Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Galicja 3 stars

Dembowskiego 20, 32-020 Wieliczka, Poland

#9 of 15 hotels in Wieliczka

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 359 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food !!! I waited 2 hours for my food and it was terrible when I got it. It was the most simple pasta one can imagine ... pasta, olive oil, bit of garlic and chili peppers. Only few people on planet earth can fail preparing this. I found one in Hotel Galicja, pasta was awful !!!!

    Good location, close to ancient Salt Mine and Old Town

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I like that the Salt Mines are right next to the hotel which was our main reason for taking the trip. You can even purchase your tickets at the hotel which is great. You can leave your car parked and just head over without any worries. They asked us every evening if we wanted breakfast in the morning to ensure everything was ready. We didn't eat breakfast because we aren't breakfast eaters but it was great that they checked.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel restaurant with no atmosphere, no music, so we decide to dine out somewhere else. decor i outdated, is a shame as they have amazing location.

    Nice & polite staff members. Nice & clean hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On the oposite site of street is construction site, seems to be on hold. In the range of 100m from hotel there are only parkings.

    Hotel has good location (close to the salt mine and city center), our room was big and with very nice interior. Good value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No problems. Just wish I could have stayed longer. :D

    Everything was great -- nice, clean room, restaurant was v. good (& generous portions), friendly and helpful staff, late check-in was no problem.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast was amazing and you had lots of choice. The beds were also comfortable, but the bathroom for our room was a bit on the small side (on the other hand, we're quite tall, so that also may have played a part)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom equipment is have to be changed, does not work properly.

    The room is ok, breakfast is great, and the hotel is situated just near the salt mines.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    - verry narrow parking spaces outside the hotel. - bad performing wifi. - only Polish TV stations available. - the air conditioning didn't work. - the holder of the waterpistol in the shower was broken so I had to hold it in my hand. - the badroom overflooded every time I took a shower, due to a malfunctioning drain.

    In the restaurant you can eat very good for cheap prices.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    food katastrofic, no fresh bread at breakfast, AC and parking for additional fee, WiFi almost not working very weak connection, no toaletries in the room, minibar not cooling

    Good location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfest was fine, but if you want to eat dinner, that restaurant is average. The staff did not speak any other language.

    We were allowed to leave our car in their parking place while visiting salt mine after we had checked out already.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No actual onsite spa services. Beware. They have to call "someone" with 24 hours notice. The shower was broke but sure all rooms at different. The internet required you to sign in with user/pass EVERYTIME my iPad locked and was I used for a while. No AC. No shuttle to Auschwitz which was advertised As part of tour stay. Found a hair tie on the floor when walking in which made the cleanlyness drop.

    Food at restaurant was better than expected. Windows opened to a fantastic view of lightning storm. That was awesome.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bad WiFi signal on the 3 floor.

    Location: directly to the Wieliczka Salt Mines, Private parking for car, Elevator in the hotel, Located on the main road - it's easy to visit by car. I can see Salt Mines from my window.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We where located on the ground floor beside reception, which was handy for us having the buggy but was not so handy early morn and late eve due to noise and commotion of people coming and going. Not ideal when your travelling with a 3 year old. Also whilst there we where attending a wedding in the salt mine, after returning back to the hotel we discovered we were locked out! Thankfully whom ever answered the phone spoke english and let us in! Once again not an ideal situation when travelling with a child and not ideal considering we where only round the corner and as there are only 2 weeks in the year that someone can get married there i feel the hotel needs to take this into consideration.

    This property was typical of what you would imagine. It had a more authentic feel than what any of the modernised hotels. It was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything is correct,

    Very near train station and bus stop to Cracow, 4 minutes walk to tne Salt mine, staff are helpful, room very quiet, with electric kettle in the room,

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi was poor. too many noises from other guests

    location, breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    So welcoming and friendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Narrow entrance to parking

    Very close to Salt mine!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all basics ok

    good location for Salt Mines visit and close to rail station, pleasant staff, left luggage facility, kettle in room, breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean rooms, good breakfast, and nice staff. It is the perfect hotel if you want to visit the salt mines as it is just takes 3 minutes from there.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Near salt mine (50m), city center, near train to Krakow (250 m). Good room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed wi fi connection in the room

    Perfect spot for those who came to visit Welichka. Cosy atmosphere right in the lobby, clean room with all required facilities as well.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    This is the best I have ever been treated at a Hotel in Europe and the price was great. If you are going to Krakow, you need to go see the salt mine. I think it is better to stay in this area overnight than to stay in the center of Krakow. We took the bus in to the city and came back at night to this hotel in Widlieska. We ate our breakfast and dinner at the hotel both nights because the food and value was great. The hotel is located about 100 meters from the Salt mine.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There where language issues both before and during our stay, especially with the entrance tickets to the Salt Mine. Before our trip I was assured by e-mail that we'd have tickets waiting for us, but they were not. On the other hand the staff quickly arranged them for us without too much hassle. The breakfast was somewhat disappointing (for example the old bread), but what really bugged us was a very noisy mob of teenagers rampaging through the hotel before 5 o'clock in the morning. The staff did nothing to control them and acoustics were lousy.

    The location is ideal for visiting the Salt Mine and it was easy to park on site. Our 3 person room with an extra bed was spacious enough to accommodate the whole family (2 adults, 2 young kids) comfortably.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Perfectly located for a visit to the Wieliczka mine. Staff was friendly, helpful and spoke excellent English.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was comfy, bathroom was really nice, staff provided all information we needed

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    In the hotel was very weak signal of Wi-fi connection.

    Very friendly staff - perfect job.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    All was perfect

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food in hotel kitchen was absolutely disgusting.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old bedsheets.

    Nice location. Not bad restaurant and breakfast. Gift during checking out. Helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Right next to the salt mine. Nice restaurant on premises.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The mattress in our room was very lumpy, time to replace

    Location to salt mine and train into Kraków

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    there are no curtains to darken the room wifi is not perfect in the room

    welcoming staff Parking in the structure good restaurant

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very bad Wi-fi quality.

    The only + this hotel has is VERY close to Wieliczka Salt Mine.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Beautiful property only exceeded by the friendly helpful staff. Excellent food.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Location is great. Breakfast was good. We had a compliment from hotel fresh fruits and salt.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Browse Hotel Galicja traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: