Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Scandic Gdańsk 4 stars

Podwale Grodzkie 9, 80-895 Gdańsk, Poland

#52 of 99 hotels in Gdańsk

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1855 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    It was a thoroughly enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Plus Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It would have been helpful to have had the BBC channel on the tv

    The location was excellent being both close to the main railway station and the town so that everything was in easy walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.5
    Good but need improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a hotel on a main road - very busy road; and I mean trams, buses, trains and many, many cars. I would expect full soundproof windows at least in rooms from the side of the road. From the other side it was fine. Breakfast was cold even though we were one of the first people there, early flight. I doubt it gets warmer with time if it starts as cold. Rooms were cold and the first one we had was with wooden flooring which did not help, even after turning the heating on not much changed.

    The location. Location of this hotel is amazing, in the middle of the city, close to everything. Size of the room was good, enough for two people with luggage.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.9
    Don’t waste your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst beds ever. You could feel every single spring in the bed. It was impossible to lay on it and sleep. We couldn’t sleep for four days. It felt like a cheap motel. Never going to stay there again.

    Amazing service. Girls who clean there do an amazing job.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic location if you arrive by train, very close to old...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast at extra charge

    Fantastic location if you arrive by train, very close to old town. Great choice for breakfast. Room has all necessary amenities

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - I would say it's a 3* sup hotel and not a 4* hotel. - They don't offer more amenities as a 4* hotel as they say that it is.

    - Friendly and helpful staff. - Clean room and bathroom. - Very good location. Close to bus station (airport), railway station, town hall, shopping mall, restaurants, cafe, supermarket. - Room amenities, like a coffee and tea. - The size of the room is ok.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    Well-located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean and spacious and quiet. Beds were comfortable. The underpass leading to the train station is right next to the hotel. The old town centre is walking distance, as is the solidarity museum.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.9
    Good location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As with most hotels the hot buffet breakfast was only warm, the use of a microwave would have helped. The toaster was also poor, taking a long time to toast the bread.

    Friendly staff, location to main railway station. Good selection at breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.5
    Stay at hotel was okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lights in our room were flashing they kept going on and off electrical issue which they sorted out, very annoyed with taxis going to airport at reception they said it will Cost 65 polish money when I got to airport her charged me 100 no change given, disgusting a women on her own with a child what was I supposed to argue with the taxis man he thought I was stupid. BEAWARE!

    Overall the hotel was located in the centre it was very nice staff were great and very attentive.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.6
    Nice surprise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked everything.

    Good size rooms, very clean and tidy and nice overall amenities. Staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was absolutely great. Plenty of choice for all, meat eaters and vegetarian alike. The buffet had everything. The hotel is well located near the train station and the main bus and trams that you can take to the airport or the seaside. And it's a short (15-20 mintute) walk from the river and the Old Town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.9
    Great location but sleepy staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I feel it's strange that you get slapped with a "city tax" at check out when everything was paid in advance. The staff blamed Booking.com for it but it feels like a bad excuse when both me and my friend haven't paid it previous trips.

    Great location, good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.4
    Danzig Scandia perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Plus Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect, the breakfast, the food in the restaurant, the close location to the old town of Danzig. We also liked the close location to the main railway station trams and buses, and the sound proof windows.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.8
    The staff was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    At the check out, I did not know that I had to pay "a city tax" for my stay. But of course I gladly did - but I did not know about it.

    The staff was friendly. The room and bathroom were clean. The breakfast buffet was good. The main train station is just across the street, so it is easy to go traveling. It only takes about 10 min. to walk to the Old town and to a very large shopping mall. I will gladly stay at this hotel again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    Great central location to all major transport and the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pillows on the bed were better than most hotels I've recently stayed at. Overall the room was spacious and comfortable, with a good working airconditioner; necessary for these hot summer days. Another bonus was the close proximity, just a few metres away, to the airport bus stop, and also dworzec główny—central station and tram lines.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.8
    This hotel was nice and pleasant to stay in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I like a walk in shower.

    This hotel was nice and pleasant to stay in. It provided the level of comfort I expect. The breakfast was very good and the hotel was amazingly quiet despite its busy location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.9
    All Good Except For The Parking and Rude Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They do not have parking.... and after arguing at the public parking about what price I will pay and complaining (since they say they have parking available near by at 40zl per day) the girls answer at the counter.... Karolina was this.. "You're in Poland now" and "Don't worry about what we say online". It wasn't until I threatened to call my credit card company and dispute the charges due to the false advertising that they lifted a finger and all of a sudden everything worked as it should. That parking sucks either way. It is public and even if you pay... when you leave to drive somewhere there is not guarantee you'll have space when you get back. Also talking to their attendees was like talking to a wall. Other than that everything was fine.

    The room was very comfortable. It had a basic gym, Breakfast was ok... but not included in the room. Location central and very easy to get to anywhere from it. Air con worked well too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    Nice stay .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Plus Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe the only flaw was the bed. According to me it was a little bit tiny.

    The staff was professional. The room was clean and all the facilities were nice. The hotel is located next to the railway station and 10 min away by walking from city center.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.9
    The breakfast was good, plenty of vegetarian dishes but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was good, plenty of vegetarian dishes but still not that much for GF customers. Anyway I think it should be included as a part of standard service.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.9
    Friendly stuff and excellent location. Big recommendation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel is really well located. Train station is opposite of the hotel and bus from the airport drives to front of the hotel. Staff was friendly. Breakfast buffet was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Amazing stay for great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked absolutely everything. Room was very nice, clean, with very comfortable beds. Staff helpful and polite. But what we loved the most was a breakfast in the morning. It was a buffet style with plenty of choice of local food. Everything was delicious.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    A nice and tidy hotel with good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The garbage cans at the backyard had no lids, which was not a very nice view flying birds trying to find something to eat there.

    The location of the hotel near the railway station is very good. The breakfast is worth money (35 PLN).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Ideal location to move around in Gdansk and tricity area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More fruits and berries for breakfast.

    Breakfast was good. There are options for vegetarians and vegans. The hotel is very close to the railway station so it's easy to move around in the tricity area and only a short walk to the old town. For me the location has been ideal.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Handily located, well-run hotel with a superb buffet breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A well-equipped confortable hotel, helpful staff and a superb buffet breakfast. Conveniently located across the road from the main station. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    The hotel is clean, predictable good standard for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is clean, predictable good standard for the western travelers. Location is outstanding, within walking distance to the old city, solidarity center and ww2 museum. Parking garage right next to the hotel had space for our car.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    Scandinavian style excellence
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tendency to lecture (on paper) but the staff were fine. Air conditioning a bit mysterious.

    Clean, breakfast plenty of tables, brilliant buffet, free to choose your own seat and tables quickly cleared Bath/shower system remarkably simple - no experiments with water too hot or too cold necessary or struggling to switch from bath to shower. Radio including classical available as well as television.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel in a good place
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no drinking water was available for free - in principle you might drink tap water, but I prefer to be on the safe side

    the reception staff was friendly and actually gave us a junior suite although we had paid for a standard room; the location is great, close to the old city

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.5
    Close to train station and shopping center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Close to train station and shopping center.We can walk to old town in five minutes. The hotel has ice dispenser that you can bring it for your drink in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    The location, - accross the main train station and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    -

    The location, - accross the main train station and 10-minutes walk from the old city centre - is just perferct. Very quiet hotel and a delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Great location, would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Big bright airy room and good sized bathroom. Location is brilliant for all transport links, the museums in particular European Solidarity Centre and the river.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Nice hotel in a good location, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Plus Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel organised a taxi to the airport for a fixed price of 65 zl but I was charged 90zl it is not about the money it is the principle if the company they have a set fair with is happy to try and rip off tourists then maybe they should change the taxi service they use.

    Room and breakfast were of a good standard.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.1
    The pollow was terrible, it was like it was a bag with small...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pollows were terrible, it was like it was a bag with small pods iside. Wery bad and surpriced, inconvenient.

    The pollow was terrible, it was like it was a bag with small pods iside. Wery bad and surpriced.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.8
    We were very happy and we have already booked our next stay in same hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Plus Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We lost last morning breakfast because they didnt serve it this time yet when our checkout was around 6:00. I could have wish to have in room some extra things like "light open slippers" and cotton swabs. Also all towels could have been in our room when we arrived not asking after them.

    Breakfast was very tasty. Bed was comfortable. Location was great. Stuff was friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed staying at The hotel and would love to return.
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Weather was too cold.

    The brakfast had good selection. The dobbel-bed with good pillow and dobbel duvet was verry god. The food was also nice. The best stawbarry dekery I have ever tasted. 🍓

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A later booking in this hotel has been cancelled by its staff without warning despite of providing a valid credit card (bookings in other hotels worked well) which the hotel was not able to process.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.9
    Very nice hotel, with perfect location near the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't liked that where there no socket near the bed to charge the phone.

    Staff was good, breakfast was perfect, rooms there tidy, location was perfect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.1
    I liked the location and the cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Plus Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the staff,as the people at the reception were not very sympathic and helpful....just the opposite.. I had the impression that they are stressed if the client asks for some help/ advise. As I suffer gluten alergy I called the hotel manager for adicional information about the gluten free breakfast, she responded they have gluten free beakfast of course but after asking more questions her awareness about it was very limited, the hotel "offers" gluten free breakfast for the same amount like to standard breakfast but there is only very few products ( some bread,cheese and some ham but these products were not fresh each day...and I couldn't have the gurnatee it is really gluten free. I asked for individually packed butter as the "common" butter was user by the rest also (and there were some pieces of normal bread what is not acceptable) and gluten free joghurt the staff responded there is no option...for me..so I don't understand why scandic offers gluten free breakfast at all.....First the staff in the kitchen and the "manager" doesn't understand what are the basics and dangers in this alergy and second charges such clients for this poor breakfast,third when kindly asked for options just ignored and even doesn't try to help ( buy another products for the breakfast for the rest of the days...)

    I liked the location and the cleanliness

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.8
    Make sure to ask for a renovated room with new beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was old and hard, and not comfortable at all.

    Clean and quiet with great breakfast. Perfect location with short walk to the old town with all its offerings. All kinds public transportation a few steps from the hotel, and a nice shopping mall behind the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.9
    Super location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bed was too soft.

    Super location....just in front of gdansk station but not far from city centre. Breakfast was good and rooms comfortable for a family.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    Very clean, modern hotel in centre of Gdansk.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing all good. Didn't need parking as no car.

    Very clean, modern hotel in centre of Gdansk. Short walk, approx. 15 minutes to centre of old Town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.6
    Brill would come again
    • Couple
    • Standard Plus Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was poor wouldn’t load fb up properly even though it had full bar connectivity...

    Room and view was good, lots to choose from for breakfast. Would stay again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.9
    It is located in the absolute city centre.
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very loud in the reception hall even though it was 2am when I arrived. They didn’t have toothbrush/tooth paste to sell. I was a bit disappointed as the hotel has few stars after all.

    It is located in the absolute city centre.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    8.3
    Right across the street from Central Station, so very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was just outside the historical centre, about 15min walk.

    Right across the street from Central Station, so very convenient for trips to nearby towns and to/from airport.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    Ideal location and very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Comfortable room and perfect location for our few days away. Very helpful staff and was a bonus having them book a taxi to collect us from the airport as our flight arrived late at night.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.5
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too little to choose from in breakfast,the bread was somewhat dry and didn't taste fresh.

    That ut was situated very close to the centre and station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    6.3
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit old and outdated. There is one set of towels in the bathroom even thoug we had a room for 2 ppl. The other set of towels is placed in a cupboard under the tv and not easy to find. What is realy the point of that?? No soket on the side of the bad. Breakfast too expensive for beeing Poland.

    Good location. The hotel is fine for a 3 star hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    8.3
    Breakfast was really good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little bit cold, even if we had the heat on. Also it would have been nice if they had the hotel sleepers!

    Breakfast was really good! On our last day we had to leave before breakfast time and they prepared us breakfast to take it with us. The stuff was really helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.5
    Perfect location,big rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    sofa bed in our room was not comfortable at all. Rooms with sofa bed in this hotel not recommended at all.I could not sleep well 3 nights:(

    Perfect location,big rooms

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    The room was very nice and spacious.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very nice and spacious. Stuff really kind and always ready to help. Breakfast was a perfection. I would recommend Scandic to anyone visiting Gdańsk.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    great location and really nice room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Plus Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not really directly a criticism to the hotel; they arranged a taxi for us from the airport for a set price of 70 PLZ, however, the driver wanted 80 PLZ. I don't know if the driver was ripping us off, or was there a miscommunication between the taxi company and the hotel about the price to charge.

    The room was the nicest I have ever stayed in (and I travel a lot) - modern, fresh, comfortable and spotlessly clean. It was worth paying a bit more to stay in a 'plus' room (recently refurbished). Hotel location is excellent too - walking distance to all sites (Solidarnosc museum and the old town) and across the road from the train station. There are also shopping centres all around the hotel. Good breakfast with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.8
    Overall it contributed to my time in the fine city of Gdansk.
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cost of laundry over the top! When I asked about a Gdansk Tourist card, I feel that staff should have mentioned that having one would have meant a discount at the restaurant for an evening meal. I found out too late.

    Excellent breakfast choice. Proximity to public transport a big consideration for me as I never use a car whilst on a trip

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.3
    3 night stay in lovely Gdansk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was a little hectic. Plenty of choice but with a very slow toaster. The member of staff on breakfast reception duty was clearly miserable in the extreme, no welcome, no smiles, she just took the money.............

    Good location. Comfortable room. Modern bathroom and very clean. Generally helpful staff and friendly too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.3
    Great Place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room temperature was slightly higher than what i wanted it to be, especially at night, though i had the knob on min temperature. One of the things that bothered me very much is an incident in the lobby, there's a conference room associated with the hotel, and there are coffee machines serving those conference rooms, but there was no English signs that said so, and when trying to get coffee from the machine, the bar waitress stopped us in a very cheap and embarrassing way as if one cup of coffee will wreck the budget of a 4 start hotel, I was about to check out right away, as there was no reason to embarrass a guest over a cheap cup of coffee that is worth pennies especially when the guest has paid hundreds of dollars to book one of the fanciest rooms the hotel offers. I was not impressed by what the waitress did, nor by the lack of English signs (most of the hotel residents do not speak Polish I assume!)

    The hotel in terms of facilities is great, we booked a junior suite which was very spacious and clean, the bathroom had a bathtub. The towels were of very good quality. The sitting room is well furnitured and the suite was sound proof. The buffet breakfast was top quality and we looked forward to the that breakfast every morning, it was served in the Senso restaurant attached to the hotel, where you can enjoy nice lunch and dinner if you like, in addition to the restaurant, the lobby houses a nice bar where we enjoyed evening drinks as if we were in a fancy bar, as the hotel lobby had many nice seating arrangements which made it very welcoming and cosy. The hotel's location is very convenient, 10-15 min walk to most of the city attractions especially the beautiful old town, KFC is across the street for fried chicken lovers, and the train station is just around the corner for those planning to go to Sopot, Gdynia or anywhere the train goes. Few shopping malls and centers located around the hotel, like the Madison Shopping Gallery which houses the Masala Indian restaurant (delicious food and very poor ventilation)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.8
    Nice quiet rooms & helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra towels were in a cupboard under the tv (not particularly intuitive) and given that there were 2 of us staying in the room, I would expect to find 2 sets of towels in the bathroom, without having to look around for an 'extra' second set.

    Nice quiet rooms & helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    Good for 1 night.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Public multi level parking - very difficult to park cause of narrow exit. Very busy street outside. Smell of fast food around hotel.

    Price. 20 min walking from old city .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    A great one!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Plus Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location - everything is accessible. Super friendly staff ready to help for whatever you need. arranged a city tour for us, provided converter plugs, and as an added bonus we got a free room upgrade... all in all a great experience!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Couldn't have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Plus Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil.

    Ideal location opposite the Gdansk railway station and easy walking to old town. Easy to get from airport by local bus 210 about 40 mins to Gdansk railway station. (follow the blue line on floor from within the airport terminal to bus. Tickets can be bought on bus). Wonderful breakfast quality and quantity. Excellent staff. Really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.6
    Good breakfast, and the room had everything you may need and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room had no plugs near the bed, i had to charge my phone / alarm far from it. Scandic wants to prevent you from snoozing your alarm? :)

    Good breakfast, and the room had everything you may need and more, except (see other section)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    6.3
    Not for a good night sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very poor bed and shockingly bad pillows. The bed was queen size but so bouncy that if one person moved, the other could feel every movement, this was very uncomfortable. The pillows were old with no filling in them - just cotton like clumps, had to sleep on four of these to get any support. Will not return to this hotel for these reasons.

    Good bathroom, good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.2
    It works.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First night the air-conditioning did not work and the window would not open. Torture. Fixed and were fine for the next two days. Dated hotel in terms of furniture and amount of space - but it works.

    Excellent breakfast. Good WiFi. Across the street from the train station. All of the city is accessible by foot. Clean. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.3
    Breakfast was fine,but in a very crowded room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Plus Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I also booked a room in this hotel for the next night. This room was not refurbished yet. From the booking it was not clear what you get (the room is even more expensive)

    Breakfast was fine,but in a very crowded room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.6
    I would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Plus Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Generally good food. Restaurant was nice, menu was comprehensive. Bar featured a lot of cocktail options. Breakfast service was good, lots of options. This hotel is right across from the main Gdansk train station, although you do have to walk via an underground tunnel/shopping mall to get there. This hotel is within easy walking distance of the historic Old Town section of Gdansk, which is nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.3
    + location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - At breakfast at 9.30 there were a lot of things missing or off. No dishes and no croissants f. ex. - Breakfast was ok, but nothing special

    + location + big room, good beds + working wi-fi

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.6
    Very convenient for rail travellers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walkable from main railway station and the old town is just down the road. Great breakfast selection. We had a room at the back so it was quiet. Air conditioning was a bonus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel at very god location.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was nice and clean but it was obviously a smoker room before and I was able to smell tobacco each time when I enter room.

    Location is a perfect, Internet Wifi connection was very good and staff is friendly . Breakfast is served up to 10:30 which was nice if you want to sleep longer.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.8
    great place to reach all places
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Plus Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Avoid rooms on train station side if you don't like aircon and prefer to sleep with the windows open. The street is very noisy on trains station side

    We loved here almost everything. Especially because of comfort and location. Hotel is located near train station and Scandic is a good choice if you have no car and hotel for you is a hub to go to Sopot, Westerplatte, Wrzeszcz and another places around Gdansk. The public transportation crosses train station - all tram lines are stopping here and the trains are moving fastly to anywhere (20 minutes to Sopot, 6 minutes to Wrzeszcz). Bus line 210 to airport stops literaly 50 meters from hotel. Breakfast is very tasty, rich and good, try the scrambled eggs which are fantastic. The surrounding area is very safe despite train station - we didn't notice any dangerous people around.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    6.3
    All in all we had a nice stay at this hotel but due to location wouldnt be using it again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff could have been a little friendlier a nice smile and please and thank you go a long way. Pillows awful, very soft and felt like they were full of cotton wool balls, more supportive pillows would have been much appreciated and given a better nights sleep. Our room over looked a rubbish dump and flats which wasnt the nicest outlook and the curtains had holes in them as they were thread bare in places. Really poor location had to get taxis everywhere even though it stated on booking.com it was very central so cost a fortune in taxis everyday.

    Lovely breakfast comfy beds, Nice hotel though great for the Madison shopping centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    Good hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast buffet was not as good as the buffets at other Gdansk hotels I've stayed in.

    View from the junior suite. Friendly, professional and helpful staff. Awesome location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.2
    Superb location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Add-on breakfast expensive; poor value for money. McDonald's at the station and plentiful other food outlets.

    Excellent location directly opposite the Central Railway Station - Gdansk Glowny

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    8.3
    An interesting and enjoyable 7-day holiday stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Soap dispensers and toilet roll dispensers awkward to use. It would be better if they provided some ordinary "bar" soap. Tea-making facilities in room not particularly generous.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Very good breakfast selection and quality of food. Very convenient for main train station. Quite near to parts of central Gdansk.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.1
    Breakfast good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel did not have a phone number on the booking site in order to be reached. Says on the booking page that parking was available but then we had to pay extra for that as an external service and it was unclear wether that was included at the hotel or not.

    Breakfast good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.6
    Great location, friendly and proactive staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the wall outlets were a bit hard to reach. Other than that, everything about his hotel was perfect.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. I only stayed for one night but was treated as a regular guest. I had to leave before breakfast, but a packed lunch was waiting for me when I checked out - I didn't even have to ask for it. If you're travelling by train or bus this hotel is an excellent choice, it's located opposite Gdansk's main railway station (which you can reach via the underpass). The Old Town is in walking distance and there's plenty of restaurants around.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    7.1
    Adjacent to main station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much atmosphere. Pretty sterile really but convenient. Probably best suited to people on business.

    Adjacent to main station.Not a nice area but very convenient for train travel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    7.5
    A weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff. Not a single smile from them, not even upon arrival/check-in. They don't greet you first either. I myself worked at Scandic in Stockholm and I see that the difference is just huge. I was unpleasantly surprised to meet such unwelcoming staff at a hotel like this.

    We had a very nice room with a comfortable bed, sunlight all day long and a view over the central station. Breakfast was great. Everything is Scandic's high standard. The hotel is very clean and fresh.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    6.7
    Extreme sleeping conditions
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Plus Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you fancy to sleep on a stone then go ahead and book this hotel because their mattresses are exactly as hard as a stone and the pillow (only one) is extremely thin so you do not really feel like you have a pillow. Never again!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    9.6
    Stayed in a Junior Suite with 2 small children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couch bed was not the most comfortable. Metal frame with no support under feet but still good for a child.

    Stayed in a Junior Suite with 2 small children. Was comfortable and clean with a good sized bathroom. 2 TVs and free WIFI was useful. Good breakfast with decent range of food. Great location if using the train as we were, still a short walk into the centre of town. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable room with the good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view of room on the first floor at the back side is parking and rubbish bin.

    The location of the hotel couldn't be more comfortable. It is just opposite the train and bus station. The city center and tourist spots are in walking distance. Though the room is in the old style, it is well cleaned.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Scandic Gdańsk traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: