Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Portugal hotel reviews
  3. Madeira Islands vacation rental reviews
  4. Santana vacation rental reviews
  5. Reviews of AL - Perola Dourada

Reviews of AL - Perola Dourada

Estrada Padre Agostinho João Cardoso nº109, 9230-116 Santana, Portugal

#1 of 15 vacation rentals in Santana

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 267 apartment reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.6

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2019

    10
    -the host is very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Apartment with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    -neighbor's dog is pretty scary

    -the host is very nice -great facilities -tasty local cookies -gorgeous rooms just awesome, I would stay there a few more days if I have longer holidays.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2019

    10
    The host was very friendly, the apartment was very spacious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only downside was that the bed was too noisy and uncomfortable

    The host was very friendly, the apartment was very spacious and had all the amenities needed, definitely great value for the money!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely, comfy, friendly and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's on a steep hill, and we missed it first time and had to drive to the top and back round... but that was our error.

    Very spacious and comfortable, really friendly host, who gave us biscuits and milk and hot chocolate. Nice and well equipped kitchen. Also a good parking area around the back of the building.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    7.9
    Functional and clean rooms
    • Solo traveler
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In mid october the appartment was cold in our opinion.

    Clean rooms in a big appartment, with a nice moutains view and a parking, conveniently located in Santana. The owner is very nice and has been waiting for us even if we arrived quite late.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    10
    Immer wieder gerne!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to complain.

    Great room, Maria is a perfect host, parking lot available, breakfast is simple but good, the flat is very comfortable and everything inside you need, even shampoo, supermarket nearby.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    10
    Ideal place to start mountain expeditions and comfy rest after return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Two small things, one of which is our fault :) The first one is that it is a little bit uphill and not everyone would be able to cope. The second thing is breakfast only with lactose products (we forgot to say earlier that we have an intolerance).

    Awesome place with a large space, a beautiful view of the city, close to the city center and the main bus stop and restaurant. Great, helpful hostess, very clean rooms with balconies and nice bathrooms, fully equipped kitchen, large TV and comfortable sofas. For this price is more than a bargain. We will come back for sure!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    9.2
    We stayed in the second floor apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The village itself is spread out, so if you do not arrive by car, you will have to walk fifteen minutes to the store and back up a steep hill. The restaurants in the area are hit and miss, except for one, but it was closed when we visited. Maria does bring a big and tasty breakfast so you'll be set for a few hours, at least. She's flexible about particular diets as well. If you're going to stay in Santana, I think this is the best place.

    We stayed in the second floor apartment. The apartments are different but cost the same, so we would recommend staying on the second floor, rather than the ground floor. The place is roomy, and has big windows that let in the light. Maria is very attentive, and looks after every need. The pillows and mattress were comfortable. The north side of the island is cooler, and I even thought the AC was on, because it was a welcome break from the heat. Nice views from the window.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Maria is a genuine person : goodwilling, helpful, kind ! Since we arrived, she made sure we felt like at home and we did 😊 The location is great, the appartement very confortable and the price is really cheap regarding the kindness, the space, the confort. By the way, everything is perfectly clean and the typical houses are at 2/3mns. Last but not least the breakfast is fresh and awesome !!! We higly recommend Maria and this location : you'll feel like a king. Thanks for all Maria and all the best for you. Caroline and Zakarya

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    10
    Great accommodation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Mountain View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Great accommodation! Owner, Maria, was so kindness. Every morning she prepared tasty, fresh, big breakfast including local specialities (products made in this area). So we had enough food on our trips. Maria also gave us useful tips on trips. The accommodation had beautiful views on ocean and on mountains. It looked like a common flat (bedrooms, toalets, kitchen, living room, balcony) with equipment, furniture and washing machine. So you could´t take a lot of clothes with you. There was also a car park behind the house. The market was near (400 meters from accommodation).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    10
    Lovely spacious apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, everything was perfect

    Really spacious appartment in a nice village. Very friendly host that spoke perfect english. Comfortable bed, very recommended!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    9.2
    A very pleasant experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The parking is a bit difficult, but was at the back of the house which means it is near.

    Breakfast very good. Nice selection of food. Attentive and helpful host.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    8.8
    All in all a very good and price worthy address.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Furniture and other household accessories were a bit of a gathered mix. Some items, especially in the bathroom, required some maintenance.

    Great location to visit northern and eastern part of Madeira. Nice view over the sea. Great price quality.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    10
    Everything was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great. Large clean and spacious apartment with private parking. Breakfast was good enough. Thank you very much! We love Madeira and you! :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2018

    10
    Meeting our host was one of the most welcoming and warm...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Apartment with Mountain View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Meeting our host was one of the most welcoming and warm experience I have ever had in an accommodation. Thank you so much for being so considerate and taking care of our stay so well!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money. Medium standard overall. Good for levadas trips though car is needed anyway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Blankets instead of duvet. Terrible noise from windows when strong winds blow. Heat radiator was likely to stop working during the night so we happened to wake up at 4am shaking from cold. There was small hole near the roof at the front of the house which under heavy weather conditions resulted in leaking ceiling (we got other smaller room instead). Breakfast was a joke - 1 roll 2 sweet cakes 2 slices of cheese 2slices of meat and sweet yogurt.

    Great view from the window. Well equiped kitchen with microwave, oven, etc. Free parking at the back of house. Location close to at least two nice levadas.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    9.2
    Nice flat with great location and kind hostess
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location for visiting the island. The hostess is welcoming, helpful and thoughtful. The breakfast is delicious and varied. The flat is large and welll equipped. There’s a Continente supermarket nearby. The price is reasonable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    9.2
    Very welcoming and helpful host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The weather went suddenly cold and we didn't know how to turn on the heating. Instructions would have been helpful.

    Very welcoming and helpful host.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2017

    10
    I would like to come back again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maria is a very kind and nice person. She helped us with every question we had and even took us to the bus stop after the check-out. We have found her place well located and very nice. The apartment is very big and fully equipped with everything needed. Nice view from the windows. Maria can help to arrange the taxi service. We were with our 2 years old daughter and were able to make two hikes from Pico Areeiro to Pico Ruivo and Levada do Celdeirao Verde. Overall, we highly recommend this place to stay!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2017

    10
    I absolutely recommend this property. We had a great weeks stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Mountain View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fresh bread and cake everyday plus local produce. The bed was very comfy. Lovely hostess who spoke great English and very knowledgeable about things to do locally and when to go. The front balcony catches the morning sun and the back balcony gets the evening sun. The accommodation is actually even better than the Booking.com listing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent Value when the problems were sorted out with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to collect keys on Arrival. Wifi did not work all morning and can't get a hold of the host. 3pm check-in and 10am early checkout.

    Excellent Value when the problems were sorted out with beautiful views of the surrounding countryside.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2017

    10
    This is an awesome apartment that has all you could possibly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was perfect

    This is an awesome apartment that has all you could possibly need. The view is excellent. Tge host Maria is incredible, very helpful and kind-hearted. When we arrived, fresh fruits, some cheese and some yogurt were already waiting for us, as well as a rang of coffee, tea, chocolate drinks and a madeira cake. In the morning Maria brought some fresh bread, a pack of milk and orang juse and some more cheese. Too bad it was just one night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2017

    9.6
    Great time in Santana
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Our host was very kind, helpfull and available. The apartment is spacious, comfortable, well equipped and with a nice view. You can go to Santana's center in a few minute by walking. Everything was perfect! We recommend it

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2017

    9.6
    Spacious and comfortable self-catering accommodation on the north coast of Madeira with breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights

    A very good hostess behind the scenes - she was attentive but unobtrusive. We liked the variety of fresh breads and croissants delivered each morning, often with unexpected extras such as fruit or cake. Washing machine, ironing board and iron and drying area were useful. The flat was spacious and appropriately furnished.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2017

    8.3
    Nice and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - Toilet smell in the bathroom everyday - We were lucky to be alone in the apartment during our whole stay of 4 nights, and so we could enjoy everything. Otherwise, if there had been couples in the other rooms, the living room and the kitchen would have been too small. It really wouldn't have worked.

    - Host (Maria) was very nice. She speaks very good English. - Living room - Terrace in front of the living room - Terrace / balcony of our room with view on the beautiful mountains

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2017

    8.8
    Warm welcome by Maria, fresh bread every morning, wood stove...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some electrical wiring needs attention (bathroom)

    Warm welcome by Maria, fresh bread every morning, wood stove with plenty of wood, well-equipped kitchen, large apartment, nearby hiking area and landmarks.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2019

    10
    Calm and comfortable place for stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Mountain View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    View from the window was breathtaking :) Our host was very nice and took good care of us.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2018

    10
    We stayed one day, but very good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, for the money we payed it was great!

    Very complete, host very nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    10
    Best place to stay in Santana
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the house has a problem with dampness and is doesn't smell good

    Maria is an amazing host. She made to fell us like home

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    10
    fun
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    everything was perfect

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2018

    9.2
    Nice view, very spacious and clean, parking available on a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice view, very spacious and clean, parking available on a flat surface (not always on hand in Madeira...)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    7.9
    The bedroom was warm, not so common in Portugal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast is essential but good!

    The bedroom was warm, not so common in Portugal!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2018

    10
    Had a short but comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Apartment with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had a short but comfortable stay. Thank you for the cookies!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2018

    10
    Perfect accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Brilliant breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2017

    7.9
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Price quality: we had everything wee needed, including breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2017

    10
    Breakfast was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was great! The host was really nice and easy to contact. It felt very homely and the views were fantastic.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2017

    10
    Great staff, location and everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great staff, location and everything

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2017

    10
    Warm welcome by owner, good breakfast and spacious rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Warm welcome by owner, good breakfast and spacious rooms

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2017

    10
    Daytrip to Santana
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    VERY friendly host and perfectly equipped apartment with nice view. Located very close to the village center. Clearly a perfect location to stay!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2017

    9.6
    Very spacy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very spacy. Everything available. Beautiful view.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2017

    10
    Fresh bread in the morning
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fresh bread in the morning

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The apartment is amazing and the view is speechless. Thank you for everything. We could stay there for so much longer. We really enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2017

    10
    great !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The apartment was great, was very well equipped and the host was great as well and very helpful. We recommend !!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2017

    9.6
    The apartment was very cozy with nice furniture, clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The apartment was very cozy with nice furniture, clean and nicely located in Santana Furthermore, the host was very friendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2017

    9.2
    Excellent value stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Mountain View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The wifi was good, but didn't go as far as the bedroom.

    The owner was very helpful. The views from the balconies were superb.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2016

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complaints, just the way up to the house was back-breacking, but of course worth it!

    Everything! The Apartment is located quite perfect - you got a big supermarket in walking distance, same with the bus station. The most important and interessting walks and sightseeing points are nearby by bus, taxi and foot. The apartment is quite big with a well-equipped kitchen, a washing machine, hair dryer and beautiful oven. Its decorated with much love - it was quite easy to fell in love with this place. After one night we felt like coming home. The most pleasant point of the apartment was the owner - Maria is a very helpful and pretty nice person, who offers you every help you need to have an unforgettable stay at her place. The breakfast she made every day for us was delicious, she organized a taxi for us and got us to the bus by car when we had to leave. Everything was perfect and we can recommend this place to stay for sure!

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2016

    8.3
    The staff was very kind and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It was very cold. We had only one small heating per bedroom and we had to move it into the living and dining room. It was unfortunate that the fireplace did not work. The fire alarm went on repeatedly because of the smoke. It was also difficult to take a shower. The battery was very low and there was almost no preasure.

    The staff was very kind and helpful. We received vegetable from the owner garden. We appreciated free parking and Wi-Fi. The apartment was clean and very well equipped. The position close to the centre of the village and its attractions was fabulous.

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2016

    10
    We have rarely stayed at more homelike place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -

    We have rarely stayed at more homelike place. Maria was more like a friend than a stranger who rented us her apartment. At the breakfast we tasted the best bananas in Madeira and the view from balcony was beautiful. This is definitely THE apartment if you are looking for a "base" in Madeira.

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2016

    10
    Breakfast with eggs, fresh orange juice, fruit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast with eggs, fresh orange juice, fruit. Maria has lived in London. Appartment for your group with more than one bedroom (beds 140 cm). Well equiped kitchen.

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2016

    9.6
    Great location, view in every direction.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Need more outdoor furniture, chairs and tables.

    Great location, view in every direction. Owner/caretaker very nice and service minded. Large well disposed flat. Really nice to stay here and take care of your own cooking, done on the great local food. Big nicely priced store near by - 1,5 km.

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2015

    10
    The owner was great she picked me up from town center when I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    -

    The owner was great she picked me up from town center when I couldn't find the flat. Flat was super clean, kitchen had everything i needed even oil and salt.

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2016

    9.2
    Very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very helpful and friendly. The appartment is really nice and was perfectly clean. Unfortunately, we only stayed for one night. Full recommendation.

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2016

    10
    Very kind host and cozy rooms/apartments.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very kind host and cozy rooms/apartments. Ideal for a group of friends.

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2016

    10
    Great hospitality!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great hospitality! Great view! Great trakking possibilities close.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: