Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Philippines hotel reviews
  3. Luzon hotel reviews
  4. Manila hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Golden Phoenix Hotel - Manila

Reviews of Golden Phoenix Hotel - Manila This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Sunrise Drive, Oceanaire Building, CBP D. Macapagal Ave., Pasay City, Pasay, 1300 Manila, Philippines

#117 of 396 hotels in Manila

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 3127 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2019

    7.9
    Very nice hotel, clean and wonderful workers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    they have the worst restaurant service ever! The food was not eatable, disgusting, even the rice has taste of sope and all the sea food was really really bad and not fresh, it was the worst meal of my life, and we didn’t touch the food, even the white wine bottle that we ordered was oxidized and awful, we just went down the street and ate something (was really bad also but eatable), we told this to the reception and they refund us 1/6 of the price. Although the breakfast was nice.

    Very nice hotel, clean and wonderful workers

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2019

    9.6
    I always return.. spacious comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I have been staying at the Golden Phoenix hotel every year since it opened. I love the location as it's in walking distance from MOA. Large spacious and comfortable room and bathroom. Great accomodating staff.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2019

    8.8
    your hotel is very good but check the employees because it will affect your business
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the receptionist.is a little bit rude and busy chatting with her friend over the phone.not professional.just check the schedule i was there so that you will know what is her name because i did not ask.hope tou will inform her about it so she can correct her manners over the customers

    i did not eat there

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2019

    7.1
    i enjoyed staying in the hotel
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    quite expensive buttons at the elevator is hard to press not that sensitive

    i love the comfy of the room specially the bed. linen, pillow, towels and comfort room smells fresh and clean staff are accommodating and friendly. wide selection of food and drinks at the buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2019

    7.1
    Comfy bed, sound proof rooms, clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room aircon seems not applicable to the big room we got, does not work well. Room so far and very confusing

    Comfy bed, sound proof rooms, clean

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2019

    2.9
    Bad experience
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We arrived the property, the reception lobby was nice and the room looks comfy but when i took a shower there were no hot water, then the worst is when I wake up my body was so itchy and some bugs get in in my ears. I complaints at the reception but what they did is sent someone in the room, they should have been check it before they gave me the room "not after I occupied the room" i was disappointed. Breakfast was not good either.😢😡😠

    The reception was ok but i can see that they are not happy also when I complaints. But its ok coz I understand and its not their fault.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2019

    8.3
    Room was nice, clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Long check-in due to many people on NYE (2hours). Issue with credit card pre-authorization by Booking.com could not be authorized into a charge. Had to pay differently and wait for the Booking.com preauthorization to be cancelled. Hotel layout is confusing. Breakfast buffet is not that good.

    Room was nice, clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2019

    8.8
    Great value! Nice modern hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was not allowed to check in earlier than 2 p.m. Moreover, my room was not ready at 2 p.m. They let me check in only at 2:15 p.m. A little bit complicated way between the lobby and guest elevators. To use guest elevators you have to come one level up first, and afterwards walk to another tower.

    Huge modern looking room. Big comfortable bed. Nice bath amenities. Very polite and helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2019

    9.2
    Golden Phoenix Manila
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The windows should be double glazed to help sound proof the rooms from the airport flight path. Fridge didn't really cool drinks.

    Location was very good. The area was clean and seemed safe. The hotel staff were very friendly. Buffet breakfast offered a wide choice.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2019

    7.5
    Nice hotel - great location and comfortable rooms. Good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Broken light next to bed. Would be nice to have easy access to electrical plugs near the desk where you work. The closest electric socket was too far to plug in my laptop from the work desk.

    The room was nice - bed and pillows comfy

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2019

    7.9
    Cheap, friendly staff, chicken and pork adobo was very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very run down, wallpaper peeling of the walls lift in weird places with no direction given.

    Cheap, friendly staff, chicken and pork adobo was very nice

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2019

    9.6
    The location is only 5minutes walk to MOA and the employees...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom sucks! The shower section is not elevated, therefore when I come out of the shower the floor is always flooded :( everything else is great, but the bathroom.

    The location is only 5minutes walk to MOA and the employees were helpful & friendly.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2019

    9.6
    Room size was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place is quite complicated to find your way around.

    Room size was awesome. Great shower and walking distance to mall of Asia. Everything very close handy. Evan the airport is only a 15 minute cab ride.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    10
    Spacious,clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They don’t reply to your emails/ requests! But overall it was a great stay.

    Clean, big rooms, near mall of asia. We booked deluxe room but gave us suite room(nicer, bigger room) upon check in, which is great!..( I guess depending on the availability) Nice, courteous staff. It’s our 3rd time in this hotel. Will definitely come back!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    9.2
    Great location, super comfy bed, great hotel service (shuttle) and the bed buffet breakfast is somet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    located at the very heart of Pasay City, and just a few minutes away from the MOA Arena, the hotel is great for families with smaller children and for people who want to explore the city. They have an excellent staff, free valet parking, and a great breakfast buffet. It's what staycation should be, could not ask for more.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    9.6
    We had a blast and the breakfast is really something to look forward to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located at the very heart of Pasay City, and just a few minutes walk from the MOA Arena, the hotel is one convenient place to stay if you have children or just want to enjoy the city for a few days. Great service, free valet parking, and a superb breakfast. It's what staycation supposed to be.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    8.3
    The staff are nice and the beds are clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The carpet in the hallway is filthy and smells like it needs washing. The swimming pool does not have lights at night where people are still swimming this is a safety riks.

    The staff are nice and the beds are clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    5.0
    My stay was so-so
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I did not like how the fitness room is on a smoking level and all you inhale is smoke and can hardly breathe during training

    My favorite was the tapsilog & the iced coffee

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    5.8
    Location was very convenient.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The facilities needs to be improved. Check out process was 40 mins to 1 hour. Parking area stinks because of garbage on the same floor. Guest elevators are malfunctioning.

    Location was very convenient.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2018

    7.5
    Well presented hotel with a great location, the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Well presented hotel with a great location, the hotel included all the required facilities and amenities and we were quite pleased about this booking.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2018

    3.3
    Absolutely NOTHING!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    From parking, it’s already difficult as they weren’t prepared for the diluge of clients staying for the holidays to think that everyone was pre-booked. They only have ONE elevator working! So people has to line up just to use the lift! Their CR too small and not very clean. Will definitely not go back to this hotel.

    Absolutely NOTHING!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2018

    8.8
    The room that was allocated to me for 3 nights and upgraded...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise on the 7th floor radiating and can be heat directly down my room was at some point uncomfortable. There were cigarette butts too outside my window which makes is appear untidy!

    The room that was allocated to me for 3 nights and upgraded was really comfortable, spacious and clean! The staff were also accommodating and helpful. So thumbs up for that! 👍

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2018

    9.6
    This is my 3rd stay at the Golden Phoenix and it has gotten better each time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was still some construction going on that can be heard in side the room. The other item is there is NO QUEING of any type and lots of guests are trying to Check In and Out at the same time, main issue you cant keep the Que organized because people rush the counters. Therefore cannot tell which Reservationist is next to assist. The Dining Restaurant is VERY VERY Loud need some decorations to absorb some of the noise.

    The Bellman, Security and Reservationist were all very polite and welcoming. The rooms are very nice, exceptionally clean and comfortable. The location to SM Mall of Asia (Walking Distance) of Grab to another location near is accessible.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2018

    7.5
    A decent hotel which I will be booking again when I return in a few months
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The check-in process was a bit slow, with people with complaints or questions being given priority over people who had been queuing

    Room was spacious and clean. Room service was good with prompt service. All round positive experience.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    10
    The bed was so comfy and the Lobby of the Hotel smells so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was so comfy and the Lobby of the Hotel smells so relaxing when you enter and staff was so very accomodating..... I had a very relaxing and excellent stay in the hotel..... Will definitely booked again....

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Long wait checking in and out - need more front desk open! No wash cloth provided.

    Location Friendly staff in the buffet - they have way better customer service than front desk and concierge.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    10
    Enjoyable. Highly recommended.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was enjoyable, but was served a little cold...maybe it was because I turned up late.

    Everything was very clean, and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Good parking facilities for those who hire a car.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    7.5
    Close to smx , moa and lots of restaurants
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Elevators were confusing. I had to keep transferring elevators to get to the carpark, the room and the lobby

    Close to smx , moa and lots of restaurants

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    9.2
    2 night stay in Manila
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Decor was a little dated.

    Very spacious room with extremely comfortable bed. Good location for Mall of Asia and endless restaurants. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent!!!
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    1. Very less timings of trip to Mall of Asia (MOA) 2. Very less complimentary trip from and to Airport. 3. There was no ironing facilities

    The bed was very comfy and the space is very spacious!!!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    8.3
    It was a nice hotel, big rooms with living room. Love the in-room body scrub & massage!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    At first, me and my husband did not expect that the room I booked was with a living room. It was big but there was a bad smell but the concierge was very kind that they transferred us to another room better & cleaner than the previous one. Thanks to Golden phoenix staff!

    The bed & pillows were so soft & the whole place is pretty big.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff, great beds, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was not possible to use the stairs at the hotel and we had to take the elevator. It was quite claustrophobic. It took a while to check out as they had to check the room before we left.

    Friendly staff, great beds, good location

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    5.8
    Hard to recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1. Cleanliness needs to be improved. The first room I was given had a foul smell coming from the bathroom. Had my room changed as the smell was difficult to withstand.
Also, dust under all the furniture, on wooden floor and aircon which does not get removed by housekeeping. I and my friend kept sneezing due to dust. Hotel corridors looked uninviting with old dusty carpets.
2. Bad Wi-Fi. Internet connection was terrible due to frequent disconnections and very slow speed most of my stay despite lodging complaint. Had to purchase a pocket Wi-Fi modem from shop to access proper internet.
3. Fridge in the room was next to useless in cooling anything. All it had was a fan inside which probably made the drinks warmer than room temperature! Don’t bother with the hot juices or beer from the fridge supplied by the hotel.
4. Broken security locker which was not fixed throughout my stay. 5. Advertised as complimentary shuttle to airport but no airport shuttle before 12 noon when most flights are. 6. Poor value for what you get. Service in suite I took was worse than economy class. We felt like uninvited guests throughout the stay and I would not recommend to others

    1. Excellent location. Walking distance from the big shopping complex Mall of Asia and the smaller W mall. The area is also next to many convenience stores and restaurants. 
2. Good, reasonably priced restaurant with good cocktails on the 7th floor.
3. Good sized twin rooms with TVs in each room.
4. Good customer service and polite staff.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    7.1
    Good location next to the mall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bad WiFi Room a bit old- wallpaper coming off Booked a double but got a twin and with no double beds

    Good location next to the mall Big room Good shower

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing experience and not good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lighting in the bathroom was terrible. Too dark to shave properly The noise of planes landing was extremely disturbing. Stronger glazing is needed on the windows. The breakfast was probably the worst hotel breakfast I have ever had; limited choice, rubbery bacon, sugar flavoured sausages and bitter tasting milk.

    The staff were very friendly and attentive

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2018

    7.1
    It was a pleasant stay, i wanted to extend though but hotel was fully booked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cleaning staff was late to reply on our needs did not come even if we call for cleaning. I wasn’t expecting the pool to be that small wasn’t big as it was posted in booking.com

    Bed is comfy airconditioning was excellent. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    4.2
    To sum up in short my Stay, It came up short of my expectation. At the price range it was the worst.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Right when we arrived we 3pm we were told to wait. we were expected to arrived 12noon and got delayed. room wasnt available by 3pm. Since we were in a hurry we went to the room and change then went to the concert venue. when we went back only to realize that our bed wasnt king size. as paid and as agreed. I called and the lady staff insisted that is king size. Instead of checking it or try to facilitate she pushed that its king size. after 3 times calling another staff made the exact call by having the housekeeping check our Bed. Tadaaa! its not king size. in the middle of the night we move from another room. we were so tired that it was okay when i see a kingsize bed. So when we laid down turns out there was no TV in the Room. Its part of the King Suite Package. I got tired of complaining i just slept. Breakfast was so so. Nothing there stands out.

    The location.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    7.1
    Slum quality hotel in a posh area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Elevator call button must be pressed several times to respond, room had cobwebs and dead spiders in its upper corners, thought it was some Halloween preparation, balcony was very dirty with cigarette butts lying around, sometimes you call front desk and nobody answers, a white sofa in the reception area has some parts turned black from dirt, in summary, this is a slum quality building in a very posh area.

    Location, many shops around, walking distance from mall of Asia, good security

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    9.6
    Good location close to the airport and other attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Outside of the room sometimes had a “musty” or damp smell and light cigarette smoke odor. however, it did not enter the room.

    Good location close to the airport and other attractions. clean, comfortable and quiet room. friendly staff. and nice variety of foods at the breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    8.3
    Big bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Incredible way to access the rooms From the lobby you take an elevator to second floor then you have to cross the all hotel still a big distance to the elevator to upper floors I never saw something so stupid

    Big bed

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    8.3
    I like the service staff are courteous and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The chiller isn't that cold enough,so food bought outside and drinks are warm. I hope they will change that compare to other hotels they have great chillers. We were upgraded to a suite room, I was happy about that but the room lacks decorations and colors it looks empty and boring.

    I like the service staff are courteous and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    4.2
    Not so ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Seems that non smoking room smells like smoking room Outside carpet are not clean Parking area smells bad Slippery bathroom Not Kid Friendly Pool is dirty

    Location is near our target places to visit Accessibility Bed is good

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    7.9
    Good value close to Mall of Asia
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The table hadn’t been wiped off properly and some rice remained from the previous occupant (white table so admittedly harder to see), but the rest of the room and linens were clean.

    While the layout is a bit strange, it is easily overlooked as a negative once it balances out all the other positives. Staff was extremely helpful and they had a room ready for me at 9:00 am which was awesome! Location was great, super quick and easy to the airport. Room was spacious.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    8.8
    Great Hotel for travelers on a budget
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast can be improved. More training for the Checkers of room upon check-out. Return all cards (room key) at the RECEPTION upon check out. Lost/ unreturned 150php/ card. Advise: Place things back in proper order to avoid unnecessary time upon check out.

    Security and promotional rates. Team on the reception were great in handling undesirable situations.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    10
    I enjoyed my stay though it’s only 3 days.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lacking staff to attend the incoming guest. It will take us too long to check in. Put additional staff in the front disk!

    Accommodation so excellent. Food is good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    5.8
    Location is very strategic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were so rude and unfriendly. Didnt feel welcomed at all. I wouldnt have chosen this hotel if it wasnt for the location.

    Location is very strategic. Room is huge enough and spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel let down by chaotic reservation system
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reservation system is terrible! Three days before coming to Manila I got a message via booking.com saying my card had been refused by the hotel because it was a debit card, and asking for credit card details instead, or the booking would be cancelled. So I sent credit card details to both booking.com and the hotel, and booking.com confirmed the card details had been registered. The day I flew to Manila I checked booking.com and my reservation was still good. But when I got to reception I was told the hotel had unilaterally cancelled my booking! There was no reason for that, since my credit card was good, and the hotel had the card detaIls. They didn't even inform me or booking.com of the cancellation. Despite the fact they are a booking.com partner hotel. Still, they told me they had a vacant room, so... no problem. But then they tried to charge me the full walk-in rate, which is double the booking.com rate I had booked at! I put my foot down and sad no, I had booked the room at the agreed price, the cancellation was their fault not mine, and I would take the room at the agreed price. Hotels should not be allowed to get away with cancelling a booking behind your back, not letting you know, and then trying to get you to pay double when you arrive at reception. It's either incompetent or dishonest. Fortunately the receptionist let me have the room at the agreed price -- and I paid for it using the same credit card I had registered with booking.com and submitted to them by e-mail!

    Lovely hotel, good WiFi, very cozy, comfortable room with all amenities. Walking distance from mall with restaurants nearby. Once my problem with the hotel was sorted out, the staff were very nice and helpful. The low score is for the hassle, not for the facilities. Ordinarily I would give it at least an 8.0.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    8.8
    Our stay is awesome but pls. Install a tv near the bed.. 😅
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No television near the bed. We still need to go to the sala just to watch tv. It is more convenient if got a tv installed near the bed. Also, the shuttle services is very limited.

    The buffet is awesome. Worth the price. The hotel's location is good for everything, very near at sm moa and airport.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    7.5
    close to mall and in clean place
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    you charge my credit card in advance and the hotel charges the gest credit card too so am waiting for bank statements to be sure about your charges for the 1 two times or money returned to credit card again

    close to mall and in clean place

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2018

    5.8
    We arrived at 1pm but let us wait for 90 minutes to have our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We arrived at 1pm but let us wait for 90 minutes to have our room... Then gave us a key card that isn't functioning. Not good first impressions...

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    10
    The hotel is clean, close to everything by foot. All employees are courteous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lighting in the bathroom was not bright, especially with women using make-ups. Housekeeping should thouroughly check the flow of the water faucet and the urinal by using Plunger after previous occupants left the place. Both were clogged when we used the CR.

    Breakfast buffet was great with combination of European, American & Filipino selections.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    9.2
    Extreme comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast, if not booked in advance, is very expensive. All you can drink margaritas were too sweet to enjoy more than one.

    Extremely welcoming staff and beautiful rooms.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    6.7
    nice hotel within walking distance to Mall of Asia.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too many mainland chinese tourists making ALOT of noise (seems like you are in china). They should avoid getting too much business from tour operators in china and tailor to western or non chinese guests to increase quality of hotel.

    nice hotel within walking distance to Mall of Asia. Rooms are clean and good value.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    6.7
    It was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Suite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Water does not drain completely in the shower area. No hot/warm water in the shower. The cabs lining outside the hotel are charging a fixed rate if you're going nearby (e.g. MOA) - driver says it's because they're being charged 40PHP for parking there.

    Spacious. Near MOA complex.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    5.0
    I like the layout of the room, spacious with a good view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hallway looked old and "serpentine". It was a bit claustrophobic. And i left my dental splint in the bathroom but sadly, the staff did not find it.

    I like the layout of the room, spacious with a good view. It was a short walk from MOA where we watched a concert.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    8.3
    I love the room, superior deluxe king room the 4th time we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The swimming pool. So small.

    I love the room, superior deluxe king room the 4th time we stayed in this hotel. Like our second home, everything nearby.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    9.2
    Genuine smile matters most.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't like one of the staff. Because at first he was very polite but later on when I did not gave him a tip, he changed. Do I have to give a tip? I didn't provide because there was already added service charge cost apart from the room rate.

    I like the room and the buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    7.1
    Clean and modern but noisy
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Soundproof is very bad, you hear honking and very noisy taxis all the time. Earplugs are required if you are in the wrong room.

    The hotel is behind the SM mall (many shops and restaurants), walking distance isn't far but a bit too hot to walk there at daytime. Next to the hotel is a family mart and a 7-Eleven.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    10
    Comfortable and great place to stay near SM complex
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check in and check out take much time since the hotel is huge. Lobby is always crowded so spare yourself a bit of time for these procedures. Also, note that you have a deposit of 3000 Pesos when checking-in (cash or card) so do prepare yourself enough for room fee + deposit before arriving.

    The location is strategic. I came to Manila for a concert at MOA Arena and it was just 3 mins of walk from the venue. Close to the airport. Many convenient store right under the building. SM Mall of Asia is about 7 mins of walk away. My room is clean, HUGE and have everything I need. I had a very good night sleep and comfortable stay. Staff are friendly and helpful. I enjoyed my stay. Will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a place close to the Arena and Mall of Asia

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    6.7
    almost all of the staff are accommodating except when I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the staff in the congierge already scheduld the transpo airport pick up of my husband nd kids @ 1am but cancelld at the last moment. If I have not flared up and insisted tht he should stick to our agreement, he will really do it his way!

    almost all of the staff are accommodating except when I arranged a transo pick up for my family

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    8.8
    we enjoy it, though i was lost twice in looking for the elevator
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool was a bit small, though our baby was able to enjoy swimming since there are other kids. We were also lost upon going to our room, since the elevator going to the rooms are located at Level 2 (above the lobby) and we were not guided to the guest elevator. i have to go down and asked from the Lobby where the elevators are.

    We love the bed its big for us. There are two queen size bed and we only use one bed since the three of us can fit. I also love the room and the flooring as well as the coffee table set. We ate our dinner at the restaurant and our baby who's so choosy love the potato soup. The ambiance at the restaurant is also good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    9.6
    Great, I will be back
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff here are efficient and professional yet at the same time they are friendly and make you feel at home. I used to stay elsewhere in Pasay City but this is now my home away from home. Great location and good food at a reasonable price

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    7.5
    The bed is heavenly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When you oark your cark on the third floor you have to go through a series of maze to get to the second floor, get out of the elevator and the n use the escalator to the lobby/reception area

    The bed is heavenly!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    9.6
    Spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Smell of Cigarette smoke in the hallway outside our room. Up and down buttons in the elevator on our floor was not functioning properly.

    Spacious room. Comfortable bed and clean linens.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    7.5
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Noisy neighbors. Expensive drinks from restaurant, more than 2 times the cost compare to mini-bar.

    Spacious room, great bed. Great breakfast. They have allowed late check-out at no extra cost. Cleaning service every day. Walking distance from Mall of Asia.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    7.9
    Location is very near Mall of Asia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very narrow hallways. No elevator direct to some of the rooms. Pool is very small and not well maintained. This is not a family hotel.

    Location is very near Mall of Asia. Rooms are spacious. Hotel across SM Sea Residences

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    7.1
    Good value for money considering the rate we paid for already had breakfast for 2.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pool area was smaller than I expected and there were signs of poor maintenance. Hallway leading to our room had an odd smell. Lobby air freshner was too strong I was coughing whenever we pass by it.

    Fast check in and check out. Very attentive and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2018

    5.8
    Spacious and clean, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Over priced, breakfast not included, tax added at hotel, totalling about 9000 peso when equivalent nearby 4 star hotels are under 2500 peso. No free cancellation, (5995 peso to cancel). Guests not trusted and asked to pay 3000 peso ‘Security deposit’. No bath tub in Suite. Poor breakfast selection for European travellers. I have stayed in better three star hotels. Despite paying an exorbitant amount for the suite, all food and drinks in the room were charged extra, it felt like a Ryan Air hotel! I will not be returning!

    Spacious and clean, friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2018

    6.7
    Ripped off
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When booking in was told debit cards are not acceptable then the price leapt from 3250php to 3950php plus a 3000php deposit .When questioned about it the reply was that this was service charges and taxes which read 0 on the receipt and would have been 11% if true. I won't be using your site again

    It was big

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    7.1
    Our stay was good enough for a tiring & delayed flight
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I don’t like the idea that the rooms are on the 2nd floor and the reception isnon the 1st/GF. The guest elevator seems to me very secluded to the hotel staff. If you have checked out & you want tonuse a toilet, you have to go up again. Checkin quite took a lot of time. 3,000 pesos for a deposit seems too much although I have extra cash & I planned to pay cash as well, I did not expect such amount.

    It’s close to MOA. There are lots of restaurants in the area. There’s a convenience store & bank/ATM beside the hotel entrance. It is easy to get a taxi if you prefer not to hire from grab. Bed & pillows are very comfortable. Breakfast choices are good. Bidet spray is a plus too being not used to just using tissue when using the toilet. Maintenance staff who were working on something as we passed by always greet us with a smile & were very welcoming. We were given an hour extension too when we requested.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2018

    9.6
    Great place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel layout was like a weird maze, hotel should put directions as to where the elevators are.

    Room was spacious, check in was hassle free and location was really great, just walking distance to MOA

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2018

    6.3
    The place is near mall of asia and near at the airport NAIA...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place is near mall of asia and near at the airport NAIA TERMINALS,but the place is old and it have some kind of smell and the i thought is a new hotel but the building seems to be old.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2018

    7.9
    Overall stay was fantastic. Satisfactory!
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant management during our breakfast experience was not satisfied. A bit not organized. Comfort room towels looks old ones. Probably better if it’s new white ones.

    Hospitality if staff and the concierge people. Transfer transportation was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2018

    6.3
    hoping hallway will be more lighted and smell of cigarettes should not be lingering in the hallway
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hallways was so dark and elevators are very confusing .I feel like if there will be emergency exit route will be confusing esp if there will be fire.I smell cigarettes in the hallway.They upgrade my room but seems like I paid extra.EXIT route and elevators should not be confusing.

    location!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    7.1
    Used to be good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Used to be great, not anymore. I have checked in here for 5 times now since they opened. Now it sucks, room service takes forever, a bucket of ice takes 30mins.(I stayed 14 days) and every time it takes 25mins minimum for a bucket of ice. The driveway that leads to the parking level has too many potholes, a 70 yard long pothole driveway,good luck maneuvering it with a car!

    For the location it is the best hotel near mall of asia.

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Golden Phoenix Hotel - Manila Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: