Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Oceana Hostal Playero 2 stars

1853 Mcleary Ave, Ocean Park, 00911 San Juan, Puerto Rico

Review score

Based on 556 hotel reviews

5.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    4.8

  • Comfort

    4.9

  • Location

    6.5

  • Facilities

    4.7

  • Staff

    6

  • Value for money

    4.9

  • Free WiFi

    4.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    4.6
    the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotel was remodeling... had almost no packing spots. had no staff at the office... to do the checkout we wait like 20 for someone.. ended up calling and they told me that to leave the key and go...

    the location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    N/A
    • Family with young children
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I understand that they are in remodeling the hotel but next time it’s going to be better.

    We like the area because the beach is behind and they have a pool

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.3
    Good enough to stay the night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking space (in front of the building) allows only 5-6 cars to park in, so we needed to drive around to find parking. The breakfast was strange (we didn't understand it) and didn't seem to be clean. Lots of noise at night time and a flashing light right in front disturbed a little bit the sleeping night, but we were so tired that we didn't care too much about that.

    Room was cold and clean when we arrived; fast service to get us in. Close to the beach and several good places to eat. Only 10 minutes from Old San Juan.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.1
    You get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility was dirty, and the TV didn’t work, even though we were promised it would be up and running in a few minutes. The shower dropped all night, and parking is minimal. The rooms were dirty, but sheets and towels were clean, which was really all we cared about.

    Staff was excellent, super friendly, however the front desk wasn’t staffed a few times, even during “ staffed hours” (according to sign). The location was good, only a block from the beach, and a few blocks from restaurants, however, I do not recommend walking anywhere when it is dark.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    3.8
    Not good
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower not clean, no soap or shampoo, only two towels, A/C was poor, the room was warm all night. Had a full kitchen but nothing in it, not even for one cup of coffee. They dont have enough parking was the number of guests. It gave me the impression it had private parking but it was just in front of the place to the street. My friend's car end up with a side mirror broken. Check in took too much time and they couldn't find my reservation.. They said it included breakfast but the hour passed and there was not even one employee around for breakfast or check out. It was too expensive for what I got. Not using this hotel again.

    Location. Its near Condado. Fast arrival from the event I was at.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Facility was dated and dirty. Shower sometimes worked and toilet ran 24/7. Stayed FIVE days and room was never cleaned. Had to ask for clean towels. Staff were friendly when they were there. Breakfast was pathetic and was not available over the weekend as worker did not show up. Front desk was frequently without a person. Room was dark and dirty. There was only parking for five cars.

    Staff were friendly (when they were there). Location was good - close to airport, beach and restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    3.8
    AVOID, AVOID, AVOID
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    See above

    Having emailed the property confirming my arrival time both myself and the couple who arrived after me found the property locked up with us stuck out side. I rang the bell, knocked on the door and repeatedly telephoned and no one answered. I was extremely anxious being a female travelling alone. Eventually the door was opened by a surly man in a dressing gown who was clearly disgruntled. Once in there my money was taken and the person didn't even tell me where to go for my room. I was offered no help with my luggage and the whole thing was a disgrace. The next morning they had lost all my paperwork as if I had never stayed there. Avoid like the plague.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    4.6
    Very basic and low budget
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My stay had more negatives than positives. Room smelled like mildew and had dirty walls and wore down furniture. I had to get a the front desk lady to give me a plug in air freshener for the room to mask the smell. And this was the second room I got. The first room give to me had no view. They quickly accommodated my room change upon request. The nicest feature about the room I stayed in was its size and the fact that it was one of the only rooms which had a nice little balcony with chair and two tables and to sunbathing chairs. The continental “breakfast” experience was horrible. First, breakfast was only available from 7:30-8:30am as if they were discouraging people to actually eat. Secondly the breakfast consisted of toast, butter, a small mini donut, and tang as orange juice. It was sad.

    The room was nice size. I had a very nice sized balcony that included a small table with two chairs and two sub bathing chairs. I also liked that there was parking available most of the time. The front desk concierge was also nice and as helpful as she could be. Unfortunately the hotel was horrible.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    5.8
    Aweful facilities and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first night there was no water service and they didn't have anyone to call to. The breakfast was free but is only for one hour and too early in the morning, so we didn't even enjoy it for the 2 nights we stayed.

    Easy to get to it and the access to the beach. The restauants within walking distance.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    4.2
    Close to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, water did not work in room, free breakfast was a bannana and toast. Beds were uncomfortable and pillows and bedding was gross.

    Close to the beach

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    3.8
    Not a place I would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the hotel is in a desperate need of some TLC all around,old run down , nice people but no service ,breakfast is only from 7 to 8.30 or 9am , very poor for the price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    3.8
    Boutique hotel requiring a lot of tender loving care!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception not open at 22.45-another resident let us in and our taxi driver rang a contact number. Room was dirty with leaking roof. Had requested gluten free for breakfast but could only have a banana. No tea available.

    Not a lot!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    5.4
    Just a place to lay your head. Place needs to be upgraded. Too expensive for too little.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hated the screaching big, AC unit in the wall needs to be done professionally. The remotes don’t work and the A/c unit in the wall has opened spaces around it thus warms air easily invades the room.

    The beds needs to be updated. Love the location being close to the beach. The rooms needs to be modernize. Just a place to rest your head. Nothing fancy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    3.3
    Bad
    • Group
    • Suite (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Te coffee Maker the microwave the table the bed and mattresses in bad condition the bathroom no hot water poor toilet paper the doors close al 10pm no parking and they said they have it the breakfast end at 8:30am this is a place i will never recommended.

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    7.5
    The staff was super friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn't given the wifi password... my phone worked without it. Their version of breakfast is 2 pieces of toast, fruit and coffee. Not bad but not great.

    The staff was super friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    4.2
    Don't like.
    • Couple
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is horrible....the areas are dirty, the bath super little, not enough water in the shower, the vertical curtains were broken, the clarity did not let me sleep.

    Just the location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    4.6
    The front desk employee was friendly, welcomed me and guided...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn't provide extra towel and pillows, the toilet didn't flush, the place looks outdated.

    The front desk employee was friendly, welcomed me and guided me to my room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    4.2
    Don't stay here! I will never again!!! They falsed advertised!!!
    • Family with young children
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They lied about everything!!! No breakfast, No wifi, no ice but they have us a ice bucket? Hardly no parking, the place was a bit run down, cabinet door and sink draw was broken, can't close it, they have coffee maker but NO COFFEE, there was not even a garbage can, no toiletries, no towels or washcloths, the blinds shades were broken and the little fridge didn't even have a rack inside. No microwave in room you have to go downstairs to use The staffs. The room was worn down and not maintained. From 10pm to 10a.m. No staff members available!!! I paid for a double bed room for my sister and me they tried to give me a one bed king!! Which isn't what I paid for and needed a separate bed due to being handicapped. Never again!!!!!

    Only thing I like was that one of the staff was friendly, the bed was very comfy, hotel was kept clean and the hotel was located near beach, shopping, stores.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    3.3
    Everyone wasn't very helpful. No knowledge of anything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor service and lack of communication. Told us there's free breakfast every morning. No one available between the hrs of 10pm and 10am. No breakfast! False advertising. Ice bucket in room but no ice!? Coffee maker but no coffee, cups, cutlery or plates. No shelves in mini fridge, 1 garbage can in bathroom, no hand towels, broken towel bar, broken sink and tub knobs, shades were not operable. No restaurant but have an open bistro lighted sign on window!?

    Beds were comfortable and room was clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    7.1
    For a one night stay it was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms was completely across living room from bedroom. Place could have been decorated more to make more pleasant.

    Pinky’s was good. That is only place we went as we only stayed overnight before going on cruise

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    5.8
    I would not come back to this place...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We was told it included breakfast in the price! but they did not serve any breakfast or reduce of the room price and no help to assist with any coffee or anything else! the air conditional was bad and loud...!

    close to the beach and nice staff!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    3.8
    Never again - definitely not recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was advertised but not served due to no power. Pool area scrappy - also water problems in shower and toilet. Very basic room with scruffy view of rooftops!

    Very little! Nice beach nearby and a sandwich bar. Receptionist pleasant and tried her best.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    5.0
    Location is only 1 1/2 blocks from the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Because their cooking equipment had been stolen, there was no cooking - we were in a room that faced the street so had noise and a strobe light from the house across the street.

    Location is only 1 1/2 blocks from the beach

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    3.3
    Appalling. Filthy. Deceiving photos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillow cases were used and smelled off sweat. The ceiling leaked when it rained. The air conditioner was filthy and couldn’t be shut off so it blew cold dirty air in our faces all night. There were three lights but only one had a light bulb. The hotel pics and description are deceiving... there is no pool or breakfast served. The wifi didn’t work.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    3.3
    I left....
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, no suitable parking, facilities are in poor conditions, flimsy room doors, no water, etc. Over priced room worth no more than $25.00 a night....

    N/a

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    6.3
    A basic hotel with lots of areas to improve. At $110 a night , highly overpriced for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room wasn't very nice, poor lighting in bathroom. In the morning we saw the room across the hall was bigger and nicer so we asked to change and they complied. Unfortunately we lost a key and replacement charge was $100.00. No breakfast was served supposedly due to hurricane consequences but other restaurants had lots of food. They did credit us $5 day each to compensate. I would only recommend this place as a last resort or 1 night in a pinch.

    It was in a convenient location. Restaurants nearby. Front desk staff friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    5.0
    I wouldnt stay there again.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was unclean. They didnt bring new towels everyday. There is no breakfast as announced. There wasnt employees in front desk most of the time.

    The bed and ac

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    2.9
    It was the worst place I have ever stayed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, floors were very dirty, no lights in the bathroom, no light bulbs in the fixtures no breakfast which was advertised

    Nothing. There was supposed to be a breakfast but like everything else it was none existent. I have never stayed in a place this bad. Most of the lights didn't have light bulbs, no toilet paper, towels or soap. No light in the bathroom

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    5.4
    Far too expensive for what it's
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is old and poorly maintained. The breakfast was included but there is no breakfast since the hurricane Irma (2 months ago). It's far too expensive for what it's

    good location and friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    6.3
    Friendly staffs.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 27 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast as advertised. Room doesn’t equip with AC remote control; Therefore, no means of temperature control. Shower doesn’t have sufficient water pressure.

    Friendly staffs.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    2.5
    Horrible no staff, no lights, dingy walls, no breakfast,very low water pressure, leaking air conditi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean rooms should be a given, a staff, more parking, breakfast and more lights and a tv remote that works and a closet that you could use. Woke up to a puddle of water on the floor from the air conditioner, had walk up three flights of stairs with no help. Had to ask for towels, damage from the hurrican I'm assuming still visible very outdated, mattress hard as a rock very uncomfortable taking a shower was a nightmare no water pressure

    There was nothing I liked about this hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    3.8
    Poor customer service
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area around the Hostal was rough. The Hostal itself clearly sustained damage from the hurricanes which detracts from the appeal although hopefully they will remedy that. They have refused to return our money when the Hostal was without water and power (they suggested we leave as an option) therefore I am basing this off the property I could see and smell, and the customer service.

    Close to airport

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    2.5
    It was despicable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything hands down the worse place i ever attempted to stay at in my entire life. Disgusting, pretty much looked like a drug house.

    Absolutely nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    2.5
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel wasn’t clean. It has mold in the rooms making it a health risk for anyone staying there and the manager of this hotel was nowhere to be found.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    3.8
    Don't forget the mosquito spray.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The atmosphere, dead zone. The pictures online need to be updated. It was nothing like they advertised. Management needs to step down or hire a consulting firm to rejuvenate to its once upon a time. with fresh young eyes on a place like that great potential.

    Ppl in general are nice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    4.6
    I Already said what I say.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Actually nothing I expect the offer from the web site are opposite. Breakfast I could not eat , no TV . Room is smell . Sorry to say that but I experienced.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    3.8
    Never again in this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is awfull. Never again. Breakfast is coffee in plastic coups with bread with butter.

    Almost nothing. I stayed there becouse I already payed before.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    2.9
    Worst Hotel in my life
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very old hotel without any maintenance and very poor cleaning. Need to be closed to general maintenance. No water pressure in the third floor. Air conditioner too small for the room size. Bathroom completed out dated and not look clean. Broken doors. The TV was a 20" old PC Monitor. Really a place I won't stay again and I will make sure my friend do not stay.

    Only location for the purpose of my trip was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.5
    Satisfied and will stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ran out of toilet paper twice and eventhough they fix the room they didnt replace it.

