Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Marco Polo Davao This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Claro M. Recto Street, 8000 Davao City, Philippines

#6 of 46 hotels in Davao City

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 995 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Buffet Breakfast and Round Trip Airport Transfers
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bed was a little uncomfortable , it has bumps on its sides ... tea can be better

    security inspection was consistent! breakfast is good with enough choices and variety! it’s practically opposite the night market and the aldevinco souvenir shop!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Buffet Breakfast and Round Trip Airport Transfers
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    misunderstanding when i asked regarding the Paymaya account. FO told me that they are unaware of this mode of payment although I showed them my virtual card and balance. So i ended up paying thru debit card. PS: not my first time to use Paymaya in hotels

    the room is very spacious. very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Buffet Breakfast and Round Trip Airport Transfers
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a difficult night- cant sleep because of allergy (headache, runny nose) to dust. Probably the aircon vent or the carpet was not cleaned properly. Every time I went out of the room and stayed outside I felt better.

    The comfy, spacious room and the buffet breakfast were great!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel can be a bit dated depends on who is looking. It gives the feel of a vintage hotel with modern touches.

    Good services provided. Staff are very friendly and professional.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    While the security efforts are very much appreciated the security personnel are somewhat unfriendly and offensive

    The quality of the rooms and very courteous cleaning staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Buffet Breakfast and Round Trip Airport Transfers
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cant think of any

    We had an amazing stay here. The staff were so nice and helpful. Breakfast was amazing. Location was good too and we got an amazing view from our room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Buffet Breakfast and Round Trip Airport Transfers
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That no normal shower cabin inside the bath room ....instead must step into the bath tub ...not good for people who had difficulty in stepping inside the bath tub ..so dangerous ...we had tried to request for room with normal shower cabin but no action

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    maybe the american standard toilet doesnt suit everyone..u may put a water hose beside of ur bowl..and u may set the shuttle time more frequent especially at 12pm during check out time..so tht ur cystomr can enjoy their stay till at the end...hehe.. thts it..and other else is excellent.

    i like the room so much..think to come back and stay longer..is like a private exclusive room with nice view and location..i enjoy my stay so much

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location excellent, breakfast menu excellent to an international std, staff friendly and helpful. Room was comfy and quiet. Looking forward to our return stay in a week or so after time in gensan....

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Buffet Breakfast and Round Trip Airport Transfers
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we got in our room (#508), we we're made to feel unwelcome, the bathroom wasn't clean enough, the shower was broken and clogged.

    The food are good and the crew are excellent service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff members during check in and specially during our check out was a dismay. Starting with wrong computations for payment, the process was too slow.

    Location, facilities, and Food was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels and bedsheets need replacement. Their old - which you dont expect for a 5-star hotel

    Size and layout of the room - it is luxurious. Breakfast is wonderful with many choices specially the local food - fruits and dishes

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really disliked but I ended up with two full beds instead of 1 queen size bed and they don’t have an ice machine and when I requested for a bucket of ice, I received it the next day.

    Breakfast has a lot of options

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room with Buffet Breakfast and Round Trip Airport Transfers
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice hotel, the restaurants and the breakfast buffet in particular left a very positive impression in terms of quality and quantity. Would stay in this hotel again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No plan/ welcome board of the hotel to say where all the facilities are. Breakfast over priced and would not rate this as a 5 star hotel compared to ones we have stayed in.

    Central location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has seen better days: carpets worn out in places and the bathroom was not perfectly clean. The breakfast although very good in terms of choice, I ran out of bread and had to get my own coffee.

    The reception and ground floor area was very nice. Stylish and spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Buffet Breakfast and Round Trip Airport Transfers
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the sink was clogging..apart from that all went well.

    accessible..at the heart of the city..staff were approachable and ready to lend their assistance at once. and the food..it's the best, my son son was so picky but he enjoyed his every day breakfast. Will be back again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking sucks! Guard on duty at the entrance didn’t ask if he could look into my car’s compartment. He just opened the door and opened the compartment himself. You guys know that its illegal right? Even the task force davao ask permision to open the compartments, plus they ask you to open it for them. The guard at the entrance of the car park takes his time in issuing tickets for parking, though he’s courteous. Its hard to park at your parking spaces, especially when one has a big car.

    Rooms are ok.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    only that there is carpet in the rooms and shower curtain

    very good location in the center... well trained and friendly staff... very good breakfast with local food, other asian food and european and american food also, nice big pool, spacious room with nice view on 14th floor, good for families, internet worked well

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Buffet Breakfast and Round Trip Airport Transfers
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breakfast area was not that big to accommodate guests maybe because it was Sunday (there were lots of guests). I was expecting more in terms of cleanliness and perks for a 5 star hotel. I don't know probably because the hotel is old or carpeted but the room we've stayed, the linens are not as white as I expected, a bit worn-out, also dusty which you can feel in your throat, it feels the carpet was not vacuumed. I have high expectation since it's Marco Polo but the same feeling I got staying in other cheaper hotels. I don't really mind perks but the reason I want to a good hotel and don't mind paying higher because I wan't clean, fresh and fragrant room to stay and sleep but unfortunately, I didn't got when I stayed in Marco Polo.

    The lobby and reception area was okay including staffs. Quick check-in and check-out. The breakfast was good and the service in the concierge.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Buffet Breakfast and Round Trip Airport Transfers
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in the bath tub. I dont even know where the water is falling down. The water that comes out split everywhere so it doesn’t go directly to you instead. I was disappointed with it.

    The staff were very attentive and friendly. Our room was pleasant. The food was very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building itself feels dated compared to hotels built within the past few years but it still feel like high-star quality. During our stay, we booked for two adjacent rooms and the guests staying in one of the rooms overstayed for 3 hours. It turned out that they were not reminded of their check-out time and we (6 people) were cramped in one room for at least 3 hours. Rooms are not well lit as well (but it's a personal preference of mine to have really bright rooms)

    The staff were very accommodating, approachable, and professional. They make you feel like a very special guest and everyone is polite and courteous. Their breakfast buffet is the best! They have tons of options which even includes a Halal section. They have fresh seafood, various cuisines, and the best croissants!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    they like everything there.

    First it was for a family member who was to check in at Marco Polo not me, I asked them how was their stay over there & they told me that it was GREAT you can feel the Hospitality of all the staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Buffet Breakfast and Round Trip Airport Transfers
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1)the toilets of the pool area needs renovation 2)carpet in the hallways need replacement

    Staff were superb! Food always great! Our fave breakfast buffet now!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Hotel is very good, but you feel like a criminal when you enter the hotel. They even take away your lighter!! The smoking area is outside - the law say´s it is not allowed to smoke in Davao, but i think if they want to have business people there they should find a way to satisfie everybody.. also smokers.. Not enough lying chairs at the pool

    Staff and Breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Buffet Breakfast and Round Trip Airport Transfers
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room's a bit old but not really that bad. The free coffee from the minibar was disappointing, just the plain instant nescafe. I'd expected more from a hotel like Marco Polo.

    Breakfast! and the relaxing atmosphere in Cafe Marco. Got a nice view from our room. Location is okay, easily accessible. Just across the Roxas night market. :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few of the seevices. I paid downpayment but it was forgotten. There was no receipt. Room service for food not efficient there’s always a mistake.

    Different amount shown in booking.com and paying higher than that.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Buffet Breakfast and Round Trip Airport Transfers
    • Stayed 5 nights

    In need of modernisation, wardrobe doors and drawers didn't close properly, furniture tardy, carpets stained in places, generally needs a facelift.

    Hotel is in a great location and has all the facilities you need (gym and pool in particular are very good). Staff are very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was look old and didn't make my expectations, this is my 2nd stay at marco polo hotel, and as a hotelier i expect something different from them, when i check-out it was a messed i call to reception first to tell luggage down and then suddenly i go down to check out and tell them again that my luggage is there, i wat 20--30 mins to get my luggage i ask the front desk where is my luggage and she said i wait to concierge and suddenly i ask concierge and wait again, after 5mins again of waiting concierge ask me that the bellman waiting oustside of my room and tell me that no one inside my room, how come miscommunication with this at front desk that i already informed them that my luggage inside my room and i already at the lobby.,and another issue also i left my luggage key in the room and i realized it when i already arrived at the airport and i was shockef that the housekeeping of this hotel not informed the reception that i left something

    The view of my room was very nice they grant my request

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Buffet Breakfast and Round Trip Airport Transfers
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The security check was redundant. The parking was a bit confusing for the first experience. I could feel the restaurant personnel was so stressed due to large number of customer during breakfast buffet.

    The location was good. Booking and check in was quick. Good food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of the hotel isn’t pleasant.. I hope they have fresheners around.. overall, the experience is nice and the room was very comfy! I loved the view as well..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with Buffet Breakfast and Round Trip Airport Transfers
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -improve cleanliness of common areas like hallways, elevator -tissue holder keeps dislodging -dripping faucet -itchy bed linen

    nothing really stands out

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with Buffet Breakfast and Round Trip Airport Transfers
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet can be improved. Served almost the same variety for 3 days.

    Good aircon control, sufficient hot water in the shower, good quality pillows and the the toilet even has a bidet, which is not common in most hotels in the Philippines! Will definitely stay here next time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premier Room with Buffet Breakfast and Round Trip Airport Transfers
    • Stayed 10 nights

    1. Housekeeper dragged my quilt on the floor to change the linen, gosh! 2. the tea bags are limited, only black tea 3. No shopping mall nearby, has to walk 4. Few restaurants nearby, not convenient for foreign travellers

    1. Breakfast is perfect 2. wifi is stable and fast 3. shower water is warm and easy to adjust 4. room is spacious and sound-proof 5. free shuttle service to airport

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    1. Housekeeper dragged my quilt on the floor to change the linen, gosh! 2. the tea bags are limited, only black tea 3. No shopping mall nearby, has to walk 4. Few restaurants nearby, not convenient for foreign travellers

    1. Breakfast is perfect 2. wifi is stable and fast 3. shower water is warm and easy to adjust 4. room is spacious and sound-proof 5. free shuttle service to airport

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Buffet Breakfast and Round Trip Airport Transfers
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We hoped to have been able to check in early since we notified in advance. Not enough consideration was given. We were also not able to maximize our free breakfast because we had an early flight. We hoped to have had a better option than just a sandwich to go. Also, the minibar was not labelled properly, was it complimentary or not? The booking price posted was also very confusing and misleading, it should have included all the fees and taxes.

    The hotel was really nice. Breakfast options were plenty. The shuttle service was very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with Buffet Breakfast and Round Trip Airport Transfers
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I feel a bad smell from the first moment i arrived the room is with bad smell i think humidity and also in the breakfast they put a big piece of pig that make me finish my breakfast

    I like the traditional items reception and quick check-in the SPA is the best thing in the hotel i made 2 times massage with Amie that really she has magic hands and she is profissional

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is not convinient not restaurants of shoppings around. The bell boy told me it was dangeraus

    The hotel is very nice the architecture and services very good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During our stay, there were a lot of students, and foreigners. We didn't like the smell of the middle elevator. It should be scented from time to time. There should be monitoring of the place since the hotel is known internationally.

    I love the room that was provided for us. We had a great view.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the check out it’s very confusing as they have so many transactions in your card hopefully they can make this things not complicated

    The staff are very helpful & they always smile & greet you

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was asked to wait for dinner to celebrate chinese new year only to find out that there was an available table. It was very disppointing

    The breakfast is good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room with Buffet Breakfast and Round Trip Airport Transfers
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bath-tub/shower room combination... It's inconvenient coming in and out of shower. The location is only close to the night market... nothing much is close by. There's no pool table or much to do in the hotel. The pub closes early.... and nothing else to do at night... Really bad wifi... I have to use the Business Center for a webinar which I need to lead but the good thing is, the business center staff allow me to use the room for free.

    The customer service at the Business Center, reception, concierge and at the Eagles Bar. The bed is comfortable. Breakfast is great... good spread of choices.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in system leaves much to be desired if you book with 3rd party booking companies. They are not very well coordinated. Kettle for hot water provided in the room had dirty stains.

    Welcome handwritten letter from the Hotel President was a good touch of personalized greetings. Breakfast was great. Lazuli Spa was exceptional! Chinese wanton noodle soup was perfect!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No price list for bar menu. Difficult to know if free or what price items are

    Fantastic Hotel. Very helpful pleasant staff and fantastic breakfast as well. Loved this hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink was clogged. Bed was not as comfy. Wifi not stable (ended up using my own mobile data)

    (+) location, soacious rm, staff and in room dining service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entire stay was awesome! We stayed there for over two weeks and the staff was always very helpful. The facilities there are great and the restaurants had wonderful food, all at reasonable prices. The whole stay was great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food is pricey with extra large servings impossible for 1 person (maybe have small portion options so we don't throw away food), one staff touched my food while carrying my plate, I couldn't use the bath tub because the mat was icky with black spots

    Pretty good location, good amenities, okay internet, friendly staff, relatively quick service, laundry priced reasonably

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    i had worn out towels in my room; no bath robe; bedroom slippers easily give way during use; very limited choices on the mini bar; carpet in my room had stains and needs cleaning, only one waiter assigned in the lobby coffee shop so the orders take too long

    bed was extra comfy; good wifi signal; friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tub could hv been cleaner. I cleaned it again before we used it. Thr was hair. The tub math needs replacement

    Business center, smiling staff.location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast.

    I liked that we were able to get a big discount with booking.com. I love that they were able to accommodate our early check-in and late check out requests. I liked that he had a room, same floor as the amenities. I liked that the lobby as well as the room was very spacious, as i am claustrophobic. I liked that it had a delicious dessert that my colleague and I tasted. We had an amazing time in Marco Polo Davao.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with Buffet Breakfast and Round Trip Airport Transfers
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast very yummy. Price not same then booked via booking.com - their Explanation: rate been net, extra for vat, Service Charge. no Reply on different demand for early check in. no Reply on Telefone, nobody picks up phone. but rest is quite good, same good as last time i ve been there.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room bathroom, like the toilet water is not properly working. The toilet washer have no water that sprinkling, I hope that they could fixed it.

    the hotel is the most highly secure place that I ever stay in all of the hotel. And one of the best customer service that I ever experience from the driver of shuttle bus, crew of the restaurant and the person who arrange our city tour like Mr.Ray the guy that work in the transportation he helps and guide us on our tour in the city of Davao I will be back on July this year.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Shower temperature regulation maybe a bit slow 2. Pillows made me sneeze a bit and had to remove them, but I am a bit allergic 3. No robes 4. With 3 elevators sometime there's a bit to wait

    1. Wonderful view on Samal island; 2. Remarkable breakfast; 3. It is a hotel with Personality, and President's Duterte's favoutite; 4. Security guards and soldiers do their job thoroughly but still very kind. 5. Metallica at the pool ^m^

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our experience in this hotel was really awful. The 1st impression of the hotel when we arrived was quite good as the lobby and location were good. But then, everything went bad: 1. We arrived at the hotel at 3pm and our rooms were not yet ready. We came back at 6pm; only 1 room was available. We only managed to finally get them all at 9pm. 2. Rooms are quite old and dirty especially the carpets - stains everywhere and bathroom questionable 3. Service was very slow - wether it is in the cafe or the reception. Only the bellboy and the transfer were rapid. Although we managed to negotiate a late check-out for one of the rooms, it didn't help to overcome our dissapointment

    location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed 4 nights with my family who stayed in another floor. The room was outdated. Carpets stained not only on the lobby but also in the room. The bathroom has a noticeable smells that stays often, sometimes it smells like rotten wood and other times smells like sewage. I arrived early from airport and they let me check in early of which I appreciated that much , and supposedly upgraded my room which there were no bath towels but only 2 face towel and 2 hand towels. I did not bother to ask because I was tired and wanted to sleep. Although they gave me towels after they clean the room the following day , this time, no hand towels. Anyway, i did not manage to sleep immediately on my arrival as there was constant knocking sounds - i presumed they were cleaning the rooms near to mine. The door has an inch gap from the floor. No wonder I can hear people and children voices outside even if i cannot hear the lift's bell. On my return from Cebu I decided to book a room for 1 night together with my sister, before flying out to London. This time my room was not near the lift so it was quiet but still no towels. I ask the cleaner who happens to be outside my room. He said it will be delivered soon. At around 11 pm i decided to make a hot drink and find out the kettle did not work. Although they were quick to send a technician to look at it and he send another person to bring a working kettle. I will not stay at Marco Polo Davao City again. The expensive price is not worth it.

    Convenient location, right in the heart of the city. FriendlyFriendly and helpful staff. Excellent choices of foods during breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is on the old side, needs a modern upgrade to be competitive

    The location was good, variety of breakfast choices, close to convenient stores and places of interest

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entire building needs renovations..like everything!!!

    Old and run down. NEEDS SERIOUS RENOVATIONS! 5 star hotel like come on people..... Breakfast was incredible 👌🏻

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No wifi access the whole stay which is very disappointing. and slow room service response from the staff. they also told me that they FREE upgraded me to the higher room when they didn't they charged me the room charge. I knew because I checked the rates online. I would have like if they just told me the truth.

    I like the view and the room location itself

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a bit old.The carpets are not well maintained,the blanket cover has holes in it and the bathtub is old and drainage is not functioning well and bathroom glass has watermarks.

    It’s in the heart of Davao City,and accessible to public transportation.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Check out - I wish they had a modern system where everything is connect to your account that you can pay with your credit card so you dónt need to stand in line 20 min, and then spend 10 min when they printing unnecessarily papers, instead u can have that already in your phone like your boarding card for example.

    Very clean, Nice staff - always friendly, good food - very nice buffet - breakfast or lunch! Big room with beautiful view, excellent service! High security - Big nice pool with pool bar and restaurant. I am sure we will be back to the same hotel!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall cleanliness is not up to standard. Rubber mat for example in the bath tub was very dirty until we asked it to be replaced. The bath tub itself had dents and was obviously very used. Shower head was dirty and not properly functioning. Bed matress too hard and room itself smelled weird (probably molds).

    Staff were accommodating and pleasant from check in to check out. Restaurant staff was also pleasant. Location is generally ok.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked for premier room and the front desk told me that we can take everything in the mini bar. When we got in the room, they key card don’t work and when I check what’s on the mini bar, there was nothing inside of it! We went down and ask for another room and they transfered us and apologized. When we were inside the new room, it’s nice but BATHROBE is not available in that room, there were just few at the mini bar, the hallway of the hotel doesn’t smell like the Marco Polo that I used to (by the way, I was a trainee here before, that’s why I was still expecting the same service as before) the mat at the bath tubs looks old and dirty. Tissue at the powder room does have one piece left. The power outlet is not available near our bed. There’s also a problem in handling guest’s luggage. That’s all I can share for now. I hope Marco Polo will still provide quality service even if there’s a lot of hotels coming in to compete.

    I like the breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room with Buffet Breakfast and Round Trip Airport Transfers
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    some maintenance details unworthy of this level of hotel (faucet unscrewed, silicone seals, dust ...)

    The staff is incredibly professional and friendly, honesty in the European level of professionalism for that kind of hotels.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathtab I can smell urine.not clean enough and no towel for the floor.and when I check in I still have to wait because my room is not ready yet anyway they gave me coffee while waiting though it was 3pm normally 2pm must be ready.

    Interior

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym I think is the only place which require a bit of uplift

    I only got a chance to stay in Marco Polo for a 3 nights yet every second of it was great. The hotel is always busy as there many events happening, hence it’s alive day and night. Thus busy, one gets a chance to rest well after a long day.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the breakfast buffet seemed a little expensive, although the food was good and there was an excellent number of choices.

    breakfast buffet was very good. the staff was friendly and attentive. the room service was also good. Felt a little uncomfortable having to go through a metal detector each time we entered the hotel, but I understand that security is very tight in this area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower mixer only needs maintainance

    The shower only needs maintenance , special the mixer.. Howover, the rest of Service was great & highly recommend it to friends .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only disturbing thing was the bomb that went off in the street next to the hotel.

    i found the bed quite hard as is usual with Hotel stays. (I prefer a soft mattress). but i understand why it is so. The staff were friendly informative and helpful. Zero complaints.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room don't have hand towel, face towel, bath robe, slippers. Only one towel and set of toiletries are vailable upon checking in. We still have to request all those necessary stuff which they delivered.

    Staff are very courteous and "gives extra mile"

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You are not teansparent!

    I was charged with addl taxes and all. Bookin.com did not state that the amount i booked is gross bot net. Im too disappointed and will no longer book thru you!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Upon a full day of business meetings and checking in late at night, they insisted that I booked a twin bed room! So I insisted in getting a queen size bed or I would not stay. Then the check-in person told me that they would charge for 1 night whether I stay or not! After I got angry, they finally gave me the room that I booked which was a queen size bed. So instead of just telling the truth up front, they had to lie that I booked a twin bed room because they were over booked! So indicate in the comment section that you want a Queen size bed when booking thru booking.com to avoid this.

    The room were ok.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was really wonderful but the bed could be more comfortable and the linen not so used (frayed edges and holes). Breakfast was something to look forward to with the variety of delicious food available. Perfect location for trips around the Poblacion and beyond.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are great but I really think they need renovation. Cabana rooms are the best for me but I had a hard time shutting off the water from the faucet.

    The hotel is about 30-40 minutes from the airport. Staff is excellent and very courteous. It is obvious that it is a high end hotel. Lovely restaurant in between the Cabana and swimming pool. Love the spa service. Since I was there on Business and needed an early check in, they upgraded me just to accommodate my early check in.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    In the bar restuarant at the main entrance foyer,some of the seafood (squid) was continually off the menu/not available,this was dissapointing to be continually told its not available. I would have expected a hotel of this standard to do something about this.

    I stayed here for 12 nights in October 2017, Cannot fault the place,excellent service,staff are all very friendly and helpful, security is tight entering the hotel,but in this day and age it needs to be. Kim the waitress in the breakfast resturant really looked after us well, and made sure we were well looked after.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is showing its age. Decor needs a makeover, our sibk was clogged somewhat. Staff was slow and sometimes inattentive.

    Great location, nice view, terrific bed

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Marco Polo Davao traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: