Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. French Polynesia hotel reviews
  3. French Polynesia hotel reviews
  4. Maharepa hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Sofitel Moorea la Ora Beach Resort

Reviews of Sofitel Moorea la Ora Beach Resort 5 stars

BP 28, Maharepa, 98728 Maharepa, French Polynesia

#1 of 5 hotels in Maharepa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 154 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 65

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2018

    8.8
    The rooms were very big and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Overwater Bungalow 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food wasn’t great and there weren’t too many options. The food was also very pricey for what it was. There was not a lot around our hotel so we had to walk about 3.5 km to have some decent food for way better prices.

    The rooms were very big and spacious. The staff were very nice and always eager to help. The property was gorgeous.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2018

    10
    Amazingly clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had too many lizzards that would shout at night, but thats part of the islands fauna. The swimming pool was too small, considering The amount of bungalows in the hotel.

    The bungalow with garden view was perfect, it was big and comfortable. Staff cleaned the room twice per day, changing towels and supplying bottles of water. The balcony was perfect, big and with a beautiful view. The beach of The hotel is The best of Moorea.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2018

    5.8
    Beatiful location and accomodations, but a disappointing stay. Over priced and indifferent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was cold and somewhat indifferent. Food was horrible and over priced. We ate one lunch, sent back one meal and never ate at the resort again. I would not recommend this resort, overall, to anyone.

    location and resort was amazing. Beaches were cool and the concept of a bungaloo very nice

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful location - like paradise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Overwater Bungalow 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price-Quality balance is not good. This resort needs a lot of renovation and the staff is also not 5-star. Main restaurant service is poor.

    Beautiful location - like paradise! The overwater bungalows are very lovely.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    8.3
    Stunning overwater bungalows!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Overwater Bungalow 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Four different people handled our check in, and this resulted in it being incomplete in terms of information. Pool area is small and less attractively landscaped compared to other properties on the island.

    Stunning overwater bungalows! Breakfast was excellent!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    7.5
    Amazing beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury King Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ecxusrion help or suggestion desk More restaurants, there is 1 restaurant and the prices outrageous

    The beach was the clearest and very convenient. The rooms were very clean. The concierge was great at the front desk but the concierge whom you book activities with or certain staff were somewhat rude or not helpful in listening or suggesting great manners but no suggestion on help booking things

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.6
    Paradise can't wait to return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Overwater Bungalow 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I did feel that the some of the dishes served in the restaurants were a little disappointing, when you are staying at 5 star resort you expect excellence in this area. Breakfasts had lots of variety but the food warmers didn't keep the food warm as they were always off & everything inside was luke warm it shouldn't be hard to have hot bacon that is edible! Thank goodness for the fabulous chef that entertained us while cooking a beautiful hot omelette!

    Absolute paradise the beach is so beautiful, the water is so clear and the fish life is amazing! Loved our stay at this resort & look forward to returning hopefully one day soon!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Wonderful location and staff, with spectacular snorkelling right off the bungalow deck.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Overwater Bungalow 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Literally nothing - we had an absolutely amazing time.

    Wow! What a fantastic experience - a bottle of champagne and a fruit platter on arrival; fantastic service from all the staff at the resort, and an unbelievable overwater bungalow.... we had an early excursion booked one morning and the staff were very helpful in arranging a packed breakfast for us to take with; our accommodation had the most beautiful shower I've ever seen, with glass doors opening out to the fresh air (wooden screens maintain privacy!). Incredible privacy, and beautiful coral literally just off our deck..... absolutely brilliant stay. Spa on site is also fantastic - if you use this, take your swimmers as you can use their in house spa and private beach while there. Snorkel gear is free; if you want a full face mask they have them - small additional rental charge for that. In-house dive shop; smaller resort than some which makes for a much more romantic and intimate experience. Very easy access for the ferry from Papeete, and the airport.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.3
    Outstanding snorkeling spots around over water bungalow.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Overwater Bungalow 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Majority of food had poor quality. They were difinitely not worth over 3000 xpf. Although we had booked the K restaurant 2 days before, we were not able to have dinner in K restaurant. We were really disappointed with it.

    Outstanding snorkeling spots around over water bungalow. A lot of fishes. We were able to see stingrays, eels, etc. Staffs were really friendly and kind throughout our stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.9
    Lovely stay but have mixed feelings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Overwater Bungalow 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. Staff was very nice and attentive. Breakfast staff and dinner staff at the k restaurant were great. Room was beautiful and well appointed as was the bathroom. Everything was very clean and beautiful (a little run down perhaps). On arrival, the bed was beautifully made with flowers and a gift from the hotel to celebrate our 10th anniversary was a wonderful touch. Also, the free drinks in the minibar and the abundance of water bottles in the room were fantastic. 2. We stayed in an overwater bungalow - this was quite a splurge - while we enjoyed the experience a lot - it should be noted that the way that the bungalows are set up - they are not private - you can see into other bungalows and you look at the other porches. This for us was a downside. 3. We had a special romantic dinner set up - while we enjoyed it - it was a bit underwhelming and overpriced - the location was on the beach but just in front of the K restaurant so it didn't feel quite private. The torches, unfortunately, were lit with kerosene which is an off-putting smell for a meal and also two of them burnt out long before the meal was over and were not relit. While my husbands' meal (K restaurant menu) was WONDERFUL, my vegetarian meal was very UNDERWHELMING, which was a disappointment as we had told them well in advance that I was vegetarian. Lastly, we were charged for water during the meal - we felt that for the extravagant amount of money we paid and considering that the tap water on the island is undrinkable this was in bad taste. The staff during the special dinner were AMAZING. 4. Hotel grounds were very disappointing considering the jungle that grows naturally around it. Gardens were not well maintained and lot's of dry grass. Also, the huts look a little run down from the outside (this is, in fact, true for other hotels in the area as well). 5. Snorkeling around the hotel is fabulous. 6. Breakfast is delicious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Overwater Bungalow 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - sometimes service could be improved (e.g. coffee or cutlery) - beach (e.g. lounges) could be more cultivated

    + horizon overwater luxus villa was stunning + very friendly service + very good food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Overwater Bungalow 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited menu in Restuarant and very expensive, but several other options were available so not a major issue

    We occupied an overwater bungalow and everything about it was in excess of five stars

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    While I haven’t been to others hotels in the island, I doubt...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Overwater Bungalow 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be great if you consider planning some activities and entertainment for your guests on rainy days.

    While I haven’t been to others hotels in the island, I doubt they can be any better than this one. I heard a lot of comments stating that this is by far the most modern and beautiful hotel in the island. The cleanliness of the hotel is very much appreciated as well as the warm, polite, nice and enthusiastic staff that works there. The bungalows over water are a dream make true!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    6.3
    Location was good, breakfast was good, shower pressure was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Overwater Bungalow 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs to be renovated. Staff communication in reception and concierge needs to be improved!

    Location was good, breakfast was good, shower pressure was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    The staff was so friendly, the beds very comfortable, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Overwater Bungalow 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was terrible and the curtains in the room were old and very tired.

    The staff was so friendly, the beds very comfortable, the food very good, snorkeling in the lagoon wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.5
    Great place. Snorkeling was good and the food was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury King Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great except the wifi connection in our bungalow and the television reception. We needed to walk to the main building to reliably use the internet.

    Great location on the island. The breakfast was also nice. The food portions for dinner were massive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.2
    We want to return next time for a longer stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Overwater Bungalow 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room service is a bit expensive, but that you can expect everywhere. I did not liked mosquitoes on the beach at the evening, it was quite a lot. But that is yet another reason to take overwater accommodation as they do not fly there. The souvenier shop selection was not a great thing, I mean for the level of the hotel one could expect maybe less quantity, but better quality.

    It was probably the first hotel on my trip not trying to charge my credit card on the arrival. I know that because I had no money on my card and nobody was chasing me. Extremely nice and smooth check-in and check out process. The early check-in was absolutely fantastic, but later check-out was for a fee. Absolutely fantastic breakfast that can help you to survive without lunch. Bottle of champagne on the arrival was very nice and overwater accommodation had everything you possibly need. Another great thing was the reservation flexibility, we had a chance to cancel upto 12 on the date of the arrival, and used that option to get a lower rate on the same accommodation.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.6
    Simply Paradise even in the rain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    As it was rainy season it rained a lot, and more often than not, for the majority of the day. This meant we relaxed a lot in the room which was lovely. It would have been great if they had some more facilities indoors other than the spa which I was unable to use...maybe a gym.

    We went for our honeymoon. Amazing! We loved every moment of our stay. Simply paradise.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.3
    Great location and nice ocean view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Lagoon View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast choices are limited. The facilities are not well maintained. It doesn't meet my expectation for a Sofitel Resort.

    Great location and nice ocean view. The room is big enough. Ocean sport center is great and with friendly staff!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable hotel to finish off trip from MS Paul Guaguin cruise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Lagoon View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free shuttle despite top priced hotel Not near any town centre Free water activity only 1 hour per day despite advertised free non motorised water sports

    Breakfast great Location near beach

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    5.8
    Friendly staff but extra disappointmented by the run down resort and not value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury King Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resort was run down and the bathrooms at the restaurant were disgusting. Door handle in bathroom fell off and aircon didn't work properly. Menu was the same everyday and the food was not great.

    The staff were friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    6.3
    5 days is definitely long enough to do everything on Moorea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Overwater Bungalow 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities were run down and could have been way better if they spend money on upgrading worn out toilets in restaurant and painted dining areas and got ride of tackie decorations.

    Food was great and staff very friendly and helpfull

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    Great resort with awesome beaches and coral garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Overwater Bungalow 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The main restaurant is not up to the standard compared to the resort. Often the meat or fish is overcooked. The choice was small and highly overpriced.

    The resort is really beautiful. It does not feel like a blockbuster hotel, but something more personal and traditional. The overwater bungalow is fantastic. Beautiful view from the balcony. Each bungalow had a small coral garden beneath it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    5.8
    The situation in the middle of the water
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Overwater Bungalow 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First night was terrible with an AC that needed to open and close doors to make it work, a noisy ceiling fan, an old twin bed (instead of a King size as confirmed in the booking) that was like a big valley in the middle. This room costs $1200/night! We got no refund whatsoever but they changed us to a similar room deeper in the lagoon, with a nice bed but still a noisy AC. We felt ripped off. They charge an astronomic price for the beauty of the place, but the size and quality of the accommodation is far from the luxury they advertise. Very disappointed with Sofitel.

    The situation in the middle of the water

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.2
    It was really relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Overwater Bungalow 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The restaurant service was slow and the food was almost always cold

    The staffs were very friendly attentive and helpful. The luxury over water bungalow was very spacious and clean. Access to the beach, lagoon were super.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    8.8
    We had a lovely time! Though it could be a bit better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Overwater Bungalow 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fitness center! Mind boggling as this is 5-star and clearly heavily invested. WiFi is weak at rooms (overwater bungalow). Unlike room description, we got two single beds instead of one king bed. This isnt comfortable for a couple on a honeymoon, and is unexpected for the price we paid. Complaining about it, we were not given a good solution. On checkout, we received a nice compensation, though we had to ask for it. Ceiling douche water pressure was low and barely usable, so had to use the pipe douche instead.

    Snorkeling is amazing. Overwater bungalow is highly recommended, though not a must. Breakfast is great. Food at beach bar is very good. Spa is good. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    Amazing location, great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Overwater Bungalow 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All our meals cost quite a lot and there could have been a more comprehensive list/description of all the tours they offered.

    The access to the water from the bungalow was the highlight of our stay. We liked that we could use the snorkel equipment for the whole duration.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful location, beach and coral garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Overwater Bungalow 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the meals at the restaurants could be better. It was not consistent for the 4 days of our stay.

    The beach location and setting of this hotel was beautiful. Lovely sandy beach, large trees, pier, pretty coral garden for snorkelling. Very relaxed environment.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Absolutely Fabulous !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scrambled egg in buffet breakfast would be great. Breakfast overall amazing !

    Croissants were amazing, beds very comfortable, staff were very friendly , it was an absolutely wonderful stay in a beautiful part of the world. Room service for family of 6 was exceptional !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    Paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Overwater Bungalow 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to not like.

    The staff were all very pleasant and eager to please. We stayed in an overwater bungalow and thoroughly enjoyed the shallow water underneath our unit.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.9
    Where your dreams might not come true
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The worst organization between the staff ever!!!! Quite impressive for a Sofitel. Concierge was very very confusing. Information that we got were wrong, ALWAYS CHANGING. First we asked to change the room, after some time with hidden information about the availability of the rooms, they did. In the morning when we went to change the room, they changed us to another one that was not the one we chose- (a worst one of course)- Spent a lot of time in the reception- informations always changing and incomplete. Restaurants- We asked so many times in the concierge to reserve a specific table in the K restaurant and they said ''we cannot do that, first come, first serve''OK, then we were the first ones to arrive there a negative surprise: Tables already reserved... How?? Please talk to the concierge...terrible!!! Also need to note that the hotel is some days opened for the public- If you go there to relax better to check their schedule. They did a pool party opened for the public on a Sunday and the sound was super loud, doing another thing was impossible (was a nice party but all the other guests were super upset)

    Hotel is incredibly beautiful, Installations are super! Beach area is very nice, a range of activities offered and night shows are so nice, many activities on sight!! Overwater bungalow with a nice view! Snorkeling very good in the hotel beach!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    10
    Highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Lagoon View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location, meals and facilities on site are amazing and the staff are so friendly ! The overwater bungalows are stunning ! K restaurant is a must

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful hotel. The service and quality of the restraunts. That's another story.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Overwater Bungalow 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did organised. Just didn't give you the basics. For a hotel that you pay that much to stay in. You expect service.

    Service in restraunts very poor. Just those little things. But it makes it bad.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    10
    Heaven on earth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything negative about the hotel or staff

    Beautiful setting. Food excellent. Happy helpful staff. Beautiful beach. Couldn't fault it.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic overwater bungalow.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Lagoon View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price level in the restaurants. We chose to dine out at much more reasonable price

    Fantastic overwater bungalow. Beautiful lagoon. Very friendly and service minded staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    We had a wonderful stay at the resort. Will come back again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Overwater Bungalow 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Need more waiters for dinner time at the cafe bar area.

    The location, the over-water bungalow and the friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Side of island has more rain during the season. Far away from some restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    Very nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything, nice place, nice service! They even send us to other hotel to Tahiti swiming suits we left in our bungalow.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.6
    Good place to stay, recomend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Overwater Bungalow 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit pricey

    The place was lovely, beautiful beach, overwater bungalows was amazing, food was brilliant

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    6.7
    Excellently located;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Lagoon View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Inappropriately poor service - two times waited six hours for room cleaning

    Excellently located; small but nice villas

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    Clean beach towel service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Overwater Bungalow 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean beach towel service. Hard to get

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    Great Experience I would love to repeat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Bungalow - Beach Front
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi failed some times.

    Great Hotel, Great Rooms, Free Mini Bar and Good Food at Restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    Lots of fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury King Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we would have liked some music or entertainment at night.

    The resort was wonderful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    10
    Buckets List Bungalow
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Overwater Bungalow 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Amazing Overwater bungalow!! Even better than the pictures. Snorkelling at the resort is fun and safe.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    3.8
    Great 4 day stay , so convenient from Papeete
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Overwater Bungalow 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality of K dinner

    Wonderful location excellent water bungalow friendly staff wonderful pool and snorkelling great breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    7.9
    location, rooms were luxurious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    hygeine at restaurant - i got food poisoning. at least the rooms are nice for reconvering in. GM never responded to my complaint

    location, rooms were luxurious

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    10
    Amazing lagoon and snorkeling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have preferred a useful refrigerator rather than the mini bar filled mostly with drinks we were not interested in.

    Amazing lagoon and snorkeling. Great breakfast buffet. Beautiful room, love the shower. Very convenient and helpful activities area. Room service was great, including a full drinks menu. You must stay in an overwater bungalow.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    10
    We stayed in a overwater bungalow with great views of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed in a overwater bungalow with great views of the lagoon. Upon arrival we were received with a flower lei and refreshments. Breakfast had a variety of very tasteful choices. Excellent resort with authentic taste to its culture and surrounding.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    9.6
    Out of major resorts this one has everything you wish for -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Out of major resorts this one has everything you wish for - overwater bungalows, corals and good snorkelling right at your doorstep, normal beach (that was a great bonus from my wife's point of view!). Beds where nice, firm and comfy (as we like it). Buffet breakfast was very good, service great as expected for the price you pay.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    10
    The staff and service was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff and service was amazing. The staff was on the ball and very conscientious and very proactive. My husband and I had our 12 month old traveling with us. We requested a cot in our room. When we arrived, we not only had a cot but also a plastic baby tub so we could bath our son. Only a shower was in our room. When we dined in the restaurant, the staff was very attentive to us and our son. Bringing us anything that we needed to help feed him properly. This is over the top service when they go above and beyond things that were not asked of them directly. We were quite impressed with our stay. We would return in a heartbeat and highly recommend the Sofitel.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    10
    Over the water bungalow with amazing views, outstanding...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was very expensive but at the end of the day it looked exactly liked the pictures of the quintessential resort in paradise. You get what you pay for here.

    Over the water bungalow with amazing views, outstanding service, excellent food.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    9.6
    This is the quintessential resort in Paradise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Obviously you have to pay for the perfect hotel in paradise, but you will feel the stay here in the pocket. That being said, I have no regrets about the money I spent.

    This is the quintessential resort in Paradise. It's location, beauty, and activities make it a stand out. The staff was impeccable as would be expected from the Sofitel luxury line of hotels. I particularly like that you were given snorkel gear for free that you could use freely during your stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    4.6
    The island was beautiful, the beach pretty, the landscaping...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The welcome was terrible. (Maybe that affected my outlook for the stay there) They brought me into the pretty lobby, gave me a fruit drink and the woman proceeded to recite all the rules and information in a nonstop monologue. Then she gave me papers to sign, and hustled me out before I could even drink my drink over to the outdoor area to stand and wait for the bellhop in a cart to take me to my room. He showed up and stood with his arms folded waiting by the cart, so I lugged my own bag and backpack to the cart and swung it in. He just looked at me and asked, 'is that all?' Took me to my cabana and showed me how to unlock the door. I went out later to have dinner and got totally lost. The grounds were very dark and hard to see where you you were going (it would have been better if on my first try it had been daytime) My room was dark also, terrible lighting, the only good light was in the closet and the bathroom with the large window. One of the few lights was strobe- flickering the entire stay although I'd told house keeping about it the first day. I finally got a chair and took the lightbulb out, unable to stand the flickering. You could open the drapes, but they did not have a thin gauzey drape that would allow light but still give privacy as there are walkways in front of the window, just a heavy drape and a plastic drape. There were workers as early as 7:00 am out in front of the bungalows raking and working on the grounds, so I rarely used my patio in the mornings. I would say it was terrible value for the amount of money I paid and would not stay there again, even though the grounds were beautiful.

    The island was beautiful, the beach pretty, the landscaping of the resort beautiful. Coming into the island by ferry was so lovely--a sight I will never forget.The Mario Jeep tour I took was fantastic and Mario very friendly, humorous and informative, always offering to take pictures of us. Good driver too! :)

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    10
    Snorkeling, snorkeling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On one of the morning buffet's, all of the staff were fed through the buffet at around 7:30 am leaving very little for the guests until new food was prepared.

    Snorkeling, snorkeling. The bungalow was great as was the resort's location. A little isolated if you wanted to explore the island but we were never bored. Dinner was also very good particularly with the entertainment.l

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2015

    7.1
    Beautiful surrounding area and amazing lagoon, nice buffet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Poor service, slow very slow, zero internet connection, just didn't work, very expensive and overpriced. I booked 3 of their most expensive rooms of 71 m2 and in one nothing was ready on arrival, just bad service for a Sofitel and this one. We must of just had really bad luck

    Beautiful surrounding area and amazing lagoon, nice buffet breakfast and dinner

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2015

    7.5
    The locaion is superb - arguably the best beach on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Hotel rooms are somewhat dark and worn out. The furniture is a bit shabby (but the bed is great). The lighting system was also quite confusing, it took time to find the right switches. During our stay, the overwater bungalows were in the process of renovation, 9 am - 6 pm every day, which was a noisy process. Until we have complained, workers were starting works from 8 am and keeping the bungalow doors open. The construction noise was quite annoying.

    The locaion is superb - arguably the best beach on the island (we asked around), with great views both over Moorea and Tahiti islands. The hotel has a programme of coral regeneration featured in the lagoon, as well as a stunning coral garden right underneath the over-the-water bungalows. The grounds are quite large and green, the garden is very well kept. Hotel stuff is predominantly friendly and helpful. Room cleaning is superb. There is a diving centre in the hotel grounds which offers a number of diving and snorkelling opportunities. Stuff is friendly.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    9.6
    Amazing view from our room and restaurant area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Guests smoke in all the common areas, not very pleasant.

    Amazing view from our room and restaurant area. The food always fresh and high quality.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    9.6
    The staff was fantastic, great property, will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff was fantastic, great property, will return

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    9.6
    Location, beach, activities, main restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor WiFi in the rooms. Only in restaurant or reception strong and stable WiFi

    Location, beach, activities, main restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    8.3
    Water bungalow, access to snorkelling, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Under staffed, need more inclusions as part of the cost for stay ie. water activities and food.

    Water bungalow, access to snorkelling, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    10
    Loved the staff and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    um...seriously? Have you been to this island?! Nothing!!

    Loved the staff and location. Style of the island is not commercial.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    9.6
    Location, activities, reataurant, hospitality of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    problems with internet and mobile phone connection

    Location, activities, reataurant, hospitality of the personnel

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    8.8
    The best coral sand beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The best coral sand beach.Very nice and clean.Beautiful location on the island.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    8.8
    Beautiful resort grounds and beaches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing within walking distance.

    Beautiful resort grounds and beaches. Bungalow was great.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    9.6
    Wonderful beach bungalow and snorkeling from the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very expensive WiFi access. Expensive food and drink.

    Wonderful beach bungalow and snorkeling from the beach.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 – 65

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: