Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pensjonat Stara Karczma 3 stars

Stary Rynek Oliwski 7, Oliwa, 80-324 Gdańsk, Poland

#20 of 103 B&Bs and Inns in Gdańsk

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 810 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bread rolls wasn't fresh, basically no choice between old bread rolls and brown bread. They should provide fresh bakery products as plenty Bakery shops are around etc

    Nice frendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel and staff were absolutely fabulous. They shared all the information about the local attractions and how to get there, and they made our stay easy and pleasant. Breakfast was really good and there was a vast range of products to choose from.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is not air conditioned but the rooms cool down nicely at night and it is safe enough to leave the window open. Wifi didn't work well for me; rooms are not very soundproof if you have noisy neighbors. These few minor items do not take anything away from this great place to stay.

    Wonderful staff--The blond gentlemen who assisted me on arrival was extremely nice, helpful and accommodating. I requested a different room for ventilation so I could leave the window open at night and he quickly found me another one (#34) which was perfect. I suspect it was an upgraded room but there was no additional charge; all of the staff I encountered were just great; lovely property and overall layout; larger than normal sized rooms; nice furnishings and decor; reasonable rates; good location in the heart of the Gdansk Oliwa area near several parks; easy access to bus and tram lines and a 10-15 minute walk from the Oliwa SKM station; clean room, bathroom, linen and towels; min-frig in the room; decent selection of cable TV stations; wonderful mattress for a great night's sleep; great bathroom soaps and gels; Excellent breakfast at an inexpensive rate with made-to-order eggs. Ukrainian restaurant on the lower level of the hotel. Unfortunately I didn't get a chance to try it during this stay but I will the next time. The menu looks great and they have karaoke on Fridays. Lots of coffee shops and restaurants in the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No soap in the bathroom, it was little cold in the room.

    Very nice, cameral hotel in Oliwa district, close to the park, zoo and from bus stop close to hotel there is direct bus going to Sopot.From my room I had nice view to the church.Breakfast was ok, nothing special.There is teapot in the room, to make tea/coffe.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There could be more restaurants in the area, The Jak Sie Masz bistro serves good food for reasonable prices,

    I really like the fact that it is such a quaint and quiet location, Oliwa is a real gem with the Park and Cathedral just at the doorstep of the hotel, The Zoo is near by and the whole area gets quiet early in the evening so after a whole day of work or sightseeing you can switch off and not look at crowds anymore.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could include vegetarian food such as fried potatoe but it is just a suggestion.

    The boys in the reception desk were both super! The blond one was a great info giver and the dark haired and bearded guy was so understanding and helpful. The place is good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room only had a roof window, so no views.

    Nice old building (though my room was in the new part) in the old town, rather quiet despite the busy street because the rooms face an inner yard. Nice and friendly staff. Good wifi. Very clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    limited parking place

    situated in the heart of Oliwa, 3min from Oliwa Park and famous Cathedral. Well communicated with ring road. Nice breakfast and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The wifi connection speed is not too good. And in the sleeping room there is no waste bin.

    Quite nice and friendly staffs and they can speak fluent English. The decoration style is my favorite, and the sleeping environment is very quite. The distance to the tram station is about 10 mins. walking, and thus it is not very hard to go to the old town. If anyone would like to visit Sopot, it will be the choice for accomodation:)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There should be some towel holders / dryers in the bathrom.

    Perfect location near to large park, zoo, famous Oliwa cathedral, tram to beach and city center. Room has electric cattle.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Many thanks to the reception lady Mikhalina who who showed my two rooms and let me choose the one I liked, this is very kind attitude making the guest come back again

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice place, at one side nearby is a beautiful garden for walking , at another side is a mountain where on the top is a nice view. Helpful staff ! I liked everything! Thank you for hosting me )) Hopefully to stay again !

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I am sorry to say I did not enjoy the coffee you offer That is the only complaint I have.

    very good breakfast and very clean rooms and excellent staff The position is good and very central to everything. My family live just around the corner and was so easy to see them as I did not need transport .I have stayed many times and intend to stay many more.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My stay was pretty good. The bed was comfortable, the facilities were good. Its situated in a lovely, quiet neighborhood. Especially loved the tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that we didn't like

    The staff went out of their way to help us. Nothing was too much trouble. They helped us with transport or any questions we had. They supplied tea or coffee when ever we wanted it. So friendly & helpful always. Opposite botanic Gardens too which were glorious

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking place which was decribed as available for free was not free. Nevertheless there was enough place to leave the car without paying.

    We went to differnet hotes in gdansk. The hotel wasn't as modern as others, but the rooms were clean and we felt comfortable immediately. On top of this the breakfast was great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Coffee could be better

    Friendly staff, really large room, comfortable bed, coffee and tea making facilities in the room, very peaceful location, very good breakfast (a lot of choice)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the street.

    Very easy to reach by car. Rooms nice and with all equipment we needed. Good starting point for Tri-City trips. Safe parking place (paid extra). Nice atmosphere, friendly staff. We appreciated our apartment with a small kitchen. Pleasant surroundings.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stopped in this place for one night. We arrived really late at 2am and the night staff greeted us. Very beautiful interior of the place and the room, lovely design. Very polite and helpfull staff. There was a wide range to chose from at breakfast which we really enjoyed. 10 mins drive to the beach and there is a zoo nearby.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi setup seemingly not dimensioned to cope with number of guests. Unable to connect half of the time. Walls seem very thin and rooms are badly insulated to sound. Woke up in middle of night because the neighbour was unlocking his door and it sounded like he was entering our room instead of his own.

    Pretty, cozy gated yard for bikes and cars. Nice forge-iron details across the hotel. Decent breakfast on the second day when it was properly stocked. Spacious room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We came from England and we found out by our polish family herethat our grandparents live there after the war. We were amazed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the headboard on the bed,its beautiful but uncomfortable

    everything

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite far from the center of Gdańsk

    Nice hotel in a great location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed more pillows

    Amazing place with character

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful, cozy room. Room is much better then on photo. Good location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast, nice personal

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only avarege coffee, bed could be softer

    Nice atmosphere, polite personal, great breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi fi was bad

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would like bit stronger water power in shower.

    Convenient location, very friendly stuff, clean room, easy and safe parking, very good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge at room

    Lovely breakfast and nice staff, clean and tidy room, opposite a beautiful park

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was super friendly, location was excellent for walking, room size, bath tub, breakfast was great, comfortable, close to airport.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to Oliwa Park,tram is few hundred meters away.Nice place.Big bathroom!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I really recommend the cosy hotel. Its very nice, friendly service, very clean, delicious polish breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only problem I found is TV channels available, list of channels are short without many really needed for travelers etc.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was extremely helpful and even booked train/bus tickets for us.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is close to a busy street.

    Spacious rooms with full equipment, nicely arranged and very cosy. Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet connection was missing at all. There were no TV channels in English.

    Everything was excellent except internet connection.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    everything

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A very good small hotel, conveniently located to transport facilities and providing breakfast in the room price

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Ventilation was a nightmare. Very thin matrass and dust in the matrass. Shower was not clean and a lot of noise From The cleaners and the other customers.

    Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The building was fine; breakfast ample and tasty. The staff was particularly helpful when my wife and I needed to leave at 4:00 a.m. for the airport, reliably securing a taxi and giving us tea and coffee and a packed breakfast to take with us.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we didn't like that one bed consisted of 2 mattresses only!! we didn't like that there were no mirrors in either bedroom. would have been nice to have some hooks as nowhere to put wet towels. didn't like the stairs as we very often went down them with just socks on so had to be very careful - shoes were downstairs in the hall cupboard. Staff could have looked a little happier at times. We did not like the fact that there was no shower curtain or screen as the floor got very very wet as did our towels and clothes.

    we liked the price,location,cleanliness. we loved having the balcony. Breakfast was of a good selection, and staff were very aware of any 'topping up' to be done. we liked that there were a few shops around which we could get our daily bits & bobs in. Also great location for trams buses etc.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    for those looking for a room in city centre: here is slightly far from the old town, but can access there by tram in 20 minutes time.

    very helpful and kind staff! they solves each of my problem including changing my room minutes after I checked in as there was some noise coming next doors. they even didn't question my request. very clean place.delicious and assorted breakfast. comfortable rooms.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bed and pillows were a bit too soft for my liking, and while the room was a no smoking room, people would smoke right below my window, which would infuse the room with the smell of smoke.

    The staff and the facilities were very nice. It is a very pretty, well-maintained property.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There is nothing we were unhappy about. It's not quite in the town centre, it's about 3 miles away but that didn't bother us.

    The apartment was very big, with two separate bedrooms, kitchen, dining area, and sitting area, and bathroom. It was well equipped and very comfortable. It also offers secure car parking. The staff were fabulous, helpful and polite and nothing was too much bother. They spoke English too which was a great help. This is a little "find" and we will happily return there.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Slight traffic noise as on a main road but slept well.

    Staff were fantastic, very friendly and helpful. Oliwa Park is lovely, cathedral and museum. Great Classic restaurant nearby, highly recommend. Tram only 20 minutes into Gdansk centre.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    TV signal not good quality.

    good breakfast, very friendy staff, I will be back to this hotel again.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great personal service, good location, good breakfast, great roomy comfortable rooms :)

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no plug in sink

    friendly helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It is a little a little noisy.

    Roomy, comfortable apartment and friendly staff!

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very noisy when other guests were at outside tables (until late)

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Love the quiet location. Enjoy the organ concert at near by church. Breakfast is sufficient.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed's pillows is not comfortable (too think)

    Suitable parking, calm place of hotel.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A little too far from old town, but we managed to know other areas, too. Olivia area is gorgeous.

    Personnel is helpful, initiative and understanding.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    • Family with older children

    Very nice hotel, excellent food and very helpful staff

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Browse Pensjonat Stara Karczma traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: