Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Freedom Hostel

ul. Pomorska 2, Krowodrza, 30-039 Kraków, Poland

#206 of 269 hotels in Kraków

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 794 hostel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No AC in the room, which can be a bit unpleasant when it is hot outside.

    The hotel is located in 3-4 bus stops from the historical centre, the bus stop itself is in 2 minutes away from the hotel. This accommodation is very convenient to spend a pair of nights, especially when you spend the whole day in the city. However, the nearby locations are also nice - there is a beautiful park with a playground just behind the bus stop and a museum in the same buildung. Coffee and tea are available at any time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Most plugs were not working The elevator was not working The curtains do not block the light the bedsheets are too small for the beds

    The room and bathroom were clean and spacious Good value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    While the hostel itself was excellent, the noise outside, most of the night, was awful. When this quieted, I could hear men talking, not the words, but their voices carrying from somewhere inside. Could not determine if next room or below. Also, the lift was broken and the rooms are on the 4th floor. While this was not within the control of the hostel, it was very inconvenient and no help came forward to assist. The bed had what I believe to be a waterproof/noisy pad on mattress. Pillow not good. This is a hostel I know.

    Kitchen facilities stocked and working, except I couldn't figure out the microwave. I couldn't get it to pop popcorn. Room well-equipped with table between beds and other surfaces to put my things. Staff helpful and pleasant. Location to Main Square very good. Breakfast available for extra charge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a bit noisy in the morning, from the nearest road.

    Everything is good. The hostel is situated almost in the city centre near the tram stop in 4 stops from the central station. A lot of tram routes go there. It has a big kitchen with all staff. The price for 1 night with last minute deal (for twin room with private bathroom) was awesome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The heating body did not work properly in the bathroom.

    Clean separate room with private bathroom. The bed is extra comfy. The staff is friendly and helpful. They even provide free coffee and tea which we did not expect but absolutely thoughtful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast was a bit weird. being from the UK I would of preferred choice of cereals & toast (marmalade/jams/butter).

    Shower and kitchen facilities were good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the first room the bathroom did not Work and the sheets were dirty, we ask for another room. In the second room the bathroom was discusting, dirty, we ask for another room again, the last room the bathroom was cleaner but it didnt Work very Well, we assumed that they did not have any better room. I did not recomend this place

    The kitchen was ok

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Allocated a but further from the train station than I expected. Had to walk on foot for 2 miles. Yet, it was a pleasant walk through downtown.

    Location is excellent, right in downtown. Price is unbelievably low for a private room with shower.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the beds was very noisy,but nothing that can't be arranged with some oil ;)

    The staff was really helpful and nice, always wanted to help and with a smile. The hostel was very clean. The bathroom was inside the room and they provided towels.The location is good, because is very near from the city centre but far enough to avoid the noise.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walls is pretty thin, bathroom door lock was broken, and one lil thing as for me, I would add some shampoo or shower gels))

    Good location, room is clean, good price, perfect for short business trips.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    wifi dropped out on occassions but always came good after 5 mins.

    nice room,own bathroom and toilet, kitchen bright and spacious with all amenities, staff very friendly and helpful, short (10min)walk to old town, shops close by, laundry 55Zloty. I regarded it as a triumph of freedom over totalitarianism that an ex-Gestapo HQ is now home for pleasure seeking travellers from all over the world. I was lucky enough to be here on Sept 8th when a memorial service was held for the victims of the Nazis - very moving. Lest we forget.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Receptionist was not the most guest friendly I've seen.

    Room was clean. Location is very good, only 14 minutes walk to the old city centre. Private bathroom was clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We personally felt uneasy about the location having been a gestapo HQ but others may find this interesting. We also got a strange email asking us to pay for broken furniture that we definitely did not break but then heard nothing more about it when emailed asking for photographs

    Very clean and good kitchen facilities. Lots of space. Good price/value for money and nice staff at the desk with good English

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room gets to hot, there needs to be a fan. Because if you open the window it's too loud outside

    The room is a great size, clean and comfortable, good location and nice staff. Kitchen is good too. We enjoyed our stay great value for money

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly and helpful personnel. Rooms definitely are of above average quality for a hostel. Quite close to the city center if you want to go by feet. Bus and tram stops around the corner. Main bus/train station easily accessible as well.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a really great time in this place. Staff was very helpful and nice. Reception was 24hours, very needed for us because we traveled by bus and we came at 3am. Good wifi. Town centre just 20min by walk. Everything was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No breakfast buffett, only lunch box style. (Other comments here say eggs or yoghurt, we did not have any of these.) 2 bread rolls and a bit of cheese. Was packed onto eachother so that the ham smelled like cheese and vice versa.

    very clean, easily accessible via tram, good value for price, comfortable beds, reception 24/7, ability to leave luggage after check out, late check out (11), staff speaks fluently English

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Elevator is really slow and tiny (3 people with bags max). At the lobby (ground floor) there is a weird smell, but at the 4th floor it is gone.

    Breakfast was over average comparing to similar places in Krakow. Corn flakes with milk, yogurts, bread and butter (real butter) and jams. There were boiled eggs as well and one could make toasts in the toaster plus coffee. Staff is very nice and helpful. There is a bus and tram stop nearby.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom in the room made a lot of noise and I couldnt take a shower at night.. i had to go to the 4th floor where there was a shower

    Very nice staff, free luggage storage before and after the stay. People with us in the dorm were quiet and early sleeping though we were the late ones.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Selection of foods provided as breakfast somewhat basic.

    Location in nice area within walking distance to old town, yet far enough to avoid loud and partying guests.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Building is extremely gloomy, but if you ignore that, all other things are ok. Value for money.

    walking distance from the city centre and main Market Square.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was very poor and there was not enough crockery. The bed sheets were far too small for even the single bed

    Clean. Room was as I expected for the price. Staff on the desk were friendly

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bedroom and kitchen are very good, really worth the price. It offer breakfast. The receptionists are friendly and willing to help, especially rafal, who helped me to get back my wallet I had left in the taxi. That really means a lot to me, otherwise I had to stop my trip. Thank you so much, rafal!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Oilcloth under sheet cause sweat and make night uncomfortable.

    We were 15 minutes late for breakfast and nevertheless when I asked they give us bread etc. Room and bathroom were really clean, towels were in price.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of proper curtains in room, fixed something ourselfs with towels. No cleaning of the room during our stay. Found the carpet gross

    Nice bathroom, good beds, good breakfast. Happy there's a kitchen aside. Walking distance from centre, super markets close by. Lots of parking place (paid 10-18 mo-fr)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Oilcloth under the bed sheet like the ones they give children who pee in beds.

    This is good budget option as for Kraków in high season. Breakfast included and I honestly expected they would only serve coffee and toasts with marmolade so eggs, cream cheese, pate and yoghurts were a surprise.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was constant noise from traffic, but that is to be expected in the city centre. The pillows were overly stuffed in my opinion. Some people may like that though.

    I was in a double room en-suite. Bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was lovely. Even special little soaps were there like in a real hotel. I was really impressed.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great location.Clean and comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller

    avoid this rathole

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was super friendly, they helped us a lot. We books a double bed room and it was awesome. It was like a mini hotel room :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    neat and clean, friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator didn't work and the property is at thevforth floor.

    Nice little hostel, everything you need for a short stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a little hot

    Everything else was perfect

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was dirty with food. The toilet is not clean, too. Everything is very old and fake pics in booking website.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    maybe thin walls, but there was very quietly :)

    Everythin was great. There is heating, clean bathroom, kitchen.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Okay

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, nice and clean place. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, reasonable price. Regular hostel for understandable value of money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedsheets were definitely too short and therefore absolutely uncomfortable.

    Clean bathroom

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the price was a little bit too high

    Everuthing was very nice! Stuff was very good!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location. Price. Public parking. Nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it ok

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like bathroom, which wasn't very clean.

    Staff Was nice and helpful, room was clean and cosy, with a tv.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I din't like bed clothes. A little uncomfortable.

    Very good price! In generally room was ok.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no personality

    Basic, clean tidy good location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Customer service - staff not very friendly

    Location, clean, quiet, good value for money

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is too simple.

    Quite clean and cozy.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clogged pipes. Dirty floor covering. Very very small tv set with very weak tv signal.

    Nice location, walking distance to the city center.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Carpets didn't look clean, walls need refurbishment.

    Comfortable beds. Personal room with bathroom for low price. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great!

    Very comfortable beds, nice price and good location. Staff were super friendly!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You will hear the noise from outside, even somebody is walking, You must wake up early for breakfast because they will not refill it.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was a bit poor but overall it was good value for money

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no air condition/fan in the room. If you want to save money then it is good otherwise it is not worth.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The building was a Gestapo building. It was a jail. A museum of terror is hosted in the building. Not happy interion design, but plain and strict. Not good atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was named twin/double but actually it was a twin room. This was quite disappointing as we are a couple.i think the staff shouldn't write double in the description. There were some problems with electricity. Probably caused by different voltage: 230V in Poland.

    A clean room,very simple and quite small, just for sleeping. The heating control is in the room.a big benefit is the common kitchen. A lovely area for kids.

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bedding was dirty and lumpy Very cold at night because of poorly fit windows

    Great value for the money Basic breakfast The staff was kind Free luggage room

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was very limited but can't complain for price I paid Could hear trams outside if window open

    Next to tram stop, 2 stops away from old town Excellent value

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Laundry cost 110 zloty at hostel, at another launderette in Krakow the same load cost 28 zloty for a serviced wash! It cost 20 zloty in Warsaw for a bigger load. The price needs to be reviewed at Freedom.

    Reception staff were friendly and extremely helpful.

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    - no chair in the room (you need to use the bed instead) - no bath carpet - unusual situation - you need to ask for the towel(s) at the reception (but, at the other side, you will get it there without problems)

    The good location is the main advantage of this hostel - only 10 minutes walking distance to the center, 10 minutes walking distance to AGH. You can enter it any time - no problem with late arrival. The room was very clean - no spiders or other insects .-) Breakfast was for free (therefore the menu was poor). The problems with WIFI internet access were promptly solved at the reception. To sum up, there is (almost) everything what one needs for his/her (underlined) standard, but not luxus.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Too much noise is easly heard from the room. But it's not because of the hostel just cuz of the people were staying in other rooms. wifi connection wasn't so good. Also the staffs not so friendly

    Location, paying comparatively reasonable price for a single room in Krakow,

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Better choose a room rather far off a kitchen - can be noisy early morning, smell of smoke.

    Proximity to the city centre - just 2 tram stops, free wifi in a room, very low price with breakfast included (eggs, milk, 2 kinds of cereals, yoghurts, melted cheese, jam and spreads, butter, bread.) Kitchen with all equipment - fridge, microwave, dishes. Interesting museum downstairs.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The free self service breakfasts with eggs, cereal, yoghurt, bread, cheese etc.etc. was fantastic! Nice atmosphere, spacious room with lovely bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    • Solo traveller

    A little bit noisy (cars & tramways on Krolewska street) if you want to sleep with open window !

    Perfect location - just 10 minutes on foot from the very center of Cracow, super clean, very comfortable bed, good WiFi, very nice staff at reception, quite good breakfasts.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Easy 15 min walk from the train station but was somewhat removed from center city, lumpy pillow. The wifi was horrible. It never worked anywhere in the hotel. There is another hostel in the same building and the staff there was nice enough to let me use it. Because I wasn't on the same floor it only worked in the lobby. Thank you Premium Hostel!!

    Private room, friendly staff, clean and comfortable bed. Breakfast wasn't anything special. I ended up skipping it, but it was included so thats a plus.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Wifi signal is intermittent. I actually had to go to the kitchen and reset the router every morning to make the internet access work! FIX IT!

    We found this hostel with perfect location. Only 2 stops from old town by tram. Free parking on weekends and from 20:00 till 10:00 on weekdays. A free parking zone 2 stops away as well.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The wifi sometimes did not work in the bedroom, I need go to the common area to use.

    The room was very comfortable and the bed as well. The shower was really good and clean.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    They withdrew money from my card at the moment of the booking even if it was said "only for warranty", they didn't clean my room on the third day of stay and the breakfast was really poor

    Price, position and cleanliness of the room

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We can write the horse is positive. Everything is in the right place can be reached, perfectly clean hostel. The beds are very comfortable. The breakfast is good and enough. What in this price range have been far exceeded our expectations. We return.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No coffee, as advertised.

    Value

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Little bit of noisy

    Cost-effective, Clean room

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great stay, clean and nice...

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We do not have any bad experience.

    The price was without breakfast, but we got it and it was great. :)

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A very poor breakfast. No shampoo in the bathroom

There are also 47 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Freedom Hostel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: