Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Załęże

Gliwicka 106, 40-856 Katowice, Poland

#6 of 11 B&Bs and Inns in Katowice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 873 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.3
    big rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was no fridge in the room - we really missed that (for the beers) if somebody is sensitive for bed quality - it is pretty soft, so not the best for backpain

    big rooms 40 min walk from Slaski stadium You can buy beers at the reception shops are really close to the hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    6.7
    Clean room, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower wasn't clean, someone's hair in the shower cabin. No separate towels for face. I have ordered room with double bed but I got 2 separate beds

    Clean room, good breakfast. Near to the center

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.1
    Good value for money and will stay here again.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have only one complaint and despite repeated moans it remains unresolved. The hotel's credit card swiper adamantly refuses to allow me to pay with my card in Polish Zloty, insisting that it wants to inflict on me the abomination of dynamic currency conversion (yet another ruse by greedy bankers), so I only ever pay by cash here now. Other Polish establishments were at one time up to this trick but this is the last place where I still have this problem as I suspect the country has been inundated with complaints from visitors - and rightly so.

    I have stayed at the Zaleze on several previous occasions and find the hotel to be of a perfectly acceptable standard, with reasonably-sized rooms and a good breakfast. The locality is uninspiring, with many older tenement-type buildings from the German era, but you cannot judge a book by its cover and the hotel is fine. It is convenient for the frequent tram service into town (stops almost outside) and their are other restaurants in the near vicinity.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.2
    Excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not that close to the city center, but it's still a walking distance A kettle would be nice

    Excellent breakfast Clean and comfortable room Great value for the price

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.9
    Staying there usually I must admit that their breakfast is...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor sound isolation. It would be really great if mattresses could be less soft

    Staying there usually I must admit that their breakfast is excellent :) The hotel is located just nearby the Silesia Business Park

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    5.8
    Nice staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was an unpleasant smell of burning in the room - initially a whiff that became a bit disturbing after few hours. Room was quite loud. Absolutely no sound insulation - as a consequence I could hear every single word from the busy corridor! I was woken up in the middle of the night by a drunk couple from the neighbouring apartment who were enjoying loud music, singing songs etc. While this may happen everywhere, the staff did not tackle the problem effectively and it took few hours for them until they were able to force the couple to open the door. It was well possible to barricade in the room - simply inserting a key inside, which effectively disabled access from outside. Strange! I did not feel secure and I had a terrible, sleepless night here. Breakfasts are poor, lack of wholemeal bread, which I like, vegetables tasted like withered, ingredients could be of a better quality!

    Nice staff. I was offered a locked car parking. Relatively good location. Big desk and armchair in the room make them convenient for work.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.8
    Very good hotel, spotless, staff very nice with very good breakfast for the value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room didn't t had a married bed although, had space enough.

    Very good breakfast, very clean room with lots of space , close to city center with a tram stop at the door.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    9.5
    Νice comfortable bed, plenty of room space, excellent...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    They charged us about 20euros more than the arranged total price through booking. We were in a great rush to create a fuss about this.

    Νice comfortable bed, plenty of room space, excellent breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.9
    Staff were helpful, secure parking and the breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room wasn't cleaned once in the 3 days I was there. To be fair I didn't ask, I was leaving a tip out each morning and hoping the cleaners had been in, but nobody did. Needless to say the tip wasn't left when I checked out!

    Staff were helpful, secure parking and the breakfast was excellent!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    5.8
    Business stay in Katowice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was really not that good and safe as advertised. Yet, not too far from the city centre. The wifi did not work although was included in the price. The room was very dark.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    This is a pleasant, modern hotel that is a good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The neighborhood looks a little run down but we felt safe walking in the evening.

    The rooms were nice with a few added touches such as complementary bottled water. Check in was easy and the staff's English was good. Parking was gated and convenient. The breakfast was very nice. A great variety of items that were pleasantly presented satisfied all in our group of four. The restaurant in the hotel was good and reasonably priced for an evening meal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    5.8
    Forget sleep if somebody desides to party all night
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms doors are simple wooden doors, with no sound insulation, so you can hear everything whats happening in the hotel. If you are "lucky" as we were and there are people in the hotel who do not care about others and has a party all night all over the hotel, there will be no sleep. The staff does not bother to take care of it. Also, the parking is not big, so if hotel is busy, there is no space to park your car. Staff does not care about it too, informs you quite angrily that you can not block other cars and do whatever you want...

    Easy to find, pet friendly ,rooms are big, comfortable beds. Breakfast was ok, but the coffee reminds hot water more than coffee.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.5
    Comfy, clean, excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There are some homeless people near the hotel in the evenings. People in the shops only know polish.

    Bed comfy, bathroom clean. Excellent breakfast every day. Very kind and helpful staff. It's in an area where there are many locals, not a hotel area. Tram stop right in front (5 minute ride to city center). Market 100 meters away.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    6.7
    Good for staying overnight but don't expect any romantic hideaway from the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shabby neighborhood and hotel corridors too have seen better times a decade or two ago. Not much you can do about a bunch of locals drinking beer and chatting throughout the evening in the backyard and relieving themselves with increasing frequency in the bushes beneath your window either...

    Big and nice rooms, professional staff very good breakfast in the morning. Food store Biedronka just around the corner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.2
    Definitely a pleasant stay & great sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rather a busy street outside the window. It may bother others, though we slept like babies.

    Spacious room, varied and delicious breakfast comparable to luxury hotels. Very comfy bed. Separate parking area exclusive to the hotel. Supplementary water bottles each day, room cleaned and bed made, shampoo, soap and towels provided. Lift inside the building. All spotlessly clean. Helpful staff, good contact. Very much recommended, would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    8.3
    impressions from Zaleze
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from the room is not the nicest thing we ever saw (old vicinity,ruined building),but we didn't come for the view.

    After reading some of reviews, I expected to find worse object,in awful part of the town,poor breakfast,etc. However,it was all different. Room was comfortable and clean,as well as bathroom,we had perfect wifi and rich breakfast full of different products,and there were plentitude of buses and trams going on every 3-5 minutes to city center. They even let us had a drink upon arrival despite the fact that restaurant just closed. Surrounding is quite and good for sleeping.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.8
    Good value stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms had no air con so had to have window open. Our room was above bear garden so was very noisey.

    Staff were very friendly on checkin, the room was a good size, wifi in the room was good and breakfast had a good selection. 20 minute walk into town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    7.5
    It was a little strange that on one evening when we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a little strange that on one evening when we requested dinner at the hotel restaurant, they said they couldn't accommodate us. After discovering the reason was that they needed the dinner restaurant to prepare for an event the following day, it took much negotiation and discussion to convince them to simply seat us in the breakfast area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    7.9
    Helpful staff, a secure parking place nearby.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scary depressive surrounfings, after 22:00 you should walk a few kilometers or take a tram to find a place for eating, though if you are fine enough with a kebab there is a place nearby, as an option you can order a pizza to the hotel. Wi-Fi was really pure (it seems to be that its quality depends on a location of your room)

    Helpful staff, a secure parking place nearby. Breakfast was still various and tasty

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel, clean and spacious rooms, nice breakfast with...
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Far from the city center.

    Good hotel, clean and spacious rooms, nice breakfast with good variety of food. The restaurant, big supermarket, and tram stop in few steps. 24 hours reception desk with friendly english speaking staff. Free WIFI in the room and public areas.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.9
    Really great breakfast with different things to choose from.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surroundings are not so attractive. Sound isolation between rooms is not strong

    Really great breakfast with different things to choose from. I liked a bed, slept very well

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    8.3
    simple but comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    simple but comfortable room, good breakfast with decent choice of dishes, nice staff, big, fenced and free parking. Tram stops nearby. Only few minutes by tram to the city center.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    10
    Awesome place for a good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very pleasant accomodation. Rooms are cozy and clean + have nice big bathrooms. Staff is awesome and very helpful. They also have their own parking place with some security devices. And the last but not least - great breakfast! 10/10 would stay there again!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    9.6
    normal hotel for a good price
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The city of Katowice so depressing, low-life.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, including the restaurant personnel. Very nice with dogs. Really good breakfast, better than we expected, especially for such price.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    7.1
    Could be nicer
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked if the hotel had access for wheelchair, they said it did but I faced problems because front door has about 15 or more stairs. But the worst is that they denied their mistake and even didn't say sorry.

    The room was nice, really big, very clean and stylish.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    4.2
    I get what I pay for
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was very bad

    I get what I pay for

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    Very good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    Very good and clean room, breakfast good, hotel is very easy to find, location is good - not far from centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    5.0
    the stuff weren/t nice and helpfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the stuff weren/t nice and helpfull

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.2
    Very easy no complications
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was not working one day

    Very easy no complications

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.2
    Tram stay next to hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to connect to wifi Slippery main stairs Nothing more

    Tram stay next to hotel Delicious breakfast Beer on reception

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    6.7
    near my final destination, so OK for me.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Global environment of the hotel, breakfast poor quality, old hotel, and bed not very confortable

    near my final destination, so OK for me. Price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    8.3
    Restaurant open till 22:00, tasty food.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite old and simple hotel, but clean, no problem.

    Restaurant open till 22:00, tasty food. Monitored hotel parking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.5
    Good parking area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All sounds from outside are too well to hear. Not enough curtains to darkness room.

    Good parking area. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.6
    Clean and tidy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    industrial district

    Clean and tidy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    4.2
    ----
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    ----

    ---

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.3
    No A/C in rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No A/C in rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.9
    It was too hot in the room, no air.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was too hot in the room, no air.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    9.6
    Clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Clean rooms. Very good breakfast. Fast Wi-Fi. Very good and free parking. We could leave car at private car park after check-out and take it later.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    9.6
    A very nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lady at the reception

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    7.5
    Breakfast v good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast v good. Staff friendly. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    9.2
    Right near the centre, strong WI-FI, secure parking space,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very soft matresses. The room had a slight smell, either someone smoked or the carpet is in a serious need of steamcleaning. Otherwise the room was spotless.

    Right near the centre, strong WI-FI, secure parking space, tasty breakfast

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    10
    the location was great, the staff was really nice and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the location was great, the staff was really nice and parking spots were neat and secure. A great service for the price.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    9.6
    Staff were helpful when we changed our room, the room we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were helpful when we changed our room, the room we ended up in was great, lovely clean bathroom; overall, a very happy stay (satisfied)

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    9.2
    Excellent value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Harsh towels, but other than that none!

    Excellent value for money!

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    5.4
    cold water
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    cold water

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    8.3
    Service from the staff,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    .....could follow up the breakfast boufe´ better.

    Service from the staff,

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    5.4
    the hotel inside was not too bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    no wifi in room; staff spoke almost no English not in a nice area

    the hotel inside was not too bad cheap

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    7.9
    Nice clean place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nice clean place. Stayed only one night. Good location. Good price!

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    10
    Everything was great!
    • Couple

    Everything was great! Me, my husband and our cats was very glad!

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    8.8
    Cold on room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Cold on room

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    4.2
    There was no hot water in the evening!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no hot water in the evening! I would never give a star to a hotel without hot water. We cannot speak for 3stars. We cannot reccomend it.

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Guests also reviewed these properties: