Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Secesja 3 stars

Paulińska 24, Old Town, 31-065 Kraków, Poland

#141 of 269 hotels in Kraków

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 599 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi signal was weak, and we got the last room, so there were 2 separate beds, very unattractive and not cozy place to stay for a couple. But our friends got absolutely different room, very nice one. So, it happens!!

    Location ok. We were lucky to find parking opposite the hotel, otherwise it would be pricey. Enormous breakfast offer!):)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard beds, boring breakfast, mold in the shower and the walls were so thin that you heard everything on the other room, and by that I mean everything. And the staff wasn’t all too helpful, furthermore the english was rather poor. The rest was ok.

    The location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been more pillows - 1 wasn’t the most comfortable. Tv could have had better English channels.

    Great location, rooms were very clean, shower was excellent. Amazing value for money!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no complaints for the price .

    the rooms were clean and very warm ideal for Poland in November. Plenty of choice for breakfast .Ideal location near to everything but in a quiet area, would stay here again, loved Krakov.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only minor things. The breakfast was nice but some comparable hotels in Kraków had bit more to offer. No shower gel, only soap. No automatic lights in corridors, door keys instead of cards. All this is hardly a problem.

    I really liked the location, it was close enough to the city center and many places worth visiting but at a rather remote street so there was no crowd or traffic. Apart from that it's a nice hotel, everything is up to good standards. I really liked the the decor, especially at the reception.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dark rooms and poor breakfast.

    I booked a room with a double bad. First I got a small, uncomfortable room with twin beds. The room was later changed but the situation should have not occured. The bathroom was clean and fresh. The rooms I've seen have quite dark walls creating a certain ambience. The breakfast was rather simple and limited.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I did this reservation for my parents. They were very happy with the location, which is very strategic when it comes to visit Krakow. They also mentioned good breakfast and how kind and helpful the staff was.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    small room, noise from courtyard

    very good location near old Cracow Jewish District called Kazimierz, vibrant neighborhood wiht many bars, clubs and restaurants

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is very acoustic. I was able to hear every noise, door and even elevator. Quite small and old fashion room for single. Bad smell when you enter to lobby . Poor breakfast.

    Good location and pleasant personel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stafff was accommodating, location was convenient, the breakfast looked amazing ( although I didn't have time to enjoy it due to had to catch a flight). Over all the hotel facilities are very good! I will definitely recommend the hotel to family & friends!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I like everything :). The staff were really friendly, spoke good english. Breakfast was amazing. Location was great.If come back I'll come again to the Hotel Secesja!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First of all the heating in our room didnt work i went to reception to ask for some help and she offered us small heater...good alternative but it was quite windy and cold outside so we expected to come to warm room. After we warm up our room i went to take a shower. Shower holder was broken i had to hold carefully so water doesnt splash everywhere around not a big problem but still..

    Perfect near city centre in quite location. Mattress very comfortable and breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On arrieval we were informed there was no booking in my name ? Suggust you contact the hotel direct prior to travel. Receptionest however managed to get us a room next to our travelling companions. No tea or coffee in room and bar closed by 2230 ??

    Hotel was clean and frendly. Breakfast well presented and plenty of choice. Good location and easy walk to all tourist areas. Good cheap restuarants in the old Jewish quarter just a short walk away.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better. Lots of polish style tomato cucumber cheese, one cake, cereal and toast. I think there was one bain Marie of not very nice looking scrambled eggs. Another sweet option or more hot options would be nice.

    Highly recommend this hotel. Excellent location, rooms clean and cosy. Very good value for money - I have stayed in others in the area where the rooms are definitely a level below.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit far from the main square, but easily reachable by foot. The matresses were too slack.

    Friendly and helpful staff, comfortable and tidy room, the breakfast was nice and free coffee/tea was provided. All in all we had a great time, surely come back 😊

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room door a little bit thin. Just one socket in the room.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Location in a beautiful quiet street. Tasty breakfast, good food in the restaurant downstairs.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds could of been better.

    Staff where great they helped us in every way they could. The hotel is in a central location and it is so short walk from market square.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad about this hotel but the dining room for breakfast wasn't big and we had to wait for a table but this was only one morning!

    Great location for both central square and lively Jewish Quarter

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room on 6th floor was like a shoebox. Barely space to walk around the bed. The only window was a very small window that you could open when you worked your way through a 2 meter long narrow tunnel. The table and chair were too big for the shoebox so there was no way you could do some work. Dark and unsuitable. Towels had big holes. Extremely noisy, I don't like to wake up because the neighbor is using the toilet. Never accept a room on 6th floor here. Bar was closed at 20.00.

    Location was good, and room was clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    The location is perfect! There are some very good restaurants nearby, and the Cloth Hall and the St. Mary's Basilica only 15 minutes by foot. the breakfast fantastic! It's a simply but very good hotel. I loved this town, I loved this place

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Taxi to the airport cost 3 times as much booked via hotel - felt really let down. Breakfast minimal. Hotel in a streat with lots of local drunkards, but basically still a good and nice location. Room was 90ties style, really small, no writing desk, materasse too soft, not a real bed either just a Polish wersalka turned into a "bed".

    friendly smiling staff, central but quiet location in the former Jewish district of Cracow

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    when we came , in the room there was only 15 degrees because nobody from personal was not able turn off air condition earlier. dirty and ragged towels, scantly breakfast, crabby personal;

    excelent location, only a few minutes to Wawel and Rynek Glowny and synagogues

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's 2 small beds joined instead of 1 big bed in "Double Room". But that was not a big problem for us.

    Location is really great! 10 min walk from the Wawel Castle, 15 min from the main square. The hotel parking is I guess only for 3 cars? But there's free public parking on the other side of the street. We were lucky to park there, so we could see our car from the our room window. The stuff was nice and the room was clean with nice bathroom. The breakfast was very tasty.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free tea and coffee

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom, shower, airconditioning

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    too hard mattress (for my wife)

    coffee free, nice old furnished bar, good stuff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Was quiet

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The nice hotel with fine staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some facilities slightly outdated, especially bathroom

    Near old town. Good value

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were very soft. You could easily hear the neighbours though the walls.

    Location was great. Staff was very friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the adjacent businesses slightly dubious

    Convenient for Wawel Hill, ICE and Jewish Quarter

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking on the street but it ok

    The location, distance to walk into the main city was just spot on. Staff really nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable, clean, very good location, good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking can be problematic.

    Small but cosy room, clean and quiet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was good and bathroom too. Clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle or coffeemaker in the room

    The breakfast was good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not great!

    staff were really helpful and friendly. Room was very clean. Great location for the Jewish Quarter.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    good location, close to the city center, nice and clean rooms

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and comfortable. Comparable to much more expensive hotels .

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi on the 6th floor was not working. I asked to fix it, but still not worked.

    The bathroom was very nice

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast could be improved.

    Standard for the price we paid was okay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed was made of two singles.

    Walking distance to everything.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was fine

    Location, value

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was fantastic !

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    A well sized room,quite in the middle of all quaters ,a fairly good breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having no drink making facilities in the bedroom

    The helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Food beds hotel all lovely

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great. Restaurant on site was very good. Parking was available.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    After being booked for 6 months and confirming by e mail our reservation 2 weeks before, being asked on arrival to move to a nearby hostel for the last night to accomodate a block booking, we were compensated but this did not make up for the inconvenience.

    Hotel was comfortable, staff functional, breakfast strictly average.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shame that the morning coffee was not better

    Great location, clean and comfortable rooms. The staff was really nice and helpful. rich and tasty breakfast

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-fi was weak at the arrival,recepcionist didnt speak English as expected in a hotel. You could overhear conversations from the neighboring rooms.

    Great location,very clean room.

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - it's not easy to find parking place nearby (understandable considering location) - mold (or something that looked similar) on the ceiling in the bathroom. Other than that room was really clean

    - Nice and helpful staff - possibility to order coffee and tee all the time (included in room price) - great location

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food selection was a bit limited for breakfast and not much served. The beds in our room were horrendous, it felt like I was sleeping on bricks.

    Good location with a 15 minute walk to the old town centre and 5 minutes to the Jewish quarter. No tea/coffee in the rooms but reception happy to make from the bar on request. Overall great value.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    With the help of a receptionist the lovely Magdalena we were helped with the booking of trips and taxis always with a smile truely a credit to the company. The beer in the bar was gorgeous again aided with great staff.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bit old facilities, thus some elements in bathroom not really clean. Breakfast was good but the way it was served was poor (pity for location)

    Location, breakfast was good, free wifi

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really bad. Like many other hotels in Poland, this one did not have any conveniently located hooks in the bathroom to hang clothes or towels on.

    The decor was nice. I have a weakness for Secession.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beside the official polite attitude of the staff, it would be nice to show some kindeness

    Excellent location, close to the historical buildings and park, quiet neighbourhood, right next to Kazimierz and river. 15 min walk to the Old Town. Beautiful view from room. Excellent free wifi.

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It seemed amost impossible to find water bottles for the receptionist. The add said i was going to get a room With a minibar. There was no such in my room.

    wery helpful staff. Midest but tasty breakfast. Perfect location for city visitors. Clean good value hotel.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The holes in the towel were unpleasant. And the breakfast quite weak

    Nice location - 10 minutes walking from Market Square and in the heart of Kazimezh. Very friendly personnel, always ready to help.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    - very small and unvaried breakfast - worn-out, shabby towels and bedding

    - convenient location (it's almost Kazimierz district, close to the Old Town - quiet area (not in front of the main street) - clean room and bathroom

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Rooms were pretty small and Wi-Fi was primarily only in the lobby.

    The staff was friendly and spoke good English. During booking I requested parking and was permitted to park in front of the hotel for a small fee. Close enough to walk to the town center.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    But there's poor breakfast and the most important is very thin walls, all the night i listened to some cheap rap from the room across the hall.

    It's pretty good.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel staff wrote that they have occupied rooms one day before our arrival and accommodation has already been paid at this time.

    Good position and standard service.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    good city location 10 minutes walk from Wawel, quality breakfast, parking slot in front of the hotel (upon pre-booking for cash)

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was quite small but acceptable

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Good location, large rooms, breakfast not of my taste

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Perfect location for sightseeing. Very clean and tidy with very helpful staff and a wonderful selection of breakfasts

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Internal information on hotel service should be in the room.

    Parking new hotel is free of charge during weekend. Breakfast is good.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    pillows and breakfast!

    Bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Looks great, nice interior. I liked the room itself, spacious, bathroom was great. Breakfast ok.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Clean comfortable room, good breakfast, excellent location, parking space

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was a bit "worn" and smelled like smoking

    Nice location - walking distance from both: market square and Kazimierz. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean stuff, perfect place, quite place, nice room, tasty breakfast, perfect window view, quite room

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Secesja traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: