Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Alexander 3 stars

Garbarska 18, Old Town, 31-131 Kraków, Poland

#160 of 269 hotels in Kraków

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2238 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A nice spacious room; the hotel is just a five minute walk from Old town centre; hotel had three bikes to rent out free of charge so we were able to ride along river Vistula easily and see the castle.and other places of interest. The breakfast had a wide selection of food hot and cold though I mainly had fresh fruit, cereal yogurt and toast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very basic room and facilities, basic breakfast , very hot in the room and loud outside if you try to keep window open. this is average hotel with close location to the centre

    close to the centre, friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    most everything about this hotel is disappointing. The front desk employees were the most rude people we have even encountered. They were unhelpful, unpleasant and put out by our presence. They acted like we were bothering them to just check in. The room was not especially clean, and the beds were uncomfortable. I would NEVER stay at this hotel again. a simple acknowledgment when a guest walks thru the door speaks volumes. We had a question about parking, when we asked the front desk woman our question her reply was " I just told you, you have to park on the street"!!! our question was not about parking on the street but about paid parking in the courtyard. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

    location was the only good thing about this property

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I extended my stay a day and was switched to a really nice large room on the ground floor of the building next door. The lack of fixtures and weak bulbs made it too dark to read a book and the shower was so small it was difficult to turn around.

    Great breakfast that carried me through to dinner! The staff were without exception helpful, knowledgeable, and friendly. Nice clean rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Could of had a safe in room but that's just knit picking for the sake of it.

    Excellent value for money paid, great location just 2 minutes from main square but far enough not to be distributed & the breakfast was very good buffet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only thing was you didn't get any hand towels,fridge in bedroom ,staff very helpful,good breakfast,we was on the back very quiet,not to far out to walk to the square,overall very good hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The arrogance of the receptionist on our check out.She was there Sat 14 th April afternoon about 4.00 pm...she was literally rude. Never ever met someone like her in my entire life when i’abroad. Her name is Veranika Lemianouskaya. Just because i cannot read in Polish what the epos card machine was saying regarding my payment,she pressed th euro button in a very bad manner,sort of she pretended that i had to know.And i told her to take it easy,told her that cannot read her language,and told her to calm down cause she was really upsetting us. After all i was the customer which is always right.

    Breakfast very good with a big choice to suit you. Room was very hot and cannot switch ac to cool it a bit,besides that,there were only 2 (very flat) pillows ,it feels like you are sleeping without. Very close to the square and shops and restaurants.But obviously too far to walk to train/bus station and Galleria Krakowska. About 45 min walk to get there. On the whole not bad.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the last day there was no hot water, so we was unable to have a shower

    It was very centrally located, a 5 minutes walk took you into the main square.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The water temperature in my room was poor as was the flow of water. I was pleased to see there was a tea and coffee tray when I arrived but disappointed it was not replenished on the second day. Neither did anyone attempt to clean or make up the bed. I didn't mention this on checkout as I only stayed two nights.

    The bread at breakfast was as good as any I have had. Breakfast excellent for continental style, not quite as good for the English but adequate.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower cubical had a very bad smell put you off having a shower they gave you coffee in room but no milk. They were doing renovation work

    The staff let you leave your bag if you arrived before 2pm check in time they also made us a packed lunch on our last day as we had an early flight

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No control over upstairs noise due to it being a private apartment.

    Breakfast was very good, particularly the scrambled eggs (moist not dry). The bathroom was spotless. Location is perfect for accessing the main square.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel has a big problem about hot water. They provided me one room and in bathroom water boiler was not working properly. After that they changed my room and in this room is ok. But in mırning time i had a problem qith hot water again. People are very nice in hotel

    Breakfast was almost ok.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didnt like the fact there wasnt blinds for all the windows. So woke up early. Could imagine in the summer it would be a nightmare. Didnt like the fact when i went to pay it cost me £10 more than what i had booked with via booking.com not sure if this is due to the currency exchange rate.

    The room we had was on the top floor. Good size and cozy. Got a good nights sleep. 5 mins from the main square, good selection for brekki although we only had it once. We will def use again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No complaints whatsoever.

    Ten minute walk from central station , easy to get to after arriving from airport bus. Great breakfast , single bedroom warm ,clean comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful. Guy at reception gave me exact instructions how to use the city tram system. Great Wifi.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from a vehicle outside of the hotel window reving the engine for a long period of time , other noisy residents at unsociable hours in the morning talking outside or room door .

    Comfortable beds , very clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We read that noise from trains was a problem but we didn't really notice it.

    We were actually told that Alexander hotel was full before our visit so were given a room at sister Hotel, Alexander II which was actually lovely and comfortable and staff were very helpful. Plentiful buffet breakfast and great location to train station as well as old town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When I made the reservation, on the description was mentioned, that there is inside parking posibility. Before the traveling day, I was contacted and they said that they have 4 parking spaces in the courtyard, for free. When I arrived, suprise, for parking I had to pay 50 polish zloty/night. Very nice. On top of that, a handyman knocked at the door, to repair the toilate, because it was leaking...but offcourse the handyman didn't speaked english and the problem was unsolved!

    The staff speaks english.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is undergoing renovations so lots of workmen around and it doesn't look tidy from the outside. Our rooms were in a separate annexe a few doors down from main entrance so felt a little disjointed.

    We asked for rooms together on lower level which was met. Close to main town square.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable foam mattress that had seen better days was no good for my back

    Very good Location few minutes walk to main square. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lock on the door was abit broken and we didn’t feel very safe. It took us 10 mins one morning to get out of the room because of the dodgy lock. And also there was little to no hot water which was very disappointing.

    The room was lovely and very big and comfortable and the cleaners were so nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Be aware that Google maps don't have routes for Krakow yet, so you have either walk, or ask anyone on what public transportation to use

    + Good location - 15 min walking from central train/bus station; 3 min to the old town + 24 hr reception + Cheerful staff + Cozy interior + Kettle and some tea + Comfortable bed + Plenty of power sockets + Reliable WiFi + Perfect breakfest with variety of dishes (dishes, not only cut products!)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking just behind hotel. We were allowed to park our car there before checking in. Comfy beds. Clean rooms. Very good breakfast. Very great location to walk to things.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Myself & my daughter went to Krakow for 3 days sight seeing the 4-7 Feb 18 on a budget. We booked economy twin room with breakfast. Room very clean and well maintained and has everything you need for your stay. also had a small veranda where doors opened up to allow you to stand/sit outside lovely despite not a great view as situated in the heart of the old town. You are able to access bars/restaurants and place of interest with in walking distance less than 10 minute. Breakfast was great with a wide choice that would suit anyone's needs. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good value..friendly staff...breakfast luvely ...room good...bed was so comfy and huge ...and hotel was in a central excellent location for sightseeing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps the wi-fi internet was a bit too slow and spotty. Makes it very hard to Skype with video on.

    The hotel rooms are nice and clean, definitely a very good choice for the price. Buffet breakfast was also abundant and tasty. City center is in 5-10 minutes walking distance.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    "Free toiletries" meant the hands and shower soap only. Instead of an air conditioning there were two electric heaters, but it did supplied a comfortable temperature in the room.

    Very good location, on a quiet street and close to the Old Town. Nice breakfast. Our room was in the next door building and very simply equipped, but indeed we didn't look for something fancy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The daytime receptionist wasn't practically helpful and a little impatient . Could have more choice at Breakfast There were a group of students staying on the same floor ( attic rooms) as us and they were a little noisy early in the morning ( not Hotels fault)

    The beds were comfy. Room very clean.. Location fine

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I arrived to the hotel with my husband and 2year old child we have been allocated in the room at the 4th floor. I requested lower level while booking but that was not a big problem because there was a lift. We went to the room, left our bags and went to town. When we arrived back to the hotel the room was very cold. We wanted to switch the heating but it didn't work. I called reception and I have been told that yes there is a problem with the heating system so they gave us electric radiator...!I asked how come that they knew about the problem and gave a couple with 2 year old child room with broken central heating and given electric one while it is not save for child. The answer was ..well yes that's true but at the moment there is no other solution....and that we have to wait until next day to find some replacement. My husband went to the reception to speak with them again and the solution has been found...very disappointed Additionally the bathroom was very cold, no heating there.

    Hotel is very close to old town, very good breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    scrumbled eggs

    -toast during breakfast, very good location, clean, quiet, we had no complaints, the only thing which may bother clients is the fact that parking has little number of parking places, if you are looking for a place to stay for reasonable price and medium quality its a place for you!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise from renovations of Reception area. But of course this work has to be done. So noise is understandable.

    Bed very comfortable. Breakfast varied and healthy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt the breakfast was a bit monotonous... There us only so much scrambled egg you can eat! Also, would have loved if breakfast tea was available in the dining room (I am Irish, this is very important to me lol). Not sure why there were salad items served for breakfast. Maybe this is a European thing?

    I liked the location of the hotel! Less than 10minutes walk to the main square! The hotel was spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    -Room can be better - little sunlight, furnishings very simple, cheap. -Sometimes there was no warm water.

    -Great location. -Breakfast. -Coffe and tea in room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stay in the annex and in the room was cold. The window was left open until our arrival at 8pm o'clock, in December. Also the room was warmed by the air conditioning.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Beds uncomfortable too low and not wide enough...could do with a fridge not a mini bar also a ice machine on every other floor would be helpful......oh and rooms small

    Breakfast very good... Hotel clean and tidy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is a mini bar in the room but a lounge area with a bar would have been perfect

    Large comfy room with good bathroom. Easy access and in a quiet area but very close to old town square

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The washing basin in the bathroom too small.

    Excellent location and quiet -close to the market square and plenty of restaurants and bars nearby.Easy to buy excursions from hotel lobby.Good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold showers. Very small beds. Quilts were too small and too light in tog rating. Pillows were useless, very flat and only one provided. No hand towels. Very rude reception staff.

    Breakfasts weren't bad. However the hotel only had a four slice domestic toaster which didn't work for two days.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room door was loose. There is no sound insulation, you can hear conversation from the next room. One of the male receptionist was not very friendly, the girls were helpful.

    Good location, quiet and close to the town centre. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If your looking for a big breakfast don’t add it at the hotel good polish breakfast cereal,bread and yogurt but the only cooked items was scrambled egg. Only got one pillow

    Great hotel only a 20min taxi ride from the airport costing £89zloty and 5min walk to old town square great wee spot with handy shops round about.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift was a little slow and the new cleaners forgot to put towels in my room but the receptionist sorted it immedialty

    Hotel staff were fantastic, they helped me with all 100 of my questions, sorted my transfer, packed lunch, gave me a map and directions to my pick up point for my excursion. The room itself was really comfortable shower soooo strong! A 5 minute walk to the main square and a really good selection for breakfast which is included. I would deffo go again :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The other day receptionists could be a little more helpful and friendly.

    The hotel is very clean and well kept. The breakfast was very good. The room was very spacious and we also found a complimentary wine on our arrival in the room since we were celebrating our 2nd Wedding Anniversary. The young male receptionist who was at night was very helpful (sorry I didn't get the name). Location is very good. We enjoyed the stay and would definitely visit again if I come to Krakow.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Quadruple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They overbooked, so we were split in 2 separate rooms. One parent with each child. Didn't like it. Paid almost $400 for 3 nights and couldn't enjoy my family. Very disappointing.

    breakfast was good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room looked nothing like the photos! Small room, bugs on the floor, no space! Terrible view of the back of the building. Bed uncomfortable, bite marks! Pillows flat. The room was dark even with the lights switched on. Not worth the money

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On check in we wear taken down the road and take to a shead out the back of sum other building they owned there was blood on the sheets holes in the towles toilet was leaking on to the floor walls were like paper tin

    Noting at all

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast. No croisants only bread. Not even rolls.

    No croisants or id have had some. Only had bread andjam as didnt like anything else. Needed to ask for extra pillows as very thin.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The free wifi is not stable. The speed of internet is very slow and sometimes it breaks down. No shampoo, no shower gel, and no one-time slipper.

    Breakfast is very good. Very near to the old town, actually it is just 5-minute walk.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the restaurant there is only a two slice domestic toaster which created a severe bottleneck. For the number of people using the restaurant there should be at least two to three toasters. The housekeeping staff on the whole were good. The room and bathroom was clean. The only problems we encountered were towels were not always replaced and the toilet rolls were not replenished sufficiently and many other clients had the same issue. We had a seven night stay and the bedding was not changed. Other than this I/we would recommend this hotel.

    Typical continental breakfast with I a good variety. The girls in the restaurant were very good and efficient keeping table clear and replenishing food, cutlery and crockery. Reception desk very efficient and helpful and location as far as we were concerned. Added to this its location is very good for lunch or evening meals and the transport system was very close. The old town literally only five minutes away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I expect clean sheets, a quiet room and a seat on the toilet. Better places to stay are Hotel Senaciki, Kossak, Queen Boutique and Grand Tulip - I went to all of them and they are nice and the same price and better hotels. All can be booked on Booking.com and they are nice places and great locations.

    I asked for a quiet room so they put me next to the elevator. The room was horrible, I am 5'3" and I didn't fit in the room. The next room had a broken toilet seat that was so broken it fell off, and it couldn't be fixed until the next day, along with the shower which the door was broken, and didn't drain. The sink was clogged. The room was nasty, old smelly and the uncomfortable bed sagged. The sheets had blood on them, the towels every day had holes, again, the sink didn't drain. The hotel smells of smoke because they let everyone smoke in the entrance. If you are a smoker, you might like this, asthma and couldn't breathe.The horrible breakfast had runny eggs, that might cook more as time goes by, but, by then you will get food poisoning. To get into the hotel, you must cross many smokers to enter the front door, no designated smoking area. One of the worse hotels I have stayed at and the Ploish government should re-star them as a one-star location. They didn't offer any assistance for overpriced terrible room and instead got mad at me.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred a room at the rear of the building as our front room could get some traffic and street noise. There was no separate lounge area, however it wasn't mentioned in the description. Overall though, everything was as described.

    Comfortable room of reasonable size. Tea and coffee making facilities, TV and wifi. Very helpful staff who advised us on transportation and recommended tours, as well as where to eat at reasonable prices. Breakfast was a buffet of reasonable choice. Excellent fresh coffee from the self service machine. (Bean to cup)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We wher lucky as we got parking on site but could be difficult on the street.

    breakfast was good with many choices. close to the city centre, just a short walk.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very lovely hotel. Our room was clean and comfortable. The hotel has its own parking lot. The hotel is within walking distance of the major tourist attractions - Wawel Casrle, Old Square. The breakfast is excellent. It is buffet style and pretty much whatever you want is available. I hope that I will be able to reserve a room at Hotel Alexander the next time I go to Kraków.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. The room was not ready at 14h, although we said we will arrive then, 2. the toilet flush did not work 3. there was no toilet paper (I rented it for an invited guest, and I was ashamed because of this)

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I absolutely could not stand, that we received a ticket for parking before the hotel, just during the timme we were checking in!! It was terrible experience! I have doublecheck the parking possibilities upfron, which was one of the criteria for choosing the hotel in Krakow, and it was clearly stated that no need for parking reservation is needed, thus we parked before the hotel on the street and during the time we were checking in and aksing whether we can actually park there, we have received a fine!! What is worse, the receptionist (blond lady) was absolutely unwilling to help!! We had no cash to buy the ticket for parking and she was unable to point us to the withdrawal machine. When we withdraw the cash, the same receptionist did even more terrible thing. As for the ticket only the coin were applicable and the cash machine only is giving paper money, that stupid receptionist not only did not have coins to change but she dared to send me out - a customer who paid for 2 rooms for 3 nights - somewhere outside - to post office - to change my money from paper to coins... UNBELIEVABLE!!!! Terrible and even time-consuming experience and I will not only not recommend this hotel, but I will recommend NOT TO CHOOSE THIS HOTEL. The Hotel should take care of the fine! Or at least help us with is as much as they could! The lady was terrible to the customers! Terrible. To the contrary, there was as well one guy on the reception, and he was willing to help us with some other stuff, which is nice, however not changing our opinion on this hotel for being treated the way we were by the lady receptionist.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic amenities Some staff members are rude and not cooperative at all!

    Good price Air conditioning room Good breakfast Good location Coffee/tea making facilities in the room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    we were left with out working toilet all night without option to change room or fix it the front office on duty was the only staff member in the hotel and the sloution was to use the rest room in the lobby

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although booking.com says room has minibar/fridge it was not in the room we was provided with. This room was in another adjacent building. After complaining, we were moved to a different room after first night. If you take conducted tours from hotel, then be aware that this is more expensive that if you arrange yourself with other tour operators in Market Square area.

    Good location - very near to Market Square, good room size, breakfast good quality, friendly staff, hotel arranged airport transfer [at an additional cost], answered emails prior to travel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked a superior room and it was so small, we could just about walk around the bed. Personally, I think the photos of the ad are very deceptive.

    The location and the breakfast were good! The staff were friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was pretty small

    Excellent location, near the main square, everything reachable on foot, quite street. Excellent wi-fi. All the excursions can be arranged by the hotel, they pick you up and bring you back to the hotel, excellent guides...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Economy rooms are located in a separate building (not adjacent to the main hotel). My ground floor room was stuffy and overlooking some inner courtyard. I wanted to leave as soon as I got there. It felt more like a student accommodation.

    Good location. Decent breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was only a small map and not much information about things to see in Cracow, but this is a minor detail.

    The room was nice, overlooking the street, the bed comfortable, there was air conditioning and a good bathroom. Breakfast was a copious buffet with a wide range of food, including fresh fruit. The hotel is only a five or six minute walk from the old town and main square, on a quiet street.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that there was no bar area

    Basic but comfortable hotel ....location good ....within short walking distance of main square ....breakfast excellent ..staff good ...would of been nice to have a bar area where you could of sat at ....found the rooms very warm and had to sorry with windows open .... Booked taxi to and from airport through hotel ...excellent service.....got recommendation from girl at reception for nice restaurant ...sent us to RG 's ...loved it ... Food ..staff ..atmosphere all great ...well worth a visit ....lovely trip overall

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was a bit tight with a double bed. The bed was jammed against the dressing table and was a bit inconvenient to be stepping over the bed every time you had to go anywhere in the room.

    The hotel was clean and functional. WIFI was a bit hit and miss in the room. Great location for the main square and plenty of shops and bars around.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom had its own hot water heater (at least that's what I think the box next to the shower was), but the water out of the shower was not very hot at all... that was my only disappointment. It wasn't cold, but it was not hot enough. Luckily the bathroom had its own heater, as well. :)

    Great breakfast spread! Comfortable room, very quiet. Comfortable bed. Good wifi. Within walking distance to the old city walls but far enough away to be a bit quieter. The hotel has two buildings so if you're not in the main building keep in mind there is no elevator.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was cold in the room during our stay (end of February). There is no heating in the room! There is only an oil heater placed in the bathroom. The walls - you may see the image attached below. Actually that's why it is cold there. Water was warm - not hot.

    Nothing good - don't book the economic rooms in the nearby building.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our shower was broken and we reported it to reception about six times.they were not bothered as no one came to look or repair it.i did a temp job on it with tape which enabled us to use it.they couldnt replace a bedside bulb either it was a shame because otherwise hotel was ok.

    Hotel generally ok ,close to everything so ideal location .

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    all ok

    Very good hotel on quiet road ideal for visiting Krakow 5 min walk to the main square 10 min walk to castle and a nice breakfast to start the day. This was our 2nd time staying in this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't clearly information at the website, then the room was in another building and it wasn't enough heater for the water and for the climate as well. The bed sheets has holes and teared.

    The breakfast was good

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, all was good!

    A very quiet, neat and tidy hotel with helpful, friendly staff. Great choice of breakfast, good location for the main attractions of Krakow, and excellent value for money.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was only one toaster available, which was not sufficient for the amount of guests.

    Very helpful staff, high standard of cleanliness throughout hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the carpets had marks on and the chair bed as had 2 teenages and 1 adult which isnt really big enough but it was only 2 nights no way could sleep on it for 3+days. shower water could of been warmer staff could of spoken a bit more when saw people

    check in: very good and fast as was 1:30AM Rooms: 2 single bed one chair bed was ok could do with updating carpets etc but was warm tidy and very clean. bathroom: Amazing, very cleaning and tidy and very uptodate shower water wasnt really warm but was ok. breakfast: need more chairs and bigger toaster 😅 as had wait ages and basic food but was good. check out: good and fast would of been better if reception spoke when came in and out but overall the hotel was really good and would return.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pineapple was delicious at breakfast time and the pillows were really comfortable. The staff were very friendly and the location was perfect. Just close enough to the main square to be there in minutes but far enough away to be peaceful at nights

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Hotel staff were extremely helpful and speak perfect English. Hotel prepared a splendid packed breakfast for our trip to Auschwitz at no extra cost. Location is perfect as only short walk to Old Town so no noise from stag/hen parties!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An extra towel & an extra pillow per person but great besides

    Very central to a beautiful city, receptionists very warm & welcoming - will stay again!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the third floor which we wanted . But the room next to us was occupied by young boys who may I say I don't mind having a good time but this was ridiculous complaining was a waste of time earliest we got to sleep was 2.30am 😡

    Rooms were clean

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We spent there 3 nights. It was fantastic! The bed is super comfortable! (It was not an original double, but it did not disturb us, not even a tiny bit, because they solved it to be super good!) The breakfast is delicious, and for an extra charge (only 2 zl in total!) we could make sandwiches for ourselves for the travel back home. The personel at the reception was always helpful with us! Good job everyone! We will definitely come back to Hotel Alexander if we visit Krakow!

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Alexander traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: