Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Açores Atlântico 5 stars

Avenida Infante D. Henrique, 113, 9500-150 Ponta Delgada, Portugal

Review score

Based on 221 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Amazing stay, we will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Bay View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only one small thing - there is no iron and the only possibility to iron your clothes is to order laundry service..

    One of the best hotels we ever stayed! At check-in we got a tour (!) to see our room and hotel facilities, staff was super attentive, breakfast is amazing! Hotel was re-opened just recently and truly deserves all of its stars! Great swimming pool, amazing view of the pier and the ocean. We recommend to have dinner in the restaurant - great variety of dishes, excellent service and quality. We also loved the bar and live music every evening.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant hotel in a super location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy street side.The hotel was dated and was more a 3 star standard.We upgraded to a suite as the photos on booking.com were deceptive.The standard room beds are small whereas the pictures were of the suite with queensize beds.The suite was worth the upgrade.

    Location, helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    This hotel was very comfortable, very well maintained with great staff in one of the best locations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The furniture in our very spacious room was old. It could use some sprucing up.

    We enjoyed staying at this hotel with a lovely water view of the harbor, the swimming pools, and the shopping complex at Portas do Mar. The staff were extremely helpful in every department, especially Dilsia and Fabiana at the Front Desk, who went beyond the call of duty to assist with some personal problems. Breakfast food had a very good selection. I noticed someone posted 'a small breakfast room for so many people'. I disagree, it was very large - one of the largest that I have seen with views over the harbor.. (We travel extensively.)One of the best locations in the city, especially with the garage parking at no extra cost.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    We had a wonderful stay and will be returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner.

    We were given a suite which was clean, well equipped and fabulously large. The air conditioner however was not able to cool the room adequately. The staff spoke English and were very helpful with tours and dining reservations. We will definitely return!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We can't think of anything that could have been better

    Our accommodations were superb because for the price of a double bed room they gave us a suite for some reason.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.3
    Very comfortable, wonderful staff and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although we had a large room with ocean view balcony, we found that the furniture was very old and needed refurbishment.

    Breakfast food selection was very good. All staff with whom we dealt were extremely helpful. Especially Dilsia and Fabiana who worked at the Front Desk and assisted us with some problems that we had.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.9
    Loved the staff. Not the AC..No iron or blow dryer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No iron in room. Air conditioning is terrible. Weekend cleaning staff is lazy. Actually bad mouthed her co worker to us. No blow dryer. What they have is from the 80's.

    The staff. So pleasant and helpful. Front desk was excellent. BUT Cleaning crew needs help. They did a terrible job. Omg. I have never been in a hotel where my bed is made crooked and lopsided. Coffee was not replenished. Bidet still had used soap bar in it from previous guest. She was complaining to me how her co worker was lazy. I left a wrapper behind the living room door and it was still there all weekend. Air conditioning is not good. They moved us out of the first room. We could not sleep due to heat and humidity. The 2nd suite was better, but only the bedroom had air. Living room was non liveable due to heat. Bring a blow dryer, the one in room was from 1950 I think. My hair was up in a ponytail every day. No iron in the room and they will not allow you to iron in room. They have an ironing room. You let them know in the morning and they make arrangements for you to go iron your clothes. We managed. It was tough. Hotel lobby is beautiful. Hotel staff are wonderful. Breakfast was nice. That made up for the rest. Would I stay there again, no..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel to use as base for trips around the island if you dont intend to spend much time in the hotel itself
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated-needs a make over. We had to change rooms twice as things were broken. AC not working in first room, lock on windows broken in second room.

    Location-walming distance to city center

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.3
    Some hiccups, but mostly a great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an issue with flooding in a room down the hall which caused our room too also become flooded. Staff had to move us to a different room that unfortunately wasn't an upgrade to the one we were in. If anything, it was a downgrade. Wish the pool stayed open later. Also, if staying with more than two adults in one room, I would highly suggest not to. Rooms aren't big enough. Opt for a sea view if you can. City View is not bad but you only get a balcony with the Sea View. Totally worth it.

    Breakfast was buffet style, but good. Took advantage of the pool and jacuzzi almost every night. They were really clean and modern. Rooms were very clean. You can certainly tell the housekeeping staff worked hard every day. Wi-Fi is free. You are given a username and password Ford 7 days, but if staying longer simply ask for another name and password for longer access.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    8.8
    No longer 4 stars but still better than most 3 stars hotels on island
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need maintenance..chipped doors and furniture ..walls need painting ..tiles need more scrubbing, starting to get mildew...hallways have a smell from the carpets

    Location..breakfast. .bar...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    8.3
    Location compensates for some little flaws
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is spacious, but the shower and bath system is irritatingly clumsy. Could not manage to shower/bathe without causing a flood on the tiles. Slippery!!! The rooms are a bit worn out, but still adequate. I did not try out the pool or the gym, but noticed that they could do with a bit of fresh air instead of a artificial aroma which dominated the hotel. A good sea breeze would do the trick. Wifi is included and works.. however, beware of slow-wifi-sleeping-sickness.( Don't know if it is the hotels fault or a general problem so ..) Tea and coffee making facilities would be nice.

    Breakfast was better than average, healthy options included. Excellent croissants!!! Fresh fruit available every morning. Local cheese selection is a delight. Room size is good, beds and linen very good. Extra pillows and blankets available in the room. View to the Marina. Location is excellent, this alone is a reason to choose the hotel. A mini Market and restaurants very close and swimming across the road. Staff is to my liking, not pushy but very helpful. Complimentary fruit and water in the room is a nice bonus.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    7.0
    Location great. Hotel needs upgrades.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Telephone didn't work for half of my stay. No compensation, just said it wasn't their fault, it was the telco. Shower head did not function properly.

    Location. View of harbour.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel in Ponta Delgada
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furniture.

    Location, 5 minutes walk from the city centre. Warm welcome at the reception when checking in. Free parking on site. Good breakfast. Big room. Free wifi

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    4.6
    Good location but a bad hotel in general
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of the room. The hotel has a summer and winter season. If you are in the winter, the AC will not work only heat and vice versa. It gets hot in the room and you need to open the terrace to get some air. Which is fine but you will get all kinds of noise from the streets and will not enjoy your sleep. The shower is terrible. The hotel needs urgent maintenance/renovation. No soundproof.

    The location of the hotel is nice. Across the harbor and within walking distance of restaurants, bars and city center.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    Nice comfortable hotel with lovely views
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only small problem while I was there was that the breakfast got very busy - so I'd suggest going either a little earlier or a little later to avoid the rush.

    I booked this hotel on very short notice through booking.com after a problem with my other accommodation, and everything went very smoothly. It's a very nice and comfortable place, with some nice views from the bedrooms over the docks and out to the Atlantic. Central location, everything is within walking distance. Friendly and helpful staff, no problem to help me with little things I needed, (sorting out an iron, storing bags for me for the day after I had checked out)... Just a classic good quality hotel, with everything you need, good wifi, lots of TV channels in different languages, a nice breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel in the close proximity of the harbour, old town, bars and restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The car park is very tight so if you are planning to hire a car and park there - aim to hire a small vehicle. Also, no hotel fault, some customers are inconsiderate and park so nobody else can fit next to them. The staff were helpful at letting us park outside of the parking bays. The hotel could do with a bit of décor updating, vent in the bathroom, working air con and mysterious humming noise we never found the source of.

    The location of the hotel is perfect. Close to the historical centre and to the marine for the various boat trips. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel was kept very clean. There was lots to choose at breakfast with helpful serving staff. We had a room with the marina view which was great and I think this hotel presents a great value for money. We would definitely considered staying there again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    9.6
    Awesome balcony view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was full and we were redirected to the neighbouring hotel's parking. Port was noisy from the early morning, but maybe because only of the preparation for the rally.

    Unmatched panoramic view from the balcony over the cruise ship port and the Atlantic. Great breakfast. Great overall experience, would return again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff. Room. Bed. Breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.5
    Overall, excellent accommodations and would highly recommend to others!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bacon needs to be crispier!

    Excellent breakfast choices!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.5
    Good value for mony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    beautiful location right on the sea front .Good value for money.We would recommend it to our friends,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Downtown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved it

    Downtown

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    5.0
    good croissants
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    rooms condition

    good croissants juices should be better as well as coffee

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    Una noite em Sao Miguel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It seemed the air conditioner in our room wasn't working really well. It was warm in the room.

    Beautiful views, great location, tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.5
    Peq almoço completo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To torradeira unica e inefficiente.lentidao no reabastecimento de sumos e pages.

    Peq almoço completo.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    6.3
    We had ocean view and it was fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise coming from the street

    We had ocean view and it was fantastic

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    9.2
    Loving the Spa!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location near main Avenue with shops, restaurants and disco all in walking distance. Staff extremely helpful and accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    10
    Perfect place to stay in Ponta Delgada with an amazing view of the marina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location is perfect!! Everything is within walking distance. Breakfast was very good as well.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    7.5
    I did not like that there was no variety in the breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like that there was no variety in the breakfast buffet. It was the same foods every morning for a week

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    8.5
    Great views of the harbor, staff very helpful when SATA lost...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast room was overcrowded and selection was not great. Some noise on the street at night with the sliding door open.

    Great views of the harbor, staff very helpful when SATA lost my luggage, room comfortable and clean. Great location.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    6.7
    The location was very central, located in front of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel itself its a bit old, early 80s decorations. The indoor pool is... better say its not existed! Breakfast was ok. The maid were keep entering in our room for cleaning in our check out day...

    The location was very central, located in front of the marina, we saw 2 cuises during our 2 nights stay. Near of the restaurants and shops, very central.

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    6.7
    I liked the view very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I had a bad experience whit a staff member I maid a mistake with a time and he was really nasty to us not a pleasant staying.

    I liked the view very clean

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    9.2
    the hotel has a great location in front of the natural ocean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the bathrooms could use some updating. one must climb into the tub and the hot water comes out scalding.

    the hotel has a great location in front of the natural ocean pool. the staff is very considerate and parking was free.the place is clean and comfortable and they always had nice jazz music playing.the breakfast buffet had a good choice of food. it was nice to be able to walk around the city after dinner.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    4.2
    staff was very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Given that this hotel was rated 4 stars, it did not live up to its standards. The fitness room and pool was dirty and the equipment was a decade old! The beds were hard as rock and the small fridge didn't work. I think booking.com should down grade the rating to a 2 or 3 stars.

    staff was very friendly

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    7.5
    The location was central and very convenient, the breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The WiFi only worked in part of our suite, my wife and I had a bed that was comprised of 2 single beds pushed together, not very comfortable. The carpets in the rooms were not clean doesn't seem like they use a "carpet bruah" for the floors

    The location was central and very convenient, the breakfast was good and the staff were friendly

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    10
    Great location, beautiful facility and very helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We had a problem with the air conditioning not working, making it very hot in the west facing rooms. The staff relocated us and quickly corrected the issue.

    Great location, beautiful facility and very helpful and friendly staff!

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    10
    Great location, near the marina with lots of restaurants and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They didn't have our booking in their computer (but after I showed them our printed booking they gave us a room as booked)

    Great location, near the marina with lots of restaurants and pubs. Near the bus and taxi station and the city centre. With a great ocean view.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    5.0
    .good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    .dirty swimming pool .very old fashioned interior .no spa .noisy air conditioner .small sauna

    .good location .good breakfast .spacious room .fantastic view .helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    8.8
    Great location, staff, free parking, and free and abundunt...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Need updates

    Great location, staff, free parking, and free and abundunt breakfast

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    5.4
    Position on seafront convenient but very noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Position on seafront convenient but very noisy. Rooms very tired

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    7.9
    The location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location was excellent. Had a great view of the harbor. Easy walking around Ponta Delgada.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    10
    Incredible staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Incredible staff

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    5.8
    location & staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    aircondition noisy & not cooling, facilities very old, not comfortable.

    location & staff

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    5.4
    Clean, with a great view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mini Bar did not work, was nothing inside, not even a bottle of water, you must pay for the safe.

    Clean, with a great view.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    9.6
    Friendly and helpfull staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor wifi in our room on the 6th floor, do not know how it is in other areas.

    Friendly and helpfull staff. Perfect location and facilities.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    9.6
    This was a comfortable hotel with an excellent buffet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was a comfortable hotel with an excellent buffet breakfast We liked the view of the harbour from the bed room

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    8.3
    Staff was very helpful and pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Staff was very helpful and pleasant. Excellent service in the bar. Very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2015

    8.3
    Staff and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff and location.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    8.3
    Location was very good , it's close to everything.
    • Couple

    Location was very good , it's close to everything.

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Guests also reviewed these properties: