Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Poland hotel reviews
  3. Lesser Poland hotel reviews
  4. Krakow hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hotel Stary

Reviews of Hotel Stary This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

ul. Szczepańska 5, Old Town, 31-011 Krakow, Poland

#44 of 285 hotels in Krakow

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 840 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    10
    I would be delighted to stay at the hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing at all apart from the disappointing menu and lack of ambience in ther second restaurant on the Saturday.

    Overall it was an excellent experience. Perhaps the only disappointment was the non-availability of the main restaurant on the Saturday night. the second restaurant was disappointing

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2018

    7.9
    Very good location and the interior was cozy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were not satisfied with our room. Everything was brown with a bad fengshui. They showed 4 more rooms but all of them had same feeling. If you will stay here I would chose a suite.

    Very good location and the interior was cozy. We loved the feeling in the spa. The restaurant was one of the best we tried. We had a 6 course tasting menu.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    9.6
    Luxury in Central Old Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Main restaurant rather formal and expensive, but new bistro restaurant just starting. Almost too upmarket for us!

    Very luxurious and stylish. Lovely spa and small swimming pool in cellars. Excellent breakfast. Just off main square of old town so very central. Short walk from train station.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    10
    Everything !
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Everything ! :) Very friendly stuff. Beautiful and specious room. Breakfast was delicious. We had dinner at the restaurant and it was superb!!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2018

    9.6
    Personel could be friendlier.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Personel could be friendlier. Especially at breakfast it looks like they don’t enjoy what they are doing. But it looks like that is a problem throughout restaurant staff in Poland at places we visited.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    10
    Worth every penny and can't beat the location!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hmmmm..... the only thing ... maybe.... was the room was a bit dark, but made for great sleeping!

    Great location!!! Friendly professional staff! Great accommodations! Great roof bar and views! Can't beat the location!!! Great to have the Valet parking! Looking forward to going back!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    10
    Bliss. Nothing more needs to be said.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I didn't like that I had to leave after only 4 days.

    Hotel Stary is an oasis in a bustling European city. The decor and ambience are second to none. The design and construction are perfectly conceived and executed. The spa facility is like entering another world. I will DEFINITELY return.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly and professional staff in the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very friendly and professional staff in the restaurant. The reception could be more welcoming and attentive. We had to ask some follow up questions as not all aspects (breakfast, spa availability or other services) were explained. Overall, however, the location couldn’t be better - just a few steps from the market square but in a quite streeet. Interior design charming and traditional with a modern flavour.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    10
    Wonderful, comfortable hotel with a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfect location for the Basilica and the market square. Very comfortable room with fantastic bathroom. Wonderful, atmospheric hotel with very friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    8.3
    Location was great so close to the main square
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had requested a twin bedded room but was given a double with no option to change. Was told that we would have to pay an extra 50 zloty a night for a put up bed which I wasn’t willing to pay so declined. However when we were out they put one in anyway and didnt charge so that was positive.

    Location was great so close to the main square

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    6.3
    Quiet room in a very smart historic hotel, right in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were given a room (room 306) with the bed against the wall, which meant one of us had to scramble down to the end of the bed - for this price, this is really poor. The room was dark, limited natural light and insufficient electric light. Very disappointing.

    Quiet room in a very smart historic hotel, right in the centre

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    7.9
    Excellent! Highly recommend. We will be back again soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast service was rather slow. We sat down and waited a while without service. We then had to ask the man working on the stove for assistance. Extra pillows for the room. Would be better should additional pillows be available in the room.

    Staff very helpful and friendly! Facilities were very clean and relaxing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    10
    A truly memorable experience that I would recommend to all
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A coffee maker in the room or coffee available in the lobby.

    The spa and pool were outstanding. Beautiful, relaxing and peaceful. The room was spacious and comfortable. All public areas were attractive and service was excellent.. The Sky Bar was also a plus.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    10
    Hotel Stary was recommended by a friend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel Stary was recommended by a friend. I loved everything about the hotel the staff were exceptional, spa facilities are outstanding a wonderful stay and will stay again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2018

    9.6
    A fantastic upmarket hotel perfectly positioned for sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The curtains let in a little too much light. Otherwise, perfect.

    The rooms were large and airy, the air conditioning worked perfectly. The decor is modern, the bathroom a good size with a great shower. Turn down service daily.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel for a short break in the heart of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    availability of an iron in the rooms....a small thing in the scheme of things

    Wonderful location in the heart of the city with quiet rooms and a fabulous pool.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2018

    8.3
    Beuatiful Hotel. Great loctaion but wouldnt stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the front of house staff and in particular the bar staff were incredibly unfriendly and I don't think I saw one ever crack a smile. They were slow and the overall impression I got was they were employed for their ability to speak English perfectly. I felt they thought they were above doing their jobs.

    The hotel facilities and location were excellent. The hotel was pristinely clean and the cleaning staff amazingly efficient and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel in the heart of the old city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fantastic hotel right in the heart of the old city. Amazing spa facilities, delicious breakfast and very pleasant staff that could not have been more helpful.... would stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2018

    10
    Incredible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing i was missing a lttle was a kettle.

    I loved everything about this hotel. Incredible ambiance. I felt very comfortable. Beyond any expectations. I recommend staying here to anyone visiting Krakow or just passing by.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2018

    10
    Great location, phenomenal decor and style, and accommodating staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The deep soaking jet tub would have been a god-send after a 15 hour day of touring, but after I filled the tub and turned on the jets black debris filled the tub! I’m sure the jets aren’t ran enough to keep them clean of debris. It wasn’t insects or anything just pipe debris. I drained it and tried again and it happened again, but just a minimal amount this time. But it was enough for me to opt for a shower. This was the only minor flaw of the hotel.

    I traveled with my 18 year old son so we requested two twin beds. The hotel beds were comfy, not fluffy or extravagant with down bedding or high-count thread sheets, but it was old-world minimalist comfy! The AC was an older unit and a lil’ noisy, but after our tours we had no problem sleeping. Most importantly, it kept the large room at 19 degrees Celsius! They had the most beautiful pool if you needed to soak. This hotel was fantastic and the service and location were amazing! The staff went above and beyond to accommodate our “American requests.” In Europe there are five-star ratings and although they are very nice they’re not Ritz Carlton five-star. I am very picky and this old world hotel provided an authentic experience and I would definitely recommend it to my fellow Americans! Poland was a magical place for us and the surrounding center was so lively, but the hotel is quiet and peaceful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only thing... wardrobe had a light sensor that was really sensitive and you had to close it or clicked off and on constantly

    Lots of variety. Omelettes great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    7.1
    Good Location, near to Main Square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The mattresses on the bed could be of a better quality, especially for a longer stay. The situation of the reception right at the back of the entrance and lounge area, seems an odd place for the reception to be.

    The location just of the Main Square was excellent. Walking distance to all the main attractions. Hotel very modern and well appointed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    6.7
    Avoid the street side
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We rented one of the most spacious suites but the windows didn’t isolate from the frequent noise at night of people passing by yelling and shouting so we changed room to the interior - a very small room without compensation for the extremely high rate we paid

    The location was excellent- the hotel very stylish and original

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    7.5
    Good but could be better if you had an area to relax at night and a bar and made more of restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a large business group in the hotel so we didn’t seem to be able to sit down and have a drink at night and they used main breakfast room so we were put in a very dreary room for breakfast

    The swimming pool and spa facilities were excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    6.7
    Hotel with a great potential but there is a need to have a closer look at the details.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I believe there is not enough attention to detail in this hotel - such as no hot water or difficult or no accès to WiFi. We got another room and these problems were remedied but they should not had taken place in the first place. It is nice to have a spa nevertheless when we were there the dry sauna was not hot enough. The temperature in the relaxation area was too low and was not inviting to stay. Finally due to the architecture rooms are dark and the lamps in the rooms are inconvenient to use and do not give enough light.

    I liked very much great breakfasts and very nice staff. I liked architectural concept of the hotel. Finally the hotels restaurant ( lunch, dinner) is excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    10
    Perfectly located for a visit to Krakow. Clean, comfy, friendly hotel with lovely facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have liked a kettle in the room to make a drink. But mini bar was fine and room service was good.

    Spa was lovely. Bed very comfortable. Room service was brilliant Only ate breakfast there but was amazing and would recommend the mixture of pastries and eggs benedict. Staff very friendly, hotel very clean. Gave me a late check out of 2pm with no charge. The hotel is beautifully designed and the room and bathroom were beautiful. Did not disappoint at all.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    9.2
    The location was excellent, near everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was really no view from the window of my room, just the opposite wall and other rooms. The lighting was quite dim. There were no power outlets near the bed.

    The location was excellent, near everything. The hotel is beautiful and very distinctive, the hotel and restaurant staff were efficient, friendly, and spoke excellent English

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2018

    9.6
    5 start Hotel Stary (take a travel kettle!)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No tea or coffee making facilities in the room!! This is a serious oversight for us Brits!

    Fantastic location in the centre of the old town, great staff, large well appointed room, fantastic breakfast with loads options including freshly cooked eggs, cold meats, cheese, cereals, fresh fruit and more. The Wellness spar and pool area is great and on the 3 occasions we used it we the only people there. Overall excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2018

    10
    Loved this place would definatley stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved this place would definatley stay again. T.v. was down so we had no TV on a night but everything else was amazing.. staff were very friendly and helpfull too

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2018

    2.5
    unfortunately I was forced to cancel this trip 3 days before.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    unfortunately I was forced to cancel this trip 3 days before. I called to the hotel, although I knew that the payment was non refundable. I was hoping for some sort of kindness and at least a gentleman's counter offer. But helas... Therefor, although again, there weren't obliged to do so, since there's no restitution of any kind, I can't be positive about this hotel.

    unfortunately I was forced to cancel this trip 3 days before. I called to the hotel, although I knew that the payment was non refundable. I was hoping for some sort of kindness and at least a gentleman's counter offer. But helas... Therefor, although again, there weren't obliged to do so, since there's no restitution of any kind, I can't be positive about this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not enough channels on the television and connectivity issues.

    Breakfast was very good. Great choices a lot of variety. Room was very comfortable although the TV needs fixing. Asked for rose pedals on the bed, they put them on the bed and even the bathroom. Was very lovely. Checked in early as well which wasn't a problem. Airport pick up and drop off was very smooth. No problems there.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2018

    9.6
    brilliant hotel in brilliant location - one of the best in Krakow.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Amazing Location, beautiful hotel and exceptionally clean. Very friendly staff and impeccable facilities. The cave swimming pool and spa was utterly amazing. I highly recommend this hotel. The mixture of location and facilities is hard to beat.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2018

    9.6
    One of the best short stays I’ve had. Poland exceeded my expectations was clean with pretty scenery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The view for a room as expensive as ours wasn’t wonderful but it didn’t spoil the stay.

    How friendly and helpful the staff were. The location was spot on too, right in the centre square with all the restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2018

    5.4
    Not 5 star standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very bad, hard beds. Not 5 star quality. The aircon turned on and off as it pleased, impossible to adjust room temperature. Cool water In the spa pool. Simple, and boring breakfast. Slow staff. Had to wait 20 min for scrambled eggs, with no one in line..

    Big room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    9.6
    Amazing tour to aushwitz highly recommend. Weather was cold in jan so pack thermals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was pricey for the view we had

    The staff were amazing and helpful, the location was excellent the nuts as a welcome in the room were an excellent touch.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    9.6
    Luxurious stay in Krakow
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The TV signal/reception was quite spotty.

    Very spacious and clean room Great breakfast options Underfloor heating in bathroom L'Occitane toiletries Beautiful building Very helpful and friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    5.0
    Very dissapointing in quality
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not worth the money. The staff was slow and not helpful. Room looked much worse then advertised. Breakfast was below the standard of the hotel - from cheap, not local produce. Plus you have to waaaaaaait for any kind of soft drink. The rate for a pet was high and did not even include the bowls in the room.

    Swimming pool.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable and will definitely book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could do with tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms. Courtyard outside room very noisy from 06:30 onwards

    Very friendly staff and quality hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2017

    7.9
    Designer hotel with attentive staff in prime location of Cracow
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Low room temperature (insist on increasing it when visiting outside of summer). TV signal regularly interrupted. Weather forecast in the lift seemed to have nothing to do with reality, probably never changed the default manufacturer's settings.

    Hotel located steps from the main square. Nice small wellness area and helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2017

    10
    Just a great all around hotel in the heart of Krakow.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a great all around hotel in the heart of Krakow. Although liked staying in other parts of the city, it is nice to spend a night or two right on the square in this beautiful hotel. Hotel Stary did an exceptional job!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2017

    10
    Hotel Stary is old building with a great character a very high
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Hotel staff was very very pleasant, friendly and knowledgeable. Carolina was very helpful and efficient. We really appreciate that she booked a restaurant for us at the very last moment

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    8.3
    Location
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed very low, mattresses too soft Only 2 pillows on the bed (need to ask accommodation staff for more ) Bar prices far too high and the bar staff not friendly. At the pool area - lack of any staff over an hour, means hard to make any appointments for massage Very strange lighting in bathroom Ceiling in bathroom needs some painting A/C very noisy Strange hotel policy that you have to cover yourself with towels while in sauna

    Location Reception staff check- in / out very professional

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    10
    Visiting Krakow has been a lifelong dream.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Visiting Krakow has been a lifelong dream. It took me 40 years to get there and Hotel Stary couldn't have been more accomodating or perfect. Well worth the splurge every 40 years! My daughter loved the carrot muffins.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2017

    9.2
    Lovely stay would be further improved by a few personal touches in the room so less sparse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The quality of the bedding (especially the bedcover) and the dressing gowns did not match the excellent quality of the bathroom or the spa and the room itself felt a little sparse. Despite the doubleglazing you could hear drunken revellers passing by outside!

    Stylish hotel in great location with lovely spa facilities.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel for location ease of access to main square, airport & very business friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Main issue was tiny gym and a pain that swimmers / spa users walked through the gym area leaving water puddles. Not great.

    Rooms well appointed & very sympathetic to the age of the building. Very clean and everything was quality.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2017

    7.9
    Great location and facilities, friendly staff in the heart of Kraków.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had no in-room coffee/tea! That seems rather cheap given the room rate. On Monday we were woken up at 7:30 am by workers making a lot of noise in the other hotel rooms doing construction. Also there were drunk people shouting in the hallway and knocking on our door in the middle of the night, but that wasn't the hotel's responsibility of course. I would have preferred a cereal option wihtout added sugar such as outmeal/rolled oats. But otherwise the breakfast was great with lots of options.

    The location was great, friendly staff, nice spa and cozy room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast a bit chaotic,had to ask for coffee and order food as staff not coming to your table to ask

    Beautiful building, fantastic swimming pool and good choice of food at breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous hotel to come back to after an emotionally taxing day!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room service breakfast menu was a bit odd, but we survived :)first world problems and all that.

    The bed was comfy, the staff were super helpful, great location. Lovely spa. Really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We did have a problem on the first night when we told the hotel bar was closed because the bar staff were servicing a function! After a brief discussion this was rectified but service was slow due to the bar staff having to move between locations. I did discuss this with the duty manager the following day and was assured this wasn't the norm. We were given a free drink each so the issue was resolved. The hotel bar is also quite sterile in appearance but thats just personal taste.

    The suite was superb, plenty of room to sprawl out and the decor and fittings were stunning. The suite is on the front of the hotel and offers an oblique view towards the square. (early morning street sweepers and bin lorries can be noisy) The hotel is ideally located for the old town square around a 50m walk and nearby shops and castle just a short stroll. The reception staff were really helpful and booked our requested tours and also provided a packed lunch as 1 tour departed before breakfast. Breakfast is a buffet arrangement and offers a very wide selection of foods and egg station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2017

    9.6
    Comfort, service, location in a beautiful space
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful hotel in excellent location in Old Town. Large comfortable room with great bathroom and shower. Very helpful and efficient front desk staff who consistently tried to please (and succeeded). One delight of visiting European cities is staying at hotels such as Hotel Stary.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2017

    10
    Very pleasant hotel to retire to at the end of a long business day.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I find that some of the lobby chairs are too low to the ground, too deep; however, the hotel offers a choice of places and chairs to sit and relax.

    This boutique hotel is an absolute pleasure to stay at. Not only are the rooms extremely well appointed but the staff is fantastic: attentive and helpful. The internet works and is extremely reliable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2017

    9.2
    Nice stay, bed was extremely comfortable, I just found the hotel a little odd.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel needs to decide if it is modern or whether it wished to be modern amenities with a 1600 décor theme

    Excellent location for access to the main square, I found the rooms a little odd.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2017

    7.9
    Great location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too expensive, small pool, no jacuzzi, horrible view actualy no view at all, very dark in the room, interior design of the room was old and not luxury. For the same price I can stay in Bristol hotel in Warsaw which is super luxury with great view.

    Location, design of bathroom, friendly staff, great food at the restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2017

    8.3
    Lovely getaway in Krakow
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Price was a bit steep considering the roof top bar was closed. Do not book a taxi through the hotel as staff seems to quote a much higher rate and probably gets a kickback.

    Very close to everything in Krakow. Beautifully done inside the rooms and very comfortable. Pool and spa were great but could have done with a higher temperature.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2017

    10
    My partner and I enjoyed the atmosphere and a great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Alchemical Cross at Hotel's interior entry glass door seems to be missing bottom part... this needs fixing ASAP 😁👍🌹

    Ambience of the place and the connection with the Alchemists of Krakow

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2017

    6.3
    Good location- odd design
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel over all is odd in design didn't work for me, cross between medieval castle meets modern. Not as cool as pictures online. It's over priced.

    It's in great location, hotel is full of interesting design features.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2017

    5.0
    Very disappointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Upon our arrival, the first room that we were booked in had two bugs flying around, no pillows on the bed, the beds looked like beds in a bunk house, the room was dark and very cold looking, and the door that opened to a very small, which they called a balcony almost feel off its hinges into the room. It was awful! The second room was a little better, there were pillows on the bed but the room was not comfortable!!

    The only positive thing I could state about this hotel is that it was convenient to the City Square, otherwise, it was not comfortable and the food was terrible.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2017

    8.8
    Very clean and modern in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooftop bar was closed, it would have been nice to relax there in the evening before heading out.

    Very clean and modern Hotel right in the centre of Krakow, great location for a weekend break.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2017

    8.8
    One of the best locations in Krakow
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit noisy and top floor room had window in roof which couldn't be closed from light

    Location is the best and hotel is beautiful inside. Great design. Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic design, location and care. Can be noisy at night as its so central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bedrooms although interesting interior design, not as cosy as it could be, pillows need upgrading to meet the standards of the other facilities, also would benift from black out curtains.

    Fantastic, design, location and swimming pool gym area

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2017

    7.9
    Unfortunately the treatment from staff and injury I got due...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff Hotel needs directionsome to the sky bar and needs much better lighting on the sky terrace I ended up in plaster. I am unable to work.

    Unfortunately the treatment from staff and injury I got due to the hotels terrible lighting meant I really only enjoyed a small part of the stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2017

    5.8
    Beware when booking the Luxury Suite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Careful when booking the luxury suite as the images of the room that are on the site are not what you are likely to get. There are 4 luxury suites & only one of them looks like the images presented. When we complained about this we got nothing more than a sorry and after much insistence managed to spend one night out of three in the room we originally booked. Needless to say we were very disappointed.

    Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2017

    8.8
    Very enjoyable overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a mix up with who was paying for the shuttle back to the airport. I had specifically asked for it to be put on the bill which I paid. The driver then said, I had to pay, so we phoned the hotel who eventually agreed that I had paid - all unnecessary at 5.30 in the morning! I did not receive a copy of my paid hotel bill which I thought was strange.

    Good beds, nice pool, great location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2017

    9.2
    Best combination of old and new.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you are arriving with your car, the valet parking will cost you 70 zloty, which is a little overpriced considering the cost of the room.

    The hotel is extraordinary, a combination of old and contemporary architecture is fascinating. The location is one of the best, right in the city center. The hotel staff is very friendly and will help you with anything you can possibly ask (don't forget to tip).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2017

    8.8
    Great location, close to the main square but not too close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel looks very clean and taken care of, however we came across two silverfish in our room. Not the worst of bugs, but still I hope it didn't get to my bags and ate my clothes. The buttons to turn lights on and off were difficult to figure out.

    Great location, close to the main square but not too close to be bothered by night noise. Staff was polite and friendly. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2017

    9.6
    Great design hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Service could have been friendlier (but not a big deal for us)

    Incredibly well located, just off the main square of Krakow Great design - modern and chic Excellent food (Michelin 1 star standard) Nice (and well sized) rooms and bathrooms Efficient service Great value for money

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2017

    9.2
    Stylish hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Roof top bar looked like any normal bar, could have put little bit more effort on decoration of that nice area and styling of furnitures. Air condition at the breakfast restaurant had been put on too cold, that I had to wear extra clothes (and it was + 30C outside...). Bed in the room could have been little bit more comfortable as well as more light in the room, it was quite dark even with all lights on.

    Boutique hotel with very nice and cool athmosphere, clean and quiet. Perfect location! And a relaxing spa. Rooms nicely decorated and spacious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2017

    8.3
    Five start hotel in the heart of Cracow
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpets weren't entirely clean. Room had strange smell which perished after opening windows. I asked for iron and ironing desk, the iron was old and leaking. We were disturbed in the evening by hotel staff, who entered the room without my knowledge, that was odd and unpleasant. At checkout I reported a broken bathrobe - they seemed surprised.

    Extra location with discreet entrance. Not too shabby room for this price. Bathroom is terrific - outstanding and extra comfy, highest quality accessories. Very tasty breakfast, I liked fresh berries and blue cheese. I wasn't satisfied with the first room we got, the staff was friendly and understanding so they offered me an exchange. Best part of this hotel is small but pleasant "spa" - beautiful underground swimming pool, saunas, salt chambers.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room had a skylight at the entrance that flooded light into room before I wanted to wake up. The music that was in my bathroom which I assume came from the outside bar was also at times disturbing

    The hotel is beautiful and I would come back for the hotel alone

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2017

    10
    Excellent old world property in old world location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No real variety in breakfast buffet (only an issue if there for more than a few days); coffee available only through a server and 1 cup at a time (i.e no carafe). Roof top bar area (drinks and deserts only) nice if you can get to it. On 3 of the 5 occasions we tried to go there it was booked for private functions.

    Good variety and quality in breakfast buffet. New and old elements of building nicely integrated. Rooms (stayed in 4 different rooms over the stay which was separated in to 2 parts) large and comfortable, but room facing street noisy at night (due to proximity to main square). Bed, pillows and linens not bad, not great. Excellent indoor spa (and salt room!), sauna and pool facility - exercise area not so much.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2017

    7.9
    I would anyhow recommend to stay there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No cattle and coffe machine for Making on your own in the room No separatora radio set or Easy connection for your own music from your smartphone Door mechanizm not fully closing on its own, you must pull the handle to make sure it is closed No access to the sky bar due to wedding party that day

    Location, decoration, Design insight, very nice and pleasant service, breakfast,

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2017

    7.5
    Perfect Location and Amazing Decoration but not Value for Money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Avoid junior suites as they are located on the roof so there are no windows but just roof glasses for light. The sloping roof of the suites is depressing and leaves a lot of space unused Breakfast is poor and valet parking needs 15 minutes to get your car. General not value for money

    The property is perfectly located just steps from central Market Square. It's an old building unique decorated to offer an amazing atmosphere. Lobby and Breakfast areas are perfectly designed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2017

    9.6
    The perfect hotel........
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. Everything was terrific.

    The hotel is beautiful & the staff were extremely helpful. It is very close to the city center & is surrounded by everything you need - restaurants, cafe's,etc. The staff even provided me with a huge packed lunch for one of my day tours. I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2017

    8.3
    Good beds, friendly staff and the best location you can ask for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The view of my room wasn't overlooking the square. But they upgraded me to a bigger room so I really can't complain.

    Extra friendly staff! Good beds and the best location you can ask for!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2017

    10
    I wouldn't stay anywhere else
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were extra friendly helpful and very informative, they helped us find places and buy train tickets The checkout was super speedy, it took like 10 seconds and they did not charge us the coffee and juice we ordered every morning You can't argue that it's the best located hotel in old town square krakow The room was of great size with good lighting and had everything a tourist would need to feel comfortable and what you needed was provided by the housekeeping in a few minutes

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: