Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort 4 stars

BP 6, Bora Bora, Nunue Vaitape, 98730 Bora Bora, French Polynesia

#17 of 20 hotels in Bora Bora

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 198 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 66

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    This is a 4 star hotel and anyone that is looking for...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Bungalow with King Bed - Overwater
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilets at the restaurant were not too clean and they needed maintenance.

    This is a 4 star hotel and anyone that is looking for something more will be disappointed. As a 4 star it was perfect. I was in a superior overwater bungalow and it was big, clean and with amazing views. Everything in the minibar was free, we had a free bottle of champagne and fruits and sweets at check in and they gave us pareos as gifts. Every evening they would bring macarons in the room and additional water. When we checked in as it was early in the morning they offered us breakfast. The staff and especially the manager were super nice and helpful. The restaurant had prices same as outside restaurant. Bora Bora is expensive, wherever you go and whatever activity you want to do. The beach is beautiful. Overall everything was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.5
    Paradise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with King Bed - Overwater
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The french guy at the beach place was very rude, unfriendly and unpolite. He did not want to give us towels for the beach on our last day, and his answer was VERY rude. His name Feraud Fanel. All local staff on the other hand was great! Not happy with him at all!

    The location and local staff! Great theme nights! Quite place!!! Paradise!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    Came here for honeymoon
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very limited and no variety. All the same day in day out. Booked activities, were not very organised Room was quite small. Pretty pricey

    Free upgrades, very attentive, discounts and free transfer given by hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing atmospher
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff is very friendly and they helped us a lot. The Garden Bungalows are nice and the facilities too. During our stay in July, it was very quiet and we could enjoy the relaxing atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    5.4
    A beautiful location with coral reefs, hotel beach bungalows in need of renovation, expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Bungalow - Beach Front
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is very tired looking and in need of the planned renovation. Whilst recognising that Bora Bora will always be expensive, the price is extremely high for the quality offered currently.

    Location a paradise, with crystal clear water. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.1
    Vernoique on the activities desk was very good at organising...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Apart from the afore mentioned staff, (Hiro and Veronique) the management staff at reception area were terrible and seemed to have no idea how to do anything. We were told by one receptionist that she wouldn't recommend any restaurants to us as her job was to book what we wanted, not helpful when you are a tourist. We were also told lots of false information. ie. your taxi is here, then it turns up 30 minutes later. and no one seemed to know which restaurants were open or closed when Veronique was not around. Every time we asked for something simple, i.e. soap for our room we had to go back and chase it up as they either forgot to organise it or just plain didn't bother. Contrast this with Hiro, who had the self thinking to just get it straight when we asked rather than make us wait 45 minutes. The hotel is also rather old and dated and in dire need of a refurbishment. Taking into account it is on the lower priced end of places on bora bora, I still would expect better conditioned rooms. I understand a refurb is in the pipeline, so hopefully this fixes this issue.

    Vernoique on the activities desk was very good at organising trips and activities, nothing was too much for her and she was very knowledgeable. Hiro on Reception was also very good. House keeping and maintenance staff were very good. Our bungalow was very clean and a good size. Had a nice big bathroom. The breakfast included was good and had lots of variety. The location of the hotel is very good. We ate at the onsite restaurant a couple of times and it was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful location, very welcoming staff, but poor management and communication. We will not return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked this stay because we specifically wanted to spend a whole day relaxing at the spa. There is no spa. We also wanted to sleep in late as it was our honeymoon. We were not provided with a ‘do not disturb’ sign so we were rudely woken up one morning before breakfast to see if we wanted our mini fridge restocked. The restaurant menu states that room service is provided overnight so we planned for a late dinner. We tried to order food at 9:45pm but the kitchen was closed and had to go without dinner that night.

    Beautiful location, friendly staff, food was delicious! We also enjoyed the entertainment.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    4.2
    Avoid unless you're staying for the price of a low-cost hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Bungalow - Over Water
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Checkin and Concierge experience. Room in very poor condition (broken door, smelly bathroom, etc...). The hotel will be undergoing a renovation, but that does not justify its current state.

    Waiting staff for breakfast/lunch/dinner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful view.
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with King Bed - Overwater
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Lots of dust dropped down from the roof of the bungalow, everyday. - The staff are generally friendly and polite, except one staff from the breakfast team who had sploit all our breakfast for no reason.

    Beautiful view. Great bar and restaurant for lunch and dinner. Fast response from reception.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.5
    Unforgettable honeymoon in Bora Bora! 🐠
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow - Beach Front
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet connection was very poor and there was no connection at all in some places. If you are staying in a bungalow at beach front, you must get friends with lizards in the room.

    Coral garden right in front of our bungalow was precious! The staff is smiling and willing to help at all times! The outdoor activities were easy to manage from the hotel. Maururu 😊

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lizards,,,a few more towels, only 2 bath 2 hand 1 face...plus swimming towels 2...very clean,,, we enjoyed our stay excellent 4 what we paid, breakfast icluded

    Bed great, room great,quiet, only thing was lizard making noise,,,like kissing...but other guest thought them cute..not me,,food excellent...u get wonderful mini bar free each day,,,even a beer,,cakes

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.9
    Great place to stay if you need a relaxing holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with King Bed - Overwater
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That they didn't change the bedsheets and pillow covers everyday. They didn't smell fresh, there were also bugs everyday

    The staff was really amazing and friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.2
    Just perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with King Bed - Overwater
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We did run into two issues with our room, which we believe are not common at all. They were fixed immediately and the staff went out of their way to compensate on that and make sure our stay in the hotel remains perfect.

    Everything. Minibar is free, breakfast is great, snorkeling equipment and a kayak can be hired free of charge. The facility offers everything you may need. We had a treatment at the spa which was very good. There is Polynesian dance performance in the restaurant 2-3 times a week, which was super fun. The location is great too - very close to the famous Coral Gardens (you can kayak there yourself for free), 10 minutes walk from Matira beach, and a grocery store for stocking up. On top of all, the staff is just excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    This was, hands down, the most beautiful resort I have ever experienced.
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with King Bed - Overwater
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Every part of our experience at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach was magical. The location of this property is straight out of a dream and the staff could not have been more accommodating during our stay. The breakfast was FABULOUS! We will definitely be back!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.3
    Mmostly everything was outstanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When paying a lot of money, you have expectations. The internet was aweful, and I mean aweful. I have had to miss out on certain business meetings because of the laging internet and have accumulated other expences because I couldnt access the net in time. Other then that, there are no other issues to mention.

    Mmostly everything was outstanding. For one, the service was outstanding. Whether it be breakfast, lunch or any other types of assistance, service was always provided with a smile. Also, the selection of foods, especially for breakfast, that was impressive. Keep up the great work. Otherwise all in all, Id give this place a good 8.8 out of 10.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful stay but service can be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with King Bed - Overwater
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough staff. They're running in every direction and we keep waiting for them because they are overwhelmed.

    Beautiful location, comfortable room and excellent breakfast! Boat rental just next door which is very convenient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    10
    Perfection
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff here, especially Anita and Emma made our stay. We loved everything about the island and the resort. You can walk to other restaurants and bars as well as the best beach on the island, not that there is anything wrong with the one at the hotel. Breakfast was wonderful. We cannot wait to return!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful dream
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Bungalow - Over Water
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a very expensive place to stay, but the it worths every single penny.

    Everything was just perfect! The hotel team do all their efforts to make your staying perfect. The resort has even an ice machine that you can use for make your drinks if you have yourself beverages. Breakfast and the food at the restaurants were just amazing. The place seems like a beaultiful dream.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    9.6
    Perfect place for a rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Meals at the restaurant were average. We were met at the airport by a random person who it turned out did NOT work for Sofitel but had our name and was waiting for us at the Sofitel stand. He tried to rip us off with expensive boat transfer and taxi etc. There is obviously a security leak somewhere because only Booking.com and Sofitel knew we were coming.

    Everything, big comfortable bed, great beach and pool, awesome staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.2
    Good location helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is very very helpful. Our flight was one day delay, and he helped us to cancel the previous night without a charge. Walking distance to matira beach. Reasonable price in bora bora.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    5.4
    Kids not allowed on private island!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Private island doesn't allow kids, so we knew once there we were not able to cross and meet the island (website does not say anything). Be prepared to sleep with the sound of rosters from 2 am until 6 am!! Personnel is not trained as you can expect from a 4 stars hotel, except the manager. Hotel needs mantainance to keep it in better safety conditions.

    Hotel is nice, with bungaloos and lot of green. We had several problems that were quickly resolved by the excellent hotel manager.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    9.2
    Paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with King Bed - Overwater
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On some reason they did upgreaded as into private island and it Was amazing. Beautiful place and different things to do excample snorkeling, stand up padle, kayaking and free shuttle to Marara beach resort when ever you wanted. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    8.8
    We recommend Le Meridien!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with King Bed - Overwater
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were always helpful, but it was often hard to have a conversation with them in the evenings due to the proximity of the very loud music in the adjacent bar area.

    Beautiful grounds, excellent food at the restaurant by the water.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    8.8
    Bora Bora Sofitel Marara Exploration
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Bungalow with King Bed - Overwater
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet was not working in the bangalow I stayed at. I reported it but it was never fixed. Really disappointing as WiFi really is needed.

    The staff at this resort is really fantastic... welcoming, smiling all the time, willing to chat with you and interact with you... very nice! I mean, every single member of the staff I met (reception, concierge, housekeeping, the breakfast staff, the bar staff, the porters... Anne and Yuki from China were great, Anita the concierge was really nice too, and Muriel at Reception... etc.). The hotel's location is very good, as it is close to Matira Beach and Vaitape town. Also, great if you want to reach the shore excursions' offices/locations and the restaurants in Vaitape Village. The pool and the beach at the hotel were very cool and fun to be at!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    7.5
    Very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with King Bed - Overwater
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The internet was sooo slow . The gym was soo bad, the worst gym we have ever seen. Some people came in looked and walked out. Not cleaned. Hard to even call it a gym...Not so nice to snorkel. You had to buy a daypass to go to Sofitel Private Island.

    Bora Bora is fantastic. The staff was very nice. The room was nice. Very nice breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.3
    Great location, great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water for the first 3 days, but we got compensation

    Great location, great staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    Our overwater bungalow was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Bungalow - Over Water
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet connection was very poor.

    Our overwater bungalow was amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    The bungalow
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No gym

    The bungalow The pool The corals

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast incredible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Bungalow - Over Water
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All great

    Breakfast incredible. Room amazing People and all the staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    4.2
    Won’t be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with King Bed - Overwater
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning wasn’t working. Had to move our room. Needs overall refurbishment

    Very outdated and needs a lot of work.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    It was just a dream !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with King Bed - Overwater
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi is slow

    Absolutely amazing!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    This place is paradise !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with King Bed - Overwater
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it’s perfect !!!

    Everything it’s just paradise !!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    10
    Gorgeous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with King Bed - Overwater
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location and well worth the money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    6.7
    Lovely. Over water huts may be over rated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Bungalow - Over Water
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pricey for what you got

    Soriah was fantastic at concierge.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Boar Bora
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with King Bed - Overwater
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of vegetarian food options

    The location was fantastic

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.9
    Wifi was horrible didn't work 95% of the time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow - Beach Front
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was horrible didn't work 95% of the time

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.1
    nice unit and food was good, clear sea water for swimming in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Bungalow - Over Water
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it was ok

    got there late but keep open restaurant for us as it was closing soon after we got there, nice staff but were not there long

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay $126for boat trip back to the airport

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    7.1
    Too expensive for a dated resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The place was too expensive and dated.

    Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    9.6
    Very good resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Bungalow with King Bed - Overwater
    • Stayed 5 nights

    prices of the food and drinks

    Personall and facilities

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Bungalow - Over Water
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hugely comfy bed and great room, excellent buffet breakfasts. Restaurant and pool area right on healthy reef

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    10
    A dream come true!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with King Bed - Overwater
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A dream come true! We can't wait to go again.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    6.3
    We enjoyed the great customer service - we received a warm...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was dark and wasn't very clean. Dust on the large window sills and bedsheets and pillows had a damp smell which was not pleasant. No minibar in the room which was not expected given the price we paid for an overwater bungalow.

    We enjoyed the great customer service - we received a warm welcome from the boat pickup and the welcome staff at the hotel were great. Restaurant staff were always greeting us with big smiles. Snorkeling around our overwater bungalow was great - saw lots of fish and the coral was decent. The breakfast was pretty good - Wide assortment of pastries and tasty sausages and eggs. The resort prepared a special happy anniversary dessert for us on our first night which was a nice gesture as we had added in our booking comments we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. It was also great to be close to a convenience store approx. 10 minute walk away to stock up on snacks and soft drinks.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    7.9
    Very comfortable and spacious bungalows.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quite dark decor in the bungalows and noisy air conditioning. We ended up turning the AC off and leaving the ceiling fan going at night, although the resultant temperature was a little less comfortable for a night's sleep.

    Very comfortable and spacious bungalows. Those over water are definitely worth the extra money as you can swim and snorkel right from your balcony. Food is excellent. Staff very happy and welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    7.5
    The bungalow was fantastic and so were the corals just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything is much too expensive, food,drinks and excursions. The hotels private island is inaccesible for hotel guests !!!

    The bungalow was fantastic and so were the corals just underneath .

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    5.0
    The pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi very slow and sometimes impossible to acces. Abundance of wildlife in our bungalow. Buffet breakfast pretty poor and not fresh at times. Menu selection poor in latitude restaurant and bar/ no variety. Got to resort at 11 for for a 2pm checkin was told continually your room was almost ready we got to our room at 230pm so the day was wasted at reception. Housekeeping was hit and miss 8 nights stay room was only made up 4 out of the total 8. Fridge in minibar was something out of the 80s and didn't work properly. Paid 50,000 xpf for a New Year's Eve soirée the buffet for the event was below average for the money paid

    The pool

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    6.3
    Most staff are friendly and helpful, but some are not very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dinner in Latitude was terrible, the duck breast was hard like stone. Snacks in bar are better. I also stayed in other hotels, and I would prefer to spend more money to stay in hotel on the lagoon side.

    Most staff are friendly and helpful, but some are not very nice.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    9.6
    Staff were friendly, arrival was excellent, use of local...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Receiving an add on at check out because the hotel was claiming environmental responsibility. They were not working at it hard enough to justify the add on.

    Staff were friendly, arrival was excellent, use of local water excellent.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    8.3
    All staffs are well trained and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Don't waste money on buffet in Latitude 16 (restaurant in the hotel). There is almost nothing to eat and all drinks, even juice is not included. Shower water is very very very small and drains even slower.

    All staffs are well trained and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    9.2
    Great staff, great location, nicely designed room (~500...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Free wifi was really slow. Two separate breakfast staff (both behind the omelette station) were not super friendly; kind of a departure from the expected friendliness and charm

    Great staff, great location, nicely designed room (~500 sqft), enjoyed the breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    7.5
    In my opinion, Sofitel Marara Beach is the best value for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Make sure you contact the resort beforehand to let them know what time your plane arrives so they know to pick you up. We were just lucky that we had to ask them about something else and in their reply email they said by the way what time do you arrive at the airport and told us that the boat transfer is $100 per person. So be prepared for that cost! Also have a good look through your bill that they give you when you check out as we found a couple things on there that shouldn't have been. When we mentioned it they took it off but didn't offer up any explanation of why the charges were on there in the first place.

    In my opinion, Sofitel Marara Beach is the best value for money resort in Bora Bora. Not as ludicrously expensive as some of the others but still luxurious enough and has everything you need. The location is excellent, with a grocery market about half a kilometre away and gorgeous Matira Beach about 15 minutes walk.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    7.9
    From the minute we were greeted by their Concierge Helen, ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    From the minute we were greeted by their Concierge Helen, to our farewell by the Reception and Bar staff this was a most enjoyable stay and we found the Resort and facilities most enjoyable.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    9.6
    For our honeymoon we stayed in an over water bungalow.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our bungalow had cockroaches and termites. There were two places to eat at the hotel - the bar and the restaurant. While the food was good, we were a bit sick of only having two options. We mostly ate at the bar, but the one time we did eat at the restaurant we ended up waiting for an hour just to get our drinks - the couple next to us orderd and received their drinks, meals and desert by the time we got our drinks.

    For our honeymoon we stayed in an over water bungalow. The view was spectacular and exactly what we were looking for!! Every night we had bottles of water and macaroons delivered which was a lovely perk. All of the staff was very friendly and helpful. The activities employees made planning excursions easy.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2015

    4.2
    Close to a shop, nice beach with corals
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy and broken aircon, toooo expensive, quality of service is very low, hard to get a kayak or snorkel, long queue on check-out, long wait for a bellboy, long wait on check-in

    Close to a shop, nice beach with corals

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    10
    Awesome place, great view, great everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bar service could be a little faster

    Awesome place, great view, great everything

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    4.6
    Cleaning of room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cleaning of room.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    7.5
    Friendly staff, good breakfast and dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Place needs some maintenance.

    Friendly staff, good breakfast and dinner.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    2.9
    We were overall very dissapointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Rooms withbugs and insects even inside refrigerator. Room and hotel Images were not the the same

    We were overall very dissapointed

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    10
    The staff are friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff are friendly and helpful The coral garden will be spectacular as it continues to grow The pizzas are absolutely sensational

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    9.6
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bugs and geckos were everywhere in our bungalow. But we found out it was because of our grilled lobster😌

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything! The location was amazing, the staff working there so nice! Our honeymoon was incredible here!

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We did not feel welcome at this outdated resort.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    2.9
    Poor service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor service. Not a 4-star place.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    8.3
    All staffs are well trained and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower water is very very very small and drains even slower.

    All staffs are well trained and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    10
    You can hear the cars driving on the road very near by .
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    You can hear the cars driving on the road very near by . Which of course you cannot when staing at Private Island from same hotel.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No comment

    Everything

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 66

Browse Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: