Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Matejko 3 stars

Plac Matejki 8, Old Town, 31-157 Kraków, Poland

#172 of 269 hotels in Kraków

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2416 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in the room, although fan was provided it was warm during the night.

    Location a bar restaurants next door, and good choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was dated, very tired and some of the furnishings were stained and the bedspread had a burn-hole. The room didn't have air-conditioning, tea/coffee making facilities and a mini bar/fridge - things that you expect in hotels these days.

    The location was very convenient for the old town Krakow, being just a couple of minutes walk from the old city walls and the Barbican. The staff were generally pleasant and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love their breakfast with various choices and the time is very flexible from 7 to 10.30 am. The location is 5 minuets walk from train station, 1 minute from bus station and 5 minutes walk to old town entrance . Very convenient! The room is big and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air-con when its warm weather.

    Good location, only 5 mins walk from the centre square. Room clean and tidy. Continental breakfast is bang on and plenty choice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too big for single use, which is not annoying, though. The wifi did not work well.

    The hotel is located near both from the old city and the train station, but it is very quiet. My colleague’s room had a private sauna.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very uncomfortable. No tea and coffee making facilities in the room or in the hotel unless you had paid for breakfast. The breakfast was good, there was a selection of hot and cold foods. Shower was faulty in the room. Had to hold the shower head up as no holder. No facilities in the hotel for drinking water aside from 1 complimentary bottle. The room was also very dusty, for e.g. layer of dust on the bedside cabinets.

    The location, less than 5 minutes walk to the old town. 10 minutes walk from the train station. Shopping just around the corner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No refrigerator, no aircon, complimentary drink on 1st night only, carpets filthy, curtains falling down. My wife was sick one night and needed water. We were made to walk down the street at midnight looking for a shop that was open.

    The location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken cupboards, dirty carpet, extraction fan not working.

    Next to Pope John Paul's church - 3 minutes walk from train station- 5 minutes walk from old town centre. Great breakfasts.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Television channels were only in Polish & I expected at least one English Channel.

    Location was perfect. Breakfast was very good & staff helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was not done fully every day. Juices were not nice for breakfast. There was not fridge in the room to keep cold water.

    I love the location. Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To make it perfect we need tea and coffee making facililities in the rooms.

    Have stayed at the Hotel Matejko several times. It's always excellent value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel needs some small repairs... sockets in the hallway and watertaps in the bathroom hanging loose... curtains in the room were hanging down. Noises early in the morning (7am) in the small courtyard

    Location was perfect! Close to oldtown - close to busstation (or railwaystation) - both about 2 and 5min walk! Breakfast was simple but ok. Nice and clean room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was working just 1min and then was disconnected.Even after few attempts and asking receptionist it was the same- was working for 1min and then shut off.

    Almost anything, location, facilities, building, breakfast, staff....

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WLAN did not work on our floor. We asked twice if it could be fixed.

    Excellent location between old town and main station. Walking distance to main sights, very nice restaurant and bar just next door. Very good value for the price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bread and rolls were not particularly fresh on Sunday - maybe it is because regulations have changed and all shops are closed on Sunday in Poland, so maybe they will sort this out. The other thing is parking - no private parking for hotel. Car can be parked in the streets for about 1euro / hour 10-20 on weekdays, free otherwise (including weekends).

    Comfy beds, excellent location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff indifferent, bed sloped to one side, sat at breakfast for 20 min, empty hot food dishes not replenished in that time, hot water boiler empty. One member of staff on who had to be asked several times to clean a table so that we could sit down.

    Easy access to rail and bus links, close to main square.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi worked upon arrival a short time and the rest of the stay not anymore. We had to go and buy a sim card.

    Very good location. Very helpful at front desk .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is a little repetitive and boring but my only real complaint is that it isn’t possible to get a hot drink (tea, coffee) other than at breakfast time.

    It is a fairly straightforward hotel with few frills. It was a good price for the days I stayed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Receptionist could have shown a little interest in passing clients. A smile would do. And if it is important to someone - mattresses are very soft. Was a bit bad for my back, but my stay was short, so OK.

    Excellent and convenient location for shorts visits, just what I was looking for.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was actually 2 singles put together.

    Location location location!!!Short walking distance to the train station and Old Town.Room was clean and comfortable.Good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a bit strange smell in the room like antiseptic or chlorine.

    Wide choice of breakfast, comfy bed, and soft towels. The view in our room was really nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were all from other countries and so the wifi was important to us and the availability was terrible!! There was no reception and would go in and out. We had to go to a local galleria to contact our homes or offices.

    The bed was great and the location was perfect to visit Krakow! The breakfast was typical but well maintained and adequate. The bathroom was big and the shower was hot.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately an item of my property went missing from the room and no one seems to be able to find it. The receptionist was most unhelpful

    The hotel has an excellent location, the rooms were comfortable and clean and the breakfast was tasty

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in the room, but staff were able to provide a kettle for making tea/coffee in the room.

    Fantastic location, close to Central train station and Krakow Old Town. Breakfast had a great variety of options and slightly different options each day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location just a throw of stone away from the train station, literally just 5 minutes walk. Very good value for money. Nice ladies at the reception. Room ok, spacious, clean, comfy. If you arrive to Kraków late by train or plane or have to leave early like I did, this is a perfect place to stay. You don't have to bother to use taxi to get to or out the train station because it's just around the corner.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a little poor.

    The room was large and spacious, but also stayed warm overnight in the cold temperatures. The location is perfect! A 2 minutes walk into the city centre!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit on the small side and would have liked tea and coffee making facilities in room

    The friendliness of the staff, good selection at breakfast and hotel very clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bells! Church bells ring at 5am every day and usually woke me up. The curtains admit a lot of light, but I slept well anyway.

    Perfect location, staff are friendly and helpful, superb value at £98 for three nights in January, good quality and range of breakfast, comfortable beds.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. I liked the hotel very much and I will definitely come back

    Great location, very close to the rynek and to the central railway station. The room was big, cozy and neat. Tasty and diverse breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor soundproofing on door. Very noisy hotel. 50 italian highschool teenagers were staying there for a week: doors slamming, knocking on doors every minute which is overheard, smoking inrooms, loud chatting giggling, chuckling etc in the halway at midnight. Wifi crashes perpetually. Stayed there for a week. Nightmare. No-go hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was really noisy, the others didn’t respect at all, talking all night at the corridors, banging the doors, also I didn’t like the fact there is no plugs beside the bed and the WiFi is not great

    The room was big, breakfast was great, is near the main square 10min by feet, same for the train station

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It will be nice to have tea/coffee maker in the room

    An excellent location. Very clean and comfort place. The reception stuff was very helpful, even printed us the boarding passes for our flight. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really, all was correct and matching the descriptions.

    We had a very spacious room on second floor. Very good isolation from street noise (although there is not too much traffic as it is a square). The hotel is outdated, but kept in good and clean condition. Perfect to stay away from the tourist zone and super close to old town. Breakfast had a great variety. Recommended for value vs price.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was one of three mature ladies on a Christmas shopping trip using this hotel. My only complaint about the property is that the bed for the third person in a room is added as required. It is a mobile, metal framed, wooden sparred, uneven, fold down bed, with a 1" mattress and similar depth pillow. Much discomfort and little sleep therefor did not have refreshed days.

    I was one of three mature ladies on a Christmas shopping trip using this hotel. Great location etc etc, only complaint is about my bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Single Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    quality of bed. rooms are very small.

    i realy like the location. its close all around. and its near to the galeria krakowska shopping center. we found everything that we search. good breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smell of drains - but have noticed this in other hotels in Poland. Plumbing needs a little attention: loose tap and leaking shower hose

    Convenient location. Ideal for an overnight before travelling on. Quiet room. Not luxurious but everything adequate. No complaints. Have stayed here several times. Close to the Planty 3km circuit if you are a runner.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A couple issues with the room, the shower head holder wasn't fully screwed into the wall so the shower head would spray everywhere and one of the outlets to power was behind the headboard.

    The breakfast buffet was really good and the hours it was open was nice, not too early.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The window in the room did not fit well to the window frame. This caused the nois from the street and also wind pulls from the outside (in December!). Also you could smell a smoke in the bathroom (probably somone was smoking in the escape staircase and the smoke penetrated to the bathroom.

    Good breakfast. The hotel is situated nearby the central station and the city centre as well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were not helpful the 'Hot food' at breakfast was cold - despite telling staff Hotel condition very run down = repairs not being done trip hazard at front door not fixed after telling staff 3 times - their reply not their responsibility safety is everyone responsibility = hotel needs a change in management j am qualified to make these comments

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very dull and repetitive. There wasn’t a great deal of choice and nothing stood out. The coffee machines kept running out of milk.

    The hotel is well located. Close to the main station (train straight to airport, no need for a taxi as it is quicker) and the Galeria Mall and the historic old town. The Hotel was decent value for money. The area is quiet and I slept well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was small and uncomfortable. Room was very simple.

    Excellent location. Close to railway station and to city center. Clean and Big room. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A bit old fashioned. The shower of the suite was mulfuctioning.

    The breakfast had a great variety. There was a problem with the reservations at the hotel, but the stuff upgrade our room to suite after one day staying at a worse than the one that we booked. Very comfortable king size bed. Great location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Parking is not possilbe on location if streets are full. Thought it seems that there are parking garages quite near by.

    - Location was spot on, right outside of the old town centre - Streetside parking was available, quite good neighbourhood - Very helpfull and nice staff - Good breakfast - Very good value for money

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy at the reception was very nice, we liked him. But at our stay we met two other ladies downstairs at the reception, and it couldn’t been worse. They didn’t look at us, they didn’t say hi, not even when we smiled at them and said hi. They said hi to ALL the other customers who walked by, but us? Not once. Everytime we spoke to them they looked so pissed of, I wanted to leave te hotel early because of them. I felt not welcome at all. I’m not coming back because of this. Its a shame, because your hotel is very pretty. But those girls ruin everything. You seriously need to tell then to show some manners.

    Very big windows, and not far from the town. Nice cleaning!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in room was either full on or off - no dimming or low level for late evenings. Also no TV channels in English

    Location good, 24 hour access and continental breakfast included

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location - less than 5 minute walk to the train station and a few minutes walk to the edge of the old town. Great room - we had one with a balcony overlooking a church. Excellent breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The TV didnt have english channels. No kettle in the room.

    Perfect location. Hotel was worth the money we paid. comfortable stay. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem was the wifi, it didn't work at all and we couldn't have access on it whereas the password and username were written on a paper at the room.

    It was very well located with the center area, train and bus station and the shopping centre. You can go very fast by foot at old town in 5 minutes and 2 minutes from bus station and shipping center. The reception girls were very hospital and very helpful in giving all the information we need.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very minor thing a church is just across the road so sometimes in the middle off the night you may hear the bell chime.

    Once you give excellent to the survey what more can you add.My wife and I travel alot on city breaks 5...6 times a year and we don't do expensive over top accomadition but this was fantastic value for money and not alot of money.Also whenin krakov check out the Black duck resturant for lunch or dinner found it by chance.fantastic.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The trip we arranged with the hotel had to be paid for in cash which we were never told and we had to go to the cash machine and draw out cash which incurred us in charges this should have been explained prior to our visit.

    The location was excellent but hotel was very basic.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only missing item from the bathroom was a simple shelf in the shower cabin to put shower gel or soap.

    Location is excellent, right at the entrance to the Old Town. Parking is possible in the square in front of the hotel. Our room was on the fourth floor (room 405), a spacious, tidy and clean one. The bathroom was clean and well equipped. Breakfast was quite usual but fine.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some noise can come from other rooms.

    The hotel is close to and easy to find from the train station. It is very close to the attractions of the old town. Breakfast was excellent. Staff we very obliging and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were shocked. We arrived Sep. 26th around 6:30 pm, the lady at reception was not welcoming at all and rude even. Later around 10:30 we were asking some info and the man at reception wasn't paying attention and eating at desk with crumbs on his lips.. that was truly disgusting.. + a piece fell from the door. Window couldn't close properly and we could hear the station bellow like we were there..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room temperature too hot. No conditioning. No hot water machine for coffee or tea in room

    Adaquate lodging. Very helpful staff. Great continental breakfast. Great, convenient location. Very clean rooms and space.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Difficult to reach the Square Matejki because of road consructions.

    Both the room and the breakfast were excellent. The location is very closed to the historical oldtown quarter which is so crowded but our square was calm and silent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not super clean. It was a hot day and there was no air-conditioning, which made it unbearable. Breakfast was far below European standards.

    Great location, right by the old town square.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can be a bit noise during the night, hobos sleeping on the benches across the street are a common occurrence (not to say that the area is shady though). Kettle in the room could be useful - but I think it's possible to borrow one at the reception.

    Excellent location - very close to the main railway station (and a shopping centre connected to it) as well as the Old Town). Quite a varied breakfast. Comfortable beds, spacious room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Superbly located traditional Hotel 3 minutes walk to main railway station, and the huge Galerie Krakow shopping centre. Friendly and helpful English speaking staff. The plentiful buffet gave a nice start to my onward journey.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not so quiet room, noise from the street, the bus station was just in front of our window. Poor breakfast. Three or four options. The coffee saved the morning.

    Very good location. Just 2 minutes from Florian's Gate, and close to everything. Clean hotel, but the room smelled a little strange, not bad, but unusual.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. The staff was impolite, the rooms were not clean I have even found two jiggers. A vey old hotel, smelly and dirty. We told the reception to call us a taxi and they told us it will cost 90s, however the guy at the reception called a taxi van which charged us 150s. The taxi driver said that this is what he was told by the hotel. Be careful people,DO NOT STAY IN THIS HOTEL

    Nothing.only its location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very thick quilt in summer. Lack of mirror for shaving. Only very big mirror over the sink. Lack of hooks for towels in bathroom.

    Big, clean and very beautifull , stylish room with big balcon and nice view. Ideal localization; 5 minutes on foot from the main railway station, and 5 minutes on foot to the old town. Competent staff. Luggage store where you can store your belongings before check-in and after check-out.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lack of blinds makes you to wake up very early (around 6:00 in a sunny day). There are curtains but and not enough to avoid light enters from both sides. It was a very hot day, over 30 degrees, the room lacks air aconditioner.

    The location is perfect, nice people at desk open 24h, price is very competitive for the area. Big room for 1-2 people. Wifi ok

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was pretty small, but the location and price were right!

    The location is great--one block outside the Old Town by the Barbican, and one block from the train station. The room was fairly small and overlooked an interior courtyard facing apartments, so a little noisy but not bad.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a minor point - there was no kettle or tea and coffee facilities in the room, nor refrigerator to keep soft drinks cool. However, it was easy enough to get tea and coffee in the bar just a few doors down the road.

    The hotel is in an excellent location. The buffet breakfast is excellent with a wide choice. The rooms are large and airy. The staff are fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not renovated for a while, and it is true for the whole building. I asked in advance to receive the bill to my company's address, but it was not done like that and when I asked the receptionist to correct she was quite unfriendly.

    The location was really fine, close to the old town, and also to a big shopping centre, the train, bus and tram stations.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small! The bathroom was modern, but the fittings were not the best!!! No kettle or coffee/tea making facilities.

    Location was excellent being close to the main rail station and the historic centre. The bed was surprisingly comfortable considering the poor initial impression of the room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrible noise during night on 1st floor thanks to young and not mannered clients. They were running from room to room, slamming doors - making extra noise, they were drunk. I am really sad, that receptionist did not do anything even they should know about , reception was located exactly bellow. This took from 22.00 - 00.30 ! ( I knew from beginning , that I cannot change room as I asked for higher floor at beginning and could not get it ). This was such bad experience, that due to no action from hotel staff to avoid this , I would not take this hotel again. This can happened everywhere , but management of hotel has to make comfortable conditions for other guests and do not allow this .. I knew hotel from past and it was quite ok . Pity . The second think is , that rooms look quite old already , would need some kind of renovation and change of furniture I assume.

    Excellent location 5 mins walk from train station, where train from Airport goes and 5 mins walk to real old town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionists didn't fully understand my very specific questions and tried to give me generic information.

    Staff were helpful when my room card randomly stopped working. Cleaners very thorough and also happy to provide extra pillows.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpets need cleaning and some of the equipment needs some attention (missing wardrobe door handle or moving tap in the bathroom.

    The bed was comfortable and the hotel's location is excellent. It's close both to the main train station and the Old Town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was not very friendly but this is something that I got from polish people in general at train/bus stations, restaurants and markets. In general, it seemed to me they are not very keen on tourists. About accommodation, the bed is uncomfortable and there's no fridge. Breakfast is not specially good but ok. The keys to the luggage room are handed to whoever asks, no special validation if you are a guest is made and no one from the hotel accompanies you to leave and pick up your luggage. Not safe at all. I wouldn't stay again but would recommend just pointing all these out.

    location is good, near the train and bus station and the Old Town. I asked for an early check-in and they found a creative solution - even though they charged for it on the contrary to my hotel at Wien/Vienna which did it free of charge. Yet, they helped.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was friendly after a white but in the beginning very u professional. Our booking could not be found in first place and after insisting and discussing for about 20 min the reservation was found.

    The Hotel is extrem close to the old town so the location is almost perfect.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect central location - 5 minutes from the main square, 2-3 minutes from the shopping centre and train and bus stations. Excellent room rate of 150zl for 1 night - you can't really beat that for a central location in Krakow. Very pleasant and helpful staff on check-in and out. Really, for the money paid, this was a bargain.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I couldn't control air conditioner.

    great location. Near the central station and the entrance of old town. the room is so large and separated two rooms.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    coffee machine during breakfast was a disaster. it usually gave us a full cup of hot milk and no coffee. sometimes it gave us coffee, but it was not of a good quality.

    nice hotel, big bathroom :-)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Truly can't say there was anything wrong, or not liked.

    Breakfast was buffet, with multiple options. Exceptional for included in room price. A surprisingly great Vegan restaurant on the same block that wasn't listed on Tripadvisor when I looked. The food and beer was excellent...even to this meat eater.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Matejko traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: