Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Costa del Sol Wyndham Cajamarca 4 stars

Jr. Cruz de Piedra 707, Cajamarca Cajamarca, Peru

#5 of 43 hotels in Cajamarca

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 518 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff at reception should be trained better. They allotted us a room only to discover that the same room had been allotted to some other guest earlier. They changed our room. Check out was also unnecessarily prolonged. We had to convince the reception staff to apply the Booking.com confirmed rate in USD. She had charged us much more in Soles. Luis intervened to correct this. Be careful in billing.

    The location is excellent, its right at the corner of main square in Cajamarca. The hotel has well appointed rooms. The offer us complimentary Pisco Sour for each one of us- excellent. The manager Louis can speak english quite well and is very friendly and co-operative.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I asked for 2 more hours to check out (I needed to go to do my work and after that could come back and calmly checkout rather than rushing in the morning to do it), they said that they could only wait 1 hour at the most and after that they would charge me with half the night fee. This is the most expensive hotel in Cajamarca, I bet they could really wait 2 hours for me to have peace of mind and do the check out without worries and rushing to get there right on time so that they wouldn’t charge me more. Also, the shower was unclean when I first wanted to get a shower the next morning I arrived... it had other people’s hairs in it.

    Most of the staff was really nice and kind. The restaurant had really nice options. Food was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Even though I booked with several months in advanced; I was given a room that they know it's super heated by being next to the pool. They kindly changed me to a bigger room; however, this time it was next to a Karaoke room...so noisy, I could not sleep at all for all my stay.

    The staff was really helpful. The location superb!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I requested 2 room keys and had to go back to reception several times each day during our 4 days stay because the key cards didn't work. We also had wifi connection problems and had to request password codes several times.

    The staff service and location is the best.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff in the evening was not able to make a correct check-out: we payed at least 80 US$ to much overall - but we did't have any possibility to discuss longer (>30 min.), because our bus was leaving... This was the first time I was cheated in a hotel I booked at booking.com...

    The Hotel itselve was top: everything more than OK, just the staff on the desk in the evening destroyed the good impression totally....

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A receptionist told me that the rates shown in booking.com were not set by the hotel. According to this person they were going to charge me a completely different rate per night. When I asked another receptionist, she mentioned that the hotel does honor the rates display in booking.com.

    Their service was top notch. The staff was very helpful and friendly. They were always willing to go the extra mile for the customers.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel must have a topic 24 hrs in case if somebody like me at 8am have a terrible headache at some medication for the pain is a must to have it always available

    The hotel location is amazing next to the cathedral and in the heart of the downtown, the staf is amazing 😉 only one thing one day b fore I leave I had a terrible headache and I really need a pain killer pill and ask for one they told me yes they will came and bring it to me while I am having my breakfast the thing is the pill never arrived and I have to leave the hotel and look for that in the farmacy because the pain was really too much how ever when I finish my breakfast they realized that I didn't get my pill and they ask me if I still want it the reason why I asked is because I saw they have a topic in the lobby inside the hotel and is must to have at less any pain killer medication that was the only bad thing I can say about his hotel the rest was great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not helpful, promise to get you wifi codes then never show up. Also made a reservation for the hot tub, and they never showed up.

    Comfortable bed, nice towels

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a bit tired and quite dark. Food definitely needs to improve. Breakfast wasn't great. Neither was the pasta we had at the restaurant in the evening though the meals of some other diners looked better.

    Excellent location on the Plaza Mayor. Public spaces and restaurant setting are lovely.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No outside window in the room. Pool wasn't operational. Breakfast below average. Internet in business center frquently interrupted. Overpriced.

    The location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    This was clearly the nicest hotel in Cajamarca and so far as I could tell had the best restaurant in Catamarca. The hotel is on the main square and convenient for walking to all the main sights in the city

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The safe in our room didn't work and I guess the repair man couldn't fix it. The used coca tea cups were left to accumulate on the table in the lobby.The second night our beds were turned down and curtains drawn, why not on the first and third night? My chair in the bar had a loose armrest and the lighting under the bar was messy.Tiny things that make the difference between a four star and a three star hotel.

    The staff was very accommodating .They brought us an air conditioner right away, we felt very comfortable playing cards and drinking good Piso sours in the bar.The breakfast was good and varied.The shuttle to and from the airport was good. The rooms were a good size and quiet. We used the tour company recommended by the hotel for 3 great tours of Cajamarca area. They were all well organized, on time and with very knowledgeable and likeable guides.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast service is very slow. Always found used uncleaned tables, need to ask for glasses, dishes and napkins. Need to wait for juice and eggs to be refilled.

    Great location, facilities and food

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't know. Didn't see anything or observed or felt that I didn't like.

    Location Service cleanness Quite Everything was SUPER GOOD

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to improve the Breakfast, they put to much water in the juices

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in rooms

    Clean, good location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms was very small

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool look dirty so didnt swim

    The room was spacious

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of air conditioner. Cleaning products in the room caused headaches.

    Hospitality. Meeting rooms for business

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, really nice staff, big room, comfortable. Lovely view on the Plaza de Armas from the breakfast room/restaurant. Nice gym.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities are very dated, but well maintained

    Great location and very clean rooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb location on the plaza. Excellent breakfast buffet. Fast wifi connection.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Best location, in front of the main square. Good service of airport transfer was quite reliable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine

    Nice staff. We upgraded to a suite that overlooked the plaza and it was a very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff needs to be more friendly, especially at the front counter.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, very spacious and comfortable room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A great view on the plaza from the restaurant

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was brilliant, but I think the bar food could have been better for the price.

    I will be back before I know it I am sure.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the breakfast

    the sauna and bathtub in the room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no AC, and that was a bummer because it was actually rather hot. We had to open the one window that looks over the pool which meant choosing between melting in the room or enjoying some air but listening to all the noise from the pool area.

    Breakfast and the staff were wonderful. The location is perfect!

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Gym ( some machines didnt work) and bathroom (not enough bath suplements like two soaps or two shampoo were provided for a double room). The front desk girls could be nicer

    Very clean pool and sauna, delicious breakfast, awsome beds. Offer many great services. Kind cleaning and service personnel

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Internet System slow and strugles with many passwords

    Excellent Breakfast Excellent Cuisene Excellent Bar Courtesy chocolates The best Customer Service People are very kind

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We did not like the 10% extra charge for services because we never knew if the tips were included or not and what services were include in this 10%

    We loved the location, the restaurant and staff.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    They need to be more careful clening the bathroom, I found a tap of the shampoo bottle inside the pipe and thee walls of the shower were dirty with shampoo!

    Loation, breakfast and size of thee room were the best.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location is right at the main square couldn't be better. Breakfast was my best so far in Peru. The hotel has its own (free) shuttle bus service to/from the airport.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was too small and I´m 1.85

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location & service

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    N/a

    Absolutely lovely from when we got the keys. Will be back next time.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great location, decor beautiful. very peaceful and such a friendly staff. Staff very understanding when one person was not feeling well one day.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Comfortable bed! and amply room!

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Swimming pool was cold but jacuzzi is convenient.

    The rooms.

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No encontre algo que me disgusto.

    El personnel muy amable

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything about this hotel is great: staff, service, location, rooms and atmosphere. I love this hotel! It's worth this price!

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Family with older children

    Charging local phone calls.

    Staff Service.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was great!

    Stunning location and really helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Excellent hotel, very well located at the plaza mayor. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Locatieontwikkelaar, friendly personal

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Couple

    Que la piscina no sea temperada.

    La atención en general.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    no A/C in rooms

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    your services

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel was lovely & the staff was helpful. The location is fabulous, right next to the train & the bus, restaurants, etc.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing at all at this time!

    Walk around the main square at night and enjoy local bands performances at weekend.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was a party At night we were no adviced, it was noisy...

    Ubicuity

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    wifi wasn't working properly...should really fix it

    great friendly staff

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Browse Costa del Sol Wyndham Cajamarca traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: