Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Monopol 5 stars

Dworcowa 5, 40-012 Katowice, Poland

#9 of 34 hotels in Katowice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 306 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.9
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bar on ground floor was not cozy, Lot of noise from concert in bar across the street

    Breakfast was delicious, great gym in the basement, excellent service

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    5.8
    Breakfast and it’s stuff were really good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked 2 rooms: single for me and double for my friends who are mm couple. Lady at the reception desk asked twice (!) “are you sure that you wanna sleep in one bed?”. It was very unpleasant for them and shouldn’t happen in a such class hotel. After this I got a key to the room which was occupied by someone else and I found his stuff inside! A.C. was working only as a fan so it was too hot inside. I was told that it will be fixed but of course it wasn’t. It is extremely difficult to park a car in the front of the hotel because there are only a few places and of course occupied.

    Breakfast and it’s stuff were really good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    Good hotel in great location for a reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels, the design and the furniture of the room leaves something to be desired, is not entirely traveler friendly ( for example: power outlets, lights).

    Staff was quite nice, location is great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Classic, modernized golden-age hotel. Clean, big rooms, nice staff. I would stay again for sure.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Average WiFi; a bit slow at times.

    Really great old, classic hotel but modernized, i.e. beautiful washroom, great sinks, showers, etc. Very clean, staff very friendly. Breakfast is a bit of expensive but very good with very nice waiters/waitresses.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.6
    Simply a fabulously hotel with great facilities in a grand building - super friendly staff!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast & dining area is grand, but ambient temperature may be too chilly for some.

    Building, Room Decor Facilities Service Gourmet Restaurant Food Variety of Breakfast buffet

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    9.2
    Nice spacious suite, clean, nice and helpful staff, no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    When paying 2000 zloty per night, I'd expect the Nespresso in the room to be free.

    Nice spacious suite, clean, nice and helpful staff, no problems when requesting late check-out in the last minute.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    7.1
    Conscious Interior & luxurious treat.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no glasses for burgundy wines from the room service.

    We loved a very epoque & region conscious design of decor, furniture, colors etc. Interior is great, heavy and art deco. Beautiful bathroom and bathroom amenities. Luxury bedlinen and bed itself - very comfy.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    7.5
    A good hotel in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The capsules of nespresso coffee were 5 PLN each.. I think a 5 star hotel could have included two coffees in the price of the room, especially that a sleeve of nespresso coffee (10 capsules each) costs about 20 PLN. So that's kind of a rip off.

    A good hotel in a good location. The staff was friendly and helpful, the breakfast was good with a wide variety.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    10
    My favourite hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful old building stylishly modernised

    Wonderful hotel : a massive old building, sympathetically modernised to a very high standard. Very spacious and comfortable bedroom, with gorgeous art deco inspired décor. We loved the swimming pool and sauna, but didn't try the fitness room. The dining hall is massive and stylish ; the breakfasts excellent, with everything you could wish for, hot and cold - even artichokes! All the staff were lovely and eager to please.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel in perfect location but restaurant...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is room for improvement for restaurant staff during breakfast: hot meals were cold, piles of dirty plates on customer tables when waiters chatting; not fresh food - I hade some stomach problems

    location, confortable rooms, helpfull reception staff, efficient room service, great sport facilities

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    5.4
    not alot really!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel is definately not a 5* I stayed at the Monopol in Wrocslaw which was lovely but this one needs an uplift. the staff were very pleasant though.

    not alot really! the staff were very pleasant but the hotel is dated , we arrived on New years eve to find the restaurant closed due to a party , this was fully booked!! The bar staff took pity on us and kindly served us a meal in the restaurant using the room service menu. We went to the Spa at 6pm to be told it was closed !

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    8.8
    Nice traditional Polish hotel, Plenty of characteristics, 5 Star !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was very expensive especially for Polish Price...................£14 each and was very limited choice..........it should have been in the price of the room..........

    Location was excellent right in the heart/centre of Katowice.....................

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    9.2
    Fabulous large rooms, great location, unwelcoming bar area.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast tables weren't cleared away quickly which meant one had to wait for a table unless one wanted to share with a stranger. Not a good start to the morning. Bar area off the lobby lacks character and the wooden stools are uncomfortable. Not surprisingly there was little custom. Fixed-hook coat-hangers might work in a Motel 6 but are hardly appropriate for a grande luxe property of this kind. Weekday rates quite high for Poland which makes it more of a business hotel Mon-Fri.

    The hotel has a quiet, art deco elegance about it with some modern touches such as the spectacular atrium dining/breakfast area. Rooms and bathrooms are quite large with polished wooden floors and a nice rug to add colour and warmth. Wide corridors and lots of natural light in the rooms. Beds are extremely comfortable with excellent linen and pillows. Top end L'Occitane toiletries. Good buffet breakfast. Wonderful fresh flowers everywhere. Only 5 minutes walk from the main station and Galleria shopping area.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    2.9
    No way is this hotel deserving of 5 stars!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service!! Cleanliness Rooms

    For a 5 star hotel this was the worst I've ever stayed at. The service was appalling. We changed our room because the humming from the adjacent lift motor room was unacceptable. The new room was cold and only set up for a single person. We had to ask for additional towels and an electric heater was provided. The curtains were filthy. The following day we stopped for lunch before we left but the service was so unwelcoming and unpleasant we left and went to a cafe around the corner. I cannot understand how this hotel could possibly be classed as 5 star!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    8.3
    Centrally located hotel with extremely friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They really made an effort to accommodate to request I have had during my stay. Very nice personnel working in this hotel. Room is very big, well maintained

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    7.9
    lovely hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    roof leaking in restaurant so spent dinner getting wet. also, they pre authorised the wrong card, so have spent a week trying to sort it with the bank.

    very clean hotel

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    8.8
    Good value in the heart of Katowice.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although a plentiful breakfast, the eggs and bacon were rather undercooked two mornings out of three. The bed in the room was large, but the bedding was too small, resulting in restless nights.

    The room was spacious; the wifi was reliable and the front desk staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    9.6
    rooms just like in a pics, private parking, def will come back
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - there is nothing to dislike about this property

    - I liked everything about this hotel - its location / just next to the main rain station and huge shopping mall/, staff was super nice, private parking..huge spacious rooms just like in a pictures - definitelly recommended

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Steps away from the entertainment area.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was difficult - however the staff told me to valet next time

    Steps away from the entertainment area. The staff also upgraded me upon check-in

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.6
    Great!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a very nice hotel. Staff is super friendly and prepared. I strongly recommended

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.2
    Another three comfortable nights in a great hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Gym equipment is very dated & almost worn-out; otherwise difficult to find things wrong

    Just a great hotel with gym and a great restaurant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Very Very good indeed !!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all.

    I arrived late, but the staff were very friendly and helped me get some late late food (and drink).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.9
    Breakfasts are fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathrooms. Very difficult to wash oneself under the shower without wetting one's hair. Only a rain shower available.

    Breakfasts are fantastic!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    9.2
    Would stay there again!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cold room, despite the fact that I pointed this out at the reception right after arrival.

    Spacy room, breakfast, staff at the restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location for business travel at Katowice.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cosy and nice rooms in art.-deco style. Very comfortable beds.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    5.0
    I reccomend this hotel, but TV and room extras must be improved
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Swimming pool was closed at 6 pm with the gym.

    Your breakfast was amazing! impressive design.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    7.5
    Impression worsened
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Striking stain at the carpet undermined previous impressions - quite unexpected

    Returning guest - overall experience.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    9.6
    Nice hotel furnished in Art Deco style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel furnished in Art Deco style. With great staff, comfortable bed, huge rooms and great bathroom

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    9.2
    Good breakfast options, incredible diner options in their...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast options, incredible diner options in their restaurant and a good overall experience

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    10
    Excellent!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    beautiful hotel, amazing architectural details, gorgous bathroom and delicious breakfast!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    10
    Very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.2
    Every things and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every things and location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful stay!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was fabulous! Big room and very clean

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    7.5
    Staff is very friendly and keen to help.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi in my room didn't work and I desperately needed it to be able to work

    Staff is very friendly and keen to help.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    7.5
    The room was big, nice breakfast, friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was noisy in the morning.

    The room was big, nice breakfast, friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    10
    Hotel Monopol, a modern, stylish hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place to spend for business or leisure. The breakfast court was a real treat in architecture

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    5.8
    The location of the hotel is quite good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Exceptionally overpriced for a small city like Katowice especially when there are a few other good hotels in the vicinity. Extremely loud noise was made at 5:00 am by some guests who were partying and shouting in the hallway, although technically not the fault of the hotel, they did not bother to control it.

    The location of the hotel is quite good.

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    9.6
    Very comfy bed and well equipped room, along with a nice...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was a little dated (but the bed was extremely comfy) and my room overlooked the central atrium which has the benefit of no street noise but the disadvantage of being subjected to any events held in the Atrium which can run until midnight. The wellness facilities feel a little cold and lack the feel of the more up market wellness centres.

    Very comfy bed and well equipped room, along with a nice breakfast and decent wellness facilities. Located in a very good central location. Wifi router located in the room provided a strong stable connection.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    6.7
    The 50's style room and the big shower
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi conmectin was low and slow The Reception is sad, needs a makeover also the uniform of the staff. Change the glasses at the entrance, Its not a good business card

    The 50's style room and the big shower Breakfast is decent

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    7.5
    Favourable is, that in this vincinity of Katowice, a new...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    maybe the very slow Internet, but this can easily modified, towels in the gym and Sauna would be appriciated.

    Favourable is, that in this vincinity of Katowice, a new good Hotel has been placed. There are many things to do, being a genuine 5 star Hotel, but the idea and furniture is unique. The meals in the Restaurant were exeptionell!!The real works for a top Hotel starts one or two years after opening, when things coming to light, which i dont like to mentioen. all in all it is a super Hotel and everybody was helpful in any case. a real gym with multiple choices. !!!

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    8.8
    + Hotel is located in walking distance of central train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing to mention

    + Hotel is located in walking distance of central train station / Galeria Katowice + Bars & Restaurants near by + Safe car parking in hotel garage + Pool in Basement + Breakfast is excellent + Room Service

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    7.9
    I liked that stuff was v nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Air conditioning didn't work, breakfast was nice only during the weekend- on Wednesday we got the rests... There was a bug in bed (junior suite), towels are daily changed (even if you hang them), and yes there is a coffee machine in your room but coffee you can drink only black and without sugar. Those little things make it in my opinion only 4* hotel, definitely not 5*

    I liked that stuff was v nice and helpful. The location is perfect.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    10
    Everything was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    But unfortunately the air conditioning was not working for two days

    Everything was amazing! Excellent clean room, daily housekeeping, a comfortable swimming pool

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    10
    Staff is very helpful and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing - wifi doesn't work in some rooms, that are far from wifi amplifier - E.G. #304 So,my advice to management is to increase quantity of wifi amplifiers.

    Staff is very helpful and polite. My wife forgot earrings,but the room has already been cleaned.And they found it!

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    6.3
    Central position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room wise, this is very good 3 star hotel or an average 4 star hotel. My evaluation refers to a 5 star hotel. Blanket with spot. Air-con not working properly. Overall old structure and room. Only one pillow. Terrible Wi-Fi.

    Central position. Branded toiletry set. 4 bottles of complimentary water.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    9.2
    History in the walls.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    None. Or maybe fresh up saunas and shower facillities connected with gym. They both discusted me. And do reprecent this great hotel.

    History in the walls. Felt solid, and established, and kept orginality. High end gym, air-con in room superb. Bathroom excellent, and top score for heated flooring. Must have for a Norwegian. Great location.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    8.3
    Quality of food :)
    • Solo traveller

    Service at breakfast could be better, they asked only room number (in Polish) Room was as always cold -despite summer, but it was rainy and cold weather. First room was also very dusty and I had to change, but another room was also a bit dusty and I got some symtoms

    Quality of food :)

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    5.8
    All the bathroom amenities is L'occitane branded and...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Old style. old furniture, dirty carpet and long time ago laquered wooden floor hotel. Overpriced! Location next to railway - it is noisy if your are sleeping with open window.

    All the bathroom amenities is L'occitane branded and this is main advantage.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    5.8
    Dobra lokalizacja
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Jak na 5 gwiazdek słabiutko, meble jak i IKEI, brak gniazdek do ładowania przy biurko, trzeba nurkować pod stół. Przydałaby sie renowacja

    Dobra lokalizacja

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    5.4
    The convenient location to the center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No elevator, stairs only, so it was a bit difficult for my husband & I. The staff weren't the friendliest.

    The convenient location to the center.

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2015

    8.3
    I lowed restaurant where breakfast was served.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I dont like old style of rooms. Bed was not top comfort.

    I lowed restaurant where breakfast was served. Witresses were extremly polite and food is quite nice.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    9.2
    Interior design
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Sliding bathroom door

    Interior design Minibar

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    5.0
    Weird design.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Weird design. Cold rooms and floors. Small bathrooms.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    8.8
    Price
    • Solo traveller

    Price

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2016

    9.2
    Really nice people
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Really nice people

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    9.2
    Overall service quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No particular remarks.

    Overall service quality. Decor & style. Comfort worth the price.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    9.6
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast Wifi, didn't work at all

    Staff Location Comfort

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    10
    Polite helpful attentive staff and great rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Polite helpful attentive staff and great rooms.

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Browse Hotel Monopol traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: