Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of RB Transient House This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Don Pedro Street, Barangay 1 (backside of Diamond Center and near Saragpunta), Palawan, Coron Town Proper, 5316 Coron, Philippines

#70 of 101 hotels in Coron

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 236 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    5.9

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    8.3
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Safer walkway to reach the property?!

    I came back here after spending an awful night at another budget hostel, so by comparison i felt much more comfortable. RB has wifi that reaches the rooms (a pleasant surprise at this price and in Coron) , the staff are super friendly and the shower isn't a bucket. The common kitchen is also surprisingly clean and tidy and the beds comfortable, with plenty of fans in each room. The only downside is that the surrounding area is a bit smelly, but it's real Coron before all the development! Also the electricity went down while I was having a shower one time, but they quickly turned on the generator ☺️

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    6.7
    Great staff, scary location & only 1 bathroom in the whole house
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is a bit scary especially for solo Travellers because its not in the main road u have to go deep into the slums and then walk through a dark narrow wodden bridge on top of the mangrove area with dog poop along the way. So you always need to have your flash light ready. And there Is only 1 bathroom for the whole house which has probably around 7 rooms with a minimum of 3 pax per room! So you have to wait a long time to use it especially if theres alot of guests.

    The staff are nice and can help you out with your travel needs like booking of tours and hiring tricycles to take you around town. And surprisingly there are no mosquitoes inside the room considering we only rented a fan room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2018

    6.7
    If this property had been located somewhere else, it would have been a fine accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No free drinking water, extra fees for towels, bad smell from the surrounding area (slum alike), no shower available from 9pm till 6am

    Friendly and helpful host, very clean and tidied up property, spacious premises, gender separated bathrooms, shared kitchen

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    9.6
    RB Transient House, highly recommended for a REAL TRUE BLOOD TRAVELER
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location, tho i can manage to walk around for some food, it still a little far from the center. Yet, for a traveller like me, it's manageable.

    The staff are very kind and accommodating. Bathroom, kitchen are clean and very organize.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2018

    5.8
    Need to improve safety at night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our experience at the hostel was good until someone broke into our room while we were out at night, my friend's wallet was stolen and we couldn't do anything about it. The night staff was drunk the whole time we stayed there and slept during his shift so he didn't even wake up when people was opening the noisy main door to come inside the hostel.

    It is clean comparing to other hostels in Coron and has good facilities overall. Staff helped us booking a tour and the fast ferry tickets. Free internet

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    8.3
    Worth the money if you are looking for a cheap stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is disappointing. Made me want to back off but I proceeded anyway to give them the benefit of the doubt.

    When the staff showed me the inside of the building it was surprisingly clean. I didn't expect it to be that good considering the location. The staff are friendly and the free use of the kitchen and the cooking utensils is a plus. It was way worth the price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    8.8
    Fun location on stilts in a local community. Super clean bathrooms and excellent wi-fi!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms get pretty hot but usually cool down at night with fans running.

    Cleanliest bathrooms of all hostels I stayed at! Walking distancing to town and pier. Location in center of local community on stilts. Excellent wi-fi! Staff very helpful arranging tours and transportation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    7.9
    Staff very attentive to cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn t know because I didn t read any review, but it s actualy a real transient house sitting on a shore with dirty water hence it s not located on the street but it s connected with a wooden bridge in a local neighbourhood. However that was not a problem.

    The guy who works there more than the receptionists is very helpful im everything you may need. There are a couple of shops in the "floating neighbourhood " where you can buy the necessary to cook a cheap meal or fruit. The kitchen is equipped with the basics but it s more than enough. The room was big and the bathrooms very clean. Watwr pressure of the bests we had in Philippine but within 9 pm to 6 am the pressure engine might be off.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    9.6
    Sweet meeting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The area in the mangrove quarter is so typical, authentic and welcoming!!! We recommend this place if you want to live inside philipines atmosphere😍 Friendly request: We found and save a little white cat on the water and after we left the place we ask to the owner to take care about him. His name is APO and we will be so happy to have some news, to know if he is growing well and if he will become a strong cat If you want to post some news or pictures of him you can write a comments on "booking" Thanks you😻

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    9.2
    I really appreciated the big kitchen with a dining table,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really. I think it's a good value for it's price.

    I really appreciated the big kitchen with a dining table, where you could cook your own food and just chill when it's too hot. I also liked the location - not directly in the city. Bathroom was always clean .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    9.2
    The location is great, as the Transient house is set in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is great, as the Transient house is set in the middle of a very local neighbourhood. It is a bit away from the touristy restaurants and so on, but you will have to walk through some alleys where people sing karaoke and walk over small wooden piers where left and right children play in the water (or garbage - depending on low or high tide). The house eventually is kind of modern and you would from the inside looks like a normal hostel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    9.6
    It was fun and comfortable. Very nice people and clean place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The way to go there is messy but it's tolebrable.

    The staffs are very respectful, caring and accommodating. The entire transient is very clean and the rooms are very affordable. It was a very great place to stay especially if you only need a place to spend the night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    4.6
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was hard to get there. You always have to take a tuk tuk to get to the town. This hotel is on the water, so you have to walk some bridges to get to the land. The smell from the windows is not nice. I woke up at 4am because someone was cooking in the kitchen of the hostel and the smell was strong. The staff said that they can do nothing. The common areas is only a table, and the family uses it as dinner table. The shower may not be working at night. I am sure that you can find better places.

    The bed was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    7.1
    Simple place and clean common area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit noisy. You have to walk for the Center but honestly it’s a short way.. You have to like walking.

    Simple place and clean common area. The people and the village around authentic and really welcoming.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2018

    2.5
    Our overall expierence wouldn't be bad if not a few very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our overall expierence wouldn't be bad if not a few very important things. During our stay there was no running water for two nights and we had to take bucket showers and flush the toilets with the bucket. That wouldn't be that bad if not the fact that there wasn't enough water. Besides that we got pretty upset because we reserved another night with the hostel without booking and then we found out the next day that someone booked our room, so we basically had to leave despite the fact we booked a whole day tour with this hostel (we basically did not have time to find another place). The only reason I am writing this bad review is because nobody tried to fix the mistake that put us in that difficult situation.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2018

    5.8
    Okay but not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our stay got off to a bad start by seeing a mouse in our room on the first night (4 bed dorm). The water supply and pressure is mostly awful - you can't shower between 9pm-6am because of motor shutdown, and usually it was longer that this. For three nights we had to bucket shower as a sign said there wasn't enough water in the tanks to shower. This also meant little-to-no water from the taps or to flush toilets. The location is quite weird - it's in an old mangrove area so you have to walk along uneven board walk to get to the property which is on stilts. It smells pretty bad, and we saw a rat there. There was loud music at night from neighbours sometimes, but at least it's so far from the road there is no traffic noise. Have stayed in much nicer places for less cost elsewhere in the Philippines, but I think Coron is just an expensive place.

    The location is out of town so gives a more authentic view of local life away from the tourist hub. The kitchen is useful, but has limited equipment. The place is kept clean. Two small fans in the 4 bed room kept it just about cool enough at night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2018

    6.7
    There are many rooms in the house. suitable if you are with group or family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is not walking distance from city. You have to take taxi or grab to reach there. The address shows in the google map is incorrect, but the landlord directed me to the right way. Anyway , better to confirm the location before you reach.

    It is quiet area and the room they gave me is quite big.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2018

    7.1
    Friendly staff, cool neighborhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Useless WiFi. And although staff is very friendly they are very hard to find.. Toilets could use a clean up more often and toilet paper was rare to find.

    Good price. Friendly and helpful staff. Cool neighborhood with all the local people living there. It’s not in the center but it’s close with a tricycle ride which is always 10 pesos per person.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2018

    5.0
    You can cook in the kitchen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We dont like smell. We dont like too much noise. They have water pressure machine which works every 15 seconds! We cant sleep. Finally, they closed 10.00 pm and we can sleep.

    You can cook in the kitchen.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2018

    5.8
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Strange location, bit smelly because of all the trash around. No free water refill. There was a wifi network but it never worked.

    The mattress was nice. Two fans in the room, one for upper bunk beds and one for lower bunk beds. Small but convenient lockers available. Kitchen available.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2018

    4.6
    Clean, very basic, no retsaurant nearby, not a real terrace, not enough protection from mosquitos
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - showers were temporarily not working; bucket shower instead - the ad says it has a restaurant and terrace on-site; it has not at all - it is located above a wetland and there is not enough protection from mosquitos. Bring your own mosquitonet - not a very clean or nice environment

    It was clean. For this price it is an okay place to stay IF you don't mind the things mentioned below. Depends on your view of travel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2018

    6.3
    Perfect for backpackers, nice to see another area than the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There's no mention of the fact that this place is located in a mangrove which is not a problem: my concern was that the rooms had a strong humid stench.

    Perfect for backpackers, nice to see another area than the one for tourists.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2018

    7.5
    Nice and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Book all your nights online. We booked only one night and then we asked the next morning to extend but they had to check at booking.com and it was full.

    Nice and quiet. 10 mins walk to the centre. Good kitchen. Opportunity to wash clothes (by hand with your own soap). Wifi was very good sometimes. Friendly staff!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2018

    9.6
    Worth it (location & clean)
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I would say it's the cleanest place which we have seen in weeks while travelling the whole Philippines. Kitchen is ok, the room and showers with WC of course too. For sure a stay in this house is a great experience because its location - You wouldn't even go there unless you have to ;)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2017

    6.3
    Staff were really helpful and friendly and always in a good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    there were a lot of ants in the private room and the bathrooms could have been a bit nicer. A little tricky to get to as it was way out the back. I’d say for the location and standards the cost of a double room should be lower than 550php

    Staff were really helpful and friendly and always in a good mood. Nice clean kitchen and somewhere quiet if you need to rest your head.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    6.3
    For the cheap price you pay, this hostel is what you expect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This hostel is in a residential area, about a 20 minute walk from the centre of Coron Town. You do need to walk down some dark paths so a torch is useful. There didn’t seem to be any glass in the windows so it was very noisy from cockerels to music being played from next door. WiFi didn’t work

    For the cheap price you pay, this hostel is what you expect. It’s clean and the staff are all friendly. Also, although it’s cold (as you’d expect) the shower is reasonably powerful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2017

    5.4
    It was the cheapest hostel in Coron
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location, far away from the centre. Only three shower/toilets. Not enough electricity plugs in the room. And not enough lockers. I stayed in a 4 bed dorm and there were only 2 lockers available.

    It is in a local area. So if you like that, you should stay at this hostel. It was the cheapest: 315 PHP a night. They have a kitchen you can use.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2017

    6.7
    basic dorm room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi wasnt working all three days, even stated otherwise. Not enough electrical sockets. Lack of storage lockers.

    It is basic dorm hostel. Affordable. Away from noise.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2017

    5.0
    Nice staff, nice kitchen area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Ultra slow wifi, really hard to get there (and not so nice when you have to walk back at night), garbages around the property (in the water), Shower wasnt working properly

    Nice staff, nice kitchen area

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2017

    7.5
    a bit dodgy on the outside but clean in the inside
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    location too hot in the room (there were 2 fans in the room but the other one was broken when i was there)

    super helpful and friendly staff cheap clean rooms and bathroom

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2017

    8.3
    Budget friendly and definitely will stay again at RB Transient
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi is slow or not evev working anymore since it is just a kind of pocket wifi. Also, since the place is located at the mangroves the surroundings sometimes smells but it can be tolerated.

    Staff are all' accommodating and punctual and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2017

    6.7
    Worth the cheap price if you don’t demand much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dormitory of four people had two fans, other not working. One floorfan not enough in a room of four people.

    Affortable price. You can’t ask for much when it’s this cheap. Kitchen was clean and facilities good. Toilets were really clean as well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2017

    6.7
    Staff are really friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortnately without air condition it's hard to sleep during the nights.

    Staff are really friendly and helpful. They organize transport from the aiport and also they help us to buy a ticket for a ferry. It's a good place for someone who wants to see how local people live. Hostel is clean inside.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2017

    9.2
    I LIVED LIKE A LOCAL! SUPERB EXPERIENCE!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location has a mini adventure. You need to cross a bridge because they are situated in a mangrove. But it's fine, I enjoyed it. Quite hot because they don't have aircon.

    All the staff were nice, they are always available when in need and the owner is just a text away. It was really clean and nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    6.7
    Okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's an odd smell inside the room. I don't know if it's from my roommates or it's the room itself. The location is a bit hard to find and you have to go through a wooden bridge which is above dirty waters (Don't let your phone slip cos you're not getting it back). Outside the transient house is reaaaaaally dirty but when you get inside, it's okay. Like I said, you pretty much get what you paid for.

    RB transient is okay if you're low in budget. Price is very cheap and you pretty much get what you paid for.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2017

    6.7
    Very attentive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place is okay if you're on a tight budget and you have teen and adults with you. Not recommended for kids and elders as the area is quite far from the highway and you have to enter a narrow bridge to get to the place. Water during dawn is really low and wifi aint working.

    Very attentive staff. They know what you need.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2017

    3.3
    You don't get what is advertised
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is four main reasons why this place is awful. 1.location 2.noise 3.facilities 4.WiFi. Its about 15 mins walk from town, but you have to walk through a very desolate dark area which feels quite unsafe at night. The external noise (roosters and dogs) are bad but internal noise is so much worse. The walls are made of a thin plywood so you can hear everything (talking, sex, music) from the rooms beside and across from you. Also locals watch the TV so loud very early in the morning and late at night, which can be heard throughout homestay. I complained and the staff simply said they can't control guests. But what is their job? WiFi simply doesn't work, you can connect but no connection at all. I didn't load one message email or web page my entire 4 day stay. They said it was the satellite, but a portable modem won't work for over 10 people. The facilities, there just lack them. There is one male and female bathroom/shower with no soap or toilet paper which you could be sharing with more than 10 people so expect to queue for the toilet! Overall I think that it's overpriced for what you get, there's so many more home stays in town with better facilities for the same price if not cheaper. As they add 12℅ VAT after quoted price which is annoying too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2017

    6.7
    It's good enough place to stay if you're on a tight budget.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It's an area where the mangroves are and is quite a walk (boardwalk) from this place to where motorcycles pass by and some areas aren't even lit up at night. During my stay, the staff tried to move people around rooms which really bothered guests (at least 2 times and a third attempt wasn't successful because they were 2 guys in a private room that she tried to move to dormitory room and they didn't budge at all. Why would they when they paid 500 Php for a private room and won't get at least a percentage of their money back if moved to the dormitory!) I was watching TV in the dining area when the staff (Monina) took the remote and changed the channel. I only booked this place because I read in a review that the WiFi was good, but it barely worked when I got there. My mobile data was so much faster!

    Place is clean and you can cook your own food. Some of the staff were helpful (Jane and those 2 men there).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2017

    7.1
    we just stayed there for a night and looked for a better place stay for the next 3 days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did not expect the path to the house since it was not really mentioned that we have to walk on the wooden stilts that stood over a not so clean environment. It should have been better if it was explained well. The house is situated at the center of mangrove trees planted on a 'creek' (black colored) sand with poor environment sanitation. It's not a short distance away from the road.

    We felt comfortable inside the house, everything was clean including the lobby and the bathroom. The front desk was nice though, she was defensive about the location of the house.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2017

    6.7
    Mosquito City
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hostel and staff are nice enough and the bathrooms (cold showers only) & rooms (fans only) are clean & it has a kitchen with cooker, fridge, kettle etc. Small drawer type lockers under the beds. No laundry, cafe, bike hire on site. All this doesn't make up for the fact that the WiFi didn't work the whole time I was there & the hostel is situated on & amongst a mangrove swamp, so lots of mosquitoes. I arranged in advance a ferry pickup but it never showed. I had to make my own way there at 4.30am. Don't expect all the facilities listed to be available, as there not.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2017

    2.5
    Do not stay, there are 100 better in town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is located in a very inaccessible area, you need to walk through streets full of mud and then through a wooden passadice souronded with mud water. So expect a lot of mosquitoes bites. But the worst was that their wifi doesn't work I was next to the router, re started several times and nothing! The stuff knew this issue going on for weeks as I asked several people around and they were using their own data. We really needed to have Internet as we were taking a flight next day (check in and so on). When I asked the receptionist for a compensation back (5% of our stay) to compensate that we needed to go back to the town to find a place with wifi and pay extra for it, She told us that it is not possible and that the boss was sleeping (during reception schedule 7am to 7.30 pm). Therefore not very helpful stuff and even less empathic.

    I didn't smell so bad about humidity

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2017

    7.1
    Nice but in strange location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Strange location - hostel built on wooden sticks in tide flooded area, accessible only via wooden footpath. Quite nice looking location during high tide, when surrounded by water, but in the middle of smelly swamp during low tide. Our 4-person room was small, just 2 double beds and small table.

    Spacious and well equipped kitchen, very quiet place, cheap, ladies at reception friendly and speak English. Reasonably well working WiFi. 10 minutes walk from the village center and marina, some nice cheap local restaurants on the way, 2km to ferry port.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2017

    8.8
    Very accommodating staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cleaner pathway (free from stray dogs' poop, pls) and maybe place air diffusers in the room because the water around the area stinks.

    Very accommodating staff! They have tours and van transfers from and to the sea/airport so it's more convenient for the guests. They also offer tours so if you have an unplanned day, you can just easily tell the staff and book something for the day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2017

    5.0
    Slumming it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location, no toilet seat on the toilet, smell in room, curfew of 10pm?!? Path to get there covered in dog & chicken poo. Sorry this was my least favorite accommodation in PH.

    If you want to live like a local in a dirty tiny fishing village this is ur place. Idk what I expected, but this wasn't it. I liked Coron, but wouldn't recommend this unless u can't find anything cheaper.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2017

    6.7
    The staff are really nice and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location, you have to ride a tricycle everytime you go to town. Also, the room is fine but there are lots of cockroaches. Neighborhood looks like squater's area.

    The staff are really nice and accommodating. Free use of kitchen and utensils.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2017

    7.9
    Nice Staff and Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We did have a few cockroaches in our room but aside from that, nothing else to complain about.

    Room was nice, staff too. For the most part everything was clean. It was really nice that they let us use their kitchen. Place was a little hard to find at first but once you know where it is, its easy to get to town. They can help you book tours and bus to airport.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2017

    8.3
    Lovely, friendly family run simple place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The dorm room is quite hot even with the fan. Wouldn't recommend for people with walking disabilities: you have to walk through narrow wooden bridge over water.

    Lovely family, felt like homestay in a good way. Staying with common people and local enviroment was definately the best choice for me. Walkable distance from Coron town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2017

    7.9
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not a lot of tricycle pass the area so we have to walk far to find a ride. Also, the way going to the lodge is clean. And the lodge do not have proper drainage system.

    It is affordable and the staff are very friendly. They are also accommodating. It even turns our we were both from the same town in Bulacan. Even the kids going to the lodge are friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2017

    5.8
    Nothing great, except for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Getting there is kind of a mess. The dorm is kind of small. Breakfast was overpriced.

    Friendly family owning the place, offering good value for money. In its own way, kind of cosy to stay in this familyhome

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2017

    8.8
    Lovely local place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy in the morning (from 6am)

    Lovely staff, they checked me in even though i arrived super early! I liked the location with the local people all around and able to walk into town easily. Good WiFi. Good value.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2017

    8.8
    Miss the place already
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel had a very homely feel to it which I loved. The hotel staff were incredibly friendly and went out there way to help us. Would just like to mention Gellie and little Sofia as they both have made our trip in the Phillipines. Sofia is absolutely adorable and will make you to never want to leave. I know we now have friends if we ever come back to Coron. The hotel facilities were also very clean and had everything we needed. Overall it was a great stay and I couldn't recommend the place enough.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2017

    9.6
    Lovely place away from the town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely friendly, helpful staff - Thanks Gellie! Quiet location. Very clean, comfy beds, you can use the kitchen facilities. Fast wifi and great value for money. It is a little walk in to town but i liked this to see more of the local area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2017

    9.2
    The people that own the place were really friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They were turning off the water during the day, I guess it's the way to save up.

    The people that own the place were really friendly! And you can use the kitchen to cook your own food or at least to make yourself a coffee!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2017

    9.6
    The place was very clean and tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's not that I dislike the location of the place, but at first I got quite scared with the location as it only had a wooden bridge in the middle of a mangrove swamp. But I usually get back at the hostel at 2 in the morning and it was perfectly fine.

    The place was very clean and tidy. It was a nice welcome after staying in crappy and unclean hostels.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2017

    6.7
    'slum dug' experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is sewerage smell time to time and all the water from shower and tap goes straight into ocean.

    The stuff is really nice , and it's real filipino experience because it feels like you are living in slum dug area, but the people around the place are friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2017

    10
    100% recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Yo reach the place you have to cross a kind of bridge, but It is safe

    It's a really clean House which you share with the family, all of them super kind with you

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2017

    10
    The owner and the staff of the house are very accomodating...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    None 😊

    The owner and the staff of the house are very accomodating and friendly.You can approach them anytime.Common CR and kitchen are always clean. We will definitely go back here in RB transient 😊 Exceeded our expectations 🙌🏽

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2017

    5.0
    Great wifi, but not worth it for the bed bugs
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    BED BUGS. Bed #4 (top bunk) in the very first room (right-hand side of the hallway when you walk in) had them. I booked 4 nights but only stayed 3 when I woke up with literally over 50 bites after the 3rd night. Clearly bed bug bites, not mosquitoes. Received no sympathy/refund from the staff when I showed them, they only said they would change the sheets (which obviously wouldn't change anything)... I'd be careful if you get put in this room. Female bathroom was also out of order, and there are loud roosters/children that will wake you up in the morning.

    Best wifi I have experienced in the Philippines.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2017

    6.7
    RB Transient is good for backpackers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I don't like the wood bridge going inside to the location coz it's so scary..I'm afraid if i might fall down at night..

    i like the staff, they were friendly and accomodating. It's like a home away from home.They were approachable.Neat and clean environment.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2017

    5.8
    A little bit far from the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unconfortable the way how to get there. The wobbly bridge its a challenge with yours luggages and during the night.

    People and staff very nice abd helpful. Lovely local environment. You share the house with the family. Staff help you out with transfers everywhere.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2016

    8.3
    A nice place for a great price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - location may be a little off putting to somensure people as it's out in stilt houses access by a wooden walkway

    -lovely and helpful family running the place - Clean - Comfortable beds - Kitchen - Location means you can easily / quickly walk to town

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2016

    8.3
    Worth staying
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff was always kind. They allowed me to get into the room 5 o'clock in the morning on check in date. (Came here by ferry) Room is good, communal kitchen!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2016

    3.8
    the room were okay since we got the cheapest one nobprob...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the room were okay since we got the cheapest one nobprob with the fan room, the problem is it is located at the end of the narrow street, in the middle of mangroves old mangrpves that turn ito informal settlers area and everytime we went out theres a lot of animal poo outside...

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    6.3
    Staff is very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location : on a swamp...

    Staff is very friendly

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    5.8
    It was in a swamp area at the seaside, REALLY hard to find
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was in a swamp area at the seaside, REALLY hard to find

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    9.6
    nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is a little bit difficult to find~

    the staffs there were very nice ,they helped me a lot ,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2018

    9.2
    Helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fan was a bit noisy

    Helpful staff Cooking facilities

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    10
    Clean and they sort out boat transfers
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Clean and they sort out boat transfers

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    7.9
    A
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    N

    'Twas clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2018

    4.6
    The bed is comfy and spacious bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location is a bit dirty and creepy its above the sea shore and many mangroves.

    The bed is comfy and spacious bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    6.3
    very affordable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    unstable electricity and water supply

    very affordable price. very clean rooms and toilets.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    6.3
    The location is far, you need to walk in a bridge and...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is far, you need to walk in a bridge and it's not that clean sight to see.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    9.6
    Clean , tidy , fully furnished ( kitchen , fridge etc)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Clean , tidy , fully furnished ( kitchen , fridge etc) Shower with pressure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    8.3
    Nice enough you get what you pay for
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really - they keep the place clean

    Nice enough you get what you pay for

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    9.6
    Will definitely recommend this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi

    Staffs,the house.. everything!!

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: