Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Philippines hotel reviews
  3. Visayas hotel reviews
  4. Malapascua Island hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Tepanee Beach Resort

Reviews of Tepanee Beach Resort This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Barangay Logon, Daanbantayan, Cebu, 6013 Malapascua Island, Philippines

#1 of 30 hotels in Malapascua Island

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 593 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2019

    10
    Great location and restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was good

    The location was very good. The rooms are clean and the private beach is really nice. Good breakfast and the restaurant is also fine for the evenings.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2019

    6.3
    Silence, cleanliness, very charming beach bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hundreds of stairs, unsafe to toddler, warm beer in the bar, 5% extra charge debit card payment.

    Silence, cleanliness, very charming beach bar. Cold water jaguzzi

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2019

    8.3
    Beautiful place, could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel could improve more in terms of upgrading the room (e.g. interior design, amenities such as good spring-boxed bed, larger fridge, better and newer, thicker towels, etc). Overall, a good value but could be better.

    Location was nice. It has a small private beach, very close to our room (Deluxe room has unobstructed view of the ocean and the beach). The room is pretty basic. In a very quiet, tranquil and beautiful portion of the island. For the price (close to USD100/night after taxes), you would expect a better value. For example, for this price, we had close to great accomodations in Ulawatu/Seminyak, Bali. No TV, no swimming pool, non-working jacuzzi, and our safety deposit box was not working. We didn't try the gym but there's one. Breakfast near our room was okay, small portion but the staff were pretty nice and friendly. We really just booked specifically this hotel for the view and it's highly rated. The sunset was gorgeous.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2019

    10
    Really nice resort with an amazing view and massage
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Malapascua was really dirty, especially the beaches and places in the South. We only stayed at the resort for this reason and it was really sad to see that the local community/businesses are not doing anything to keep the island clean and touristy.

    Really nice resort/room/view/beach/restaurants. I loved everything about it and the staff was amazing. We had a few relaxing couple of days where we did not had to worry about food or anything else as everything there was super good. The massage was also the best I had in the Philipines.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2019

    6.3
    Terrible staff, expect zero service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Cottage
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was terrible. When I asked for water at the front desk, they looked at me like I was crazy. They told me water was “not possible”. I tried to book a spa appointment at 2:30. “Sir we can only book at 2 or 3.” At the spa there were several therapists just waiting around. They also ask you to give them your room key if you leave the property. Basically because you need the key to run the A/C. Also be prepared for insects in your room: ants, spiders, swarms of flies.

    Beautiful property!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2019

    5.0
    The room was lovely and the bungalow had an amazing view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff where not very pleasant. There was one receptionist in particular that seemed pretty rude, on several ocassions she shouted "WHAT?" And looked very confused when there was a lack in communication. Other than that, the staff at the restaurant (amihad) were fast and caring for their guests. The aircon wasn't strong enough, the lowest setting was 16°C but it was actually 24°c

    The room was lovely and the bungalow had an amazing view over the sea. Probably one of the best private stays on the island, which you pay the price for.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2019

    7.9
    Amazing sunset views next to the resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quite rigid breakfast menu included (no changes allowed unless paying extra). Have to pay for water refills - you would think this is already included in the price, especially as this is one of the more expensive hotels.

    Amazing sunset views next to the resort. Nice rooms. Easy, well-arranged transport.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2019

    7.5
    The food in both restaurants and the sunset view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff weren’t proactive in checking if this was my first time to the island and so didn’t recommend any activities. Restaurant staff in Italian restaurant was inconsistent

    The food in both restaurants and the sunset view

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2019

    9.2
    Beautiful private beach, employees helpful and very nice ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the evening, music from the beach too much noisy

    Beautiful private beach, employees helpful and very nice , comfortable room and clean. Good location

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2019

    9.6
    Beautiful views, great staff, and amazing complimentary...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a problem for us but some people should know there are quite a bit of stairs as the property is located on a hill.

    Beautiful views, great staff, and amazing complimentary breakfast at both of their on-site restaurants. The private beach is just perfect and gorgeous for sunset. Lounge chairs and umbrellas. Jacuzzi. Cute little bungalows that were kept very clean with free water, tea, and coffee each day. About 10 minute walk to the market and the ferry port.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2019

    9.6
    enjoy ur diving trip with friends here is best choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Cottage
    • Stayed 4 nights

    seems like all perfect, very hot and need more water ~

    Location is very excellent , ocean view cottage ,every day we can see the beautiful sunset.Around resorts has food and dive center ,very nice choice.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2019

    10
    It was indeed a very nice place that we have stayed in Malapascua.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we were the beach enjoying the sunset. There was a group of Chinese tourist, who one of them got a Starfish out of the water, which made the lady pretty much upset. And I fully understand her reaction. Maybe next time put a very visible signage anywhere in the property to remind guests and tourists to NEVER take anything from the sea especially if its for entertainment purposes only.

    Breakfast was very good. It has a very good amount of serving.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2019

    10
    It is beautiful and very well maintained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was absolutely nothing to find fault with

    It is beautiful and very well maintained. Awesome food and the best coffee. Love how much they care about the environment

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2019

    10
    The island is very small and developing and from a walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was at the far end of the island so it was a bit of a walk to get to Bounty Beach and the dive operations around there.

    The island is very small and developing and from a walk around it I would say Tepanee was one of the higher end resorts. Rustic, clean and beautiful sunset views. Would highly recommend the massage and the food (Italian) is really really great. We also organised transfers with them from Cebu which were on time and seamless.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2019

    7.1
    Good for peace and quiet or diving, not much else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you depart Cebu from the new port you arrive quite a distance from the resort. There is no way of accessing the resort short of hiring another boat to take you there directly or walking. If you have more than a backpack this is very inconvenient. Secondly, my room was meters from the beach but inaccesdible unless I walked back through the resort and entered from an access point near the reception desk.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2019

    8.3
    Perfect resort for a short diving vacation on Malapascua!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottage
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool, the jacuzzi was out of service and didnt look very inviting anyway. Same for the spa services. There was heavy maintenance working during all days of our stay. Should have been disclaimed properly or compensated for. Meal portions are small especially the breakfast, the restaurant on the property is expensive. There are plenty of good food options in walking distance (including the above mentioned italian restaurant) so this should not be an issue.

    Perfect location, close to the popular diveshops and probably the best spot on the island to watch the sunsets from. Beautiful and clean private beach. There is a good italian restaurant right next to the property famous for its woodoven pizza. Our bungalow did have a lovely balcony, there was plenty of room, a safe and automated aircondition. Really quiet and romantic at night.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2019

    10
    Staff/hospitality was fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was spotty in some areas but that is to be expected on a tiny island.

    Staff/hospitality was fantastic! They were very friendly and eager to assist in booking transfers to and from the airport and recommending dive a dive company. There were a variety of options in the included breakfast to choose from , we had something different each of the four days of our stay.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2019

    9.2
    really nice place, with amazing food en cheap good wine!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -

    really nice place, with amazing food en cheap good wine! hotels is placed on the best spot off the island! what a view. do not thinks twice to go here.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2019

    9.2
    Perfect little beach resort on tiny bit of paradise! Best spot on the island (IMO)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room (superior cottage, no view) was pretty basic, and a bit rustic. It’s not a room you would particularly enjoy spending time in, but that’s a good thing because you should be outside! (Im sure the rooms with a beach view, however, are spectacularl). You should expect some bugs and geckos, you’re in tropical environment after all. The in-room towels were a little old, but other than that, no complaints!

    Take me back! Our stay at Tepanee was wonderful! We only had two days on Malapascua but we made the most of it with the help of the hotel staff at Reception. They arranged for private dive excursion and also found us motorbikes to rent. The property itself is right on the corner of the island is so lovely you never want to leave! Great views and nice beach access. The beach bar is reasonably priced, so convenient, and the food (pasta) is amazing. Breakfast that was included was also perfect it’s start the day (choice of fresh fruit juice, hot drink, and entree). I particularly loved the lounge chairs because of the attachment to make shade for your head at nearly any hour of the day. I love that it was a full service establishment with, but without the stuffiness- this places makes you feel like you can relax without a worry. The bed was also very comfortable (new and firm). Wifi in the room and beach bar worked well.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2019

    7.1
    Good accommodation, but poor management attitude
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottage
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The resort is generally in a good condition, clean, quiet except for week-ends when people party, good locations. Breakfast is better at the beach than in the Amihan restaurant. Management attitude is one big thing that needs to be changed.

    Very unimpressed with the customer service. We prepaid the room 2.5 months in advance, also on request of Tepanee I signed the receipt of the debit card charge and emailed to them. 2 months later due to British Airways data breach our bank cancelled the card. Given that the money was already in Tepanee's account we did not think it was a big deal, but still send an email to Tepanee explaining the situation and asking for advice. They failed to answer the email. When we arrived Tepanee refused to check us in (though Tepanee confirmed that our money was in their bank account) and they requested to make another full payment with a promise to refund the original payment 7 days later. Tepanee assured that they had done the same with 70 of their customers to meet the Tepanee bank requirements. The refund we eventually received was not full (£20 less). The management should change their attitude towards guests. A note over the restaurant tiny buffet table warns of 100 peso fine if food is left on the plate uneaten. There are numerous other fines listed in a several page booklet giving an impression that the management expected guests to break everything in their rooms. Tepanee was supposed to be the highlight of our trip and turned out to be a disappointment.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2019

    9.6
    Great place at a perfect spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    a lot of administration regarding the WIFI: you need to sign in each device with an individual access code, which expires after a certain time. Then you have to go to the reception in order to receive another access code. We had to go down the hill to the reception three times during our four day stay...

    # very comfortable, large huts with big bathrooms # silent AC # fast Internet # very good breakfast in Italian restaurant # very clean # very nice private beach with enclosed resto bar for perfect sunset watching

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2019

    8.3
    Great location with private beach and amazing view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They only provide a very thin layer of blanket (as thin as a bedsheet), which is quite cold at night. Make sure you asked for extra blanket - which is another thin layer but it's better than nothing.

    Very nice location with a private beach and stunning view! Tepanee definitely provides the best viewing spot for sunset on Malapascua island! I stayed in both standard double room and supreme cottage due to room availability issue. I highly recommend the supreme cottage - great value for money! I must say a big thank you to the hotel owner of Tepanee. My friend suffered from severe DCS from diving and the owner provided huge help along the way!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2019

    9.6
    Stylish deco.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible WiFi connection, can be a problem if you want to get some work done but then again, out of big cities this is normal in the Philippines. Don’t think that because it’s a superior type of hotel your connection will be better than in other places.

    Stylish deco. Comfortable room. Great bathroom. Nice view and private beach. Great coffee and good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2019

    9.2
    A nice island for divers, snorkeling and swimming was also possible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We did not like to go to the restaurant Amihan. The wase very strikt to offer your breakefast, whats included or not and what we can order. The staff was not very friendly

    There are two restaurants to coose We loved the open aerial next the beach

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2019

    10
    Beautiful property with friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Music comes across the water loud at night sometimes..... I advise you to bring earplugs just in case (not a problem with the property)

    -Owners and Staff were friendly and helpful -Beautifully terraced property overlooking the sea -Great food on site -Quiet terrace and private beach on the property. -Short walk to many dive shops/restaurants. -Although Malapascua is not "busy" per say, this place is even further removed from the business.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2019

    9.2
    Quiet (apart from Saturday nights when there’s a loud disco...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Quiet (apart from Saturday nights when there’s a loud disco on the far side of the bay so bring earplugs if light sleeper) part of the island with small sandy beach with plenty of sun beds with sunshades and a small restaurant. Great staff. Manager regularly interacts with customers around the beach area to ensure all is well. Be aware there are about 60 steps to the rooms from reception and about 50 steps to the beach but well kept paved steps. If you get standard room, suggest upstairs as floors are wooden and you may get noise from guests upstairs if in lower room

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2019

    10
    Great location and resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing - just our stay was too short.

    Great location and resort... definitely the place to stay in Malapascua. Make sure you book the deluxe sea view villa, as they have unbeatable views. Great Italian food in the restaurants, you feel really like in Italy. Every day we had an arranged activity by hotel - snorkeling and island hopping tour, both totally worth it.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2019

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food at the restaurant was really average. We could not finish our meals and that never happens!!

    Great location. Nice and private. Lovely beach. Ok breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2019

    10
    Paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amihan Restaurant in this resort ,ovoid does not know its identity tries to cater for all tastes and fails , Angelica Restaurant is far better knows its market

    Been here twice , it’s totally beautiful, chilled out its paradise it’s self we booked a boat trip to bantayan island seemless trip, this place is totally relaxing beautiful beaches blue seas and beautiful people,

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2019

    5.4
    Deluxe cottage with very nice ocean view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Cottage
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Deluxe cottage was clean but a bit old inside. We had some problems with doors and electric sockets etc. Resort just need a refurbishment. Food was just average but there are few nice restaurants next to the resort. Unfortunately, the service was not too good. They tried to add extra items and services into our bill (Stuff and services which we never ordered or which we already paid by cash) also they tried to overcharge us for transports etc. (I understand mistakes but it happened few times) There are loads of bothersome sellers on the island they are very annoying and you cant have the piece of mind outside the resort. Malapascua itself is a beautiful place with great views but it is also very dirty place, piles of rotting garbage were everywhere. (The dirtiest island during our 3 weeks trip in the Philippines).

    Deluxe cottage with very nice ocean view. Few nice restaurants next to the resort.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2018

    7.5
    Relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottage
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was ok.

    The resort is very quiet. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The private beach invites you to spend hours reading or sunbathing on comfortable loungers. The sunset there is spectacular. And do not miss the Amihan restaurant, exquisite!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2018

    9.2
    Amazing view in the evenings and sunset, very nice staff, ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Cottage
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mostly a great hotel. However, the check-in experience was arduous and annoying. We had to pay for refilling our water bottles, and they tried to charge us to wash a beach towel... at a beach resort...which we didn't even dirty. The internet registration is annoying and timly and often doesn't work. There were also cockroaches in the room the last night.

    Amazing view in the evenings and sunset, very nice staff, great value at the beach bar, best property on the island.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2018

    8.8
    Nice private beach for sunbathing and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Cottage
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really! The WiFi was questionable at times but nothing we couldn’t handle!

    Nice private beach for sunbathing and relaxing. Beach bar where you could purchase snacks throughout the day. The hotel management (an Italian family) were very welcoming! We had a very good massage at the spa which was relatively cheap.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2018

    10
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything. Nothing to say about it.

    We had a great time, the room was just perfect, so clean and the balcony with sea views, the staff... and they make one of the bests creepes with nuttela at their chiringuito. We will definitely recomens it to anyone staying in Malapascua

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2018

    9.6
    Great private beach, very relaxing, incredible value and clean place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Cottage
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only thing I'd single out is that the internet didn't always work well or reach my room. I also had to enter a new code almost each time I'd connect with the internet, so it would be great if the internet connection could be improved.

    The breakfast was very ample and good. A few choices which was nice. I also really enjoyed the private beach, it had decent snorkeling and was clean and had no boats or anyone trying to sell anything to me. The beach was a great part of the resort. I liked the view from my room, I could see the water and the sunset and the sunset view from the private beach area is impossible to beat from anywhere on the island. Very nice staff as well. Also the sun beds had a great attachment to cover your face so you could read. Really nice touch.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2018

    8.8
    The location & staff were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We always felt that people were about to walk into our room due to the noise and we would have liked a room with a view closer to the beach considering the amount we paid.

    The location & staff were lovely. It was in walking distance of all the main restaurants and beaches.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2018

    9.2
    Nice Time Out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The boat ride was a challenge and kinda scary in the dark since we arrived really late but nothing the hotel can do about that! Also please be aware that the beach is no sandy beach and there are many rocks as you want to walk in the water! The water is great and we saw sea stars etc :)

    Staff is friendly and helpful! Our bungalow was clean and simple! We had no hot water at first - but that was fixed right away!! Italien Restaurant “Amihan” is amazing! We ordered seafood and were pleasantly surprised by the real good quality and taste! It’s a pricy but still really good food! We love animals so we enjoyed all the cats and dogs that belong to the hotel ;) We’d come back anytime!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2018

    10
    We love Tepanne resort, it was our second tine that we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We love Tepanne resort, it was our second tine that we stayed here. The owners are very friendly and talkative. I love that you can get an appropriate italian coffee on such a small island like Malapascua. The resort is very clean, and very ECO friendly, which I appreciate. The staff is also very helpful and nice. Also the food in the beach bar is very tasty, we tried a lot of thing from the menu, and everything was delicious. I would definitely recommend this place!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2018

    10
    Where you should be rather than UK in a damp chilly November
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottage
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not anything to do with Tepanee but the ambiance of the excellent Amihan restaurant a bit spoilt when they haven’t got their own background music on by the karaoke blasting tunelessly across from the middle of Logon Beach. With that in mind good to eat by the bar on the other side of Tepanee for the quiet. These are just minor issues though, thanks to Matthew, Sylvia + Kathleen and all the staff for a great 7 days.....now back to the real world.......

    Very chilled, great place to hang out and be quiet and fantastic location on their small private beach bar for sunset. Staff were lovely and really helpful. Best location on island and just 5 minute stroll to the ( main) Bounty Beach for dive shops, massage drinks and etc. Great raised restaurant overlooking Logon Beach ( the flip side to Bounty Beach) with v. Good food at reasonable rates and proper Italian coffee; much appreciated. Also paying whole tab on credit card was useful as no ATM on island. Buckets of free toiletries... shampoo and bathe soap! Try the trip to Kalangaman Island, takes about 90 mins both ways but amazing sand bar on an exquisite tropical island

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2018

    10
    The place is pacefull, the perfect place to relax after days...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is pacefull, the perfect place to relax after days of travelling around Philippines, the food is amazing and the whole place has such a good vibes that makes you feel great!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful stay on the beach with some affordable luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Cottage
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot to do except chill out and scuba, although you can take a day trip to Malapascua for better snorkeling. This isn't really a complaint but it was a bit of a tease to see the hammocks metres away that we couldn't use.

    Lovely staff, and amazing food with Italian influences. Expensive for the Philippines, but still cheap for everyone else and with some truly spectacular dishes. Surprisingly good food on the whole package, really. The property has nice views and a garden feel. Lots of chairs to decline in and look out at the water. Massages were excellent. Comfortable beds, good AC. Safe.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2018

    10
    Wowww
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything: the room was big and clean. The sunset from the private beach is so wonderful! The breakfast was good and with a lot of choice. A very peaceful place to relax! In the island everything is reachable by walk.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2018

    9.6
    The private beach is so on point
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No toothbrush, but you can buy it from the stores on the island.

    I'm very satisfied with this property. The staff were very helpful and friendly. They arranged the private boat and taxi to the airport for me and both boat and taxi were quite comfortable and on time. The inside of this hotel was pretty so as the room. What I really liked about this hotel was the private beach. The view is amazing and pretty quiet. The sunset from the beach was just stunning. Also the beach chairs were comfortable and you can have variety of foods and drinks there. I definitely want to stay here again!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    10
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our little house was very beautiful, we could see the ocean from our bed! Breakfast is nice and the staff is very helpful. We would definitely come back.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    10
    Great resort with great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Cottage
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    May be the bed could be a bit harder.

    Very nice property in a fabulous location. Amazing and caring staff. Always attentive and they know what you need.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    7.5
    THE PRICE IS FOR 1 PERSON ONLY, EXTRA CHARGES APPLIES!!! UPDATE BOOKING.COM INFO SOON!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottage
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The booking.com price was only for 1 person, we had to pay an extra charge when we checked in. The restaurant "Amihan" was horrible, no staff and the food is really bad. Best to go to next place which called "Angelina" great food and great staff. This is the best spot in the island for Sunset viewing, Tho you can find cheaper hotels on the same side.

    The staff are very nice to accommodate us with our requests.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful resort on a lovely island. Perfect getaway for a week.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottage
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I disliked. Ok, the beaches are not Boracay, but nice, clean, quiet and largely urchin-free. The snorkling is not world class, but still worthwhile. There could be more food options, but what you get is actually quite amazing for a Philippine island this size.

    everything is simple, but unobtrusively stylish. I have never seen a place in the Philippines that is as well-kept, and I have seen a lot. The two restaurants of the resort offer very good Italian food. The third Italian restaurant right next door offers sensational home-made ice cream.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    5.0
    it was very disappointing especially for the price that we paid. we expected a lot from this resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we had 3 blackouts in our 2 nights stay. the jacuzzi pool is not working. the water from the faucet is smelly. no bidet in the toilet. no intercom to contact the frontdesk. no toothbrush and toothpaste.

    food is good

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    10
    This was by far the best Hotel we had stayed in so far on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing

    This was by far the best Hotel we had stayed in so far on our journey. great location, great beaches, snorkling was fun, breakfast was excellent, staf were super friendly, outstanding Facilities.... No Complaints at all.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    10
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably that the drinking water is not provided every day, but it was fine.

    It was just excellent! The hotel has a very good atmosphere, it's like a little piece of paradise! The room is very comfortable and spacious, well furnitured. The breakfast was great, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The beach area was nice. The location is just amazing, everything e.g dive shops, restaurants were nearby. If I'm coming back to Malapascua, I'm definitely sure that I'm going to stay in Tepanee again!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.3
    Best in malapascua, but can be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service is below average. They have a laid back attitude and it takes a lot of time for them to do what is asked. Their pillows are quite hard and they give very thin blankets- almost as thin as the bed sheet.

    We had superior cottage room with sea view. Queen size bed, Clean room, less or no mosquitoes. The bathroom is very good, probably the best in malapascua. There is a separate space for shower, so the rest of the bathroom doesn’t get wet. Beautiful views. They are near thresher shark divers shop.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    6.7
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The management didn’t advise us in advance of the heavy constructions (wall knocking, electric drill) on the room right next to us that started from 8.30am. On first day we discovered this, I did not complain as I thought it might’ve been temporary maintenance. It happened again the next day so I decided to complain on the noises. I was assured that the staff was notified to stop the maintenance till we left the room but this was not the case. From there the staff offered us a room which we rejected as we were leaving the next day and would’ve been more troublesome for us to pack and unpack. During all the time the manager didn’t bother to interfere despite of me requesting to see him to escalate the complain. Things then got worse where the entire water pipes was fixed right in the middle of my shower! I had to wait for 15mins before I could resume the shower. We completely understood that from time to time maintenance is required however the management has not acted with guests convenience as priority and was only offering for new room after complain was received. The maintenance being done was not even due to typhoon which didn’t hit the island. I expected that prior to the construction commencement , we would’ve been offered a different room. On our last day, the manager finally approached us before breakfast to apologise and explained through the whole situation and it was clear to us that from the explanation the manager never consider us , the guests, at all throughout the entire process. He offered refund of one night which I’m not ashamed at all to take it. I’d refunded the entire stay if I was the manager whom has committed this grave mistake. Staff are genuinely nice , it is a shame our stay there was completely waste of our money due to the mismanagement

    location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.8
    A beach we'll never forget
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottage
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Due to the location and structure of the cottages, you should be prepared to see some uninvited 'visitors' in your cottage: we saw a crab, a big spider, ants, mosquitos and many geckos. It would be nice if the jacuzzi stayed open longer (now it's until 18:00), so you could go there in the evening.

    Amazing location with a wonderful and romantic private beach: we got engaged here! The cottages are cozy and look very authentic. Within easy walking distance from many restaurants and dive centers. Good breakfast, choice between two restaurants: Amihan or right at the beach. The front desk staff is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    The resort was everything we had hoped and more- stunning...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only aspect I can make comment on would be the ease of finding it- I would recommend a more prominent sign to indicate where to turn left off the track from the beach

    The resort was everything we had hoped and more- stunning location, epic views, clear water, lovely people and fabulous food

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.3
    Lovely stay for a great diving location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Cottage
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The spa could have been more inviting. When I was there it seemed to be closed and therefore I did not go for any massage.

    Great view and friendly people. I loved the relaxed atmosphere and the lounge chairs next to the beach and the restaurant we're very easy and practical. The air conditioning was very useful because it was very humid weather.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Wonderfull stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing negative to say about this hotel. Our stay was perfect.

    This hotel was the one we liked most overall during our trip. Really good quality for price. Wonderfull location, short walk to rest of bars on the beach, nice and quiet private beach, the massages as great, the staff is very helpfull and welcoming. We did not want to leave!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.8
    Great staff, comfortable rooms, very clean, very pretty. Shame breakfast is not better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Cottage
    • Stayed 14 nights

    • breakfast offer is a bit meagre. 1 hot drink, 1 glass of juice and choice of either 2 eggs with bacon and 2 small dry roasts or 1 Nutella crepe or rice or ham croissant.. no butter, no jam, no fruit, or fruit salads, no cakes or pastries . If u want something else it is charged on top. • private beach is disappointing. On the picture it looks paradisiaque... less so in reality, all the left side is impractical because there are only big rocks, some rocks also on other side but still manageable even without shoes but small beach completely disappear at high tide. This area was also extremely windy and sea very rough whilst we were there (August). And what you don’t see in the picture is all the sun lounger ( very comfortable and all new) stuck together and even merging with the breakfast area on a man made sand terrace. There’s a reason why they only show 1 pic of the beach taken at a specific angle. But you can walk to Bounty beach (disappointing too but still better) or the best option is to stay in the little cove just outside the hotel reception, only area of the island with white powder sand beach and very tranquil and warm sea (even when sea is rough on Bounty beach or hotel private beach). • No pool. Other cheaper hotels on Malapascua have large pools, the “jacuzzi” (hole of cold water with bubbles in the shade) is not on parr. • I read reviews saying Hotel restaurant Amihan was best restaurant in island ... really ?... not our experience ... supposed to be an Italian restaurant but 3 of us ordered 3 pizzas and none of them were served together, we had to eat in turn .. does their pizza oven only accommodates 1 pizza at the time ? Also pepperoni pizza was dripping in oil... not nice . We gave this restaurant another go and disappointed again, the choice of food is very limited and the chicken in tomato sauce we ordered was blend (and still had some bones in).

    Very pretty hotel with all these palm roofs bungalows , manicured garden well tendered by 2 gardeners all day long. Rooms are spacious and very comfortable, queen size bed with firm mattress like I love, spacious enough rooms, well fitted modern bathroom, efficient fan and A/C (not very noisy) and a lovely balcony. Extremely clean. I love the little touches to make your stay more enjoyable ( mosquito repellent encense / shower gel and shampoo / beach towel rack ). Best WiFi on the island. Staff is lovely, very agreeable, smiley and very helpful. Very accommodating for checking and check out. luggage porters available at any time day or night. Excursion to Kalamanggan was cheaper booked from hotel than from touts on the beach. Airport transfer organised by hotel is expensive but worth it when you think this is 4 hours drive and 40mins by boat and very well organised.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    The property was clean and well maintained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the towels both bathroom and beach towels need an upgrade, they had seen better days.

    The property was clean and well maintained. The use of local material in their building was striking. My room was very nice and had the character of the island.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Amazing place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Cottage
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing place. They have private beach and beach chairs. Bounty beach next to hotel. They have 2 restaurant inside. And you can choose any of them for breakfast. Both is great!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Amazing resort, nature, beach and experience in general
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This resort definitely exceeded our expectations. The cottages are made from bamboo, very clean and with all the needed things. The nature around the resort is divine, the beach next to the bar inside the resort is a true pleasure for the eyes, the staff is super friendly and helpful. The food was great at reasonable prices both at the beach bar and Amihan. All in all amazing stay. We will certainly come back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.3
    Nice resort on a remote island
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It took us 5 hours to get to the resort from airport and the transportation is expensive. Most villas only have garden view.

    Beautiful resort on a small island. You will find dogs and cats in the resort. There's a good Italian restaurant also in the resort, called Amihan. We enjoyed our stay here.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful paradisiac place with great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottage
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    guests should have access to a copy or receipt of their consumption as it gets very easy not to leave the resort and enjoy all drinks and fantastic good.

    From the moment we arrived, the staff was so kind and acomodating. They have a wonderful and genuine attitude towards guests and caring for the environment.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    5.8
    Okay stay but overpriced for quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottage
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jacuzzi water was dirty, we asked if they would change the water so we could use it and it wasn’t changed in the 5 days there Asked staff to clean the gecko droppings in the window and behind the fridge and no one came Staff didn’t always do things you asked them to do Quality of the finish in the room wasn’t great eg there was gaps under the door so a lot of bugs and geckos in the room at night Advice to future guests: take cash as there is no ATM on the island and it’s a 5% charge to use any card

    Good breakfast Some staff were friendly Bathroom was modern and well fitted Setting was pretty Liked the design of the place Great massage Staff were good at arranging transfers and tours

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful resort with own beautiful cove/beach - Excellent value for money! Will stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have nothing I didn't like. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and wished I could have stayed longer. Just a word of warning: the resort is on a hilly-area which affords it it's wonderful views; which also means they have a lot of stairs - their pathways are literally all stairs. So this may be an issue for some

    Great value for money - rooms were comfortable, facilities were excellent, and what I love the most was their beautiful private cove/beach which was just the perfect place to relax - no boats park on it. Loved their lounge chairs too! I loved how the hotel looks at night when all the lights are on; the whole layout and design of the resort is lovely. They also have amazing staff who were always smiling and willing to help. We arrived early and appreciated that they allowed us to check-in early We didn't get the beach-front room but our room was on the 2nd floor and still had a view of the sea. Reservation had free breakfast which we could take in their famous Amihan Restaurant. They have plated breakfasts but they have a complimentary mini-buffet of breads and spreads (I suggest you get the plated breakfasts that have no bread since, the complimentary buffet is all bread). For other meal-times, I highly recommend their grilled seafood - one of the best I've tasted. There is also the Italian Ristorante Angelina just besides it which may be more budget-friendly compared to Amihan but the food was as excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I missed the personal touch and Tips/advise to explore the island and surroundings

    Location was perfect! Nice private beach, perfect fot relaxing!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Will highly recommend to my travelling friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym has some outdated equipment.

    The staff is very helpful with everything I asked about or needed help with. Excellent service. Fantastic Italian restaurant adjacent to the resort. Nice private beach area...perfect for low tourist season.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    Tepanee is very well maintained resort on a very beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottage
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Tepanee is very well maintained resort on a very beautiful island of Malapascua. Location is very nice - very quiet and peaceful area but just 5 minutes away from bounty beach and its restaurants. Very friendly staff with good communication before and during our stay. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Great resort!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not too happy about the lizards visiting through the balcony but understand they are part of the package 🦎🦎

    Great resort! Staff very welcoming and helpful, received us with cold drinks and cold wet hand towels to freshen up. Room good size with fridge. Balcony with comfy furniture and nice view. Beautiful surroundings and location. Best sunset view from beach club area. Staff very helpful with transfers, suggestions, etc. Good size safe in room. Bed firm and big. All cottage style.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    A very nice and relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The towels in the room are a little bit too thin. The AC works very well but, with the aperture in the corner walls, the hotel electricity bill must be something... Instead I try to leave the door open as often as possible.

    This is the perfect kind of place for me to rest: The corner walls are made of corals and sometimes some little animals can come in. The room is very simple and comfortable with a noisy wooden floor (which I appreciate). I was just next to the beach restaurant (opposite from the lobby) and I could hear the sea from my bed. The gardens around are just so beautiful. Super relaxing! It was worth the money! The hotel staff is amazing with this genuine smile...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Perfect! We would book anytime again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Cottage
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    We booked one of the bungalows close to the sea which was absolutely beautiful! The room was always clean and had a mini bar that was filled up every day. We loved falling asleep to the sound of the sea and waking up with a beautiful sea view. The staff at the hotel were exceptionally friendly and were helpful especially with helping to organize our transfer to and from Cebu. Breakfast and the food at the Italian restaurants nearby were very delicious and also came with a beautiful view on top. The island itself is very quiet and perfect for relaxing. The hotel has its own private beach with sufficient sunbeds and sun umbrellas and no loud boats and a free view of the sea. We had a perfect time at Tepanee and would book anytime again! Thank you

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    6.7
    I love the little private beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love the little private beach. Good value for money. The food is great for value and it’s really fresh. Good for relaxation and just to stare at nature or have a good book while topping up the tan.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The private beach and the proximity to 2 additional beaches. As its slightly apart the main spots, its relaxed and quiet but everything is clsoe and bars and restaurants are reached within a few minutes of walking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    best place in Malapascua
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Cottage
    • Stayed 7 nights

    really a great place with a kind of private beach. We had a great time and we enjoyed the amazing view from our bungalow. The sunset was just amazing. I really recommend this ressort

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    Awesome staff, beautiful location and rooms, picturesque...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not buffet breakfast like advertised. 30 pesos to fill up water bottle - obviously not a big amount $$, but annoying to find that a 6ltr bottle on the island is 80 peso.

    Awesome staff, beautiful location and rooms, picturesque private/ish beach with snorkeling. Would recommend

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Totally good value for money and little luxury for holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottage
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were positively surprised how friendly and helpful staff was in Tepanee. Also cottages where we stayed were really nice with sea view. Tepanees own private beach and bar was great as well, especially during the sunset!

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Tepanee Beach Resort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: