Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Panama hotel reviews
  3. Chiriqui hotel reviews
  4. David hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hotel Alcala

Reviews of Hotel Alcala This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Avenida 3a Este, Calle D Norte, 0426-00536 David, Panama

#8 of 27 hotels in David

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 327 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent clean and great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    English information for international tourists would be helpful

    Clean, spacious, comfortable rooms with warm water as opposed to many other places with only cold showers! Great food at restaurant in hotel. Near bus drop off.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    7.9
    Good large quiet enough budget hotel. Hot water. Beds so-so as usual. Friendly restaurant and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small beds are really small and not confortable, as usual in budget hotels in Americas... A/C is old model, noisy and not precise. No window except one on a parking and with the A/C just here... The bigger rooms may have better beds.

    The building is HUGE ! So you have privacy. And not too much noise. Staff is very nice. Restaurant is good, and coffee absolutely excellent !!! Good TV and Wifi. HOT WATER. Medium size room, and nice. Smoking area but it's up a parking, so it's very toxic sometimes (yes cars can smoke everywhere hu ;-)) Good price in Panama.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    8.3
    Staff was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We send some clothes for wash and it was very expensive for a bag of clothes. We paid almost $30 dollars for it.

    Staff was very friendly. Room were super clean. Breakfast was very good and cheap.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel with excellent WiFi, a/c and hot showers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The town of David is worthless. There is nothing to see or do there.

    Room without a window... BUT, great WiFi, great a/c, great hot shower... I enjoyed my two nights at this hotel. The food and service in their restaurant adjoining was very good and my nutritional quirks were accommodated.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    7.5
    Went for business, found a place where I could sleep comfortably at night, a good run for your money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The internet connection was spotty for some reason. Location was good but could be better.

    Good value for the money, clean, affordable, rooms had a big space, were spacious. Breakfasts are good and affordable as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    7.1
    The staff changed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff changed. The people at the front desk used to be much nicer. This time around, they didn't seem to care much about the guests. Then again, the owner whom I'd seen every time I stayed at the hotel wasn't around.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    10
    My go to inexpensive hotel option while in David.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the price the Alcala is a great value. The rooms are basic, but large and clean. The staff friendly and the restaurant is delicious. I highly recommend this hotel for those in David seeking an inexpensive option.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    9.2
    Will book again
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is close to the bus station but a cab is recommended. Airport is also within 15 minutes. Location is near the market so it's busy on Saturday. Our room was pretty quiet for being so close to the action. Staff was really helpful. Room service was good as well as the food. Cable., Air, internet and bathroom facilities all worked fine. Great location if you want the basics covered well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2018

    8.3
    Good place to stopover in David
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stayed here twice on our way to and from Boquete. Is a 5 min walk to the bus station and 5 mins to the centre of David for the Romero supermarket, central square and banks, etc. Rooms are clean and comfortable as you might expect from a mid range hotel. Restaurant has good food and is fairly busy in the evening.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    9.2
    A good clean Go-To hotel in David
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is a bit dark in the rooms with the a/c in the only window. Heavy curtain plus it looks out on a parking garage anyway. So if you are not visiting for the scenery, then no problem.

    Very clean: room and public areas. Friendly staff, very good English at front desk too. Restaurant an excellent feature, something for everyone: Panamanian, international, vegetarian. Everything nicely prepared and presented. Restaurant staff pleasant and professional.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    6.7
    Economical with adequate accommodations
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    A/C did not turn on with key card. Location very congested. Hard to find if not familiar with David. Would be helpful to provide driving directions on website

    Good food and cheap. Comfortable bed. Covered parking

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2018

    7.5
    Walking distance to the bus was a plus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walking distance to the bus was a plus. Room was nice, clean, bed was comfortable. The bathroom was especially good compared to other hotels on our trip, shower worked well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2018

    9.6
    Peaceful break in big city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No actual way to get fresh air as the evening cooled off, except by putting the air conditioning on vent.

    Hotel Alaska is close to bus station, Cervantes Park, restaurants, shopping and a multi pled movie theater. Parking is available below the hotel. Our room was spacious with perfect lighting. We were able to catch the Grammys on the good sized flat screen tv. We enjoyed the restaurant which also provides room service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2017

    5.0
    A little change. Like color in the room ☺️
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Yes I recommend this hotel

    I love the hotel. I hope you bring new stuff to the the hotel. Some changes can be good for the travelers like me and my family. I’m very happy with the food The restaurant filled my expectations

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2017

    10
    The staff were very helpful and everything was within...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing that I didn’t like was that the air conditioner was a little loud, other than that everything was fine, good value for your money

    The staff were very helpful and everything was within walking distance

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2017

    8.3
    Great location for catching the bus from David.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a strange format with the rooms faced to view the car park and no natural light. Makes for a quiet sleep though

    Good location right near David bus station and close to shops, bars, restaurants and cafes. Highly recommend nearby Buffalo Wings factory for dinner. Legends bar was good for a drink too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    10
    Always a pleasure
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In my reservation, I asked for extra pillows and they were waiting on the beds :-) The food in the restaurant is very good and plentiful, and the waitstaff very nice and accommodating. Hotel Alcala is a reliable place to stay when I go to David for shopping. Excellent value for the money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2017

    8.3
    Very pleased with our hotel choice and would recommend to anyone who doesn't need luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dinner service at the restaurant was excellent but breakfast service was slow. Training new staff?

    Room was very clean and a/c worked well. Staff members were pleasant and helpful. Restaurant was convenient with good food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2017

    10
    My Chiriqui Visit
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was some parts of David that were not the most attractive. I am referring to some surrounding areas.

    Its location was convenient to travel to other areas of Chiriqui. The hotel staff were very pleasant and polite. The hotel was well kept.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2017

    6.7
    OK For a Day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is in central David with easy walking access to the downtown. They provide covered parking which is a bonus because of the heat. The hotel is an average older building with the ground floor being used for parking, reception, restaurant, a meeting room and the kitchen. Then there are two floors above that for guest accommodations. There is an elevator so you don't have to drag your suitcase up the stairs. Checking in was pleasant and rather faster than what I am used to in Panama. The room was clean, with a wall mounted flat screen TV, and the shower had ample hot water to keep us both happy. The only downside was the small bed. It may be fine for a Latino couple, but it surely is not built with North Americans in mind. To be fair, I did select a room with a double sized bed, so one gets what one asks for, lesson learned. Breakfast, not included, was hot and plentiful ranging in the $7.50 range per person

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2017

    9.6
    Great location, comfortable big bedrooms, restaurant serving all day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Brilliant location. We only needed this as a stop-gap night as we had to drop our hire car off in David and get the bus the next day to Bocas. I chose this hotel because it was super close to the bus station - only a few minutes walk. Considering it's downtown and the surrounding is fairly noisy, when you're inside the hotel it's very quiet. The staff greeting us on arrival was lovely and friendly. There was no breakfast included but there seems to be a large restaurant joined to the hotel (I couldn't quite tell if it belonged to it or not) and they serve food all day. We had dinner there and breakfast the following morning - both great, not expensive. The hotel was a little colder than it needed to be. My boyfriend turned the air-con down partway through the night and then it was all good. Big bedroom, comfortable beds and a great hot shower! The hotel isn't expensive so I'd recommend if you just need it as a stop-gap. If you want to stay longer in David I'd personally go for somewhere with a little more character (as I was with my boyfriend) but that's personal preference.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2017

    7.5
    Hotel Alcala is a good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast at the restaurant was boring, so I didn't go back.

    It was a good honest value. Everything worked and the waiters didn't try to rip me off.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2017

    8.8
    Value for Money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wish the duvet had been thicker. The TV was too close to the wall, so the HDMI was inaccesible.

    Nice, comfy bed. The room was clean and the staff was nice. The restaurant was pretty good as well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2017

    8.8
    Everything you need for a great stay and close to town square
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Took a call to the front desk to figure out how to turn on the air conditioning (you insert your room key in a little white box on the wall) - but other than that - great staff, restaurant on the premises, lots of cabs going by for transport.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2017

    8.3
    A great option for onward travel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The young woman at the front desk should learn how to smile!

    Like other reviewers have commented, this large hotel is clean, with sizable room/bathroom, hot water (and plenty of it!), good WiFi, in-room safe, A/C, elevator. The restaurant offers a good variety of menu items at reasonable prices, including room service. The best part is the location - 1/3 mile to the bus terminal. A taxi from the airport will cost you 4 bucks, but you have to barter for that price. :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2017

    7.5
    Good place for a few nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I did not care for a number of the staff who were really unhelpful. It may have been due to my lack of Spanish and their lack of any English. The mattress was not very comfortable.Good

    It was walking distance from the bus station and from shopping they had English cable stations, an elevator and an internet room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2017

    8.3
    Good value on David
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed wasn't very comfortable and the A/C was weak. We were too tired to ask for a different room.

    Great staff at the front desk. Especially the evening front desk. She helped us with a taxi back to Almirante. Very kind. I'm sorry I didn't get her name. The restaurant was really good. Clean, good food and pleasant staff. Good value too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    7.1
    Price vs quality
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location

    Price vs quality

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    6.0
    Bad
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was one of the guest services I did make a phone call and her answer was so rude ni cusome skill and the guard

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    7.5
    Location, staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was not included.

    Location, staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2018

    10
    Alcala
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quiet and confortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2018

    10
    Excelente atención 24hrs , limpio y acogedor .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excelente atención 24hrs , limpio y acogedor ... full recomendado !!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    7.5
    Good, cheap, clean, perfect for short stays.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spotty wifi service.

    A run for your money, clean rooms, good food, good internet connection, nice staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    10
    Great value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I would have liked a tv channel guide and a cnn channel in English.

    Pleasant surprise. Great value.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    10
    Very good and accomodating hotel, clean, big room and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very good and accomodating hotel, clean, big room and very friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    10
    Water isn't hot
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Water isn't hot

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    10
    Excellent location, great food, and very friendly service...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location, great food, and very friendly service and staff. Full recommended

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel, with an excelent location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    restauran staff was not kind, They could improve the customer service

    Price and location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    8.8
    Decent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Decent Good value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    9.2
    Perfect overnight stop with a good restaurant in close proximity to the bus station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was in a great location for using the bus station and the restaurant was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2018

    9.2
    Alcalá, always a good choice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The parking lot, too small and the entrance very tight

    Affordable price, clean and good space in the room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    9.6
    We have always ejoyed this hotel in David.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great restaurant next door.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2018

    7.9
    I’ll stay there anytime I’m in David, Panama
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nada

    Downtown, close to everywhere I wanted to go. I was walking, so that was great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    10
    I liked it so much I stayed for two more days
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nada

    There was a hot shower. The reception people were terrific.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2018

    7.9
    Central position, close to bus terminal
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Central position, close to bus terminal Room large

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2018

    2.5
    VERY BAD A JUNK HOTEL
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    EVERYTHING

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2017

    6.7
    Good deal for a one night stay, not a longer term option
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was small and not very comfortable

    Clean room. Central location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2017

    9.2
    excellent, would recommend to others
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliness, staff communication, restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2017

    10
    Clean property and good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no comment

    Clean property and good food

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2017

    8.8
    Nice, 10/10 would come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Room was nice and big, nice bathroom as well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2017

    8.8
    Would recommend this David hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great hotel for value and location. Good restaurant in hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2017

    7.9
    Great location, friendly staff, good restaurant on location
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    They are very helpful - would bring us ice and glasses and sell us Cokes in the restuarant that we could take to our room.

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2017

    10
    Hotel Alcalá convenient and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Great restaurant on premises.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2017

    7.1
    Good if you need to catch an early bus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very basic room. Nothing much to say about the place, which is quite characterless.

    Good if you need to catch an early bus. That's about it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2017

    10
    David is aokay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything turn out fine.

    Close to bus terminal. No problems, room was clean and no road noise. Would stay their again!!! David was alright.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2016

    7.1
    Good for one night, near to the bus station to costa rica,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Window to the parking area, right before the window was a bright lamp that burned the whole night, old room

    Good for one night, near to the bus station to costa rica, friendly people.

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2016

    8.3
    Convient to downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had to make requests for extra pillows and ice twice. Would be great if they had a small fridge in the room.

    Convient to downtown. Restaurant has good food and reasonable prices. Parking is covered

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2016

    7.1
    Clean, the location, the food in the restaurant was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed in our room was very uncomfortable. It's saged on both sides. It also needs reading lamps to read while you're in bed.

    Clean, the location, the food in the restaurant was good.

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2015

    5.0
    The hotel was clean and about what expected for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant was unexpectedly closed. Room hot as needed to use key when entering room to start small window unit. Pretty shady area.

    The hotel was clean and about what expected for the price

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2015

    10
    Confy bed, Tv with english channels, Good internet service,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    A little bit noisy the a/c ...

    Confy bed, Tv with english channels, Good internet service, friendly Staff, Big portions and very good food in the restaurant. especialy Arroz con Pollo!!! Very clean the room. Is in the center everything you need is walking distance. bus stop just outside from the hotel, security during the night. Awesome I will defenitely come back.

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2015

    10
    The staff was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    When I asked to have my clothes washed they charged a very high rate and sent it to a facility that stapled my room number on every item which left marks on the clothing.

    The staff was great. The restaurant served good food. I liked the room.

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2015

    7.5
    - Just next to the bus station, great for a stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Bed was quite small for two persons - AC extremely noisy - Room had almost no daylight - No breakfast

    - Just next to the bus station, great for a stop over - Spacious, clean room - Adjoining restaurant is ok

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2015

    9.6
    Staff helpful, speak English and Spanish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Need to request 2 room key cards as A/C won't work without the room key card in A/C slot.

    Staff helpful, speak English and Spanish. Not too far from Bus station. Quiet room, very clean.

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2015

    5.8
    The rooms are big and there is Wi-fi in all the hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    The hotel is comfortable but it has two problems: 1) Staff is very unfriendly, especially at reception and restaurant. Even though bad service is a common problem all over Panama, you would think that owners here would care to train personnel in customer service. 2) The restaurant service was very slow every day of my four day stay. Besides, waiters/waitresses were always cold and uncommunicative. El hotel es cómodo pero tiene dos problemas: 1) El personal es poco amigable, especialmente en recepción y restaurante. Aunque el mal servicio al cliente es una constante en Panamá, uno pensaría que aquí los propietarios se preocuparían en capacitar a su personal. 2) El servicio del restaurante siempre fue muy lento cada día de mi estadía, sin importar si hubiesen muchos o pocos clientes. Además, los meseros/meseras siempre fueron fríos y poco comunicativos.

    The rooms are big and there is Wi-fi in all the hotel. There is a small computer room that was very useful for our meetings.

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2015

    8.8
    Good restaurant on site and cheap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only little flaw was that there are no lamps in the room, only bright ceiling lamp which makes it a bit dreary.

    Good restaurant on site and cheap. Plenty of parking and right downtown, very convenient to shop or just walk and browse in the stores.

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2015

    9.6
    Staff was very friendly and gave us accurate directions.
    • Couple

    Staff was very friendly and gave us accurate directions. Have already referred this hotel to friends and will book again with them, should the need arise.

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2015

    8.8
    the front desk girls worked very hard to help me recover a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    it would be nice to have a better ...quicker supply of coffee...lol--- a coffee pot in the room ?

    the front desk girls worked very hard to help me recover a lost bag with tica bus

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2015

    8.3
    Rooms were very clean and well maintained by staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Having a room which led to the main, and very noisy road, along with a noisy air conditioner. However they were very accommodating when we asked to move. There was no option to include breakfast when we booked and so had to buy breakfast every morning, which can add up.

    Rooms were very clean and well maintained by staff. The hotel itself is quite centrally located and in easy reach to the bus terminal, where you can pick the bus up to any number of places I.e bouquete, Costa Rica, the shopping centre etc. the area around the hotel is quite safe to walk with a young family even in the evening, although that being said not much goes on after dark. The food in the restaurant attached to the hotel is very good, and the portions are very generous!

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2015

    7.5
    The staff was very helpful and recommended us a good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Impossible to put the airco on when not in the room, every time we entered the room we had to restart it and let it work for 30 minutes until the temperature was bearable

    The staff was very helpful and recommended us a good restaurant. Big, clean rooms with a decent bathroom. The breakfast in the restaurant adjacent to the hotel was delicious.

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2015

    8.3
    The hotel is affordable, clean, comfortable and the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is affordable, clean, comfortable and the staff friendly. The location is a short walk to the central park and shopping. The restaurant is reasonably priced and the food good.

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2015

    10
    Everything was above expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Everything was above expectations. The staff was friendly and professional. The restaurant had good food and excellent service. They went out of their way to help us as we are just learning Spanish. Rooms were big and clean. Great shower! Location is perfect for downtown or day trips. Covered parking is a treat in a downpour. I've stayed in David previously but will always book Alcala for future. Don't let the inexpensive price fool you. They could charge for and it would still be a value.

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2015

    8.8
    The front desk staff deserve a big compliment for their...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I had scambled eggs and they were over cooked. Dry. Otherwise, the food and service was very good. Staff very friendly and helpful, especially David and Elisabeth as we were strangers there in Panama they made us feel welcome. Thank you all. Jim and Maria.

    The front desk staff deserve a big compliment for their effciency, their welcoming smiles and personality. I give them 100%. Thank you ladies!!!! Jim and Maria.

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2015

    7.5
    Nice, clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Nice, clean room. Good bed and bath. Better quality hotel inside than what appears on the street. Will definitely stay there again when I'm in David!

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2015

    7.9
    The hotel is very close to the busstation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had to get my room access card renewed twice within two days because we could not get into the room or turn on the AC.

    The hotel is very close to the busstation.

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2015

    10
    Very close to the bus station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No safe

    Very close to the bus station Great restaurant The staff spoke good English and were very friendly Good check out time Would definitely stay here again when passing through David

There are also 36 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: