Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Sal 4 stars

Park Kingi 7, 32-020 Wieliczka, Poland

#1 of 15 hotels in Wieliczka

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 578 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 73

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In 4* hotel the breakast could be better. Limited offer and at 8:15 there were no ham, no cheese, no cakes. Coffee wasnt good.

    Location in park next to salt mine. Spacious room. Free parking and great restaurant for dinner.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Capacious, roomy, elegant interior, table, desk with mirror, tv, body wash, soap, body lotion and the location of all. 1minute walk distance from the salt mine. And the cod fish I had for dinner was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If our room could be a little large...

    Large bathroom, extremly clean, matress very confortable, good smell, elegant, silent, safe, parking safe, hotel in the park, breakfast rich, large coffe, tre entrence in the salt mine at 100m

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was been amazing. Very kind and professional staff, very good restaurant, abundant and good breakfast, very clean room, good view from room, style of hotel, 1 minut by foot to salt mines ( hotel is behind to the entrance for salt mines), very close to train station for go to krakow in few time if you don t want take car, 15 minutes to krakow if you go by car. Sure i will return in this amazing hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We came in the middle of a rainstorm at night in the signage to the hotel was not easily seen, so we drove around a bit before finally finding it.

    The workers at the breakfast buffet were so nice! We came down just prior to the buffet closing and they offered us fresh food street from the kitchen. The rooms were cozy and warm.We came in the middle of a rainstorm at night in the signage to the hotel was not easily seen, so we drove around a bit before finally finding it. We were even able to buy the tickets from the hotel to the salt mine without having to stand in line.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor breakfast selection, food did not look appetising. We got up late following morning and when we cam down to the restaurant to have our breakfast most food was gone. I had to ask waitress to bring some more food. We also had lunch at the hotel and food was very disappointing, dumplings had hardly any filling (mushrooms), pastry was very thick. I have never came across so awful dumplings and I have to reassure you we have tried many while visiting Krakow. They were very expensive too, we paid 29 zl where you can buy them much cheaper on the Market Square in other restaurants.

    I like the size of the room, bed was comfortable and room was very clean. Staff friendly and helpful, especially porter who helped with heavy cases .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast service was not so smooth: items missing and had to wait for refill.

    Brilliant location if visiting the Salt Mine. Nice and quiet surroundings. Bathroom was big and super clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was excellent.

    Location of the hotel on the grounds of the salt mine for a quiet stroll in the evening. Clean and comfortable rooms. Accommodating staff - many thanks for a late night dinner and individual sauna for late arrivals!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant in now slightly overrated - there are quite compatible, way cheaper restaurants close by. Same goes for the breakfast - for that price it was too sparse. We got a bit frustrated with the room: first we got an yet unprepared room with very nice view, which was changed to another one with no view - we would have preferred to wait for the first to be tidied up.

    Perfect location, great hotel (stayed there for the second time already).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel and room are a little bit aged. The room size is below average. Except hot tourist salt mine, there is nothing to see. There are not many restaurants in walking distance.

    The hotel is allocated inside salt mine and possibly owned by salt mine. If you visit the salt mine, it has the best location and only a few hundreds feet away from salt mine ticket office. The room is clean and clasicly decorated. The staff are nice and willing to help. However, it would be better if they spoke English better. The surrounding enviroment is nice and like a small park. Car parking is at side and free of charge. The breakfast is a little above average.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is limited. We came one hour before breakfast end and main "dishes" were over.. After claims from one lady, they started to bring them again. Definitely not a level for 4 stars hotel

    Room quality is strong 4 star Wifi, parking

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant in the hotel did not offer much.

    Great hotel, worth the price! Right next to the mine, in a beautiful park close to the main city square with shops. It's definitely a 5/5. Great romantic place.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast could have been a little more varied and interesting.

    Immaculately clean. Very spacious and comfortable room and great bathroom with lots of room to put things.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First Parking is too small for all guests.Seems that personal also park there because all except one (France) were Polish cars but in hotel almost everybody a foreigner. Second, receptionists were nice but we received a misleading information to eat in a restaurant out of the hotel with reservation at 20:00h and when arrived there at 20:00h kitchen was closed, just drinks! Third, on second day we must ask on reception to clean our room because no cleaning lady came Forth, the waiter in the hotel restaurant was polite but with a bit strange behaviour, like he didn't want to talk. Fifth, eggs on breakfast were finished and we had to find the waitress to ask her to prepare a new ones.

    Grand Sal is perfectly located next to the mine and the park.For people who want to visit Cracow but want to stay in a cosy and quiet villige is ideal - just 13km from city centre.Room was quite comfortable, bathroom quite large, lovely carpet

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you want treatments check witht he hotel before booking to see if they are available

    Great people, superb location at the salt mine and spacious room in the apartment which was when we travelled good value

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like.

    Excellent staff, the room was clean, luxurious and spacious and breakfast was delicious. Right next to the salt mines. Wanted to stay longer!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I want to thank you for arranging the perfect birthday surprise. Everything was great and by that I mean everything (staff, food, location, service, bed, room, bathroom, ...).

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Faultless.

    A perfect hotel to visit the salt mine. The hotel is actually inside the salt mine grounds. It's set in a beautiful position and is a beautiful building. The terrace is a really nice place to sit in the evening and have a meal. It's really convenient to take a train into Krakow, the trains are every half hour and cost about £1 and it's just a short walk to the station. It's so peaceful and quite without being remote. Highly recommended. Purchase your ticket from the machine at the station. It's easy, but if you struggle, don't worry, you can buy on the train.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi speed for upload meant that I couldn't submit things for school that I needed to do while on vacation!

    Food was beautiful and tasty. Landscaping was lovely. Location is near enough to Krakow that you can get there without having the regular hassle of being in the congested traffic of the city.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    In room was strong smell of some paint, my daughter fainted to floor from it!

    Very helpful and professional staff on reception and in restaurant. Good location, next to Wieliczka Salt Mine. Good price for luxury hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The A/C was broken or not installed properly and although we requested it be addressed, only the fan was fixed. Also there was no information in the rooms regarding the salt mine spa, so we didn't know about it in time to take advantage of that.

    The food was beautiful and delicious. Everything was very clean and inviting. The grounds and gardens are stunning and right next to the salt mine. The hotel is not far from Krakow proper, a short and cheap taxi ride from the city without the hassle and noise of the crowds and traffic.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds were a bit too hard for my taste.

    Calm and quiet. 50 meters from the salt mine. 200 meters from the train station. Train to Krakow center took 20 minutes and costed nearly nothing. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only (and a very tiny) minus was the material of the bed sheets. It felt like air didn't move through them.

    Very friendly and helpful staff (and with excellent English). Superb location (right next to the salt mine). Good restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is fantastic, 40m to Salt Mine, in the center of park, close to playground. Can leave the car and walk around.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am travelling quite often but this hotel is one of the BEST I have ever stayed! Much better than lot of others in Krakow.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect hotel, will come again

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little bit complicated to find an access of the hotel´s parking place

    Really close to the Salt mine Clean Good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice Breakfast, Good Location, Closest possible to salt mine

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant.

    Very good brekfast, nice staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Large well maintained rooms, very comfortable bed and staff very pleasant & helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The size of the hotel's parking

    Very pleasant stay. Great help from evey employee of the hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast

    location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air condition in the restaurant runs all the time so much.

    We liked breakfast, design and equipment of the apartment.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel situated in grounds of Wieliczka Salt Mine complex. Staff very accommodating and obliging. Would stay longer next time.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a fine hotel at a price I could afford. The grounds/ garden in front of the hotel are a delight. Definitely gets my recommendation.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Excellent staff and location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    no swimming pool

    excellent location, clean and quiet, good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location to visit the salt mine. Very friendly and helpful staff. Food was great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything about this hotel. Lovely room, wonderful gourmet breakfast and the hotel was a very short walk to the salt mine. Excellent!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location for Salt Mine. Grounds were beautiful. Room was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kind staff, location of the hotel just next to the entrance to the mine, spacy rooms.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location inside park sv kingdy, walking distance to salt mine, friendly Stafford, super parking on site

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nithing

    everything was just great

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was not so comfortable.

    Free use of personal sauna!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner in the restaurant exceeded expectations, in fact the whole experience visiting this hotel has been fantastic!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in a garden just next to the salt mine. Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible poor connection to wifi in the room

    Comfortable and clear room, breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is in the middle of the salt mine compound. If you want to visit the gorgeous mine, this is the place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast absolut super

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    wish there was an extra pillow

    gourmet dinner served :)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant serves good food but it is not comfortable, rather spartan.

    Nice and very helpful staff. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all is super perfect!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms ceiling is not safe.

    Very nice hotel. Staff is super welcoming and efficient.hotel is situated in park.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. restaurant was excellent. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly and helpful staff Nice location- veru close to the mine Very clean and nice room Very good and tasty breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location to see the Wieliczka Salt Mine. A new and still fresh. A convenient, secure parking.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely everything - the best bed we've had during our 5 week stay in Europe.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent location, very luxurious and relaxing

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All is perfect. Better then to stay in Krakow

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    • Family with young children

    a little bit noisy outside (some reworks) and some walls were thin.

    Everything was perfect. Professional personel; delicious food and choice. Huge and very clean room. Nice view through the windows. very good location. PERFECT!

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    This hotel is really lovely, right at the salt mines, we stayed here on our first night in Krakow and it was a brilliant choice, such an easy place to arrive to late at night (unlike Old town in Krakow). The staff were super friendly, breakfast was good. We had a luxury 2 room suite, very good value for money, comfortable bed, excellent sleep, chocolates on the pillow etc.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Solo traveller

    The bed, mattress seemed irregula (room 200)

    Fantastic location staff are friendly and facilities are very good. The bed didn't match the quality or comfort to be found in most hotels of this level but is fantastic value for money and will use again.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was perfect. Can you give us some information what kind of beds they are because they were very good and we would like to buy in our country the same one. Thank you so much.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Can't think of a thing.

    The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The quaint surroundings made the stay very pleasant. This hotel was silent, and I'm sure we weren't the only guests there. Bathrooms were well stocked and very clean. Excellent wifi. Great breakfast and outstanding attitude of the people. English spoken very well.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pillows on the bed were very small and this could cause problems for some.

    Location to the salt mine and the railway station is very convenient. Easy walking distance. Room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Joanna at the front desk very helpful as we're all the staff. The breakfast was excellent and the restaurant at night was a great find. Highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    brekfast - except scrambled eggs made to order all the rest looked like a few days old. such breakfast for 30-40PLN ($8-$10) is very expensive

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    Location, staff, fancy breakfasts 10 points.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    The beautiful surrounding and serenity especially in the evenings.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    사우나 사전 예약에 홍보가 필요할듯.우리는 예약했는데 예약없이 먼저 와있는팀이 버티는바람에 약간의 실갱이가 있엇슴.

    소금광산에 붙어있는 호텔, 테라피 마사지 했슴.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast poor

    Location, staff nice, good wifi,spacious rooms

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Beautiful room

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Good breakfast:)

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 73

Browse Grand Sal traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: