Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Pod Wawelem 3 stars

pl. Na Groblach 22, Old Town, 31-101 Kraków, Poland

#115 of 269 hotels in Kraków

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1792 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, poor wifi, better when sitting outside!

    Location was good for river view and a nice walk through the park to the old town. Breakfast was relaxed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Side River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing i didn’t like but I would have preferred a bath than just a shower but this didn’t let the hotel down at all.

    Great location and excellent staff and the food at the hotel was so good as we had the chicken in truffle sauce and it’s one of the best meals I’ve ever had highly recommend and you won’t be disappointed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the breakfast was very limited, there was always something missing like eggs, tomatoes, cheese ... I wouldnt pay extra for it

    great location and super nice service

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet breakfast could be improved on, sausage (hot dog style) scrambled egg and beans were the only hot plates on offer. Only one coffee machine available so had to queue at times.

    Comfy clean room, restaurant meals excellent and great value for money. Bedroom was spotless with free toiletries supplied and tea and coffee machine in room. Main square about a ten minute walk and castle located next door.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One down side was the outdoor theatre, little noisy but just unfortunate on the timing of our stay, also seemed very popular with the locals so 50 for and 2 against, what does it matter.

    The location was perfect and the food was tremendous in the roof top restaurant. The desk staff did a great job in giving us information and booking our trip. Breakfast was a joy. Poland and the people where an unexpected pleasure. Thank you for making our stay in Krakow a pleasurable one.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant had two doors open it is very dark & the brown table covers don’t inspire confidence that all is spotlessly clean. To reach the food at the breakfast buffet you have to lean over the food at the front..unhygienic in my opinion.There is far too much stuff on the buffet table it looks a bit of a mess.The room in the hotel is fine but eat somewhere else.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of reception staff a little grumpy and unhelpful.

    Fantastic hotel, perfect location next to castle and 10 minutes from main square. Great breakfast, clean rooms and added bonus of bar and restaurant on the roof to end perfect days. Hotel booked Auchwitz tickets fior me which was a bonus as they had sold out online. I had a hire car but did the trip picked up very near hotel and was good value.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Welcoming staff, superb location, comfortable bed and room. Plus you can have not only the breakfast but other meals there, including on the rooftop terrace with beautiful views. We would come again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little too hard for me and towels were very worn (one had a hole in it).

    Excellent situation. Roof top bar/restaurant well worth a visit, but food was average and service was slow. Breakfast was more than adequate. Reception was very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not very friendly and on check out they tried to overcharge us. After 10 minutes of argument they agreed that we were correct with little or no apology

    Location is fantastic as well as the views from the rooftop bar

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No hot water in my room. I was treated like if it was my fault... I could only shower on the second day... No compensation offered by the hotel. Traveling often to Krakow -> this hotel is expensive considering the service quality.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Side River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and not enough space for two people. Also the bathroom was small and had no body wash other than small soap.

    The location of the hotel was good as it was closer to the city by walk and also to the venue hotel of our official event.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in the room.

    Very clean and fresh! Beds were very comfortable! Windows that opened all the way. Great great great location !!! Very tasty breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Side River View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I cannot think of anything negative to say about this hotel other than we were dissapointed not to be able to book a table for dinner. The hotel's policy prevents booking at weekends.

    Choices at breakfast were excellent covering all tastes. My wife and I were allocated a suite which I presume was due to being the lead name of a visiting group. The gesture was very much appreciated. The hotels location is superb giving great access to the Old Town and areas beyond either on foot or public transport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air conditioning in the room is very noisy and can only be turned off by ringing the reception. There should be an A/C control in the room. The breakfast could do with a better offer of fruit .

    Helpful staff , very clean and modern room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Small room - Strange smell in the hall & in the room - Parking with fee - Crappy TV

    - Great location - Nice breakfast - Free WiFi - Great value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Side River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was hard and uncomfortable.

    The check-in process was lightning fast. I would stay there again just for that check-in experience. Being right next to the castle and the river is also a plus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Riverview
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was nothing to dislike about the hotel!

    The location of the hotel was excellent with lovely views of the castle and river and easy access to the Main square and the Jewish quarter. The roof terrace serving food and drinks was a great place to relax. The breakfast was really good with a very wide choice of food on offer .We were very pleased with our twin bedded room (107) as we had dual aspect views but this was a superior room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very hard and two single duvets for a double bed

    The location was perfect, very nice roof top terrace bar, served great hot chocolate with cherry liquor

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the only downside was that it was quite noisy in the hotel however this wouldn't stop me staying there again.

    the location is great, the breakfast is amazing! so much choice! filled us up for the day. loved the rooftop bar too - fab for sunset

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view from the window was into the yard, so it might have been better.

    The breakfast was excellent- the choice was wide and every day different. The location near the Wawel castle was wonderful! They even recommended us where to park and not pay for it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location, close to the castle Very friendly and helpful staff Room very warm and comfortable, good view over the river Breakfast was fine with good selection Cannot fault this hotel. Recommended

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fire escape staircase used to store chairs/ boxes

    The hotel offers a warm welcome and warm comfortable rooms - the breakfast is excellent value and the restaurant food is very good . Location is the main thing - EXCELLENT location, with underground car park adjacent and views over the river Wisla.. certainly excellent value for money !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The menu was very non-polish. The staff could smile a little more.

    The location is very good, right next to the Castle. the breakfast was also very nice. The top floor restaurant offered some very nice views of the castle and the river and the food was also very nice. The 2-person sauna was a very nice surprise.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Delux Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - we booked a double bed and were given a room with twin beds. We informed the receptionist about it and the following day a thin mattress was put on the twin beds so that they seem like a double bed however they still moved apart.

    - the staff were rather nice and tried to help when we requested help - the breakfast was good and there was a lot of items to choose from - we booked superior rooms which were rather comfortable - the view of the river from the third floor is pretty amazing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Delux Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - hotel staff were very nice and helpful with whatever we needed. We needed to book a taxi at 12am and they did not only get a good price for us but also prepared us a packed lunch since we would miss the breakfast. - hotel rooms are very comfortable, we stayed in the superior double room which was very spacious and well kept. - breakfast was divine! - hotel is 5mins walk from Krupowski street where the main restaurants and shops are - the spa area with jacuzzi and sauna which are included with the room price are amazing especially in the sub zero temperatures

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no safety deposit box and the tv was very small considering the size of the room.

    Breakfast was very good with a lot of variety. The shower was amazing and the beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Delux Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress and pillows are not too comfortable. The heating system goes on and off all day and night and it's very noisy.

    Good hotel in a great location, between the main square and the Jewish neighborhood. The hotel is very clean and the staff is helpful. The breakfast is perfect as it has a lot of choice!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel, perfect location and spotlessly clean. Varied range of breakfast. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Side River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some difficulties with access to wifi.

    Perfect location, near the centre and close to the starting point of many excursions. Nice view on park and river, nice and clean room, good beds, good restaurant with lovely view, good breakfast. Good tourist information from the people at the reception. Cheap underground car park just in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was not very comfortable and noise from the other rooms carries quite easily. One or two TV channels had poor reception.

    Excellent location, wonderful breakfast, delicious dinner. Fabulous view and very nice staff. I always returned in the evening to find my room sparkling clean and new complimentary bottles of water by my bedside!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Delux Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sparse provision of bath tubs in the hotel. (Only one in any of the rooms)

    Most rooms have good views from window. The corner superior rooms are excellent. The only drawback is that only one room in the whole hotel has a bath - Rather a pity if you wish to soak for a while with your partner! The showers however are excellent. The breakfast food is good . The rooftop bar very well appointed with excellent views especially at night. Food is good hot and substantial here too. Plates however are cold!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would have been a better experience if hotel staff when we arrived were more helpful. Felt like he didn't like his job. We asked him about food as it was late when we arrived, didn't get much information from him, only "the square". When its dark and your in a new place, "the square" isn't helpful. Took us a few days to find our bearings as we didn't bother asking for more help after this.

    Breakfast was okay. Hotel was secure & close to tram line.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arrival all towels were laying on the top blanket on which some people put feet in shoes! Does somebody care about hygiene at the hotel?! No safe in the room, uncomfortable pillows. TV is very small, size like PC.

    Situated in historical place, in 5min walking to castle, a little bit more to main square.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Riverview
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I could not fault this hotel. Great value for money.

    Excellent location. Very helpful staff. Very clean and good breakfasts. They arranged good taxi transfers to/from the Airport (and tours). Very nice roof top restaurant and bar with wonderful views of the river and castle. Our room 406 also overlooked the river so do try and get one of those rooms if possible. Large nice shower. An excellent hotel so many thanks to the staff for a great stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing was bad but the room was a touch cool and there were no biscuits but nothing to complain about. Also it could have done with conditioner alongside the shampoo

    The staff were really friendly and helpful. It was a great location, right next to the castle. Roof top bar was lovely especially with the snow. Good breakfast and comfortable room which was clean and modern.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast area could have been a little bit more organised. 2 slice toaster not adequate for number of guests however, food offered was ideal to start your day

    Friendly helpful staff, clean rooms and great location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Delux Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were nice but not overly friendly. The roof top bar didn't always stay open till 11 as stated.

    Fabulous location. Our rooms were side by side on 2nd floor overlooking the Vistula river and the Wawel Castle. These rooms are slightly more expensive but worth it. Very easy to locate and within close walking distance to the Main Square. Brilliant views from the roof top restaurant/bar

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just three parking places in front of Hotel , always occupied. Its possible to park in underground house in about 50-100m from Hotel, with price 60PLN/day. Double bed with divided mattresses in the middle.

    Very good location, reasonable price. Excelent breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed in the room directly below the restaurant/bar, during the evening it was very noisy. Each foot step above sounded like someone stomping on the roof, not ideal when trying to get an early night. Also, the pillows were just not comfortable, the air conditioning was a little noisy too.

    Location is great, not too far away from old town square and right next to the castle.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Riverview
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room mess up was unfortunate and it made us all late for our dinner reservation.

    The very best thing about this hotel was its excellent location. As this was our second visit to this hotel it was pretty much what we expected. There was a large mess up regarding our three rooms as none of them had double beds but we got there in the end.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was not spacious and could have used a mini fridge. Pillows were too flat and too big.

    The location is very near Wawel Castle and few minutes away from the market square. A few minutes away from Kazimirez district. The view from the hotel is fantastic. A bus station nearby (Jubilat) made transportation easier. The breakfast was vast and very well served. Staff is nice and talk in good English - communication was easy. The restaurant upstairs is not pricey and very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was a bit uncomfortable & no toiletries provided other than shampoo

    The breakfast at the hotel were very good indeed, fantastic value for money. Hotel was in a great location, spotlessly clean & very friendly, helpful staff. Overall the furnishings in the bedrooms were basic but adequate. Would definitely recommend & would look forward to staying there again

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Side River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only downsides were that the beds were so uncomfortable full of lumps and bumps so they need sorting out. The curtains were really cheap looking and didn't fit the whole of the window which was Ok for me because I don't like them fully closed but one of our party likes to sleep in darkened room.

    The hotel was not 5 star but was good value for money. Staff very friendly, great location and food good. Much to my surprise, because of the hotel star rating, the upstairs restaurant food was excellent. In the warmer months this area would be an outside restaurant with superb views over the River Vistula and Wawel Castle.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Side River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing which could have been better is for there to have been fresh milk (or small cartons of UHT) in the room for making hot drinks (and better coffee).

    Breakfasts were excellent. Staff couldn't have been more helpful. Everything very close by. Taxi driver turned up when booked. Lots of great things to see all very nearby. Most attractions within walking distance.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Riverview
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One or two more toiletries in the bathroom please.

    Room was very clean and lovely and warm. View from room was amazing. Lovely view of the river. Beds were not too firm but were very comfortable. Breakfast was good. Plenty to choose from. Coffee good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small .the Breakfast was nothing special very avarage. Basicly the location of the hotel was the only +. Also the Receptionists Mr Gabo was very rude at our request for late check out (2 hours)and he didn't sugest any solution other, his reply was NO! Even thow tha we were allowed from booking (as genius mebber) this hotel was not given the privilage . Room was full of animal hair.!!

    Location of hotel. Near central square 10 minute walk. Castle is opposite the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roof top bar and restaurant with fantastic view. Hotel recommended taxi who was waiting for us when we cleared customs. We had early flight home and the hotel gave us a picnic as we were too early for breakfast - great hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have a little more variety. Sometimes the food was cold.

    Staff always friendly and helpful. Hotel clean and in a good location. Very close to Wawel Castle and 15 minute walk to main square. Hotel price is reasonable. Only took 20 minutes to get to the airport via taxi. Amazing roof terrace bar with great views over the river.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was ok but could have been better. Toaster broke and they did not replace it and the breakfast staff did not seem bothered

    The location of the hotel, Staff friendly on reception, Beds comfy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location distance from centre and no bars or good restaurant nearby, had to use taxis whereby extra expense incurred

    Staff were excellent and made holiday

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I cannot think of one thing I did not like.

    You can only imagine this hotel as your perfect place to stay in Krakow. Fabulous location at the foot of the Castle right on the river bank, cozy interiors, delectable choice of foodstuffs at breakfast. Informal and warm reception by all members of staff. All at very moderate price.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the pillows- they were too big and not firm enough. The breakfast could be improved with more fresh fruit.

    It was very nice to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room. It was also good to have Spanish tv channels on the TV. The location was excellent- only a short walk to the main square.Wawel castle is very nearby.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like about this property. I would happily recommend and hope to stay again in thr future.

    Perfect location and all staff were wonderful, very friendly and accommodating. A quiet square right next to Wawel Castle, a lovely bar and restaurant on the roof and right on the river. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful, with a huge selection of hot and cold options. Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows were a little to soft, could have done with an extra one. English channels on TV would have been a great.

    The location was perfect, close to all main attractions. The rooms were exceptionally clean and cleaned everyday with fresh towels. The beds were also comfortable. Breakfast also had a good selection of food and set us up for a full day of sightseeing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We could only find one English speaking channel. There was English movies on but there was someone speaking over them in Polish, there maybe away of turning this off but we didn't ask, deciding to read a book to fall asleep! The Wifi in our room was useless, connecting and disconnecting continuously, maybe this is to make you come to the bar I don't know! Upon my return home I realised I had left a usb memory stick in the room, so I emailed to ask if this could be posted to me. They want to charge me 50 Zolty which is €12 roughly, that's crazy! its a tiny memory stick that would fit in a small envelope, so I'm not very happy. The coffee machine at breakfast was on the blink every morning, so we never got a full cup and what we did get was extremely strong. I ordered a burger one evening and asked not to have the Whiskey sauce, preferring just Mayo, unfortunately I think the burger was cooked in whiskey, the taste was so strong. The bar service needs speeding up, it took almost 20 minutes to get a Coke with a glass of ice and a Vodka and Tonic, there was only six people in the place!

    Good selection for breakfast. Although I am not much of a breakfast person or very fond of European style. I did love the croissants and pancakes. I would recommend eating a good early breakfast and get out and walk by 9 am. Hotel is in a fantastic location. The main square is 15 minutes walk , with lots of interesting shops and restaurants along the way. The Jewish Quarter and Schindlers Factory is a good 30 minute walk along the river, passing the Castle and down to the 2nd bridge (it's blue), cross over this bridge and down to the main street, then turn to the left. Ask for directions if needed, people are very helpful. Don't forget to visit the Pharmacy Under The Eagle and the Square of Heroes which are along the way but are very easily missed. The Hotel are very helpful and will organize any tours you would like, such as Wieliczka Salt Mine or of course Auschwitz-Birkenau. I walked all over the city to see the sites but you can of course go on the city tour, which the Hotel will again organize for you. The food in the hotel is good at either the ground floor restaurant or the roof top restaurant, I would highly recommend trying the Hot Chocolate with Cherry Vodka, it's amazing! There is good wifi access in the ground floor bar/restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Delux Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little cold in the bedroom of a night and the thermostat didn’t seem to work but then I heard from others in the party their rooms were too hot so not a huge criticism.

    Superb location for touring Kraków. 10 minute walk to centre. Loads to do. Great views over river. Loved our stay. Rooms always clean and a great base for the week.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Side River View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    not enough vegetarian choices, but to be fair the whole of Poland has that problem not just the hotel. Also why put 2 coffee and 2 tea bags in the room and only provide whitener for coffee... On arrival we were told that there was a shortage of places at Auschwitz and getting the hotel to book for us was best option, that's very clearly not true, every other shop on the high street offers trips at half the price that the hotel offered. Wanted 2 rooms for 2 single people, but these were unavailable, had to book 2 double rooms but there is no single supplement, so ate 2 breakfasts every day to get my moneys worth....

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness of this hotel is 2nd to none. Staff are very friendly and hotel is in a very good area next to the castle. Breakfast selection is very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Side River View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    At the hotel top restaurant, We should only have a thea, we had eate at an another restaurant, the waiter on the bar on the top at the hotel come and asked several times, should we order food, should we order desert: We had planed to sit there and take a thea and look at the pc but then we left the bar andt went to a restaurant nearby with excelent service and there we order meal and desert.

    To come to the walking street go out of the hotel take left and walk to the top of the street where the street opp to the castle begin and cross the street and walk at the park street and cross the street once and twice and forward to the main street The big church with the music play every hour is there. If you should buy cosmetic or clothes, se tax free and aske the shop to fill out the blanket and you will get back the tax at the airplace, go first to the custom before entering the secure control and get a stamp and so toe the currency desk and you will get back tax in PLN. Security passing took two hours so be there in good time location , At the railway station is the mall a big shopping senter. There is a bigger outside the town, 40 pln for a taxi and there is a outlet outside town,named Factory . Security passing took two hours so be there in good time y station. At the hotel a bar on the top floor Very sheap food at the restaurants, a fine restaurant nearby named pod wawelen restaurant , sheap and big portions, go to the street whren the street to the caslte begin and cross the street and walk a little down the park street

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard room a little small,a very narrow space to get in/out of bed. River view excellent ,had a late lunch before leaving, very good.

    Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No fridge or safe in the rooms

    Good breakfast with lots of variety, location good right next to The Castle. Staff spoke good English and were very helpful and Polite. The rooftop bar and Restaurant are a bonus, good views of the Castle and river.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV I couldn't get to work and I would know small bit about tech. so we never used. air con also wouldnt work or was broke.

    food was nice in general. breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our room air conditioning did not work on this latest trip (Sept/October 2017). The staff attempted to fix this, but to no avail. We were fortunate in particular at this time of the year, the weather wasn't hot, but still, at temps dropping between 5 and 9 degrees at night, the room held the warmth pretty well and would be too stuffy without flowing air. We had to leave the window open all day and all night to keep the room in a cool state. To be fair, we were offered to change rooms on our second night (5 nights), but decided to stay in the same room. We would have definitely changed rooms if the weather was any warmer or hot temps. We have stayed at other European 3 star hotels and have been provided with a mini fridge, which would have been good and really a must in warm rooms. Have a think about this Hotel Pod Wawelem and maybe something for the future ? !

    The location is excellent for us in particular. The food {breakfast} is excellent. We did not have any other meals. It has a super rooftop café and restaurant with fantastic views.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff friendly, the rooms are quite small but cosy and very clean, beds very comfy. The rooftop restaurant show lovely views of Wawel castle and Vistula River. Location very good. Will go back to this hotel when we visit Krakow again. Our first visit and found it to be a lovely clean vibrant city.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit cold, because we arrived in the evening and the window was open and, as far as I understood, in the period we stayed at the hotel (first half of September) the heating was not in operation yet, so there was not the possibility to warm up. The day after we tried to solve asking to keep the window close after the cleaning service and it was better.

    The hotel is located in a very good position: in front of the river and of the castle, close also to the old town. The breakfast is variegated and of good quality. There is also a good restaurant with a nice view of the castle and/or of the river on the top floor of the hotel. We could park our car in a garage very close to the hotel. Paying at the hotel we got a 10% discount.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillow was too big and flat. More public area would have been nice.eg waiting area. The packed lunch we ordered was not good. Sandwiches with a pat of butter inside, not spread and nothing to spread it with a yoghurt in a pot with no spoon to eat it. A bruised apple. No napkin!

    The breakfast was very good. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooftop restaurant was lovely

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wished room was more spacious. The staff is professional and helpful but not warm enough. Matresses can be updated

    Location is perfect. You have excellent views of the castle and the vistula river and you are around the corner from the main streets leading to the town square. Very goid restaurant on site and great views from restaurant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was clean but the shower head never stayed in a position properly as it kept showering the wall and i had to keep moving it to shower myself

    The room was clean and comfortable bed but pillow was'nt greatthe

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge. No bath. No bacon at breakfast and only stagnant scrambled eggs. Hot dog sausages!

    Comfy beds. Very clean and modern. Great shower. Lovely balcony. Kettle and tea making but with powdered milk... Amazing location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room view poor. I booked in January and room the allocated us overlooked wall of next building. Not like the pics on their website! Although room was adequate!

    Good position but a bit of a walk to 'old town square'. Breakfast ok. Manned and cctv covered Car park (fee applies) opposite entrance. If you're staying more than three days change your first entry ticket at main kiosk to a weekly, then you can use car whenever you want to.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Side River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one parking place for a short time limit by the hotel entrance.

    There was ideal (cool) temperature in the room because of air conditioning. Payable underground city parking place near the hotel, about 50 m. Very good location, near the Wawel's castle, close to river and old town. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A dusty table in the room - obviously, not additionally cleaned before my arrival (after a short break of a previous guest's stay). But everything was fixed upon notice.

    Welcoming and helpful staff. Perfect food and drinks in the hotel restaurant and bar (Michelin Guide choice and worse it). Exciting view from the top floor terrace/bar.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I had a single room and the bed was a little small, would have booked a double but none available when I booked

    A lovely location within easy reach of the main centre, good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Wi Fi was horrible. I couldn't connect anywhere in the hotel. Very low signal. Also, the rooms were very old fashioned.

    Location, restaurant were very nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Pod Wawelem traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: