Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Zamek Ryn 4 stars

Plac Wolności 2, 11-520 Ryn, Poland

#5 of 13 hotels in Ryn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 820 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not the medieval castle vibe I was hoping for Breakfast was lacking variety one would expect from a place like this Shower on / off lever - opposite directions

    Location, pool area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no real issues. Roads around Ryn are quite poor, but that's not the hotel's fault obviously.

    It is literally in an old castle - great atmosphere. The restaurant and rooms looks great. The medieval armour, weaponry and torture tools displayed in the halls were a very nice touch. The food was lovely, both dinner and breakfast. There's a lot to do in the hotel itself - nice restaurant, pool and sauna in the cellar, there's also a spa (which we haven't tried), and a night club and even a small bowling area. Ryn is located between two lakes, so there's probably a lot of outdoor stuff to do in the summer.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only i didn't like was the shower. Ours was broke n leaked water n the water pressure always changed

    I loved everything about the hotel. Definitely would love to go back in the summer time

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Free parking maybe.

    Cosy room, brilliant staff, great and variety of food at breakfast. Excellent meals at dinner - master chef must be Polish Heston Blumental. Just amazing. Location just in between tow lakes. We were, well we still are impressed and amazed :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warming milk for a child... I felt like I was the only mum asking to have cow's milk heated up for 2 year old for night... However staff accomodating and used coffee machine to warm up. As strange as it is it's fine for kids who are able to burp by then... Not sure if someone got younger in the need of milk though as frothy not always good for colic prone kids...

    Perfect when weather good or bad. Easy to drive to nearby towns where there are more attractions and festivals or shops.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast buffet was excellent. The only critic I have, there should be more Information in English and the Television channels were only in polish and French, no German or English TV could be seen. The staff at the reception and the Service Crew spoke English and/or German and were very friendly and competent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We got the room that was not proper for 2 persons.It was much smaller than advertised,there was no room to put things. A week in such a room would be a horror, not a pleasure. After I complained we were given a bigger room.However the impression was spoiled and we felt like cheated. We paid probably more than many guests and were given one of the worst rooms. How can this room (403) be even offered as a double room?

    Fluffy eggs are not of any value, if you are offered a room of the size of a prison cell.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfasts the rooms parking charges bar facilities had to change rooms twice door lock broke twice no lock on bathroom door dark corridors

    The spa was good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant: The steak was perfect food quality is on very high level. The Castle: Short trip with Castle guide speaking about some historical facts and legends related to the place castle and Cross Knights was very exiting and interesting. The lake: connection to big lakes of Poland - very interesting place

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms, judging by the squeaky and smelly furniture and decoration, give a feeling of a 1980's hotel built by the communist government for German tourists (and it's still full of retired Germans, probably reminding them of the times they were younger). There's no air conditioning in ANY room, including the most expensive apartments (our group booked 15 rooms of all kinds, ranging 400-800 PLN per room). Although it was a rainy day in July, we still had to keep the windows wide open at night in the apartment wing. In the hunter's wing (standard rooms), opening a window a little was enough, but it faces the street, so loud shouts could be heard until late at night. In most rooms, the shower heads were plugged, and in the standard rooms the shower cabin standard is the cheapest Castorama stuff. The sink in the apartment got plugged in the morning (we're talking about a pricey 4-star hotel here). The swimming pool is a joke - there were five children with us and they said the pool was too small for... just them! Don't be cheated by the hotel showing the same section of a small pool (it's impossible to swim in it) from different angles, giving you an impression there is a set of interconnected pools. During breakfast my son wanted cereals with milk, but the only containers for milk were the size of a teacup. When I asked the waitress if I could get a bigger bowl, she answered, in a flash, 'Unfortunately not.' This restaurant is supposed to serve big wedding parties, and they have soups in their menu (how do they serve them?). Few staff speak English, and the leaflets in the room are in Polish or German. Some of the staff are nice and try to help, but quite a few of them seem to be forced to work there (especially one plump lady at the reception), and the most common answer is "no" (with a "don't-bother-me-anymore" face).

    The hotel is in the former castle of the Teutonic Knights, and this does make it unique.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to pay for parking (20PLN/day) even though we were hotel guests. Each time you left the premises the ticket had to be validated at reception. And the only other blip was the shower head was loose, but we made it work for us.

    We loved staying here. There was so much to look at & activities to do. Swimming in the pool & using the sauna, ten-pin bowling (60zl for an hour), billiards, and medieval activities (on the Sunday). There is an in-house nite club (think it's only open on the weekend). Really enjoyed the breakfast at the restaurant & we also had dinner here a couple of nights - everything delicious. We also visited the day spa - they have catalogs in English & the prices are reasonable. Our room was spacious with comfy bed & good linen. There is a small mini fridge & coffee/tea making facilities. The shower was small but the water hot. I hope we can come & stay again

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    if weather is bad, nothing to do outside. Town is very small

    Interesting place to relax for a couple of days. Service is good, excursion in is interesting, beutiful place and surroundings

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The red brick walls, wooden beams, arches, chandeliers, wooden doors and military features that adorn the castle all set the lovely medieval ambience and feel of the place. The fine dining at the restaurant was exquisite and the breakfast was very good. The room we had was spacious, comfortable and warm and the bathroom spacious and clean. The swimming pool and spa in the crypt is definitely worth a visit! The staff was very helpful and truly hospitable. Wifi was free and we had a good signal in the room. Spacious parking for a small fee. Location of hotel between 2 lakes is great!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Terrible service certainly not worthy of a 4 star hotel. Concierge was totally useless and very unpleasant.

    Excellent location, nicely renovated, great pool although more of a spa pool than family ie overcrowded during the day. We liked the tour and the Biesiada party

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast staff should be trained to address guests with respect and as priority. Heaving chat with another member while there are tables fool of dishes and luck of coffee cups is inexcusable telling me to go to another station. I got the feeling intruding in their affair. Very bad memories from breakfast table. It happened twice

    Restaurant and choice of food excellent. Superb location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was small. If you add baby bed it is really too small. Lack of airco- especially problem in the summer in the rooms located on the sunny side - impossible to stay inside!

    Stuff - super helpful, friendly, taking actions fast when needed Breakfast - fantastic food, fantastic eating place Castle - beautifully renovated, fantastic Swimming pool! Internet - good connection Spa:) Ryn itself is nice for sb who wants to avoid crowded places like Mikolajki in the middle of the season.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are excursions held with large groups, even in the corridors where the hotel rooms are located. Many hotelguests, are Polish families with children, who also use the wellness facilities.

    A beautiful hotel with nice rooms and great food in the restaurant. Great breakfast in beautiful atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast service was slow because of insufficient staff. Building looks dark a bit from inside, carpets in corridors don't fit castle style

    Unique castle atmosphere, convenient parking, SPA under Gothic vaults, tasty breakfast with many choices, nice dinner with traditional local dishes in a lake view restaurant Rynski Mlyn nearby

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We left our room at around 11:00 Saturday morning and returned at 16:30, the room hadn't been cleaned. At Sunday morning breakfast there wasn't one table that was clean, we had to ask for one to be cleaned for us.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bowling and swimming close at 10:00 on Fridays ... No screen on Windows in rooms , lots of moths... No air conditioning! Very hot in room The staff that we had encountered other than the lady we checked in with , the waitress we had and the maid that brought us a fan, were rude! The morning we checked out the new lady at front desk was especially rude when asked about lake activities.

    Really liked the lady at front desk at check in when we arrived on June 24 around 7:00 pm . She was so nice and gave great information.we had dinner shortly after our arrival, the gal that seated us certainly wasn't friendly but she found us a very nice waitress! The room was very clean and upon calling the super nice lady at the front desk she had a fan sent up due to the heat!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This castle is really worth a visit. Exciting building and nice spa area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    small and noisy rooms, wifi was very weak

    Clean rooms, good breakfast, unique interior

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Very nice place, very nice staff, all was beautiful!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good range of food and all fresh and tasty.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better connection with nearby train stations

    Great food, beer, activities

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent breakfast with lots of variety and good quality food. Comfortable and spacious room. Good facilities and great location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Break fast options (for vegetarians) could have more variety.

    The property was a real castle. Wonderful and well kept

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was really hot, as in the bathroom the floor was constantly heated, it was very tough to sleep

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The castle style furniture is nice for children but not for elder persons.

    Willing and professional staff, excellent location for Mazury.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    NAV

    Courteous staff, Sophisticated kitchen.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee was poor standard and no AC

    Excellent dinner

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Astonishing renovation, beautifully executed. Extremely helpful staff, especially on the front desk.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Swimming pool, excellent restaurant

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small rooms, no a/c

    Unique place - lovely stay, friendly staff, good breakfast, a lot things to do in the hotel - even an hotel exceurcion

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didnt spend enough time there

    What other city has two different lakes 5 min walk apart and as a bonus old crusader castle to stop in in the middle

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No air-conditioning. Tiny swiming-pool, too smal a souna for a number of guests

    'Hand-made' breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The castle can be a maze at first.

    Breakfast. The looks of the castle!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no aircondition in the room

    food excellent, historical, location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    not enough info for non polish speakers.. we always need wether to guess or to ask someone... tons of brochures but none in any foreign language

    the location, staff, facilities, breakfast and dinner buffets were all very high standards

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Super hotel. Very atmospheric with quirky features like the torture corridor(!) Food excellent and service first class. A special mention for Lucas, our barman - so friendly and helpful. A real asset to the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast set-up was somehow chaotic; the hotel staff was not always efficient. There was some noise during the night due to the nearby road.

    We enjoyed the successful renovation and transformation of the unique historic building, in particular the swimming pool and spa in the cellar vault. Niced decoration of rooms, and of the central hall. Also, the facilities (i.e. bowling) are well adapted for children. Great food at the hotel's restaurant!

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No aircon in - there was 37 c in the room, there was nothing like quiet night time- hotel personal kept shifting heavy objects above or below my room right into 1 am.,nasty smell from shower drain pipe. Atmosphere in the restaurant at the hotel was sort of cheap cantina- including children banging into my chair, families playing cards during diner time, and certainly no effort from waiting stuff to help you find a quieter table in a vast restaurant, children sitting at the bar after 8pm well- maybe that was what polish clientele wants- I am not going there back!

    Location, architecture

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff was not good at English. We tried to book a table in the restaurant and a waitress just said "No English" and went away. She didn't get anyone else to help us. We had to look for someone else who then only spoke German.

    Amazing hotel and great location by the Masurian Lake District. You'll need a car to get there. Approximately 4 hour drive from Warsaw and Gdansk.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This is an incredible venue - a medieval castle turned into a comfortable hotel. The underground swimming pool and the sauna area are incredible - I would never expect to find such a lovely place in the historic building. Great decorations!

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We booked 2 rooms in the same rate. 1 is ok size, the other is really small. It means from your bed to table for TV is only 30-40 cm space. And both sides of the bed are really close to the table or windows. So gernerally it means you can only go to bed if you stay inside this room. And the room is to the side of interior, no fresh air. No air conditioning, very very VERY hot.And we are travelling with a small child, who can not sleep due to the fact of heat and the restaurant under our window is playing music to 22:00. I tried to asked change of room in the second day, but of course, there is no avalibility. Pity.

    The hotel itself is a very nice castle.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We felt dinner in the evening was not up to standard. Beautiful setting but the food was too complicated and flavours did not complement each other.

    The atmosphere. Staying in a renovated castle was very interesting. The swimming pool,spa and sauna in the underground cellar was fascinating.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The restaurants food is ok. But the atmosphere is very stuffy. I believe the management are out of touch with what people want. I do not want my food served with a silver bowl, to be dramatically removed prior to eating. I've not even had this at a Michelin Star restaurant. The waitress would not let us poor our wine. The food is good, local cuisine and would be far better served in an appropriate environment. After all this pomp, the service dropped off to the extend that we had to poor our own wine anyway and then find the waitress to ask for the bill! Much better hotels can be found in Mazury for the same price. So, unless you are intent on staying in a historic Teutonic castle, I would give it a miss. P.s. The print/painting on the ground floor is the 'Battle of Grunwald' which can be found in the National Musem in Warsaw and well worth the visit... Spectacular.

    The pool is incredibly unique. I have never seen anything like it. Beautiful spa area with fantastic stream and Sauna. Always very clean. Breakfast was great and the location, sandwiched in between the two lakes is perfect. Also bike rentals were reasonable, although at close to 1000pln for 2 nights I think they should have been free as opposed to the rather pointless 10pln per hour

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was our second stay in a Polish Teutonic castle and it was a wonderful experience. The staff were great and the building incredibly impressive. The inner courtyard was breathtaking and the swimming pool in the castle crypt was a delight.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room was a little cramped for 3 people (with one extra bed)

    We loved our stay here, really enjoyed the banquet and medieval pageantry during our stay. the restaurant and breakfast were also very good.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything, could not be better

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Pool was too shallow and narrow, otherwise great for spa pleasures.

    Food was excellent, nice and clean.

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The hard matrasses

    The old castle style of the hotel The environment

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location between two lakes is beautiful. The food is excellent. The pool in the dungeon is unique.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The furniture has to be updated. Beds are not comfortable.

    Fantastic breakfast. Good restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    rooms were nice and clean, breakfast was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Desinterested staff; conference hotel, little inteest in individual customers.

    Seperat restaurAnt by the lake.

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Guests also reviewed these properties: