Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Alexander 2 3 stars

ul. Ludwika Zamenhofa 14, Old Town, 31-025 Kraków, Poland

#163 of 269 hotels in Kraków

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1414 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.5
    I was so pleased the hotel packed my son and I our breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows on the beds are so flat .Not comfortable..

    I was so pleased the hotel packed my son and I our breakfast when we checked out.We had an early morning bus to catch to the airport and I asked in advance (10-12 hrs )in advance if they would pack our breakfast..we checked out at 5:30 am and our breakfast bags were at the front desk..

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Alexander II was a perfect location for exploring the city. Krakow was better than expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could be improved

    Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choices. Room was comfortable with a great shower. The railway track was a bit noisy but we managed to sleep well. The staff were pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    3.3
    dont stay here unless you have a passion for trains and rooms that shake when a train goes past
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room was small and cold no matter if turned the aircon up. being next to a traintrack that is in use all day/ night made it impossible to sleep at all during my stay. i can only presume they closed the restaurant but if thats the case take the photos off your website. beds were not comfy at all. and the wifi was poor kept cutting out. breakfast was ok except the sausage is vile that is used. the receptionist when i checked in was a bald guy quite broad. he wasnt the nicest of people it seemed i was an inconvienience checking in which having read other reviews seems to back up my claims. also its great having coffe and tea facilities in the room but not having milk wasnt good

    checking out

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.9
    A basic clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A basic clean room. 10 minutes on foot from the old town and near the central station, sometime the noise of the train but not difficult sleeping. Breakfast good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.9
    Cannot sleep well
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no minibar, the train's railway is just near the hotel that you cannot sleep well at night (although they provide you a pair of 3M earplugs)

    near: 1)old town 2)train & bus station 3)carrefour express 4)big shopping mall free and nice breakfast, free distilled water

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location, but it's not like it can be changed.

    Breakfast was much better than I expected! Overall it's a good quality for the money I paid. I also liked the bed and linens. Yes, the hotel is close to the rails (right in front of them), but it wasn't a problem for me, plus it didn't take long to get to the hotel from Krakow Glowny, so after a tiresome journey this place feels really good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Relaxing and comfortable. The center and the attractions are walking distance and very accessible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    none.

    The hotel in geaneral is very clean and quiet. The staffs are friendly and very accommodating.The bed and the pillows are so soft. The buffet breafkfast is very delicious.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    6.3
    A nice big room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We where right next to the railway line, which we knew nothing about ptherwise we wouldn't have booked it for 4 nights. We ended up checkin out the next day

    A nice big room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    I would book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area looks a bit dodgy, but we still felt safe. Pull out couch leaves a bit to be desired, but okay for a child

    The hotel was just minutes from old town and the mall, great location for walking. Staff were wonderful, breakfast to go was more then we expected. The train was beside our room, but it didn't bother us.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Friendly and helpfull staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just one key card for two bedded room.

    Friendly and helpfull staff. Excellent location, old town, bus and train station, public transport, restaurants available by short walk. Rails are really close, but for people who are used to urban noise, it is nothing to carry about. Hotel is at the end of dead-end street, so there is no other noise but the trains. Breakfast rich and delicious. We have really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.1
    -Good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -Our window was on the street. It was very noisy either during the day or night. We did not open the window during the night, so it was very hot inside, and the room did not have the air conditioning. -The blankets and the pillows were quite old. -No fridge in the room -Despite the information that the hotel does not take any pre-payment, money on my account was blocked for whole period of booking.

    -Good breakfast -20 min by bus to the old city; bus station is located in 50 m from the hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.5
    The hotel is in a great location, just a short walk from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in a great location, just a short walk from the main train/bus station. However, the hotel is right next to the railway line, so there is some noise from passing trains!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.3
    1.Great value of lunch box, beyond my expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise of the train

    1.Great value of lunch box, beyond my expectations! 2. Luggage storage service 3. Close to the old town 4. Room equipped with ac and fridge. Awesome!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    For what we paid $56 CDN/night it fulfilled the expectations. Staff were extrememly helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet was abysmal, to connect we had to go out into the hallway and then it was hit and miss if we stayed connected and only if we sat by our room door. Only ever had 2 bars on the connectivity icon. Carpets didn't appear very clean especially around the edges of the room. One single dispenser for shower so if you didn't bring shampoo that was all you had. Air conditioning was inconsistent and seemed to blow hot air part way during the night and heating up the room. We were there July 4-6 and it was around 28-31 degrees celsius so air conditioning was necessary. If we opened the window you could hear the trams operating so if you are a light sleeper this is not an option.

    They had water available on every floor so you could refill your water bottle for the day. Location was close to tram and bus services and you could walk to one of the largest shopping centres Galeria Krakowska. Most places was within walking distance such as the main square etc. Staff was extremely efficient in helping us book transfer to the airport and providing us with lunch boxes as our flight left at 6:40 a.m. and we had to leave for the airport at 4 a.m. We had to give away the can of pop and bottle of water provided as we didn't have time to consume them before we went through security.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.5
    Ok for 120 zl / night for people with good sleeping.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very poor wifi on the 4th floor. Location. The hotel is "sticked" to viaduct leading to very close Krakow main station and you literally feel every train going under your windows. All glass items (windows, tumblers, mirror...) are buzzing and who has very light sleeping can have a problem to sleep well.

    Excellent breakfast. Clean and large room and bathroom. Good location very close to citycentre and main train+bus station. Although this loacation is also big minus of this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel, perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    May be it needs a little bit more of interior design.

    Great location: perfect if you travel by train (the train station is 3min. walking from the hotel) and close to Krakow historical city center. The room was a little small but it was functional. It has a lift too. Buffet breakfast was huge (lots of choices of everything).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Would recommend and will return to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms small but adequate, railway line at back of hotel but if you are out sightseeing all day you can't hear the trains at night.

    Hotel was in an excellent position to old town, train station and shops. Staff very helpful I forgot my plug adapter and was supplied with one at no charge. Breakfast had a good variety of dishes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    The location is great, staff very helpfull, good breakfest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is closed to rail station and it's very noisy. We asked to change room' the staff was very frendly and gave us another room. In the second room it was much better.

    The location is great, staff very helpfull, good breakfest.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money for nice modest stay near the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel was near the old town and it was easy to walk around. All necessary services were near. Breakfast was good and staff friendly. Trips and travel to airport were well organised. Can recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Great little hotel in Krakown transit to Bulgaria from uk
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from trains during the night was a bit loud in our room.

    Great location, easy to get to shops park. In the hotel there was friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was great also.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.7
    Room was clean and tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location of the hotel was right next to the main railway line into Krakow Glowny station,which wasn`t mentioned anywhere on the hotel`s web site. As a result our bedroom was only about 10 yards away from the line ,with train noise very loud throughout the night

    Room was clean and tidy.Breakfast had a good selection of items,and the use of a luggage room/bathroom was great as our return journey didn`t commence until late afternoon.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Reception couldn’t be more helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception couldn’t be more helpful! Had the unfortunate issue of dropping coffee all down my shorts and even though we arrived early we managed to check in early and get my shorts laundered. Super effort!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.3
    The rooms were clean, spacious, great location close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I got was right next to the train line, therefore a lot of noise coming from trains.

    The rooms were clean, spacious, great location close to the bus and train station, shops.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    2.9
    On 22nd of February 2018 I booked a double room in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All! Otherwice do not suggest this hotel to other people!

    On 22nd of February 2018 I booked a double room in the Alexander 2 hotel for 3 nights from10 to 13th of April. On 10th of April around at 18:00 we arrived at the hotel and got the room No. 30 near the elevator. We found the small room about 10sq. meters only with the single bed 140 cm wide. This is definitely not a room what I reserved. This room is not for two elderly people with total age 125 years and one of them is disabled person. It is absolutely unacceptable in the European country in the 3 stars hotel. This room look like is not suitable even for a young single person. We approached to the front desk with a claim, but the clerk replied that he has no another room tonight, but perhaps tomorrow. He was so unfriendly, and looked unfit for hotel business. The next day we got the bigger room with double bed, but our suffering during the first night is just unforgettable. We tried to see you in the hotel Alexander, but they said, that you unfortunately on a sick leave. In addition I would like to emphasize the following: - no one informed us that the hotel is in the vicinity of railway and get rest and sleep is just impossible. - the locker is without drawers. - the pillows are flat and uncomfortable. - towels were not renewed on the next day. - TV is very small and terrible quality. I have not seen such TV for many years. - refrigerator was locked. It is not clear why. What's to do if we buy something and like to store in. - we got only one key room. It makes complicated how to share it for two. Finally we lost it and were requested to pay 20 zlotys. - the air condition is old and uneffetive. I would like to say, that during my life I stayed in about 300 hotels but this is the worst one. 3 stars hotel with cost 80 us dollars per night is supposed to be much better.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    5.0
    We will not recomend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is near a railroad. It was very very noisy, because of the trains. The hotel gave us earplugs. The rooms were small so were the beds

    Breakfast was good, distance tot the city center is ok

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.3
    Excellent staff, very good location, rooms a good size and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People need to like trains! ( The mainline railway runs immediately along the side of the Hotel. To be fair though, you soon get used to it, and it didn't disturb my sleep.

    Excellent staff, very good location, rooms a good size and very clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.3
    Not-so-cosy hotel with almost perfect location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unexpectedly small room in the attic with roof window.

    Almost perfect location in the city center nearby railway station but also by the nosy train rails.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Best location and quality for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that I can complain about is that our room was quite close to the tram railway so there is some noise.

    It was so great to stay there. The rooms are really big, clean and quite new. The location could not be better, is close to everywhere and specially to the main bus and train station. That is really handy for example to go to Auschwitz and to the airport. The personal was really nice and helpful. The breakfast is buffet style and there is a wide variety of tasty dishes.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    6.3
    Very near the central station (good & bad!)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We asked personally at the property (during a previous stay in Kraków, 4 months in advance!) for two silent rooms far from the railway, but the staff didn’t succeed to meet our requirements. The noise from the trains was disturbing.

    The breakfast was fairly good. Not far from the old town and the central station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    6.5
    Everything, apart from terrible noise from trains, was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Horrible noise from trains. Tracks are right next to the hotel, trains are going every 5 minutes even at night. Whole room was shaking. We asked to be moved to a room not facing the tracks after first night. It was denied due to the lack of free rooms not facing the trains.

    Everything, apart from terrible noise from trains, was alright. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    4.6
    Hardly any (good) sleep possible in that hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that as a light sleeper i just did not get any sleep because of the trains running just a few meters away from our room, room 26. Most rooms look on to the train tracks (tracks to central station krakow, so quite busy, all day and night). The lasst night we booked another hotel as we could not get another room in the hotel, even after aaking three times in the course of three days (answer everytime: fully booked, maybe tomorrow) and no refund possible (answer: we could have known so no complaint possible afterwards). So very dissapointed by that. Don’treally know how the grade 8,1 is based on, heard another people complaining about it at breakfast.

    The service booking attractions/ day trips nad the very friendly cleaning ladies. The included breakfast was nice as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.5
    Good but noisy room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was very noisy, windows overlooking the rails and trains are running every 20 min.

    Good location, close to the railway station and city center.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.8
    Reasonably priced, well kept central hotel. Take ear plugs if the trains will keep you awake!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is right by the train lines, trains run most of the night, so if you're a light sleeper (like me) take earplugs (I take them everywhere)

    5 minutes walk from Krakow central station, 5 minutes from the old town. Breakfasts were very good, lots of choice and replenished frequently. For the tiny amount of 2 zlotys we were able to make a sandwich to take with us for lunch, an excellent idea.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.8
    The staffs are always friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is close to the railway, it would vibrate and would be a bit noisy when there is tram pass by, no matter day and night. For those who are light sleepers, I would not recommend.

    The staffs are always friendly. The location is great, close to the tram station, bus station and also the historic centre. The room is spacing and clean. The breakfast buffet is good, variety of food. And one thing which I appreciate most is their take away service of the breakfast. I used this service when I need to leave the hotel before 7 a.m. They would prepare it if you tell the receptionist one night before.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    lovely hotel is a fab location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room looked bigger on the pictures but served the purpose we were there for as only there to sleep

    The staff were very friendly and booked all our trips and taxis

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.8
    Staff was helpful, breakfast had variety.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Property is next to railway line, its quite disturbing specially at night when you are trying to sleep.

    Staff was helpful, breakfast had variety. Room was very clean and beds were clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.5
    Did what it required. Short walk from train and town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My stay in hotel was about 7 hrs as had a very early flight departure. If I was staying longer than a night I’d be looking for a room away from the rail line

    The young lady at reception was extremely helpful and obliging

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.9
    Alright.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some receptionists should be a bit more friendly when providing info. Also, the bathroom was a bit too basic, there was no shelf or something to keep the stuff. I had to buy the shampoo too.

    The price and the breakfast included.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    It was a nice stay:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was cosy and clean. The girl at the reception was friendly and helpful. There was a nice choice of products at breakfast. The location is excellent for people who want to visit The Old Town. I'll probably come back there:)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    9.2
    The room itself, the cleanliness, nice facilities, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location as it is beside the train railings.

    The room itself, the cleanliness, nice facilities, friendly staff, excellent food, and very affordable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.5
    Central location and staff helped me book tours ahead of my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise from the trains is truly terrible. Not simply annoying, but painful on your ears. Not too many trains at night, but near constant during the day. Some staff were a bit grouchy.

    Central location and staff helped me book tours ahead of my arrival. Breakfast was very good. Good value for money overall.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    6.7
    Location is both strength and weakness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - The worst thing about the hotel is that there are train tracks right next to the windows. This means that you won't be able to sleep at night because the trains will pass very often even during the night and the whole building shakes. - You only get 1 room key. - The pillow is too flat and uncomfortable. - Breakfast was not the best I've had in a hotel

    Hotel is very near to the Old Town and right next to the main station. There is a free water dispenser

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    10
    Everything about this property was great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing :)

    Everything about this property was great value for money. The location was amazing because although you aren’t in the old market square, your only 5 mins away as well as being 5 mins walk to the gallery/shopping centre and train station. Was also walking distance to the Jewish quarter/river but could get a tram at the end of the street if needed also! Breakfast had a good variety of hot and cold food and was super easy to book transport/trips with the hotel staff!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    4.2
    Don't stay if you like sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only stayed 2 night out of 6 and lost 4 days reservation due to hotel being next to traintracks. Trains run every 15 minutes 24 hrs 7 days a week. I didn't sleep for 2 nights and so had to change hotels. Wasn't offered a partial refund

    Water cooler outside room free of charge. Close proximity of centre

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.6
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No disposable slippers and trains are too noisy when the window is opened ( however location is know before the trip, so you have to be ready for that ).

    The personnel is nice and the room responded to what was described on the site. Clean and tidy. Very close to the city center and shopping center.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    7.5
    I would book this again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    soft mattress and rooms are next to the tracks (not a very huge problem but less noise could be better)

    clean room, 10 mins walking distance to old town as well as central station. Enjoyed the breakfast, they have take away, make your own sandwiches for 2 zlotty. Luggage service is helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.2
    REALLY GOOD :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is very close to rails, but you can not change that. Everything else was perfect. :)

    Friendly Stuff Very close to the city centre (Stare Miasto) Very close to train/bus station Very close to the Shopping Mall Good breakfast Comfort room Mini bar + Coffee/Tee in room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.5
    breakfast, location
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    poor management. save your nerves, check 10 times at least 2 weeks prior to arrival wether your room will be provided. for the non-refundable price the payment is taken immediately from the card, if its a flexible booking - the card is preauthorised. and when it comes to payment at the front desk - first the whole amount is taken, later the preauthorised amount is released, so you are to keep double amount on the card.

    breakfast, location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel, poor management
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were travelling in the group of 10 people and booked this hotel 3 weeks prior to our arrival. In "Good to know" on the hotel site it is mentioned - When booking for more than 10 persons, different policies and additional supplements may apply. We were not more than 10 persons, we were exactly 10, but the front desk decided that we had to pay within 3 days after booking the full amount for the stay though it was not a non-refundable price. And here started the big problem. We cancelled 1 room and booked it again as non refundable in the same hotel but as a separate booking via booking.com. The front desk immediately took the money for the room (and that was ok) and preauthorised the card for the rest 4 rooms. But when we arrived after tiring 10-hour trip to the hotel we recived a huge surprise: 4 double rooms were ready in this hotel (Alexander ii) and the 5th twin room (already paid!!!) - in another hotel (Alexander). Thus the situation was complicated as we had parents in one hotel and their child in another. We were proposed a single one way taxi to another hotel (which is good for single travellers), but it could not improve our situation. We were told that the 5th already paid room!!! Is being taken by another guests no matter that we booked it 3 weeks ago and the front desk has sold after our booking dozen rooms. So it took us 40 minutes to insist that we had a right to have 5 rooms in the booked hotel with particular address. After 40 minutes the receptionist found the 5th room, but the impression of treating guest in this hotel was completely awful. There were 4 other guests staying in the hall listening to our quarrels, but all of them got rooms without any problems. So, we now understand, that it was a "special welcome" to our group. I own hotel in my town and know perfectly how the system works when you book via booking.com.

    We were travelling to Jagiellonian University, so have chosen the nearby hotel within walking disctance to it. It was easy to find the hotel and to park cars. All of our 5 rooms (12,13,25,42,43) faced the very noisy railway station, but we were very tired, so the vibration from trains and noise did not bother us too much. The front desk provided very useful info on parking: on working days from Monday to Friday, 10.00 - 20.00 fee rates: for the 1st hour = 3 zł; for the 2nd hour = 3.50 zł; for the 3d hour = 4.10 zł, for the 4th hour and another: 3.00 zł. We paid per 1 car 31.6 zł per day in the morning for the whole day. The breakfast was very good, it starts from 7:00. On the day of departure we were allowed to have it at 6:40.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    8.3
    pleasant hotel, great value, great location, very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    lack of alcohol in the mini bar, as the hotel doesnt have a bar, also nearly missed our flight as reception rather optimistically estimated the taxi journey time to airport, traffic is awful in kracow, allow at least an hour to get to airport

    enjoyed staying here,the facilities were great, especially the free water dispenser located on every floor, hotel was spotlessly clean, breakfast was traditionally polish, enough variety to suit most though, very good quality and super clean modern room, take advantage of the free map in the reception as a difficult city to navigate until you get familiar, several parks all look very similar hence we ended up on the wrong side of the city a few times!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.2
    The room and bathroom were clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room and bathroom were clean. The proximity to the station and the shopping mall was perfect for us as we were travelling by train. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was also pretty good. Good value for money. We would definitely stay there again!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.6
    Alexander 2 👍🏻
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was terrible but other than that all was perfect

    The room was cosy and small we had a lovely big window just the right size for us. We had a train track right near us which me and my partner laughed about. It was great !!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    7.5
    Excellent location but difficult to sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is difficult to sleep because the room vibrates every time a train goes past. I could feel this every 20 minutes for the whole night.

    The staff were friendly and the hotel is very close to the main station. It is also within walking distance of old town where there are lots of bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.8
    Small clean hotel and not far from old town and near bus and train station. Shopping mall near.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was that you hear trains all the time.

    The staff are nice and helpful. Monica is very nice, helpful and does her job really well. Even the other receptionists. I mentioned Monica cause we saw her a lot on her duty.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.3
    Good value. Good location. Recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at the reception was not particularly welcoming. Located near the train tracks - but not too noisy.

    Big bed. Nice beddings. Clean. Well done. Breakfast was good. We would come back.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    7.1
    Fine for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, good breakfast, Beds a little dated, some staff very helpful and friendly others very stiff lipped Not a bad location but very close to trains if noise is a problem to you and finally could do with a bar or lounge. Overall fine for us

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.3
    Clean room, comfy bed, convenient location, and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is adjacent to the tracks and the trains can be kind of noisy. However, the trains run noticeably less at night, so the noise of the trains didn't disrupt my sleep at all. Also, noise from the hallways can be easily heard from within the rooms. This caused an issue on my first night because there was a big student group staying at the hotel at the time (many on the same floor as I), so when they came home from a night out, I was woken up! This is clearly not the fault of the hotel, though, but just something to be aware of.

    Beds were comfy, staff very friendly, and rooms very clean. Decor slightly outdated but if you are planning to spend a lot of time outside of your hotel, then the Alexander II is a great place to stay if you're needing a comfortable bed and a clean room in a convenient location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.6
    I'll recomend it for my friends.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is new and comfortable. Very near the Krakow Gallery and the main bus and railway station. From the third time of visiting Krakov I found the most convenient hotel for me at last.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.9
    Great Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff was not friendly. The sound of train running outside was quite loud.

    Breakfast was really great! Very reasonable for the price. Location was also good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location, good price, very kind staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to the its location (immediatelly next to the railway station) somebody may not like to hear trains running quite close to the building. For us it was not a problem! :-)

    Directly next to the main railway station of Krakow and in a few minutes to the Old Town. So, the location is perfect. You can go everywhere by walk from here. Very clean, very nice small hotel with kind and helpfull staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    town centre & all facilities within walking distance be aware that the railway line next door
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Railway line runs outside the hotel but we were mildly fortunate that our rooms looked over the street and not the railways!

    Excellent breakfast and 1 sxndeich for lunch Cody 2 plan. Excellent value.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.2
    Great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exelent location,perfect breakfast. The hotel organized our ride from airport:driver was already waiting for us in the arrival area even the flight was delayed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    5.8
    Tasty breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small room, noise from trains and from huge ventilation located somewhere under the room and behind the window. Horrible bed mattress.

    Tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent long weekend break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very near railway station so we could hear trains, it was double glazed so just a low rumble. We still slept well done n comfortable warm room.

    Breakfasts were plentiful and very varied. Excellent location, just minutes from Main Square. Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    5.0
    First.Impressions
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were too small and booking a reservation so far.in advanced one would hope to get a room far away from the train line, hence no sleep! We moved the next day. A good point was it was 5 minutes from the main areas.. sadly, I would not use the Alexander2 on another visit. The best feature was the breakfast room.and the quality of the breakfast.

    Staff and Breakfast eas.goof

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay for a weekend visit to Krakow
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a slight rumbling at night due to the near by train lines (it wasn't enough to keep you awake though)

    The staff were really helpful. There was a good selection for the included breakfast. The location was great just a 10 minute walk to the Old Town Square. Very safe walking about and lots of shops and restaurants near by.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.9
    Good location for a city break to Krakow
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room (No 40) was extremely small with a sloping ceiling and only a skylight so unable to stand up straight. Although a room away from the train line was requested we could hear the trains all night.

    The location was excellent near the station and near the Old Town. The breakfast was very good,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    6.7
    Overpriced for what is delivered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff dont smile. Notwithstanding I informed hitel I would be arriving between 12.30am -1am when I arrived noone at reception desk to check me in. I arrived at 12.30am with taxi from station after 7 hr bus trip from Budapest and all I wanted was to drop into bed. I rang doorbell 10 times, noone came. I waited in lobby for 20 mins. I started to panic as i tbought I might have to sleep in lobby. Note this hotel says 24 hr reception. When staff (male) appeared he didnt apologise but said he was preparing packed lunches for tomorrow.

    Location. Room quite comfortable. There iz a train track outside window but there is double glazing so bearable. I slept well. Room a little warm.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.6
    I really recommend this hotel...it's excellent value for good money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A bit noisy since it's situated a few meters away from the train station but then one gets accustomed to it.

    Cleanliness of the bedroom and bathroom. Staff helpful and friendly. Location: only 10 mins walk from main square and city center. Great breakfast. Variety of food. Water dispenser available at each floor. Huge shopping center (Galeria Krakowska) behind the hotel...only 5 mins walk!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.9
    A night in Krakow
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The worst thing was the location of the room, very close by to the train rails so there was a lot of noise coming from outside of the room, although closing the window was good enough for the night, but we had to use the air conditioning.

    The location was excellent, very close to the train-station and the old-town and the recepcionist were very nice and helpful to us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.9
    a good beginning to know Krakow
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noisy due to the proximity to the train station

    Nice hotel. Good location: near train station and city center. Breakfast very good. Confortable rooms with air conditioning and wifi.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Good hotel close to railway station
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very close to the railway station. A bonus as we were getting the train early the next morning. We were concerned about the railway line just outside our bedroom window and the trains passing by very frequently but the double glazing was effective and the air conditioning quiet so we were not disturbed during the night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    7.5
    Good, clean hotel in a very convenient location, but difficult to get a good night of sleep in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our window overlooked the train tracks so sleeping was difficult, as the trains passing by from 5AM until late at night made an awful lot of noise.

    The bed matterace was very comfy although pillows weren't so good. We loved how close the Hotel was to the Old Town. The WiFi signal was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.8
    Nice location and nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is a railway 10 meters from the hotel, and there are trains every 30 minuts during the whole night. My room (25 on the second floor) was just in front of the railway. Anyway, They provide earplugs.

    The breakfast was great! The hotel location is very nice, near the old town square with many restaurants and pubs around. There are mineral water in each floor, so you dont need to buy for the night. Additionally, the staff was very polite and helpfull.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.5
    A very economic choice, close to the fantastic city of Krakow.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some people from the staff were noble, but others were indifferent. The room was very noisy because it was next to the train rails.

    Spacious room for three adults. Very good breakfast. Very close to the old town. Next to shopping center and the train station. Secure area.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Alexander 2 traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: