Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Good Bye Lenin Hostel

ul. Berka Joselewicza 23, Old Town, 30-031 Kraków, Poland

#232 of 269 hotels in Kraków

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 705 hostel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.8
    Is not great choise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room 9 has poor mattress at the left bed while the frame of the right one is destroyed, the wood rails are broken and I have advised the reception. The breakfast has fruit missing, the coffee is bad, they need to purchase an Italian coffe machine because the instantan coffe is awful. Two receptionist ladies they don't smile at all and we said good morning and no answer but one of them gave me useful info where to go. Man receptionist is a polite worker. Small receptionist is cool, she smiles and has a good customer attitude. At the evening there is a big mess and noise coming from the patio as teenagers people or older gathered together till late drank and the did so much loud and noise that you cannot sleep. Also a group of English were enphatic and did a big noise at the afternoon. Is not a quite place. I suggest it just because if you don't find another option.

    The position is good close to the Old Town

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Two days at the great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mirror is missing in the room, but it is not critical;)

    This place is definitely a must visit one! I booked room for my parents and they were very happy to stay at this hostel! First of all they noticed that hostel is incredibly clean and you may not have a lack of bathroom necessities. The staff is very friendly and helpful, some of them speak Russian, what was good for my parents as they do not speak English. One of the main condition while choosing accommodation was an own free parking place - and it was like it is, no need to worry about your car while strolling through the town. Thanks to the receptionists who were very supportive helping my parents to inform them about the sightseeing places in the town, to give them some tips! The room was not so big, but comfortable. WC and shower were just opposite to the room, no need to walk too far. Breakfast was good, nothing extraordinary, but enough to not be starving in the morning;) Hostel is quite big with own bar and zones for having a rest with friends outside of the rooms. Highly recommended! And for sure we’ll recommend hostel to everyone! Many thanks!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.5
    A good option.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Person Room with shared bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's an old building so cleanliness is an issue. The staff clean well enough but guest will dirty the place fairly quickly. The toilets smell a bit by the afternoon.

    The staff were really helpful and friendly. The location, whilst not in the middle of the old town, is a comfortable walk from most places you might want to go.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    2.9
    Close to center, but thats all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Bed was creaking - train nearby so no calm sleep (+renovation but during our stay) - smallest window i ever saw - 4m square room - Old and rusty - Breakfast? Fruit flies was everywhere, Old bread -

    Close to center, but thats all.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.8
    The staff were really helpful and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Person Female Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was loud at night. There is a bar nearby and it was difficult to sleep.There was not internett connection in my room 😕

    The staff were really helpful and nice. The location of the hostel is really good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    4.2
    This must be the worst hostel I've stayed in... And I've stayed in a few in Kraków over the year's..
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Person Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My Room faced onto the railway... The mattresses are so uncomfortable as they are so thin... The location of the sockets are limited and were hanging out of the wall the the live wiring exposed...

    The staff were only partly curtious,and slightly helpful...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.1
    Close to city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have more showers and toilets (only 1 of each). Staff did not speak that good english and did not have much info about auswitch if you did not want to buy a tour from them. A bit noisy from the trains that go by quite often.

    Free parking. Location is good so you can walk to most attractions. Grocery store, ATM nearby and location felt safe. Bars nearby. Rooms ok.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Person Room with shared bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really my room was clean and comfortable but maybe a couple of pictures would make it more homely

    The location, atmosphere,staff were all brilliant the facilities were good enough for the cost and it was a great place to stop and a little quirky and close to everything

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    4.2
    AWFUL.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is not a place where you can spleep and rest after a long day, instead it is a place where people are having full time party with no regrets, So, if you want to sleep during orgia, it is a place to you :) And if you need any help to resolve the proble, you are alone. MANAGER CARES ONLY ABOUT MONEY!!!!!!!

    Location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.7
    Location in Kazimierz is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Person Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise. Men in my dormitory.

    Location in Kazimierz is great. Room comfortable even if men and women are mixed. A bit too noisy at night. Staff: Some are friendly,others just ok.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Awesome Hostel. Perfect Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Person Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to be given a towel for the stay. But that is not a deal-breaker in any way.

    Everything was EXCELLENT. The room was perfect... big, clean, and comfortable. The staff were polite, friendly, and very helpful. I love the decor, as it made it a very unique place to stay. The area is quiet and calm and just across the street is Kazimirez, the best place in Kraków to hang out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    6.3
    Nice and helpful staff, easy 24/7 access and quick...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor facilities in the room: old mattress, no bed lights, dusty old wardrobe with no hangers inside. Breakfast: dry bread and vegetables, no eggs, no fresh-made coffee or available filters to make one.

    Nice and helpful staff, easy 24/7 access and quick book-in, good location, lovely old building, clean bathroom and toilet. Good for short stay for a group of friends or a single traveller. Relatively cheap price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.4
    The rooms are very small, the beds not comfortable enough...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are very small, the beds not comfortable enough for more days, and shower and toilet facilities very simple and often dirty. The breakfast was disappointing as well, as it was very simple, with only one type of bread and no proper coffee or other drinks. Furthermore there were no tables or nice places to sit down and eat.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.8
    Came on thursday, had a great time and left on saturday :D
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On the first night it was some sort of a party in one room, which given that me and my partner were tired (being awake for 40+ hours at that time) it was really uncomfortable not being able to sleep. But party lasted only until midnight/half past so most people will not find any issue with it. I only found it a problem because in rules it says that there is silent time between 22:00-6:00. and you have to sign that you read the rules and that you accept them.

    Breakfast was okay. But given the price it was better than epected. Also staff is really helpful and can help in anything you need. we stayed in 2 bed room and room was very clean. also great that there is wardrobe in it. Bathroom is not that spacious but it looks nice and clean. I had some problem to get in though because it is quite small (i am quite big guy which may be the problem :D). I do like that there is always warm water and that bathroom and toilet are separated. There is only one bathroom on top floor for many people though. so expect some waiting if there is many guests.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    6.7
    Was ok for that price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Person Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was ok for that price. I was happy I found this room in a very last minute Bed was ok, simple breakfast included. A bit strange smell in the bathroom. Nice girl at the reception.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.3
    Recomended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Person Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street was dark and dificult to see the hostel entrance. Matress not that thick. There could be a support for the shower and a place to put the soap and shampoo. My toilet was not that clean,

    Breakfast conposed by bread, nutella, butter, cheese, milk, tea, jams, etcs. Tea and coffee for free during the hole day

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    nice breakfast, kindly staff made me feel i am at home,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Person Room with shared bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nice breakfast, kindly staff made me feel i am at home, mina(forgive me if i called your name incorrect ) is very helpful, i made an appointment at the barbershop nearby but i forgot to change the zloty, she helped me call to the barbershop to reschedule it, even it is not her job duty, it's very sweet and warm!!!!big hand for her

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    6.3
    the staff is friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Person Female Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no shelf or hook in the bathroom. the street to go into the hotel is very dark. there is no internet connection in the room.

    the staff is friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    4.6
    Staff was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Person Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't trust the description, NO free parking near the hostel ... Owner was really rude, lot of polish people are far more nice and customer oriented persons, I would stongly recommend to spend money somewhere else !

    Staff was nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    2.9
    The worst hostel I have ever seen!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst hostel I've ever stayed!! Dirty bathrooms, and used bedclothes full of hair. No heating (cold as a refrigerator). Decoration, furniture and bed from the years 1940's!! Plus all that with a poor service with the staff without looking you the face and any party happening anytime!!

    The worst hostel I've ever seen!! It's good to get back to the Communist Era with the 1940's furniture, bed and sheets. Or to fell into a USSR Gulag while you freeze to death with the no working heating system.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.3
    The place is well situated, close to the Jewish quarter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Person Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room we where staying was not very clean. The people we were sharing the room with were totally disrespectful, noisy and didn't care about us at all. Very noisy in the morning

    The place is well situated, close to the Jewish quarter. The staff was nice and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.7
    Breakfest in the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Person Female Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough toilettes per people (line in the morning). Mirror in the room. More knowledge about places and recommendations from the stuff.

    Breakfest in the price. Hairdrier possible to borrow. Nice bed. Close to the store, both part of city. Nice rooms with couch and music.Closet for baggage in the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    5.8
    Good bye... Good bye Lenin
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Person Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During 4 days nobody had clean the room, toilet inside the room cleaned after 3 day under request (desperate request) dust everywhere bar inside too expensive, toilet almost abandoned. i had 1 pizza in the kitchen... Disappeared. I had a bread box.. Disappeared.. The idea its good but i think the manager could be better

    Staff very gentle... Pull and bar down stairs, dehor outside

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    5.8
    It is cheap and the location is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Person Female Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place was very noisy when I stayed. It was Saturday night and while I was sleeping, there was a party going on and by somehow, people opened my room and checked every 5 minutes. It was very unpleasant and disturbing.

    It is cheap and the location is great

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    6.3
    unpleasant experience caused by guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 10-Person Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Right when we were checking in, the receptionist (Dariusz, a wonderful guy) warned us that there was a group of about 30 Polish students from Warsaw staying there as well, so there was a huge chance of us getting no sleep. Rightly so. They managed to break pretty much all the rules of the facilities: they smoked and drunk alcohol everywhere, listened to music all night long (literally the entire night), slammed doors every 2 minutes, ran along the hallways stomping their feet heavily, roared their lungs out and even kicked our bedroom's door at full for force more than once. Our much-deserved night of sleep was doomed from the beginning. At some point, my two friends and the other guest staying in our room took turns to go and talk to the receptionist, as the situation kept on escalating. We were told that the Police had no business there, so we would have to sit this one out and wait for them to check-out the next morning. And so we did. The next day, the receptionist told us he was very sorry for the whole troublesome night and made us a summary of the whole chaos (which included the students having broken at least 2 doors in half). The second night went very, very smoothly because the students weren't there anymore. We have to thank Dariusz for being so understanding. Despite not being able to put an end to the whole havoc going on, we know he did his best. However, next time you accept accommodating 30 students at once, you might want to think twice, because no one will profit from this choice.

    The hostel was located in the beautiful Jewish neighborhood and very close to the Old Town square. There are plenty of restaurants and bars within walking distance.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.1
    The location is great and staff was super friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 6-Person Room with shared bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the upper bathroom was kinda old, but clean. It was very cold in the hostel.

    The location is great and staff was super friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Just book this hostel and get off your anxiety.
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Person Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a little bit cold during day

    Staff were incredibly nice! Especially michael, whom i would have missed my train back to prague without his divine assistance!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    6.3
    Nice breakfast for be an hostel and cozy living room, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Person Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very bad room, it was cold (heaters worked for few hours, basically when we weren't in the room) and quite stinky

    Nice breakfast for be an hostel and cozy living room, good position

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.2
    The place is just very different to other hotels/hostels...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is just very different to other hotels/hostels I have stayed at before. It's retro, funny and has everything one need to crash a night or two. The staff is very friendly and helpful with the tips. The hostel is located just between the old city centre and the jewish quarter (walking distance). Definitely to recommend to backpackers.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.5
    good but with some small let downs
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Person Female Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there was a school group that was really loud and it looked like there wasn’t any strictness on the noise from the students. the room was also very cold and the wifi didn’t work at all in my room.

    the room had a lot of light and the staff was really friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing but it did the job.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast could have better, as it was simple and a limited selection of meats, cheeses and cereal. Facilities could have done with a good clean, it was slightly run down. Bar never seemed to be open.

    Staff were welcoming and helpful, especially when we arranged an organised visit to Auschwitz.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    This place is just fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The barman is really racist and homophobic and made us feel like we didn't want to spend money there. If it were my place I would fire him immediately. He told a German guest (a young woman) that she was a Nazi for being German. He was also not very good at looking after the bar since he spent most of the time outside smoking, and waiting for a drink took far too long.

    This place is just fantastic. Awesome location in the Jewish quarter, great people, good vibe, same since it opened despite management changes. comfy lounge bar downstairs, good value for money, excellent staff at the front desk.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    All's well.
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Person Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It could have been slightly cleaner in the bathrooms, some very used elements should be replaced.

    Extremely nice and helpful staff, was lucky enough to have a room for myself, very good location. I enjoyed the atmosphere. Decent breakfast in the price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Person Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was a little uncomfortable, but not a big problem. Also, the building and the stuff is quite old although very clean. Apart from these, I would definitely recommend the hostel.

    An awesome hostel. Very beautiful decoration and very clean. It is located near the Jewish Ghetto, very close to a supermarket and a 5-minute walk from a tram stop, which is also served by night trams. Also, the staff was very friendly and helpful. They provide a free luggage storage service even if you have checked out earlier. The breakfast was awesome for its price. Definitely good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    4.2
    It's OK for one or two nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 6-Person Room with shared bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the page stated that the hostel offered free parking, we were not let to park inside the premises and had to leave our car somewhere in the street... The receptionist said that the rules had changed and that they did not update the information on booking.com. That was a big disappointment, because the parking was one of the main reasons why we had chosen this hostel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    5.8
    Personal was rly great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds! You cant move on it without some annoying sound. Also one bed was a bit damaged (one missing grid). The doors are like paper.

    Personal was rly great. Everything was clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    5.4
    Okayish, but there are better hostels at a similar price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Person Room with shared bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately, I was given a bed that was under the leaking window, so I woke up in the middle of the night in a huge puddle as it was raining hard. The staff said that they were aware of the problem, but when I mentioned they shouldn't have put people on such beds then, I got an answer they were fully booked. Not cool. Also, mattresses are old and not comfy.

    Breakfast was good for the price. Staff are a friendly bunch. Bathrooms were clean. Decor is cool.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Nice place. Would go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Person Female Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi only worked downstairs. The were lockers in the room but either the locks or the lockers itself were broken. A little too close to the train tracks.

    A friendly and helpful staff. The room, toilet and kitchen were clean. The breakfast was ok. A grocery store and Jewish District nearby. Not too far from the other attractions either. The beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    6.7
    Good location quirky decoration and really nice, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Person Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathrooms left a lot to be desired, they were not very clean and the smell was not pleasant at all. The toilet seat was completely detached from the actual toilet in my room. Also, the kitchen could have been cleaned more often, there most have been something rotten in the fridge, so if you needed to put something there it would catch a really horrible smell.

    Good location quirky decoration and really nice, friendly staff. The beds were nice and comfortable , pillows and bed sheets were very clean as well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    5.0
    - while checking-in, the girl in the reception told us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - while checking-in, the girl in the reception told us '"i know that the check-out at 11 but please check-out at 10!" - we were staying in a double room, and the train passes directly next to the room window, so we couldn't sleep for 2 nights! we couldn't close the window as it was too hot! - the room was too small! - people were so noisy in the corridor at 7 am !,singing and playing music, and no one of the staff cared! - it's far from the center and a little bit close to the Jewish quarter.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    9.6
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 8-Person Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi when you move away from reception

    Everything Very good location, ten minutes of walking to the city center Happy smiling staff , we did our check is at 7h00 am. Original retro look Free breakfast ( a real breakfast )

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.8
    Unique Theme and Great Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 6-Person Room with shared bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bunk beds in our room were all SUPER squeaky. Barely turning your head on the pillow made noise. Rolling over was practically earthquake status! That aside, the beds were pretty comfy and very clean.

    The theme of the hostel gave it a unique atmosphere. It was also conveniently located near both Old Town Krakow and the Jewish Quarter. The breakfast served at the hostel was decent and there were plenty of dishes available if you wanted to make your own meal. There is also a grocery store directly across from the hostel which was super convenient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    2.9
    If you want a good night sleep, don't go there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not very helpful person on the reception. On arrival, electrical sockets did not work so had to charge my phone in the coffee shop, in town. The receptionist advised to charge it in the reception, which was not acceptable. The following day the sockets worked. On the last night, (second of the two) the noise from the rowdy customers kept us awake until 2 am, despite the clear house rule 23.00 hr cut off point. After a sleepless night, next morning we had an early flight back home. Although the bedding seemed clean the beds were hard and uncomfortable; the room felt more like a prison cell. The facilities, furniture, decor, were drab, old and primitive, overall very depressing place. Would not recommend this place to anyone.

    There was nothing I liked about the place. Couldn't wait to get away fast enough.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.2
    Best place to stay in Krakow and nice theme.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During the night it was a bit loud as people were chatting by the entrance of the hostel. I was able to hear the noises as my room was facing that direction. Although it is understandable that is a hostel an people are more like to be sociable, maybe staff could remind guests about the noise at late night.

    For people who like to have an small experience of the communist Poland. This is the perfect Hostel. The communist theme is really cool. The hostel well decorated. The hostel has a basement bar and has a kitchen available for the guests usage. Staff are very polite and helpful. The hostel is located very close to the center and the jewish area. It is one of the best spot to stay in krakow

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.2
    Good stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 10-Person Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds weren't too good and the lockers in our beds didn't work. Also, the internet wasn't working well

    Great location and good place for young travelers. Also, close to centre and easy to move around. The host explained everything. Good breakfast, BTW!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.8
    Very good to discover Krakow !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Person Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom should be cleaned twice a day maybe especially in a room of at least 10 people but it's ok.

    Good hostel to discover Krakow, the price is very cheap and you have a good service. The location is closed to the center (10-15min) walking) so you don't need public transports. The staff is nice and help you to organize your journey. I love the decoration of the hostel, there is also a bar. The breakfast is good and the terrace is a plus. The hostel is quiet but you can meet a lot of people. My bedroom has its own bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    3.8
    The terrace offers another possibility for the nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Person Room with shared bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was full of leaves and dirty. Besides that in the room there weren't one plug for each bed, which was really uncomfortable for charging my device as long as I got the upper bed.

    The terrace offers another possibility for the nights.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.8
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Person Female Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent value for money. Keep in mind that it is a hostel not a hotel, mostly backpackers so do not expect any luxuries. The staff were very friendly and helped us to book our tour to visit Auschwitz.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    3.8
    A disappointment in good location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    (Over-the-top, as in "sunbathing Lenin watches over you from the brightly-painted wall in your room") "theme" used to sell property in serious need of renovation. Rules set out on the reception desk were confusing (Polish and English rules differed in number and numeration, making it hard to cross-examine them; supposed "deposit" for renting a towel turned out to be a non-refundable payment, etc.) and the staff was unable to help with them. The "free breakfast" included only a very limited selection of barely-edible products: margarine high in trans-fats, some bread, cheap cheese and cooked ham, milk and cornflakes; no fresh vegetables, fruits, juices, nor hot dishes, be it eggs, sausages, or the like. Hard, small, uncomfortable beds in rooms with windows towards a railway.

    Very close to the Market Square and Wawel, but that's the only positive.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    5.0
    Location was good and breakfast ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Person Room with shared bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didnt work at all. You never know if the bar is open or closed. You cant drink your own beer abywhere when bar is open.

    Location was good and breakfast ok.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    Very Fun Hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 10-Person Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were not charging ports at every bed, so charging electronic equipment is a bit difficult

    The atmosphere of this hostel was much better than others I have stayed in. There is a place to play pool and foosball in the private bar downstairs. The staff are also quite friendly and make it easy to get around the city!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.3
    Friendly staff, nice garden, bar downstairs and one more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    IMHO, the building requires some refitting, repairing

    Friendly staff, nice garden, bar downstairs and one more really near to the hostel. The best breakfast I ever had in a hostel!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.8
    friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Person Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no wifi anywhere smelly bathroom

    friendly and helpful staff quiet location near the city centre terrace outside free breakfast until 10:30 and parking

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    5.8
    The place need some work and some lights that help to get there .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Person Female Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place has a old smell, the carpet at the recepcion looks dirty. To get internet you have to stay at the reception. At night to get to the hostel is difficult not lights.

    The place was quite at night.the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    The staff working at the reception especially Izabela and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff working at the reception especially Izabela and Ania were very supportive and friendly. The place is being run in a very organised and fun manner and it was a pleasure to stay there and meet like minded and satisfied travellers. Would love to stay here again on the next visit!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Hello Lenin!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Person Room with shared bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The facilities and parking were stellar as well as the personal lockable compartment and the staff were absolutely excellent, namely Izabela and Ania. They were very hospitable, fun and helpful, they made us feel right at home.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    You Say Goodbye but I Say Hello.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 10-Person Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hostel ticked all the boxes for me and free parking also. I stayed here once before and made it a point to come back to this hostel. The basement bar is very handy. Pool table, foseball and plenty of room to spread out. And then there is Ania. Sorry if I spelled the name wrong. Ania is not only friendly she is a friend. And I'm sure if you speak to her you will feel the same. Goodbye Lenin, goodbye Krakow and fare well Ania.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.2
    Interested in Communist Poland? Check out Goodbye Lenin
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Person Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Be aware that there are TWO branches of Goobye Lenin, one in Old Town and one in Kazimerz. Make sure that you know which one you are reserving, otherwise you may end up at the wrong one, as I in fact did.

    Excellent location in the Kazimerz district of Krakow, close especially to all the Jewish sights. Excellent value for your zlotys in Krakow, which is not the cheapest city in Poland. The Communism theme is a riot, expecially for those of us who remember Poland back in that period. People today cannot imagine what it was like!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    4.2
    No recommendation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Person Room with shared bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hostel wasn't clean at all. The bathroom was dirty too, but I guess that's more because of the guests then due to the hostel itself. The room was also very dirty when we came. The beds are very uncomfortable. The breakfast was also very poor. Not really a good choice you have. We stayed only two nights so it was durable, even I wouldn't recommend it at all.

    The staff is nice and the location is good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    6.3
    If you are a realistic person and don't expect much for so little money, this place is for you :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Person Female Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was pretty dark, no lamps near the bed. The showers on the second floor are really not convenient (nowhere to put shower essentials - only if on the floor), the whole room is the shower so there's water all over the place. Towels are not provided. Internet doesn't work properly on the second floor.

    The staff is nice. You can leave your suitcase in a special room after a checkout. Beds and lockers have numbers, so there's no chance someone else will occupy your bed. :) Breakfast is served every morning.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.9
    Thanks for the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Person Female Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hidden in a alley and entrance dark at night so maybe get some outside lights. Very cold in the rooms so perhaps provide extra blankets. Pillow not comfortable. Need more bathroom facilities as well. One shower not working.

    Central location, easy to get to, big space for socialising, lockers and keys to the rooms provided.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    10
    The hostel is very clean and you can find a big common room...
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Person Room with shared bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms and the hostel were very cold during my stay. Probably they already stopped to heat due of some warm temperatures the last days before in Krakow.

    The hostel is very clean and you can find a big common room to hang out. They have an own bar in the common but it was closed due of less travellers. The WIFI is stable and fast. The bedrooms are very calm and the bed is very comfortable. The bathroom is extra clean you can find hot showers in the morning and in the evening. The location is great if you want to explore Kazimierz in Detail. Just few steps away you can find a supermarket to buy daily stuff. I can just recommend you this hostel even the stuff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    5.0
    Worst experience ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Person Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I say it to the receptionist. Owner should considered some renovations as quick as well. Because walls was dirty from mold. All furniture is very worn and looks old. No heating at all. House should be renovated with outside isolation, but this situation is unacceptable. From one shower come some kind of horrible smell. Worst experience ever. Photos doesnt correspond actually to reality.

    Good and helpful staff. Location is good, few station from square. You vám play billiard. Basic breakfast included in price.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.5
    Its all about the Pub & Garden!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 10-Person Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Organised a trip to Auschwitz through the hostel and they mixed up the dates we planned to go. We had planned to go on our last day of our stay in Krakow so unfortunately we missed the chance to visit Auschwitz as a result.

    Bar and beer garden are excellent. Rooms where warm, shower also warm and clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    6.3
    The staff was helpful, the location is amazing, everything...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Well, I think I'm just too old for loud ang noisy hostels. That was the last time I slept in a hostel. Of course it's my fault.

    The staff was helpful, the location is amazing, everything was around the corner.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    6.3
    Average hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very cold, although the heating was on max, it was just half-warm, so now in February not very pleasant. The style of the hostel should be socialist but do not expect nice retro - the equipment was socialist in the worst way - the bed was probably with original mattress which was very soft, one bathroom with broken toilet seat, the other with loose toilet seat. Also the cleanliness could be better. These defects definitely evoke socialism but I'm not sure if this was the intent.

    This accommodation is in good area close to the main streets of Jewish town Kazimierz, there are lots of restaurants and pubs to eat and go out. Also to the main square it is not far away, about 10-15min walk. There is a small store just across the street. The staff was nice and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    6.7
    Lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Person Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom was very cold even though the radiator was on the highest setting. The shower didn't get hot enough. The bunkbeds were very old and moved alot.

    Lovely staff. There is a bar and pub crawl starting from the hostel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    5.4
    Bit far out from the main square, great staff but facilities need work
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location was too far out from the square, especially when walking in the cold. The private room was tiny, my partner and I were climbing over each other most of the time. Not enough shared toilet facilities (2 toilets for >8 rooms containing multiple people). We are vegan so had no breakfast options, not even fruit.

    Staff were great

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    7.5
    Great hostel, great staff, decoration and breakfast. Just please heat up the room a little more!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Person Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was too cold, the water was not hot enough and the bar did not open the night we were there.

    Service on arrival was great, the decoration is really cool, and the breakfast was very nice!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    2.5
    RUN AWAY!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 10-Person Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's freaking cold in Krakow and the heating is not working at all! I spent 3 nights there and they never fixed it, even though everyone was complaining about it. Also, on the second day the wifi just went down. They did not clean the bathroom during the 3 nights I was there. Worst hostel ever.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    8.8
    Good backpacking hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Person Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reported broken toilet seat when we checked-in and the next day. It was a serious safety issue but noone did anything about it.

    Location was great, friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    8.8
    Great Vibe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you have a car, parking is free 8pm-10am but you have to be lucky to find a park. Although, we managed to work around it.

    Great vibe. Friendly staff. Short 10 minute walk into Old Town. Hostel located in a great spot for restaurants. Supermarket across the road. Private funky bar was reasonably priced. Breakfast is included. Couldn't have asked for more!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    5.8
    i thing this is cheapest and last opinion for stay close to the city center with free parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very hard to find I couldn't sleep all night because hostel is very loud and behind the hostel are train rails. when I arrived in my room was bad smell and very cold air even all my stay

    hostel is about 1,2km from city center

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    7.5
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Person Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we arrived bathrooms where clean but when other people came to the room it was a mess and I left the room so early so i am not sure if they dont clean everyday or it was my roommates that where not so clean

    Near to the city center, good price and a lot of games in the bar to play for free

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    7.1
    Friendly staff and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Person Room with shared bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had horrible roommates, they were loud and drunk. The first night i complained about this, so they gave me another room. The second night another drunk arrived. I was so tired, that is couldn't enjoy the city anymore, so i left a Day earlier. But the staff was very understanding and sweet.

    Friendly staff and location

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Good Bye Lenin Hostel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: