Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Philippines hotel reviews
  3. Basco hotel reviews
  4. Reviews of Hillsider Homestay

Reviews of Hillsider Homestay This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Barangay Chanarian, Batanes, 3005 Basco, Philippines

#5 of 7 hotels in Basco

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 25 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    6.4

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 19

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2019

    3.8
    The manager was friendly but mature in age and didn't...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The manager was friendly but mature in age and didn't understand that I paid online already, so she tried to collect from me twice more. She put us in the wrong room so in the morning we had to move rooms. The first room was cheaper but we didn't get a refund for that one night. The other guests always left the bathroom dirty so despite the efforts of the cleaning woman, it was always a mess.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    6.7
    We love Batanes overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For a group of 8 people the bathroom facilities is not adequate. Water pressure for the shower can be better. Transportation from and to the airport should be included. Middle person coordinator for the facility was hard to contact. Breakfast is suppose to be provided but was not included.

    Patio in the backyard.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2019

    2.9
    We did not finish our stay,we transferred to another hotel.we paid our supposed 3nights.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor signal. We did not finish our stay,we transferred to another hotel because of poor signal.no communication with family and patients.Very inconvenient on our part.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2018

    6.7
    Quaint homestay quite far from Basco
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was actually far off from the center, about 2.5 km, unlike its indicated address in the site. Signal was bad, you can only get decent signal at the roofdeck

    Host was very nice. Bed was comfortable and clean. There are two nearby nice restaurants (although a they are bit pricey).

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    7.9
    Very homey 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nanay Flory is kind and we appreciate her stories. She spent time with us during dinner. We enjoyed our stay in her humble home. I pray for more satisfied guests. The place is just 5 mins walk away to the beach. Dios Mamajes!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    5.4
    No permanent staff to wait the guests if they arrive past...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No permanent staff to wait the guests if they arrive past 7pm. We were not informed on the house rules. The place was in the interior portion that it was difficult to have phone signal. We need to get out of the place to make calls or texts.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    3.3
    Nothing really.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff was a little rude, bathroom is shared and is not clean, location was far from town/airport, nearby restaurant was closed during our stay, cheaper but better lodges can be found in the town proper where it is near the airport.

    Nothing really. Just had no choice since it was already booked and it was our last night in Basco.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    8.3
    2500
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    food and tricycle expenses..too much price.

    If you don't know that you are in BATANES , you can feel your out of the Phil.,Overwhelm Feeling, you can tell your self that you accomplished your Dream when you conquer the ITBAYAT,BATAN,SABTANG. Always dream to be back again and again someday.. Thank you very much! Migs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    10
    We Love Nanay Floring! WE love the place as well... We love Ivatans because they are so nice....
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Siganl ahahahaha

    House is nice esp Nanay Floring! We Love Nanay Floring Place is good. No Phone Signal No LTE but its ok... We will surely go back to Batanes

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    6.3
    Nice place but i would not return due to the animals. U might aswell stay on a farm
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had the single room although clean the mattress was rock hard. There are pigs, chickens and other animals making so much noise throughout the night it was impossible to get to sleep i was up all night at 5am i had to get out tired and irrate i found alternative accommodation and slept right thou until noon!

    The accommodation it self is nice and clean. Cold showers though. The area surrouding is also nice scheduled from the main road. Its around a 20min walk to basco but i like to run😏

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    5.0
    We had a fantastic stay - a home away from home in the real sense of the word.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I can't think of any. The accommodation was simple and modest but what's more important to us was the warm and caring attitude of the owner, Tita Flory.

    Hillside Homestay - it's as if we did not leave home. Tita Flory gave us a very warm welcome. She was very accommodating, and sees to it that we are comfortable...like a sweet and caring mom. She shared stories about Batanes and the Ivatans and their wonderful culture. We really felt at home. If given the chance to visit Batanes again in the future, we'd very much like to stay at Hillside Homestay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    7.1
    It's like you are just home w/ your mom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's like you are just home w/ your mom.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    8.3
    A perfect place to stay feels like home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Its really hard to get transportation like tricycle from one place to another

    The people are generous kind and friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2018

    9.6
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Batanes has expensive trike rates for a trip for two.

    Accessible location, close to the beach

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    7.9
    Accomodating
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No signal

    The staff are good and friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    8.8
    We enjoyed our time there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Ventilation of the toilet, but its tolerable so, still its okay.

    Nanay flori, she is very accomodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    5.4
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor cellular signal

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    8.8
    Walking distances to the beach
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noise and smell from the Farm next door.

    Room is very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    10
    Feels like really home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Feels like really home. Nanay is the best part of home. Thank you very much.

    Stayed in March 2018

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 19

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!