    Many was great and made the difference. Also the location was very good for us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    9.6
    The Oceana Hostal Playero made you feel like you were family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Staff was wonderful and friendly and helpful. Their food was perfect. They gave the best customer service and offered excursion advice and helped with getting taxis and any transportation that was needed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    2.9
    NEAR TO BEACH
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    THEY SHOULD REMOVE FROM YOUR LIST, BECAUSE NOTHING IS GOOD, NOTHING WORK PROPERLY , WE STAY FOR TWO DAYS WITHOUT WATER . IT WAS VERY BAD AND UN CONFORTABLE

    NEAR TO BEACH

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    5.8
    Think it twice before booking in Oceana. Great location though...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything else: TV from the 1980s, no WiFi in rooms (only common areas), awful one hour breakfast, AC did not work properly (too warm) and room's lamp did not work, poor lightning

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    4.6
    Please think before book a room on this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole hotel needs urgently improvement and it is very dirty and ruinous. If you understand that 4 toast, 1 banana, 1 coffee and 1 oat cookie is a breakfast, then you have your "breakfast included".

    the check out

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    5.0
    Old and poor looking not Quaint
    • Couple
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities extremely dated, the first room assigned to us was small, the air conditioner did not work. We were relocated to a room used by other staff members, there was a large mismatched large sink and counter in the room. The fridge was very old and did not work.

    That I only stayed 2 nights, left as early as possible as soon as I awoke.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    6.3
    Ok at most
    • Group
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don't tell you about the "free breakfast" time and cleaning crew schedule, no options of food on premises and like I said ok at most I would have stayed with my father if it wasn't that I took my friend with me.

    It was convenient for me since my father lived 5 mins away, other than that it was ok at most

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    2.5
    My Nigthmare at Oceania Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facilities were a disaster in fact there was fungus in the shower curtain, the bed linings were used. The door knob was corroted.

    Nothing. The only thing was leaving as fast as possible.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    2.5
    Didn't like the service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the service. Was getting bite up. & the beds was so dirty that the blankets had stain all over it. The shower had mold. The staff was very rude. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME STAYING HERE.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    6.7
    OK place in the middle of two kinds of neighborhoods
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It wasn't possible to open the windows in my room, so I had to use the very loud air condition. The breakfast was just four toasts, cookie, banana, and a coffee. Receptionist could have been friendlier.

    I liked the location, it's close to everything, i.e. airport, nice beach, restaurants and bars. There are a few parking lots in front of the hotel. The neighborhood on one side close to the beach, Ocean Park, looked to me like a rich area with surrounding fence and expensive cars. The area on the other side looked more run down but offers many restaurants and bars. Someone who used to live there told me that I better get back to my room after 10 pm because it gets unsafe at night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.5
    The location was excellent near the beach, restaurants and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was small, One piece of toast cut in half, one banana, one cookie, and SunnyD orange juice.

    The location was excellent near the beach, restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    4.6
    Do not stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much water in shower No hot water Faucet completely unattached from sink Room smelled Bed and sheet very used No flat screen TV No restaurant Just looked unattractive and unclean

    Near beach

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    6.7
    Bed and breakfast type feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They served the same breakfast every morning. Wash clothes were never given to the guests. They didn't clean the room everyday. The hotel was run down. Poor water pressure in the shower. Room was very small. However in saying all that if i return to Puerto Rico I will probably stay here again. I will just know what to pack extra. By the end of the week I didn't even mind all the negatives and my daughter and I had a blast.

    One staff member was amazing. Manny told us about different things to do and always had a smile on his face. He treated us like family. It was walking distance to the beach. It was walking distance to restaurants and shops. All the employees were nice and spoke to you.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    2.9
    Do not waste your money or time here
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were ugly smell bad the pool dont look like in the pictures i think that you get in that pool and will get sick horrible place what a waste of money.

    Nothing horrible place

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    6.7
    It was okay.
    • Group
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the late night Staff was very arrogant, plus didn't receive a key for the entrance door, waited outside in middle of the night for 15min. They charged me twice by error.

    The Room was nice and the facilities. The morning recepcionist

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    4.2
    Poor Choice for the Money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Property was not clean and it was physically run down, nothing like the pictures online. Breakfast was minimal!

    Nice neighborhood with a couple good restaurants close by and with the beach close by.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    10
    We missed our original flight so we had to change our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The free breakfast was just a snack of fruit and toast and coffee but it was delicious!

    We missed our original flight so we had to change our reservation to the next day. The hotel staff was very accommodating to make the change and upgraded us to a room with a balcony. The room was very nice and the staff was very friendly. It is the best hotel in San Juan for the price! There were huge mirrors everywhere so you can check your outfit before you step out into the town of San Juan. The best beach was literally steps away from the hotel. Loved our stay here!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    5.8
    It in great area and good for your money. Friendly staff. But old and falling apart. pool, furnis
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was dirty and very small The room bed was very hard. The place look old and falling apart The cleaning lady didn't clean room everyday especially the bathroom. The breakfast was coffee and toast and sometimes a banana and one cookie that all seven days. Was very upset. There people all time up on roof making noise. Even somebody on hallway sleeping by our room door. I couldn't sleep good. Cause very afraid for security of me and my daughter

    It great area. Tony was very friendly and helpful. Air conditioning work well.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    4.6
    good location but poor building and cold water always"..
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    low maintenance, lack of services, cold water, old and broken furnitures, chipped walls and cracked. Water leak in the sealing.

    location minutes away from the beach

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    6.7
    It was alright.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room that I was assigned to (room 25) was unacceptable and also had a plack that did not say the room number but said employees only. The bathroom was dirty and tiny. The shower drain had a screw surfacing that cut my foot, the shower knobs were backwards, one of the beds was not attached to anything and moved freely around the room therefore the headboard would fall over. Especially if you moved in your sleep. The staff was not friendly at all except for one housekeeper and one front desk agent. The parking was horrible, they had more than half of their parking spots occupied with broken down cars in their front and side parking. It was so bad that one of the cars was in at an angle occupying two spaces. I am not sure why, whether it was availablility or spite but come to find out after being there 3 out of the 5 days, they do have nicer rooms. Actually just so happens one morning while they were doing cleaning. All the room on our floor were open except ours. Every room was better than ours. Our room did not have a working fridge, microwave, the tv was the size of my laptop. I did happen to see their storage area which they use for towels and other junk they find Left in rooms; they were very messy.

    The building was very nice, which had a great outdoor area with a pool. The location was convenient and The rates were good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    3.3
    The beach was within walking distance of the facility.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floors had dirt marks; the refrigerator was old and dirty; the bathroom's faucet was loose; the balcony's glass door did not close properly; the desk lamp did not work; for days there was a poodle of water on the hallway adjacent to our room and we had to spray ourselves before going to sleep because there were moskitoes in our room; the mattresses were ancient and disgusting; the door leading to the upstairs rooms was kept open for hours; the female owner was rude and more concerned about watching television than providing quality service to paying guests; friends or relatives of the owner expected you to open the facility's front door for them; a male friend of the owner felt that he had the right of touching me; you could sense a smell of rotting meat on the grounds; the no refund policy works wonderfully because once you arrive at this "nightmare", if you do not have a couple of thousands available, then you are stuck and have to try to enjoy your vacation; I felt that there was a double standard when dealing with paying guests.

    The beach was within walking distance of the facility.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    2.5
    Horrible !
    • Group
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was not clean. It was in a very bad area. Very scary. I only stayed for 3 hours instead of the full 2 days that's how horrible it was. Which is sad because I traveled all the way from Texas. The pictures don't look like the room. To top it off I couldn't get a refund and bookings.com never called me back or investigated this which I will be reporting.

    Nothing this place was horrible. There was stains on the sheets as soon I walked in I was bit by bugs. It had a funny smell to it.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    2.5
    Don't waste your money here!!
    • Group
    • Submitted via mobile

    The absolute worst experience ever. Wasn't worth any penny that I spent on it. The staff was rude the hotel is nasty and they tried to charge us extra money without even telling us don't even waste your time staying here it's not worth it I would give it 0 Stars if it would let me

    There is nothing good about this place.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    2.5
    Nothing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! This place should not be operating, at 70$ a night it is a rip off. We stayed at places only 30$ more that were waaaaaay better.

    Nothing! This place is atrocious. Sheets were dirty, room was a dump, staff was creepy. We were so disgusted with this place we didn't stay our last night because it was so terrible

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    3.8
    Decluttering would give me a facelift
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price, food, decor and over all presentation. Wouldn't take much to decluttered and give it an all around facelift. I rearranged it in my mind. My husband and I left much earlier than we had to.

    Loved the location only. Food was very skimpy and not tasty,room was a disaster. Nice pieces of furniture but decor needs to be rearranged and freshneed up. I rearranged and decluttered it in my mind. I did not get my money's worth. Will not recommend this place to anyone left 12 hours earlier.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    2.5
    Don't ever use booking.com or stay at this hotel
    • Family with young children
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, I had reserved more than one room for my sons wedding! We had no water to shower, no amenities, roaches in drawers, linens and towels were extremely dirty and holy, bathrooms were filthy dirty, AC did not work, rooms smelled moldy and dirty, mini fridges and tvs didn't work, leaking water from air conditioning units near bed railing, headboards was not attached to frame, floors look like they've never been swept or mopped.... should I go on!!! Booking.com lied to us and refused to help us when we called them, we requested a suite and we got a small room and had to pay more for the children that they already charged us. Never using booking.com ever again! I will be writing to trip advisers and anyone else who can help me. Booking.com ruined my sons wedding night and the guest who flew in from out of town to be in at his wedding and who may never visit Puerto Rico again because of this bump of a hotel.

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    3.8
    Nothing besides location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water, floors very dirty, tv service very poor, the odor in the room was horrible. Parking was a mess, we didn't have parking 3 nights out of four...

    Nothing besides location! Close to beach.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    5.4
    After 23 and 30 yrs of not visiting P.R this hotel made our visit a nightmare
    • Couple
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small pool not so clean right under the trees and shade. Parking on site had multiple broke down cars most nights we had to find parking on side streets. I found suringes on parking grounds side of the hotel. Rooms are out dated don't look like the pictures on the website. Broken towels , broken sink, tiolet hardly flyshed.very poor water pressure to shower. We were supposedly suppose to have complimentary breakfast but what wss offered consist of coffee , a toast or cracker and a banana if you needed eggs or bacon you needed to pay for it. We were suppose to stay there eight nights 9 days and on the 5th day the water pipes broke no water still day 6th so we need to file a report get the remainder of my money and go to a different hotel. Horrible experience

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    3.3
    Nothing was good about this place the pictures show it nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like the needles all over the place. It says 24 survillence and of course when my phone got stolen the cameras didnt work that day!!!! Mold in the room we stayed in breakfast included ya right a cheap cookie,banana,toast with nothing on it and coffee and juice u can only choose one or other. The pool look big it fits maybe three people in it to swim.. The staff was the only nice people there and kind,but over all it was not worth the money I paided. Ive stayed in better motels then that place.If people booking to the oceana hostal playero!!THE Pics are not what it seems once u get there u will want to leave..

    Nothing was good about this place the pictures show it nice and its a dump when u get there

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    3.8
    Too expensive to pay for a dirty and neglected place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was large but the floor was stained by years of neglect. The edge of the walls were dirty and dusty. The Wi-Fi was not available. It is not too far from the ocean but I will not go back there for sure and I do not recommend it.

    The location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    5.0
    Good location, nice staff, good A/C, TV
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was hard/uncomfortable, flat pillows, water pressure was very sub standard/minimal, mold in closet and leaky ceilings

    Good location, nice staff, good A/C, TV

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    3.8
    Good location, no value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite dirty and never got cleaned during our stay. The wifi didn't work in the room. There was a water leak so we where out of running water for 12h. The electricity was out during one night so the air conditioner didn't work. The breakfast consisted of coffee, white slices of bread and a banana. I would unfortunately not recommend this place to anyone.

    The location of the hostel was good, close to the beach and small cafes and restaurants. The staff was ok friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    5.0
    The night staff was awful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The night staff was awful. No parking available, because there was, at least 3 to 4 junked cars and the others take many space and have no parking lines

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    2.5
    Run...don't stay here...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Everything. The place is filthy, the beds need to be updated, the bathrooms need to be properly cleaned, bed sheets are disgusting, although staff is friendly-they never say where the manager is. The walls had patches of stucko and badly painted. The TV needed updating. The sofas for the pull out beds were gross, stained, tearing apart. The stove was not cleaned, the fridge had awful rust stains all over. The room near ours was stuffed to the brim with junk and garbage, the room behind us had people living in it who kept us up all night. The cars parked outside our door were abandoned. Not worth what we paid--at all. It says the kitchens are fully equipped and that is a joke!

    nothing about the place. The beach was great.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    10
    Loved how everything was very near by even the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved how everything was very near by even the beach. Great restaurants & bars near by as well. Me and friends had an amazing time. I loved my stay!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    2.9
    I like the city, the beach, very good weather so hot, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom very poor, no to much clean. The staff didn't provide the towels, paper toilet. The breakfast so poor. They told that the breakfast was a continental breakfast but not, just a coffee with toast.

    I like the city, the beach, very good weather so hot, the restaurants specially Bebo's is really good and good prices

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    3.8
    The rooms are dirty. Save your money and get a good night's sleep elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Run of House Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dirty. There was hair in the bed linens and covering every surface in the bathroom. I felt dirty after showering and even after paying over a hundred bucks for the night would've preferred to sleep on the beach but couldn't take the sand fleas.

    The location is excellent. The building could be nice under better management/ownership. It's the type of dirty that can't be cleaned though.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: