful indeed. Breakfast was good too, had a lot of options and the smile from the waiter & waitress was always there. Had a smooth transaction in terms of ordering in in-room dining too 👌👍

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    8.3
    Breakfast was good, a lot to choose from.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't think the buffet dinner was worth the 8 riyals. The coffee in my room was not restocked for my second night.

    Breakfast was good, a lot to choose from.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    7.1
    Average, but good compared to other hotels in Sur
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Minibar way overpriced, pool could be nicer, and some

    The rooms were clean and staff were friendly. Wifi was good. They had originally prepared a double bed room instead of a twin room as requested at the time of booking, but this was quickly rectified. Location is great.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    3.3
    no more comments
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    when we came to hotel its not much our expectation. Points are below: Rooms are very small. Bath room have problem with water flow.

    While booking the photos which is show it was good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    4.2
    Horrible stay waste of money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service and cot was too small

    Their Deluxe double bed or our single bed almost same , faulty fittings in the bathroom , room service was horrible,

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    8.8
    Nice hotel, a bit far from the sea side
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Pillows are too thick and "high"

    - Good breakfast - Easy access and parking - Very neat hotel - Baby cot available - Very nice lobby - Swimming pool

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    8.8
    Staff were thoughtful and helped us get to see the turtles...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unlike all our other bookings though booking.com te hotel wanted prior authorisation to hold our room - and this was difficult for us as we were on the move without good wifi.They were a bit persistent over thus. The access to the hotel was slightly difficult off a dual carriage. There was no undercover parking.

    Staff were thoughtful and helped us get to see the turtles at Ras Al Jinz. We drove ourselves -about 59 mins. Breakfast was brilliant with a wide choice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    10
    It is v. Clean + worth the money
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing specific

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    the stuff is so friendly
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    the entertainment facilities like biliardo and tennis table are so exhausted and needs maintenance

    the stuff is so friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.8
    Location, food were good and staff are kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very cold even we turned off the a/c

    Location, food were good and staff are kind.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    6.7
    Cheap bed for the night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was musty and in need of maintenance

    Value for money

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.3
    Food in there restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Children accompanied has to pay extra for food just like adults

    Food in there restaurant.. Dinner was excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.2
    Clean , comfortable, value of money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool could be siprat for kids

    Clean , comfortable, value of money

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    clean, comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    some noise from lobby side, we can hear it in our room (when people checking out/in)

    clean, comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.9
    Parking space
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I feel a smell in Carpets (out side room).

    Parking space

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    6.7
    It was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor break fast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.2
    awesome hotel comfortable stay and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    awesome hotel comfortable stay and friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.8
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smelly corridors Worn furniture

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    6.3
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant staff suspected that we did not pay for the breakfast- plus the electricity went off during our stay.

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Good stuff and rooms are cleaned
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All is good.

    Good stuff and rooms are cleaned

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sur Plaza Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: