Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostel Tara

Krakowska 7, Old Town, 31- 062 Kraków, Poland

#176 of 269 hotels in Kraków

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 335 hostel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 64

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the receptionists did not let us leave all the suitcases in reception because "there was not enough space". The previous day we asked the other receptionist and she told us that she would let us leave our bags. We had to take them and leave them at the train station all day paying the deposit. The bed was a little uncomfortable and we were not allowed to have breakfast the next day because there was a misunderstanding.

    The location was so good and everything was very cleaned.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Can't think of anything.

    Good location near Wavel castle and Kaszmierz district, even had a view of Wavel castle from the room. Room was small but adequate and clean. Staff were nice and helpful. Price was reasonable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Sixtuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located in the Kazimierz district (quite a walk from main train station) and about 15 min from Wawel. Very clean room and no outside noise (at least in our room for 6 beds: windows on the inner street). The room is very bright and comfortable. Kitchen at your disposal. You can make tea or coffee. There is a fridge.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hallway looks a little scary as you walk in... but the rooms were super clean a and safe!

    Super friendly staff, we asked her heaps of touristy questions and was eager to help us!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aa bit small kitchenette in general and a fridge in particular for so many gests

    Very good location, not far from the Old Town and Wawel Castle, relatively quiet; nice staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only one plug in an awkward location in the room. No lift - accommodation is three floors up. Bathroom is noisy when the toilet is flushed the noise can be heard in every room.

    Simple accommodation with easy access to Kraków train station Good clean bathroom

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sixtuple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The entrance was slightly unpromising.

    The room was very spacious with high ceilings, the beds were comfortable and amusingly laid out, sort of in the fashion of the seven dwarfs beds. The bathroom was clean, modern and spacious. The shower was extremely good. Plenty of space for backpacks and other stuff to be stored, including lockers. The common room was nice and big, with free coffee. WiFi was extremely good. Staff were very helpful and let us leave our luggage for much of the final day of our stay. Conveniently located between Old Town and the Jewish Quarter, with a walkable distance from the main Train and Bus station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room's were not too big, and the bed was a little hard. In one of the rooms ( we had 2 separate stays there during this one holiday) the noise from the street was non stop all night, had to sleep with windows closed because of that on a very hot night. The second room we've got had a much nicer view, and quieter side of the building which was much nicer.

    Very nice place to stay on a budget! Staff was very nice and welcoming, 24 hour reception desk, a comfy common room with a stocked kitchen that is free to use any time, easily accessible location close to the center and Wavel Castle complex, we had a great view of it trough our window!. Neat little restaurants and cafes all around. Over all, o superb experience for a very good price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room's were not too big, and the bed was a little hard. In one of the rooms ( we had 2 separate stays there during this one holiday) the noise from the street was non stop all night, had to sleep with windows closed because of that on a very hot night. The second room we've got had a much nicer view, and quieter side of the building which was much nicer.

    Very nice place to stay on a budget! Staff was very nice and welcoming, 24 hour reception desk, a comfy common room with a stocked kitchen that is free to use any time, easily accessible location close to the center and Wavel Castle complex, we had a great view of it trough our window!. Neat little restaurants and cafes all around. Over all, o superb experience for a very good price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms that only have one set of windows could do with a fan to keep them cooler during the summer.

    The rooms are modern and clean. Bathrooms are also clean and some have been renovated. Some rooms have a balcony on the higher floors which is fantastic for taking in the views. This place is fantastic value for money with relatively comfy beds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really noisy room, as the window was looking out the busy street. Very bright street lamp right in front of the window and no blinds or even darker curtains to cover that. Super hot. And the shower that was impossible to use as the bathroom floor was flooded right away. Funnily enough, there was a message on the wall telling you to put the shower curtain inside the shower in order not to flood the floor, but the shower curtain was too short to be put in the shower. All in all, way too expensive for this poor conditions. Wouldn't come back.

    Good location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked room with shared bathroom and bathroom wasn't clean. We stayed 2 nights and during this time nobody clean it... We didn't have any mirror at our room, what was uncomfortable, because I always needs to occupied shared bathroom for make up, etc. Pillows was extremely thin and small, like baby size, and mattress also was super thin, very uncomfortable to sleep on it.

    Very polite and helpful staff, good location and good prices

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shelves in bathroom would be really aprreciated)

    Very nice and friendly stuff, good location, VERY clean bathroom. I count it as an excellent value for money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 10am Check out time is a little early, but staff seem to be reasonable about this as we were a little late and they seemed okay about it.

    The hostel was clean and basic. But had excellent views of the castle and other parts of the city from the top floor.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken shower, broken tap, very very noisy, no breakfast in the hostel, no reading lamp, no cleaning of the room for 6 days...

    Nice and helpful staff, some rooms have been renovated and have a kind of lounge and balcony. Nice location if you want to be in Kazimierz.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Sixtuple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For negatives, the rooms themselves are very mediocre. The beds are hard and we had a single toilet for six people. The rooms are just adequate enough to not complain, but we didnt mind as it was just as described as well as dirt cheap. Excellent value for money, but not that great in terms of actual quality.

    The location of the hostel is excellent! The area of Kazimierz is full of bars, vendors and restaurants making it a paradise for groups looking to enjoy themselves. Kazimierz is also 10 minutes walking distance from the old town, maybe 30minutes from the Ghetto, so if you are looking to save on transportation fees then this is your hostel. The price was also very cheap for what you are getting, if you are just looking for a base to lay down your luggage and come sleep then this is perfect for you. The staff is also very helpful and friendly, as well as speaking fluent English.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostel is located on the 2nd and upper floors of a building. No lift. Understand it's an old building but it can't be difficult if travelling with heavy bags. But not a big deal.

    Very nice location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Dormitory Room (8 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice, very modern bedrooms, with very clean bathroom and kitchenette. Room comfortable and full of light. The staff so helpful, helped us book transports to Auschwitz and so many other requests. Towels were free. In front of the hostel was a tram for center and railway station.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is at the street side where traims, cars comes and goes. This makes the place loud if the windows are opened. There is no air conditioning in the room thus you need to open the window for some fresh air. The wifi works only on the second floor in the common/ social rooms.

    The hotel near to the city.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from outside and the noise that the doors made when other guest where coming home. the fungus in bathroom was really dirty, it really smelled.

    The staff is really nice and helpfull. The prices are good and the location is close by the citycenter.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much! Some of the beds weren't as comfy as others!

    I stayed at this hostel with a group of mates. The staff were all very friendly, the rooms were basic but perfectly acceptable. The location was good and the price was amazing!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Two levels of stairs to get there, very painful if you have heavy luggages

    Very warm in winter! Clean, modern facilities

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pipes in sink and shower were blocked and water stayed long. Not a nice view.

    Great view from the windows and great size of the room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was annoying that the shower head had to be hand held whilst using it, otherwise it just sprayed the opposite wall.

    Serious value for money!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road is noisy

    Clean and comfortable. Very reasonable price

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charge without permission in Euro's with an horrible rate. Hard to get to the rooms.

    Very good location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no aircon

    cleanliness, renovated, good wifi, on the main street of Old Town

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of steps. No lift.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Dormitory Room (8 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean, nice place)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and clean place, nicely located in the Jewish area with loads of restaurants and bars close by

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Sixtuple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Great location. Clean rooms, helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no parking

    near to the city centre, great staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed wasn't that comfy

    great location being within walking distance of the main tourist amenities. Good value for money - would stay here again

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In the 4th floor we didin´t manage to catch the wifi..

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of noice comming out of the street, especially when trams go by. There was only one single-person blanket

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Dormitory Room (8 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Enterance is a little bit challanging and unusual

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi in room, had to go to reception to connect. Bed not comfortable and no lifts.

    Location is good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a major problem but there is only WiFi at reception or in the common room.

    Great location! Room was quirky, comfortable and very clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was really close to old town. For a Hostel, we didn't expect this much.Nice stuff and helpfull.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is the BEST!!! Staff is very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    one bed side lampe would be better

    great place by the jewish quarter where you can enjoy the best bars and places to go

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We preferred to have an elevator in the building as 4 flights of stairs, carrying luggages, was tiring. But I understand that the building is old, but it could have been written in the description of the hostel. The bathroom was tiny.

    We liked the modern style of the hostel.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Picture of the room was very different from the reality. There was no wi-fi in our room. Also it was very cold at night(

    Ladies at the registration desk were very nice and kind! They helped us with many questions.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Was a brilliant place to stay, especially for the price. Staff were friendly and the building was secure. Would definitely use this place again on return!

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Group

    It was very cold in the room, even with the heating on. Slept in jumpers and with an extra blanket but still felt cold.

    It was spacious, it was good to have a bathroom with the room. Staff was nice. Liked the balcony.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No parking place for guests, although it is possible to park the car on the street and it costs about 30PLN/day.

    The location is really good. There was the view to the Wawel castle from our kitchen window. WiFi was good in our room.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was a lot of noise from the street outside - a lot. And the bed was extremely creeky. But pop in some ear plugs and you're good to go :D No elevator though. You've been warned if you've got heavy bags or can't walk!

    Right in the center of Kazimierz, cheap, and on the whole very nice. Reception open 24/7 so you can leave the key there.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There was no wifi in our room and some of the beds were uncomfortable.

    The location was perfect! Just a few minutes away from the old city center. The room was spacious and we had a nice balcony with a pretty view.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Podniszczony pokoj, brudne sciany i podloga, w łazience źadnego wieszaka dla odzieźy czy ręcznika, z wifi skorzystać się nie udało.

    Świetna lokalizacja, balkon z bardzo ładnym widokiem

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    nothing much

    location is really close to Kazimierz center and Market square (20min walk) 24h reception + free WiFi is ideal to make the stay worthwhile

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was in the jewish destrict, about 3 minutes from the main square and the bars and pubs and also about 5 minutes walking from the castle. A good value for money, nothing special but certainly quite clean!

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    They charged me twice and at the end I had to pay a fee for nothing (at least they couldn't explain what I'm paying for and why some pay and some don't

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-fi wasn't really good. And if you are travelling with big, heavy bags, you should mind there might be 4 flights of stairs to conquer, depending on your room's location.

    Good value; helpful, friendly staff (they found room for our heavy luggage while we were out overnight, after check-out); very close to Wawel and a walking distance from the Old Town.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good hostel, nice and spacious private rooms with wifi. We had a private double room with a private bathroom. There is a kitchen and big lounge to share. Location is unbeatable: the hostel is just round the corner from the Jewish quarter and 5 minutes walk from the Wawel castle. We had a great time x

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The beds are very hard

    It's very close to the center.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Totally cold at night, radiators were turned off...

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A bit cold in big rooms

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very good and helpfull staff. Ideal for a group of five guys. Big nice dorm with solo beds and private bathroom. Very clean.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    nothing wrong

    it is close to the city center. we've got what we paid for.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We heard strangers voices through doors.

    The bath, the decoration, basically everything.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We didn't like the location very much. There was no elevator.

    Close to the center. Tram stop very close

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The beds are very uncomfortable.

    Our room was big and the bathroom was clean, though tiny. There were drawers.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    green-violet walls, wi-fi didn't work at all

    really good location, just 10-15 minutes from the main sightseeings

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 64

Browse Hostel Tara traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: