Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostel Faust

ul. Szewska 21, Old Town, 31-009 Kraków, Poland

#210 of 269 hotels in Kraków

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 726 hostel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.5
    Cheap but with compromises
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no room keys for everybody in the room, no lockers and no towels neither soap in the bathroom

    It is very close to the city center but be aware that there is so laud music at night, on Saturday night until 3-4 am.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    2.5
    Worst hostel I’ve ever seen!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite the location is very good, this is worst hostel I’ve ever seen. Is very noisy due a bar that runs late. The room is lousy, the bathroom dirty, even worse. The staff are also bad, they denied receiving my lost luggage delivered by the Lost and Found from the Krakow airport. Even cheap, it was not worth what I paid. Worst place I've ever been.

    In the heart of Old Town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    6.7
    Very good location, very very cheap price. You get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    You need the reception to get access to the rooms which is simply not always there. That's quite a problem. There's also no kitchen, not even a microwave.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    3.3
    Don't stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had my belongings stolen at the hostel. I stayed my first night and in the morning staff came into the room, removed my belongings and made up the bed as new. When I returned later that day someone else was in my bed and my belongings had disappeared. Staff were rude and weren't interested at all in helping. No security at this hostel whatsoever. There are "security lockers" but they do not provide the key. They do not provide a key to the room. Bathroom floor was covered in a thick layer of water almost 24/7. Very slippery and unhygienic. Bar under hostel is social but loud at night if you want to sleep.

    Location is good. But only stay in this hostel if desperate. Don't leave anything of value there.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weird that everyone didn’t get a key and you had to see them to buzz you in rather than type a code or anything

    Heart of the city, lovely staff and very comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    6.7
    Don't Kebab. Splurge, You're in Poland!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I checked out after two nights, when I planned to stay three. They should use that $ to buy hand soap for the bathrooms. After traveling for six weeks this was the worst experience. I've slept better on park bench's. Unfortunately, you get what you pay for and my bunk mates were barbarians. The hostel is located in a courtyard, which amplifies all sound. And the hostel bar plays music until around midnight. You must see the reception every time for them to let you back in. So you introduce yourself to staff continually. Also, it was so hot at night I had to take a cold shower and sleep with the wet towel over me. Stay at your own risk.

    The hostel is located in old Town and close to a nice area called Tytano.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.5
    Staff was nice, beds are decent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One bathroom/shower for too many people. A lot of waiting. The front door had been open and uninvited guests had been inside the hostel and harrassed people.

    Staff was nice, beds are decent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    6.3
    Location was a stones throw away from the main square
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn’t ready upon arrival, no toilet roll in the toilet and the cleaner told me to go downstairs and collect and the rooms were extremely hot with no way to cool it down.

    Location was a stones throw away from the main square

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Great location, clean rooms, big and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little bit noisy in the area

    Great location, clean rooms, big and comfortable. A little bit noisy, but it`s a common thing for almost all the apartments in the city center. Right behind the hostel you can find a Zhabka store, cafe, pixxeria, pijalnia and many other places to eat and drink. Hostel has very cozy courtyard garden with kind of chill zone.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    3.8
    Lots of cheep rooms in Crakow w. good location in old town, so find a better place OR see before you
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A room with a window in the walls should be essential. Cleaning could be better and we shared toilets with people who left childrens urin close on the toilet.

    The staff asked us not to order breakfast at Faust, because it was bad value.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    6.3
    We paid £5 for a bed which I can’t complain about.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was disgusting, The bed linen was stained, no locker facilities for personal belongings.

    We paid £5 for a bed which I can’t complain about. The bed was comfortable .I have based my review on paying full price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.7
    The most positive feature is the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The boy working there is quiet unhelpfull and rude, his face is like some one who wants to fight you and always ready to say no! No! We cannot! I cannot! I am not allowed! We do not have! And the stairs is quiet bothering and in the bathroom most of the time you cannot find papers and there is no soup!

    The location The price The free coffee, tea, cornflakes.....

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.1
    It’s nice if you go only to spend the night...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedsheets didn’t fit well... There were no keys for the lockers. There was only a key for the whole room. The floor of the toilet was soaked.

    The staff was kind and the beds comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    6.7
    Unfriendly, just stay for bed and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is quite unfriendly. Not at all service oriented, but just writing down your details and telling you were to sleep. Don't expect some recommendations or even a smile. Also, the one key per room concept is clearly just stupid. Finally, they seem to charge ridiculous prices when you ask for another night, while the rooms are still up on booking for the lower price. After this, i decided i couldn't even be bothered staying longer.

    Beds are good with nice mattress, plugs and reading light.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.5
    The stuff was nice and the location was cool.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lockers for bags. One key for one room where stays 10 persons and if somebody lockes the door you can be locked too

    The stuff was nice and the location was cool. The garden was really good and comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.7
    value for money in the heart of old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Entering was a big issue Every time you had to go to the reception and ask them to unlock the door It is quite noisy at night with music being played all day and till late at night , So if you're a light sleeper might get tough . Ran out of toilet paper twice and the shower door was broken

    Location was nice . There is a nice pierogi place just outside .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.8
    One night at this hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Staff: The staff was friendly, but when I received my dorm room and bed, I was not clearly introduced to the hostel or directed to my bed. I still don't know if I slept in the right bed assigned to mine :D whoops? Also, I still have no idea where the kitchen was?

    1. Location : great, near everything (Old Town, bus and train station, markets...) 2. Wifi : Wifi was good :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Luggage "storage" area didn't feel too secure. Nothing got stolen but would recommend maybe using the one at the station for peace of mind.

    Fantastic location. Nice spot to have first drink of the night too. Private room very nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location and very affordable at the time of booikng.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I stayed on the first floor and it only had 1 bathroom for the whole level. So if it is busy you might be waiting a while. Fortunately for me it was quite at the time.

    Apart from the very good location i found the beds very comfortable. I have stayed in at least half a dozen hostels in Krakow and the beds here were the most comfortable. It has a decent kitchen next to the reception to make your own food.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Prime location!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plenty of space in the dorm but some beds are really close to each other so when you are unlucky might end up next to snoring rino. It’s normal in the dorm though! One of the receptionist showed some attitude but was put in the place.

    Prime location! Good value for money!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    3.8
    Not worth your money, even if it’s affordable and close to the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wow what a place. We checked in here yesterday afternoon and were greeted by the reception. Ok customer service. Got us to where we needed to be, which was our room on the first floor. (Even after the lady at reception couldn’t tell left from right.) Now bear in mind the first floor is still up a set of large stairs, with no elevator and just to get into the doors of the building you have to be buzzed in... every single time. We were pleasantly greeted by a 2 bedroom dorm, that had no proper lock on the door as it had been broken, nor was there a safe or locker for valuables to be kept. A spacious room - (well all that is needed for two young travellers) that housed a dirty floor and beds no comfier than a wonky park bench. The best part of the place is the bathrooms! Oh the bathrooms. Where you can shower as much as you like (if you ever actually get a chance to get into them) and still feel more disgusting as you did going in. If I were in a public place and needed the bathroom extremely bad, I would not even use these toilets. The state that they are in is revolting. Flooded entire floor from a shower that looks as if it hasn’t been cleaned in about 6 months to a toilet that is shared by each and every single person that rents a room here, including those using the bar downstairs. I’ve gone through and stayed at many hostels with shared bathrooms before, but to expect people to use these facilities at the state they are in is horrifying. The only good thing I can say about this place is the location. Safe to say we couldn’t stay more than a night here and end up booking ourselves into a much nicer hostel down the street. We couldn’t stay long enough to try and even get a refund. It may be cheap, but it’s definitely nasty. Do yourself a favour and book somewhere else. There are plenty of other hotels/apartments & hostels right here in the city centre that are extremely affordable and won’t leave you feeling repulsed and dirty.

    The only good thing about this hostel is the location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    5.4
    I would go never back there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we got to the room there were four clean beds (and noone showed us which beds can we use or told us numbers of the beds) so the three of us chose three empty and clean beds. When we came back in the evening one of those three beds was occupied and the only free bed was with dirty linen so the two us had to share one bed. When we complained the boss didn't care about our missfortune. Also, nothing was very clean.

    Neighbourhood and location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    The bathroom and the kitchen facilities were good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness could be better, no soaps or shampoos anywhere in the hostel. And the staff were so noisy. I was intruded at 9 am in the morning for the cleaning or whatever. They started moving away the 11th bed in a 9 bed dorm!

    The bathroom and the kitchen facilities were good. And the location is perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    The absolute best location in Krakow, at a very affordable...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The noise from the bar reached the rooms in the evening; perhaps offering earplugs would be useful for sensitive ears. The room had lockers but keys were not offered in the reception; but perhaps that was temporary.

    The absolute best location in Krakow, at a very affordable price. The hostel is right in the old city center, only steps away from the old market and offers clean beds, spacious rooms, a cozy outdoors common area and even a bar to hang out with. The staff is helpful and there is free wifi accessible in most areas of the hostel. Probably the best option in Krakow for backpackers.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.3
    Had good four days hostel Faust not to bad
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds can do with replacing it's like a bed base without a mattress to lie on hard and lumpy

    Location is great and bar and courtyard good for sitting having a drink

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a mix-up with the key to the dorm room and the shared bathroom's lock didn't seem to work. If you played with it enough, you could get it to lock, but then you had to play with it even more to get it to unlock.

    Amazing price for what you get; great location, everything clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    4.6
    Bad nights sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked 8 beds in a 9 bed room. On arriving at the hostel we were informed that our room only had 2 keys, one of which was with someone who had already checked into the room, the other stayed at reception. Throughout our time at the hostel we were unable to lock any of the doors in our room. On top of that we had to share one bathroom and kitchen with another presumably 9 bed room. There was a shocking lack of privacy, the cleaning staff walked right into the room without knocking. The rooms were reasonably clean but the beds were very uncomfortable and the pillows were too small. There was a lot of noise coming from the bar downstairs so it was difficult to sleep.

    The hostel was very central and the women working at reception were quite nice and helpful. 24 hour check in/out Quite cheap

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    A gem of a hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no issues or gripes about the property

    I usually get a dorm room here which is great but this time I went for a private room and I was really impressed, very well appointed room with flat screen TV, kettle, fridge, very spacious private bathroom, massive comfortable bed. Perfect place to stay in the center of old town kracow.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    5.4
    The room was clean in general and the private bathroom is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very warm because of the temperature outside and one window wasn't working. Tv had a problem. The mat in the bathroom was dirty (there were plenty of hairs on it...) The welcoming was very very cold and distant. For an hostel... I never seen that. To go in your room the night (or even the day!), you each time have to go first at the reception to ask them to open the door. Not practical at all...

    The room was clean in general and the private bathroom is cool. There is a little fridge. 1 min away from the city center as well as shops and cofees. Price was not to expensive and there is a bar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    4.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything ,There are mattresses on the bed,The room and beds are particularly bad,Roommates are some drunks,They did not return until the early hours of the morning,and when they retured ,they screamed and shouted . Otherwise,in front of our bed,a young man and his girlfriend sleep in the same little bed and they were naked!!! Everything so scared and dirty ,in the morning at 8 o’clock ,some tourists from Spain drunked and retured to hostel ,they shouted loudly outside of the door ,cause their roommates locked the door at night ,t’he hostel wont have you keys if your unknown roomates have been there ,so you won’t be free to enter o out of the door. I know that’s a hostel not a hotel,but I’ve been many places ,same cheap but pretty greater and greater than Faust hostel . The door of toilets was difficult to lock and someone entered without asking,everything was so bad ,the bed was really dirty ,Unknown bloodstains on the sheets,Mattress is tattered. The reception staff was pretty kindly but...sorry I won’t choose there again...

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    Price was great and well located but would have preferred clearer information.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not knowing that I'd be sharing the kitchen and bathroom with another room which was holding the last day 'house' party.

    Price, location, staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.1
    Hostel was friendly and helpful, general experience was positive
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit cold, heating was either off or very small, hardly warmer than outside, 18-19 degree Celsius. Hot water also not always hot, at least primitive soap would make expierience more friendly. In the staircase you could feel the smell of the smoke and alkohol, but in the room was OK. We found some leftover food behind the bed.

    Very good location. We had small kitchen with a fridge and electric kettle for watter. The sheets were fresh and clean. Not noisy. Nice balcony. Option to have breakfast very convenient. Friendly and helpful staff. 24/7 reception. TV in the room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    4.2
    All in all bad!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cleaning after people checked out, dirty bathroom, no hot water, no soap in the bathroom to wash your hands with, no towel or paper to dry your hands after (not) washing them. Thank God I brought antibacterial gel. No elevator. Only one key for 9 people to share for the room. No lounge to hang out and meet people.

    The room was good. WiFi worked.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.8
    Good for 1 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only 1 room key and you have to corrdinate coming and going with whoever was staying in the room with you. Also the lockers were missing keys - so you couldn’t lock up your stuff....

    The rooms were very nice, clean, and spacious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    6.7
    Toilet was very clean and many restaurants were closer to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beer smell all over the corridor and the room. And the air wasn't fresh in the room. Walls weren't soundproof so we could hear noises including people walking in the other rooms. There wasn't soap or hand wash and the water kettle was broken.

    Toilet was very clean and many restaurants were closer to the hostel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    2.9
    A Real Nightmare in a modern paid jail
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One unfriendly staff wich enter in rooms without informing or knocking door !! They cut money twice and refuse to give back money for the same person and same dates !!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    5.8
    UNFOURTUNATELY, bad experience...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They turned off (5/7 days I stayed there) the heating system (being WINTER IN POLAND) and the hot water (which was never hot but little warm, being WINTER IN POLAND) during the mornings (I was only in the hostel during the mornings and some minutes during the afternoon and the nights, so I noticed this way of "saving gas money" from the hostel). When I claimed (after the second day they didn't have hot water in the shower) to the front desk, they said that "sorry but that they were having PROBLEMS with the tubes or something like that", after few minutes somebody came up to the appartment and openned a little box with a key and TURNED ON something and magically the heat system started to work, same as hot water, so I don't think they were saying the truth about that there was "some problem with the tubes"... Then I'm pretty sure they got a homeless guy in the room (I feel really sorry and ashamed for saying this but well, I must relate my history). Second day I was in the hostel couple of old man entered to the room, one of the sirs was really sick, coffing and trembling a lot and touching his chest (speaking polish), he looked in a really bad shape. I tried to ask him in polish and with signs if he was ok, impossible to communicate with them. Then one of them left and he never appeared again. I went downstairs to explain to the frontdesk that this sir might need some medical help (I am a doctor so I explain them that he looked in a very bad shape), they answered me "please if something happens just let us know". After 6-8 hours I arrived to the room it was super smelly (like where homeless people stay together, sorry for saying this but it's the truth), the old man was trembling and suspiring like suffering (mowning?) and coffing really badly inside his bed. He left the next day complainimg of chest pain. The room was really smelly until the day I left (I mean, during 6 more days).

    Location Lot of sockets next to the bed Private light in the bed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.6
    Good value for money and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed on the third floor, in the mornings the care takers would come in to collect their tools etc that were in a cupboard in our room making lots of noise and banging around, taking ! We also got charged after 200pln for smoking in the rooms.. 302 me and my husband don't smoke And 301 where one member of the group smoked on the balcony from his room. Make sure the room is checked before you leave!

    Was value for money with 10 of us staying there. Easy to find and just off the main square, Staff were very nice with 24 hours open service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    6.3
    OK but not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture was old and smelled a bit. Morning receptionist not helpful; e.g. she gave me wrong directions to a place, then when I tried to show her on the map where it actually was so she could help future guests, she just smiled at me indulgently like I was simple-minded and wouldn't even look.

    Right in the old town. Very quiet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.2
    Couldn't have asked for anything more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were people smoking in the room next to ours. We didn't complain because it didn't bother us but it's something to be aware of.

    Most comfortable hostel beds we've ever slept in! Plug sockets for each bed were a bonus as well as adjustable individual lights. Right in the centre of everything and really easy to get to from the bus and train station. We arrived very early in the morning (7am) and were allowed to wait, change and charge our phones in the reception area. Would highly recommend!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    8.8
    Great location, great price-quality ratio, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could be warmer, little noisy as there is pub downstairs but its ok after you close the window

    Great location, great price-quality ratio, helpful staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.6
    Good location and nice rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be better if there will be more kwys for the rooms and there will bebe lockers for wach guest.

    Free coffee and tea. Really nice receptioner. Good locatiob

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.8
    Clean, cheap stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It could do with slightly modernising the rooms, but that was just purely aesthetic.

    The location is great, check-in was easy and the room was nice and big for the price. Shared kitchen and bathroom were standard. The bar downstairs was nice and cheap, and a courtyard for sitting in was spacious. Clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    5.8
    Liked the balconys and the pub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like how you have to go to the reception and ask for them to open the main door for you every time. The walls were pretty thin and we could hear every step or word anyone would say regardless whether it was on the stairs or in different rooms. The was no lock for the flat so anyone could access the toilet and kitchen- did not want to leave out things there as we had a situation where someone walked into our room in the middle of the night.

    Liked the balconys and the pub.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn't really work, if you're banking on that; don't count on the hostel, however there is a Mc Donald's with free wifi within 200m so overall it is not an issue.

    Great location. Professional staff with the training and service of a quality hotel. Very comfortable beds.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.9
    Good overall, would recommend as good value for money and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The second bedroom in the same common area was for nine guests and yet there was only one shower/WC for all.

    Friendly staff, excellent location just off the main square. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    6.3
    Nice staff but quite noisy guests.
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noisy guests didn't make it easy to sleep. Walls were thin so I could hear everything they said. Mi room lock was cracked, I could still lock it but when somebody was shutting their rooms outside my door would move and look as if it was going to open. The hostel is located in a street full of bars and clubs so the majority of its guests are the young people who want to go out and party. I was there alone to visit a friend so it wasn't the right choice in my specific case.

    Nice staff, very close to the main square

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    The facilities on site were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 bathroom between two rooms (1 room of 9 and another up to 9) wasn't quite enough

    The facilities on site were great. The bar was good and for market centre it was very cheap. The balconies and seating downstairs were great for gathering and relaxing before the next adventure

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    2 minutes from the Main Market Square
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's located in the middle of old town so it's perfect for going out in the old town. Not too far away from the Jewish District Kazimierz either. Also very helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.5
    Good location, surrounded by many facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not about the hostel per se but another guest. This old guy comes from Ukraine. He made very strange noise during he was sleeping. OK it's tolerable. I didn't see him took a shower during the two days. You can imagine the smell in the hottest summer. The hostel is OK but the smell from this guy was a nightmare!

    Good location, surrounded by many facilities. Room is spacious and toilet is big.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    5.8
    Ok, nothing special here but the location.
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's quite loud all night in the city center & there is no way to cool yourself but to open a window. It becomes quite stuffy in the room. The windows open to a courtyard where many revelers are still partying until 6-7 am. In summer it's light at 4 am, so these conditions combined did not end well for my stay. In addition, the other guest smoke on the balconies where the windows are located and inevitably, you will be smelling this.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.2
    Everything you need from a hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very friendly. The airport shuttle direct from the hostel was brilliant. Central location meant that everything was within walking distance. All in all, a very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.6
    All is well
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Towels only available after paying a bit extra above the listed price.

    Everything clean and neat Staff very friendly and helpful. The location is amazing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.9
    Extremely friendly and helpful staff! Thank you so much for the printed map! And I love the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of the warm water :) Something was broken and we used to bathroom our neighbors :(

    I like the hostel's location, friendly and helpful staff and clean bed linen.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.2
    Nice hostel for a budget tourist
    • Group
    • Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one toilet joined with bathroom for a block, this is not convenient because I had to look for another toilet while mine was occupied for half an hour by someone taking shower. There is actually no parking and no possibility to drive up to the hostel, if you came by car. Actually it's not a big problem, because it's possible to park on the streets nearby (around 200-300 metres away from the hostel), and parking is free since evening, at night and until 10 in the morning. There is enough place for parking at night.

    Nice, cheap hostel, in the very center of Krakow, 24h reception, free tea/coffee anytime; nice, comfortable rooms with a kind of kitchen for a block of 2 rooms. Very convenient if you want to cook something.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    5.8
    Super economy survival conditions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water!!! This was really irritating you have hot water for 2 seconds and then it turns cold. If you close you have to wait like 5 secs for it to become warm for the next 2 secs. Heating didn't work. It's May yet it was a cold day, I expect the heating to work.

    The price was good since it was a special promotion like 50% off know. Good location , right in the old town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.6
    An excellent location with good value of Money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The guests are not allowed to keep the key with them, every time you have to leave the room key at the reception. The receptionists were doing great job but the same girl were managing the reception plus cleaning and making the beds, so some times the reception was closed because the receptionist was upstairs, busy with making and cleaning the rooms. which makes big negative for this hostel. Because the guests needs to wait long outside the reception. The owner of the hostel need to hire more staff and there should be one receptionist all the time at the reception.

    The bunk beds were very comfortable. Good in size and no noise from the beds. The reception staff were doing an excellent job.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    6.7
    Noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy hostel at the weekend. Around 6 guys next door on a stag do made a tonne of noise outside my door, plus incredibly loud bass music from a club downstairs, and a courtyard of smokers outside my window made sleep almost impossible till 5am. I wouldn't advise coming alone unless you're out to party all night, in that case this hostel would be perfect. Unfortunately that wasn't me and I left grumpy and tired the next day. Wifi is very limited in the room but this is stated on their website. Also no soap provided in bathroom so bring your own - and earplugs!

    Location is excellent, right next to the main market square. Staff with were also very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    6.7
    The location is perfect. No wifi in 3rd floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You don't have wifi in the 3rd floor, you have to leave your room to have. We had uncovered windows on the ceiling so if the light disturbs you, it can be a problem.

    The location is perfect. It's on one of the main streets to go out and next to the main square. The bathroom and living room were always cleaned.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    4.6
    Be careful while you're choosing this hostel, there are much better places
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I've received a broken twin bed - hole in it, so matress fell down to floor. I called staff to do something but till end of stay no one came to repair it, so I had to sleep on a second half(gladly stable). I don't understand how owner can't afford buying full sheets and duvets for twin bed. Instead you receive two half sheets, two single duvets and half of blanket! I was supposed to receive a towel and I didn't, so don't trust what they offer. Toilet papers - cheapest you can receive, they are good to work as a sand paper. Bathroom is shared. Expect mould in a cabin. Overall I don't recommend this hostel, please avoid. There are better places with still good location.

    Staff, location, luckily radiators worked so it was warm in the winter

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    7.9
    Nice Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was cold, even with the heat running.

    I needed a place at the last minute, and Faust delivered. Great location and easy to find. I didn't stay for long, so I can't comment about every aspect of the hostel, but it was perfect for what I needed (at an unbeatable price). Everything was clean, staff was helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    6.7
    Very physically uncomfortable all day and all NIGHT! Freezing, cold sweats. 26 degrees F and no heat
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    It was freezing cold! They did not run the heat at all all night or day long in the sleepin gareas and the weather was Celcius Zero or -2 for 5 nights. Only three nights they ran the heat. Several days and nights the wate also was ice cold. A man was not allowed to bring his clean well behaved dog inside but forced to leave him in the freezing cold on the outside balcony. The owner was watching eveywhere with cameras to insure that these things were done.

    The receptionists were very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    7.5
    Very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    1)bed comfortless, 2) each time that you have to enter in your room you have to ask at reception to open the main door and the gate is close after 11 p.m.

    center location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    9.6
    Great location, pubs, nightclubs in 50m, comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi only reach the 1st floor. Bathroom - one coed for 2 rooms~more then 10ppl- doors has a window (why?). One of their night time receptionist (friday) used our toilet...

    Great location, pubs, nightclubs in 50m, comfortable mattresses, good music from the pub, not too loud. (alter, rock, indie etc..)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    8.8
    Good hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think we need more electricity source in the room. The wifi in the room was poorly connected. We need more electricity socket in the room.

    The place is near by the rynek. I can say this hostel is in the heart of Krakow. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The price is not expensive.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    4.2
    I don't reccomend to stay here. There are better hostels in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy location, surrounded by bars and clubs. You have to pay for the towl. After midnight one of the staff members started cleaning the kittchen or something like that which is next to the rooms and speaking quite loudly with some quests. In the bahroom there was no even soap. The door window in the bathroom is almost transperant... I don't reccomend this place. There are others which are 3-5 mins further from the centre where my friends stayed where you pay cheaper, the breakfast is included and condititons are better.

    Unfortunately nothing

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    Good stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked as a double not twin room. But it must have been some mistake on the site.

    So close to city centre

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    6.3
    There is no private locker key in room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There is no private locker key in room. i din't feel safe about my bags.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    4.2
    It is located in the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The washrooms lacked cleanliness. And the room was very hot.

    It is located in the city center.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    There was only one key to the room (9 beds dorm)
    • Group
    • Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only one key to the room (9 beds dorm)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    6.3
    The staff were nice and helpful, both girls I met.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No keys to the locks in the bedroom, like... Seriously? O.o

    The staff were nice and helpful, both girls I met. But that's all.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.9
    The location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was excellent. staff was polite and helpful .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.8
    A good place to stay for price and location
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds can do with replacing as they are old and a bit hard and lumpy

    Bar down stairs and court yard for having a drink

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    8.3
    Good place, best position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 9-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not every person in the staff was ad good as the others in understanding English or coping with your needs.

    Great position. Clean and nice staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.7
    If you are older then 20 some I would not stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would not go if you actually like to sleep. Very loud but I guess fun if you would like to party.

    Perfect location.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hostel Faust traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: