Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Águas do Gerês - Hotel, Termas & Spa 3 stars

Avenida Manuel Francisco da Costa, 136, 4845-067 Geres, Portugal

#8 of 18 hotels in Geres

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 796 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.0
    The staff was very helpful and offered some great service...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    For the price I was quite disappointed with this hotel. In my opinion it is NOT very clear from the Booking.com page of the hotel that the pool facilities are actually not on the hotel grounds, nor are they exclusive to the hotel. The pool areas announced are ALL part of a publicly accessible park about 200 meters up the road. With very hot weather during my stay I would have liked a refreshing swim but the public park was simply over crowded with locals and all sorts. The wifi is terrible. I'm aware that the hotel is located in a natural park and in the mountains, but still, I'm sure with a small investment it could be improved. The breakfast was also very underwhelming. The coffee machine made some of the worst coffee I've ever had. Very basic food selection. The "private" parking is located about 300-400 meters away, uphill from the hotel. My room smelled slightly of urine, or something similarly acidic. The air con would turn off by it self causing a very uncomfortable morning with poor sleep. The bathroom was similar to what you'd find in a youth hostel, although it was private, thank god.

    The staff was very helpful and offered some great service with regards to my boarding. They let me take my expensive roadbike to the room, which doesn't always happen

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.8
    Misleading information
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is an ok 3 star. But the information about the facilities is very misleading. The hotel has no outdoor pool of its own. The pool is in a park down the road and closed this May half term. To be honest it looked very run down and not inviting. The tennis and table tennis is the same. It would be easy to get very disappointed if these facilities are important to you. The spa opposite has very limited opening hours (1600-1830 in the afternoons for example) and we found it hard to get reliable information. The spa circuit is fine but quite small. Not at all to be compared with other spas in the EU such as the German ones.

    Clean and reasonable price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park was at least 300 meters away and in an isolated area. Swimming pools were not open and at least 500 meters away???

    Walking distance of one good restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Great service and facilities! Restaurant is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent evening meal included in overnight rate - the restaurant is very good! All staff very helpful and friendly and hotel is located right in the centre of Gerês.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.6
    Amazing breakfast and nice restaurant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel parking is about 5min walk from the hotel and open to everybody...

    Amazing breakfast and nice restaurant! Clean and comfortable hotel right in the little city centre of Gerês, where we stayed for a 3 days hiking tour and for relaxing at the thermes just in front of the hotel. Staff was very nice. Some nice restaurants around. We would stay again there...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant meals were a bit ordinary but there are good restaurants in the town serving excellent local dishes .

    Freindly and helpful reception , our male receptionist spoke excellent english and was able to provide useful local information. Comfortable room and excellent breakfasts. Good service in the restaurant. Good location in the town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.8
    Good value for money and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Spa Package
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no minibar for cooling beverages and the wall towards the bathroom could do with some work (damp patch).

    The reception staff was friendly and very helpful. The hotel is located centrally on main road, which is quiet, however. The twin room had a spacious bathroom and the breakfast buffet offered a big selection of delicious food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel, good value for money, very nice breakfast and a good location for getting out into
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We used this hotel as a base to do some walks in the locality. The surrounding county side is hilly but the steep walking is rewarded with some very fine views and some excellent walking. We enjoyed a very relaxing two days in this area.Excellent hotel very relaxed, go

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    4.2
    Very disappointed ++
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I've stayed in room 404 and from the first minute I step into the room I could smell cigarette everywhere. I opened my window and I've seen loads of cigarettes and ashes I believe staff didn't bother to clean that for ages. Also the same day I've seen one guy from the reception walking in the corridor smoking at the same time. Breakfast wasn't bad but always the same for three days straight. In my last day I found a hair in the fresh cheese plate. Not nice! They also don't have a swimming pool but instead you can use the public swimming pool near the hotel (10min walk). They provide some free pass although they didn't tell me this during the check-in I needed to read the leaflet information provided in the room. I normally don't write reviews unless I feel real bother with the service and this hotel was the case. You pay a lot for a hotel that probably is one of the bests in Geres (they say) but then from the minute you are going to the rooms you just feel very disappointed. They need to change the decor of the rooms and improving the cleaning levels otherwise they just need to reduce the prices.

    I liked the reception and restaurant area decor. Hotel is also well located.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.9
    Clean, dull, pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's an uninteresting place which probably can only get better if you use spa. But spa comes at extra cost with only 10% discount for staying in the hotel (we came on Sunday and it was closed, so no idea if it's any good). You don't get the feeling of an old spa resort here. It's just a pricey hotel. And if it's raining – that's a full-stop: nothing to do around the village. The parking is in approximately 250 metres up the hill.

    The breakfast was good and the rooms were decent. Nothing special at all. It's in three minutes walk from a beautiful park/forest. There is an open-air swimming pool which you can use, but it was raining, so we didn't get the chance to try it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.2
    free parking.
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    extra payment charged for the very small gym (9 Euros per entry per person!). hotel staff knew (too) little about possible activities in the area (especially Geres National Park) and sent us to the (good) tourist information center.

    free parking. location (center of town). free entrance to external pool. best restaurant in town (for dinner).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.2
    Amazing place to recharge energy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pool was too far away from the hotel

    The room was very well decorated with a clean and peaceful design. Breakfast was extraordinary as it was Dinner. Very caring and nice staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.5
    Hotel OK but restaurant Staff very poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant staff took too long and ignored us when a "celebrity" (she did a TV show in PT about 15 years ago) arrived. As a paying customer I expect to be treated with the same standards as everyone else. Waited 35minutes for a soup (and only because my wife reminded them) and the desert seemed to have come out of a box - was still frozen when the cheesecake got to the table. Other tables got their soups 5min aftsr they ordered. At some point the celebrity table (of 2) had 3 waiters going to ask them how the food was and did some small talk, while we and other customers were being ignored. Even the chef popped her head out of the kitchen to have a glance. Once they decided to have coffee outside, the room got empty of waiters. For 10minutes no waiter was seen onsite. Very disappointing. After the ordeal, I complained to the receptionist which assured me that this is not common to happen and that this would be escalated, but so far we have not received any apologies. We were also told that this "celebrity" was not even staying at the hotel.

    Staff was friendly and rooms fair.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.8
    Overall the staff was extremely kind, helpful and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    However, there is one particular staff in the restaurant that we felt did not belong in the rest of the group. The single male staff in the restaurant really felt like a character that does not belong in the movie... We did two trekking and were sorry that the tourism office is years-light away from what could be done in such beautiful region... The maps for the trails are completely surreal - surely those that have done it have never done a trail themselves (in an unknown area, as this is for most tourists). In our trekking experiences we meet several other people and we all exchanged comments and experiences about the (challenging) interpretation of he "maps" . Very sad - we hope it will be soon developed and not just left to the initiative of private companies to organised PAID trekking tours with tourists...!!! (if you know what I mean... )

    Overall the staff was extremely kind, helpful and very well-trained. Excellent savoir-faire! We took the daily menu for 19€ and was excellent and varied. The pools are great and the nature is just great. We stayed for 5 nights and we were 5 people, including two teenagers and 71 year old lady - everybody was extremely pleased! We also did massages (excellent quality at a fair price!).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.9
    Rooms were nice, we had a family room which was 2...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Swimming Pool and car parking are a bit far away. They say to have babysitting service, but when we asked it was not provided.

    Rooms were nice, we had a family room which was 2 communicating rooms, and that is an excellent solution. The location is very central.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Really enjoyed this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    pleasant hotel ,friendly and attentive staff,comfortable room,exellent breakfast.Very quiet,peaceful small town.Lovely park Peneda-Geres.Reasonable cost.Would go back next time

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.6
    Nice Hotel with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds in Portugal are on the firm side. Seems to be standard everywhere. Car needs to be parked up the road a bit but no security issues. Other than that no complaints.

    The restaurant was lovely, the staff friendly and helpful. Rooms basic but perfect for short stay. Price was very good. We only stayed 1 night so location was good to see what we wanted.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.3
    The location is nice to visit several points of interest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi works badly. The hotel should take care of that. The pool is 10 minutes away, closes at 6pm and the usage of sun lounger is paid.

    The location is nice to visit several points of interest. The room and the breakfast are both good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.9
    Restaurant food was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The SPA was like a public hospital. Not in the hotel, other side of the road. You can only use it for very limited proscribed periods of time, not flexible at all.

    Restaurant food was great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    8.3
    Very nice hotel in majestic surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Met all our expectations.

    The beautiful location in the Geres National Park.The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was ample and enjoyable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.3
    Extra comfy bed and large room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Spa Package
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra comfy bed and large room. Quiet location, good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Friendly helpful staff, good breakfast, comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly helpful staff, good breakfast, comfy bed. Nice room and

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.6
    Neat relaxing town to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Location and town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.1
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Spa Package
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needs updating. Should have waterbottles and fridge inb the room. It´s a SPA hotel…. The SPA needs a total facelift.

    Good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.3
    Location is great, it’s comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little dark and plain - there is no charm to the rooms.

    Location is great, it’s comfortable. The lobby lounge and restaurant are very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. Nice rooms. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.3
    Excelente para descansar e contactar com a natureza
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    O Spa deveria estar dentro do hotel ou vice-versa. Deveria haver ligação interna entre o hotel e o Spa.

    Tranquilidade e sossego.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.8
    Bedeutung comfy, breakfast good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedeutung comfy, breakfast good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.6
    Do estacionamento ser tão longe do hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Do estacionamento ser tão longe do hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.6
    Location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location; Surroundings; Value for money;

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Croissant very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They should give a better discount at their SPA to their hotel clients.

    Croissant very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    6.3
    Good Breakfast- Very good bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool not available

    Good Breakfast- Very good bed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a bit of a distance from the hotel.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.9
    No real orange juice or real ham.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Spa Package
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real orange juice or real ham.🐽 no wifi in room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.6
    Good breakfast, polite and helpful staff, best reastaurant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast, polite and helpful staff, best reastaurant in the town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.1
    spa was teribble
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    spa was terrible

    landscape and small city

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    6.7
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Package - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise in room due to ventilation. Mold on window frame

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    7.5
    Calm an peaceful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free access to spa. No discount to spa.

    Nice place, good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    9.2
    Good restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking not convenient

    Good restaurant

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    8.8
    a cura do descanso
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    o estacionamento

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    7.5
    hotel location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When we arrive at 15h20 the room was not ready. Also our room was always cleaned very late not giving us a chance to rest a bit after lunch

    hotel location

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    8.8
    The nearness of the hotel to the spa,the beauty of the area,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The spa hours were short. The check in to the spa took a long time.

    The nearness of the hotel to the spa,the beauty of the area, the quality of the spa all appealed to me.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    9.6
    The hotel was well situated, the staff were fabulously...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Steer clear of the hotel restaurant, food looks great but is tasteless.

    The hotel was well situated, the staff were fabulously helpful and friendly and the stay was highly enjoyable!

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    10
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great stay! Thank you

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    10
    Incredibly cheap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    Incredibly cheap. nice, helpful staff. good restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    10
    Very nice, comfortable and clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-fi is not powerful enough.

    Very nice, comfortable and clean hotel.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    6.7
    Staff were very accommodating generally.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast was uninspiring and service in the restaurant was painfully slow.

    Staff were very accommodating generally.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very friendly staff.Comfortable hotel and near the main visit points.Good price/quality

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    8.3
    Big spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Big spacious room Centre of the village

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    7.1
    Localização no centro da vila.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A cama não era nada confortável.

    Localização no centro da vila. Spa agradável. Staff atencioso.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    10
    Lino, Liliana, Miguel and all the staff make you feel at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lino, Liliana, Miguel and all the staff make you feel at home! Clean and super quiet by the morning, no hoover noise waking you up!

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Guests also reviewed these properties: