Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Peru hotel reviews
  3. Cusco B&B and inn reviews
  4. Cusco B&B and inn reviews
  5. Reviews of Chaska Kawarina

Reviews of Chaska Kawarina

Calle Quillichapata lte, 3 (Cuesta Santa Ana), Cusco City Centre, Cusco, Peru

#170 of 274 B&Bs and inns in Cusco

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 98 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 50

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    4.2
    Better stay away
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cleanliness. By far one of the least clean hostels I've ever stayed at. Carpets and bathroom full of hair. Soiled toilet. I even got an eye allergy from staying at the place.

    The owner was quite nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    8.3
    Nice having a rest after tiring tours
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's high so you may take more walks to there, yet worth it to see the views from there. Hot shower can be improved if possible.

    Here is like a home, literally. After tiring Rainbow Mountain and 5-days Salkantay Tour, this is the hostel I wanted for just resting. They changed house into a simple hostel, have 2 young cute dogs (I like Naiia the most). I really enjoyed it. Thank you, Nataley :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2017

    7.5
    Nice little place
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The first night that we were there they had a Halloween party that went on pretty much all night, it was really difficult to sleep with the noise. The property is situated on a hill, its quite a steep climb in some places, once you get there you are greeted by some steep stairs to get into the building so if you can't handle steps don't even think about it. You can always take a taxi there, make sure to negotiate, it should be about 5 soles but some will be cheeky and ask for 10.

    Good location, about 10 mins walk away from the main square. It was warm and clean. The owner was really nice and there was a puppy. Amazing views.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2017

    10
    Highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    None

    Family owned hostel with great view in Cusco. Nathalie the host she is so friendly. If you want to chill out in Cusco with great atmosphere, don't hesitate to stay here.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2017

    7.5
    The lady who runs the place is very nice, speaks no English...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bedding wasn't the cleanest, which is a shame as it could be lovely.

    The lady who runs the place is very nice, speaks no English so an extra challenge if you do not speak spanish!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2017

    9.6
    We highly recommended!! The view from the house is so beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    We, family of 4 travelled to Cusco. Our host was very kind. When we returned from trecking, our train was so late that we did not get back to the hostel until 2am. Our host welcomed us back with smile! She kept our laggage at her place for free. We felt totally comfortable. Her place is super clean!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    8.8
    Cozy welcoming overnight
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower was cold with very little pressure. Off the main road by one block - slightly uncomfortable walking that road at night.

    Very clean and comfortable. Warm bedding. Free bag storage. Beautiful view of Cusco from the balcony. Lovely juice and bread/jam breakfast waiting to start the day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2019

    10
    i love this house
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    house is really nice, and natalhy is a good person, she stay all day for us

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2019

    5.8
    Great view and good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Owners dogs barking

    Great view and good price

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2019

    7.5
    Very cold
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very cold

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2019

    8.8
    Location house itself
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Location house itself

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2019

    8.3
    Nice staff nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast is just bread but it’s a cheap hostel

    Nice staff nice view

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2019

    8.8
    Nice staff, great view of the city, comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dogs barking early in the morning.

    Nice staff, great view of the city, comfy bed

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    6.7
    Very helpful owner with information.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was not easy to find location. The owner should put some sign in a main street. Nosy dogs at night.

    Very helpful owner with information. The view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2017

    4.6
    There is no hot water for shower, the breakfast is not good,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is no hot water for shower, the breakfast is not good, the room is cold

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2017

    10
    The owner was awesome and was so accommodating!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The owner was awesome and was so accommodating!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2017

    10
    Supper nice hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The environment is clean and welcoming, the owner can help you with a lot of answer with traveling.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2016

    8.3
    Great vibe and nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Pillows were not very soft. The WiFi wasn't great in the room. The hostess was lovely but didn't seem pleased when I arrived after 10pm at night with a last minute booking.

    Great vibe and nice breakfast. Hostess was very sweet in the morning and gave me a lovely little keyring as a souvenir. Nice home made hot chocolate at breakfast. Feels more like a home than a hostel. You can use the kitchen etc. Free towels available to use. Good value for money.

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2016

    9.2
    This charming hospedije is perched on the top of a hill...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This charming hospedije is perched on the top of a hill offering fantastic views of the whole of Cusco from the small patio. The house is clean and tidy and decorated with beautiful locally weaved textiles. The rooms are spacious and the beds extremely comfortable. The house is located about 10mins walk from the main square in Cusco and a plethora of restaurants and markets are a short distance away dependant on whether you want to eat out or cook at the house. Nata is a wonderful host who will gladly offer tips and hints about the local area and loves nothing more than a good chat.

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2016

    10
    Nata was the best host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Nata was the best host. She helped me book a trip to Machu Picchu, and made sure I received a fair price. She even had taken a group of us shopping at the Saturday market and we all got bargain deals. Nata goes out of her way to accommodate the guests. This hostel also has one of the best views of the city, and its quiet at night. Most guest stay for a while here.

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2016

    10
    Good Location, but a lot of uphill steps.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good Location, but a lot of uphill steps. Made me homesick because it was just like a home. Loved being able to sit on the (carpeted) floor and eat at a dining room table. The kitchen was perfect, (best kitchen yet)! Natalie was excellent! She was very helpful and went above and beyond to help guests.

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2016

    9.6
    Nathaly is very friendly and helfpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is only one thing to criticise: the shower has low power and is a bit too cold. Towels would be nice to have.

    Nathaly is very friendly and helfpful. You can have good conversations with her. Its a nice homestay with a good view over Cusco and a very familiar atmosphere. You can meet other travelers in her livingroom easily.

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2016

    9.6
    The owner is a very friendly and helpful person.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was a big, black, hairy spider climbing up my duvet at 6 a.m. on one of the nights. Luckily, I was awake checking my tablet and saw it on time, but I wondered if it had walked over me during the night :(

    The owner is a very friendly and helpful person. From letting us check-in early (after arriving in a night bus) to letting us keep our big bags there after the check-out and while we were exploring the Sacred Valley for 3 days, I can't give her enough compliments. The room was nice, the bathrooms were clean, wi-fi worked fine. It's a little off the city center, but you can get there in 15min walking and there's plenty of restaurants, shops, laundries nearby (and the view from the terrace is amazing).

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic views, more like a homestay than a normal hostel,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    There area bunch of steps to get up there which can be tough with a rucksack but the view is worth it!

    Fantastic views, more like a homestay than a normal hostel, Nathaly was super friendly and I felt at home here. I only stayed one night but loved it

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2016

    10
    Natahly is a very gracious and helpful host with great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi is only accessible in the living room and the place can get a little chilly at night but this is nothing compared to the hospitality of the place.

    Natahly is a very gracious and helpful host with great language skills in English and Korean. The place feels much more like a homestay than a hostel. Hot water is always available as well as coca tea. There's a lovely breakfast spread each morning and Natahly will go out of her way to make your stay comfortable.

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2016

    9.2
    Nathalie is an extremely nice and helpful host who helps out...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was a bit small for the three beds inside. The water of the shower is sometimes not really hot.

    Nathalie is an extremely nice and helpful host who helps out whenever she can. There is a cosy living room where you can also spend your evening. The view from the hostal is stunning.

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2016

    8.8
    Wonderful view over the city, nice and helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very clairaudient and spartanic rooms, but okay for a short stay!

    Wonderful view over the city, nice and helpful englishspeaking stuff, cool rooms! We were able to put our luggage in the hostel while we were on a trip.

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2016

    10
    It has a great atmosphere like home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. Everthing was great!!

    It has a great atmosphere like home. Hostess Natalhy was really kind and helpful. Location is great only 10min away main square. Hostel is super clean and comfortable. Don't hesitate to book here. 정말 최고의 숙소였어요. 약간 언덕에 있지만, 전망이 너무 좋아요. 특히 쿠스코 전체가 내려다보이는 야경은 최고였어요. K-pop과 한국 드라마를 좋아하는 나탈리는 정말 친절하고 매일 저녁 정말 즐거운 시간을 보냈어요. 매번 침대를 들어내고 청소하고 욕실은 락스로 깨끗하게 청소해서 항상 깨끗했어요. 여행사에서 일하는 나탈리 친구 덕분에 편하고 합리적인 가격으로 마추픽추 다녀올 수 있었어요.

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2016

    9.2
    The host Nataly is a friendly and nice person, staying here...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    No

    The host Nataly is a friendly and nice person, staying here is like staying in a friend's house. I feel very warm with Nataly and this hostal. The location is a bit up on hill but the view is just fantastic.

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2016

    10
    Best out of 3 hostels we tried in cusco.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Best out of 3 hostels we tried in cusco. Nataly is the best host ever. Felt like home. No unpleasent sounds nearby and close enough to the central plaza

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2016

    10
    Natalia is a spectacular host, the entire time we were there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Natalia is a spectacular host, the entire time we were there we felt at home. The views from her place are amazing and it won't fail to make you fall in love with Cusco. Our stay was unforgettable thanks to Natalia and the Chaska Kawarina. Will be back for sure

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2016

    9.6
    Nathalie is just an excellent host and she does everything...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Quite a lot of dogs around the place which sometimes behave aggressively.

    Nathalie is just an excellent host and she does everything possible to make you feel comfortable. Good breakfast, nice rooms and overall a great atmosphere. The place is also a 15min walk to the main square.

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2016

    6.7
    More of a home stay than a hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room did not have proper curtains meaning that privacy was lacking. The bathroom bins were left for a little too long and there was often no toilet roll. We only saw him once, but the hostel seems to have a dog who was quite aggressive and prevented us from entering the hostel - it took the family sometime to react and even then they did not remove the dog from the situation completely.

    More of a home stay than a hostel. The beds were comfortable enough, the bathrooms were fine and the family were friendly. The best bit is the view of Cusco, though it does leave it a little far from town. Fine for a night or two.

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2016

    10
    The view from Chaska Kawarina was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Nothing, everything was great at this relatively new hostel.

    The view from Chaska Kawarina was amazing. Location is convenient. Hostess was exceptionally kind and helpful and waited up at 4 AM with me for my tour. Breakfast was simple but delicious. Hostess was always willing to help and give advice on things to do and how to get to places.

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2015

    9.6
    Awesome staff and very friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    WiFi could be faster but was sufficient.

    Awesome staff and very friendly! Overall very nice hostal and very accommodating. Clean, hot water, and a light breakfast. Located right next to the popular Loki hostal. Quiet place to stay before a Machu Picchu visit or your other tours.

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2015

    9.2
    Nice place with stunning panoramic view on Cuzco.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice place with stunning panoramic view on Cuzco. Natalia, who runs the place is very helpful and friendly. She's open to advice and to chat. Thanks :)

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2015

    9.6
    Natalie, the hostess is awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Natalie, the hostess is awesome. It is located a block away from Loki hostel etc. but the location is superior as it offers a "Mirador" for the entire city and saksaywoman ruins and everything else that you would need to see in Cusco. A night's sleep here helped me overcome my 'soroche'.

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2015

    9.2
    Superb position and excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    The hotel is uphill the main square. Fantastic view of the city but (with luggage) it is better to reach it by taxi.

    Superb position and excellent service. Natalia, the hotel manager is super friendly. It is like to be at your home.

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2015

    8.3
    This accommodation revolves almost completely around the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Pillows were big and hard. - Location was decent but the last 50 meters was down a side street with lots of stray dogs.

    This accommodation revolves almost completely around the owner, Natalhy, and should mostly be viewed as a homestay with her and her family. This worked out great for us; we spent a lot of time talking to Natalhy (who really encouraged us to speak Spanish and shared her knowledge of Cusco). There was also a very cheerful "community" feeling with the other guests, glued together by Natalhy's radiant personality. On more concrete terms, WiFi was good and the showers properly hot (electric heater).

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2015

    10
    Very clean and cozy place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very clean and cozy place. The rooms are not big, but the living room and kitchen make your stay very comfortable. Walking distance to the center (15 mins), good WIFI, nice and helpful owner (her name is Natalia).

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2015

    9.6
    It's more like a homestay than a hostel, they made me...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    It was all great!

    It's more like a homestay than a hostel, they made me feel at home, it was great. They were very considerate, even turned the TV down so I can sleep after a long bus journey - a gesture I'd never encountered in Peru before.The bed was very comfortable although the pillows were quite hard. The shower was hot. The breakfast was plenty. The hostel is on top of a hill; the area is quiet at night and there are great views of the city from the door.

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2015

    8.8
    This is a really nice hostal with what is probably the best...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    This is a really nice hostal with what is probably the best view on the city of Cusco. You feel imediately welcome by the two very friendly and always helpful siblings who manage this hostal. I would recommend this place to any backpacker.

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2016

    7.5
    Can see the top view of Cusco
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends

    Slow Wifi and unstable

    Can see the top view of Cusco Breakfast is good Staff is really nice

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2016

    10
    It is like home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    It is like home. A really good and beautiful place. A awesome point of view on Cusco. Nathaly is the best friend you can have in town.

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2016

    9.2
    Natalia is really nice and helpful, good view of cusco even...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Natalia is really nice and helpful, good view of cusco even if it's mean some hard steps to get there! :) Thank you

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2016

    7.1
    Great view of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Far from city center. Single shower for 10+ people.

    Great view of the city. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2016

    10
    Really wonderful little spot .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nada

    Really wonderful little spot . Feels like a home in the hills

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2016

    8.8
    Friendly host, nice view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Friendly host, nice view.

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2015

    9.6
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Just the water is low in the shower

    Everything..especially the host is very accommodating yoI'll feel at home.

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 50

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: