Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Karmel 3 stars

Kupa 15, Old Town, 31-057 Kraków, Poland

#118 of 269 hotels in Kraków

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 438 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in the room.

    Situated in a great area. Staff was really kind. The rooms looked a little bit old- fashioned but fitted with the area vibe. Clean and safe, the door of the building was locked during the night and there was 24h reception. There' s no breakfast, but you can have one at a hotel nearby, at a very good price. Besides that there are a lot of restaurants and cafes nearby. They can also arrange your visit to auschwitz and wielizca. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very poor selection of TV channels. Only one English channel, of continuous news. Would have liked to see some good films, in English.

    Excellent location right in the centre of the Kracow Jewish quarter. Great shower. Water always hot. Very good restaurant downstairs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only issue with room 1 is as it’s next to reception, can be quite noisy when people checking out

    Property based in Jewish quarter, loads of bars and restaurants near. Staff brilliant, we had room 1, which was huge, cleaned every day. Would stay again..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in the room - coukd get too warm in the summer months

    Good location to the Jewish quarter, friendly staff, hotel very clean, superb transfer from airport to hotel by lucas

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Entrance area was a little confusing. There was a bit of dust under the furniture. Entrance to breakfast location had a somewhat sticky door handle ( separate hotel), and the door to where I could wash my hands had no symbols to indicate it was a bathroom.

    The staff was friendly and approachable. There were no street noises in the room at night, although the hotel is in close proximity to places crowded with young people going out for a drink. Bathroom was nice, room temperature and bed comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing i didn't like we left the hotel saying to each other that we will be coming back nXT year x

    The staff were very welcoming and could not do enough for you the room was lovely and clean I think the small bottles of water gave it an extra touch also the fridge in the room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could feel the springs in the bed. Wifi on top floor not reliable.

    Very helpful staff who allowed me to move rooms as wifi wasn't great on the top floor. Everything inside was lovely and clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    To get to the hotel itself you have to go up some stairs which isn't the most convenient when you have heavy luggage! It might also be useful to provide guests with an outside key rather than having to buzz your way in (I did it 3 nights in a row, every time a bit later and felt terrible waking up the receptionist).

    Lovely charming hotel with a wonderful service. The room was spacious and warm, the bed very comfortable and the bathroom was of a great standard. It was easy to get to the center and surrounded by lovely little shops. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking included at site. Luckily, street parking was free on the weekends.

    Excellent location in the heart of the Jewish quarter, great restaurants, shops, and sights nearby. Walking distance to all tourist sights.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Short bed, uncomfy mattress, poor WiFi, no USB sockets, no socket next to the bed.

    Excellent location in the very heart of Kazimierz, old Jewish city. Lots of pubs/bars/restaurants around. Hotel is very quiet. Walking distance to the city centre.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really apart from the guy on the reception desk on our last day was a bit rude which was a massive difference to the happy and smiley girls that had been there the rest of the time which was a shame!

    He location was ideal and such an amazing price!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I arrived here early morning (830am) and asked the receptionist for a room that was immediately available, because otherwise I have to wait 5 hours for check-in. She looks and finds a room. I pay and then she says she made a mistake. In agreement with her I cancel, but never see my money back. Receptionist later says she never spoke to me. Probably just trying to hide her mistake, but this is really bad of course.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room (Nr.1) next to the reception, slightly noisy. Breakfast was not available at the property. Option to have it in a sister-hotel close-by (was horrible).

    The room was big enough for 3 people. Well equipped and well furnished/decorated. I would define the style as classical one. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For the purposes of my stay the location was perfect and the staff were extremely helpful in arranging tours and advising on how to get around the city. It was great that there was air conditioning in the rooms as while I was there, there was a heat wave making it almost unbearable to be outside for extended periods of time. They also provided complementary sparkling water which I appreciated after coming back in the afternoons or evenings hot and thirsty.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small hotel with friendly & helpful staff available 24/7. All staff spoke excellent English & made us feel very welcome. Located within 15 minute walk of old town and with a good choice of bars & restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No AC, elevator or going to another hotel a block away for breakfast each morning.

    If you don't mind not having elevator or Air Conditioning--this is the place for you. Unfortunately, it was hot and we had four bags between the three of us, so having neither of those amenities didn't make our stay comfortable. The place is clean and has adequate accommodations. Definitely not a four star location though. We had to go over a block to another hotel for breakfast each morning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The apartment was too small and the wall between neighbouring apartments was like from a paper so that everything was heard. So I recommend to have the earplugs if you want to sleep.

    The hotel is well situated in the calm part of the Kasmierz district near synagogues. In the ground floor there is a very good Italian restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had booked att Karmel, but somthing went wrong with the room, so they offered us a better room at hotel David near by. (And also a present.) This validation is for hotel David.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above. The staff said it was nothing to do with them what room we had. It was booking.com

    The room requested was a double. We got 2 single beds against one wall with the foot of each bed touching. I complained but that was the only room available. The width of the room was approx 6 foot and the length about 14 foot.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The a/c we could not get to work and the room was very hot.

    We had a large double room on the first floor with an en suite bathroom. There were tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge. Fresh bottled water was replaced daily. Hotel Karmel was very central

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Location is good, surreounded with many good restaurants and bars. Hotel is close to the tram station, center is also accessible by foot in a 15 minute nice walk. Very calm location without any noise during the night. Breakfast is superb in the nearby hotel (50m of wakling distance)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean room. Check in is at 14.00 but room was ready at 12.00. Tea, coffee and mineral water in room. Great location. Discounts at restaraunt on the 1st floor. Clean and well equipped bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I had to go to another hotel to get breakfast however I got used to it and it was lovely. Great choice in foods and filled me up until tea time.

    The location was amazing. Right in the heart of the night life. Plenty of restaurants, pubs, clubs etc. around and not as noisy as you would think it would be.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room was a bit cold, occasionally there were problems with wi-fi.

    Very nice hotel, in the centre of the Jewish district in Kazimierz. Good price of the room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only complaint I have is the rooms were'nt very soundproof.

    Excellent location within walking distance of the main market square, the surrounding area had a lot of really good bars and restaurants, very helpful and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have reserved a double room via the english version of booking and i paid the same price for a single tiny room with a childre size bed!!! When i called for support the booking agent was not helpful at all she just hang on me and the receptionist which was speaking a poor english kept saying I dont have a room for you. Poor poor service!!!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast in the sister hotel Astoria was disappointing although the hotel restaurant for evening meal was excellent

    Hotel was excellent value for money will return staff friendly couldn't do enough for us

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not so clean... The receptionists didn't have a clue about the info they were giving.

    The location is perfect in the centre where everything happens....

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel if you like hotels with rock hard beds and heavy machinery wake-up calls at 6:30am, but with a great location.

    Location and staff were great.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it was a very sunny weather and despite a fan (thanks!) the room was very hot; the room was facing an inner courtyard with a heavy duty ventilation equipment 24/7 on - so with the windows open at nights the noise level was uncomfortable - air-conditioning would make the stay perfect and solve the issue. wifi signal too weak in the room - better on a corridor but this may be of a limited use for those traveling for business.

    a convenient, boutique hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, room in a traditional old style deco - very clean, with a comfortable bed, teakettle etc. discount in the Italian restaurant on the ground floor. a perfect location and an excellent value for money!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee not replenished and while the bathroom was cleaned to a good standard it was not spotless, but those are minor niggles and didn't result in any discomfort. TV reception was very poor but again this wasn't a deal breaker for me.

    Great location, friendly and helpful staff, spacious and comfortable room. I liked going round the corner for breakfast rather than staying in the same building.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Travelling with my son, I had booked a room with two single beds, but we were given a room with one double bed which we had to share having been told we couldn't change the room. The room was very dark during the day time, and it was necessary to have the lights on all of the time. The breakfast was served in another hotel down the road, and the selection of breakfast was very poor, not to mention the coffee being the worst I've ever tasted.

    The hotel had it's charms and was in a very interesting area of Krakow. The room had air conditioning, which was priceless on the days we stayed there as it was very hot.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was a bit noisy with doors slamming etc. but you tend to find that with older buildings.

    It was a great boutique hotel with extremely welcoming staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tiny room: a single room for 2 people; we didn´t have enough room to place our luggage. No wifi in our floor (third floor). Too hot room with an extremely noisy air-con device.

    Clean room. Good location in Kazimierz.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The twins bed where too small and not next to each other ,

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No milk in room for the tea. Breakfast at nearby hotel basic much nicer at local cafes..

    Large room. Great shower, Location and cost

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like

    Friendly staff, great location and great value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like

    Clean friendly hotel with cheerful staff in a great location and great value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water runs out after 10mins of use

    The hotel is close to pubs and restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, breakfasts (very basic) served in the other hotel nearby.

    Good location, nice staff, kettle in the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    rugs were dirty and room v small

    Shower was fantastic

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were uncomfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location to good food and bars

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    poot Wi-fi

    Location + cost.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have milk in room

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All

    Just a great place

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Bed linen smells of parfume. - Radiators did not work.

    + Great shower. + Big good bed. + Drinking water in the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic accommodation. Needs updating. Poor room size and mattresses.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and did their utmost to give us the best service possible. Highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet on the stairs and rugs in the room could do with updating.

    Staff very helpful and friendly, cleaned everyday. Hotel overall was spotless.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good value for money and good location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift

    The location was ideal , with great bars and restaurants all around. Not too touristy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Loved the location, the staff's friendliness, cleanliness and size of the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad wifi signal, hot inside room because of no A/C

    Clean, friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot, and you have to climb many stairs. Internet signaal is very weak

    It is a Nice old house, in an attractive area

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great property lovely staff excellently location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and trendy staff!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Staff so polite. Perfect location for everywhere

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -

    It was a very confortable period of our travel. The staff had been very kind and helpful, I recommend for everybody. Thank you.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Friendly, comfortable hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right in the middle of the Jewish Quarter with dozens of cafes and pubs to wander into. And very thoughtful staff. A dose

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi did not work properly in the room

    We loved the hotel in general. Kind staff and lovely location :)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly, breakfast great, location excellent

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location. Really good quality-price ratio. I would recommend it

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant hotel!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    standard single room was good and cleaned.Conforteable enough.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Very nice place, nice atmosphere, clean and close to the main attractions. Staff helpful, organized an Auswitch trip for me.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was good

    Great location nice staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    This is not a chain hotel - it was friendly and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast was lovely, location was excellent

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    having to take breakfast in sister hotel

    plenty of choice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was quite weak

    The decor, location, the staff, the ambiance

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast in same hotel

    Location and helpful staff. Peaceful hotel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is in another hotel, but very near and very good

    Perfect location, lovely staff, nice and very clean rooms

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I enjoyed very much Krakow. And the hotel location was one of the reasons since is very closed to centre, to tram stations, has a lot of restaurants around.

There are also 37 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Karmel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: