Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Peru hotel reviews
  3. Madre de Dios hotel reviews
  4. Puerto Maldonado hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Wasai Puerto Maldonado Hostel

Reviews of Wasai Puerto Maldonado Hostel

Jr Billinghurst #136 Plaza Grau, Puerto Maldonado, Peru

#11 of 41 hotels in Puerto Maldonado

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 367 hostel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2019

    9.2
    The breakfast was really good, also so the pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The music from the bar was a little loud.

    The breakfast was really good, also so the pool. The rooms were big and modern with a big window. WiFi was totally fast!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2019

    9.2
    Nice hostel with amazing location directly at the Madre de...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The tours offered by the hostel are way more expensive than with a travel agency. But the chocolate tour is amazing and only offered by the hostel. Strongly recommended.

    Nice hostel with amazing location directly at the Madre de Dios River from where you can start to many tours. The swimmingpool is great and the whole building really nice.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2019

    8.3
    We loved the hostel, it was set in a Beautiful garden next...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a lot of insect, tiny little ants everywhere, also on beds, got in our bags and sweets. Also the bathroom was very old and shabby looking, But you are in the nature so I guess you have to count with such things, just prepare your self for that, but nothing that would make our stay uncomfortable

    We loved the hostel, it was set in a Beautiful garden next to a river, the pool was grest too. You only need to spend there one night though, the rest I would spend in their Tambopata lodge deeper in Amazonia, which was a great experience. If you could ask for Ivan-the tour guide, you’ll be rewarded with amazing tour and explanation of the nature and wild life. If ayahuasca than Jonathan he shaman. Oh and they have real sloth wandering around the property, we saw it several times during our stay and it was amazing experience . We just had the best time, thank you!!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    10
    pleasant all around
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 28 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loud music from other clubs near by well into night,early morning

    The balcony,free breakfast, good coffee..no bugs here. "j" at the front desk very helpful

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    9.6
    Great Place to spend a week in Puerto Maldonado
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We stayed 6 nights in 103 in the Hostel section. Whilst the building we were in was old its position with river views was great. It was very good value considering it was half the cost of a room in the Hotel section and we got to use all the common facilities. The breakfast included was good with as many cups of coffee as you wanted. The location was perfect and Sloths in our garden were an extra bonus. We enjoyed our stay and took two tours which were excellent although a bit expensive. The front desk organised a late checkout at a reasonable price. Can recommend it .

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    8.0
    We loved our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The walk stairs were uneven prone to miss and fall. I m sure it is the next thing to upgrade

    The original room had a water leak upon raining. I requested other room but none one to my satisfy. I requested the upgraded room in the hotel an it was wonderful, with ac, modern with access to a private patio in touch with nature

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    8.3
    Nice accommodation between river and city. With pool!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was fine! Maybe some additional sunbeds and shadowplaces at the pool.

    Good breakfast. Nice situated location direct at the river. Nice staff. Beautiful pool to relax.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable stay - a nice little gem in Puerto Maldonado!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was OK but not great - too many flies around.

    The hotel layout is very nice - bungalows scattered around a garden and small ponds. There is a swimming pool. The room was clean and comfortable with a balcony. There were no mosquitos!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    5.4
    Very dirty, wouldn't book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was dirty, especially the sheets of the beds. I had a shared room (room 201) and on the sheets were orange spots, and on more beds. I send a email with the pictures, the hostel said the spots were from thermits that have fallen from the roof. The said thank you for you message, it has help us to solve the problem. I didnt get any apology/sorry because the room was dirty.

    The location, thats it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    3.8
    Such loud traffic noise from bridge over river not able to sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was impossible to sleep. The room we stayed in is situated almost underneath the road bridge across the river. The traffic noise went on all night and even with earplugs it was impossible to get any level of sleep. Also the bed was a mattress put on top of a concrete base and a wooden pallet and was not comfortable. The least I expect from accommodation is that I can sleep and this was not possible here.

    Pleasant grounds, jungle feel with pool ( did not use pool)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    10
    A great stay in Puerto Maldonado!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although wifi is available and free, it does not reach all rooms and is very slow/patchy at times

    We stayed in a private hostel room. The grounds and the rooms at the Wasai are beautiful. It’s a safe place for tourists with very friendly and helpful staff. We got to see lots of wildlife at the Wasai - sloth, agouti, turtles and birds!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful hostal surrounded by nature and animals
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Much noise at Night due to a club down the River as most of the windows at rooms simply exist of wooden frames and mosquito net instead of glass. Paying with visa includes extra charge like 5 % of the amount to Be paid.

    The staff was very friendly. We Could easily change rooms at 11pm at night from a room where you could not sleep due to noise from a club down at the river to a another room where the Noise from the Club was Not that bad (this room had stable proper windows).You can easily See the 4 sloths hanging in the trees at the hostal, turtles and a Kind of bigger pig which swims in the water.The view to the River is Great and breakfast was fantastic ( two Kinds of fresh juice, joghurt, all kinds of eggs, Apple, orange, papaya, pineapple, milk (not powder), jam, 2 Kinds of bread, dip, Tortilla). The Place in General is very nice with the Pool, the view and the nature around.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2018

    7.1
    Pool area and the sloths
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed quite unconfy. No hot water and light turned off, nobody said sorry but they handled it. No hammocks Shares rooms seems to be a bit left alone, also the bathrooms.

    Pool area and the sloths Restaurant is good and not expensive Staff is friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2018

    8.8
    Relax, adventure, warm jungle feeling!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy, all the windows are made of musquitomase, so all the noise from outside or neighbours enter the rooms. But this is compared with the naturenoises,... 😏

    The swimmingpool !!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2018

    9.2
    The pool, sloth hanging out in the palm tree, restaurant on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were there during a rain storm and the wind blew water into our room all night, getting our suitcases wet.

    The pool, sloth hanging out in the palm tree, restaurant on site was amazing and affordable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    10
    Excellent location in Puerto Maldonado, with a gorgeous...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location in Puerto Maldonado, with a gorgeous garden inside thats full of local animals like spider monkeys and sloths. I happened to have a whole dorm room to myself during my stay which was awesome. I got advice on nearby restaurants from the tourism desk, and the front desk kindly held my bag after my check-out since my bus wasn’t until the evening. Love it here!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    9.2
    Absolutely brilliant
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There are quite a few steps to go up and down so people with mobility challenges will find it a bit difficult. A bit of noise from the boats on the river, but it can't be helped.

    The location is brilliant, the staff very friendly and attentive and the rooms very clean with fresh towels and cleaning service everyday

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    8.3
    Room with jungle feeling
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff could have been nicer. I asked for the sharing bus to get to the airport the lady at the reception confirmed and apparently even added it on the system, next day there was no bus at all, even when I mentioned that I'm waiting for the bus the guy didn't even bother to check, so after like 10min I asked and he stated there's no bus....would have been nice to double-check straight away instead of letting me wait half an hour...

    The room had an amazing view! Right in front of an open window (only mosquito net) there were loads of palms and trees which I really loved! The sunrise was also amazing to see, so try to make it once ;)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    10
    The second time we stayed at this property we got a free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, everything was perfect

    The second time we stayed at this property we got a free upgrade to a more luxurious room with air conditioning. The Hotel also provided a free transport to the airport. We were amazed by their kindness.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    9.6
    This is the review of the "bungalows" .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no air condinitioning, however there is a fan which was enough for us.

    This is the review of the "bungalows" .The place is gorgeous, fantastic view with a sloth passing by from time to time. The location is right on the river. Rooms are basic and clean, breakfast was fine as well. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    6.3
    Would prefer to stay in a lodge for a more complete Amazon experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room backed onto public gathering area, which made it noisy and lack privacy. Structure of floor feels unsafe. Timber step broke near reception as I was walking on it, lucky to avoid injury. Organiser of tours was not available on Sunday when we arrived. Other reception staff could not help with your information.

    Cheap. Close to main square for opportunity to book tours. Large room. Cleaned daily.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    6.3
    ok for a single night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is at the base of the hill, down more than 100 steps. Mosquito netting walls are broken so ineffective. No wifi in rooms - have to climb up those steps each time to use it!

    The hostel is co-located with the hotel, however you do tend to feel like a 2nd class citizen. Expensive for what you get, although as not many people staying I did have a room to myself. Sloths in the trees are wonderful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    8.8
    This place is really special!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There are no glass windows in the room just mesh nets which obviously make it nice and cool but if you’re not a fan of nature or feeling a little exposed to the elements, it may not be for you

    We stayed in the hostel part of the Lodge and was great value for money. The lodge feels so authentic and is completely immersed in nature with beautiful plants, trees and animals everywhere you turn!! There is apparently a family of sloths who live in the trees although we couldn’t find them on the day we stayed but we saw wonderful birds. It’s a perfect little Oasis in the heart of Puerto Maldonado.! The view from our balcony overlooking the river was amazing and it was equipped with deck chairs and a table. Bed was comfortable enough, water was like warm but fine for a quick shower- kind of expected given the rustic feel. Breakfast was lovely, lots of choice of cold meats, cheese, some local dishes, pastries

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    9.2
    Unique jungle experience with sloths in the trees :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's some work that needs doing - like some plaster work etc.. on the walls but nothing that really mattered (to us anyway!)

    This hotel was incredible, probably once of the most unique places we have ever stayed! We were lucky to get an upgrade to one of the hotel rooms with a view of the river and air con. It's a little ramshackle round the edges but the 'jungle' style is fantastic and we had the privilege of seeing a family of three sloths in the trees :) Perfect treat after staying in one of the more basic lodges within the reserve

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    6.3
    Ok if you can get it at a decent price. Nice hotel, but disappointing room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was dirty and looked unfinished, no hot water.

    Nice location, swimming pool, marina in the hotel, nice view. Restaurant was nice and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    8.3
    Great central location for trips to the Amazon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast is basic but reflected in the price of the hostel, they’d run out of certain bits on our first day. The twice daily yoga class that was advertised as free for hostel guests never happened over our 2 day stay.

    Great central location for trips to the Amazon. Plenty of restaurants and coffee shops within walking distance. Great views from the pool across the river and the Billinghurst bridge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    8.3
    Good option if you stay in the city and want a bit of a jungle feeling
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I think we were really unlucky with the room because instead of a double room we got a triple room that was facing a little plaza which was then of course a bit noisy.

    The other rooms had balconies and a nice view of the river further inside the premises, where it is very green and has a bit of a jungle lodge feeling to it. They also have sloths roaming in the tree tops around the premises. The breakfast is okay and the restaurant has good food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    10
    the best place to stay in Puerto Maldonado. Amazing breakfast and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A plus : a couple of sloths live in the trees of the hotel and I could see them from my window! The view from the pool on the river is very relaxing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    5.8
    There were lots of animals which were cool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They had me move rooms after one night because they had put me in the wrong room the day before. They came in around 7 am which was very early. There were rats in the first room and they got into candy I was going to bring home. The tours were pricey for what they were. I didn't get a key to my new room and the second morning people were in my room changing the lock on the door at 8 am. There was only wifi upstairs and no breakfast included.

    There were lots of animals which were cool. The location is fantastic and most of the staff were very friendly. The grounds were beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    5.0
    great view, wildlife
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the hotel rooms are probably nice but the dorm room was a huge dissapointment! - there are really uncomfortable and old beds falling apart, a plank from the bed above me fell on me in the night! - there was no light on the toilet; wasn't possible to flush it properly so you get to see what a person before you left there. - no hot water - breakfast is extra S/20! you can get it cheaper anywhere in the city centre - wifi only in the common area

    great view, wildlife

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    5.0
    great view of the river, wildlife
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel rooms are probably nice but the dorm room was a huge dissapointment! - there are really uncomfortable and old beds falling apart, a plank from the bed above me fell on me in the night! - there was no light on the toilet; wasn't possible to flush it properly so you get to see what a person before you left there. - no hot water - breakfast is extra S/20! you can get it cheaper anywhere in the city centre

    great view of the river, wildlife

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    7.9
    They had yoga classes and the breakfast was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff weren't very friendly and didn't speak English so felt like we were putting them out when asking for anything

    They had yoga classes and the breakfast was very nice. Twin room had 2 double beds that were comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    7.1
    The view out of the hostel room was just perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately there is no locker in the room. Also no breakfast included and if you want one its pretty expensive. Also the water in the shower was cold, but because of the warm weather not that big problem.

    The view out of the hostel room was just perfect. Directly to the Río Madre and the bridge. Also the pool was perfect, it was never crowded. Almost every time I was the only person swimming.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    10
    Wanted to stay forever :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wasai Puerto Maldonado Hostel has so much to offer for every category of travelers from economy to luxury. It has great ambiance, location, services, exceptional breakfast and fantastic care with private tours. You can also find 3 sloths "running" up and down their trees.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2018

    9.6
    Staff were super friendly, eco-friendly practices around,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were super friendly, eco-friendly practices around, room was incredible, hot water, delicious free breakfasts, great wifi in the lounge decking area. Overall great experience!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2018

    8.8
    The staff were super friendly and helpful, especially Corrie!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were super friendly and helpful, especially Corrie! She gave us lots of advice on what to see and stayed late to take us on a tour. Also, the location was great and breakfast was amazing!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    8.3
    A great stepping stone from the Western world into the edge of the jungle...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It would have been extra helpful to have a water filter onsite so that the reduction of plastic waste could be initiated. They say eco resort but other then the kitchen composting I found the company itself puts little consideration into environmental approach to hospitality.

    The continental breakfast was Fantastic!, the tour staff were incredibly helpful and patient, front desk people were always available. I loved the walkway gardens and relaxing in the lounge, the wifi worked extremely well and it was smack dab in the middle of town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful place with friendly staff, but poorly organized.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check-in time is 1PM, not 11.30AM, like it's said in Booking. They said it's always been wrong. Still we had to wait 2.30PM until we got our room. They offered us some juice and small lunch. All three pillows in our room had mold. It was hard to get our stuff from safetybox at sunday evening, as the staff didn't spoke much english and seemed that they didn't know where the safetybox is.

    Pool area, sloths, garden, location. Stuff was friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    9.2
    Great place from which to explore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a bit noisy on Friday and Saturday night with music from club and karaoke bar.

    There was a sloth that visited the tree directly outside our window every morning. Also the food in Wasai restaurant was exceptional.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2017

    10
    Saturday staff very helpful and spoke english
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sunday morning 05.00 - 11.30 no electricity due to maintainance work in the city. No water in our room sunday staff no english. could have let us use other room which had water for a shower

    Saturday staff very helpful and spoke english

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2017

    10
    Amazing lodge with excellent breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although in some rooms there are probably mosquito nets, there wasn't any in the dorm, so check or bring one to be sure!

    Excellent breakfast. Very helpful staff - they called to confirm where I should take my bus (there was some confusion about this). Lovely dorm with view on the river.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2017

    5.0
    Probably wouldn't stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't get keys to our room - it was always unlocked and there wasn't anywhere to lock our stuff inside as well. I had the room at the bottom of the resort and shared the washroom with the pool area - it wasn't cleaned once while I was there.

    Great location and price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2017

    8.8
    It is a really nice place with a lot of greenery and sloths...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The electricity did not work from time to time. There are no glass windows (very common in Puerto Maldonado) but a net so the smallest insect could still get inside your room. Wi-fi works only close to reception and it is not really fast. They do not have an extra computer which can be used by tourists (we had to do the transfer of money immediately but it was impossible to do it by phone. They did not even know where we can find internet cafe).

    It is a really nice place with a lot of greenery and sloths hanging from the trees (awesome!). The room we had booked was part of the hostel. It was a basic room with no air conditioner but with a ventilator. Very tasty and varied breakfast. The swimming pool was nice and refreshing. The tv had a lot of programs but t was not working correctly and the remote control was not working either

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2017

    7.1
    Rooms are very large with a nice view, breakfast had many...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I think it's prohibited for the staff to laugh and be polite. They just do their job without showing any sign of joy or emotion. Also, we arrived at 12.45, check-in was at 13.00 and were told to wait for 15min because we were too early. There was no hot water.

    Rooms are very large with a nice view, breakfast had many options and was one of the better we've had in Peru.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2017

    9.2
    Complete site of the lodge is incredible beautiful with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would be nice to have a mosquito net in Puerto Maldonado Lodge aswell, lots of mosquitos there.

    Complete site of the lodge is incredible beautiful with a cute sloth living there :) We did a jungle trip organized by the lodge with 2 nights stay in their Tambopata Eco Lodge in the middle of the jungle .. kind of paradise there :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    8.8
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is great an enough. Beds are very comfortable. Rooms were not to loud. Wifi is not really good in the rooms. On the terrace it´s better. Pool is nice with nice view over the bridge from the Transoceánica and the river Madre de Dios. Nice accomodation with much wood and plants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2017

    9.6
    Perfect balance between wild and comfort e.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Water is quite expensive, didn't eat in the restaurant as vegetarian/vegan options weren't great but there is a great place in the square for that!

    Perfect balance between wild and comfort e.g we had a large spider in our room first night and they sent someone straight down to get it out!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2017

    6.7
    Nice room and pool but very disappointing service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were absolutely terrible. Grumpy and rude with minimal English. Also you couldn't order any drinks outside the restaurant area, or anything extra really. if I had been staying in the hotel and not the hostel I would have been really angry that I had paid for a hotel and been treated in such a way. One day I handed in my handbag for safe keeping and for a while when I tried to retrieve it it seemed as if they had lost it because no one knew where it was kept - certainly not in the safe!! The tours from Wasai are extremely expensive. You are much better off walking down the road and finding a tour agency which will cost you 1/3 of the price. Breakfast was included which is nice but it was repetitive and often no coffee, no more eggs etc and the waiter clearly did not want to be there. Pity because it could be a really nice place with a bit of effort and better management.

    Comfortable beds. Great location to explore the town and the surrounding national parks from. Nice swimming pool. Towels included which is unusual for a hostel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    10
    Great stay, wish we were there longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food in the hotel restaurant could be improved. The restaurant over the road, which belongs to the same owners, is a hundred times better.

    Great location and amazing feeling of an eco lodge in the middle of a city, without any noise from the city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2017

    9.6
    Perfect stay in Puerto Maldonado (:
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were completely surprised as we arrived at the Hostel. The staff was friendly, the room was amazing with a view to the river and the garden. They even had a beautiful pool and probably the best breakfast i had in Peru so far. And yes, of course the cuute sloths in the garden made it even better. Perfect opportunity to stay in Puerto Maldonado! (:

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2017

    10
    Wonderful place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A really special place right by the river. The staff are great and can arrange trips into the jungle but the garden is like a mini jungle itself - saw a sloth and agoutis wild right next to my room. I had a lovely room with a balcony overlooking the river. The pool also overlooks the river and is clean and fresh. Breakfast is ample and includes eggs and a wide range of fruit. I would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2017

    10
    I was allowed into my room well before official check in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was allowed into my room well before official check in time. Everybody that worked there was happy and friendly. I was made to feel at home. Sunrise was very special. The pool was great to cool down. I had breakfast and dinner at the restaurant and the food was superb. Should I return to Puerto Maldonado I would not hesitate in staying there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2017

    8.3
    Lush jungle feel in town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. Everything has been great!

    The river front view!! You feel like you're in the jungle with the lush gardens that the rooms are nestled inside of. Natural setting! Very, very happy here!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic location, real jungle experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A big deciding factor of booking this property was their 'year round' pool! When we arrived, we noticed that building works were going on next to the pool. Our room was located just under the pool and therefore was very loud with the drilling. The reception immediately corrected this by moving our room which we were very grateful for. However, the pool renovation was only meant to last another day. It lasted our whole 6 day stay and concrete etc was falling into the water and wasn't safe to swim. The last 2 days they had to empty the pool so we couldn't use it at all. The builders would start work at 7am!!! Which isn't fair in our opinion to paying guests that may want to sleep in and relax and it didn't stop until the evening. I would recommend that they notify guests ahead of time if this is happening in the future.

    We had a wonderful stay at Wasai! The location is FANTASTIC! The staff are lovely and knowledgable and offer great additional experiences such as Amazon Jungle treks and Cayman boat rides! They made every effort to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. The restaurant is great and the breakfast is plentiful. I would highly recommend them to any other guests!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2017

    9.6
    The room was beautiful and the best sleep of our stay in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some construction on the pool with loud music being played, ruined the ambience some days. Staff could learn about onward transport as some advice we received was inaccurate.

    The room was beautiful and the best sleep of our stay in Peru. The setting is also beautiful, by the river amongst the trees. The manager was very helpful and the tour options were great. Breakfast was fantastic and varied. The shower was good pressure and warm. Really lovely communal areas.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2017

    9.2
    This premises is actually an eco lodge with some hostel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dorm rooms locate exactly on the river bank so a lot of mosquitos. Also the bathroom and toilet are filthy with faulty water tanks.

    This premises is actually an eco lodge with some hostel facilities, so it has more private rooms than dorm rooms. I really like the pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2017

    9.6
    stay at least a day extra just to enjoy all the facilities of this hostel !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    - charming room with splendid view - luxurious breakfast - swimming pool day and night - all rooms (lodges) are located in a garden, much like a private rainforest - 3 sloths in the tree tops !! and a baby turtle in the water - free towels available for shower and seperate ones for swimming pool - many places to relax

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2017

    9.2
    Amazing lodge facility and restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast wasn't ready until 7:30, but worth the wait.

    The property is super cute, a great welcome to the Amazon. Awesome views, large rooms, restaurant on site is excellent value for dollar and delicious. The relaxing space, between the poolside and upper patio, were our favourite parts.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2017

    9.6
    Great location, helpful staff, beautifull surraundings on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The dorms are dusty

    Great location, helpful staff, beautifull surraundings on the riverbank. This hostel is part of the Wasai Hotel. Great breakfast included. There's a sloth family living in the garden!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2017

    8.3
    Good for the price, great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was only a grid to protect you from the elements, no windows. So it kept the bugs out, but not the rain. The pool was also a little green, so I gave it a pass. Those were small details however in an otherwise pleasant stay.

    The staff were brilliant: I had a noisy room at first and they switched me to a bigger quieter room no questions asked. They also drove me to the latam officies when I had difficulties checking in. The rooms are what you would expect for that price and as a bonus you get killer views of the river!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2017

    9.6
    We loved the atmosphere, like you were already in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed two different times during our time in the area. One of the rooms had a toilet that was not working properly.

    We loved the atmosphere, like you were already in the rainforest but you are still right there in the town. The breakfast was pretty good and the staff were all nice and very helpful. I loved that they had a pool but it does need som maintenance. The views from the room were very nice. It was very good value and we would stay here again if we were in the area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2017

    9.6
    Live the jungle
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom door not closing well and noisy and night, but not major deals

    Breakfast was really good, nice facilities despite of being in the middle of the jungle and very friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2017

    8.8
    Good breakfast, friendly staff, nice resort feel and close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some ants in room but largely to be expected in lodge

    Good breakfast, friendly staff, nice resort feel and close to centre of town and most tours, room size etc was really good value for money and a lovely feel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2017

    9.2
    a good place to discover pto maldonado
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very noisy from road and load music from local clubs all night. Electricity needs updating in rooms..sockets loose. In our room the curtains were seethrough

    Swimming pool a bonus. Central location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2017

    8.8
    In th
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Huge room,huge bed, huge window overlooking the river, surrounded by lush plants and exotic flowers. Many choices for breakfast,like very much the freshly pressed papaya,pineapple and melon juice. Staff provided detailed informations on the ATM,post office,and taxi to airport.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    8.8
    Good cbetral location by the river
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Swimming pool was a bit dirty and lacking sun beds

    Location and vie on the river

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2019

    9.2
    Great location next to the river
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Swimming pool area could have some nice chairs abd sun beds. Swimming pool could be better. Taken care of.

    Location, view from the room, swimming pool

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2019

    5.8
    Its downtown close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Its very noisy i could hardly sleep even with earplugs. Its under the Big Bridge

    Its downtown close to everything

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    8.8
    Nice Hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hostel nice. Puerto Maldonado town itself not nice place to stay. Good location on River. Good value for money and staff very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2018

    8.8
    Great location, jungle vibe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bit noisy, no warm shower (in our room)

    Great location, jungle vibe

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    9.2
    Impressed with this place... made puerto Maldonado a treat..
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location, good views, pool.... felt like a haven ...

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    8.8
    The architecture in the middle of nature!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The architecture in the middle of nature!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2018

    8.8
    Nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not so much interaction with other guests.

    Nice breakfast. Nice swimming pool.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    9.2
    Near the centre which was helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Near the centre which was helpful. I booked a dorm for 4 people and I had the whole room to myself!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    10
    Everything :))
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Everything :))

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Wasai Puerto Maldonado Hostel Traveler Photo Gallery