Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Stary 5 stars

ul. Szczepańska 5, Old Town, 31-011 Kraków, Poland

#33 of 269 hotels in Kraków

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 974 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing... wardrobe had a light sensor that was really sensitive and you had to close it or clicked off and on constantly

    Lots of variety. Omelettes great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The mattresses on the bed could be of a better quality, especially for a longer stay. The situation of the reception right at the back of the entrance and lounge area, seems an odd place for the reception to be.

    The location just of the Main Square was excellent. Walking distance to all the main attractions. Hotel very modern and well appointed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We rented one of the most spacious suites but the windows didn’t isolate from the frequent noise at night of people passing by yelling and shouting so we changed room to the interior - a very small room without compensation for the extremely high rate we paid

    The location was excellent- the hotel very stylish and original

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a large business group in the hotel so we didn’t seem to be able to sit down and have a drink at night and they used main breakfast room so we were put in a very dreary room for breakfast

    The swimming pool and spa facilities were excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I believe there is not enough attention to detail in this hotel - such as no hot water or difficult or no accès to WiFi. We got another room and these problems were remedied but they should not had taken place in the first place. It is nice to have a spa nevertheless when we were there the dry sauna was not hot enough. The temperature in the relaxation area was too low and was not inviting to stay. Finally due to the architecture rooms are dark and the lamps in the rooms are inconvenient to use and do not give enough light.

    I liked very much great breakfasts and very nice staff. I liked architectural concept of the hotel. Finally the hotels restaurant ( lunch, dinner) is excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a kettle in the room to make a drink. But mini bar was fine and room service was good.

    Spa was lovely. Bed very comfortable. Room service was brilliant Only ate breakfast there but was amazing and would recommend the mixture of pastries and eggs benedict. Staff very friendly, hotel very clean. Gave me a late check out of 2pm with no charge. The hotel is beautifully designed and the room and bathroom were beautiful. Did not disappoint at all.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was really no view from the window of my room, just the opposite wall and other rooms. The lighting was quite dim. There were no power outlets near the bed.

    The location was excellent, near everything. The hotel is beautiful and very distinctive, the hotel and restaurant staff were efficient, friendly, and spoke excellent English

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No tea or coffee making facilities in the room!! This is a serious oversight for us Brits!

    Fantastic location in the centre of the old town, great staff, large well appointed room, fantastic breakfast with loads options including freshly cooked eggs, cold meats, cheese, cereals, fresh fruit and more. The Wellness spar and pool area is great and on the 3 occasions we used it we the only people there. Overall excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved this place would definatley stay again. T.v. was down so we had no TV on a night but everything else was amazing.. staff were very friendly and helpfull too

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    unfortunately I was forced to cancel this trip 3 days before. I called to the hotel, although I knew that the payment was non refundable. I was hoping for some sort of kindness and at least a gentleman's counter offer. But helas... Therefor, although again, there weren't obliged to do so, since there's no restitution of any kind, I can't be positive about this hotel.

    unfortunately I was forced to cancel this trip 3 days before. I called to the hotel, although I knew that the payment was non refundable. I was hoping for some sort of kindness and at least a gentleman's counter offer. But helas... Therefor, although again, there weren't obliged to do so, since there's no restitution of any kind, I can't be positive about this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not enough channels on the television and connectivity issues.

    Breakfast was very good. Great choices a lot of variety. Room was very comfortable although the TV needs fixing. Asked for rose pedals on the bed, they put them on the bed and even the bathroom. Was very lovely. Checked in early as well which wasn't a problem. Airport pick up and drop off was very smooth. No problems there.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Amazing Location, beautiful hotel and exceptionally clean. Very friendly staff and impeccable facilities. The cave swimming pool and spa was utterly amazing. I highly recommend this hotel. The mixture of location and facilities is hard to beat.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view for a room as expensive as ours wasn’t wonderful but it didn’t spoil the stay.

    How friendly and helpful the staff were. The location was spot on too, right in the centre square with all the restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad, hard beds. Not 5 star quality. The aircon turned on and off as it pleased, impossible to adjust room temperature. Cool water In the spa pool. Simple, and boring breakfast. Slow staff. Had to wait 20 min for scrambled eggs, with no one in line..

    Big room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was pricey for the view we had

    The staff were amazing and helpful, the location was excellent the nuts as a welcome in the room were an excellent touch.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The TV signal/reception was quite spotty.

    Very spacious and clean room Great breakfast options Underfloor heating in bathroom L'Occitane toiletries Beautiful building Very helpful and friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not worth the money. The staff was slow and not helpful. Room looked much worse then advertised. Breakfast was below the standard of the hotel - from cheap, not local produce. Plus you have to waaaaaaait for any kind of soft drink. The rate for a pet was high and did not even include the bowls in the room.

    Swimming pool.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms. Courtyard outside room very noisy from 06:30 onwards

    Very friendly staff and quality hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low room temperature (insist on increasing it when visiting outside of summer). TV signal regularly interrupted. Weather forecast in the lift seemed to have nothing to do with reality, probably never changed the default manufacturer's settings.

    Hotel located steps from the main square. Nice small wellness area and helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a great all around hotel in the heart of Krakow. Although liked staying in other parts of the city, it is nice to spend a night or two right on the square in this beautiful hotel. Hotel Stary did an exceptional job!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Hotel staff was very very pleasant, friendly and knowledgeable. Carolina was very helpful and efficient. We really appreciate that she booked a restaurant for us at the very last moment

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very low, mattresses too soft Only 2 pillows on the bed (need to ask accommodation staff for more ) Bar prices far too high and the bar staff not friendly. At the pool area - lack of any staff over an hour, means hard to make any appointments for massage Very strange lighting in bathroom Ceiling in bathroom needs some painting A/C very noisy Strange hotel policy that you have to cover yourself with towels while in sauna

    Location Reception staff check- in / out very professional

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Visiting Krakow has been a lifelong dream. It took me 40 years to get there and Hotel Stary couldn't have been more accomodating or perfect. Well worth the splurge every 40 years! My daughter loved the carrot muffins.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The quality of the bedding (especially the bedcover) and the dressing gowns did not match the excellent quality of the bathroom or the spa and the room itself felt a little sparse. Despite the doubleglazing you could hear drunken revellers passing by outside!

    Stylish hotel in great location with lovely spa facilities.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Main issue was tiny gym and a pain that swimmers / spa users walked through the gym area leaving water puddles. Not great.

    Rooms well appointed & very sympathetic to the age of the building. Very clean and everything was quality.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had no in-room coffee/tea! That seems rather cheap given the room rate. On Monday we were woken up at 7:30 am by workers making a lot of noise in the other hotel rooms doing construction. Also there were drunk people shouting in the hallway and knocking on our door in the middle of the night, but that wasn't the hotel's responsibility of course. I would have preferred a cereal option wihtout added sugar such as outmeal/rolled oats. But otherwise the breakfast was great with lots of options.

    The location was great, friendly staff, nice spa and cozy room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast a bit chaotic,had to ask for coffee and order food as staff not coming to your table to ask

    Beautiful building, fantastic swimming pool and good choice of food at breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service breakfast menu was a bit odd, but we survived :)first world problems and all that.

    The bed was comfy, the staff were super helpful, great location. Lovely spa. Really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We did have a problem on the first night when we told the hotel bar was closed because the bar staff were servicing a function! After a brief discussion this was rectified but service was slow due to the bar staff having to move between locations. I did discuss this with the duty manager the following day and was assured this wasn't the norm. We were given a free drink each so the issue was resolved. The hotel bar is also quite sterile in appearance but thats just personal taste.

    The suite was superb, plenty of room to sprawl out and the decor and fittings were stunning. The suite is on the front of the hotel and offers an oblique view towards the square. (early morning street sweepers and bin lorries can be noisy) The hotel is ideally located for the old town square around a 50m walk and nearby shops and castle just a short stroll. The reception staff were really helpful and booked our requested tours and also provided a packed lunch as 1 tour departed before breakfast. Breakfast is a buffet arrangement and offers a very wide selection of foods and egg station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel in excellent location in Old Town. Large comfortable room with great bathroom and shower. Very helpful and efficient front desk staff who consistently tried to please (and succeeded). One delight of visiting European cities is staying at hotels such as Hotel Stary.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I find that some of the lobby chairs are too low to the ground, too deep; however, the hotel offers a choice of places and chairs to sit and relax.

    This boutique hotel is an absolute pleasure to stay at. Not only are the rooms extremely well appointed but the staff is fantastic: attentive and helpful. The internet works and is extremely reliable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel needs to decide if it is modern or whether it wished to be modern amenities with a 1600 décor theme

    Excellent location for access to the main square, I found the rooms a little odd.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive, small pool, no jacuzzi, horrible view actualy no view at all, very dark in the room, interior design of the room was old and not luxury. For the same price I can stay in Bristol hotel in Warsaw which is super luxury with great view.

    Location, design of bathroom, friendly staff, great food at the restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price was a bit steep considering the roof top bar was closed. Do not book a taxi through the hotel as staff seems to quote a much higher rate and probably gets a kickback.

    Very close to everything in Krakow. Beautifully done inside the rooms and very comfortable. Pool and spa were great but could have done with a higher temperature.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Alchemical Cross at Hotel's interior entry glass door seems to be missing bottom part... this needs fixing ASAP 😁👍🌹

    Ambience of the place and the connection with the Alchemists of Krakow

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel over all is odd in design didn't work for me, cross between medieval castle meets modern. Not as cool as pictures online. It's over priced.

    It's in great location, hotel is full of interesting design features.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Upon our arrival, the first room that we were booked in had two bugs flying around, no pillows on the bed, the beds looked like beds in a bunk house, the room was dark and very cold looking, and the door that opened to a very small, which they called a balcony almost feel off its hinges into the room. It was awful! The second room was a little better, there were pillows on the bed but the room was not comfortable!!

    The only positive thing I could state about this hotel is that it was convenient to the City Square, otherwise, it was not comfortable and the food was terrible.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooftop bar was closed, it would have been nice to relax there in the evening before heading out.

    Very clean and modern Hotel right in the centre of Krakow, great location for a weekend break.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit noisy and top floor room had window in roof which couldn't be closed from light

    Location is the best and hotel is beautiful inside. Great design. Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bedrooms although interesting interior design, not as cosy as it could be, pillows need upgrading to meet the standards of the other facilities, also would benift from black out curtains.

    Fantastic, design, location and swimming pool gym area

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff Hotel needs directionsome to the sky bar and needs much better lighting on the sky terrace I ended up in plaster. I am unable to work.

    Unfortunately the treatment from staff and injury I got due to the hotels terrible lighting meant I really only enjoyed a small part of the stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Careful when booking the luxury suite as the images of the room that are on the site are not what you are likely to get. There are 4 luxury suites & only one of them looks like the images presented. When we complained about this we got nothing more than a sorry and after much insistence managed to spend one night out of three in the room we originally booked. Needless to say we were very disappointed.

    Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a mix up with who was paying for the shuttle back to the airport. I had specifically asked for it to be put on the bill which I paid. The driver then said, I had to pay, so we phoned the hotel who eventually agreed that I had paid - all unnecessary at 5.30 in the morning! I did not receive a copy of my paid hotel bill which I thought was strange.

    Good beds, nice pool, great location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you are arriving with your car, the valet parking will cost you 70 zloty, which is a little overpriced considering the cost of the room.

    The hotel is extraordinary, a combination of old and contemporary architecture is fascinating. The location is one of the best, right in the city center. The hotel staff is very friendly and will help you with anything you can possibly ask (don't forget to tip).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel looks very clean and taken care of, however we came across two silverfish in our room. Not the worst of bugs, but still I hope it didn't get to my bags and ate my clothes. The buttons to turn lights on and off were difficult to figure out.

    Great location, close to the main square but not too close to be bothered by night noise. Staff was polite and friendly. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service could have been friendlier (but not a big deal for us)

    Incredibly well located, just off the main square of Krakow Great design - modern and chic Excellent food (Michelin 1 star standard) Nice (and well sized) rooms and bathrooms Efficient service Great value for money

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Roof top bar looked like any normal bar, could have put little bit more effort on decoration of that nice area and styling of furnitures. Air condition at the breakfast restaurant had been put on too cold, that I had to wear extra clothes (and it was + 30C outside...). Bed in the room could have been little bit more comfortable as well as more light in the room, it was quite dark even with all lights on.

    Boutique hotel with very nice and cool athmosphere, clean and quiet. Perfect location! And a relaxing spa. Rooms nicely decorated and spacious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpets weren't entirely clean. Room had strange smell which perished after opening windows. I asked for iron and ironing desk, the iron was old and leaking. We were disturbed in the evening by hotel staff, who entered the room without my knowledge, that was odd and unpleasant. At checkout I reported a broken bathrobe - they seemed surprised.

    Extra location with discreet entrance. Not too shabby room for this price. Bathroom is terrific - outstanding and extra comfy, highest quality accessories. Very tasty breakfast, I liked fresh berries and blue cheese. I wasn't satisfied with the first room we got, the staff was friendly and understanding so they offered me an exchange. Best part of this hotel is small but pleasant "spa" - beautiful underground swimming pool, saunas, salt chambers.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a skylight at the entrance that flooded light into room before I wanted to wake up. The music that was in my bathroom which I assume came from the outside bar was also at times disturbing

    The hotel is beautiful and I would come back for the hotel alone

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No real variety in breakfast buffet (only an issue if there for more than a few days); coffee available only through a server and 1 cup at a time (i.e no carafe). Roof top bar area (drinks and deserts only) nice if you can get to it. On 3 of the 5 occasions we tried to go there it was booked for private functions.

    Good variety and quality in breakfast buffet. New and old elements of building nicely integrated. Rooms (stayed in 4 different rooms over the stay which was separated in to 2 parts) large and comfortable, but room facing street noisy at night (due to proximity to main square). Bed, pillows and linens not bad, not great. Excellent indoor spa (and salt room!), sauna and pool facility - exercise area not so much.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cattle and coffe machine for Making on your own in the room No separatora radio set or Easy connection for your own music from your smartphone Door mechanizm not fully closing on its own, you must pull the handle to make sure it is closed No access to the sky bar due to wedding party that day

    Location, decoration, Design insight, very nice and pleasant service, breakfast,

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Avoid junior suites as they are located on the roof so there are no windows but just roof glasses for light. The sloping roof of the suites is depressing and leaves a lot of space unused Breakfast is poor and valet parking needs 15 minutes to get your car. General not value for money

    The property is perfectly located just steps from central Market Square. It's an old building unique decorated to offer an amazing atmosphere. Lobby and Breakfast areas are perfectly designed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was terrific.

    The hotel is beautiful & the staff were extremely helpful. It is very close to the city center & is surrounded by everything you need - restaurants, cafe's,etc. The staff even provided me with a huge packed lunch for one of my day tours. I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view of my room wasn't overlooking the square. But they upgraded me to a bigger room so I really can't complain.

    Extra friendly staff! Good beds and the best location you can ask for!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extra friendly helpful and very informative, they helped us find places and buy train tickets The checkout was super speedy, it took like 10 seconds and they did not charge us the coffee and juice we ordered every morning You can't argue that it's the best located hotel in old town square krakow The room was of great size with good lighting and had everything a tourist would need to feel comfortable and what you needed was provided by the housekeeping in a few minutes

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel organize auctions and after party which finish late at night with very loud music. If you like to listen to disco at 2 at night you can stay. If not, the receptionist can only advice you to put stoppers in your ears. For this money it is really very disappointing.

    Very good bed and nice swimming pool.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View was just a brick wall( often the case in a city hotel). Curtains were very thin and let the light in from the lights on the building.

    The location of the hotel is perfect, next to the square. Parking is not a problem you just Park out the front and go in the staff move it to a parking lot. The hotel is a mix of modern and a 1800 building the rooms are very comfortable although we had room 316 and there is no view at all (just a brick wall). The breakfast is really nice continental help yourself, but you can also order off he menu. All the staff were efficient and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only real issue we had with the hotel is that our room was a bit dark, understandably as it is in the old part of town where the courtyards are small. But they have tried t make of with it by good lighting.

    The hotel was in a great location just off the main square so you could go in and out with ease. Everything you need within walking distance, many restaurants pharmacies and taxis. We also liked the hotel restaurant, which is high end, the food and service was excellent and reasonably priced. The staff was very nice and helpful. I left an iPad in the cab on the way to the airport and they have bee great about helping me get it back. They also have a nice spa area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More counter space in the bathroom and the automatic lights would sometimes turn off for no apparent reason. However, these "issues" were extremely minor.

    The staff was helpful and available. Their restaurant recommendations were excellent, and they made the reservations for us. In addition, when we asked for late check-out, they accommodated us well beyond the normal check-out time. The location was also fantastic - right off the main square. Despite being so close to the bustling main square, our room was quiet -- looking out over an interior courtyard. Another tourist we ran into, who stayed at a five-star hotel also on the main square, complained that the noise was so bad she had to move rooms. So we felt we had done very well with this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had waited 9 years to visit this hotel and so had high expectations given its rating and word of mouth. The room was spacious, but felt souless. No pillows on the bed, you have to retrieve them from the wardrobe and no towels in the room even three hours after check in. Wooden floors throughout makes it noisy and no sound proofing, so when the opposite room checks out at 03:30 hours, I was privy to the whole commotion. There were no tea or coffee making faculties in the room, and given its a 5 star hotel, I thought that was a requirement ? Apparently they are available in the junior suites not standard rooms. I asked reception for an iron and ironing board and took an hour and three calls before it arrived. The key to my room didn't work on arrival, thankfully the bell boy let me in and came up with another key for me. On check out, I was asked if I had used anything from the mini bar, and I replied no, just the complimentary water. He then asked me to pay for the drinks from the day before mini bar bill, when I wasn't even checked into the hotel, I was only staying for one night! He apologised, but i think at this standard, records should be accurate and not accuse a customer. Stunning weather was forecast for March 31st & April 1st but no bar staff were present on the rood terrace, as it was not officially opened. I think they should keep that as a guideline, but be willing to flex when customers would like to relax in the sunshine with a drink and adapt to needs. I found the whole experience disappointing, especially when I mentioned all of the above, and he said I was not the first to complain about such things. he promised to feedback to his manager who would ring me, five days later I have heard nothing, and nor did Expect it. Nothing will change, these are small details that could be changed in ten mins..pillows and kettle etc... sadly, I wont recommend or return.

    The roof top terrace has three sides, the one over the front of the hotel has the best views looking over the main square and St. Mary's church. I used the swimming pool at 2100 hours on the Friday night and had it all to myself and was pure heaven. Wonderful to be under a vaulted ceiling with exposed brick work. Lovely sauna and steam room too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only complaint would be the fact there is no kettle/tea facilities in the room and the thin curtains ( I like blackout curtains! Too light for sleeping for me, so had to wear an eye mask )

    Spa is amazing! Décor is fabulous, loved all the wood and marble - beautiful!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I contacted Booking.com by twitter to advise on first night that Sky bar was closed for the season "work being done" - reason I booked and still advertised on your website as open. I queried on arrival. I was advised I would have to pay for breakfast - not even offered as substitute for lack of facilities why say there is a Sky bar overlooking the city when it is not open???? Not at all happy as very expensive for three nights stay.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was clean but had dark and dowdy decor. No iron or tea / coffee facilities in the rooms.

    The location is great, right on the main square in the old town. The hotel is clean and has a modern reception and atrium area.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful place, fantastic location, the best service ever. Overall amazing experience. I strongly recommend this place for a short, luxurious city break.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath robes could be slightly bigger for larger guests.

    Staff were lovely, very obliging. Hotel was extremely clean and attention to detail on design/decor was amazing. The L'occitaine bathroom products were fab. The spa is very special and the massage perfect. Location is the best. It's a classy quality hotel. 5 star and more.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was closed for refurbishments but the massage was suberb

    The hotel was the best. The staff were wonderful. One of the best I have ever stayed in

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not really visible when coming and going. Pool out of use when arrived. No prior warning of this. Book heavily based on the pool.

    Hotel fitted out very well Great location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doesn't seem to care about the environment! No way to indicate that you don't want your towels or bed linen to be changed - in 2017, any hotel should try to reduce their environmental impact. You should have a policy where you only change towels that are left on the floor. Bed was very small and only had two small, thin pillows. No USB wall sockets at all - if you are travelling from the UK, US or China, you will need an adapter to charge your devices. Although location is very central, it's in an area where Uber drivers are not allowed to go. If you want to travel with Uber, you have to leave the old town and wait for your driver at a random street corner - very inconvenient! Very small selection of wine by the glass in the restaurant - and they are of disappointing quality. It's a shame, given the very high standard of cooking. Those dishes deserve better wine.

    Huge room with plenty of storage space and a large desk. Large bathroom with both a shower and a bathtub. Beautiful and unique interior design, a balanced mix of historical and contemporary. Exceptional restaurant with interesting dishes at very modest prices (for this quaility). Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Average service and the floor of the room was filthy. Decor and facilities just about made up for this when considered against the price. I would not have paid a penny more than we did, though. Around £100 per night seemed fair given the shortcomings.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Weird choice of exercise equipment. I.e. a giant biceps-machine, but no bench and lack of free wights. Effectively impossible to do any chest exercise. But SPA was nixe, although a bit too many wrinkly penises dangling in free sight in the shared men/women showers outside the sauna.

    Great location and very nice hotel overall. Very relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room temperature was too low. Even after three times contacting reception - nothing changed. Due to building construction (concrete) pretty noisy. Dinner was a bit disapointing

    Great location Very nice design & decoration High quality interior

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst thing was the bed, very low, cheap and thin bed, my back acked after spending 2 nights. The junior suites (2) that they offered me were terrible. One had no normal Windows and a glass ceiling which was very low and the other had only Windows on the inside of the hotel. The normal room I finally accepted had a blind, brick wall standing for the Windows, so no view.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was quite cool in the room (but we were unlucky to have extremly cold temperature outside). There is no kettle, cups and tea/coffe in the room, no adition pillows - a lot of things that make hotel`s rooms cosy and comfortable.

    The location is ideal- in the center of everything, not far from railway station and shoping center. Exellent SPA -fantastic interier: cosy, romantic, fine equipped, with grate steam bath and sauna. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room 308 had very little natural light and was overlooked. We had to keep our curtains closed for privacy compounding the issue of poor natural light.

    The location was the highlight along with the excellent spa facilities.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pool is a bit chilly for my liking. My wife swims but I go to the steam room. A few degrees warmer for my taste.

    Always friendly and helpful. How do the staff remember my name from last time? Just beside the square where we like to be.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Stary traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: